Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Learn With Pokemon: Typing Adventure Review

You wait ages for a great Pokémon spin-off and two come at once

Learn With Pokemon: Typing Adventure is what might once have been termed 'edutainment', a horrible portmanteau that makes us want to thrung (that's throw up a lung). It isn't so much that we don't like the sound of the word itself - though we'd be happy never to have to hear or use it again - but that it brings back bad memories of school days playing irritating maths games with self-consciously 'wacky' characters just to learn that 2 + 3 = 7. So colour us surprised to discover that this latest Pokemon spin-off is thoroughly, ahem, edutaining.

Colour us equally surprised to discover that we're actually playing it in English. It's been 17 months since it originally bounced into the Japanese charts before promptly bouncing back out again, and we'd probably have put money on a western release of saucy Skip oddity Captain Rainbow before Nintendo of Europe would localise this. Still, we're heartily glad it did, and not least because it has made us better at Tepig. Sorry, typing. Typing Tepig. That's the one.

Click to view larger image

Ctrl-Alt-Delibird

You play as a new recruit to the Elite Typists' Club, your object being to help Professor Quentin Werty (get it?) and his assistant Paige Down (yes, very clever) with their Pokemon research. To which end, you glide down a series of routes - think Animal Crossing's rolling-world effect and you're halfway there - trying to catch Pokemon in your Typing Balls.

At first, you'll merely need to input the first letter of their name to snare them, but as you move onto tougher courses, the critters get progressively more elusive. You'll need to type in more letters, eventually moving onto their full names - fine when it's Aron, but much more challenging when you've got to capture a Whimsicott in a hurry.

As if that wasn't enough, you'll also be asked to dodge or deflect projectiles, tapping different keys to avoid taking damage, and occasionally locating specific items, like a key to unlock a new room containing a rare Pokemon.

Boss Pokémon, meanwhile, have a variety of fast-moving attacks that might require you to press three keys very quickly, or two simultaneously, while typing their name several times to bring them close enough to catch.

Previous 1 2 Next page

Comments

35 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. lrwr14 Wednesday 19th Sep 2012 at 13:58

    I think I'll save my money for Pokemon White 2.

  2. imbusydoctorwho Wednesday 19th Sep 2012 at 14:02

    Looks like it'll be quite a fun game.
    How much is it going to be?

  3. poppinpenguin Wednesday 19th Sep 2012 at 14:06

    So few stores are stocking this. I'm not sure if I should buy now or risk not having a copy in the hope of a price drop...

    Looks like it'll be quite a fun game.
    How much is it going to be?

    The game itself is Ł39.99 and includes the (brilliant) wireless keyboard, but I'd jump at the chance of getting the bundle for Ł19.99-Ł24.99

  4. King Slazo Wednesday 19th Sep 2012 at 14:10

    but it comfortably sits alongside Pokemon Conquest in our Top 5 Pokémon Spin-Offs, a list we can now confidently type out in 12 seconds flat.

    What?

    Have you even played any of the spin-offs? I can tell you right now if you had you'd know how unbelievably wrong a statement that is. I'm struggling to think of a spinoff as bad as this one. If we count actual game spin-offs and not glorified storage systems like Box and Ranch, I can only think of Dash as being worse.

    This game is nowhere near the quality that the spinoffs ooze. Snap, Puzzle League and Challenge, Pinball, TCG, Ranger, Mystery Dungeon, Link, Colosseum and XD, Rumble, hell, even PokéPark is better than this.

    And I'm not going to even get started on you giving it 84%, because that is a slap in the face to everything almost every other game in the Pokémon franchise has achieved.

  5. MatthewONM Wednesday 19th Sep 2012 at 14:18

    This game is nowhere near the quality that the spinoffs ooze. Snap, Puzzle League and Challenge, Pinball, TCG, Ranger, Mystery Dungeon, Link, Colosseum and XD, Rumble, hell, even PokéPark is better than this.


    Ha! You've got to be kidding. I can't think of a more turgid waste of time than Mystery Dungeon, Ranger, Rumble, PokePark and the majority of Stadium/Colosseum offerings. They're potent anti-fun, only kept afloat by the brainwashed masses who'll buy anything with a Pikachu face on it. Typing Adventure is easily in my top five. The mag stands by every word Chris wrote.

