Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Why ZombiU has received mixed reviews

Confused as to whether you should buy it? Read on...

ZombiU has split opinion. From 4.5 out of 10 to 92%, Ubisoft's survival horror game has been on the receiving end of some negative and positive reviews which has confused many Nintendo fans who just want to know if they should buy it or not. But why has it polarised opinion?

Looking at the review scores, you can see a split between the American and UK reviews. I have yet to see a single negative review from a UK-based publication or website. Edge gave the game 7 out of 10, CVG awarded it 8.4 and Eurogamer 9 out of 10. If you subscribe of Official Nintendo Magazine and have read the review or seen our summary in our best Wii U games article, you'll know that we gave it 92%.

Yet look over the other side of the pond where ZombiU is actually out now and it's a different story. IGN went with 6.3, Gamespot gave it 4.5 while Game Informer thought it deserving of a 5 out of 10 review score.

I'm not going to say that these reviewers are wrong (I'm not in the business of criticising the work of members of my own profession - it's a bit rude) and everyone is entitled to their own opinion but one common criticism has focused on the cricket bat. IGN, for example, said that killing zombies with the cricket bat becomes a chore while CVG commented: "there's something brilliantly English about smacking a pinstriped, bowler hat-wearing London banker with one."

CVG's reviewer added that a few more would have added variety to the excellent melee combat. We presume he's talking about melee weapons in general rather than a variety of cricket bats. Although wouldn't it be fun to choose from different bats? A Duncan Fearnley or a Gray & Nicholls? I think I'd go for the Gray & Nicholls - those ridges on the back would do some damage.

Click to view larger image
Gamespot also said the world was uninteresting. That's our capital city you're talking about, pal! Joking aside, it does make you wonder if the game had been set in New York and you had to pummel zombies with a baseball bat, would the reaction have been different?

Despite being made by Ubisoft Montpellier, ZombiU is very English. Not in a quaint Professor-Layton-cup-of-tea-and-cake kind of way, you understand, but it's set in London and the Prepper (your mentor) speaks in a thick Yorkshire accent. It's gritty, too - like the sort of low-budget horror movie we do so well.

But the mixed reviews can't be down to cultural differences can they? After all, US-based website Destructoid gave it 8 out of 10, its reviewer writing: "ZombiU is awkward, ugly, crawling in its pace, and often nonsensical with its narrative... and I remember when horror games weren't ashamed of any of that, even actively exploiting it to create alienating, frightening atmospheres that stuck in a players' memories and made them too spooked to want to take another step forward."

Previous 1 2 Next page

Comments

58 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. Darkblizz Monday 19th Nov 2012 at 11:46

    No, I'm pretty sure it's because the game's set in London, and America doesn't want to play a game about 'limey tea-suckin' Britfaaaaaaags.'

  2. BlockPunch Monday 19th Nov 2012 at 11:48

    Nice one for addressing this so quickly. I was hoping ZombiU would turn out to be a must-have Wii U launch title but these mixed reviews have defiantly thrown a spanner into the works. Even though I really trust ONM's reviews/ratings, I'm still not too sure. I'm hoping GaintBomb review it as I'm really interested to hear what they make of it.

  3. theycallmejack Monday 19th Nov 2012 at 11:49

    This is a really great article. What have American's got against British culture?! This is the Olympic opening ceremony all over again... ANYWAY! I'm really not a fan of horror (I can't even watch the Simpsons' Halloween specials) but I do kind of want this game because of it's realism rather than gratuitous violence... I don't know... I'll wait and see, I can't afford to get a Wii U at launch anyway!

  4. tomonm Monday 19th Nov 2012 at 11:51

    This is a really great article. What have American's got against British culture?! This is the Olympic opening ceremony all over again... ANYWAY! I'm really not a fan of horror (I can't even watch the Simpsons' Halloween specials) but I do kind of want this game because of it's realism rather than gratuitous violence... I don't know... I'll wait and see, I can't afford to get a Wii U at launch anyway!

    Without wishing to put you off what is a great game, if you can't handle the Simpsons Halloween specials, perhaps this isn't for you!

  5. Slinkington Monday 19th Nov 2012 at 11:51

    I find New York to be a much more interesting location. However, I love that we're finally seeing a UK city, rather than your typical built-up American city.

    My criticisms for the game are: It's too dark. There isn't enough variety in melee weapons. The graphics are below par. The character design is lacking for the most part.

    I'd stil like to try it though. I'll wait 'til I see it in the bargain bins I think.

