Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Mutant Mudds review

The most frustrating platformer since Mega Man

Mutant Mudds is finally here more than five months after it was released in the US but the question isn't 'has it been worth the wait' but 'is it worth the money'? Yes, we're talking about price tags once again as although Mutant Mudds isn't the most expensive eShop game yet - that honour goes to the excellent Dillon's Rolling Western - it will set you back a hefty £8.10.

This immediately makes you question its value in a way that you didn't with the mighty Pullblox or even Mighty Switch Force. Mighty Switch Force is a good comparison as, like Wayforward's inventive puzzling platformer, Mutant Mudds has 16 levels to complete plus a further selection of bonus stages that are unlocked upon finishing the main game.

Click to view larger image
Yet, Mutant Mudds isn't anywhere near as inventive as it would like you to think it is. What makes the new game from Renegade Kid (Dementium, Moon) stand out is the fact that you can switch to platforms in the background and foreground by standing on switches. This is a potentially neat idea as it attempts to make the most of the 3DS console's stereoscopic powers but, in reality, it doesn't really add anything as the levels are very linear and there is no point in which you have to think about when you need to switch in and out of the scenery. Compared to Mighty Switch Force's puzzling block switching mechanic it is pretty pointless.

If you take away the 3D trickery what you have is a Mega Man-style platformer with a water powered jet-pack nabbed from Delfino Plaza. Except not quite as awesome as that sounds. Playing as Maximillian, you have to save the world following an attack by muddy mutants. To do so, you must use his water blaster gun to shoot down the Mudds while collecting all the water sprites that will wash them away.

Despite the water power and the occasional Thwomp-style enemy, this is more Mega Man than Mario and how much you get out of it depends on how much you enjoy fiendishly difficult platformers. There is a time limit so levels take minutes to complete but you'll be replaying these many times as you only have three lives while falling into a spike pit means instant death. With spike pits placed beneath platforms that disappear after a second, death is something that you'll become accustomed to.

Click to view larger image
Enemies are placed in such awkward positions that you'll have to time your leaps and shots perfectly. The final level chucks everything at you: you've got clouds blowing you off the platforms, spike pits, those crushing Thwomp-style enemies, Mudds that lob bombs at you, those disappearing platforms and a bit of ice just thrown in almost as if to wind you up. With no checkpoints to speak of, you find yourself having to replay the same sections over and over again. The last time the phrase 'so unfair' passed my lips this often I was a teenager.

VVVVVV was unfair but it also had a great sense of humour and seeing as you respawned where you died each time, the amount of deaths almost became a talking point. 1,676, since you ask...

While VVVVVV was aimed at those who remember Commodore 64, Mutant Mudds has very much been designed for Nintendo fans. Take the secret levels which are dotted around each stage. You'll occasionally need power-ups obtained from Grannie's Attic to access them but they are a retro Nintendo fan's dream as the G-Land secret levels have monochrome Game Boy visuals while V-Land's are designed like a Virtual Boy game. Only they don't give you a headache. Once again, these levels are rather difficult.

With these, plus the bonus levels you get upon completion, there is just about enough content for your £8.10 although you have to question whether the lack of checkpoints and high difficulty level make it feel longer than it actually is.

That said, you will feel a great sense of satisfaction - almost pride - when you do manage to complete the final level although you might have to question whether you had that much fun doing it.

Comments

45 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. Xenobladeperson Monday 25th Jun 2012 at 16:00

    That's a surprise. But I wouldn't buy it, anyway.

  2. Slinkington Monday 25th Jun 2012 at 16:10

    Wow, a critical review on here - that makes a change! I couldn't agree more. I think the developers are being far too greedy. Sure it's not THAT expensive, but there is just so much more on the eShop that is of a far better quality, and cheaper.