  6. pokemaniac 212 Wednesday 19th Sep 2012 at 14:19

    By the sounds of things it might be worth getting after a significant price drop, if only for the wireless keyboard so long as that works with the internet browser. Putting it in the top 5 pokémon spin-offs sounds pretty ridiculous though.

  7. masamune Wednesday 19th Sep 2012 at 14:31

    I can't think of a more turgid waste of time than ... Colosseum.

    haven't properly played the other but dunno what you're on dude, Colosseum's amazingly good.

    all dat snagging

  8. ThePokekid78 Wednesday 19th Sep 2012 at 15:55

    Yeeeeeeeah no thanks

  9. Crisps Wednesday 19th Sep 2012 at 16:07

    This game is nowhere near the quality that the spinoffs ooze. Snap, Puzzle League and Challenge, Pinball, TCG, Ranger, Mystery Dungeon, Link, Colosseum and XD, Rumble, hell, even PokéPark is better than this.


    Ha! You've got to be kidding. I can't think of a more turgid waste of time than Mystery Dungeon, Ranger, Rumble, PokePark and the majority of Stadium/Colosseum offerings. They're potent anti-fun, only kept afloat by the brainwashed masses who'll buy anything with a Pikachu face on it. Typing Adventure is easily in my top five. The mag stands by every word Chris wrote.


    You are kidding yourself. There is absolutely no way you could disregard all of those fantastic games in a simple, juvenile broad sweep. This pales in comparison to the level of detail, challenge and charm that those games possess, especially Colosseum.

  10. C00LI098 Wednesday 19th Sep 2012 at 16:17

    Yeah... No.

  11. hario Wednesday 19th Sep 2012 at 16:32

    I could have seen myself getting the Japanese one to aid my learning of Japanese. But I'm afraid I'd rather have conquest over this

  12. Serebii Wednesday 19th Sep 2012 at 16:37

    I had much more fun covering this game for my site than I ever did any Pokémon Mystery Dungeon game. It IS a good game. I wouldn't say it's the best spin-off, but it's a good game, and imaginative too...and challenging, even for the most competent of typist

  13. MatthewONM Wednesday 19th Sep 2012 at 16:39

    You are kidding yourself. There is absolutely no way you could disregard all of those fantastic games in a simple, juvenile broad sweep. This pales in comparison to the level of detail, challenge and charm that those games possess, especially Colosseum.


    It's a quirky piece of 'edutainment' with a refreshing method of interaction - I don't see what the problem is with it. Maybe I'm not the biggest Pokemon fan in the world - far from it, in fact - but as an objective critic of games, I find the spin-offs I've listed to be highly cynical exercises, demonstrating either a real misunderstanding of the genres they ape (Pokemon Mystery Dungeon is a juvenile roguelike, PokePark is a miserable minigame compilation, Rumble is an incredibly flat hack-and-slash) or of the core Pokemon games themselves.

    That said, I appreciate that fans like to fill their slots with as much Pokemon as possible, and it's not my job to poop on things people love. So apologies if that came across as a bit harsh. But it is my job to stop people pooping on things our trusted writers have written.

  14. Serebii Wednesday 19th Sep 2012 at 16:42

    You are kidding yourself. There is absolutely no way you could disregard all of those fantastic games in a simple, juvenile broad sweep. This pales in comparison to the level of detail, challenge and charm that those games possess, especially Colosseum.


    It's a quirky piece of 'edutainment' with a refreshing method of interaction - I don't see what the problem is with it. Maybe I'm not the biggest Pokemon fan in the world - far from it, in fact - but as an objective critic of games, I find the spin-offs I've listed to be highly cynical exercises, demonstrating either a real misunderstanding of the genres they ape (Pokemon Mystery Dungeon is a juvenile roguelike, PokePark is a miserable minigame compilation, Rumble is an incredibly flat hack-and-slash) or of the core Pokemon games themselves.

    That said, I appreciate that fans like to fill their slots with as much Pokemon as possible, and it's not my job to poop on things people love. So apologies if that came across as a bit harsh. But it is my job to stop people pooping on things our trusted writers have written.

    Come on Matthew, away from the mini-games, PokéPark is awesome. The battles are amazing, albeit a bit short and easy. I was so glad they added the Battle Tournament in PokéPark 2

  15. Crisps Wednesday 19th Sep 2012 at 17:01

    You are kidding yourself. There is absolutely no way you could disregard all of those fantastic games in a simple, juvenile broad sweep. This pales in comparison to the level of detail, challenge and charm that those games possess, especially Colosseum.


