Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Colors 3D review

After Pullblox, this is your next essential eShop purchase

There have already been a few attempts at getting painting software right on the DS. In fact, considering that one of the system's main control methods is a pen that you use to draw on the screen, we're surprised there haven't been more. While Nintendo's Art Academy has been the best of the bunch to date, Colors 3D is here now and it completely obliterates the competition.

At its simplest, it's a seemingly basic paint package that enables you to set the thickness of your brush, the opacity (how watery it is, essentially) and not much else. There's an airbrush, an eraser and that's more or less it in terms of tools. But what makes Colors 3D is the way in which these tools are so easy to use, and use well at that. By holding up or down on the D-Pad as you paint you can change the pressure you put on your brush, making the paint darker or lighter on the fly.

Click to view larger image
A simple upward flick of the Circle Pad zooms the painting in to up to 400 per cent, enabling you to draw or paint tiny details that will only appear a single pixel thick in the final image but can make all the difference. Panning across your canvas and the colour dropping tool are also mapped to the D-Pad, allowing for a quick and easy control system once you get used to it, while the L button hides other options like colour selection.

Layer Cake

The trump card in Colors! 3D, though, is the ability to paint over up to five layers and create your own 3D images. Two-layered doodling on Letter Box is fun, but this is a whole other world by comparison and is so simple to use, with left and right on the Circle Pad flicking between layers.

Once you've finished your painting you get the option to save 2D or 3D copies to your SD card (for attaching to Letter Box messages, if you wish), or upload your creations to the Colors 3D website, where other users can play back the entire painting. It seems as though the developer has thought of everything, as you can even lay a photo from your 3DS photo library underneath to trace over, or take part in two-player painting locally where you and a friend share the same canvas.

This is a wonderful piece of software for creative types. Painting in 3D is a treat and while it may seem simple at first glance, some of the stuff you can do with it is breathtaking: just look at the game's online gallery at colorslive.com to see other players' submissions and see what we mean. When the worst thing about a game is that the title has Americanised spelling, you know you're onto a winner.

Click to view larger image
Colors 3D is one of the best 3DS eShop games

Comments

40 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. ploiper Tuesday 24th Apr 2012 at 16:34

    i do wish there was a few more tools like a line tool, but this is a great app to have and use.

  2. PokeMarti Tuesday 24th Apr 2012 at 16:38

    Chris! :D *waves*

    It's amazing! I'm not that great at drawing but I'm having great fun with it and seeing other peoples drawings and how they are created.

  3. Red-Wolf Tuesday 24th Apr 2012 at 16:46

    So it's pretty much Photoshop 3D. It looks incredible. I might just download this.

  4. Mmmyeah Tuesday 24th Apr 2012 at 17:01

    Chris! :D *waves*

    He might have written this before he left. Hopefully we will continue to get articles written by Chris nonetheless!

    As for the game, I haven't payed this one any interest to be honest, but I am interested now. I think I might just download this.

  5. hammster Tuesday 24th Apr 2012 at 17:02

    For someone with zero drawing talent, will I enjoy this at all?

  6. NintyHippo Tuesday 24th Apr 2012 at 17:04

    Chris reviewed this? But didn't he leave?

  7. MartinIsAwesome Tuesday 24th Apr 2012 at 17:11

    I'd personally grade it lower, but only because I'm more used to drawing with a tablet and Photoshop on a computer so drawing on the 3DS in this software is rather limiting. It also doesn't export that well, with the higher res option attempting to resize your stokes making straight lines wobbley and jagged. Still for what it is, its pretty good, and like anything just takes some practice and getting used to. There are some fantastic pieces in the Gallery that clearly take a lot of time and effort, so it proves that with a lot of hard work and patience (and talent), you can make something that looks marvelous.

  8. ledreppe Tuesday 24th Apr 2012 at 17:11

    I have no artistic skills whatsoever, so this would be a waste of both time and money for me.

  9. morg199911 Tuesday 24th Apr 2012 at 17:13

    had to come out the day after i had bought pullblox and dillions rolling western didn't it? oh well :roll:

  10. Kirby8 Tuesday 24th Apr 2012 at 17:29

    Chris! :D *waves*

    He might have written this before he left. Hopefully we will continue to get articles written by Chris nonetheless!

    As for the game, I haven't payed this one any interest to be honest, but I am interested now. I think I might just download this.

    But still...HI CHRIS!! Will definitely check it out. I want my drawing to get better and better. Of course, I'm getting better by drawing on paper, lol. But having the ability to draw well on my 3DS would be cool too.

  11. NintyHippo Tuesday 24th Apr 2012 at 17:33

    had to come out the day after i had bought pullblox and dillions rolling western didn't it? oh well :roll:

    But Nintendo annouce the downloads at the start of the week, so you had a few days of knowing that this was coming out last week.

  12. JackKuchiki Tuesday 24th Apr 2012 at 17:52

    I've been on the fence about this download since I first heard about it.. I like drawing apps, but I never really knew whether it'd be worth it or not. However, having read this review - I'm just about to whip my 3DS out and download it right away.

  13. ChrisONM Tuesday 24th Apr 2012 at 18:14

    Chris! :D *waves*

    He might have written this before he left. Hopefully we will continue to get articles written by Chris nonetheless!


    I'm definitely a Nintendo Gamer man now but I'll still be writing the odd review or preview for ONM every now and then :)

  14. NintyHippo Tuesday 24th Apr 2012 at 18:54

    If we get rid of Nintendo Gamer forever Chris will have no job at it so he might come back. We need to get Steve to sneak up to the offices of the Nintendo Gamer writers and stab them one by one. But what if they call for help or the police find out, I hear you ask? Steve has super ninja skills so he can do anything without being noticed. Even ask Tom. How do I know that? I can only reveal that through PM...

