Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Wii Fit Review

Get ready to sweat like a snowman on a beach

Some would argue that Wii Fit, like many Touch Generation games isn't actually a 'game' as such. Instead, some see them as ways for casual gamers to have a bit of fun while believing that they're doing themselves some good. Yet, we've found ourselves strangely drawn to Wii Fit for a while now and have played it practically every day since we first got our preview version.

The best thing about Wii Wit is that it actually works. The board is fantastic and the various exercises genuinely make you feel like you've had a work-out if you do them properly. But please don't be under any illusions that the balance games are effective when it comes to making you fitter: the truth is, leaning from left to right to head footballs, cross tightropes and ski down a hill effectively does nothing for your fitness. They're fun, but they have pretty much no impact on your body.

Click to view larger image

Fit And You Know It

Think of these as a Balance Board version of Wii Play. One minute you're simply leaning left and right (for skiing and the like), the next you're crouching down to build up speed during a ski jump then quickly standing up to shift your weight up and make your Mii jump. Then, as you make progress, you unlock the ability to bring the Remote and Nunchuk into play in a nice boxing mini-game where you have to step off the board with the right foot while swinging with the right punch. It's fun.

That said though, as fun as the balance games are, it's very unlikely that you're going to spend £69.99 on a bunch of leaning games: it's the yoga, muscle-building exercises and aerobics mini-games that are the main event here because they're the ones that genuinely build up a sweat and make you feel like you're doing yourself some good.

Wii Fit succeeds in making you do the exercises properly and you'll really feel the benefit. One of the yoga exercises sees you standing on one leg and tucking your other leg to the side. While standing like this, you have to clasp your hands and slowly point both arms up to the sky. The beauty of Wii Fit is the small meter indicating your balance, which tells you how straight you're standing. You have to stand straight and perfectly still on your foot to keep a small red circle as close to the middle of the meter as possible. Doing it properly like this makes it much more difficult but, more importantly, it puts extra pressure on your standing leg, making the exercise more effective.

It's All In The Balance

Once you've done your exercise the required number of times, you're given a score out of 100 based on how well you managed to keep the red dot in the centre. So getting yourself 100/100 means not only that you've kept the dot bang on the middle throughout, but you've also performed the exercise perfectly.

Click to view larger image
Although Wii Fit is clearly different to the Brain Training games in terms of content, the two titles are laid out in a similar way. When you start playing each day you're encouraged to weigh yourself. After each weigh-in, the results are placed on a graph which shows how your BMI has (hopefully) dropped over time. You mark that day with a stamp and can then take part in as many of the various mini-games and exercises as you see fit.

No Pain, No Gain

Not all the games are available at first. You start off with simpler ones and the more you play the more you unlock. The order in which you unlock the games is well thought out; they get progressively more tiring and complicated. You can also unlock harder versions of each game, so while the jogging game may seem a bit short at first since you're only jogging on the spot for a couple of minutes, you end up unlocking longer and more tiring routes the more you play. Similarly, you may be able to master six slow press-ups (where you place your hands on the Board instead of your feet), but after a while you'll unlock the option to do ten, and then even more.

Previous 1 2 Next page

Comments

42 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. Polysics_2004 Thursday 24th Apr 2008 at 12:00

    Oh dear. Clearly the gold award means nothing now when casual games that are fun for all of half an hour can get it.

  2. PerfectStranger Thursday 24th Apr 2008 at 12:37

    Oh dear. Clearly the gold award means nothing now when casual games that are fun for all of half an hour can get it.

    I don't think that's true. It's not because you don't like a game or think that it doesn't deserve a gold award, that it isn't good.

    Nintendo has done a great job on this one and I will try it. It's true that it doesn't appeal to everyone, but that's no reason why it couldn't be a good game. There are people who say that Mario Kart isn't any good, because "it is just driving around in silly karts". That didn't prevent it from becoming a classic.

    You should at least give it a try before you say it will only last for half an hour! :wink:

  3. Sabrewulf Thursday 24th Apr 2008 at 12:52

    Fun for half an hour?!

    I am getting tired of these type of comments, this is sophisticated piece of technology that makes it clear it is a fitness tool to aid you as part of maintaining a balanced healthy lifestyle, with some fun mini-games thrown in to take a break from the core exercises.

    If you only want it for fun then don't buy it! I am sure this fully desrves a gold award and cannot wait to start my regimes at the weekend :D

  4. Polysics_2004 Thursday 24th Apr 2008 at 12:58

    this is sophisticated piece of technology that makes it clear it is a fitness tool to aid you as part of maintaining a balanced healthy lifestyle
    If you only want it for fun then don't buy it!