    It's a quirky piece of 'edutainment' with a refreshing method of interaction - I don't see what the problem is with it. Maybe I'm not the biggest Pokemon fan in the world - far from it, in fact - but as an objective critic of games, I find the spin-offs I've listed to be highly cynical exercises, demonstrating either a real misunderstanding of the genres they ape (Pokemon Mystery Dungeon is a juvenile roguelike, PokePark is a miserable minigame compilation, Rumble is an incredibly flat hack-and-slash) or of the core Pokemon games themselves.

    That said, I appreciate that fans like to fill their slots with as much Pokemon as possible, and it's not my job to poop on things people love. So apologies if that came across as a bit harsh. But it is my job to stop people pooping on things our trusted writers have written.


    Indeed, it is your job; thus, you'd have to be rather biased and defend the article no matter what, so we can't really have a reasonable discussion on the matter. Mystery Dungeon really isn't juvenile; not the best roguelike, granted, but certainly not juvenile. Colosseum is great for those who enjoy Pokémon, and as a Pokécynic I wouldn't expect you to appreciate Colosseum's appeal. You've every right to prefer this to the other spin-offs, as every person does; but to flat-out say that this is objectively better is a touch unjust.

    Edit - Upon further reading, this post seems slightly harsh as well. My apologies.

  16. MatthewONM Wednesday 19th Sep 2012 at 17:11

    Edit - Upon further reading, this post seems slightly harsh as well. My apologies.


    What a pleasantly civil end to our disagreement! I look forward to arguing with you again the future.

  17. Crisps Wednesday 19th Sep 2012 at 17:13

    Edit - Upon further reading, this post seems slightly harsh as well. My apologies.


    What a pleasantly civil end to our disagreement! I look forward to arguing with you again the future.


    Indeed sir, I hope we cross swords again.

  18. Komodo_Wolfgang Wednesday 19th Sep 2012 at 17:44

    Im slightly interested by it Ill admit, and half of that is because its another
    peripheral. Im also slightly curious about PokePark 2..

    But I dont think its better than alot of the pokemon spinoffs. Sure it might do its job in making people better at typing or something, but it doesnt surpass some of the other spin offs.. Snap is amazing (needs an update, even if its just with new controls) and I like Pokemon Colloseum, it offered a real challenge even compared to some of these 'main' pokemon games. As for puzzle-esque games, I find Pokemon Link to be fun (though far too short..). Yeah, I see it getting an 80 something % score for around 6 year olds or something... But for a general audience I think its a little high.

  19. Skywardwolf23 Wednesday 19th Sep 2012 at 18:05

    I see what there doing but nah.

  20. sciqueen Wednesday 19th Sep 2012 at 18:49

    Does the keyboard work with the 3DS browser? Then I could see it climbing the charts!

  21. fisher2007 Wednesday 19th Sep 2012 at 20:26

    I think I'll save my money for Pokemon White 2.

  22. K-tet Wednesday 19th Sep 2012 at 21:54

    This game is nowhere near the quality that the spinoffs ooze. Snap, Puzzle League and Challenge, Pinball, TCG, Ranger, Mystery Dungeon, Link, Colosseum and XD, Rumble, hell, even PokéPark is better than this.


    Ha! You've got to be kidding. I can't think of a more turgid waste of time than Mystery Dungeon, Ranger, Rumble, PokePark and the majority of Stadium/Colosseum offerings.


    I'll correct you immediately on the likes of both N64 Stadium games and both Panel de Pon offerings (Puzzle League on N64 and Puzzle Challenge on GBC). Those games were brilliant. Both Stadium Games brought Pokémon Battling to 3D and offered a lot of fun as well as minigames and full-on Super Game Boy Emulation via the Transfer Pak. I'm surprised Game Freak haven't used the N64 Stadium Pokémon Cries for both the Gen I and Gen II Pokémon in their more recent/future games. It could be that they're lost in the ethers due to Factor 5 closing down. We'll never know.