  6. shadow663 Monday 19th Nov 2012 at 11:51

    I think the issue with some of the negative reviews was they were expecting something akin to Dead Island, which is much faster paced and you kinda just end up flinging your weapon around killing everything in sight. And to get something that you have to play, I guess more tactically rather than running in swinging, probably affected the reviews somewhat.

    That and IGN got their resident Nintendo hater to review the game...

  7. JamieRIOT Monday 19th Nov 2012 at 11:53

    At the end of the day, games reviews on websites, magazines etc are glorified opinions of a single party (usually). You take each one you read with a pinch of salt, but generally take the average score and pros/cons to weigh up what the games is like. Some people will think ZombieU is their favourite game of all time, others will hate it.

  8. King Slazo Monday 19th Nov 2012 at 11:53

    Interesting. You have to wonder how much of this comes down to games like Resident Evil 4 (and 5/6) and Left 4 Dead, which in many ways completely flipped what people expect from "survival horror", although they're both far more "action horror" games. I don't think its down to the location and setting though, more just a changing of the times of what people expect in a title with the undead.

  9. BIGBUTTER Monday 19th Nov 2012 at 11:55

    Hey, I live in Canada and I was extremely annoyed by Gamespot & IGN's Reviews. I felt they were being really stupid about their comments and made no sense at all. I for one don't care where a game setting is at just make a good game and I am sure Zombie U is a good game.

  10. theycallmejack Monday 19th Nov 2012 at 11:59

    This is a really great article. What have American's got against British culture?! This is the Olympic opening ceremony all over again... ANYWAY! I'm really not a fan of horror (I can't even watch the Simpsons' Halloween specials) but I do kind of want this game because of it's realism rather than gratuitous violence... I don't know... I'll wait and see, I can't afford to get a Wii U at launch anyway!

    Without wishing to put you off what is a great game, if you can't handle the Simpsons Halloween specials, perhaps this isn't for you!

    Haha! Ok! I might get one of my friends to buy it and then hide behind a pillow while they play it! :P

  11. JamieRIOT Monday 19th Nov 2012 at 12:00

    That and IGN got their resident Nintendo hater to review the game...

    For sure. It's a well-known fact that Greg Miller bums Playstation; I think it was a poor choice having someone with such a bias towards one platform review some of these games.

  12. K-tet Monday 19th Nov 2012 at 12:01

    You see, America doesn't understand British humour or pastimes, when let's be honest, they were once British (and actually the USA had a pastime in Cricket too, hosting the first International Game against Canada). However, the reviews tend to focus on the fact that it's not an Action Shooter, and criticise the single-player aspect as being a flaky non-intuitive FPS, when we all know it's a classic survival horror. The moment they start criticising the lack of light, and each environment being tight and claustrophobic and marking down a survival horror for those aspects is when it's time to disregard the review altogether. I bet you this game would be praised highly if the setting was in New York rather than London.

    Yes people are entitled to their own opinions, but they shouldn't be allowed to make them if they do not understand the genre they're reviewing. That's like me reviewing Black Ops II and giving it 0% because it's exactly the same as Halo 4, which is the same as every other generic FPS game out there, etc etc, because clearly I don't know what I'm talking about in that regard.

    Another issue is that they've written the game off, classing it as the Wii U's 'Red Steel', which turned out to be a disappointment in their books. Also if Americans can't play the game, they enter ragequit territory and criticise the game heavily (case in point: Mario Kart Wii. They slated the game for too many powerful items that hamper skilful racers, which in actual fact that level of difficulty was praised by European reviewers for keeping things on an even keel. I've had no problem with this myself, as I prefer the super-anal hard difficulty. It makes you an even better racer). This is why I disregard mostly every American review out there, they just don't know what they're talking about half of the time. All such reviews should just be taken with a pinch of salt, especially from sources like IGN and Gamespot. Remember, you can't spell ignorant without 'ign'.

  13. master sword Monday 19th Nov 2012 at 12:02

    honestly expecting a fair Nintendo review from IGN or gamespot is like asking for cake to fall from the sky (awesome and suprising if it does but it'll never happen)
    I still remember IGN's review of Skyward Sword... ughh ¬_¬

  14. tomonm Monday 19th Nov 2012 at 12:08

    Another issue is that they've written the game off, classing it as the Wii U's 'Red Steel', which turned out to be a disappointment in their books.

    That's an interesting point. Do you think some reviewers are scared of getting it wrong? Red Steel received some great reviews (not just from us!) but many were disappointed by it.