  3. Dertdood Monday 25th Jun 2012 at 16:17

    I'll wait for the next sale then

  4. Diddy ZX Monday 25th Jun 2012 at 16:19

    Very informative, and has further cemented my decision to purchase the game as soon as I have the cash to spare. It sounds like exactly what I expected of it - exactly my sort of thing.

    More stuff in the Mega Man sort of vein is great to have, especially considering Capcom's behaviour of late.

    Thanks for the review!

  5. Cave_dweller Monday 25th Jun 2012 at 16:20

    I would score it somewhere between 75% and 80%... the levels are indeed fiendishly difficult but usually fair. It's just a shame they are all so very short. Had it been a fiver, it would be essential but it's price tag is a little too high to warrant the content.

  6. Commandervideo Monday 25th Jun 2012 at 16:55

    70%! OUCH!

    I'll still be getting it though looks great

  7. MartinIsAwesome Monday 25th Jun 2012 at 17:07

    Thank's Tom. When I first heard about this game I was instantly willing to purchase it, but I had my reservations about it being Ł8.10. I wasn't initially expecting it to be very long, but after discovering the price I would have hoped so.
    To hear it's only about as long (and not as inventive) as Mighty Switch Force, it doesn't scream "value for money".
    Shame. It looked like something I would have liked.

    I may wait and see if it becomes available in any future sale, but even then it'd have to be the only thing available that I'm remotely interested in.

  8. alexkinch Monday 25th Jun 2012 at 17:23

    Its rubbish boring and dull. Im the kinda person whi grew up in the 80s and 90s and loves retro games. 55% over hyped.

  9. Fidu Monday 25th Jun 2012 at 18:00

    I really love this game. The levels are somewhat difficult, but they never feel unfair. Renegade Kid really knows what they're doing.

  10. Aboyandhissequel Monday 25th Jun 2012 at 18:49

    Aww, game too difficult for mummykins?

    Sorry, but marking it down for that reason is absurd, because giving it such a low score will make people think it's a bad game, rather then a difficult one. Poor form yet again ONM.

  11. NintyHippo Monday 25th Jun 2012 at 18:50

    Thank's Tom. When I first heard about this game I was instantly willing to purchase it, but I had my reservations about it being Ł8.10. I wasn't initially expecting it to be very long, but after discovering the price I would have hoped so.
    To hear it's only about as long (and not as inventive) as Mighty Switch Force, it doesn't scream "value for money".
    Shame. It looked like something I would have liked.

    Exactly this.

  12. Wii U Marry Mii Monday 25th Jun 2012 at 19:00

    To quote Gav; I could buy a real game for that price.

  13. Redfish20 Monday 25th Jun 2012 at 19:25

    To quote Gav; I could buy a real game for that price.

    and with that quote it would seem that Gav has found a way to be politically incorrect towards video games.

  14. Dertdood Monday 25th Jun 2012 at 19:28

    Aww, game too difficult for mummykins?

    Sorry, but marking it down for that reason is absurd, because giving it such a low score will make people think it's a bad game, rather then a difficult one. Poor form yet again ONM.

    making a game too difficult to the point where it is not fun and the difficulty artificially lengthens the game is basis for marking it down

  15. tomonm Monday 25th Jun 2012 at 20:07

    Aww, game too difficult for mummykins?

    Sorry, but marking it down for that reason is absurd, because giving it such a low score will make people think it's a bad game, rather then a difficult one. Poor form yet again ONM.

    Not really. I can handle tough games - VVVVVV is also very difficult but more inventive, has a great sense of humour and far less frustrating. It was the lack of checkpoints that bothered me. It meant that you were playing the same parts over and over again and it became it a bit boring.

    That said, don't forget that 70% is a good score. It's 7 out of 10. Hardly a low score. A good game but far from a great one. Have you played it?

  16. Wii U Marry Mii Monday 25th Jun 2012 at 20:18

    Aww, game too difficult for mummykins?

    Sorry, but marking it down for that reason is absurd, because giving it such a low score will make people think it's a bad game, rather then a difficult one. Poor form yet again ONM.

