Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Just Dance 4 Wii review

You've been asked four times now, it'd almost be rude not to

You know the bit in a generic cop drama where the hard-bitten inspector (you know the type: bald, angry, probably called 'Bootpunch', or something) stares the perp out over a bolted-down interview table and explains the facts? You know, spreads out the contents of a manila file, points threateningly at a grisly photo, maybe bellows a bit? That's this Just Dance 4 review. Imagine ONM with a trenchcoat on. Now you know we're serious.

Let us spell it out for you: Just Dance 4 isn't a bad game. No, shut up, it isn't. It's not an innovative game - it's perhaps barely even iterative - but it's not bad. Ubisoft's titanic dance series may not change all that much, but it knows what it needs to do, it knows how to dress it all up well and it knows how to sell the whole package to anyone who wants it.

Click to view larger image
The now-familiar mix of contemporary and retro pop tracks, tongue-in-cheek approaches to dance routines (you'll encounter superheroes, a wrestling duet and the Grease tribute act time tried to forget along the way) and that sneaky control system that doesn't actually require you to dance make reappearances.

A slightly extended Just Sweat exercise mode (complete with calorie counter and intensity tracker) and the song-specific lists of Dance Quests - both welcome enough additions - make their modest bows.

There's little else different enough to talk about here, so what it all comes down to is a few basic questions: have you enjoyed Just Dance games before? Do you want more songs to dance to? Do you mind that other consoles' editions of the game (including the upcoming Just Dance 4 Wii U instalment) have considerably more features than this one? Did you murder her? Sorry, that last question was for someone else.

If you answered yes, yes, no, no, then by all means buy Just Dance 4, it will give you exactly what you're after and you'll be unimpeded by arrest warrants as you play. If you're not hung up on a lack of new ideas or realistic point scoring and are happy to prance around your front room, you will enjoy this. That's why it's successful and that's why it'll continue to be successful when the inevitable Just Dance 10 arrives.

So that's the state of things. Did you hear us? Okay, now get out of our sight. These doughnuts won't eat themselves and we have to get this interview table out of the office's disabled toilet.

Comments

14 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. MrGooseyMoose Tuesday 2nd Oct 2012 at 10:59

    Nice review, made me smile. Shame the game won't do the same...

  2. imbusydoctorwho Tuesday 2nd Oct 2012 at 12:55

    I wouldn't mind picking this up,looks like a fun series,but I've never got round to buying one.

  3. mushroomchow Tuesday 2nd Oct 2012 at 13:57

    Well considering i'm doomed to eventually have to play it at a party of some sort, it's heartening to know from the screenshot that i can drunkenly flail around to Rock Lobster. With an actual lobster/Fred Schneider/Fonzie hybrid throwing shapes on the screen.

    That track's inclusion instantly makes this the best Just Dance ever. Granted, that's like saying the presence of corn made my latest poop the best ever, but it'll do for me.

  4. Xenobladeperson Tuesday 2nd Oct 2012 at 16:12

    70%? That's a little high for Just Dance, Joe.

  5. thecoolmana777 Tuesday 2nd Oct 2012 at 20:55

    Probably gonna pick up the WiiU version but good score, I've always enjoyed the Just Dance games and hopefully there will be some good songs to download until the inevitable Just Dance 5 comes out :)

  6. Loopydoodle Wednesday 3rd Oct 2012 at 21:28

    Totally only saying the score system is unrealistic because they can't dance :wink: :lol: :P

  7. OXM Joe Friday 5th Oct 2012 at 10:21

    70%? That's a little high for Just Dance, Joe.

    I feel like I made my point fairly clear in the review, it's a good game on its own merits, but it's certainly not for everyone (including me).

    Totally only saying the score system is unrealistic because they can't dance :wink: :lol: :P

    Loopy, allow me to point you to a video I helped make for our Xbox sister publication. I'm on the left: http://youtu.be/8lSoupuFkLg NOW tell me I can't dance (actually don't, because I know it's true)

  8. Xenobladeperson Saturday 6th Oct 2012 at 22:31

    70%? That's a little high for Just Dance, Joe.

    I feel like I made my point fairly clear in the review, it's a good game on its own merits, but it's certainly not for everyone (including me).

    No, the original was a good game. Every game following that is nothing more than a DLC package passed off as a full retail game.

  9. OXM Joe Monday 8th Oct 2012 at 10:27

    No, the original was a good game. Every game following that is nothing more than a DLC package passed off as a full retail game.

    I see your point, but for me it's about intention and expectation. In a series that leads consumers to believe it's offering a true sequel, a rehash is a serious issue. In a series like Just Dance (or, in fact, almost all music-based series), this is exactly what consumers expect - the people buying Just Dance 4 are extremely unlikely to believe that they're buying something groundbreaking.

  10. TheMasterSword12 Thursday 11th Oct 2012 at 15:03

    The first one was bad and so are all the rest. That was my first post.

  11. Sex Bob-omb Monday 29th Oct 2012 at 15:07

    Seriously who buys these games

  12. SM3DL2 Friday 9th Nov 2012 at 00:08

    Why didn't they do just one Just Dance and you have the option of paying for more songs? Like all the Just Dance's rolled into one?

    me personally, I have Just Dance 2. It's quite funny watching other people trying to dance. :D

  13. MissAliss Sunday 11th Nov 2012 at 14:40

    its one of those series of games that if you bought one you have to buy them all

  14. mav Thursday 10th Apr 2014 at 09:34

    The Just Dance games are a giggle, my daughters love them and after enough beers friends and I play them too, sadly it is me and my drunken friends that have the highest scores...........

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.