Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Video: 3DS XL review

Find out if you should buy one

There's not long to go until the Nintendo 3DS XL is released in the UK and you can find out if you should buy one by watching our video review.

Our Nintendo 3DS XL video review takes you through all the new features of Nintendo's new handheld and shows Super Mario 3D Land and Mario Kart 7 running on the big screens, just two 3DS games that are better on 3DS XL.

 Loading video...

Nintendo 3DS XL will be released in the UK on 28 July. Are you going to buy one?

Comments

46 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. Shmilly Thursday 5th Jul 2012 at 11:01

    To be honest, probably yes. But at the very least I'll wait until the Circle Pad Pro is released, because apparently the old one won't fit the XL.

  2. Aces High Thursday 5th Jul 2012 at 11:28

    Thank you, thank you, thank you! That 2min video was all that was needed to confirm unresoundingly that 'YES' I shall be grabbing myself a 3DS XL. Silver if you're asking.

    My only previous concern was of any graphical stretching effects for games filling up a 90% bigger screen, but from the video at least, it would appear those concerns were unfounded. I can't wait to put SM3DL and Kid Icarus through their paces on that laptop of a handheld!! However, I'd still like to know how DS and Virtual Console titles (I have tons!) will fair on the new system - I'm hoping that answer will be something along the lines of much better or at least really well.

    Either way, I'll be doing my utmost to pick up a sub-170 unit on launch day. Then it's a system transfer, before sticking my 'as-new' metallic red 3DS on everyone's favourite internet auction site.

    Well, that's the plan.

  3. Donkey Kong Jr. Thursday 5th Jul 2012 at 12:06

    Great review guys, thanks. I also loved the mag today but I'm saving it for my flight tomorrow. Thanks for 2 posters though. 8)

  4. Tamalay Thursday 5th Jul 2012 at 12:20

    No offense nintendo but my answer is a positive NO!
    I am one of the people that spent 200+ on the 3DS and they made a huge fuss about how it cant be bigger without losing 3D and now we're being told that on this its better, but lets remember that there will now be more headaches and eyeaches due to the bigger screen. And I understand at 2 minutes it said not pocket size but what is the point of an XL why dont they think about the feeling and where the stylus goes and everything on the first place instead of making us spend more money. Ugh :shock: :|

  5. imbusydoctorwho Thursday 5th Jul 2012 at 12:29

    If I can get it with a Charger,and a game,for around 150,and then I'd probably go for it.
    But I still think 179 is still expensive without a charger.

  6. monsteroushunter Thursday 5th Jul 2012 at 14:53

    I will get it but will wait and see if I can get a nsmb2 bundle.
    Wish they'd release it in white in Europe though

  7. LordGhirahim64 Thursday 5th Jul 2012 at 15:00

    Yes, I'll be getting one but seeing as I leave for Tenerife on the same day, I'm gonna wait til the 17th August to get mine (so I can pick up NSMB2 at the same time).

  8. Herbert_Rarr Thursday 5th Jul 2012 at 15:04

    This is really frustrating for me because I bought my 3DS in October last year, which emptied my pockets, and now I'm saving up for a Wii U. I love the XL's larger screens as the 3D on the standard model was almost dismissable, (I only use it for watching videos or showing off to my friends) but now it must be a lot more prominent, although the outward design of the console could have done with a little more work - it's not even shiny. I still want one, if only to use at home because of its size, but I'm now completely strapped for cash.
    Bad timing on Nintendo's part, I say. But then again, they couldn't leave it too late for the XL or people would begin to lose interest in the 3DS with only the one model and five (soon to become four) colours to choose from.

  9. hamzahdsi Thursday 5th Jul 2012 at 15:12


    But I still think 179 is still expensive without a charger.


    It doesnt have a charger? Well, that makes sense

  10. ledreppe Thursday 5th Jul 2012 at 16:49

    I'm almost convinced to replace my 3ds with this xl version, but the fact it wont fit in my pocket is what's stopping me.

  11. PeterR Thursday 5th Jul 2012 at 17:37

    I'll probably get one eventually as it does look rather good. As my 3ds is doing me fine at the moment though it'll probably be best to wait for a special edition one and the larger circle pad pro. Also a price drop after a while would be nice. Still a bit concerned about not being very portable as i like to bring my 3ds with me a lot but maybe if i got some big pockets...