    Not really. I can handle tough games - VVVVVV is also very difficult but more inventive, has a great sense of humour and far less frustrating. It was the lack of checkpoints that bothered me. It meant that you were playing the same parts over and over again and it became it a bit boring.

    That said, don't forget that 70% is a good score. It's 7 out of 10. Hardly a low score. A good game but far from a great one. Have you played it?

    Kick his ass Tom!

  17. falconpunch94 Monday 25th Jun 2012 at 21:07

    Plenty of mistakes in this review, almost feels kind of rushed... For a start there are 40 levels not 16...

  18. tomonm Monday 25th Jun 2012 at 21:30

    Plenty of mistakes in this review, almost feels kind of rushed... For a start there are 40 levels not 16...

    I said there are 16 levels in the main game and you unlock more when you complete it. Also mentioned the secret levels. As I said, when you take all these in there is plenty of content.

  19. fisher2007 Monday 25th Jun 2012 at 21:52

    That's a surprise. But I wouldn't buy it, anyway.

  20. GuitarHero Monday 25th Jun 2012 at 22:01

    Aww, game too difficult for mummykins?

    Sorry, but marking it down for that reason is absurd, because giving it such a low score will make people think it's a bad game, rather then a difficult one. Poor form yet again ONM.


    Not really, people are not likely to want a game that's frustratingly difficult to the point where it isn't fun anymore, whereas some people do. Anyway if you like games that are a challenge, you can tell from the review itself that you should investigate the game further.

  21. Aboyandhissequel Monday 25th Jun 2012 at 22:55


    That said, don't forget that 70% is a good score. It's 7 out of 10. Hardly a low score. A good game but far from a great one. Have you played it?

    Unfortunately I've not had chance too since my Mario Themed 3DS arrived with a fault and has been away since this thing came out. But before everyone says I am therefore not allowed to question the merits of 70% for this; you say;

    It was the lack of checkpoints that bothered me. It meant that you were playing the same parts over and over again and it became it a bit boring.

    Can I then assume that you would have similarly downgraded Super Meat Boy, which had exactly the same 'problem' ? Except it isn't really a problem since as you acknowledge yourself, it's a retro game for the retro crowd. It was meant to be intentionally difficult. If checkpoints were included then surely it would have been considerably easier, but all the while missing the whole purpose of why the developers made the game. Furthermore, if they were included, you would die less and the game would be over quicker, which you would then downgrade even more owning to the game's price tag.

    You acknowledge that the extra levels do exist but in your last line you say that it's only the difficulty level that keeps this game long. 40 levels is considerably more then Mighty Switch Force. And as for the linear levels jibe, many retro games as you know were the same as this; you didn't throw that at MSF either. Honestly it seems to me you completely misjudged what this game was all about.

    Make no mistake, I want more games like this, instead of things like Learn to Make Custard Pies v2 on the Eshop. ONM really is such a valued source in the Nintendo European scene; surely you should speak up for the merits of interesting developers such as RK instead of focussing almost exclusively on the negative points. But having seen yourself put Wii U Fit above Platinum Games's fresh IP in your excitement list tells me everything I need to know.

  22. K-tet Monday 25th Jun 2012 at 23:48

    To be fair, all eShop titles are overpriced, but that's because Nintendo deal in silly prices, at least, in my opinion they do.

    It's a very difficult retro-platformer, but a pretty good one. Definitely not worth Ł8.10, I'd say more Ł6.50 tops, but it's definitely worth 70%. It has enough content to keep you going, even if some of the levels are stupidly difficult, although, nowhere near as anally tough as VVVVVV's, though lack of checkpoints does kill some of the enjoyment factor in comparison.

    For those asking about Dillon's Rolling Western, you can buy it for Ł7.20 during the second part of the 3DS eShop sale on Thursday iirc.

