Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Rayman Origins 3DS review

The limbless wonder's latest, greatest adventure arrives on the handheld

Rayman Origins has finally made it to the 3DS. It's taken its own sweet time, but the newest adventures of the loose-limbed nose-beast that defies rational explanation is now on the Nintendo handhelds. The story is exactly the sort of blink-eyed nonsense you'd expect from the creature who sprung the Raving Rabbids on us, all those years ago. Rayman, and his buddy, Globox, were having a pleasant summer's snooze by the Snoring Tree.

Unfortunately, its branches and roots reached into the Land of the Livid Dead, which upset an elderly undead resident. Instead of banging on the roof with a broom handle, she unleashed an evil horde of on the world and imprisoned all the Electoons and Nymphs. What are Electoons, you might ask? The answer is to stop asking any of this to make sense. But then, you probably know all this. It has, after all, been available on the Wii since November 2011.

Click to view larger image
The 3DS version isn't the scaled-down paraphrase of the full game that you might have expected: Ubisoft has attempted to squeeze everything into the miniature screens.

The bad news is that it hasn't quite worked. The good news is that you've got a mostly faithful handheld version of one of last year's most brilliant, imaginative and downright fun platformers. Let's focus on the good, first. It's nicer that way, we are sure you'll agree.

Rayman Origins is a tough, but ultimately generous platformer. There's no need to return to levels once you've learned a new power - every one can be aced on your first visit. And while the regular checkpoints will ensure that any player can get from one side of each level to the other, the difference between finishing and completing a level is the number of Lums you collect.

Some of them are just lying around the place, giving you important clues as to which way you'll need to go, while you'll find others tucked away in the tougher-to-reach Skull Coins.

The Natives Are Wristless

Then there are King Lums. Collect one of these, and all the other Lums will flip briefly into a thrilled red state in which they are worth double. These guys break the sedate exploration of the main levels with moments in which you have to be fast and accurate.

Click to view larger image
More Lums emerge from the enemies you kill and any bits of prominent foliage you decide to punch. At the end of the level, your Lums fly into a gigantic test tube, where they're converted into Electoons. Get the bonus amount and you'll get a rosette.

These Electoons are what you're really after. They unlock your progress, extra playable characters, and the frustratingly tough Tricky Treasure levels.

All the other characters can be found in the Snoring Tree, where the Bubble Dreamer is identical to play, but far and away the best is the oblivious amorphous oddball, Globox. His animations are among some of the loveliest, silliest and most charming around.

Instead of ducking, he compresses himself into a waddling jelly mound. If he misses a jump, he'll recover by hanging from it by his top lip. That's pretty much the definition of a carefree blue dude, if you ask us.

Previous 1 2 3 Next page

Comments

22 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. Mmmyeah Friday 8th Jun 2012 at 11:09

    After wanting to get the game on Wii, I saw it was coming to 3DS to, so I waited to see if it was any better. I then downloaded the demo and was very disappointed with it's imprecise controls. I'm glad to see this is problem with the 3DS version only and so I will be getting the Wii version.

  2. Jkid015 Friday 8th Jun 2012 at 11:11

    i thought it was delayed again in europe. anyway whats a good game or lego game or ds to get on the 3ds. i like lego star wars but ive heard negative things about it. iwanted to get pokemon but im still thinking of a different game. kid icarus? pls help.

  3. vetdoctorvet Friday 8th Jun 2012 at 11:23

    kid icarus or zelda oot

  4. imbusydoctorwho Friday 8th Jun 2012 at 12:01

    After playing the incredibly disappointing demo,I knew that it wasn't going to get that high a score.
    But I've got the Wii version,and I'm happy enough with that,and with Legends only a few months away,I'd rather wait for that.

  5. Herbert_Rarr Friday 8th Jun 2012 at 13:02

    I was excited when I first heard this game was coming to 3DS. I'm big on platformer games, but have never played Rayman before. I was going to buy this, but when I played the demo, I was all of a sudden disappointed. The frustration factor is huge, especially on the level where you had to constantly run at top speed while avoiding obstacles and stuff, and I hate that in a game. If the demo is anything to go by, then I'm not buying this game.

  6. NeonJ Friday 8th Jun 2012 at 13:51

    I recently baught the Wii version, not knowing that a 3DS version exists.
    I'm kind of glad of that now.

  7. NintyHippo Friday 8th Jun 2012 at 14:31

    I might not get this then.

    kid icarus or zelda oot

    Kid Icarus.

  8. wak Friday 8th Jun 2012 at 14:33

    After having the pleasure of playing this game on the PS Vita the 3DS version (demo) was very disappointing. As the review said it's much less vibrant than I was used too.

    Shame because they have missed a really good opportunity to benefit from the 3D visuals.

  9. Xenobladeperson Friday 8th Jun 2012 at 15:33

    Let's hope Rayman Legends is better.

  10. NintyHippo Friday 8th Jun 2012 at 15:34

    Let's hope Rayman Legends is better.

  11. Aces High Friday 8th Jun 2012 at 15:47

    After the demo, I was a little disappointed by the slightly flat visuals, but for me at least, I still enjoyed the excellent platforming and rewarding time runs. Therefore I'll certainlyl be grabbing Origins 3DS this weekend.

  12. me4ndubz Friday 8th Jun 2012 at 16:16

    get kid icarus

  13. Pyron12 Friday 8th Jun 2012 at 17:37

    I actually predicted the score of 70% when I played it 3 days ago.
    It's a shame really

  14. liveswired Friday 8th Jun 2012 at 18:06

    sloppy port. The 3DS version looks like its been compressed to hell to fit on the smallest SD card available. with an 800x240 screen the 3DS version should be pin sharp.

  15. ploiper Friday 8th Jun 2012 at 19:02

    may still get this game at some point, got it on the ps3 to keep me occupied untill then though. need it to go down in price first.

  16. MistaChristopher Friday 8th Jun 2012 at 21:48

    Man I really wanted this on a handheld I guess I'll get a console one instead. Thanks for the review!

  17. geengy Saturday 9th Jun 2012 at 08:19

    The demo was ploddingly slow. Rayman was like Sonic on thw wii, so I'm annoyed that this has happened.

  18. Dalekbuster523 Saturday 9th Jun 2012 at 08:23

    Think I'll still get it on 3DS,because of the obviously added feature of 3D effects that aren't in other versions.

  19. Argenthor Sunday 10th Jun 2012 at 08:43

    Well as it is delayed now until november-ish time... you never know if they will change something! Probably not though as they said the game was finished. What a shame though!

  20. Hisoka Thursday 21st Jun 2012 at 03:11

    I'm really quite annoyed at Ubisoft for this. The controls and graphics aren't as good as they should be, especially considering how long this has taken them. What's the excuse for the massive wait when all other platforms have had the game for a while (even the Vita)!
    And if this is just a lazy port, then whoever is in charge of 3DS games for Ubisoft really needs a kick up the bum. We had the exact same thing with Rayman 3DS- which was a port of the dreamcast version of Rayman 2, and had it's own problems.
    Seriously, what the hell Ubi?! This isn't like the Wii, the 3DS has decent graphical capabilities for a handheld so why do all the games look like they're for the DS?

  21. NintyHippo Sunday 24th Jun 2012 at 21:52

    Seriously ONM? 70%? Really? This game is fantastic! The music is great, the gameplay is very fun, the art style is brilliant, everything is just so amazing! 93% for me.

  22. Pyron12 Monday 6th Aug 2012 at 06:52

    It deserved 70% Ninty. The controls were fiddy the difficulty was ok but you could die quite easily. It was a disappointment so I'd stick with the Wii version.

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.