Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

New Super Mario Bros 2 review

He's back! But is this one leap too far for the portly plumber?

Coin Rush

The other big addition to the game is the Coin Rush mode. This takes three random levels from certain worlds (there are various unlockable packs, each containing levels from different worlds) and tasks you with clearing all three of them without losing a life, at which point your total number of coins will be recorded and compared with others over StreetPass.

Click to view larger image
This does put an interesting spin on things, even though the random nature of the levels does make it a little harder to perfect a high score when the goalposts keep moving every time. Still, this encourages the player to master every single stage in order to prepare for every possible combination. In time Nintendo promises that new Coin Rush stage packs will be added at an extra cost - despite the fact they aren't free we'd welcome them, because it doesn't hurt to have more levels.

This is particularly true when you consider that the main game - as in the original New Super Mario Bros - only has six main worlds (with another two hidden 'main' ones and the now customary extra world at the end). Whereas the hidden worlds were relatively straightforward to find in New Super Mario Bros if you had a keen eye during certain cut-scenes, this time the hidden worlds (2 and 4 in this case) are a nightmare to find and as a result many gamers (especially younger ones) may never find them.

New Super Mario Bros. 2 is the very definition of bitter-sweet, giving with one hand and then taking away with the other. By default it's the best side-scrolling platformer on the 3DS and yes, it's even better than the original New Super Mario Bros. But that came out six years ago now, and in that time we'd really expected the series to have progressed a little further than just a 3D effect and Coin Rush mode.

In our eyes then, Super Mario 3D Land remains the best Mario adventure on 3DS so far, thanks to its more effective use of 3D, its greater longevity and its wider range of experiences.

Click to view larger image
Mind you, you should by all means still run out and grab New Super Mario Bros 2 when it's released on 17 August because it still provides another serving of the Mario action you know and love. It's just that in the grand scheme of things it could have been so much more.

New Super Mario Bros 2 is one of the top 10 best 3DS games

You can find a bigger review of NSMB2 in the next issue of ONM, a special gold edition complete with free Mario decals for your 3DS! Grab a copy from 1st August.

Previous page 1 2 3 Next

Comments

108 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. theycallmejack Monday 30th Jul 2012 at 11:10

    While I accept that this could be a very good game due to its own merits, ONM frequently criticizes other game series for failing to innovate, and this (according to this review at least) seems to be exactly what New Super Mario Bros 2 has done, and yet it still gets 90%? Obviously I might swallow my words when I actually play the game, but I still find this to be of a hypocritical score... going by simply what was said in the review and the impressions I get from reading it, I'd say it maybe deserved something more like an 82% score? But I don't know! We'll see how it turns out when we actually get to play it!

  2. Shimama_king Monday 30th Jul 2012 at 11:19

    Looks like I won't be getting this any time soon. It hasn't solved any of the main problems I had with the DS one (too easy, short main adventure) and doesn't seem to give anything new apart from lots of coins. I'm sure its still great but I'm just not excited for it, i'll save my £30 for something more interesting. On the topic of the "too many lives thing" I don't know why no one at nintendo realised this as a problem. Surely someone thought that with loads of extra coins it would mean racking up lives quickly, would it have been so difficult to increase the number of coins needed for an extra life from 100 to say 500 or 1000?

  3. ledreppe Monday 30th Jul 2012 at 11:25

    I'm a little confused. When you've finihsed the main adventure and you're trying to get a million coins I was under the impression that if you played Coin Rush mode enough you could get the million coins, but this review says you may have to play through the main adventure several times to get the million coins. Could someone clear this up, as I don't usually enjoy having to play through a game several times just to get (in this case) a million coins. I'd like to achieve the million coins, but I'm not clear on what is involved.

  4. Sex Bob-omb Monday 30th Jul 2012 at 11:42

    The review makes it seem like you hate it yet a 90% at the end, :roll: Makes me wander if this wasnt a nintendo game would it have been more around the 80% mark :roll:

  5. hamzahdsi Monday 30th Jul 2012 at 11:49

    90% Good, good

  6. Aboyandhissequel Monday 30th Jul 2012 at 12:07

    Based on what I was reading, I was expecting 80-85 at the highest; but maybe 75-80 wouldn't have been too far off the mark either. 3D Land got 94 and did very little wrong; this, according to Chris did much more wrong and/or stagnated, and got 90. Remember, 9s i.e 90% generally across all sites are only given to 'Outstanding' games. At no point is this game in this review regarded as so.

    Very odd. Time and time again people make accusations about ONM and their behaviour towards Mario games, and on every occasion I thought people were barking up the wrong tree. Up until now, that is.

    But then what do you see; plenty of advertising about this game in the background even as I write this post. It's clear that Futurenet have to react in a certain way. Business is business and review scores, sadly, are a part of that. Can't bite the hand that feeds after all.

    I'd put a mortgage on this being the highest score the game receives.

  7. BreezySkells Monday 30th Jul 2012 at 12:14

    will head to shops as planned next month to buy this

  8. toffeeman30 Monday 30th Jul 2012 at 12:15

    this score was expected. standard.

  9. 5OUNDWAVE Monday 30th Jul 2012 at 12:27

    i don't care about dlc or getting a million coin's - the game will do for a week - but saying that i like the sound of the coin rush mode so it would be sweet to hit a million before the week is out, if not bummer :roll:

  10. Shinigami_Link92 Monday 30th Jul 2012 at 12:42

    Wow. This is a shame. I was finally coming around to thinking that I might get this, then this review put me right off the idea again. One Mega Mushroom? That sucks! I'll wait for NSMBU, that actually looks interesting.

  11. TheAwkwardDancer Monday 30th Jul 2012 at 12:44

    This review made me sad. But free decals made me happy.

  12. 5OUNDWAVE Monday 30th Jul 2012 at 12:53

    also once it's clocked that's it for me, as i don't like playing through a game more than once , unless u have 2 :?:

  13. Samster296 Monday 30th Jul 2012 at 13:12

    I expected that it would be too easy to collect lives. Another easy Mario game. Why can't Nintendo make Mario games hard again like Super Mario Sunshine?

  14. ChandraONM Monday 30th Jul 2012 at 14:01

    Based on what I was reading, I was expecting 80-85 at the highest; but maybe 75-80 wouldn't have been too far off the mark either. 3D Land got 94 and did very little wrong; this, according to Chris did much more wrong and/or stagnated, and got 90. Remember, 9s i.e 90% generally across all sites are only given to 'Outstanding' games. At no point is this game in this review regarded as so.

    Very odd. Time and time again people make accusations about ONM and their behaviour towards Mario games, and on every occasion I thought people were barking up the wrong tree. Up until now, that is.

    But then what do you see; plenty of advertising about this game in the background even as I write this post. It's clear that Futurenet have to react in a certain way. Business is business and review scores, sadly, are a part of that. Can't bite the hand that feeds after all.

    I'd put a mortgage on this being the highest score the game receives.

    Just a few little points. . .
    The advertising you see on the back of this website is in no way connected to the review. There is never any stipulation from Nintendo that they will not advertise with a website unless they give a game a certain score. This has never happened with Nintendo in all the time I've been in videogames and it never will.

    To address another point, Famitsu gave this game 36/40 (90%) a few weeks back.

  15. DonnyKD Monday 30th Jul 2012 at 14:10

    @Samster296:

    Oh, god, another one of those "LOL LIVES MAKE GAMES EASY" comments.

    I should really stop replying to poo like that.

    And by the way, Sunshine had bullcrap difficulty plagued with poor physics and bad controls. So no. No "difficult" game like Sunshine.

  16. torterratrainer Monday 30th Jul 2012 at 14:47

    i thought the lives counter would ruin it....oh well still playing this on the flight to la

  17. imbusydoctorwho Monday 30th Jul 2012 at 15:03

    I hoping this would be the best in the series,but it would seem not.
    Hopefully the upcoming NSMBU will try and be "new",in every sense of the word.

  18. torterratrainer Monday 30th Jul 2012 at 15:18

    if they could of made the world's slightly difficult (to waste lives) or add the 99 live cap, include more power ups like boomerang,penguin,ice or yoshis. i believe they could have nailed it.

    since there doing 2 an U at the same time its quite obvious that they lost focus on one.

  19. Targey Monday 30th Jul 2012 at 16:03

    Yes, you might be making the game easier, but so what? Finally, the return of the Raccoon Suit power-up is a welcome one for fans of Super Mario Bros 2, but you don't actually get that many opportunities to fly with it - rather it's mainly used for floating slowly to the ground.