  23. Mart2006 Tuesday 26th Jun 2012 at 05:30

    Mutant Mudds has 16 levels to complete

    There's actually 20 levels.

    further selection of bonus stages that are unlocked upon finishing the main game

    There's four more levels in the main game which are unlocked after beating and collecting all the water sprites in the original sixteen, with twenty bonus levels hidden throughout each of these.

    Also, I noticed that the review mainly just describes the game for the best part of three paragraphs? I thought the point of a review was to, y'know, actually review it? Not just provide a somewhat negative alternative to an official press release.

    If you take away the 3D trickery what you have is a Mega Man-style platformer with a water powered jet-pack nabbed from Delfino Plaza. Except not quite as awesome as that sounds

    Haha, that's a sentence from a critical review? So it likens one of the protagonist's power-ups to the one seen in another game, comments that it's "not quite as awesome," and moves on? Why is it not awesome? I thought it was pretty fun and, if you haven't got the upgrade, it made the larger leaps which required you to use all of its power that bit more challenging.

    Oh wait, the challenge is a problem, too, so maybe Renegade Kid shouldn't have included any obstacles at all.

    Another point:

    The final level chucks everything at you: you've got clouds blowing you off the platforms

    As Jools Watsham himself pointed out via Twitter:

    Oh also, apparently the "final" level has clouds in it... hm, clouds in space?

    Obviously a massive oversight, and the game blatantly hasn't been played to its full extent. Maybe it was too challenging?

    you will feel a great sense of satisfaction - almost pride - when you do manage to complete the final level

    Seeing as it seems that you've barely played half of the game, imagine the pride when you've finished all forty levels and collected all 2,000 water sprites!

    So, even though it's sort-of justified at the end, there's so much negativity in this review that what's written doesn't nearly warrant such a "good" score as you've given it, which is a shame for two reasons: you could put many people who read your review off the game due to unfounded complaints, and you're personally missing out - some of the later levels are fantastic.

    Great job, ONM!

  24. tomonm Tuesday 26th Jun 2012 at 07:48

    I'll address all the points you've made. I think you're being a little pedantic. There are 16 levels plus four more to unlock which makes it up to 20. Mighty Switch Force has 16 levels plus five more which you unlock upon completing them.

    When I talk about the final level, I mean the last one before you open up the further levels which I described as bonus levels. I could lengthen the review by describing what they do but that could be seen as a spoiler. If you want to say they form part of the main game, so be it. They're still extra levels which you get upon completing the first 16. Then you've also got the extra secret stuff which I also mentioned. I said there's plenty of content for your Ł8.10 so I don't see what the problem is. Makes no difference to the score.

    Remember, you talk about Super Meat Boy's checkpoints, I didn't review Super Meat Boy - all different opinions. Plus it's all about whether you mind replaying the same sections over again. I found replaying Mutant Mudds slightly boring and a bit frustrating.

    Linear levels - not necessarily a criticism - just that the switching in and out of the scenery doesn't really add a great deal.

    It's just an opinion. If you want to disagree that's fine.

  25. MartinIsAwesome Tuesday 26th Jun 2012 at 08:27

    Also, I noticed that the review mainly just describes the game for the best part of three paragraphs? I thought the point of a review was to, y'know, actually review it? Not just provide a somewhat negative alternative to an official press release.


    I'm not sure if you've noticed, but there are lot of downloadable games released within a month and Tom has to review them all AND run a website. The reviews for download games tend to be short because, a) he only has so much time, and b) these reviews get published in the magazine, in which there is only so much space so Tom has to stick to a word-limit.

  26. Mr.Gray Tuesday 26th Jun 2012 at 08:59

    I agree with review. This game is bit overrated on other sites and 70% is a good score for it. It is not only dificulty, but also fact, that game is not very inovative and not super entertaining. For me VVVVVV (I would give 90%) or Mighty Switch Force (I would give 80%) are much bettrer choices. I walked through Mutant Muds one time and don't feel need to replay it. I have gameplay time similar to MSF, but I found MSF more entertaining (MM 100 and MSF all levels under par).
    Anyway MM is good game, I'm glad it exists and I would like to have more games from independent creators. If it would be bit chaper, I would recommand it to everyone to download it. Now I must say, there are better pieces for more reasonable prices.

