Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Sonic Labyrinth review

One of the worst Sonic games ever

Mario fans are open to their favourite plumber starring in RPGs, racers and space adventures, but when Sonic tries something that doesn't involve him running right at high speeds it's often met with cynicism.

It's easy to see why after playing Sonic Labyrinth, a dreadful game with an identity crisis. The title makes it sound like you'll be in a maze and you do have to hunt for three keys in isometric, almost Monkey Ball-style levels before making your way to the goal. But then, Sega inexplicably throw bumpers and flippers into the mix to make you feel like you're in a pinball table.

Click to view larger image
Sonic is so slow when he's walking but you can curl into a ball, at which point he'll speed up a ramp but hit a bumper and you could be bouncing all over the place, making easy to hit an enemy and lose all your keys. So frustrating and not much fun.

Comments

44 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. callum2003 Wednesday 16th May 2012 at 07:38

    doesn't look very good

  2. Kesskuron Wednesday 16th May 2012 at 08:44

    How exactly does this constitute a review

  3. MattEdWithCheese Wednesday 16th May 2012 at 09:16

    How exactly does this constitute a review

    I feel that way about a couple of other reviews, Shinobi and Strider for instance...

    Although in the case of this game it's probably deserved...

  4. alexkinch Wednesday 16th May 2012 at 09:32

    I will finish it... Its just.... Odd.

    I want them to release sonic 1,2 and chaos. Triple trouble is Ok and sonic blast is so so. When i was younger we were to poor for a mega drive and just had a master system and a game boy. The sonic trioligy on master system is good and i know its on wii vc i just want them on 3ds vc to play on the go. The game gear and master system sonics were almost the same.

  5. sedativegod Wednesday 16th May 2012 at 09:41

    How exactly does this constitute a review


    exactly this, without a doubt one of the most unhelpful reviews ever written

  6. MartinIsAwesome Wednesday 16th May 2012 at 09:43

    How exactly does this constitute a review

    Too be fair, it's a perfect summary of the game. This is all you need to know.

  7. RainbowGazelle Wednesday 16th May 2012 at 10:02

    How exactly does this constitute a review


    That was my first thought as well.

  8. alexkinch Wednesday 16th May 2012 at 10:28

    How exactly does this constitute a review

    Too be fair, it's a perfect summary of the game. This is all you need to know.


    Yeah i wasted money on this. What was put in the review is spot on this is all you do in the game.

  9. MartinIsAwesome Wednesday 16th May 2012 at 10:34

    Wait... didn't you say you had Sonic Mega Collection Plus, which includes this game? And you bought it again? Against my advice?

  10. Darkblizz Wednesday 16th May 2012 at 11:34

    Sonic Labyrinth makes Sonic R look like a masterpiece.

  11. Violet Wednesday 16th May 2012 at 13:24

    For those people who want a better feel for this game than this "review" gives you, Sonic Labyrinth is basically a bad version of Sonic 3D on the Mega Drive, which is already not a particularly good Sonic game.

    I played it alongside various other games on the Gamecube version of Sonic Adventure DX, which includes them as unlockables.

    Sonic Chaos and Sonic Triple Trouble are the best Game Gear Sonic games (though the original isn't horrible either). I hear Tails Adventure is good, but I never unlocked that one...

  12. ploiper Wednesday 16th May 2012 at 13:26

    i actualy quite like this game, for me i would rate it at 70% buts thats just me. once again i dont look at it as a sonic game, as such i find it quite fun.

  13. SkywardSaix Wednesday 16th May 2012 at 13:49

    Why did Nintendo even port Sonic Labyrinth? Sonic 3 and Knuckles would of been much better.

  14. alexkinch Wednesday 16th May 2012 at 13:53

    Wait... didn't you say you had Sonic Mega Collection Plus, which includes this game? And you bought it again? Against my advice?


    No i have mega collection and jems on cube and classic collection on ds. This is the first ive played this game.

  15. alexkinch Wednesday 16th May 2012 at 13:56

    For those people who want a better feel for this game than this "review" gives you, Sonic Labyrinth is basically a bad version of Sonic 3D on the Mega Drive, which is already not a particularly good Sonic game.

    I played it alongside various other games on the Gamecube version of Sonic Adventure DX, which includes them as unlockables.

    Sonic Chaos and Sonic Triple Trouble are the best Game Gear Sonic games (though the original isn't horrible either). I hear Tails Adventure is good, but I never unlocked that one...


    Tails adventure is not that good. I forgot sonic adventure dx i only got a few emblems and traded it in years ago.

  16. spacemen13 Wednesday 16th May 2012 at 14:41

    I am not surprised sonic is in loads of spin-offs. My mum has sonic pin-ball on her mobile phone.

  17. reeesy Wednesday 16th May 2012 at 16:03

    Wow, i'll definitely be picking this up. Might have to sell my Mario Galaxy 2 and Skyward Sword to raise the money to pay for it. Not to worry though, as any left over cash i'll put towards a copy of Superman 64.