  15. toffeeman30 Monday 19th Nov 2012 at 13:09

    good reviews from uk sites but mediocre reviews from the us. bet the opposite happens for playstation allstars

  16. NintendoForLife Monday 19th Nov 2012 at 13:32

    Ahh, I see ONM. This could be just like Red Steel was, after all! (Expect without the hype 'cause people have learned somewhat since then. 8) )

  17. MushroomBandit Monday 19th Nov 2012 at 13:37

    typical american ways if you ask me, usually all they want to do is go in all guns blazing and think afterwards. they are keep basing it on things like lack of ammo etc...which if your trying to keep it realistic, its not like London is full of gun shops etc.

    i think the game is going to be brilliant and i can't wait for launch day to play it. the whole point of the game is to use the old noggin.

  18. K-tet Monday 19th Nov 2012 at 13:38

    Do you think some reviewers are scared of getting it wrong? Red Steel received some great reviews (not just from us!) but many were disappointed by it.


    Perhaps they are. I personally didn't have an issue with Red Steel. I thought it was a very good game, but to me it felt like an elaborate tech demo on what the Wii could do. That's not necessarily a bad thing, as proven by future games that got the formula right (e.g. Skyward Sword, despite its documented technical flaws from time-to-time), but it can be seen as a negative rather than a positive by others.

    I think it's based more on the reviewer's reputation rather than just personal interpretation. Some reviewers would rather keep their bias and preferences than actually try to be impartial (which is what they're paid to do; impartial reviews). I'd be interested to hear what others think in relation to that.

  19. aerosmith20 Monday 19th Nov 2012 at 14:20

    I'm guessing ZombiU is like Marmite. You'll either love it or hate it!

  20. Redfish20 Monday 19th Nov 2012 at 14:21

    Moral of the story, you will like this game if you aren't an American?

  21. mushroomchow Monday 19th Nov 2012 at 14:40

    That and IGN got their resident Nintendo hater to review the game...

    H'okay, I'm gonna have to come out and disagree with you on this one. The IGN review pointed out the legitimate flaws in the game. He didn't go as far as to completely dismiss it, simply for being on a Nintendo platform, as some people are suggesting (unlike a certain, condescending arsehat on Gamespot), and gave the game a fair score.

    I don't want people here getting all tribal about IGN again based on ZombiU getting an average - not bad, average - score. Over the last few weeks, my perception of the site has changed a great deal. They're genuinely giving the Wii U a chance and moving away from the PS360 fanboy tag they used to have. People here need to know this.

    Gamespot, on the other hand, can suck it.

  22. Timcanpy Monday 19th Nov 2012 at 14:40

    Hahaha really guys, c'mon this is borderline racism here. Who knows, maybe people just actually don't like the game WOAH, crazy thing there right? Ubisoft have always been good with presentation but not actual gameplay. And please for god's sake stop saying things like IGN being biased to another console, we all know this isn't true. They may take bribes but this doesn't make them review other consoles games worse. Have any of you actually played the game? I know a few people who have and they also agree it's very boring/bad.

  23. jimbob555 Monday 19th Nov 2012 at 14:53

    Reviewers don't get bribes but they can be put under pressure from advertisers. I highly doubt that this review had anything to do with the writers being American. While I haven't personally played the game myself, I couldn't be bothered to queue for it at the MCM expo, it did look a tad dull from watching a friend playing it there. Good ideas but overall not coming together. At the start I wrote off the game straight away because I just thought it was "Dead Island in London". I guess people who get the game though will probably enjoy it though and I'm sure I would get a kick out of it. And Ubisoft isn't exactly low on the sales front.

    What I find more bizarre that ONM should jump to the defense of this game or any game for that matter. I don't really think i've ever seen this except from the time Tom or Chris or whoever wrote a comment on gamespot/ign (I forget who exactly) defending Red Steel when it got like a 7. The consoles just come out. There's always going to be bad/average games no matter how good the trailers look.

    I remember the little phase in the past two years where reviewers defended all their reviews by saying it was solely their opinion at the end of the day. So what does it matter what they wrote, hm? This is a game for big boys and girls as well who I'm sure can make up their own minds.

    We are also living in an age where more worryingly review scores like 8.5 out of 10 are dismissed as terrible/worthless review scores (there's so many examples I can give if you want them) and you're really not helping with this ONM. 6.5 is usually an average score not a bad score. I'm a little bit sad that you would write this article.