  27. Pyron12 Wednesday 27th Jun 2012 at 15:21

    Aww, game too difficult for mummykins?

    Sorry, but marking it down for that reason is absurd, because giving it such a low score will make people think it's a bad game, rather then a difficult one. Poor form yet again ONM.


    I have to totally agree with that. But Kid Icarus for the NES was frustrating as well with only 16 levels and no bonus levels.

  28. Diddy ZX Wednesday 27th Jun 2012 at 15:45

    But Kid Icarus for the NES was frustrating as well with only 16 levels and no bonus levels.


    ONM's review makes no mention of that (or much of note except for "one ONM member" rating it as one of their favourite Nintendo games ever), or of its Mega Man-esque difficulty level, funnily enough. :P (It basically just tells you "A guy here likes it. 84%.".)

  29. Aboyandhissequel Wednesday 27th Jun 2012 at 23:23

    Just to update, I've got a fully functional Mario Themed 3DS back, so I managed to play this game a lot now and I stand by my (A criticisms of the review and (B my own points. It's a charming, sweet retro performer that deserves an 80% as a minimum. That would mean the game is a great one rather then a good one and I see no reason why that shouldn't be the case. Fair enough it might not be as great as, say, MSF or VVVVV but it absolutely belongs in that bracket.

    Mr Gray you make some good points but like Mr East you both miss the mark that all the other reviews managed to pick up. This is not trying to be an innovative game, or an inventive one. It is supposed to be a tribute to the retro 8-bit era in the purest form. It's great that VVVVVV injected some humour (though where it is I am not so sure) however MM's sound-track, graphics and type of gameplay is all there to achieve exactly that. Mr East also committed the most fatal of error - if a game is too difficult, he believes it is the game's fault. Not only is this nonsense but most of all it's disappointing, thankfully I seldom see other journalists doing the same. Infact, Dead Souls was praised across the board for it's brutal hardness rather then panned for it, same with Super Meat Boy, the latter of which had no checkpoints at all. So why exactly should there, by rights, be checkpoints in this game? Get over it.

    So my overall conclusion is that Mr East is desensitized to challenge; too much Wii Fit can be blamed for that.

  30. tomonm Thursday 28th Jun 2012 at 08:57

    I don't like this belief that hard = good. It doesn't always. VVVVVV was really, really hard but the crucial thing is I loved replaying the same sections over and over again. Maybe because the checkpoints meant that you weren't having to complete the same things you had before again and again. In Mutant Mudds, I didn't enjoy this as much as I found the levels a tad more boring.

    It is a tribute to 8-bit platformers but you can't deny that the switching into the background/foreground was designed to shake things up a bit. Otherwise, why bother having them in there. As I said, I didn't think it really added anything.

    The fact that I like Wii Fit U is an easy stick to beat me with. The fact is that I enjoy a broad range of games and I am of the belief that a game like Mutant Mudds should make you a bit frustrated if it is to do its job properly. But it's all about finding the right balance between frun and frustration and I don't believe Mutant Mudds quite managed it.

    As I say, I liked it 70% is a good score. It is basically saying if you like this sort of thing, you'll probably enjoy Mutant Mudds.

  31. Icytroid1993 Thursday 28th Jun 2012 at 13:48

    Aboyandhissequel there's no need to mock someone just because you don't agree with their point of view. Like Tom said its just an opinion. Difficulty isn't always a good thing, for example:

    Example of difficulty done well = Mario Strikers Charged Football
    Example of difficulty done poorly, to the point where you feel fiery rage = Mega Man

    Mario Strikers is a tough git, but it's immensely fun at the same time!