    Am I the only person that realises game consoles are meant for games? If you want to work out go to the gym or go for a jog, some board is hardly going to change your physical health drastically.
    And you sum it up best when you said "If you only want it for fun then don't buy it!". Now excuse me if I'm wrong but weren't games created with the idea of being a game? A game generally being something fun?
    Well Nintendo seem to be steadily forgetting that and focusing more on what will make casuals sit up and take notice.

  5. ChrisONM Thursday 24th Apr 2008 at 13:13

    Oh dear. Clearly the gold award means nothing now when casual games that are fun for all of half an hour can get it.


    Ah right, so you've played it then?

    I hate this stupid "casual game = not for hardcore gamers" argument. I've been playing Wii Fit for well over two months now, and have played it almost every single day in that space of time. That's significantly more than "half an hour".

    If it's not your type of thing then fair enough, you're entitled to your opinion. But criticising my opinion and claiming that our Gold Award "means nothing" just because it's not your typ of game isn't really on.

    I'm as hardcore as they come when it comes to gaming, and I thoroughly enjoy Wii Fit, so I gave my honest opinion. What would have been worse is if I had given it a much lower score just to please the "hardcore" fans who don't like to accept that Nintendo is capable of making a game that can appeal to more than just people who have been playing since the N64 days.

  6. Sabrewulf Thursday 24th Apr 2008 at 13:38

    Am I the only person that realises game consoles are meant for games? If you want to work out go to the gym or go for a jog, some board is hardly going to change your physical health drastically.

    I don't like people who cast opinions without full knowledge of a game, I personally will continue to go for jogs and swims at the gym and I want to use this as an additional tool to help keep me a bit fitter than I currently am, which I am sure it will do. Chris is testament to this having long-term value as has been using it for two months, you haven't used it once yet!

  7. FrederickONM Thursday 24th Apr 2008 at 13:39

    Am I the only person that realises game consoles are meant for games? If you want to work out go to the gym or go for a jog, some board is hardly going to change your physical health drastically.
    And you sum it up best when you said "If you only want it for fun then don't buy it!". Now excuse me if I'm wrong but weren't games created with the idea of being a game? A game generally being something fun?
    Well Nintendo seem to be steadily forgetting that and focusing more on what will make casuals sit up and take notice.

    So you've never used your Wii to, say, surf the internet, make a Mii, watch video clips, communicate with friends or check the news? That is a nonsense sentence my friend. In this day and age, consoles are about much more than just games, whatever format you're talking about. Why on earth shouldn't that include keeping track of your fitness?

    I totally agree with Chris on this. Wii Fit is a classy, innovative and highly polished product that does exactly what it sets out to do. No, it's not a 'hardcore game', and it's not necessarily aimed at 'hardcore gamers' but why should that mean it's only "fun for all of half an hour"? If you don't think it's for you, don't buy it - just don't pass judgement on something you've not experienced.

  8. charmed699 Thursday 24th Apr 2008 at 14:01

    I definetly agree that you need to play it before making any judegement. As I went to the London launch yesterday I managed to play for about a hour and any doubts were gone! The board is a seriously advanced piece of technology and very impressive how it picks up any slight movement in a different way. :)

    It might seem like something that gamers might not be into but honestly its addictive! I was having so much fun chatting with the Nintendo staff whenever I tried a game again and got a better score.

    A bit of sidetracking but I just got this huge parcel half of my size which I thought was for Wii fit! It was not but it is something even cooler Nintendo related as it was nothing less than my Zelda figure from Club Nintendo. :mrgreen:

    Long live Nintendo!

  9. wendalboy Thursday 24th Apr 2008 at 16:52

    i think ill get this in a few months when its half the price and actually has some proper games for it. i can imagine some great things implementing this and the zapper or wheel but 70 notes is far too much for what is currently no more than a glorified scales and a few leaning mini games

  10. GlobboTwilight Thursday 24th Apr 2008 at 17:17

    I would definately buy it

    ...


    ...


    ...If it was cheaper

  11. Anonymous Thursday 24th Apr 2008 at 17:42

    i hate hardcore gamers :evil: ,wii fit is not meant for hardcore gamers its just a really clever way to encourige fitness will having fun.i dont actually think that £70 isnt that bad a price ,thats a thirty poud game and a forty pound balance board the balance board is a great bit of kit and i thik forty pounds is quite cheap for that kind of thing.