  24. Dan-the-Wii-man Monday 19th Nov 2012 at 15:19

    I'm glad someone on the internet has decided to help clear things up. This is a similar conclusion to what we came up with so I'm still gonna buy it :) I'd get bored if it was actionactionaction all the time

  25. tomonm Monday 19th Nov 2012 at 15:37

    What I find more bizarre that ONM should jump to the defense of this game or any game for that matter. I don't really think i've ever seen this except from the time Tom or Chris or whoever wrote a comment on gamespot/ign (I forget who exactly) defending Red Steel when it got like a 7. The consoles just come out. There's always going to be bad/average games no matter how good the trailers look.

    I remember the little phase in the past two years where reviewers defended all their reviews by saying it was solely their opinion at the end of the day. So what does it matter what they wrote, hm? This is a game for big boys and girls as well who I'm sure can make up their own minds.

    We are also living in an age where more worryingly review scores like 8.5 out of 10 are dismissed as terrible/worthless review scores (there's so many examples I can give if you want them) and you're really not helping with this ONM. 6.5 is usually an average score not a bad score. I'm a little bit sad that you would write this article.

    I'm not jumping to the defence of ZombiU. All I'm doing is trying to make sense of the fact that it got such mixed reviews. On the back of these reviews, many people are wondering if they should buy the game or not. So I'm giving my advice, saying it depends on what sort of horror game you want. You'll notice I was very careful not to criticise another reviewer's opinion. By the way, I know 6.3 is an average score but many would have expected higher.

  26. Pyron12 Monday 19th Nov 2012 at 16:18

    You see, America doesn't understand British humour or pastimes, when let's be honest, they were once British (and actually the USA had a pastime in Cricket too, hosting the first International Game against Canada). However, the reviews tend to focus on the fact that it's not an Action Shooter, and criticise the single-player aspect as being a flaky non-intuitive FPS, when we all know it's a classic survival horror. The moment they start criticising the lack of light, and each environment being tight and claustrophobic and marking down a survival horror for those aspects is when it's time to disregard the review altogether. I bet you this game would be praised highly if the setting was in New York rather than London.

    Yes people are entitled to their own opinions, but they shouldn't be allowed to make them if they do not understand the genre they're reviewing. That's like me reviewing Black Ops II and giving it 0% because it's exactly the same as Halo 4, which is the same as every other generic FPS game out there, etc etc, because clearly I don't know what I'm talking about in that regard.

    Another issue is that they've written the game off, classing it as the Wii U's 'Red Steel', which turned out to be a disappointment in their books. Also if Americans can't play the game, they enter ragequit territory and criticise the game heavily (case in point: Mario Kart Wii. They slated the game for too many powerful items that hamper skilful racers, which in actual fact that level of difficulty was praised by European reviewers for keeping things on an even keel. I've had no problem with this myself, as I prefer the super-anal hard difficulty. It makes you an even better racer). This is why I disregard mostly every American review out there, they just don't know what they're talking about half of the time. All such reviews should just be taken with a pinch of salt, especially from sources like IGN and Gamespot. Remember, you can't spell ignorant without 'ign'.


    You, K-tet have hit the nail on the head.

  27. thecoolmana777 Monday 19th Nov 2012 at 16:28

    I had a sneaky suspicion that this could have happened as soon as I heard it was set in London :( , but I can't really comment as I haven't played the game so don't know what its like :)

  28. Eternal Darkness Monday 19th Nov 2012 at 17:14

    Never before have I looked at an article on ONM that wasn't a Nintendo 1st party game and thought it was biased. Why would ONM just randomly defend ZombiU just because it got a few low scores. It seems they're trying too hard. 6.3 is an average score. A bad game is something with like a minus 4/5 score. It's always suspicious when someone jumps to defend a game that does have a biased agenda (not sure if you have a vested interest, but critics get bribes all the time nowadays).
    But yeah this is like saying no one except the UK will like Doctor Who because no one will 'understand' it when clearly people do and enjoy it.

    Going to guess ONM have been paid to give ZombiU a 90% plus score.

    I'm more surprised in people thinking this would be a very good game. It's the start of the Wii U's life, it's highly unlikely anyone will make the best game ever at the start of the console's life.

  29. Rabb3D Monday 19th Nov 2012 at 18:01

    yeah its probably just because America are jealous of one of the best things for british gaming

  30. jimbob555 Monday 19th Nov 2012 at 18:04

    It's amazing how often I forget that we have a whole nintendo section community that never goes near off topic and a whole off topic community that doesn't go near the nintendos.