  32. Diddy ZX Thursday 28th Jun 2012 at 15:14

    Example of difficulty done poorly, to the point where you feel fiery rage = Mega Man


    The Mega Man series is one of the best examples of challenge-done-right that exists - those guys really know their craft (Warning: NSFW language peppered liberally throughout the video). It's even designed to subtly nudge you in the right direction if you're having trouble, without ever resorting to intelligence-insulting hand-holding or quite literally playing itself for you, as seems to be the go-to approach for modern designers who have forgotten what their jobs entail.

    More games as well-crafted as the Mega Man series would be a VERY good thing - it would probably start providing a much-needed alternative to the glut of dull games that force you to spend an entire hour or two learning the simplistic-but-flawed controls which in no world should ever need an hour to learn (The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time, I'm looking at you), just so they can have a meaningless "[X] Hours of Gameplay!" bullet-point on their boxes.

    If you want to see difficulty done badly look at, say, Shockman for the TurboGrafx-16. I cite this one because it was clearly designed to be reminiscent of the Mega Man series (it was actually quite distinct from the other three games in the series that Shockman is from, in that regard). It is a good game (and I do love it), but its challenge is not very well thought out, and is all too often delivered via unfairness. For example, you have one life to get through the entire game, and the fact that you have unlimited continues doesn't help you much, since your life-bar is fairly easily depleted. It's even worse in two-player mode, since that short and easily-drained life-bar is *shared by both players*, and you still only have one life - but this time, it's between you, so if one of you dies, you both do!

    Folks these days don't know they're born, and figuring out the difference between a temper problem and a well-designed game would certainly be valuable.

  33. Icytroid1993 Thursday 28th Jun 2012 at 15:51

    Diddy i'm not denying that Mega Man is a well crafted game :) Difficulty doesn't affect how good the game design is (see Kirby's Epic Yarn). Mega Man is well designed, but i feel that any game that is so difficult to the point where the game isn't fun anymore, that is a game where the difficulty is poorly integrated. Just in case you're wondering, i don't lose my temper when i play difficult games :lol: I do, like many, get a bit frustrated when a game is too difficult :)

    I agree when you mention games that hold you by the hand these days (like the super guide in some Mario games). It's almost insulting to our ability to play games! I feel games should turn away from these ridiculously easy traits.

  34. Diddy ZX Thursday 28th Jun 2012 at 16:15

    The Mega Man series, by and large, is relatively easy (there are far, far harder games out there), and never insurmountable - I don't see how its difficulty (something it's famed and widely-praised for by everyone, it seems, but ONM, which seems to waste a ton of time whining "WAAH, Mega Man!!" instead of reviewing the games properly and playing them in the process) is poorly-integrated, myself. :P

    But, agreed on all of your other points. :)

  35. Dertdood Thursday 28th Jun 2012 at 19:03

    megaman was a very well designed game in 1987 but it is not a very well designed game when they are still releasing the same thing in 2010

  36. Diddy ZX Thursday 28th Jun 2012 at 19:12

    megaman was a very well designed game in 1987 but it is not a very well designed game when they are still releasing the same thing in 2010


    By that logic, Super Mario Bros., Mario Kart, Metroid, The Legend of Zelda, etc., games are no longer well-designed. But they clearly are. Same for Mega Man titles.

  37. Icytroid1993 Friday 29th Jun 2012 at 16:09

    By that logic, Super Mario Bros., Mario Kart, Metroid, The Legend of Zelda, etc., games are no longer well-designed. But they clearly are. Same for Mega Man titles.

