Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Boom Blox Review

Spielberg debut Wii game is a blast

Monkeys. In cowboy hats. With big moustaches. Isn't that enough to earn Boom Blox a Gold Award? We reckon so, but thankfully EA's collaboration with Steven Spielberg to develop a decidedly casual puzzle game warrants one anyway, whether it has monkey bandits or not. While there's no denying that Boom Blox is about as casual as puzzle games get, it's still the kind of game that proper gamers can get into too. Indeed, there's a whole level of depth here that most casual players won't even dream of dipping their toes in, leaving a vast ripple-free pool of creative freedom for the more hardcore element to dive straight into.

New Kid On The Blox

Although it's based around six different concepts, Boom Blox is nothing if not accessible - you simply point the Remote, hold down A and then either throw or move to perform an action. The trick, however, is knowing where and when to do such actions and with over 300 levels split into varying difficulties, working that out takes a long while.

Click to view larger image
Knocking Gem Blox off their perches in the least number of throws, pulling out Point Blox without upsetting their point-stealing brethren (ala Jenga, but in a way that actually works on Wii), setting off chain reactions of Bomb Blox and more besides; each concept plays host to its own range of levels, and each requires its own thought-provoking approach.

Not surprisingly, it's all about strategy. Sure, you can clear most of the levels if you just pummel away at them with repeated throws or just yank blocks until they come crashing down, but that won't net you the gold medals. And trust us, you'll want the gold medals. Not just for your own self-satisfaction, but also because getting them earns you more tools, parts and characters for the Create Mode. It's this approach, this constant demand for self-improvement, that drives Boom Blox forward and makes it not only loads of fun but also much deeper than its casual stylings would have you believe.

Blox Rockin' Beats

There's much more too. For instance, the Create Mode, with its option to either make a level from scratch or edit existing ones and then share them over Wi-Fi with your friends, is where we suspect most hardened gamers will get their kicks. The 24 multiplayer modes (each offering their own array of levels) are nearly all great, particularly the competitive ones that see you throw, blast, grab and attack each other with all manner of blocks.

In fact, it's only the Adventure mode, creatively directed by Spielberg himself and offering 12 unique styles of gameplay, that throws up a red flag purely because the final ghost-themed quarter is rather weak and not as fun as what comes before it.

Click to view larger image
However, when three slightly lacking game styles are only a small portion of the overall package, it's easier to overlook the weaknesses in favour of the strengths. As an example of how a vaguely familiar idea can be turned into something unique and interesting, Boom Blox succeeds massively. As providing a community for exchanging new levels and ideas develops, we can see this one lasting for a long time.

Comments

27 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. jj94mcl Thursday 8th May 2008 at 15:30

    Upon first seeing this, i thought it looked pretty dull, building bricks then knocking them down but after reading this review and watching the trailer i've changed my mind.

  2. MailToad94 Thursday 8th May 2008 at 15:35

    I wonder how he managed to make Indy 4 and Boom Blox at the same time :lol:

  3. Incudii_Up Thursday 8th May 2008 at 16:09

    I wonder how he managed to make Indy 4 and Boom Blox at the same time :lol:

    George Lucas is directing Indy 4.

  4. hulkbuster Thursday 8th May 2008 at 16:27

    90% for the review of blox that go boom :!: well with a game like this my moneys gone soon :lol: :lol: :lol: picking my copy up from gamestation tomorrow :!: ......now not only does Mr spilberg make great movies he now makes great videogames,good for him :wink: :wink: .

  5. DarkAce Thursday 8th May 2008 at 17:51

    I'm buying this and soul bubbles as soon as I can.

  6. YAYFORNINTENDO Thursday 8th May 2008 at 20:57

    Boom Blox looks awesome, i will have to get it when i have the cash !

  7. sahoskins1 Friday 9th May 2008 at 07:44

    sorry but no matter how good the game is I will not be buying it on principle. The original trailer for this game featured head-tracking (for those of you unfamilliar go to youtube and search for wii head tracking and watch the video by johnny chung lee). EA decided to pull this feature late in the final development stages meaning the Nintendo Wii will have to wait to gain a larger technological advantage over its rivals.

  8. fanboy Friday 9th May 2008 at 12:08

    Really dissapointed they removed the head tracking - why would they do that? It was only meant to be an easter egg anyway.