    As for Pokémon Puzzle League, the original Panel de Pon 64 (which would have been the sequel to Panel de Pon on the SFC) was cancelled in Japan, yet Nintendo of America snapped up the source code and threw Pokémon into the mix to make a worthy sequel to Tetris Attack (yes, Yoshi's Panel de Pon that appeared on the SNES). The GBC version of Pokémon Puzzle Challenge (Pokémon PanePon) was actually created by the Japanese as a standalone game (although complimentary outside of Japan for obvious reasons). The Nintendo Puzzle Collection GameCube Disc includes a finished version of Panel de Pon which was intended to be the actual sequel on the N64, alongside the N64 version of Dr. Mario, and a remastered Yoshi's Cookie.

    I can't speak volumes for the other games (including Snap, though I enjoyed that personally), but for those two I've just spoken about in particular, only this is fitting for my end post:

    http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v425/Tomatzu/r_hitomi_003.png

    While it is your opinion, it's a pretty misguided one in my books. No hard feelings.

    At least the Bluetooth keyboard could probably work with the Wii U. We can hope/dream right?

  23. Pyron12 Thursday 20th Sep 2012 at 15:15

    This game is nowhere near the quality that the spinoffs ooze. Snap, Puzzle League and Challenge, Pinball, TCG, Ranger, Mystery Dungeon, Link, Colosseum and XD, Rumble, hell, even PokéPark is better than this.


    Ha! You've got to be kidding. I can't think of a more turgid waste of time than Mystery Dungeon, Ranger, Rumble, PokePark and the majority of Stadium/Colosseum offerings. They're potent anti-fun, only kept afloat by the brainwashed masses who'll buy anything with a Pikachu face on it. Typing Adventure is easily in my top five. The mag stands by every word Chris wrote.


    Don't insult MD, Ranger, Link, Pinball and Colosseum! They were good games! 'They're potent anti-fun, only kept afloat by the brainwashed masses who'll buy anything with a Pikachu face on it.' But isn't Pikachu on the cover of Typing Adventure? (Highly illogical!) Slazo has a point. A typing adventure is better than Colossuem and being the Pokemon? NO WAY! Plus, some of the other good spinoffs have some better substance compared to this trash!

  24. wghtmf Thursday 20th Sep 2012 at 16:17

    but it comfortably sits alongside Pokemon Conquest in our Top 5 Pokémon Spin-Offs, a list we can now confidently type out in 12 seconds flat.

    What?

    Have you even played any of the spin-offs? I can tell you right now if you had you'd know how unbelievably wrong a statement that is. I'm struggling to think of a spinoff as bad as this one. If we count actual game spin-offs and not glorified storage systems like Box and Ranch, I can only think of Dash as being worse.

    This game is nowhere near the quality that the spinoffs ooze. Snap, Puzzle League and Challenge, Pinball, TCG, Ranger, Mystery Dungeon, Link, Colosseum and XD, Rumble, hell, even PokéPark is better than this.

    And I'm not going to even get started on you giving it 84%, because that is a slap in the face to everything almost every other game in the Pokémon franchise has achieved.

    You're saying this when you haven't actually played the game?

  25. Hubble1 Thursday 20th Sep 2012 at 16:57

    I have actually played this game at a community event! Unfortunately it was the Japanese version so spelling the
    Pokemon was a little difficult as i had no idea what they were called in Japan!
    But i have to say the review is spot on!!
    It really is an entertaining, challenging and fun game! OK it is not the sort of game you will sit and play for hours getting really into etc BUT it is a great game! the sort of Poyu Poyu i will just have one more go to see if i can do it game!
    the sort of game if you have 10-15 mins to spare and dont want to get into anything heavy game!
    It is very addictive! as i went back 5-6 times to play it at the event. Granted it is not going to be for everyone but if you like the tetris, puzzle bobble, poyu poyu, type of game for just seeing if you can do it this time then get this because it is good!!
    if they are not your sort of games then leave it alone BUT do not diss it just because it is not your thing!

    Thank you

    Hubble

  26. Tazer_Silverscar Friday 21st Sep 2012 at 12:45

    Hmm... far too much raeg (ray-egg, lol) for one game. I think everyone with a bone to pick with Matthew needs to chill. After all, this kind of hatred is wasted when it could be used on people who deserve it more. Sure, it was a little harsh for him to stoke the drama fire, but it's not worth wasting time further adding fuel.

    This game actually looks pretty sweet. I like the tactical element it gives, which other learning games lack.

