Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

FIFA 13 Wii review

Just ignore that Tippex mark, that's where it used to say 12

We reviewed FIFA 12 on the Wii last year and were happy with it. We felt that EA had finally got all the silly slow-mo gimmicks from FIFA 09: All-Play out of its system and had finally delivered a decent version of FIFA, albeit one that that was still limited compared to those on other systems. In no way did that mean EA could just stop there, mind you, but with FIFA 13 that's exactly what's happened.

Here's a complete list of everything that's new in FIFA 13 compared to last year's game. The squads and kits have been updated. The menu music is new. The picture of Wayne Rooney on the title screen has been replaced with one of Lionel Messi. That's it.

Click to view larger image
That isn't the sort of comic exaggeration that is often used in reviews when in reality there have been at least a few tweaks to the game engine or, at the very least, a new front end. The above changes aside, this is exactly the same game as FIFA 12, right down to the menu screens.

Déjà Poo

If EA are reading this, shame on you. This is unacceptable. You might think the Wii version is the least important member of the FIFA family, but we get the charts in every week and we know it still shifts a decent number of copies for you. You know very well that a fair amount of gamers still play the Wii version and that some of those will happily plonk down another £30 for the latest iteration, expecting at least something new to be in it.

Why should Wii owners - who already have the poorest console version of FIFA - have to pay another £30 for a roster update (because that's all this is), when owners of other consoles get it for free? It's not as if it isn't possible - had EA simply put the infrastructure in place in FIFA 12 to enable a check for downloadable content when the game starts up (as the 3DS version does), then it would have been easy. But they didn't bother.

Those last three words bring us to the crux of this issue. They didn't bother. EA knew FIFA was a popular brand and that the Wii version sold in decent (if not stellar) numbers, but when it came to providing loyal fans of the series with new features for the latest edition, they didn't bother. And we're expected us to fork out £30 for this? Take a leaf from EA's book - don't bother.

Comments

29 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. JamieRIOT Thursday 27th Sep 2012 at 10:57

    Disgraceful. This is what happens when all big companies want is money.

  2. JaySuthEFC Thursday 27th Sep 2012 at 11:40

    A case of deja poo? Did I really just read that? :lol:

  3. 5OUNDWAVE Thursday 27th Sep 2012 at 12:06

    doesn't matter what console it's on fifa is terrible , also is it just me or has ea sucked all the life from all it's sport's title's

  4. toffeeman30 Thursday 27th Sep 2012 at 12:20

    jealous of everyone getting their fifa13 today (not the wii version)

  5. dave666 Thursday 27th Sep 2012 at 12:22

    I gotta give EA respect for still making a fifa game for the N64

  6. imbusydoctorwho Thursday 27th Sep 2012 at 13:00

    Times like this I'm glad Nintendo are moving into HD gaming.

  7. mushroomchow Thursday 27th Sep 2012 at 14:03

    I gotta give EA respect for still making a fifa game for the N64

    OH NO SHE DI' EN! *does ghetto head/finger waggle* (:

    I'm still playing PES '09. Go figure.

  8. torterratrainer Thursday 27th Sep 2012 at 15:05

    i laughed my block of with that Deja poo!
    XD

  9. Pyron12 Thursday 27th Sep 2012 at 15:11

    That just sucks especially considering that the 3DS version got 81%.

  10. trigo Thursday 27th Sep 2012 at 15:56

    why did ea even bother making a game that bad which brings nothing new or interesting to the game. discraceful ea, discraceful

  11. Xenobladeperson Thursday 27th Sep 2012 at 16:14

    I'm genuinely furious that everyone around me has been having stupid conversations about FIFA 13 all week. None of the versions on any console are different enough to justify a "brand new game," and they haven't been for the past couple of years.

    Possibly the WiiU version may just slip past, being the first HD Fifa on a Nintendo console with touchscreen controls and stuff, but I still have no intentions of getting it.

  12. Pyron12 Thursday 27th Sep 2012 at 16:30

    why did ea even bother making a game that bad which brings nothing new or interesting to the game. discraceful ea, discraceful


    They want cash. Rubbish Game (FIFA 13, CoD MW3, etc) = Immature fans milking cash cow(s).

  13. MrGooseyMoose Thursday 27th Sep 2012 at 16:34

    Great review. Made me laugh.

