Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

New Super Mario Bros. 2 review - 36/40 in Famitsu

See our thoughts in Issue 85 of ONM, out 1st August - comes with free gift!

Things are looking good for those famous plumbers in their latest adventure - prestigious Japanese games magazine, Famitsu, just gave New Super Mario Bros. 2 its first review, a more than respectable 36/40.

Click to view larger image
It's all shaping up rather well for the new, coin-obsessed platformer, what with a nice, big review of our own coming up too. You can see the official ONM verdict when Issue 85 hits shops from 1st August. Not to spoil the surprise, but there might just be an exciting NSMB2 gift in it for you too. Yippee!

Comments

35 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. shy guy 64 Wednesday 18th Jul 2012 at 09:38

    im looking forward to this immensely

  2. MartinIsAwesome Wednesday 18th Jul 2012 at 09:57

    You tease!

    Just out of interest, how did that Famitsu review break-down? Presumably 9/10 across the board.

  3. JoeONM Wednesday 18th Jul 2012 at 10:32

    It was indeed a 9/9/9/9 breakdown.

  4. 5OUNDWAVE Wednesday 18th Jul 2012 at 11:38

    CAN'T WAIT FOR THIS- SICK OF MARIO KART AND ALL THE CHEATER'S - IT'S HACKED BUT NOT AS BAD AS THE WII ONE - ALSO DOE'S ANY 1 KNOW WHERE TO GET KID ICARUS CARD'S IN BELFAST OR ONLINE - HAVE HAD GAME DAY ONE AND HAVE'NT PLAYRD YET TILL CARD COLLECTION IS COMPLETE ?

  5. Donkey Kong Jr. Wednesday 18th Jul 2012 at 11:43

    Oooh, sounds like a great issue! I do wonder what that gift will be ? :mrgreen:

  6. DonnyKD Wednesday 18th Jul 2012 at 11:46

    CAN'T WAIT FOR THIS- SICK OF MARIO KART AND ALL THE CHEATER'S - IT'S HACKED BUT NOT AS BAD AS THE WII ONE - ALSO DOE'S ANY 1 KNOW WHERE TO GET KID ICARUS CARD'S IN BELFAST OR ONLINE - HAVE HAD GAME DAY ONE AND HAVE'NT PLAYRD YET TILL CARD COLLECTION IS COMPLETE ?

    I wonder how people manage to hack Mario Kart 7 when no one managed to do anything with the 3DS other than use flash carts.

  7. imbusydoctorwho Wednesday 18th Jul 2012 at 11:47

    I was kinda expecting this,I'll look forward to ONM's review.

  8. KairiZero Wednesday 18th Jul 2012 at 11:58

    CAN'T WAIT FOR THIS- SICK OF MARIO KART AND ALL THE CHEATER'S - IT'S HACKED BUT NOT AS BAD AS THE WII ONE - ALSO DOE'S ANY 1 KNOW WHERE TO GET KID ICARUS CARD'S IN BELFAST OR ONLINE - HAVE HAD GAME DAY ONE AND HAVE'NT PLAYRD YET TILL CARD COLLECTION IS COMPLETE ?

    I don't think its hacked. There were some glitches but I thought they were fixed. Also - Learn how your keyboard works, CAPS ARE ANNOYING. And they make you look a little silly.

  9. 5OUNDWAVE Wednesday 18th Jul 2012 at 12:06

    HOW COME THEN WHEN THEY FALL OFF THEY JUST REAPPEAR IN FRONT OF YOU STILL DRIVING - ALSO HAVE DROVE INTO A FEW WITH THE STAR AND THEY HAD NO WEAPON'S BUT THEY JUST KEEP GOING ? I HAVE BAD EYE-SIGHT ?

  10. Herbert_Rarr Wednesday 18th Jul 2012 at 12:07

    I bet the gift is a poster :(

  11. Donkey Kong Jr. Wednesday 18th Jul 2012 at 12:07

    dude - caps lock off please. Stop yelling.

  12. ninjafox Wednesday 18th Jul 2012 at 12:40

    Good to see New Super Mario Bros 2 getting a decent score in Famitsu. I pre-ordered my copy yesterday as i know it will be a great game but i am still interested to see what score the game recieves from ONM and what the free gift with ONM 85 is going be! :)

  13. ledreppe Wednesday 18th Jul 2012 at 13:22

    Waow, Mario never seems to dissapoint! Should be another good main Mario adventure to look forward too then.

  14. nath123 Wednesday 18th Jul 2012 at 14:03

    im really looking forward to it the only problem is i cant do these games i struggle get past world 1, where as with zelda games i dont really struggle it wired really

  15. Targey Wednesday 18th Jul 2012 at 14:40

    HOW COME THEN WHEN THEY FALL OFF THEY JUST REAPPEAR IN FRONT OF YOU STILL DRIVING - ALSO HAVE DROVE INTO A FEW WITH THE STAR AND THEY HAD NO WEAPON'S BUT THEY JUST KEEP GOING ? I HAVE BAD EYE-SIGHT ?

    That's called lag. It occurs in most online games if the connection is dodgy. Also, turn off your caps lock. It makes you look like an idiot.

    I'm still not going to bother with this game. Unless it drops in price (a Mario game, drop in price? Hahaha), or I can find a cheap, second-hand copy.

