Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Kid Icarus Uprising review - perfect score in Famitsu

Kid Icarus Uprising gets 40/40 in Japanese magazine

Japanese magazine Famitsu have published their Kid Icarus Uprising review, awarding the game a perfect 40/40 score.

Not many games have received a perfect review score in the 26 year history of Famitsu. Zelda: Ocarina Of Time was the first game to receive 40/40 in the magazine while other Nintendo games to receive perfect scores include Zelda: Wind Waker, Nintendogs, Smash Bros Brawl, Dragon Quest IX, Monster Hunter Tri, New Super Mario Bros Wii, Pokemon Black and White and Zelda: Skyward Sword.

Click to view larger image
Kid Icarus Uprising becomes Sakurai's second game to receive a perfect score after Brawl. Clearly the magazine didn't have an issue with the controls which have been criticised in some parts.

 Loading video...

You can find out what we think of Kid Icarus Uprising by reading our review in the new issue of Official Nintendo Magazine which is on sale now.

What games would you give a perfect score?

[ Source: GamingEverything ]

Comments

10 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. Hylian_Grouch Wednesday 14th Mar 2012 at 10:51

    Any game that does what it sets out to do flawlessly deserves full marks from me. The only game I can think of that does this though is tetris. There's nothing wrong with it so it gets I'll marks

  2. Dwarph Wednesday 14th Mar 2012 at 13:07

    well this is a must buy then...

  3. ninjafox Wednesday 14th Mar 2012 at 13:25

    I am impressed that Kid Icarus Uprising got such a high score. After reading Steve's excellent review in the latest ONM and now reading about Famitsu's high score i just know that KIU will be a fantastic gaming experience.

  4. imbusydoctorwho Wednesday 14th Mar 2012 at 13:41

    To be honest Kid Icarus looks like a labour of love ever since it was revealed in 2010.
    I'm glad it got a perfect score from Famitsu.

  5. TaskOfMajora Wednesday 14th Mar 2012 at 14:27

    Famitsu also put Xenoblade Chronicles in their top ten favorite games of all time as well, so I officially love em'.

  6. RiksilveR Wednesday 14th Mar 2012 at 17:02

    I reckon Jak II Renegade is pretty much perfect, and the original Kid Icarus is about there as well.
    Cant wait for KIU!

  7. PappyLaroux Wednesday 14th Mar 2012 at 18:35

    Well Done Kid Icarus Uprising for the score, but I could never give the game full marks because of the SHOCKING controls. I mean how hard would it have been to bundle it with the Circle Pad Pro and use the other analogue stick to make him fly around rather than the touchscreen? Playing a demo (or the real game at some games convention-I'm not sure) I tried holding it without the stand but it hurt my wrist. However if it didn't have that problem I would completely agree with Famitsu. From what I played it's an amazing game that probably would have got the ONM 98% if it had used the 'Pro

  8. CyberGW Wednesday 14th Mar 2012 at 19:57

    Well deserved I say. It just looks spectacular. So many features and so many fun levels, this is just a superb game.
    So excited! :D

  9. pokemaster Thursday 15th Mar 2012 at 08:43

    Really looking forward to this, I am a sucker for challenging games, so cant wait to try the Fiends Cauldron mode. :)

  10. redeye Saturday 17th Mar 2012 at 06:53

    I'm broke but am saving for this game, as until pokemon 2 and animal crossing come out there isn't anything else I want. :D :D

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.