  12. Sinthetic Thursday 24th Apr 2008 at 19:15

    i think ill get this in a few months when its half the price and actually has some proper games for it. i can imagine some great things implementing this and the zapper or wheel but 70 notes is far too much for what is currently no more than a glorified scales and a few leaning mini games


    must be joking friend, its never gonna be half price. trust me.

  13. Sinthetic Thursday 24th Apr 2008 at 19:21

    i've gotta get my 2 pennies in on this. I agree with ONM Chris on this one. I am hardcore as hell when it comes to games, but when it comes to these innovations, it takes me back to when i first discovered gaming and felt excited as hell to try something for the first time. I love the idea of weighing myself and having it appear on a big screen in animated form. I really like the idea of the mind, body and soul area this game is covering. I honestly think ideas like wii sports and fit age add huge replayability to the mix and it's really very smart of miyamoto to throw it in. I'm waiting for my copy to arrive (Hopefully tomorrow!). I'm interested in seeing how it's received and how i receive it. It's going to be awesome.

  14. whippet75 Thursday 24th Apr 2008 at 19:34

    i'd love to play wii fit before i buy it, as, well im not sure, id rather buy the other games such as brawl. Which i know are good or save for a new console. Still its got the same price as guitar hero, or round about, yet i'm guessing this will be fun for 30 mins per day, like wii sports! which, is good for me! :)

  15. Wasiman Friday 25th Apr 2008 at 08:05

    this is sophisticated piece of technology that makes it clear it is a fitness tool to aid you as part of maintaining a balanced healthy lifestyle
    If you only want it for fun then don't buy it!

    Am I the only person that realises game consoles are meant for games? If you want to work out go to the gym or go for a jog, some board is hardly going to change your physical health drastically.
    And you sum it up best when you said "If you only want it for fun then don't buy it!". Now excuse me if I'm wrong but weren't games created with the idea of being a game? A game generally being something fun?
    Well Nintendo seem to be steadily forgetting that and focusing more on what will make casuals sit up and take notice.

    Wow, this is one of the most stupid reactions i have ever read. So were you got the wisdom that a console is only for games? That is just your opinion, but you present it as some kind of fact. I think its a very good concept to comibine game and workout. My only critic is that the board doesnt react that well, especially with the balance games like ski and heading the board acts way to slow to my movements.

  16. Meow Mix Friday 25th Apr 2008 at 11:39

    It looks interesting, sure, but I just worry nintendo is going to be making excercise equipment instead of games consoles, come 5 years.

    Still, i'd really like to try this out, at least to make my mind up about if I agree with your score.

  17. Anonymous Friday 25th Apr 2008 at 12:42

    Ive got i but i have not played it yet. You log on at 5.00pm and i will give u a personal opion review

  18. Polysics_2004 Friday 25th Apr 2008 at 12:49

    Wow, this is one of the most stupid reactions i have ever read. So were you got the wisdom that a console is only for games? That is just your opinion, but you present it as some kind of fact.

    I think it's fine that consoles should do things other than just games ie browsing the internet but fitness? That just seems a little silly when you could just, heaven forbid, leave your own home and go for a jog which wouldn't cost £70.

  19. ChrisONM Friday 25th Apr 2008 at 20:43

    Wow, this is one of the most stupid reactions i have ever read. So were you got the wisdom that a console is only for games? That is just your opinion, but you present it as some kind of fact.

    I think it's fine that consoles should do things other than just games ie browsing the internet but fitness? That just seems a little silly when you could just, heaven forbid, leave your own home and go for a jog which wouldn't cost £70.


    What about when it's raining? What if you live in a rough area? What if you work or go to school during the day and can't go for a jog at night because it's too dark?

    I don't understand why you don't see this as a good thing. I'd personally never go for a jog - it's far too boring for me. But I love playing this. That way I'm getting exercise when I wouldn't usually. I fail to see how that's a bad thing.

  20. ultra_slb Saturday 26th Apr 2008 at 01:26

    This is just not my kind of game since I play football i dont need exercise with a console, but anyway, that's not the point.. what I wanted to ask is..

    how come its SO expensive? =/ 100€.....

    And since the ONM Staff is awnsering here, I wanted to ask if the review its only mande by one person, in this case Chris, or if its based also in the opinion of other reviewers? Martin, Chandra etc.. Do you take in account their opinion? or is it just the opinion of the person whos meant to review the game?

  21. jLegind Saturday 26th Apr 2008 at 07:13

    It looks good.