  18. Tailzy Wednesday 16th May 2012 at 16:18

    For such a blunt review with nothing positive to say, 40% was pretty forgiving.

  19. Xenobladeperson Wednesday 16th May 2012 at 16:26

    Bad games happen, just accept it, and don't buy them

  20. Diddy ZX Wednesday 16th May 2012 at 16:34

    For such a blunt review with nothing positive to say, 40% was pretty forgiving.


    This is an issue that I've been noticing with ONM's shorter reviews - they always seem to consist of some text that is invariably unhelpful in making a purchasing decision or which isn't a review at all, combined with a seemingly arbitrary score at the end, which often appears to bear no relation to what little information on the game the text gave (see the review of Mega Man X on the Wii Virtual Console service a couple of issues ago for a clear example of this; It was just a bunch of silly jibes and bad research with a random number tacked onto the end of it, with no explanation of how that score was reached)...

    I know that Sonic Labyrinth is famously not a great game, but this review really doesn't expound on why, making it pretty unhelpful in that regard.

  21. 1steagle Wednesday 16th May 2012 at 16:59

    this looks like something the first ever computers played :x

  22. PureAwesomeness Wednesday 16th May 2012 at 17:29

    Not surprised this is bad. :( A good Sonic game needs to be released soon, there are too many bad ones.

  23. thenintendoer Wednesday 16th May 2012 at 17:43

    i remember watching a screwattack top 10 and i think it came 3rd on the worst ever sonic games

  24. Samster296 Wednesday 16th May 2012 at 19:08

    I have played this before. It's the worst Sonic game I have ever played.

  25. liveswired Wednesday 16th May 2012 at 20:20

    How exactly does this constitute a review

    If the games crap IT'S CRAP. No point in beating around the bush with such tosh!

  26. phil2512 Wednesday 16th May 2012 at 20:42

    And makes Sonic 06 and riders in to GOTY games.

  27. Tailzy Wednesday 16th May 2012 at 21:07

    How exactly does this constitute a review

    If the games crap IT'S CRAP. No point in beating around the bush with such tosh!

    ''Its bad so I won't say much about it''

    That's not really how a review works.

  28. Kesskuron Wednesday 16th May 2012 at 21:35

    How exactly does this constitute a review

    If the games crap IT'S CRAP. No point in beating around the bush with such tosh!

    Well in that case good games are good, no point in beating around the bush by actually justifying the score you gave it

  29. TheVelvetRoom Thursday 17th May 2012 at 01:05

    Magazine page space I can understand, but are 3 paragraphs on here really enough to review the game, let alone tell us why it's the worst Sonic game ever? I've heard enough from people otherwise to avoid it, but it would have been interesting to go into a bit more depth than a few lines and a screenshot or 2.

  30. KairiZero Thursday 17th May 2012 at 11:14

    I've seen more in depth reviews of Pong.

  31. reeesy Thursday 17th May 2012 at 12:38

    I actually think this review is just right. Its a shallow game so i don't see why it needs the in-depth review some of you are demanding.
    It's straight to the point, clearly explains the gameplay mechanics, along with the faults of the game and why you shouldn't buy it.
    True, any other game this bad might not warrant a review, but this is a Sonic game meaning many people will be interested in buying it. So ONM are right to post a review warning people not to waste their money.

  32. samus_killer Thursday 17th May 2012 at 12:40

    Wow, i'll definitely be picking this up. Might have to sell my Mario Galaxy 2 and Skyward Sword to raise the money to pay for it. Not to worry though, as any left over cash i'll put towards a copy of Superman 64.


    This guy, DIS GAI, he knows sarcasm.

    :( A good Sonic game needs to be released soon, there are too many bad ones.


    Sonic Colours, Sonic Generations and Sonic 4 Ep1 & Ep2 have all been released in the last 18 or so months. What more do you want?

  33. wolfy252 Thursday 17th May 2012 at 16:08

    It is, by far, not the best game ever! and ive played quite a few sonic games :|

  34. geengy Sunday 20th May 2012 at 12:50

    How exactly does this constitute a review


    exactly this, without a doubt one of the most unhelpful reviews ever written


    See what you mean.It tells you about one feature of the game, not looking at the eshop description.

  35. MartinIsAwesome Monday 21st May 2012 at 09:57

    And makes Sonic 06 and riders in to GOTY games.


    Having just purchased 06 (for research perposes), I'd say that this is barely true.

    :( A good Sonic game needs to be released soon, there are too many bad ones.


    Sonic Colours, Sonic Generations and Sonic 4 Ep1 & Ep2 have all been released in the last 18 or so months. What more do you want?


    Word.