  12. 1steagle Thursday 5th Jul 2012 at 17:44

    To be honest I don't see the point of getting one as there Is nothing wrong with the original
    :?:

  13. Murphy11 Thursday 5th Jul 2012 at 17:52

    Yes, I'll be getting one but seeing as I leave for Tenerife on the same day, I'm gonna wait til the 17th August to get mine (so I can pick up NSMB2 at the same time).


    R u going from bristol with Ryanair?

  14. NintendoForLife Thursday 5th Jul 2012 at 17:54

    It doesnt have a charger? Well, that makes sense

    It comes with a wall charger, just not charging cradle as well.

  15. hamzahdsi Thursday 5th Jul 2012 at 18:55

    It doesnt have a charger? Well, that makes sense

    It comes with a wall charger, just not charging cradle as well.


    Right

  16. TheNUKEnukeM Thursday 5th Jul 2012 at 19:53

    I agree the Xl looks better but I wish nintendo would launch some games instead of consoles for the 3DS. All the games so far you could get on another console.
    Zelda- Its a port
    Mario Kart- You could play wii
    3D Land- You could play galaxy
    Street Fighter- Its a port
    Resident Evil- You could play resi 4
    Star Fox- PORT
    Metal Gear- Port

    The only unique great game to the system is Kid Icarus (And i dont even like it). I think there should be more unique titles available on the system before releasing more consoles. And all though its great seeing such great ports on the system there should be enough new unique stuff to back it up.

  17. wak Thursday 5th Jul 2012 at 20:17

    The more videos I watch and the more reviews I read just make me wish I could get one sooner.

    The fact it's not as pocket sized anymore doesn't bother me as I only play my hand helds at home.

    It is a bit strange that they don't include a charger but they can be picked up for a fiver on eBay.

  18. wak Thursday 5th Jul 2012 at 20:20

    Reading posts that it does come with a charger? ......... I thought it didn't?!

    I'm confused....

  19. GumGum_Warrior Thursday 5th Jul 2012 at 21:28

    No way. To be honest I just think the 3DS XL is just a big con to get more money out of people because they don't have any new ideas to top the 3DS or the idea they have now is still in development cause they can't work out how to make it do whatever it is going to do to top the 3DS.

  20. Aces High Thursday 5th Jul 2012 at 23:36

    No way. To be honest I just think the 3DS XL is just a big con to get more money out of people because they don't have any new ideas to top the 3DS or the idea they have now is still in development cause they can't work out how to make it do whatever it is going to do to top the 3DS.


    I certainly wouldn't exactly say that it's a big con mate! I'd call it Nintendo expanding their handheld line-up to appeal to a wider audience. It also gives gamers an opportunity to go with the system that best fits his or her wants/needs - and that's not a good thing?

    Oh and any major changes (to top the 3DS as you put it) will come with Ninty's next-gen handheld(s).

    There's just no pleasing some people.

  21. K-tet Friday 6th Jul 2012 at 00:27

    It doesnt have a charger? Well, that makes sense

    It comes with a wall charger, just not charging cradle as well.

    Only in America.

    For Europe and Japan, there is no charger included in the box, You have to buy them separately.

    Anyway, I won't be buying one. The Wii U takes a much higher priority on my 'things to buy' list.

  22. corbandioxide8 Friday 6th Jul 2012 at 11:25

    Although I will almost definately be getting one, there is the small problem mentioned by others before, it wont fit in my pocket. And how am I going to get play coins for games if I cant have it in my pocket, therefore rendering the pedometer useless? hmm.. i hope they find a way to fix this, perhaps making a peripheral pedometer that you can connect to using streetpass...?

  23. Redfish20 Friday 6th Jul 2012 at 15:27

    Although I will almost definately be getting one, there is the small problem mentioned by others before, it wont fit in my pocket. And how am I going to get play coins for games if I cant have it in my pocket, therefore rendering the pedometer useless? hmm.. i hope they find a way to fix this, perhaps making a peripheral pedometer that you can connect to using streetpass...?

    Strap it to your thigh like a hunting knife.

  24. hamzahdsi Friday 6th Jul 2012 at 15:30


    For Europe and Japan, there is no charger included in the box, You have to buy them separately.