  31. dave666 Monday 19th Nov 2012 at 18:17

    I'm not just saying this but I was thinking exactly the same thing,if this game was set in Washington I bet would have scored higher on U.S websites.

    also all the people that have uploaded video walkthrough's on youtube have said that they don't know what IGN and gamespot are on about,because they are loving it.

  32. john higgleton Monday 19th Nov 2012 at 18:25

    Never before have I looked at an article on ONM that wasn't a Nintendo 1st party game and thought it was biased. Why would ONM just randomly defend ZombiU just because it got a few low scores. It seems they're trying too hard. 6.3 is an average score. A bad game is something with like a minus 4/5 score. It's always suspicious when someone jumps to defend a game that does have a biased agenda (not sure if you have a vested interest, but critics get bribes all the time nowadays).
    But yeah this is like saying no one except the UK will like Doctor Who because no one will 'understand' it when clearly people do and enjoy it.

    Going to guess ONM have been paid to give ZombiU a 90% plus score.

    I'm more surprised in people thinking this would be a very good game. It's the start of the Wii U's life, it's highly unlikely anyone will make the best game ever at the start of the console's life.

    And i'm going to guess that they haven't. Just because someone gives it a good score, it doesn't mean they have been paid to do so. What you have said is just as bad as what other people are saying about ign giving a "low" score, it is their opinion. THEIR OPINION. This article was defending ZombiU, but maybe that's because ONM think it needs to be defended, as people will just as easily write it off as a bad game BECAUSE ign gave it a 6.3. Don't be so ridiculously judgmental, please.

  33. MatthewONM Monday 19th Nov 2012 at 18:34

    It's always suspicious when someone jumps to defend a game that does have a biased agenda (not sure if you have a vested interest, but critics get bribes all the time nowadays).
    But yeah this is like saying no one except the UK will like Doctor Who because no one will 'understand' it when clearly people do and enjoy it.


    Even though you threw out some irrational - and slightly insulting - bribe chatter, I'll try my best to answer in a rational and polite manner.

    I think the whole US vs UK thing was meant in jest. Do you really think Tom was seriously suggesting alternate brands of cricket bat? The important bit, and why he wrote this article, is this: "I'd say you should consider what you want from ZombiU before you buy it. If you want an action-packed horror game where you're gunning down zombies every five seconds, ZombiU might not be for you."

    The game isn't an all-encompassing smash hit, that much is clear, and it definitely won't be if you approach it in a certain way. When critics - not all of them American - complain about the awkwardness of killing every last zombie, we'd argue that killing every last zombie isn't the point of a survival game. As Chandra's full review points out (in the issue on sale Wednesday), the game is as much about escape as it is direct confrontation. The reviews that were harshest on ZombiU appeared to be spoiling for a fight, which is never what the game was about. (Though I appreciate that if the game didn't put them on the right path then perhaps it wasn't doing its job efficiently.)

  34. ZeldaKing Monday 19th Nov 2012 at 18:35

    Remember, you can't spell ignorant without 'ign'.

    In my opinion IGN's review was fair and praised the concept of the game saying all of the ideas were good and had a lot of potential, however the overall execution of the game was lacking. But I do agree with your point, the vast majority of the gaming market just want FPS games with wave upon wave of enemies to shoot into oblivion. It's disappointing really.

  35. Argenthor Monday 19th Nov 2012 at 18:47


    That and IGN got their resident Nintendo hater to review the game...


    I thought the review was pretty fair as it was his own opinion... didn't seem to be much hate on it, just genuine concerns for the most part. I'm still looking to get it anyway but I didn't see this as being a perfect game. It should be a good launch game though.

    Here's hoping my cricket skills are up to it...

  36. JoeOdranDoran Monday 19th Nov 2012 at 18:49

    Jim Sterling (the reviewer at Destructoid) is a big fan of the way survival horror games used to be (gritty, unforgiving, ugly) and his positive review came out of that preference. And that's the divisive issue here: preference. From what I've read around the web, ZombiU isn't "fun" as such, but it is very engaging, despite its flaws (which Sterling highlights well).

    Perhaps the more negative reviewers went into this game expecting it to be like a lot of current zombie games: a shooting gallery where the targets are gore-filled balloons lining up to be destroyed. ZombiU, however, isn't trying to be that. (And that's a good thing)

  37. dap005 Monday 19th Nov 2012 at 19:15

    This might just be the most polarising game on the console. My advice is to ignore the scores and read the reviews and see if the flaws pointed out bother you or not. Sometimes games get rated down because they're easy or linear and I couldn't care less if a game's easy or linear if their other aspects shine (hence why I love Kirby and old-school point and click games).