  14. GuitarHero Thursday 27th Sep 2012 at 17:39

    Yeah, the only way to play a decent FIFA game has been on the other consoles and PC recently which is a shame. Hopefully the Wii U won't have this problem, which I fear it might as Ultimate Team isn't it I heard.

  15. Shmilly Thursday 27th Sep 2012 at 18:58

    It shows just how awful this is when the handheld version scored more than twice as much. FIFA and football in general hold no interest for me, but purely from the perspective of the fans I think this is a poor show.

  16. inuyashaDS Thursday 27th Sep 2012 at 19:21

    Well what were you expecting in a football game on its 13th game?Chocolate to fall out of the sky during a match? (coughs)
    Besides it is 13.

  17. chun-liisgr8init Friday 28th Sep 2012 at 16:49

    I hav'nt bought a fifa game since it was released on the megadrive- I used to really enjoy the isometric look, same with skate boarding games, Why dont footy games today offer a retro look with basic but precise control, along with all the realism modes, maybe i'll get it on wii u-if it gets above 88% :wink:

  18. bilboboy Friday 28th Sep 2012 at 20:35

    5 weeks before Fifa launch

    Developer 1: Great finally finished Fifa 13 for good!
    Developer 2: Yeah it feels great!
    Developer 1:Wait. Are we forgetting something?
    Developer 2:Like what?
    Developer 1:OH CRAP! We forgot the Wii version!!
    Developer 2: Jesus! We're dead if we dont release SOMETHING!
    Developer 1: Quick just get last years edition and replace the kits and players stats from this year.
    Developer 2:Genius! *5 mins later* Done!
    Developer 1: Great. Now back to the party!

  19. Yinyanreshiram Saturday 29th Sep 2012 at 12:15

    I want to marry the person who wrote this review.Finally a reviewer brave enough to make fun of EA!. :D

  20. Mighty Shouter Tuesday 2nd Oct 2012 at 20:07

    5 weeks before Fifa launch

    Developer 1: Great finally finished Fifa 13 for good!
    Developer 2: Yeah it feels great!
    Developer 1:Wait. Are we forgetting something?
    Developer 2:Like what?
    Developer 1:OH CRAP! We forgot the Wii version!!
    Developer 2: Jesus! We're dead if we dont release SOMETHING!
    Developer 1: Quick just get last years edition and replace the kits and players stats from this year.
    Developer 2:Genius! *5 mins later* Done!
    Developer 1: Great. Now back to the party!

    Soooo this. Looking forward to seeing next year's FIFA 12, I mean,13, I mean, 14 on Wii while I enjoy the (hopefully) definitive experience on Wii U.

  21. Darkblizz Friday 5th Oct 2012 at 11:42

    What does it say about football games if the best one I ever played was Nintendo World Cup on the NES?

  22. toffeeman30 Friday 5th Oct 2012 at 12:28

    also ea sports dodged the question it recycled fifa on the wii

  23. jaco_p Thursday 11th Oct 2012 at 15:42

    Well they've being re-boxing the same game for years now, still playing FIFA 09 on wii because of the pointy controls which make the gameplay ace, but the rest of the game around it is just cobbled together

  24. abmooG tsriF ehT Tuesday 23rd Oct 2012 at 14:52

    I enjoy the PS3 version.

  25. Cocacola Tuesday 23rd Oct 2012 at 15:03

    its about time we got ultimate team.
    We don't even have it on the WiiU!

  26. parasky Friday 9th Nov 2012 at 18:59

    I think it's absolutely disgusting how a game dev of this large size gets away with this.

  27. SM3DL2 Sunday 11th Nov 2012 at 19:54

    So Fifa 13 is the same as last time and gets 30%, but Mario Tennis Open is the same as last time and gets 80%? :?

  28. TheSlenderman Wednesday 16th Jan 2013 at 19:21

    Well what were you expecting in a football game on its 13th game?Chocolate to fall out of the sky during a match? (coughs)
    Besides it is 13.

    I think there have been more than 13...
    It does show, though; if you didn't read reviews of games like this then you would end up buying it and kicking yourself until the cows come home. :)

  29. lrulesok Thursday 15th Aug 2013 at 17:46

    literally makes me angry want the wii u version but i have this one because my parents thing its the same any help?

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.