  27. thecoolmana777 Friday 21st Sep 2012 at 16:21

    One question I have is whether the keyboard is compatable with the ipad or other such devices? Thanks :)

  28. King Slazo Friday 21st Sep 2012 at 16:42

    One question I have is whether the keyboard is compatable with the ipad or other such devices? Thanks :)

    Its a bluetooth keyboard, so it should work with bluetooth compatible devices. Chris Scullion posted a video over on Nintendo Gamer showing it working with an iPad, but not with a Vita, so I guess it differs from device to device.

  29. Pyron12 Friday 21st Sep 2012 at 17:21

    Hmm... far too much raeg (ray-egg, lol) for one game. I think everyone with a bone to pick with Matthew needs to chill. After all, this kind of hatred is wasted when it could be used on people who deserve it more. Sure, it was a little harsh for him to stoke the drama fire, but it's not worth wasting time further adding fuel.

    This game actually looks pretty sweet. I like the tactical element it gives, which other learning games lack.


    Well he deserves every bit of it. Calling an unoriginal concept better than something that completely caught fans (being the Pokemon) off guard shows how a little short-sighted some reviewers (like Matt) can be. A typing adventure? Seriously? That should've stayed in Japan. At first I thought of buying it (admittedly) but then PMD Manganate appeared and stole my undivided attention. Why? Because I loved being the Pokemon like so many others did. This education (not edutainment game) will sell lots of copies but will always be overrated. Sure their are challenges in this game to add some seriousness but how often this is used and reused annoys me to no end. :x (I am not raging. I am just really annoyed and in a bad mood at the same time. Not a good combination.)

  30. blueberryross Friday 21st Sep 2012 at 20:49

    I got this game today for Ł40 and it is very good, the keyboard is good, the stand is good and the game is very good... 'nough said.

  31. imbusydoctorwho Friday 21st Sep 2012 at 21:34

    Where can you buy the game on the high street?
    I went to Game today,and they didn't have it,so I doubt anywhere else will.

  32. reshiramlover Sunday 23rd Sep 2012 at 15:29

    someone reviewed this Ds game, on Youtube. And they said "It was boring".

    My thoughts on this: WASTEFUL. Luckily My fiance and i pre ordered pokemon BW2 last week in game. Sadly we have to pay either Ł60 or Ł50... :x :?

  33. dominichall Monday 24th Sep 2012 at 20:40

    I can't speak for every Pokemon spin-off, but I'll chip in with what I know:
    Ranger is terrible. I hate that game.
    Dash is complete garbage.
    Rumble is also pretty bad.
    Colosseum is pretty good. It's not an amazing RPG, but it was still a great spin-off, and I was glad to play a Poke-RPG that wasn't so formulaic. That's the one I disagree with you most, Matthew!
    I really like Mystery Dungeon. I realise it has quite a few flaws but the story and characters are charming and I love rogue-likes. The gameplay is still good though, so I disagree with that as well.
    Link is great fun, and since you didn't mention it, I presume it made your top 5?

    I can't speak for Pokepark, Conquest or the Stadiums, but I'm positive that Conquest rules!

    Anyway, even though I dissgree on some points with you, Matthew (especially Colosseum), I'm not about to deride anyone's opinion!

  34. Accelgor7 Friday 28th Sep 2012 at 15:21

    but it comfortably sits alongside Pokemon Conquest in our Top 5 Pokémon Spin-Offs, a list we can now confidently type out in 12 seconds flat.

    What?

    Have you even played any of the spin-offs? I can tell you right now if you had you'd know how unbelievably wrong a statement that is. I'm struggling to think of a spinoff as bad as this one. If we count actual game spin-offs and not glorified storage systems like Box and Ranch, I can only think of Dash as being worse.

    This game is nowhere near the quality that the spinoffs ooze. Snap, Puzzle League and Challenge, Pinball, TCG, Ranger, Mystery Dungeon, Link, Colosseum and XD, Rumble, hell, even PokéPark is better than this.

    And I'm not going to even get started on you giving it 84%, because that is a slap in the face to everything almost every other game in the Pokémon franchise has achieved.


    You, my friend, are a massive fool!

  35. Black kyurem Sunday 30th Sep 2012 at 18:55

    Looks like another game for me to waste my money on :D

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.