    That's quite the mistake to make, considering SMB2 had no power-ups besides the Starman.

    Other than that, I still don't get why this game deserves Gold Award. The core gameplay may still be the same, but that's exactly why it should get nothing more than 8/10 (which is still a respectable score), maybe lower. Consider the original Super Mario Bros. games (including Super Mario World, though ignoring SMB2), and the changes made to the core gameplay as the series progressed.

    Super Mario Bros. 3 added the following, which helped to change the experience:

    - Variation in level design. In SMB, levels were a simple case of going from left to right. SMB3 changed this: you could fly up into the sky, you had slopes with variation in height, and sometimes you could even find yourself going to right to left. This kind of differing level design made it stand out from SMB and Lost Levels. (While I'm here, I should mention that LL added the Poison Mushroom, essentially a power-down rather than a power-up, and warp pipes that sent you back to previous worlds).
    - Sliding down hills to take out enemies/increase speed. The latter attribute proves useful in speedruns of the game.
    - Being able to grab shells. Could be used to hit out-of-reach objects.
    - A world map, which featured minigames and roaming enemies like the Hammer Bros.. A drastic change from the original SMB, which didn't even have a map (not until the Deluxe version on Game Boy Color).
    - Super Leaf, which allowed the user to not only fly (though be it for a limited period), but to also slow their descent.
    - Moving screen levels (not sure if they have a proper name). Being force to stick to a certain speed helped keep the game fresh. Also had different vibes to them, such as endurance (mostly the Airship levels, where you'd find yourself constantly avoiding bullet bills, cannons, fire and spanners).
    - Frog Suit. Made navigating the water courses much easier, and faster too.

    Super Mario World added the following, which helped to change the experience:

    - A new world map. Unlike SMB3, the levels could be replayed, which was important for 100% completion. And also helped if someone needed a Yoshi/certain power-up to progress.
    - Some levels had multiple exits, so one could either make their way to the castle at the end of the area, or take a shortcut through the Star Road. This helped to give the player more to do after completing the main adventure.
    - Yoshi! These dinos can turn any enemy it eats into a projectile, though the Koopa shells also grant them special abilities depending on the colour. These abilities could prove useful, especially when combined with Cape Mario.
    - Cape Feather. Like the Super Leaf, it could slow a person's descent, but it allowed for unlimited flight. It also had a powerful dive attack.
    - Special World, for those who wanted the extra challenge (and to be told that they were "A Super Player" for clearing the area).
    - Ghost Houses. These courses aren't quite so straightforward, and often required you to use your head to get out. Ghost Houses helped to add variety to the game.

    Now lets consider what the NSMB series has done to make things feel different.

    New Super Mario Bros. added the following, which helped to change the experience:

    - Shell Suit. Running with this equipped essentially made the player invulnerable (though only if they kept running), as well as allowing them to break blocks in order to access some short-cuts/secret exits. However, the fact you would bounce off walls meant that it would be harder to navigate areas where wall jumping was required. This suit also allowed players to swim faster, but it didn't allow for easier manoeuvrability like the Frog Suit.
    - Mega Mushroom. If a stage proved to difficult, use a Mega Mushroom and you could pretty much stomp through the level (for a limited time). Main problem was that this made an already easy game much simpler - not only were you rewarded additional lives for the amount of destruction caused, but all bosses (even the final boss) were rendered pushovers. Keep one of these handy for the final boss, if you really want an anti-climax.
    - Mini Mushroom. Using this gave you the ability to walk on water (take that, Jesus), enter tiny pipes and passages (which often lead to Star Coins/secret exits) and also made your jump floatier. However, one hit = death, and most enemies could not be defeated unless you ground pounded on them (though this added a sense of difficulty, especially against bosses).

    New Super Mario Bros. Wii added the following, which helped to change the experience:

    - 4 player co-op. This would either help make the game easier, or turn the game into a griefing contest. Though having a friend to give you a boost often helped to get Star Coins/shortcuts/etc.
    - Propeller hat. In case you fall short of a jump, you could recover by launching yourself upwards. It can also be used to decrease your speed of descent.

    New Super Mario Bros. 2 added the following, which helped to change the experience:

    - Lots and lots of coins- no wait, that doesn't change the experience.

    Surely Nintendo can't have run out of ideas for the series? There must be something more they can do with the plumber, other than make him all about the money (rather metaphoric, I must say). Why don't they mess around with gravity, like with Super Mario Galaxy? Granted, they've already tried that, but not in a 2D Mario game. I keep getting the impression they feel adding new power-ups/re-using old power-ups are the only way to make the core gameplay feel different, which I can't help but find worrying.

    Also, I think they should just get rid of lives/game overs altogether. Lives worked back when you couldn't save your progress, but nowadays this feature is like the appendix: entirely useless, and everything would work just fine without it.

  20. MatthewONM Monday 30th Jul 2012 at 16:19

    Why don't you wait to play it first, eh? Been playing around with the game today and it's jolly good fun. Chris is right that there's nothing astonishingly *new*, but it's still as smooth and elegant a platforming experience you're going to have in 2012. And I'd argue that the game's ludicrous gold thirst *is* a bit of game changer. Lots of the big coin jackpots are timed, forcing you to throw yourself around in the screen with a level of athletic fervour rarely reached in other Marios.

    Again, I've only played it for a couple of hours, but I'm having a blast. And I - whisper it - didn't get on with New Super Mario Bros Wii. This seems much purer and tightly focused.

  21. trigo Monday 30th Jul 2012 at 16:25

    ummmmm... im confused they critisied more than they praised it so how come it is at 90%. whats going on

  22. Rastamau5 Monday 30th Jul 2012 at 16:38

    You have to remember that being an "official" Nintendo magazine, they sort of have to be biased towards Nintendo.

    It's a well established fact that Mario games get at least 80% by default by virtue of containing Mario.

  23. Targey Monday 30th Jul 2012 at 16:44

    Chris is right that there's nothing astonishingly *new*, but it's still as smooth and elegant a platforming experience you're going to have in 2012.

    I dunno, I've got my money on Rayman Legends, part of a series which feels much more fresh and new than NSMB.

    And I'd argue that the game's ludicrous gold thirst *is* a bit of game changer. Lots of the big coin jackpots are timed, forcing you to throw yourself around in the screen with a level of athletic fervour rarely reached in other Marios.

    I'll assume the big coin jackpots aren't mandatory, just like the coins weren't in previous games. If I do get the game, I'll be trying out a "Coinless Rush": see how far I can get without grabbing a single coin.

    Why don't you wait to play it first, eh?

    I suppose, but I don't want to get it though. And that's my main problem with the NSMB2: nothing about it makes me want to buy it. I'll have no problem trying out a demo (if there will even be one), but I certainly wouldn't feel comfortable forking over £30+ for it. I bought Super Mario Galaxy 2 for full price, but that was because I enjoyed the first game enough to feel confident in getting the sequel. The first two NSMB games were alright, but they're not the kind of thing I'd eagerly line up for again. Maybe when the price drops, I'll think about-

    Oh wait, I'm hoping for the price of a Mario game to drop. Maybe in 20 years time or so.

  24. NSMB23DS Monday 30th Jul 2012 at 16:47

    It's called the golden FLOWER not the golden MUSHROOM! The (gold) mushroom only appears in coin rush mode and is a substitute to where a 1-up mushroom would be found, instead awarding the player with 50 coins. :wink:

  25. HyrulianToad Monday 30th Jul 2012 at 16:51

    only one mega muhroom !!!!!!!!!!! :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: damn it . I think nintendo's run out of ideas for power- ups . I used to love playing mario games and being amazed at the awesome power-ups where as these days i find the power-ups are either old or unoriginal . :| :( :cry:

  26. Deep4t Monday 30th Jul 2012 at 17:32

    sounds like it deserves 70% but ONM can't bring themselves to give a Mario game below 90%

  27. Targey Monday 30th Jul 2012 at 17:42

    sounds like it deserves 70% but ONM can't bring themselves to give a Mario game below 90%

    I don't get what would be wrong a score like that, anyway. 7/10 is still a respectable score.

  28. ShigeruMiyamoto Monday 30th Jul 2012 at 17:51

    This is going to be crap, isn't it?

  29. Targey Monday 30th Jul 2012 at 18:15

    This is going to be crap, isn't it?