  38. dave666 Monday 19th Nov 2012 at 19:43

    also gamespot gave resident evil 6 a 4.5/10

    now I know resident evil 6 was a little disappointing,but it was nowhere near as bad as gamespot said it was. In fact I thought it was pretty good and I hope to see a wii u version in the near future.

    although the IGN score was not to my liking,at least it was fair. But the gamespot one was just pure hate and with a closing statement like "zombi u could have been a great action title" I can't help but feel that they have just missed the point and have decided to jump aboard the hate express.

    I have played zombi u and I have watched hours of gameplay footage and I KNOW that I will enjoy zombi u a lot,regardless of what some reviewer says

  39. Mr Roboto Monday 19th Nov 2012 at 20:49

    As said by other people Americans only want to play games that revolves around them!

    I think Zombi U looks great and it will be my first Wii U game that I insert on the big day!

  40. KairiZero Monday 19th Nov 2012 at 21:06

    Reviews are always a very divisive thing to behold. At the end of the day, anybody's word on a game isn't gospel, its down to what YOU want from a game, as to what you end up ultimately taking away with you as a final experience. I'm sure everybody has a game or two that they've either been told is crap, but ended up enjoying it - and vice versa!

    I don't think there is much uk v us bias in any articles, they are there to review the game, and if they are infact being biased because of the fact it was set in the UK, then they are not exactly what I would call a professional.

  41. laughingjumpman Monday 19th Nov 2012 at 21:39

    I'd say - particularly with gamespot's review - the problem was that the reviewer didn't seem to 'get' what the game was aiming at, or even what 'survival horror' is about, but I wouldn't say their nationality plays as big a part.

    True, a few things like the setting, are going to appeal more to us than the US, and maybe the cricket bat (which I immediately took as a nice nod to Shaun of the Dead) wouldn't be appreciated in the same way though.

    The destrcutiod review was refreshingly frank and honest in that it pointed out a few significant flaws, but also noted how these can be overlooked if the whole concept of the game and what it aims for appeal to you enough.

  42. KairiZero Monday 19th Nov 2012 at 21:44

    I'd say - particularly with gamespot's review - the problem was that the reviewer didn't seem to 'get' what the game was aiming at, or even what 'survival horror' is about, but I wouldn't say their nationality plays as big a part.

    True, a few things like the setting, are going to appeal more to us than the US, and maybe the cricket bat (which I immediately took as a nice nod to Shaun of the Dead) wouldn't be appreciated in the same way though.

    The destrcutiod review was refreshingly frank and honest in that it pointed out a few significant flaws, but also noted how these can be overlooked if the whole concept of the game and what it aims for appeal to you enough.

    Exactly - either a game grips you....or not. I've got some high hopes for this one - I've got a good feeling I will enjoy it a great deal, but theres no concrete way of knowing until the 30th :(

    Not long now though!!!

  43. laughingjumpman Monday 19th Nov 2012 at 22:01

    Well, the 45 minutes or so I got to play on it at the MCM Expo left me wanting to play it again as soon a possible, so I'm definitely still looking forward to it.

  44. MushroomBandit Monday 19th Nov 2012 at 22:05

    i totally agree on the aspect that some of the reviews have based it against games like Left 4 Dead and Dead Rising. These games are completly different in the fact that it is some all out run and gun fest!

    at first i did think it was a whole UK vs US thing, but am not going to keep my mind at that. i pre ordered the zombiu pack as i have been following the game and it looks to be something i would really enjoy or maybe its just the whole fact i've been watching the walking dead and reading the novels??

    I'll still read reviews in the future and will take them very lighlty going forward, i used to look upon reviews as guidance, but feel this is not always the case as i have enjoyed some of the games that have had crap reviews and hated some of the ones which have had really good reviews.

  45. KairiZero Monday 19th Nov 2012 at 22:44

    Well, the 45 minutes or so I got to play on it at the MCM Expo left me wanting to play it again as soon a possible, so I'm definitely still looking forward to it.

    I unfortunately didn't get a chance to play it as the the event I wanted to attend was cancelled at the last minute - nonetheless I think it looks liek a tense, enjoyable experience!

  46. Kirby8 Tuesday 20th Nov 2012 at 01:11

    I have been wondering about these big differences in reviews and am so glad you wrote this. I played it at Eurogamer Expo in September and loved it, and really wanted to play it at MCM because I wanted more (but didn't have time! lol!).