  36. Link9427 Tuesday 22nd May 2012 at 08:11

    Letdown. :(

  37. liveswired Wednesday 23rd May 2012 at 21:45

    How exactly does this constitute a review

    Well in that case good games are good, no point in beating around the bush by actually justifying the score you gave it

    hmmm......No. SEGA clearly didn't put any effort into making the game in the first place - why should it deserve a long review if it is rubbish? in this case 40% says it all.

  38. craig134 Friday 25th May 2012 at 16:07

    Wow harsh review ive never played it but it looks alot like sonic 3d and i enjoyed that game.

  39. MartinIsAwesome Friday 25th May 2012 at 19:20

    Wow harsh review ive never played it but it looks alot like sonic 3d and i enjoyed that game.


    Looks can be decieving. It's only like Sonic 3D in that it's isometric, otherwise it's completely different.

  40. trogdor25 Saturday 26th May 2012 at 15:34

    Sega were trolling when they brought this game to eshop.

  41. wolfy252 Saturday 2nd Jun 2012 at 11:46

    Not surprised this is bad. :( A good Sonic game needs to be released soon, there are too many bad ones.

    couldnt agree more!! they do need to releas some new games. but one decent game in the sonic series is Shadow the Hedgehog!!!

    http://cdn0.spong.com/pack/s/h/shadowth ... -PS2-_.jpg

    love that game XD!!!

  42. Icytroid1993 Sunday 3rd Jun 2012 at 18:46

    It's such a bad game, so whats the point of having a long review when no one cares? When its a good game that's being reviewed it's usually a lot longer because it's something that's interesting enough to spend some time talking about all the details. But when a game is this bad, whats the point? Anyway the Sonic series has been poor for a long time now. Without a doubt Sonic Colours, Unleashed and the Secret Rings are all good games, but they are not as good as they should be. Generations is very good by modern Sonic standards, but no matter what Sega do these days they just can't seem to capture the greatness of the mega drive games :(

  43. Diddy ZX Sunday 3rd Jun 2012 at 19:33

    ^ The point of ANY review is to adequately inform the potential purchaser about the game's merits and demerits, in the opinion of the player who wrote it. Making a review short because a game "is just bad" is the worst thing a publication can possibly do.

    Indeed, by that logic, any review for a Mario game should simply be "It's a Mario game! ", because "we know that it's going to get that score anyway, so who cares"? ;) If it happened to be a hypothetical bad Mario game, surely would want to know why it's not up to the standards that you expect, so you can know whether this may affect future releases or if this one actually might be alright but not fantastic, instead of it being brushed off with "It's just bad, ok?".

    When I'm looking at a purchase, I tend to gravitate towards reviews that aren't full of nothing but gushing, but which might give a lower mark, more detail, and a more realistic write-up of a product's negatives - the positives are often readily obvious, and there's little point in reading a bunch of praise that the game was obviously going to get from the second its hype-train left the station. I want to know of any potential problems. Most of all, I want to know what the product is like, and the reasons for the poor score.

    Reviews like this one help nobody - they don't cover precisely what the issues are, or if the concept is dire or just slightly flawed, or simply unfitting to the character concerned but otherwise alright. This one doesn't even tell us if you can attack enemies at all or how well this works if present - it just notes that you can hit enemies when in motion and lose items, which is exactly the same as most of the other games in this series. It doesn't tell us if it has unfair deaths, or if the controls cause a problem in some way. The only things it does tell us are that the character moves slowly, and that there are some pinball elements that don't belong in what sounds like it could be a maze game (this being the lone informative part of the review, as it sheds light on an element that sounds genuinely problematic), though we don't know if it is a maze game or not because the review doesn't exactly tell us that - the analogy "Monkey Ball-style" means absolutely nothing to the majority of people, completely defeating the point of even using this description. Even the score given at the end is completely arbitrary - it looks like it's been randomly tacked on because a number is needed, as there is no real exposition on how that percentage was arrived at. 40% suggests "Just below average", and yet the review itself does not reflect this.

    If some guy on the street said "You shouldn't buy Kid Icarus: Uprising because I think it sucks.", you'd laugh and ask for a good explanation. It's no different in this case - being a reviewer means that the reviewer is supposed to actually review things, not just write "It's a bad game. It has some elements that don't fit in with its setting. I found it a bit frustrating but I'm not going to explain why." - you could apply that to almost anything!

    This review was clearly written for folks who have already encountered and played the game in the past, and that's its problem: It doesn't help the rest of us who never have - the ones who would actually be reading a review of it.

  44. Icytroid1993 Monday 4th Jun 2012 at 18:49

    Excellent point Diddy :) I should of thought a bit more before i'd posted my above comment! Every game deserves a review, no matter how good or bad it is, because we should know the reasons WHY it's good or bad. Otherwise how are you supposed to know just HOW good or bad a game is? When it comes to this review, 40% doesn't seem to match what was said in the review, it's misleading. In fact 40% is actually good for a review that called this game one of the worst Sonic games ever!

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.