    Not exactly. Fortunately, the core gameplay of Mario platformers is always going to be good (sounds ignorant, but it's true), so no doubt NSMB2 will be an enjoyable experience. My main problem with it is how 'new' NSMB2 actually isn't.

  30. Accelgor7 Monday 30th Jul 2012 at 18:35

    That isn't really a surprise from my point of view. All the trailers so far have been packed with action and with quite a bit of difficulty. 90% is, personally, either enough or not enough for the game from what I have seen so far.

  31. shadowlugia101 Monday 30th Jul 2012 at 18:49

    shame about this review really as from reading it doesn't sound like this deserves 90% it also seems the "new super Mario" series is starting to get a little repetitive now with the same music and power ups, i think they should put Mario on hiatus for a few years and focus on other great ips which haven't seen the light of day for a while now.

  32. Segafan134 Monday 30th Jul 2012 at 18:57

    Well at least it's in the top 10

  33. Tailzy Monday 30th Jul 2012 at 19:34

    This is going to be crap, isn't it?

    if you've played any NSMB game then you'll know exactly what expect

    looks like barely anythings changed and coin rush mode has to failed to mix things up. 10% from perfection sounds too generous for a game that's playing it wayy too safe

  34. Gliscor75 Monday 30th Jul 2012 at 19:47

    For getting good exam results, my parent gave me some money as a reward. I've decided to spend it one one of two games- this or Heroes of Ruin. I'm starting to lean towards this, since it got, obviously, a higher score. However, reading this review in full, it doesn't seem incredibly favourable and the Heroes of Ruin demo is outstanding, like a portable Diablo from what I've seen. What would you guys suggest? ( I've played all of the other NSMB games)

  35. Targey Monday 30th Jul 2012 at 19:53

    For getting good exam results, my parent gave me some money as a reward. I've decided to spend it one one of two games- this or Heroes of Ruin. I'm starting to lean towards this, since it got, obviously, a higher score. However, reading this review in full, it doesn't seem incredibly favourable and the Heroes of Ruin demo is outstanding, like a portable Diablo from what I've seen. What would you guys suggest? ( I've played all of the other NSMB games)

    Admittedly, I don't know much about Heroes of Ruin, but from what you've said, plus the info I got from a Google search, I'd suggest getting Heroes of Ruin. Especially if you're looking for a new game/experience, rather than one you've essentially played twice already.

  36. Samster296 Monday 30th Jul 2012 at 20:28

    @Samster296:

    Oh, god, another one of those "LOL LIVES MAKE GAMES EASY" comments.

    I should really stop replying to poo like that.

    And by the way, Sunshine had bullcrap difficulty plagued with poor physics and bad controls. So no. No "difficult" game like Sunshine.


    I don't understand why you dislike Sunshine. It was a fun game and it was hard. The controls were fine, so I don't understand why you didn't enjoy it? Would you rather prefer to have a really easy Mario game where it is easy to collect lives like Super Mario World, New Super Mario Bros and Super Mario 3D Land?

  37. RainbowGazelle Monday 30th Jul 2012 at 20:34

    I'm sure it's a fun game, but I personally don't think it sounds like it's worth 90%. Maybe somewhere in the 80s.

  38. halahan Monday 30th Jul 2012 at 22:00

    I think it just depends on the innovation you want from the game. It would be great if it carried the series forward in a major way but Christ points out it is still a great platformer but does not have that extra 10% to make it outstanding. For me this enough to warrant a purchase. I think it is just since galaxy everything else just feels a little disappointing or just like a money making exercise.please don't forget that all mario platformers are really well put together and fun to play.

  39. Targey Monday 30th Jul 2012 at 22:55

    Not really. Gamers often expect there to be new, different features in these games to warrant a purchase. Disappointment comes from when the developer somewhat fails to do so. As is evident here, where the only change is to something which isn't key to the formula, neither does it play that much a significant part. Why Nintendo think creating a distraction for the players will improve the gameplay is beyond me.

  40. ShadowofPain Monday 30th Jul 2012 at 23:14

    This game has no reason to exist. It does nothing to improve the franchise. Mario games aren't perfect. No game is perfect and there never will be a perfect game. The fact that they can take a formula from 2006 and not improve upon it at all 6 YEARS LATER is a freaking joke. I don't see how you can possibly justify giving a game that offers no sense of progression to the series, no sort of ambition and no sort of real substance a score of excellence. I think Jim Sterling (as irritating as I think he can be) from Destructoid hit the nail on the head with his review and score.

    I guess my real point is, what's the point in buying this when a game from 2006 essentially offers the same thing with (rather ironically) more substance and originality?

  41. enigma212 Monday 30th Jul 2012 at 23:36

    Do you fellas want to calm down? Every time a new Mario game is released it seems there is a slew of people queuing up to not only slate the game itself, but also ONM for over-rating it.I've been following this magazine since it's beginning and I've got to say I can't remember disagreeing with one of their ratings once after the playing the game in hand. Because of this, I have full confidence that it is a fair score with solid reasoning behind it.

    Yes, the review does have more negatives than positives, but it's all relative - for a game to receive a 75% rating (as some have suggested for this), there would have to be slight fundamental issues with the game mechanics, level design, or plot as a whole. Not once is there a criticism of these things in this review. That's because there isn't. Nintendo are the leading games developers in the world and have been for coming on 30 years, producing (especially within the Super Mario series) consistent high quality crafted games, and I have no doubt that it will be the case with the spine of this installment. The negative slur of this review is directed towards the innovation, the cherry on top, the icing on the cake. As we all are aware, Nintendo have done a sublime job of implementing innovation into the basic structure that is a Super Mario game, keeping it enthralling through the ages. What this review states is simply that in the respect, this game may not do this as well as other recent Mario games, such as Galaxy or New Super Mario Brothers Wii.

    So no, there aren't a lot of positives spilling out of the review - because all it would be doing is addressing the standard expectation from a Mario game.

    If you don't like the look of the new concepts in this game, don't buy it. But quit whining about the score - you know deep down it's probably fair.

  42. liveswired Tuesday 31st Jul 2012 at 00:44

    OI...WHAT'S THE PROBLEM HERE PEOPLE? WHAT WHERE YOU EXPECTING?

    YOU KNOW THE SCORE IN A 2D MARIO PLATFORMER, HAVE FUN - SAVE THE PRINCESS - END OF STORY.

    Nintendo are in a position with this game - all gamers have to be able to pick up and play with the 'everyone's a winner' theme tune Nintendo have been playing to since the dawn of Wii. It's designed to make the player feel good about their skills - from a little child to grandparents - fun, entry level, instant access, care free and rewarding gaming all wrapped up in meticulously designed levels is the bottom line and that's how it will sell.

    Casual gamers will be able to experience the game without being turned off by challenge and will inadvertently talk at lengths to others about this great Mario game that even your granny or kiddie could play thus increasing sales of the 3DS and Mario. Heck that same user may well purchase a 3DS for him or herself with NSMB or it may even end up a present for a loved one at Christmas - it's all in the design - and a very clever one if you ask me. Certainly a game design that does not get enough credit from the gaming community. Nintendo are in the biggest fight to maintain their business they cannot focus on the core gamer alone. Nintendo are the makers of the Family Computer remember? This is Nintendo's core strategy.

    However, despite the tactile and rewarding nature of this design and premise I believe Nintendo should reflect this in their pricing - sounds like a great sub £20 game for all gamers alike - but certainly not a game that commands a premium £34.99/£39.99 RRP.

  43. Fubz Tuesday 31st Jul 2012 at 01:04

    :/ was hoping for a Mario game that wasn't aimed at 3 year olds. Definitely will be avoiding this one. Deserves the 90% just because it's such a great game anyways.

  44. Hams96 Tuesday 31st Jul 2012 at 01:13

    Is anyone else starting to get the feeling that Nintendo is simply churning out as many Mario games as possible in order to make money?! While I welcome new titles in the franchise, it would be nice to see some new titles that are up there with the Galaxy series. And please Nintendo, GET RID OF THE KOOPA KIDS!!! WE WANT PROPER, DIFFERENT BOSSES!!!!!!!!

  45. Hams96 Tuesday 31st Jul 2012 at 01:17

    Not really. Gamers often expect there to be new, different features in these games to warrant a purchase. Disappointment comes from when the developer somewhat fails to do so. As is evident here, where the only change is to something which isn't key to the formula, neither does it play that much a significant part. Why Nintendo think creating a distraction for the players will improve the gameplay is beyond me.