    But while I was waiting in the queue to play it at Eurogamer, there were apparently a lot of people who felt disappointed after playing it, especially since they had waited for so long. I was nervous that I might have wasted a lot of time, but found myself having a lot of fun. And when these reviews came out, it made me nervous again. I have already ordered the ZombiU package and didn't want to find that it's not as fun as I remember and I have wasted my money.

    But now it makes sense, and am glad I have ordered the game. Games that are centered around constantly shooting everyone around you, annoy me. I hate those kinds of games. I have never been a person who enjoys COD or similar games. I love horror movies and horror in general, but like it has been mentioned, most are action/horror, and I'm not that into action. Survival horror is much more like the movies and makes for much better games. Survival horror games are a lot of fun, like Amnesia. Being aware of your surroundings, being careful with ammo, focusing on killing effectively rather then shooting as many bullets into the enemy as possible...sounds like a blast!

    When I played at Eurogamer, I focused on being careful, but still managed to die quickly somehow. I was allowed to restart and play again and I really got in the zone. Looking all around, trying to kill them as effectively as possible so I don't have to deal with them coming toward me. I even managed to headshot a zombie with a standard gun, prompting the stand guy to go "NICE!". I'm looking forward to this game a lot and can't wait to play it! Roll on 30th!

  47. M V Allen Tuesday 20th Nov 2012 at 01:47

    hey so this is my first ever comment on this website... anyways i just wanted to leave a few thoughts i've had after seeing various websites give their scores on Zombie U. I do have to wonder what it is exactly these websites ( IGN, GameTrailers etc) where expecting from this game, at the end of the day it IS a first Gen game and think it looks pretty damn good for what it is. another thing i've noticed is complaints that Zombie U has somehow missed an opptunity by not having online mulitplayer... why would it? at the end of the day IF it did have online muliplayer then said gaming website review would change tactics and bad mouth the game for "trying to be like C.O.D zombies or Left4Dead". it does make me laugh however when surfing the web and comeing across several sites complaining about Modern games no longer bringing anything new to the table and yet when something like Zombie U comes out with new things not found in other games, it gets low scores and possibly over looked simply for trying.

  48. The_BAAD_Man Tuesday 20th Nov 2012 at 08:18

    I think it's perhaps the pace of the game which is swaying the Western reviewers in the negative direction. I guess they expected more fast paced action in the vein of Resident Evil's recent instalments. I'm interested in playing this game when the time comes for me.

  49. Game Boy Tuesday 20th Nov 2012 at 10:24

    After reading the negative (American) reviews, it becomes quite clear to me that most of them haven't understood the purpose of the game, wich I'D say is survival rather than carnage. Also it's obvious that they'd rather have the game situated in the States, as the Americans are at large a widely patriotic people, with great resentment to Britain, thanks to the events of Assassin's Creed 3.

  50. Panagiotis Tuesday 20th Nov 2012 at 10:41

    if the graphics were better i would buy it.if i just wanted to play a survival horror game with bad graphics i would go back to resident evil 1-2-3-4.i didn't order wii u for this though.this is defenatly NOT a "next generation" game.

  51. K-tet Tuesday 20th Nov 2012 at 14:02

    if the graphics were better i would buy it.if i just wanted to play a survival horror game with bad graphics i would go back to resident evil 1-2-3-4.i didn't order wii u for this though.this is defenatly NOT a "next generation" game.


    Next gen or not, games should not solely revolve around graphics. Graphics are merely a by-product and only make up a fraction of an actual game (with Music, Gameplay, Content and Longevity completing the set). Just because a game doesn't have good graphics doesn't automatically mean the game is bad. It's comments like yours that hold no credence whatsoever. What console won the 7th Gen?

    To judge a game solely on how it looks graphically is a recipe for disaster.

  52. Panagiotis Tuesday 20th Nov 2012 at 14:18

    Next gen or not, games should not solely revolve around graphics. Graphics are merely a by-product and only make up a fraction of an actual game (with Music, Gameplay, Content and Longevity completing the set). Just because a game doesn't have good graphics doesn't automatically mean the game is bad. It's comments like yours that hold no credence whatsoever. What console won the 7th Gen?

    To judge a game solely on how it looks graphically is a recipe for disaster.

    agreed but as i said i was expecting more from wii-u and lets face it zombiu looks terrible.graphics add to the atmosphere of the game and add to the horror.i am not saying its a bad game just because of the graphics but when you spend so much money on a new console and wait to play games on the next level by buying games that cost 60 euros zombiu u is a waste of money whether you like it or not.