    Every addition to the Mario series has got to have elements that keep it familiar enough, to mark it as a Mario title. To be fair, the Mario series has had many variations. The original Super Mario Bros and Super Mario Sunshine are very different games! The same goes for the Metroid games, Super Metroid and Metroid Prime are very different, but all games in the series have common elements that mark it as a Metroid game which keeps the atmosphere :)

    The Mega Man series, by and large, is relatively easy (there are far, far harder games out there), and never insurmountable - I don't see how its difficulty is poorly-integrated, myself. :)

    I'll give a comparison to better describe what i mean :) Super Star Wars is very difficult from the word go, and if you lose all your lives you are sent back to the beginning of the game, regardless of how far into the game you are (in my opinion this game is more difficult than many Mega Man games). Then lets consider Donkey Kong Country and Super Metroid. Both games are challenging games, but both get progressively difficult as you get further into the game (unlike Super Star Wars which is at its highest level of difficulty from the beginning). So with DKC and SM there is balance in the challenge offered, there is a good difficulty curve, and the most difficult parts of these games are where they should be, at later stages. This progression of difficulty is more likely to encourage the player to continue rather than the unforgiving nature of a game like Super Star Wars which has no balance, no variation, in its difficulty. I actually love Super Star Wars though, and i would highly recommend it if you haven't played it, and if its your kind of game :) (I just used it as an example, despite me loving the game :lol: )

  38. Diddy ZX Friday 29th Jun 2012 at 16:48

    By that logic, Super Mario Bros., Mario Kart, Metroid, The Legend of Zelda, etc., games are no longer well-designed. But they clearly are. Same for Mega Man titles.

    Every addition to the Mario series has got to have elements that keep it familiar enough, to mark it as a Mario title. To be fair, the Mario series has had many variations. The original Super Mario Bros and Super Mario Sunshine are very different games! The same goes for the Metroid games, Super Metroid and Metroid Prime are very different, but all games in the series have common elements that mark it as a Metroid game which keeps the atmosphere :)


    My point exactly. :) Everything you just said also applies to the Mega Man saga.


    I actually love Super Star Wars though, and i would highly recommend it if you haven't played it, and if its your kind of game :) (I just used it as an example, despite me loving the game :lol: )


    I have it, and I love it, too! :D Mega Man's difficulty-curve works as you described, though - once you get one weapon, everything else just falls into place, and it's well-balanced.

  39. SonyX Sunday 1st Jul 2012 at 20:18

    wow i thought this game looked epic.even though this says i should buy other games but im putting 40 euro on the eshop so i'll get this along with some other games :D

  40. GooseFan96 Monday 9th Jul 2012 at 18:27

    its a great game that gave me many hours of enjoyment, for me, 9/10

  41. skullkid92 Wednesday 11th Jul 2012 at 13:14

    so vvvvvvv is better? :?:

  42. gobbadino Wednesday 11th Jul 2012 at 16:03

    Actually, the honour of most expensive goes to Risky's Revenge on DSiWare- Ł10.80!

  43. Diddy ZX Wednesday 11th Jul 2012 at 23:19

    so vvvvvvv is better? :?:


    They're very, very different games, such that it would be difficult to directly compare them.

    VVVVVV is focussed a lot more on trial-and-error and dying gajillions of times. Sometimes you can get thrown into a new screen and die near-enough instantly because, of course, you never saw what was coming.

    Mutant Mudds is focussed more on skill, reflexes, and forward-planning based on what you can see in front of you. You have a fuller view of what's coming than with VVVVVV - it's a more traditional platformer.

    Both are good games, but I'd have to say that, personally, I prefer Mutant Mudds, by far - I like its approach to stage design more.

  44. NSMB23DS Sunday 12th Aug 2012 at 03:51

    I got the demo, and that is what I must call, 'nuff said. That demo told me " Don't buy me please " in big bold letters.

  45. SM3DL2 Thursday 8th Nov 2012 at 22:37

    70%? I thought it would get higher.

    Ł8.10 is a lot for an eshop game, but it is like a full game. Compared to latest releases at Ł39.99, it's looking quite cheap now.

    I downloaded the demo version for free, and ONM weren't exaggerating, it is HARD!

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.