    Anyway, I won't be buying one. The Wii U takes a much higher priority on my 'things to buy' list.


    Pfft. I aint buying this

  25. BT383 Friday 6th Jul 2012 at 17:51

    If this is too big to fit in your pocket, how are you supposed to get StreetPass hits?

  26. LOZ_01 Friday 6th Jul 2012 at 20:30

    i personally think the XL is great, i like having a big screen.
    i think everyone is getting a bit too wound up by nintendo releasing this, they arent forcing you to buy one they are giving options to people. if you want one then great, if you dont then dont bother! no need to get so up tight about something that doesent really affect you if you arent going to get one. and for streetpassing and coins, just put it in a bag when you are out and about.

    i will be getting one on launch day and im going to love it. :D 8)

  27. redeye Saturday 7th Jul 2012 at 05:58

    I would like one, but had problems with the previous XL. In the end after having two of them the last one was traded in for a ds lite. But that aside I'm always up for new. As for having no pockets big enough get a backpack guys. :twisted:

  28. TwoDaysAgo Saturday 7th Jul 2012 at 15:29

    The way I see it, this is a marmite console. I love you Nintendo, but sorry - I hate it. I won't buy it, no matter what the price is. Those who love it - buy it.
    Simples!

  29. Sonic56 Monday 9th Jul 2012 at 05:15

    Hey, either ONM or fellow readers, could you please help me! I have a regular, blue 3ds and I love it. I was in line on release date and have had it now for a year and a bit. The thing is though, I just realised my left speaker gives next to no sound at all. When I realised this I called Nintendo and my warrenty has expired meaning it is now $80 (I live in Canada) to have it fixed. That is almost 40 pounds. So my question is should I trade in my 3ds for a new 3ds xl when it comes out or just have it repaired? Please answer, I don't know what to do.

  30. LOZ_01 Monday 9th Jul 2012 at 10:18

    I'd trade in for an xl.
    If you got it repaired it could take forever to get back to you :)

  31. Si421 Tuesday 10th Jul 2012 at 15:19

    Urgh, this is some kind of joke, right? The whole 'Bigger is better' debate.. Personally, I think the 3DS XL was a waste of resources on Nintendo's behalf.

    The DSi XL went down with really mixed reviews, and personally, I imagine the same fate for this.

    Also, if it's so much bigger, why not add another circle pad on? Just move the ABXY buttons down and add the pad in the space at the top. THAT would sell better..

    Hey, either ONM or fellow readers, could you please help me! I have a regular, blue 3ds and I love it. I was in line on release date and have had it now for a year and a bit. The thing is though, I just realised my left speaker gives next to no sound at all. When I realised this I called Nintendo and my warrenty has expired meaning it is now $80 (I live in Canada) to have it fixed. That is almost 40 pounds. So my question is should I trade in my 3ds for a new 3ds xl when it comes out or just have it repaired? Please answer, I don't know what to do.

    I think it might be better getting it repaired, because if you trade in, you lose benefits from the Ambassador system. Plus, the $80 isn't too much.

    End of the day, it's your choice. I hope your problem is sorted quickly!

  32. wikiisthecutest Thursday 12th Jul 2012 at 15:27

    could someone tell me if the blue one is matte or glossy? thanks :mrgreen:

  33. willo3 Sunday 15th Jul 2012 at 18:22

    Is someone havin a steffi graff here!!!!! look i bought the new 3ds and loved it, and would ultimately have bought this new version, it looks superb. My angle was to trade my old/new 3DS for the xl and subsidise the difference. then the bombshell of all bombshells in my entire history of gaming (30 years) i have never known a console to be sold without an adapter, this is outrageous and i can't believe that a bigger fuss hasn't been made of this. imagine in the early days of the nes and snes having to buy your adapter seperate people would have sherked the console for the mega drive.

  34. Wiison Monday 16th Jul 2012 at 19:48

    It really makes no sense that the XL is not going to be released with a charger :? It may have bigger screens but that's hardly enough to convince me that it's a worthy update. I love my 3DS anyway :)

  35. Wiitabix Tuesday 17th Jul 2012 at 13:02

    I hope it sparks a slight drop in price for the normal 3DS so I can get one in time for Monster Hunter.