    The sole reason we buy multiple games in a franchise is because they are different from each other

  46. Pyron12 Tuesday 31st Jul 2012 at 06:50

    I'm a little confused. When you've finihsed the main adventure and you're trying to get a million coins I was under the impression that if you played Coin Rush mode enough you could get the million coins, but this review says you may have to play through the main adventure several times to get the million coins. Could someone clear this up, as I don't usually enjoy having to play through a game several times just to get (in this case) a million coins. I'd like to achieve the million coins, but I'm not clear on what is involved.


    Well you can do it either way if you want to.

  47. Targey Tuesday 31st Jul 2012 at 07:41

    Do you fellas want to calm down? Every time a new Mario game is released it seems there is a slew of people queuing up to not only slate the game itself, but also ONM for over-rating it.

    I never slated Galaxy or Galaxy 2. Heck, I didn't even slate NSMB Wii. I'm not even slating this game either, as I'm fully aware that the game itself will no doubt be enjoyable (not sure how long for, though). But 90%, really? Looking on Metacritic, the majority of other reviewers, though pretty much saying the exact same thing as ONM, gave it 80%. Heck, Destructoid gave it 70%, and their review amounted to exactly what was said here. The only reason I can give as to why 90% is the score here, is simply because they're carrying the words 'official' and 'Nintendo' in their name.

    I've been following this magazine since it's beginning and I've got to say I can't remember disagreeing with one of their ratings once after the playing the game in hand. Because of this, I have full confidence that it is a fair score with solid reasoning behind it.

    I remember disagreeing with a fair few of their ratings after playing the game in hand, Mario Kart Wii and Metroid: Other M being very good examples of this. It's been a while since I've looked at an ONM review and have been even 90% sure that the score given was justified.

  48. OXM Joe Tuesday 31st Jul 2012 at 08:46

    I don't see how you can possibly justify giving a game that offers no sense of progression to the series, no sort of ambition and no sort of real substance a score of excellence. I think Jim Sterling (as irritating as I think he can be) from Destructoid hit the nail on the head with his review and score.

    Just to point out, Jim Sterling gave Modern Warfare 3 a 9.5/10 based precisely on the fact that it worked from a template and tweaked rather than innovated. Having played NSMB2, I'd personally say it does much the same thing - these games are great, reinventing the wheel simply isn't necessary. I'm not criticising Sterling in any way (I'm actually a big fan of his), his points are well-made with regards to this game, nor am I criticising you, but I would say that the idea that every game needs to innovate is a fallacy. There's a reason Tetris has been released again and again.

    On a wider level, review scores are useful, perhaps (unfortunately) even necessary on a commercial level, but it's the review text that matters. If you read what Chris wrote and think it sounds bad, that's a useful review for you. If you think it sounds like there are shortcomings but it will be good otherwise, that's a useful review. Opinion's a tricky thing - everyone's matters, but not necessarily with regard to everyone else's.

  49. MartinIsAwesome Tuesday 31st Jul 2012 at 09:53

    I can perfectly understand the review score. As Chris stated from the start, this game is just a good as the other New Super Mario Bros games. And those were great. Just because it isn't automatically better doesn't mean it should get a lower score (yet it does, by the way). I think its because the review spends so much time referring about the lesser points that they forget the short-hand praise right at the start, and are thus getting confused. Probably should have left that bit for the end.

    I would've liked to know more about these Dash stages I've been hearing about which actually do look to spice up the gameplay somewhat. Hopefully they'll be fleshed out in the magazine.
    And although it might not impress much, I really like the High Score chasing element of the Coin Rush mode. In Super Mario 3D Land, StreetPassing someone with a faster clear time on a stage brought out my competitive side, so hopefully I can get more of that from this.

  50. sambrown64 Tuesday 31st Jul 2012 at 11:39

    People can throw "re-hash" and "same old" around all they like, but don't fix what ain't broke. (Most) Nintendo gamers gamers love Mario games and this is just more of the same, more of something you enjoy. What more do you want?

  51. HughPR Tuesday 31st Jul 2012 at 11:48

    Hmmm...well I'm not desperate to pick this up now. I have it on pre-order but I think I'll cancel. I'm away when it arrives and then I won't be playing much anyway because of school work, so I think I'll just hold out for White 2! Shame, as I really thought that they were going to ace this one, and reading between the lines a bit with the ONM review, I'll be disappointed. GW2 it is then!

  52. mikechan123 Tuesday 31st Jul 2012 at 12:42

    Hmmm...well I'm not desperate to pick this up now. I have it on pre-order but I think I'll cancel. I'm away when it arrives and then I won't be playing much anyway because of school work, so I think I'll just hold out for White 2! Shame, as I really thought that they were going to ace this one, and reading between the lines a bit with the ONM review, I'll be disappointed. GW2 it is then!

    GW2 it is!

  53. StoosheYay Tuesday 31st Jul 2012 at 13:23

    I'm still gonna pick this game up. The whole purpose of a game is to have fun, and by this review it looks like it is a fun game- if not very innovative- the score of the game is by how much fun you are going to have if you pick it up. I do agree that nintendo is going a bit mario mad with NSMB2 and NSMBU both in the same year, so you can see why they aren't very innovative as they have been working on two games, and you never know, NSMBU may be very different although by the current screenshots, I doubt it. You can't say that they've done nothing since the last one came out in 2006 as they have had Mario Galaxy, Mario 3D land, Mario Wii- this is the first side scrolling mario since 2006 and they can't really change much without making it a non-side scrolling game. I am hoping (and assuming) that after both of these 'new' mario games- nintendo will start to do something different with the mario series. If they don't, then: :shock:

  54. Targey Tuesday 31st Jul 2012 at 14:35

    People can throw "re-hash" and "same old" around all they like, but don't fix what ain't broke. (Most) Nintendo gamers gamers love Mario games and this is just more of the same, more of something you enjoy. What more do you want?

    Them to stop playing it safe, and to try something different. For a company that recently has been all about innovation, they've done very little to freshen up their most iconic franchise.

  55. Herbert_Rarr Tuesday 31st Jul 2012 at 18:01

    I like easy Mario games. I hate it when you get completely stuck on a level and can't find the will to have another try. That's what's stopped me from buying many Mario games.
    But I liked Super Mario Sunshine, especially for the fact that you didn't have to jump on every enemy straight away to kill them. Although I've expressed my frustration at the amount of re-makes Nintendo have released, I would quite like a 3DS version of Sunshine.
    As for this game, I might ask it for my birthday soon or Christmas, otherwise, I'm not that excited.

  56. Diddy ZX Tuesday 31st Jul 2012 at 19:23

    Raccoon Mario's abilities are like the Tanuki Suit, now, guys? ;) C'mon, it's the other way around and has been ever since Super Mario Bros. 3! (After all, the Super Leaf debuted first!)

    Anyway, I found this review informative, and to be just what I expected. I would imagine that it'll be New Super Mario Bros. U that adds more things to the NSMB formula, really, since that will be a flagship launch title for its system.

    That said, I am a little confused as to how games that offer a little bit of a challenge tend to get criticised for that in ONM's reviews, and how, at the same time, this one gets criticised for *not* being challenging...

    As with MartinIsAwesome, I would have liked a bit more info about the dash-stages, too. Using a cannon to maintain a dash instead of a P-Wing sounds interesting. I wonder if it gets combined with Raccoon Mario/Fox Luigi at any point?

    Anyway, it sounds like fun, and I'm glad I've got a pre-order in. I have no doubt that I'll enjoy it much more than some dull (to me) Super Mario 64 descendant. Those have never been my sort of thing, and going on how each of the NSMB games so far have sold more than double - and in the case of New Super Mario Bros., roughly triple - that of the highest-selling 3D Mario games (Super Mario 64, Super Mario Galaxy, and Super Mario 64 DS), and more than quadruple-to-quintuple the amount of Super Mario Sunshine, Super Mario Galaxy 2, and Super Mario 3D Land (the latter being the only such game that I've enjoyed, since it throws out all of the elements that I dislike about the others :P), it seems that most people feel the same way!

    all gamers have to be able to pick up and play with the 'everyone's a winner' theme tune Nintendo have been playing to since the dawn of Wii. It's designed to make the player feel good about their skills - from a little child to grandparents - fun, entry level, instant access, care free and rewarding gaming all wrapped up in meticulously designed levels is the bottom line and that's how it will sell.


