Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Pro Evolution Soccer 2008 Review

Could this be the evolution of Evolution?

We'll admit it. When Konami announced that it would finally be releasing a version of its world-famous Pro Evolution Soccer on the Wii, we were worried. Not because of the gameplay; that was always going to be fine. It was the controls, you see. Yes, the Wii Remote is great for first-person shooting games, racing games and the like, but football? FIFA 08 did a decent job but this is Pro Evo we're talking about - the daddy of realistic, tactical football. "Please Konami," we started thinking, "don't mess this up."

Finally, after months of waiting, we're happy to report that it didn't. That said, even if you're a die-hard fan of the series (as we are), don't expect to be able to just pick this up and play it. This one takes a while to learn for both new and experienced gamers alike.

The main difference becomes clear within seconds of playing the game. The controls have been completely revamped to take advantage of the Wii Remote and Nunchuk. While it's initially a bit of a shock to be asked to forget everything you've ever learnt about football games, eventually you realise that it actually breathes new life into the genre.

Click to view larger image
Pin Point Passing

Let's describe a situation. You're running along the wing and there's a team mate just in front of you. You can see a gap up ahead that could potentially lead to a great goal-scoring opportunity, if only your team mate decides to run that way. Since in other versions of the game you're only in control of the player on the ball and have no way of determining where the other players run, in the situation we've described you'd probably have had to make do with whatever way the game's AI has decided your player will run.

In this version however, you can point at your team mate and hold the A button, then drag out a line for him to follow and release the button. When you do this, the player will quickly change his pre-determined route and make a run in the direction you've set. It's literally as quick as pointing and dragging - as if you're saying "you, go over there" - and it completely changes the way you play the game.

We'd like to consider ourselves Pro Evo experts who have studied the AI of previous games inside and out, and even we initially took a while to get our head round the new system because it opens up so many tactical possibilities. No longer when you're playing against someone can you think "well, that player's going to run that way", because he could make a move and change direction at any second.

Click to view larger image
Here Wii Go, Here Wii Go

You can also dictate running directions during set-pieces, which makes for some interesting tactical plays. During one corner kick, we sent a couple of our dangerous strikers on some runs inside the box. This led some defenders to chase after them, leaving one of our defenders free to head our corner, unmarked, into the goal.

If this all sounds a bit much, don't worry: there's a really in-depth tutorial mode which shows you every single move and asks you to complete it successfully before you can move onto the next one. By the time we were done with it we were ready and raring to go.

Die-hard Pro Evo fans may be disappointed to hear that the Wii version doesn't have a Master League mode in it. This was the main league mode in the other versions of the game which saw you starting with a team of no-hopers and eventually building them into a squad of all-stars through buying and developing players.

The replacement mode in the Wii version is called Champions Road. Although you start with the same no-hopers as in the Master League, the main layout is very different. Instead of working your way to the top of a basic league, you travel around the world as you're invited to various leagues and tournaments. As you defeat each team, you're able to pick a player from them to add to your squad, meaning as you work your way through the leagues and play progressively harder teams you'll eventually be able to build a solid team of strong players.

Previous 1 2 Next page

Comments

18 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. Wario90 Wednesday 26th Mar 2008 at 13:20

    This game looks awesome. Can't wait till the 28th of March. :D

  2. jolymolyrules Wednesday 26th Mar 2008 at 14:50

    cant wait to get this :D

  3. theboywho Wednesday 26th Mar 2008 at 17:18

    +1

    I do hope the ProEvo guys take note of all these reviews for next season. Champions Road sounds sweet.

    I havent played a football game for years, but I'll be picking this up on day one.

    Let the fighting talk begin!

  4. john higgleton Wednesday 26th Mar 2008 at 20:10

    the graphics are good on the zoomed in characters, but the zoomed out pitch looks rubbish(graphics wise), i will probably get this, not for a while though.

