Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Bravely Default review - 38/40 in Famitsu

Two reviewers give Square-Enix's RPG top marks

The first Bravely Default review has appeared in Famitsu with two of the Japanese magazine's reviewers giving in ten out of ten. However, it wasn't a perfect score for the Japanese magazine as other critics awarded it nine out of ten, giving it a total of 38/40 in the magazine.

3DS (unlike DS) doesn't boast that many top class role-playing games so it's no surprise that Bravely Default is so keenly anticipated. The fact that it looks absolutely stunning helps, too and many will be hoping that a UK release date for the title will be announced soon.

Set for release in Japan on 11 October, Bravely Default looks like it will be an epic, with Square Enix promising that there is close to 70 hours worth of adventuring in a game that supports Augmented Reality and boasts a job and battle system similar to that in Final Fantasy V.

The star of the show is Tiz who is a survivor of a shocking disaster. His home town has been sucked into a giant hole and darkness is approaching. However, he meets an ally in Anies who wants to prevent the darkness.

Are you hoping that a UK release date will be announced during this week's Nintendo Direct?

[ Source: BDash ]

Comments

13 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. jimbob555 Wednesday 3rd Oct 2012 at 12:07

    Looks identical to FF3 & FF4 remakes on the DS. Not saying that's a bad thing but it doesn't seem to scream fresh.

  2. Slinkington Wednesday 3rd Oct 2012 at 12:42

    Looks really nice. 80% certain this will not see a release outside Japan. :/

  3. K-tet Wednesday 3rd Oct 2012 at 13:22

    Looks really good. A lot of effort definitely went into this. Being the type of game that it is, there's a very strong chance it will be released outside of Japan. I'm certain Nintendo would want Square Enix to push this game into the Western markets.

    Once it does get an English release, I'll be ready to invest in it. Quite recently Nintendo platforms have had some epic J-RPG's, and this definitely looks to continue the trend.

  4. MartinIsAwesome Wednesday 3rd Oct 2012 at 13:30

    The fact that it's not under the Final Fantasy umbrella like the previous game from the development team was makes a western release less likely, but hopefully it will and if we are luckily it could be get an independant European release like Xenoblade Chronicles, The Last Story and Pandora's Tower originally were.
    One thing that concerns me a little is the whole Job mechanic which I've never dealt with before. I'm more used to RPGs were the characters has predetermined roles, so I wouldn't know what to select for my party with a choice of typical roles like Warriors and Mages, and more unusal ones like Mimes and Bards.

  5. JamieRIOT Wednesday 3rd Oct 2012 at 13:32

    38/10 is a damn high score :lol:

  6. K-tet Wednesday 3rd Oct 2012 at 13:40

    One thing that concerns me a little is the whole Job mechanic which I've never dealt with before. I'm more used to RPGs were the characters has predetermined roles, so I wouldn't know what to select for my party with a choice of typical roles like Warriors and Mages, and more unusal ones like Mimes and Bards.

    Grab yourself a copy of Final Fantasy V and study it in-depth. Once you understand it, you'll wonder why certain other games don't have the option to set and change job roles during the game. I'd highly recommend the GBA version as that's a fantastic port. I don't expect you to own a Japanese Super Famicom (otherwise, the SFC version is the way to go).

  7. MJTH Wednesday 3rd Oct 2012 at 13:50

    The problem I have with most current TBRPG games is that they either keep trying to reinvent themselves so much that the fundamentals may be lost (ie Final fantasy or the DQX becoming an MMO) or they are so rooted in tradition, that they end up make something that that looks to retro for it's own good (alot of indie TBRPG, or remakes).

    It's nice to see something that isn't trying to go for either of those extremes, that is sat nicely in the middle. Especially a new IP since it doesn't have to conform to ideals set in previous games. Whilst it does look similar to the FF remakes, I think it will feel fresh on just by the virtue of it being something new. The "Brave and Default" battle system, from which the game has gained it's name sake, also sounds interesting.

    The game itself may not be doing something completely new, but it seems different enough from other games in this genre, that may (well I hope) feel fresh anyway. And even if it isn't to fresh, that may stop it from from being a very enjoyable experience. :D

  8. Xenobladeperson Wednesday 3rd Oct 2012 at 15:43

    38/10 is a damn high score :lol:


    When a game deserves 28 additional points you know you're on to something good.

  9. Mmmyeah Wednesday 3rd Oct 2012 at 18:58

    I know that this is unrelated but what happened to that 3DS game where you explored a temple and with that girl? I wanted to see what that game was going to be like.

  10. TenTen Wednesday 3rd Oct 2012 at 19:51

    I've really been looking forward to this game, so I'd love a European release. I've been looking at the Japanese website, and even though I can't understand most of it, it still looks great.

  11. Baker1000 Wednesday 3rd Oct 2012 at 19:59

    Looks amazing. Although a name change for a western release wouldn't go amiss.

  12. pokemaster Thursday 4th Oct 2012 at 08:52

    Really want this. Been looking forward to it from the very time I read about it ages ago. I like the name now, every time I mention it to some one, they are interested. If it was just called something generic, it would lose some of its mystery. Hopefully it wont take too long to be released over here.

  13. MartinIsAwesome Thursday 4th Oct 2012 at 10:03

    I know that this is unrelated but what happened to that 3DS game where you explored a temple and with that girl? I wanted to see what that game was going to be like.


    Are you talking about Doctor Lautrec? If so, that came out in December last year with very little notice. I'd be surprised if anybody bought a copy.

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.