  16. Pineapple Wednesday 18th Jul 2012 at 14:48

    With so many games coming out this year, I'm really not sure if I will bother getting New Super Mario Bros 2. Kingdom Hearts: Dream Drop Distance, Kid Icarus Uprising, Professor Layton and the Mask of Miracle, Luigi's Mansion Dark Moon and Paper Mario Sticker Star are all games I want more than this, and that's just 3DS, and only five of them. I wasn't very impressed by the E3 trailer, and this new coin gimmick seems to be the main hook as well (which doesn't convince me to buy the game). Apart from this though, it looks pretty much the same as New Super Mario Bros DS/Wii, just with slightly nicer backgrounds and new power ups, which is nothing to brag about as they're basically expected with each game. I enjoy Mario, but I'm not sure if it's worth forking out all my money for something extremely similar. Ah well, I'll see what other reviews say before I ultimately make up my mind...

  17. CyberGW Wednesday 18th Jul 2012 at 14:49

    HOW COME THEN WHEN THEY FALL OFF THEY JUST REAPPEAR IN FRONT OF YOU STILL DRIVING - ALSO HAVE DROVE INTO A FEW WITH THE STAR AND THEY HAD NO WEAPON'S BUT THEY JUST KEEP GOING ? I HAVE BAD EYE-SIGHT ?


    It's lag. Basically, they haven't driven off the edge, your 3DS is streaming data of so many players it sometimes gets a little confused, and makes a mistake but then it realises and changes it back. So yeah, lag. They don't actually drive off the edge or into a star person. Your eye sight is perfectly fine! No need to worry! :D

  18. Pyron12 Wednesday 18th Jul 2012 at 15:11

    HOW COME THEN WHEN THEY FALL OFF THEY JUST REAPPEAR IN FRONT OF YOU STILL DRIVING - ALSO HAVE DROVE INTO A FEW WITH THE STAR AND THEY HAD NO WEAPON'S BUT THEY JUST KEEP GOING ? I HAVE BAD EYE-SIGHT ?


    I don't understand why that happens but please stop the caps. And work on your grammar as well. "Also have driven" and "Have I got bad eyesight?" would be much better.

  19. paultheotherone Wednesday 18th Jul 2012 at 16:03

    But what actually happens when you collect one million coins? If it is just to play the whole game as Luigi rather than more levels, that will be disappointing.

    Also, does anynone know when this will be on the eshop? Will it be 12:01 on Friday so It can be downloaded whilst sleeping, or will it be on the usual Thursday update?

  20. Darklord101 Wednesday 18th Jul 2012 at 17:33

    I was initially unsure if this game would be worth my while. If good review scores continue to come in I will seriously consider buying this. :)

  21. Accelgor7 Wednesday 18th Jul 2012 at 17:59

    Same as pokemon b/w 2 so will be getting that aswell!

  22. cheatmaster30 Wednesday 18th Jul 2012 at 18:48

    Keep in mind Famitsu gave the original New Super Mario Bros the exact same score, so it might not be quite as impressive a thing as ONM and other gaming media sources are making it out to be.

    But I'm still looking forward to ONM's review and the free gift. Here's hoping there's actual new information in this review!

  23. BattleGooseUK Wednesday 18th Jul 2012 at 18:53

    I read this comment somewhere once, but it's a valid point… I hope the coin noises are fairly quiet because after a while that *ching* noise is going to drive me batpoo bonkers!

  24. Nin_Ryan Wednesday 18th Jul 2012 at 20:00

    I hope it's not a poster! But if it is I guess it's the thought that counts...

  25. fisher2007 Wednesday 18th Jul 2012 at 20:21

    im looking forward to this.

  26. NSMB23DS Thursday 19th Jul 2012 at 00:30

    I never thought I'd see the day that a Mario game would have payable DLC :evil: I'm just curious on how we pay them. eShop points? I'm downloading mine off of the eShop so I wont have much money left (in points). But I want it really bad so I'll get it anyway. :mrgreen:

  27. HyrulianToad Thursday 19th Jul 2012 at 09:44

    looks great but im saving up for wiiu

  28. BreezySkells Thursday 19th Jul 2012 at 15:07

    getting this 1st day

  29. trigo Thursday 19th Jul 2012 at 16:26

    cannot wiat for this game to come out.

  30. TheAwkwardDancer Thursday 19th Jul 2012 at 20:03

    I'm guessing we'll get a coin related gift with Issue 85. I hope it looks like the game case you get from Game when you pre-order :)

  31. Commandervideo Friday 20th Jul 2012 at 13:35

    I've preordered it so I should get that giant mario coin, looking forward to coin rush

  32. Samster296 Saturday 21st Jul 2012 at 12:33

    I didn't think it looked very good. But now I have a different opinion. Hopefully it will be much better than Super Mario 3D Land.

  33. Xenobladeperson Sunday 22nd Jul 2012 at 14:56

    I still can't decide whether to get this or Mario Wii U, maybe I should get both.

  34. skyluigi Sunday 22nd Jul 2012 at 15:47

    Less than a month to go before (what's shaping up to be) the 3DS game of the year is out!
    Unless, of course, Luigi's Mansion 2 comes out before 2013.

  35. MarioKartVader Monday 23rd Jul 2012 at 13:46

    Im starting to get sick of the Mario franchise. Theres too many spin offs and the New Super Mario Bros is a bit repetitive so ill be waiting on the ONM review before i decide to buy this

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.