  5. eaymon5345 Wednesday 26th Mar 2008 at 22:48

    This game looks awesome. Can't wait till the 28th of March. :D


    PLEASE DONT READ THIS. YOU WILL GET KISSED ON THE NEAREST POSSIBLE FRIDAY BY THE LOVE OF YOUR LIFE. TOMORROW WILL BE THE BEST DAY OF YOUR LIFE. HOWEVER IF YOU DONT POST THIS COMMENT TO AT LEAST 3 VIDEOS YOU WILL DIE WITHIN 2 DAYS. NOW UV STARTED READIN DIS DUNT STOP THIS IS SO SCARY. SEND THIS OVER TO 5 VIDEOS IN 143 MINUTES WHEN UR DONE PRESS F6 AND UR CRUSHES NAME WILL APPEAR ON THE SCREEN IN BIG LETTERS. THIS IS SO SCARY BECAUSE IT ACTUALLY WORKS
    *sigh* i hate doing theese


    this game look sick

  6. Broken_Pixel Thursday 27th Mar 2008 at 12:23

    Meh, I can wait. God of War Chains of Olypus, Dark Sector and Grand Turismo 5 Prolouge kinda overshaddow it :lol:

  7. chino40k Friday 28th Mar 2008 at 11:03

    Does it display in 16:9? I got the game yesterday but I'm getting borders left and right of the screen (yes my wii is set to 16:9). its just a little annoying.

  8. uster dog Friday 28th Mar 2008 at 17:33

    WELL THANK GOD FOR THAT :!: .

  9. Randomness. Sunday 30th Mar 2008 at 14:01

    Truly awsome ideas fun and different Graphics are bad but the gameplay makes up for it

  10. marklfc Sunday 30th Mar 2008 at 22:32

    Got it on fri - attacking brilliant defending crap!
    Such a shame - this could have been the best footie game ever - half a brilliant game - I think the review understaes the brokeness of the defending, however well dorne Konami for actually trying something different - this feels the freshest of all the pro evos.

  11. mn9ajas Monday 31st Mar 2008 at 10:53

    The edit mode is non existent in this game (hence why it wasn't mentioned in the review. You can't even up date the teams with the correct players! Poor show or what!

  12. theboywho Monday 31st Mar 2008 at 16:55

    The edit mode is non existent in this game (hence why it wasn't mentioned in the review. You can't even up date the teams with the correct players! Poor show or what!

    There is an edit option. Its on the main screen. All the players names are correct anyway. It's only a few team names that are incorrect so there isn't much to edit.

    All this info is found in the manual and the Edit option isn't hidden anyway in a settings menu, it's right there on the very top screen.

  13. mn9ajas Tuesday 1st Apr 2008 at 07:41

    The edit mode is non existent in this game (hence why it wasn't mentioned in the review. You can't even up date the teams with the correct players! Poor show or what!

    There is an edit option. Its on the main screen. All the players names are correct anyway. It's only a few team names that are incorrect so there isn't much to edit.

    All this info is found in the manual and the Edit option isn't hidden anyway in a settings menu, it's right there on the very top screen.

    Apologies, when I said it was non-existent I meant that it was very limited. I hear that you can't change players from one team to another so players like Yakubu are still at middleborough and there is no way to change that.

  14. Tiijai Tuesday 1st Apr 2008 at 09:56

    I finally got my student loan - joy - so am going out to get this game in about 30 mins. Yakubu still at boro though? :? I hope it's not that out of date. I thought they could have at least updated all the teams so they are current with the end of the season. Anybody know how well it plays online... if it even does???

  15. abatan Wednesday 2nd Apr 2008 at 22:50

    just bought thiss nd am lovein it
    :wink: :lol: :lol:

  16. supermariosam Monday 14th Apr 2008 at 19:57

    I have got this game and it is amazing, certainly the best footie game on wii :) but unfortunately the defense control does really let it down !!! :(

  17. keegan Sunday 4th May 2008 at 16:42

    I got this the first day it came out and have not stopped playing it!!!!!!!! :D :D :D IT IS THE BEST FOOTBALL GAME EVER!!!!! :D :D :D

  18. 94paulm Saturday 28th Jun 2008 at 12:12

    i think its a very weird way to play a football game,
    i mean cmon drawing arrows way to complicated for beginners :?

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.