    Surely you mean "since the dawn of their video game business", there? ;) Designing video games that can be picked up and played by anyone wasn't something that they started doing with the Wii - they've been doing it ever since they started making video games, since such a practice was not only common, but absolutely required, among all companies that developed arcade games (and developing arcade games was how Nintendo's video game development business began). Those who couldn't manage it, fell. Simple. The thing nowadays is just that many have forgotten this vital skill...

  57. inuyashaDS Wednesday 1st Aug 2012 at 09:22

    How do you play these games if there not released in shops let alone the USA or UK?

  58. Xenoblade Hero Wednesday 1st Aug 2012 at 09:52

    By reading this review, I think 75% is a reasonable score to give this game. It isn't a bad score, it just seems that the score given doesn't match up with the written side of the review. A game with a lot of flaws, albeit minor ones, shouldn't get 90%.

  59. Targey Wednesday 1st Aug 2012 at 10:07

    How do you play these games if there not released in shops let alone the USA or UK?

    If you're talking about how ONM are playing the game, then they get it early for their review.

    If you're talking about how other members are playing the game, take into account that it's been released in Japan, and had been available since 28th July, two days before ONM's review was put online. Or most likely none of us have, and are going by what we've been told, as well as what gameplay footage has been uploaded online. I managed to find a 54 minute long video of someone playing the game through World 1 and 2, and am also going by what information has been given in articles and trailers.

    Also ONM, do we know if Nintendo will be releasing a demo for this game?

  60. mattyjenks Wednesday 1st Aug 2012 at 16:27

    I just bought the new mag today, I think it is the best cover yet, also it gave me lots of tips and spoilers for the upcoming game.

    thanks onm.

  61. jonnyjazz Wednesday 1st Aug 2012 at 17:31

    I think the reason that the review reads in the way it does (and the reason people think the score should be lower) is likely because if ONM were to waste all their review space saying what it does right it would be pointless because it would appear it can be summed up as "what a Mario game always does right" i.e. solid core gameplay and perfect physics etc. Now obviously I can't pass judgement on a game I'm yet to play but from what is being pointed out in the review it's not in the same league with a lot of Mario games and I think following NSMBW it was going to be difficult to follow the 'multiplayer' gimmick which is a huge plus for the series, whereas 'coins' was never going to have the same impact. By the looks of things it's nothing special just another decent Mario game.

  62. Arya 35 Thursday 2nd Aug 2012 at 10:10

    new super mario bros was ok, just a bit easy, super mario 3d land, ok, just took a few days. Maybe they could make a super mario 3d land add on with an extra 8 worlds which had some sort of difficulty.
    Do they have they special worlds hear as well?

  63. Gamer 1 Thursday 2nd Aug 2012 at 12:18

    looking forward to this i wont be able to get it on its launch day due to holiday have to get it on 20th :D by the way anyone no what happens when you complete the 1 million coin achievement

  64. linkvswario Thursday 2nd Aug 2012 at 12:31

    I aren't a fan of that new golden tanooki suit that's in 3D land and New Super Mario Bros 2. I feel it encourages laziness. It's like the game is saying 'Can't you do this bit? Here you go let me do it for you.'

    On a whole, this game is looking pretty sweet though!

  65. Time-Bomb Thursday 2nd Aug 2012 at 13:43

    I'll honestly never understand why Nintendo don't add enough new power-ups to these games! That's pretty much what Mario games are all about!

    Dear Nintendo, For the next Mario game, here's how to make it good... add about ten new power-ups. Thanks!

  66. Xenoblade Hero Thursday 2nd Aug 2012 at 16:30

    I'll honestly never understand why Nintendo don't add enough new power-ups to these games! That's pretty much what Mario games are all about!

    Dear Nintendo, For the next Mario game, here's how to make it good... add about ten new power-ups. Thanks!

    I think they should wait it out until they get some more insprired ideas. Lots of "new" suits only add the ability of flight again.

    I think the Mario series needs some originality put into it now. The cow has run dry, and the milk is becoming stale.

  67. Diddy ZX Thursday 2nd Aug 2012 at 23:06

    by the way anyone no what happens when you complete the 1 million coin achievement


    I haven't read it, and don't intend to, but, spoilers ahead, obviously, apparently this has been reported on here.

    I aren't a fan of that new golden tanooki suit that's in 3D land and New Super Mario Bros 2. I feel it encourages laziness. It's like the game is saying 'Can't you do this bit? Here you go let me do it for you.'


    In fairness, it is completely optional, exactly the same as the similar features were in New Super Mario Bros. Wii and Donkey Kong Country Returns (the latter of which actually *does* play through the level for you if you choose to use it ;) ).

    I think the Mario series needs some originality put into it now. The cow has run dry, and the milk is becoming stale.


    It doesn't seem to have run dry for the majority, though! New Super Mario Bros. (28 million) and New Super Mario Bros. Wii (25 million) are the only Mario games ever to get more than half the number of sales of the original Super Mario Bros (40 million). (Previously, Super Mario World was the next-highest, with 20 million.) These games are very obviously what people want, meaning it can't be leaving most people with the impression that anything has run dry. :P The massive sales certainly haven't.

  68. Xenoblade Hero Friday 3rd Aug 2012 at 19:50

    I think the Mario series needs some originality put into it now. The cow has run dry, and the milk is becoming stale.


    It doesn't seem to have run dry for the majority, though! New Super Mario Bros. (28 million) and New Super Mario Bros. Wii (25 million) are the only Mario games ever to get more than half the number of sales of the original Super Mario Bros (40 million). (Previously, Super Mario World was the next-highest, with 20 million.) These games are very obviously what people want, meaning it can't be leaving most people with the impression that anything has run dry. :P The massive sales certainly haven't.

    Hmm... actually, that may be true. I used to be a big Mario fan, but his latest offerings just haven't been up to scratch, and lots of other people agree. We'll just have to wait and see the sales figures this time around.

  69. Diddy ZX Friday 3rd Aug 2012 at 21:44

    Hmm... actually, that may be true. I used to be a big Mario fan, but his latest offerings just haven't been up to scratch, and lots of other people agree. We'll just have to wait and see the sales figures this time around.


    I would love to see some solid figures for this, if I may ask, as it's clear that the vast majority don't agree - "lots of other people" implies, well, lots of other people, and yet both of the New Super Mario Bros. games so far are in the top ten best-selling games of all time (the only other Mario games up in that ten are Mario Kart Wii, and the original Super Mario Bros.).

    Anecdotal "I know of a few faceless names on forums who think so"-style or "What I like is what the majority likes"-style stuff doesn't cut it with this sort of thing - it doesn't tally up with what's actually, provably happening in the marketplace.

  70. linkvswario Friday 3rd Aug 2012 at 22:46

    Hmm... actually, that may be true. I used to be a big Mario fan, but his latest offerings just haven't been up to scratch, and lots of other people agree. We'll just have to wait and see the sales figures this time around.

    What do you class as 'up to scratch'? Not only have the New Super Mario Games series lived up to expectation, they have succeeded and I believe that this 'majority' of people you talk of is your 'friends' or something, because I believe that almost every review I've read of the games has been brilliant, around 4-5 stars or 80-100%.

    Even super mario 3D land was great, it got 9.5 from IGN. I think it was perfect apart from that stupid tanooki 'lazy' suit. IGN more often than not give a good all round review and analyse all aspects of the game so.. if they say it's up to scratch.. I think they give a more valid opinion than you.

    The sales obviously won't be as high as the older two in the series as only 19 million 3DS' have been sold, so they won't beat the previous sales which isn't to say that the game isn't good, or the console. Just that it hasn't kicked off as well as the wii or ds

  71. Diddy ZX Friday 3rd Aug 2012 at 22:55

    The sales obviously won't be as high as the older two in the series as only 19 million 3DS' have been sold, so they won't beat the previous sales which isn't to say that the game isn't good, or the console. Just that it hasn't kicked off as well as the wii or ds


    Do bear in mind that both NSMB titles thus far have been extremely long-term sellers, which have sold consistently well since their respective releases. Not to mention that the 3DS is already kicking off better than the DS did, in fact - it's sold more at this point in its life, than the DS had at the same point in its era, and this is actually in spite of the DS having had the advantages of being available in a better economy, and at what was a lower launch price. Don't forget that. ;)

    The first New Super Mario Bros. game was only released when the DS had been on the market for about a year and a half, before the DS had sold anywhere near as many as it ultimately did. That's *exactly* the same timeframe as this game's release (since the 3DS has now been on the market for about a year and a half), and the first NSMB went on to be, as of the time of writing, the eigth best-selling video game of all time, and the third best-selling Mario game of all time (behind only Mario Kart Wii, and Super Mario Bros.).