    On topic, I am very bad at art. Will I still be able to create awesome pieces of work with this, or would I get bored?

  15. NessPSI Tuesday 24th Apr 2012 at 19:36

    This was rated higher than Uprising.
    WTH?

  16. RainbowGazelle Tuesday 24th Apr 2012 at 19:37

    If the makers had bothered to translate this into English before releasing it here, then I may have considered it.

  17. MartinIsAwesome Tuesday 24th Apr 2012 at 19:38

    On topic, I am very bad at art. Will I still be able to create awesome pieces of work with this, or would I get bored?


    This goes for anyone who's wondering the same: This software will only produce results as good as your artistic ability. If you're not good at drawing, buying this won't make you good.
    My advice to anyone who want's to be good at art is by getting a lot of practice. A pencil and plenty of paper is the only tools you'll need. One other thing you'll need is a passion for it. If you don't really care about it, you'll never be great at it.

  18. NintyHippo Tuesday 24th Apr 2012 at 19:39

    This was rated higher than Uprising.
    WTH?

    Downloads and retail games are rated in a different way I think.

  19. Ai64 Tuesday 24th Apr 2012 at 19:47

    I downloaded it too. Looks impressive and easier to handle when it clicks.
    Time to get creative! :D

  20. Cave_dweller Tuesday 24th Apr 2012 at 20:52

    For someone with zero drawing talent, will I enjoy this at all?

    If you enjoy drawing, then yes. I have zero drawing talent too, but I've always enjoyed drawing despite that. And this app hooked me straight away.

  21. tomonm Tuesday 24th Apr 2012 at 22:04

    This was rated higher than Uprising.
    WTH?

    Downloads and retail games are rated in a different way I think.

    Not really. They are rated in the same way and are given the scores they deserve. You can't really compare scores across genres. This doesn't mean that Colors 3D is a better game than Kid Icarus. In fact, it's not even a game and if you're not artistic or don't like drawing, this might not be for you. For that reason, I probably won't download it even though I can see that it is amazing. However, for those that do, this is absolutely brilliant. 92% all the way!

  22. tomutwit Thursday 26th Apr 2012 at 14:49

    Will get it... but will have to pay Ł15 and then have Ł10 on there rotting, tempting me to buy some other rubbishy game.

  23. pokemaster Friday 27th Apr 2012 at 07:54

    Its great, downloaded it straight away. Check out my art here-http://colorslive.com/author.php?page=1&id=39834

  24. fisher2007 Friday 27th Apr 2012 at 21:43

    Here's my painting's also I'm not a great artist, but I still like to draw stuff.
    http://colorslive.com/author.php?page=1&id=41953

  25. EpicMario Saturday 28th Apr 2012 at 11:47

    Nice art chris :lol:

  26. 3ds234 Saturday 28th Apr 2012 at 21:19

    Im a bad artist but i still think this is good and makes it easier to draw things and I think everyone that uses this will become better artist's like me. :D

  27. Rob151 Sunday 29th Apr 2012 at 11:42

    Not to be a suck up or anything but I actually thought that picture was a still from mario 2 at first glance.

  28. ThePokekid78 Sunday 29th Apr 2012 at 17:26

    Don't hate on me, but I really don't see what the fuss is all about with Letterbox and Colors 3D...I mean, they're just drawing?

  29. wghtmf Monday 30th Apr 2012 at 16:45

    I love it when downloadable games are of this quality. Let's hope those other ones mentioned on Nintendo Direct are this good too.

  30. themightyboar Tuesday 1st May 2012 at 19:06

    this looks really good

  31. Mmmyeah Wednesday 2nd May 2012 at 18:44

    I'm definitely a Nintendo Gamer man now but I'll still be writing the odd review or preview for ONM every now and then :)


    Oh my word.

    CHRIS!

    You do realise you are listed as 'chief traitor' in the new ONM don't you?

  32. MartinIsAwesome Thursday 3rd May 2012 at 10:16

    You do realise you are listed as 'chief traitor' in the new ONM don't you?


    I saw that! That made my day!

  33. PureAwesomeness Wednesday 9th May 2012 at 17:40

    Cute giraffe.

  34. Spaciouz Thursday 17th May 2012 at 16:39

    Really food, but I suck at Art haha, =D

  35. craig134 Friday 25th May 2012 at 14:40

    I agree with the previous comment that i dont think this would benefit me as i too have a tablet for my pc. Im not gonna lie but i did click on this thinking that Super Mario 2 was relished for the 3DS eshop :P :mrgreen:

  36. Xenobladeperson Saturday 26th May 2012 at 14:39

    I like the giraffe. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

  37. jonnyjazz Tuesday 12th Jun 2012 at 01:04

    Just got this and tested it out a bit, got to say that it's a really nice little art app. Nothing overly complex about it which is nice: tutorials get you off to a good start, the demos of how artists did their separate layering etc on paintings was useful and the templates are a bit of fun if you are lacking a little creative inspiration. Unfortunately buying this did remind me that I am a horrendously bad artist...

  38. nikkiwasere Saturday 7th Jul 2012 at 17:58

    :(o want this damn earning money :(

  39. PhineasFerbStyx Thursday 12th Jul 2012 at 16:22

    I'm interested in this, but I am wary of it as I am a very poor artist and I keep wondering "is it really worth it?"

  40. Wilfie Sunday 4th Nov 2012 at 17:51

    I got this before I discovered I am the worst artist in 3ds history!!! Still, I agree with ONM on the score.

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.