    Why not have a console used for exercise as well?

    It's not harming anyone...

    You don't HAVE to buy it do you?

    I think it's great.
    The people who want/have-enough-money to buy it will love it, I'm sure.

  22. ibarnaby64 Saturday 26th Apr 2008 at 16:47

    .

  23. uster dog Saturday 26th Apr 2008 at 19:11

    "Mii Fit","You Fit" = "Wii Fit" :lol: :lol: :lol: i got mine friday :!: .

  24. BassMunkee Sunday 27th Apr 2008 at 17:32

    Oh dear. Clearly the gold award means nothing now when casual games that are fun for all of half an hour can get it.


    That's such a reactionary thing to say.
    We have WII Fit and it's great - loads of fun, games technology has moved on hugely and to be honest you need to move on with it I think, why should you not be able to run jump and do whatever?
    So it's not Halo or CounterStrike, big deal - hardcore snobbery is just so last year...

  25. Anonymous Tuesday 29th Apr 2008 at 15:07

    I own this product, I really can see Wii Fit balance board progressing into other games such as snowboarding.

    It is great and is so much more fun that just for half and hour.

  26. tomonm Tuesday 29th Apr 2008 at 15:14

    This is just not my kind of game since I play football i dont need exercise with a console, but anyway, that's not the point.. what I wanted to ask is..

    how come its SO expensive? =/ 100€.....

    And since the ONM Staff is awnsering here, I wanted to ask if the review its only mande by one person, in this case Chris, or if its based also in the opinion of other reviewers? Martin, Chandra etc.. Do you take in account their opinion? or is it just the opinion of the person whos meant to review the game?

    Chris reviewed it so it is his opinion. Still, Fred is playing it and is a big fan and I'm going to start playing tomorrow.

    One thing I'd like to add to the debate is that a lot of people find exercise intimidating. Going out for a job or a swim when you're overweight or not the fittest can be a bit daunting and you can feel like people are staring at you. That's another reason why Wii Fit is a great idea - you can do a range of exercises in privacy.

  27. Anonymous Tuesday 29th Apr 2008 at 15:15

    this is sophisticated piece of technology that makes it clear it is a fitness tool to aid you as part of maintaining a balanced healthy lifestyle
    If you only want it for fun then don't buy it!

    Am I the only person that realises game consoles are meant for games? If you want to work out go to the gym or go for a jog, some board is hardly going to change your physical health drastically.
    And you sum it up best when you said "If you only want it for fun then don't buy it!". Now excuse me if I'm wrong but weren't games created with the idea of being a game? A game generally being something fun?
    Well Nintendo seem to be steadily forgetting that and focusing more on what will make casuals sit up and take notice.

    Wow, this is one of the most stupid reactions i have ever read. So were you got the wisdom that a console is only for games? That is just your opinion, but you present it as some kind of fact. I think its a very good concept to comibine game and workout. My only critic is that the board doesnt react that well, especially with the balance games like ski and heading the board acts way to slow to my movements.

    I agree with you about the stupid people. But the ski games are actually quite good when you get your balance right. I tried to do it like skiing but its not that reaction you have to get the balance right and you can do it.

  28. Ze Terminator Thursday 1st May 2008 at 15:09

    £70 is far too much for what is currently no more than a glorified scales and a few leaning mini games

    People like you just don't get it!!!!!

    IT..IS..A..SERIOUS..PIECE..OF..KIT!!!!!!

    IT..ISN'T..A..FEW..LEANING..MINI-GAMES!!!!!

    GRRRRRRRRR!!!!!!!!!!!!

    :x :x :x :x :x :x :x :x :x :x :x

    Sorry about that!! This is an excellent review for an excellent piece of software

    I've had it 7 full days now and i'm pleased to agree with chris that this is a good workout, a solid piece of kit and a lot of fun!!
    I've been using my sweatband!!! Thanks for that too!!! :D :D :D

    Long live Nintendo!!! :mrgreen:

  29. patty97 Thursday 1st May 2008 at 20:29

    what a load of @*^$ i played it for half an hour then i got board stiff such a waist of time :evil: :shock: :?:

  30. freidel2 Friday 2nd May 2008 at 18:07

    i have heard so much from my friends about this game and i am hoping to get it soon as my birthday has just gone but i just dont see why shops or nintendo arnt making more copies of wii games, they seem to be going out of stok within days and it is starting to get quite frustrating if u can't get to the game shop in time.

  31. jLegind Friday 2nd May 2008 at 21:07

    I'm hoping for a DS Fit.