    It's very likely that this game's sales will be in the same sort of region as its two predecessors, extrapolating from the track record and evidence available.

  72. Pyron12 Saturday 4th Aug 2012 at 07:53

    The review makes it seem like you hate it yet a 90% at the end, :roll: Makes me wander if this wasnt a nintendo game would it have been more around the 80% mark :roll:


    The game doesn't have any glitches, awkward controls or boring gameplay otherwise this would score much less (KIU got 91% because of problems with the control scheme). NSMB2 got 90% because it was easy and felt almost too familiar. If this wasn't a Nintendo game it would get higher for being fresh and different.

  73. Xenoblade Hero Saturday 4th Aug 2012 at 09:21

    As well as "Lots of people" disliking the franchise and what it has become, there are "lots of people" who still buy these games. I didn't state that what I was saying is a majority view, I was saying a personal opinion, which you and I are both entitled to.

    Also, as much as a review score from a magazine looks good, do bear in mind that it is one persons opinion, and it is not a representative of everyone. And it's not just my "friends" actually- many people around this very forum, and around the internet have expressed that the Mario franchise is lacking.

    Super Mario 3D Land was, in my opinion, much too easy. I managed to complete it in a few hours. The levels started to re-cycle themselves after the game finished, so it became repetitive. I had no motivation to even complete the post-game scenario. I've also played through NSMB, and, again, it was much too short, and filled with too many re-cycled ideas, despite the "new" within the title.

    Of course, this is my viewpoint. I know that many others share it, as well as many others, such as yourself, who do not =)

  74. linkvswario Saturday 4th Aug 2012 at 11:20

    As well as "Lots of people" disliking the franchise and what it has become, there are "lots of people" who still buy these games. I didn't state that what I was saying is a majority view, I was saying a personal opinion, which you and I are both entitled to.

    Also, as much as a review score from a magazine looks good, do bear in mind that it is one persons opinion, and it is not a representative of everyone. And it's not just my "friends" actually- many people around this very forum, and around the internet have expressed that the Mario franchise is lacking.

    Super Mario 3D Land was, in my opinion, much too easy. I managed to complete it in a few hours. The levels started to re-cycle themselves after the game finished, so it became repetitive. I had no motivation to even complete the post-game scenario. I've also played through NSMB, and, again, it was much too short, and filled with too many re-cycled ideas, despite the "new" within the title.

    Of course, this is my viewpoint. I know that many others share it, as well as many others, such as yourself, who do not =)

    Yes and I haven't read a bad review so to me, these 'people' who you are still yet to show us are outnumbered. Yes it was fairly easy, but that doesn't mean the series is lacking. What is it lacking? Any examples...

    And what recycled ideas.. it is New Super Mario Bros, it is a modern version of original super mario bros.. of course it was going to have recycled ideas because although it wasn't mean to be the exact same game, it was meant to refresh the series and I believe it did so.

  75. Xenoblade Hero Saturday 4th Aug 2012 at 11:55


    Yes and I haven't read a bad review so to me, these 'people' who you are still yet to show us are outnumbered. Yes it was fairly easy, but that doesn't mean the series is lacking. What is it lacking? Any examples...

    And what recycled ideas.. it is New Super Mario Bros, it is a modern version of original super mario bros.. of course it was going to have recycled ideas because although it wasn't mean to be the exact same game, it was meant to refresh the series and I believe it did so.

    I'm not going out of my way to grab quotes when the opinion is scattered all over the place, nor am I going to name people. But there has been people in this thread right now, as an example, who think that the series is growing tired. It's a bit silly to say people are 'outnumbered', when you haven't really shown mass opinion, just review scores from individuals that could be biased. I've already explained what individual titles were lacking.

    If you believe that NSMB refreshed the series, then that's understandable. I don't share a mass opinion in that regard. I just thought the structure of the game was overused and tired, and it would have been nice if, like in the Rayman games, more variety and pace was placed in the game.For example, the GBA Rayman games has sections with other characters, and Origins had shooting sections.

    Oh, and if you're looking for a different review viewpoint, take a look at Yahtzee.

  76. linkvswario Saturday 4th Aug 2012 at 12:11


    Yes and I haven't read a bad review so to me, these 'people' who you are still yet to show us are outnumbered. Yes it was fairly easy, but that doesn't mean the series is lacking. What is it lacking? Any examples...

    And what recycled ideas.. it is New Super Mario Bros, it is a modern version of original super mario bros.. of course it was going to have recycled ideas because although it wasn't mean to be the exact same game, it was meant to refresh the series and I believe it did so.

    I'm not going out of my way to grab quotes when the opinion is scattered all over the place, nor am I going to name people. But there has been people in this thread right now, as an example, who think that the series is growing tired. It's a bit silly to say people are 'outnumbered', when you haven't really shown mass opinion, just review scores from individuals that could be biased. I've already explained what individual titles were lacking.

    If you believe that NSMB refreshed the series, then that's understandable. I don't share a mass opinion in that regard. I just thought the structure of the game was overused and tired, and it would have been nice if, like in the Rayman games, more variety and pace was placed in the game.For example, the GBA Rayman games has sections with other characters, and Origins had shooting sections.

    Oh, and if you're looking for a different review viewpoint, take a look at Yahtzee.

    Yes but diddy did before me, as she stated, the series is in the top ten best selling games ever. Which really does outnumber you.. and only you as I still haven't seen any other examples.

    Here are some quotes from the site you told me to check out (I typed in yahtzee reviews and theescapistmagazine came up so i assume you mean that):

    "New Super Mario Bros. Wii is classic Mario in every sense." -New Super Mario Bros Wii (4 stars)

    "Bottom Line: Super Mario 3D Land is a great platformer with lots of gameplay and fantastic visuals, slightly overshadowed by some awkward camera issues.

    Recommendation: Definitely one of the better Mario titles in the series, Super Mario 3D Land is an excellent 3DS title and has plenty to offer any gamer." - Super mario 3D land (4.5 stars)

    Just read a review that was fairly bad by metro, worst I've read yet. But 7/10. I'm sorry xenoblade but their point it is too similar to the other games which they think were brilliant so still the games are not lacking anything I'm afraid.

  77. Targey Saturday 4th Aug 2012 at 13:00

    ... No. He meant this.

    Also, being a best seller doesn't exactly prove Xeno's outnumbered in his viewpoint. Fifty Shades of Grey is a best-selling novel, but that doesn't make it anything more than a badly written erotica that started life as a Twilight fan fiction. The Transformers films have grossed a total of $2billion plus, yet they're critically panned in general. Going by the logic of good sales = good product, then Rayman Origins should be an average game as it didn't sell too many copies.

    Basically, sales =/= quality.

    And finally, take a look here for review scores similar to Metro's. http://www.metacritic.com/game/3ds/new- ... ic-reviews

    still the games are not lacking anything I'm afraid.

    They are lacking something - something new. Funny, considering it's called New Super Mario Bros.

  78. linkvswario Saturday 4th Aug 2012 at 13:40

    ... No. He meant this.

    Also, being a best seller doesn't exactly prove Xeno's outnumbered in his viewpoint. Fifty Shades of Grey is a best-selling novel, but that doesn't make it anything more than a badly written erotica that started life as a Twilight fan fiction. The Transformers films have grossed a total of $2billion plus, yet they're critically panned in general. Going by the logic of good sales = good product, then Rayman Origins should be an average game as it didn't sell too many copies.

    Basically, sales =/= quality.

    And finally, take a look here for review scores similar to Metro's. http://www.metacritic.com/game/3ds/new- ... ic-reviews

    Firstly, the guy who does them reviews is really annoying. I aren't even bothering to watch it. It isn't a review, it is a man turning everything into a simile. 50 shades of grey is not in the top 10 best selling books of all time, it is a best selling book but this does not mean of ALL TIME. I think the fact that it is in the top 10 best selling games of ALL TIME suggests that it is a good game. As for transformers, it isn't a terrible film. People go to watch it because they love transformers. To a transformers fan, the film is good. Dunno about rayman never played it.