  53. K-tet Tuesday 20th Nov 2012 at 14:58

    agreed but as i said i was expecting more from wii-u and lets face it zombiu looks terrible.graphics add to the atmosphere of the game and add to the horror.i am not saying its a bad game just because of the graphics but when you spend so much money on a new console and wait to play games on the next level by buying games that cost 60 euros zombiu u is a waste of money whether you like it or not.


    You do know that people aren't buying ZombiU for the graphics right? They're buying ZombiU either for the classic survival horror setting or because they're curious and want to see what the intrigue's all about, and in both cases have either pre-ordered the ZombiU Bundle or will buy ZombiU as part of their launch purchase.

    If people don't want to buy the game because they don't like the graphics (including not being up to their expectations), it's their loss. It's also misconceptions like "buy only next gen systems for the graphics" that leave such arguments dead in the water. People by systems for their games, not for their graphical output. Likewise, people buy Nintendo systems for Nintendo games, and any exclusive title and/or multi-platform game that hits a Nintendo console is a bonus. I'll reiterate, just because a game doesn't have good graphics doesn't automatically mean the game is bad.

    Edit: Read the quotation only (ignore every other post). It's the same perception that people get tired of discovering day-in and day-out.

  54. Dertdood Tuesday 20th Nov 2012 at 16:14

    theres realistic and then there's monotonous

  55. Pyron12 Tuesday 20th Nov 2012 at 18:53


    But now it makes sense, and am glad I have ordered the game. Games that are centered around constantly shooting everyone around you, annoy me. I hate those kinds of games. I have never been a person who enjoys COD or similar games. I love horror movies and horror in general, but like it has been mentioned, most are action/horror, and I'm not that into action. Survival horror is much more like the movies and makes for much better games. Survival horror games are a lot of fun, like Amnesia. Being aware of your surroundings, being careful with ammo, focusing on killing effectively rather then shooting as many bullets into the enemy as possible...sounds like a blast!

    When I played at Eurogamer, I focused on being careful, but still managed to die quickly somehow. I was allowed to restart and play again and I really got in the zone. Looking all around, trying to kill them as effectively as possible so I don't have to deal with them coming toward me. I even managed to headshot a zombie with a standard gun, prompting the stand guy to go "NICE!". I'm looking forward to this game a lot and can't wait to play it! Roll on 30th!


    Three cheers for Kirby8! I HATE CoD with a passion. It is way too overrated (number 2 on my list, with number on being the first gen of pokemon) because it gets chewed up with the claims that it is 'different'. To quote someone from YouTube "I haven't played all of them, but they almost ALL feel the same." Besides, I swear (not literally) to gods that fans of the horror genre (not all) are unpleaseable <deleted>ers because this goes back to the stuff that made early horror games (RE + RE2) so good yet it HAS to be set in america to qualify it as good. This is what horror games should be made of. It should be survival not mindless shooting which is what the genre has partly decayed into (no offense intended to anyone!). Edit: Can i add that if you look at the average - negative reviews that the general public are also defending ZombiU with the classic "they can't play it properly" attack among other things..

  56. 3DSRulesO.K Tuesday 20th Nov 2012 at 20:04

    I don't think that a lot of reviewers realised that your survivors movement and accuracy improves over time, to really appreciate the game fully, you have to be very good at it. And the only weapon I saw being used in IGN's review was the cricket bat, and on top of that, IGN got a well known PS3 fanboy to review it, biased much. It's like they want this game to fail.

    This situation represents the problem that I have with the reviewing industry in general, why should one persons opinion be taken as fact by a lot of people. The best thing to do is have a go yourself (if you can, that is) and make up your own mind!

    BTW, i'm not against reviews, I love the mag. 8)

  57. RECARN Tuesday 20th Nov 2012 at 20:16

    I was always getting this game as its included in my bundle and after the reviews I doubted if I had made the right purchase, thanks to your video I know that I have. This is the exact game I have waited for since the early days of Resident Evil and Eternal Darkness. All the reviews mentioned the 'cricket bat' and the fact that the Zombis take upto 5 hits to put down but I was reading them thinking, 'this is a Survival Horror game, not call of duty Zombie mode.' I can not wait to have the lights out, my surround system turned up and prepare to be scared like the games of old. I will be posting a link to your 12 minute video on the other websites which I have commented on in the hope of changing some peoples minds.

  58. IPecksU Tuesday 20th Nov 2012 at 22:05

    CMON BRITS, LETS SMASH THEM ZOMBIES. WHO NEEDS A PUNY LITTLE BASEBALL BAT FROM THOSE BRUTISH YANKS. YEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAARRRGGHHH

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.