  32. Anonymous Saturday 3rd May 2008 at 16:51

    I really can't wait till I get my Wii fit. I not buying it because my Mum and Dad are. Saved £70. :lol: :lol:

  33. Anonymous Tuesday 27th May 2008 at 19:04

    I can't wait untill I get this game! If only I had £70... :(

  34. marc.johnstone Sunday 22nd Jun 2008 at 16:18

    I'm hoping for a DS Fit.


    Don't count on a DS fit :roll:

    I have Wii Fit and it is AMAZING!
    Anyone who says it isn't is crazy! :P

  35. peggey08 Friday 22nd Aug 2008 at 07:49

    Should i.................... Or shouldn't i...........

    oh what the hell, it looks awsome and the balance board will be in games in the future, so i'll buy it

  36. Bobby64i Friday 3rd Oct 2008 at 15:47

    I would definately buy it

    ...


    ...


    ...If it was cheaper

    I think £70 is a great price for what it is. You should buy it. I think it is one of the best games ever. I love the way the balance board asks you different questions depending on what time it is like at midday it asks if you have had lunch and in the evening it asks if you have brushed your teeth! :D :D :D :D

  37. Bobby64i Friday 3rd Oct 2008 at 15:47

    I would definately buy it

    ...


    ...


    ...If it was cheaper

    I think £70 is a great price for what it is. You should buy it. I think it is one of the best games ever. I love the way the balance board asks you different questions depending on what time it is like at midday it asks if you have had lunch and in the evening it asks if you have brushed your teeth! :D :D :D :D

  38. Bobby64i Friday 3rd Oct 2008 at 15:47

    I would definately buy it

    ...


    ...


    ...If it was cheaper

    I think £70 is a great price for what it is. You should buy it. I think it is one of the best games ever. I love the way the balance board asks you different questions depending on what time it is like at midday it asks if you have had lunch and in the evening it asks if you have brushed your teeth! :D :D :D :D

  39. cutecookie52 Tuesday 10th Feb 2009 at 22:28

    I am borrowing this game from a friend because they don't play it much. I don't understand why people are saying this is a bad game. Its more like a fitness program but with some extra fun added. But I do think it is too much money, it should be around £50, only because you could actually just do the exercise inside or outside without the guidence!!! :?

  40. Hizang Sunday 12th Jul 2009 at 13:23

    Wii Fit, now its score is debatable. I somewhat agree with your review but thats because not everything is there, why no mention of the fact you cannot string toegther excerises, a big nuisance.

  41. Mous3y Tuesday 2nd Feb 2010 at 00:54

    this is sophisticated piece of technology that makes it clear it is a fitness tool to aid you as part of maintaining a balanced healthy lifestyle
    If you only want it for fun then don't buy it!

    Am I the only person that realises game consoles are meant for games? If you want to work out go to the gym or go for a jog, some board is hardly going to change your physical health drastically.
    And you sum it up best when you said "If you only want it for fun then don't buy it!". Now excuse me if I'm wrong but weren't games created with the idea of being a game? A game generally being something fun?
    Well Nintendo seem to be steadily forgetting that and focusing more on what will make casuals sit up and take notice.

    This comment wins. It's pathetic just how many people will splash out far too much for something you can do for free or for not a lot of money. ALL games are meant to be fun. First tv programmes go down the drain and now it's games well If wii fit was a tv show it would be big brother, it's about as fun as bb. Nintendo is going to lose a lot of gamers who've been fans for years just because they care more about the people playing the games then the games themselves. I've got what good games there on on ds and I wont be buying casual ones just to have something new to play. Oh and how much did hotel dusk get again? :cry:

  42. Mous3y Tuesday 2nd Feb 2010 at 01:06

    Wow, this is one of the most stupid reactions i have ever read. So were you got the wisdom that a console is only for games? That is just your opinion, but you present it as some kind of fact.

    I think it's fine that consoles should do things other than just games ie browsing the internet but fitness? That just seems a little silly when you could just, heaven forbid, leave your own home and go for a jog which wouldn't cost £70.


    What about when it's raining? What if you live in a rough area? What if you work or go to school during the day and can't go for a jog at night because it's too dark?

    I don't understand why you don't see this as a good thing. I'd personally never go for a jog - it's far too boring for me. But I love playing this. That way I'm getting exercise when I wouldn't usually. I fail to see how that's a bad thing.

    It's just there opinion, like you lot have had yours. I fail to see why it derserves a gold award but there you go.

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.