    Sales does a lot of the time mean quality.

    There are more reviews saying that New super mario bros. is brilliant than not.

    The first NEW SUPER MARIO BROS. lacked something new? It was an updated version. If the fans love it why change it? What is there to add new to it anyway. The second one yes. But you are missing the point. He said the mario franchise is lacking something. No it isn't. Mario galaxy was also fantastic. Suggest something new that you want.

    All between 70 and 90. Not bad is it really ? :D

    http://www.metacritic.com/game/3ds/rayman-origins

    Hmm, not really convinced by your arguement here pal :)

  79. Targey Saturday 4th Aug 2012 at 13:59

    So, lets see:

    - Doesn't even bother to watch example of negative review of Mario game.
    - Believes New Super Mario Bros. was only meant to be a modern version of the original Mario game, rather than an attempt at refreshing the series.
    - Still under the belief that good sales always equals good product.
    - Thinks Transformers is a good film.
    - Can't make statement about Rayman because never played it.

    ... You know what? Forget it. Why should I waste my time arguing with someone who doesn't bother to back up his points, or even properly research them? You practically have no idea what you're talking about, just seems like someone defending the game because it has Mario in it. Good day.

  80. linkvswario Saturday 4th Aug 2012 at 14:06

    So, lets see:

    - Doesn't even bother to watch example of negative review of Mario game.
    - Believes New Super Mario Bros. was only meant to be a modern version of the original Mario game, rather than an attempt at refreshing the series.
    - Still under the belief that good sales always equals good product.
    - Thinks Transformers is a good film.
    - Can't make statement about Rayman because never played it.

    ... You know what? Forget it. Why should I waste my time arguing with someone who doesn't bother to back up his points, or even properly research them? You practically have no idea what you're talking about, just seems like someone defending the game because it has Mario in it. Good day.

    He doesn't review mario you trollop, he says he gets bored. I have said previously if you read from where I joined that I believe it did refresh the series. Also, I did read the metro review as I previously stated.
    All 3 of the New super mario bros have gained higher than rayman origins on the 3ds' score.I haven't played rayman so I don't believe I really have the right to comment on it.

    If you had researched properly then you would know that, all 3 have got pretty good scores on metacritic. You would know that they got pretty good reviews all round. Yeh I'd leave because you haven't really got much to say.

    I believe that is called an 'ad hominem', because I like transformers, I have no idea what I'm talking about. You have not backed up your arguements. You used an example of an erotic novel to compare with game sales. Lord of the rings:return of the king both film and book made a load of money. Are you saying they are bad quality?

    They are best selling novels and massively grossing films...

    The examples you gave are actually pathetic, as none of them are valid.

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH you are laughable.

    I'M GOING TO MAKE THIS AS CLEAR AS POSSIBLE SO THAT YOU CAN CLEARLY SEE. THE NEW SUPER MARIO BROTHERS SERIES HAVE RECEIVED BRILLIANT REVIEWS MORE OFTEN THAN NOT, WHICH GOES TO SUGGEST THAT THEY ARE GOOD GAMES. IF YOU BELIEVE THAT THIS DOESN'T THEN OBVIOUSLY YOU DON'T KNOW WHAT YOU ARE TALKING ABOUT. THE SERIES ALSO HAD MASSIVE SALES, IN THE TOP TEN OF ALL TIME. WHICH AGAIN GOES TO SUGGEST THEY ARE GOOD GAMES. BECAUSE OUT OF ALL THE GAMES IN THE WORLD EVER CREATED. THEY ARE IN THE TOP 10 BEST SELLING. WHICH AGAIN IS PRETTY IMPRESSIVE. MORE PEOPLE WILL AGREE THAT THE SERIES IS GOOD AND THAT IT DID REFRESH THE SERIES. SUPER MARIO 3D LAND ALSO GOT OUTSTANDING REVIEWS TOO, WHICH SUGGESTS THAT ALTHOUGH IT MAY BE EASY. IT IS A GOOD GAME. YOU ARE CLEARLY TRYING TO ATTACK ME AS AN ARGUER WHICH MAKES YOU LOOK A BIT OF A TROLL.

    Sales does a lot of the time mean quality.

    This says a lot of the time, it does not say ALWAYS as you suggested. See ya mate.

    So let's see:

    -Fails to acknowledge that sometimes sales does equal quality
    -Doesn't read what I've actually put
    -Attacks the arguer which makes you less credible as an arguer
    -Still thinks the game needs something 'new' but doesn't give an example of something 'new'
    -Thinks that Rayman origins is better even though it received worse reviews than the 3 new mario bros, and 3D land although the reviews suggest otherwise
    -Believes I should comment on Rayman even though I've never played it
    -Backs up his evidence, with an erotic novel which isn't a very reliable source to compare
    -Thinks that New super mario bros doesn't offer anything 'new' from the original super mario bros games
    -Still thinks the game isn't quality even though it is one of the best selling games of ALL TIME
    -Tells me to look at a page in which there are far more good reviews than bad, even though the 'bad' ones are still around the 70-80 mark
    -Was arguing with me yesterday and still buys his CD's and DVD's from HMV in store, even though you can get them for half the price of the internet (bit daft wasting money) - Yes this is attacking you as an arguer but you just argue for the sake of it clearly.

    I like the Transformers film (first one) because it was brilliant to see transformers made into a proper film. I don't know why this means my opinion is invalid or makes me less credible but whatever you say pal, because you are the one with no sources to prove that New super mario bros isn't very good.

    You clearly have no idea what you are talking about. The fact that yesterday you were arguing with me about HMV just lets me see that you are just being argumentative for the sake of it. I mean if you actually did your research you would know HMV had been struggling for a while now. Sorry off topic but this guy is clearly something I am not allowed to say on here without getting banned.

  81. Targey Saturday 4th Aug 2012 at 23:22

    ...

    http://cache.ohinternet.com/images/9/9e/HA_HA_HA,_OH_WOW.jpg

    Oh man... just... oh wow. Hahahaha, oh jeez...

    You're a waste of my time. Why did you even get involved? Seriously... oh man.

  82. Guwuh Sunday 5th Aug 2012 at 02:37

    reward for one million coins is an alternate title screen, it's over, Nintendo is finished

  83. GuitarHero Sunday 5th Aug 2012 at 02:41

    SPOILER


    I wasn't expecting anything much, but something a little more. Like being able to play as Wario, who is know for his greed.

  84. Diddy ZX Sunday 5th Aug 2012 at 04:44

    <Spoiler snipped>, it's over, Nintendo is finished


    I'm quite sure that they will in fact rake it in from this game, and that this (which I had been trying to avoid hearing about, regardless of what it is, so thanks very much for that :P) will not be noticed or cared about by anyone in the real world. If anyone seriously thinks that they're finished over something like that, well, as the review says, there's some MySpace shares for sale. ;)

  85. MartinIsAwesome Sunday 5th Aug 2012 at 09:12

    As for transformers, it isn't a terrible film. People go to watch it because they love transformers. To a transformers fan, the film is good.


    As a long-time TF fan, I can tell you that you are soooo very wrong.

  86. Donkey Kong Jr. Sunday 5th Aug 2012 at 10:06

    Oh man, Nintendo..... That's the worst reward for a million coins ever !

    But yeah, I didn't want a 2D Mario game, I wanted a 3D one. After last year's excellent, Super Mario 3D land, I was sceptical about this. It seems my fears have come true. No way to increase the difficulty, very short and to be honest I will have no incentive to get all the star medals. Like you said though it will sell well and I will still buy it for what I hope to be flawless level design. But it seems this would have been better as DLC for the original New Super Mario Bros. and if Nintendo want to continue down this road, I hope that's the direction they take.

  87. Rai13 Sunday 5th Aug 2012 at 15:48

    reward for one million coins is an alternate title screen, it's over, Nintendo is finished

    Please don't post spoilers.

  88. King Slazo Sunday 5th Aug 2012 at 15:56

    reward for one million coins is an alternate title screen, it's over, Nintendo is finished

    Please don't post spoilers.

    He's posted it in spoiler text, there's no problem there whatsoever. =/

  89. Rai13 Sunday 5th Aug 2012 at 15:58

    I edited that in.