    I suppose not many people would've been able to use it anyway as it required a DIY setup. Still what a waste.

  9. 91nintendo Friday 9th May 2008 at 16:09

    Looks pretty good. I may buy it when I have the cash.

  10. adastoy Friday 9th May 2008 at 17:21

    this sounds great,the level editor/share over wi-fi makes this sound unmistakably good.

  11. Darkfire_Danny Friday 9th May 2008 at 17:47

    I've never been a fan of Speilberg (Schindler's List was just so darn boring), but this looks Ok. I haven't got a puzzler since Mario VS Donkey Kong 2, so maybe I'll look into this further.

  12. hulkbuster Friday 9th May 2008 at 19:40

    I've never been a fan of Speilberg (Schindler's List was just so darn boring), but this looks Ok. I haven't got a puzzler since Mario VS Donkey Kong 2, so maybe I'll look into this further.

    darkfire dummy :lol: .....schindler's list is a great,moving story about the horrors of war that you obvously just don't UNDERSTAND :!: and i got my copy of BOOM BLOX today and i love it :D .

  13. lattywatty Saturday 10th May 2008 at 15:41

    After reading this review and watching a few videos, I can't wait to get this game! I ordered it yesterday, coming soon :D

  14. george best Sunday 11th May 2008 at 14:01

    what a terrible looking game

    pixelated

  15. Ou3nDaN Sunday 11th May 2008 at 15:39

    WOW! 9/10 for a tech demo....

  16. Avatar Ink Monday 12th May 2008 at 18:44

    What appeared to be a 3D tetris just got a whole lot more interesting...
    I have been curious about this since people noticed that Speilberg was doing a game, no-one knew anything about it, but I was hooked. Now I hear it's a brilliant game with a simple yet charming idea that has made everyone love it, I can't wait to buy this! Move over Mario kart, there's a new addictive game in town!

  17. lattywatty Tuesday 13th May 2008 at 21:20

    Got this game today... amazing. That's all I can say. Buy it! NOW!

  18. adastoy Wednesday 14th May 2008 at 16:46

    just got it,seem really good the multi player is pretty cool,looking forward to making/sharing levels with ppl,plz pm me if your the creative type with this game...

  19. Fretz Wednesday 14th May 2008 at 18:10

    I'll probably end up buying this at some point, but it's unfortunate that it's been released at nearly the same time as Mario Kart Wii, as most of us are still addicted to that.

  20. deku-shrub Wednesday 14th May 2008 at 19:27

    i think it looks great i might get sometime

  21. LuigiWare Wednesday 14th May 2008 at 19:45

    Looks like an Eledees style control system in a puzzle game with Jenga thrown in.

    Looks awesome!

  22. Team XD Sunday 1st Jun 2008 at 09:20

    Addictive and the multiplayer Rocks :lol:

  23. Battalion Tuesday 3rd Jun 2008 at 18:08

    i dont understand how boom blox is good all it is knocking down bricks it seems pointless to me.

  24. Team XD Wednesday 4th Jun 2008 at 12:14

    i dont understand how boom blox is good all it is knocking down bricks it seems pointless to me.

    :o Pointless...everybody likes to knock stuff down

  25. Super_Sonic96 Saturday 15th Nov 2008 at 12:27

    Yes, yes they do.......especially there siblings

  26. cropnat Thursday 9th Apr 2009 at 07:24

    Awesome game got it only a few days ago and absolutely love it. One of the best games on the Wii and has awesome multiplayer. Don't need a nunchuk which is great in case you only have one. Hours of stuff to do. Even the oldies can get enjoyment out of this great game. Laugh at your Mom as she tries to shoot flying boxes and I would put this as one of the Top 10 Best Games for the Wii. :lol: :D

  27. cropnat Thursday 9th Apr 2009 at 14:10

    Awesome game got it only a few days ago and absolutely love it. One of the best games on the Wii and has awesome multiplayer. Don't need a nunchuk which is great in case you only have one. Hours of stuff to do. Even the oldies can get enjoyment out of this great game. Laugh at your Mom as she tries to shoot flying boxes and I would put this as one of the Top 10 Best Games for the Wii. :lol: :D

    92%

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.