  36. trogdor25 Sunday 22nd Jul 2012 at 11:59

    To be honest, the big screens were not needed as the 3ds screens were big enough as it is.

    Plus, it's size probably won't allow the circle pad pro to be used on it.

  37. NSMB23DS Sunday 22nd Jul 2012 at 23:39

    "Strap it to your thigh like a hunting knife."
    I like the way you think.

  38. NSMB23DS Sunday 22nd Jul 2012 at 23:43

    The way I see it, this is a marmite console. I love you Nintendo, but sorry - I hate it. I won't buy it, no matter what the price is. Those who love it - buy it.
    Simples!


    Marmite is terrible. Anyway why the heck are you on the Official Nintendo Magazine website if you hate Nintendo :?:

  39. NSMB23DS Sunday 22nd Jul 2012 at 23:46

    Urgh, this is some kind of joke, right? The whole 'Bigger is better' debate.. Personally, I think the 3DS XL was a waste of resources on Nintendo's behalf.

    The DSi XL went down with really mixed reviews, and personally, I imagine the same fate for this.

    Also, if it's so much bigger, why not add another circle pad on? Just move the ABXY buttons down and add the pad in the space at the top. THAT would sell better..

    Hey, either ONM or fellow readers, could you please help me! I have a regular, blue 3ds and I love it. I was in line on release date and have had it now for a year and a bit. The thing is though, I just realised my left speaker gives next to no sound at all. When I realised this I called Nintendo and my warrenty has expired meaning it is now $80 (I live in Canada) to have it fixed. That is almost 40 pounds. So my question is should I trade in my 3ds for a new 3ds xl when it comes out or just have it repaired? Please answer, I don't know what to do.

    I think it might be better getting it repaired, because if you trade in, you lose benefits from the Ambassador system. Plus, the $80 isn't too much.

    End of the day, it's your choice. I hope your problem is sorted quickly!

    The water temple is easy. And I know.It's not a very big feat if you ask me.

  40. Wiison Monday 23rd Jul 2012 at 15:41

    The way I see it, this is a marmite console. I love you Nintendo, but sorry - I hate it. I won't buy it, no matter what the price is. Those who love it - buy it.
    Simples!


    Marmite is terrible. Anyway why the heck are you on the Official Nintendo Magazine website if you hate Nintendo :?:

    He love's Nintendo, but hates the 3DS XL.

  41. light_goose Tuesday 24th Jul 2012 at 15:53

    Personally, I'm definitly not getting one at launch seeing as I spent over 200 quid on a regular 3ds just over a year ago but if I see one going cheeply in Christmas sales I might not be below getting myself one...

  42. thecoolmana777 Wednesday 25th Jul 2012 at 09:53

    To all the haters who are hating ,the 3DS XL may not fit in your pocket but have you ever heard of a bag?!

  43. themoron1972 Thursday 2nd Aug 2012 at 12:03

    Traded in 3ds for 3ds xl.it only took a few mins to realise the speakers are crap.apparantly there not as good as original 3ds and this is clear when using one.the sound is very quiet and you also get crackle coming from the speakers.i took mine back and exchanged it and it was the same.some games sound fine but others like resi evil and mario kart sound hideous.and the debate about the resolution not making a dif it does.games look very jaggy and the colours and brightness are no where near as good.while this wasnt a big thing for me the sound prob certainly is.read others having same issue on internet with sound.got a refund on xl and changed back to 3ds and realised how much better the sound and picture quality actually is.so for me just having bigger screens is not enough,it is more comfortable to hold but thats not everything.games like resi evil look so much better on original 3ds and with the circle bad pro attached the experience is second to none

  44. Gamer 1 Thursday 2nd Aug 2012 at 13:00

    Probably gonna get it sounds good :D

  45. alinktodapast Monday 3rd Sep 2012 at 11:58

    this is rubbish try before u buy the 3d effect is rubbish :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: dont buy dont buy dont buy dont buy

  46. Scirm Wednesday 12th Sep 2012 at 15:35

    I never had any headaches while playing on my 3DS. I am playing with 3D on maximum, always. And I have to admit, that bigger screen is faar better, for example, friend of mine just couldn't see 3D on smaller 3DS, but he finally see it on XL.

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.