  90. abovethewell Sunday 5th Aug 2012 at 17:06

    In my unbiased opinion, the Mario games are getting rather boring. The magic of Mario 64 has gone, leaving a series of stale platformers, which seem to have none of the innovation Nintendo is renowned for. Don't get me wrong, this seems like an excellent way to kill time, especially the coin rush mode- as a completionist I hope there are insane ranks such as Theatrhythm's SSS rank! In conclusion, I am in two minds about this. Platforming games have a place in my heart, but are we all seeing these games through rose tinted glasses? We will see!

  91. Commandervideo Sunday 5th Aug 2012 at 20:30

    4% less than SM3DL? (I think the SM3DL score and NSMB2 score were mixed up)
    That was a shocker of a review for a 2D Mario

    The dash stages weren't even mentioned, why?
    No one plays mario for the story
    Gutted that the mega/mini mushroom hardly appear as there some of my favourites, especially mini.
    But then again less power ups means more fire flowering hadouken action :D
    At least it's got the usual awesome level design so I reckon it'll be superior to SM3DL

  92. NSMB23DS Monday 6th Aug 2012 at 20:01

    After playing NSMB over the weekend for old times sake, I realised multiple things. The Blue koopa shell is much more fun in multiplayer except in a couple levels in the main game, how wrong so many of you are about it not being fresh etc. and finally NSMB2 will be an updated copy of NSMB, but with way more and better content plus it looks better (literally). :D

  93. Tailzy Tuesday 7th Aug 2012 at 18:13

    reward for one million coins is an alternate title screen, it's over, Nintendo is finished

    ...really

  94. IPecksU Tuesday 7th Aug 2012 at 18:21

    I'm gonna dislike this for the same reason I didn't like the wii one. It's just the same old stuff, there's no way I'm picking it up because by the sound of it NSMB on DS is essentially the same game but with less coins. I'm probably not going to get the wii u version because that looks like the same game but with pretty backgrounds. Super Mario 3D land was awesome because it messed with the conventions and brought new experiences to the Mario games. I'm sad to say I'm not excited to see 2D Mario games anymore, thank goodness for Rayman Origins (and hopefully legends and Donkey Kong country returns!

    I'd love to see them mix up the conventions of the 2D platformer and try out new things, that'd really get me excited to see side scrolling Mario goodness once again but by the looks of the sales and reviews it looks like I'm in the minority.

    If they pull off a 2D and 3D games as amazing as Galaxy I'll be a happy bunny. :D

  95. Guwuh Tuesday 7th Aug 2012 at 19:35

    reward for one million coins is an alternate title screen, it's over, Nintendo is finished

    ...really


    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dze00JTqkVU

  96. chazrinelli Sunday 12th Aug 2012 at 23:11

    Another game that in my eyes, doesn't deserve the gold award. Its another game by Nintendo, so therefore it must have a gold. The only game th ats keeping me entertained on my 3DS at the moment are Fifa and Sports Island, both as I'd call shovelware (as FIFA on handheld sucks)

  97. monsteroushunter Wednesday 15th Aug 2012 at 08:30

    My copy came to-day and, in my opinion, it is way better than sm3dl. I disagree with most of the problems onm have found with it and would of given it 95% at least.

  98. K-tet Thursday 16th Aug 2012 at 10:03

    It looked good (if you could define it as such), but given how much the negative points outweigh the 'tried and tested' formula that has worked for two previous iterations of the series, then it doesn't take much for someone to realise that this is a backwards step for Nintendo to have taken. While Coin Rush will undoubtedly promote speed-running (which is never a bad thing), any well-seasoned Mario player would be speed-running anyway.

    90% is too generous. The music is more-or-less exactly the same, the graphics are more-or-less exactly the same, and well, the day Mario gets a proper storyline will be the day we call BS on it (rescuing a Princess doesn't count). With that point specifically, who plays a Mario game for its story? In my opinion, an actual story would weaken a Mario game unless it was done with great care and attention.

    It's worth no less than 75%, and no more than 85% in my opinion. A shame, given I was interested in buying it. I guess I'll be keeping my money back for the Wii U version instead.

  99. CraigEmberson Friday 17th Aug 2012 at 00:40

    So glad there was better wording for "original DS game", I just hope it was in the context of the original game on DS and not the first game on the "original DS". The newest mag was full of articles by people in your team who still think 3DS is a DS remake... Why is it so hard for people to get that its not? Even people who are professionals...

  100. CraigEmberson Friday 17th Aug 2012 at 00:42

    It looked good (if you could define it as such), but given how much the negative points outweigh the 'tried and tested' formula that has worked for two previous iterations of the series, then it doesn't take much for someone to realise that this is a backwards step for Nintendo to have taken. While Coin Rush will undoubtedly promote speed-running (which is never a bad thing), any well-seasoned Mario player would be speed-running anyway.

    90% is too generous. The music is more-or-less exactly the same, the graphics are more-or-less exactly the same, and well, the day Mario gets a proper storyline will be the day we call BS on it (rescuing a Princess doesn't count). With that point specifically, who plays a Mario game for its story? In my opinion, an actual story would weaken a Mario game unless it was done with great care and attention.

    It's worth no less than 75%, and no more than 85% in my opinion. A shame, given I was interested in buying it. I guess I'll be keeping my money back for the Wii U version instead.


    The problem is, the majority who buy Mario games want the same experience and hate change. I think this game introduces something new - 1 new thing in each game is good enough for Mario. Also, the graphics are Wii standard - just squished onto the 3DS screen.

  101. Darkblizz Friday 17th Aug 2012 at 01:39

    Too much like the last two. Not going to bother.

  102. K-tet Friday 17th Aug 2012 at 13:19

    The problem is, the majority who buy Mario games want the same experience and hate change. I think this game introduces something new - 1 new thing in each game is good enough for Mario. Also, the graphics are Wii standard - just squished onto the 3DS screen.

    Not necessarily true. If that were the case Mario fans wouldn't have embraced SM64 and both SMGs the way that they have. I grew up on the first SMB so I'd like to think I'm qualified to part with my tuppence on this matter. Sure, the graphics are more like what you'd expect on Wii, but that's technology for you, so we've come to expect that as a pre-requisite.

    One new thing in each Mario game is a good thing yes, but with NSMBU hitting out when the Wii U does, I see more of a reason to buy that rather than NSMB2. This is just my opinion. I'll probably buy NSMB2 when the price comes down in say 6 months time. Nintendo have rather saturated the latter part of this year with some quality software and a brand new console coming at Christmas. Wouldn't be an issue if I had plenty of money. ^^;

  103. Tailzy Saturday 18th Aug 2012 at 17:29


    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dze00JTqkVU

    haha, oh wow

    the disappointment, although i've come to expect this from Nintendo now

  104. PureAwesomeness Tuesday 4th Sep 2012 at 11:44

    This game looks real disappointing. I was hoping for a new, different Mario Bros. adventure (and I think most, if not everyone in this thread will agree), and a game with basically the same graphics, gameplay (haven't played it yet, but I have a bad feeling that it is), story and even music as the previous installment was thrown into my face. The only thing that's truly new is the concentration on the coins. The target for 1 million gold coins will probably take about a week or two for the majority of ONMers on this thread. And for that much entertainment on my 3DS, it's definitely not worth spending my money.
    But I know NSMB2 is going to sell the bucket-load by the bucket-load anyway. So if Nintendo can use this money to spend on a completely new 2D Mario Bros., that will be absolutely fantastic.

  105. Herbert_Rarr Wednesday 5th Sep 2012 at 19:26

    I've now played this game at the London Shoreditch event and I think it's boring and has the same wooly controls as all recent side-scrolling Mario games. I want a retro style 2D Mario side-scroller with sprites and more precise controls.

  106. SM3DL2 Thursday 8th Nov 2012 at 23:14

    Thank you Blockbusters!

    I thought it is not worth spending £30 to see if I like this, so I rented it instead. It is now my favourite game when I bought it later.

    It just shows you shouldn't take reviews too seriously. I seem to be disagreeing a lot with ONM lately....

  107. MartinIsAwesome Friday 9th Nov 2012 at 08:42

    But... they scored it highly. Chris said from the beginning that it was a very good game, and the score reflects that.

  108. Ghostly_Shadeon Saturday 4th May 2013 at 14:36

    For a game which has recycled a lot of old content, has poor 3D and seems rushed, New Super Mario Bros 2 is probably the most disappointing game of the series. Still, the aim of collecting 1 million coins as well as the Coin Rush mode adds a little longevity, so in my opinion, this game scores 73%.

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.