Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Battle Of The Bands Review

The worst music game on Wii

Ever wondered what Keane or the Black Eyed Peas would sound like played by a Mexican Latino band? Or how Gorillaz would sound if they were given the country and western treatment? If so, then what's wrong with you? That's a terrible idea.

Either way, it seems that someone else had the same idea because now we have Battle Of The Bands, a rhythm action game where various diverse bands fight to make their genre of music reign supreme. Rock versus rap, marching band versus country, Latino versus Chinese orchestra... it's all here and it's all disappointingly dull.

It's not that it's a bad concept, it's just far too simple. All you ever have to do to trigger the beats is flick the Remote left, right or down, or waggle it from side to side. That's about it. There's the odd occasion where you have to make a thrusting motion forward but those don't work very well, which is probably why they conveniently don't appear very often.

Click to view larger image

Down At Waggle Rock

The whole battle concept is also badly imbalanced. Before each song you choose from a list of weapons and as you play you trigger them after you hit a few notes in a row. When you trigger a weapon it flies over to your opponent's side and they have to block it with a timely press of the B trigger otherwise they'll take a hit, adding to your score.

Problem is, one of the country bands' weapons (Rapid Fire) is needlessly powerful. Any time you trigger it, every single note you hit fires a bullet to your opponent. Invariably they'll fail to block more than a few and you'll end up racking up points like nobody's business, effectively putting victory out of their reach.

As for the music... well, it's dire. We appreciate that it's tricky to record five different versions of each song, but we reckon the country version of That's The Way (Uh Huh) I Like It by KC And The Sunshine Band is one of the worst things we've ever heard.

Battle Of The Bands is not worth the money, plain and simple. It's enjoyable for a while but its simplistic gameplay is more suited to WiiWare. Disappointing.

Comments

22 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. x-man2000 Thursday 22nd May 2008 at 11:33

    I'm not too surprised, I thought it looked a bit poor to begin with. It had potential, but it looked too much like a rip-off of Guitar Hero for it to be carried much further.

  2. SteveMega Thursday 22nd May 2008 at 13:35

    Looks god awful, but it seems to be getting a lot of coverage.

    How can such a blatant rip of be doing well?! HOW?!

  3. johndfernley Thursday 22nd May 2008 at 14:49

    i could tell it was going to be rubbish - the idea had potential but THQ are obviously incapable of making a good game/ not trying

  4. hulkbuster Thursday 22nd May 2008 at 16:45

    How do they get away with this sort of CR*P :?: why do they make this sort of CR*P :?: and the saddest thing of all is that some one out there will buy this CR*P :!: .

  5. Bretteh Thursday 22nd May 2008 at 20:01

    I was hoping this game would be decent, the idea sounded fantastic..
    Another case of concept better than execution.

    Ah well.

  6. Gordon Ramsey Thursday 22nd May 2008 at 20:46

    Wasn't it obvious that this was going to be pap?

    ONM, I do admire you for giving games a chance and previewing them from a neutral position, but material like this is obviously ripped off from the real thing (Guitar Hero and Rock Band).

  7. Anonymous Friday 23rd May 2008 at 00:47

    man this game looks like a real rip off and my friend wanted it......... i feel sad for him

  8. ridley Friday 23rd May 2008 at 15:18

    Wow- that's a low score for such a game- I've been hearing that it's surprisingly good.

    And to top it all off, Gamespot gave it a 6/10.

    Anyone reading this should disregard the score it got here, as it seems like a love it/ hate it kinda game.

  9. Anonymous Friday 23rd May 2008 at 18:23

    i origionally got worried that you had to shake the remote instead of actually doing something musical

    what was the score?

  10. Smokerules123 Saturday 24th May 2008 at 08:50

    Wow! I can't believe you do this. First you say "Wow! We'll be looking forward to this great game!". Then the next, you say "Don't waste your money on this rubbish peice of dross!". Why? You do this to games like The Golden Compass, Ben 10, and others. Why

  11. Anonymous Saturday 24th May 2008 at 18:09

  12. Anonymous Saturday 24th May 2008 at 18:12

    i recently played this its put the wii to shame i feel sorry for people who own this

  13. Anonymous Sunday 25th May 2008 at 12:07

    this stupid game shounds good and funny but i bet is abasaloutly awful!

  14. GlobboTwilight Monday 26th May 2008 at 22:36

    Wasn't it obvious that this was going to be pap?

    ONM, I do admire you for giving games a chance and previewing them from a neutral position, but material like this is obviously ripped off from the real thing (Guitar Hero and Rock Band).

    Hang on people were calling Rock band a rip off 10 minutes ago

    Wth?

  15. Burnt-Wolf Wednesday 28th May 2008 at 19:50

    I took one look at the front cover... A Rap Dj Vs Some Wannabe Goth with a michen gun W...T...F

  16. Muir Friday 30th May 2008 at 22:16

    When I watched the video for this awhile back..I was like OMG no!! It was so boring and chaotic looking. Even my 5 year old son was bored with it after 5 secs - and he loves music! Nah...this is one game I'm NOT getting

  17. moogleofages Wednesday 18th Jun 2008 at 13:59

    The idea is great.
    It could of turned out to be a really good game.

  18. Grrpooey Tuesday 2nd Sep 2008 at 21:00

    botb is not a rubbish game its actually quite good and the change in style can actually be quite funny

  19. neongiratina Wednesday 11th Feb 2009 at 08:43

    ??? why do you force your opinions on people? ok yeh the warehog parts in sonic unleashed were awful but i have this game and love it, now you may think i have a bad taste in games but i love mario kart and the games you gave a good review to. I get this magazine to see which games i should buy but after this disguisting review, im not so sure about what to trust now. Maybe you should do less forced reviews and either get EVERYONE in the ONM office to play the game or get a publc opinion, either way, i dont care how you do it, just stop giving forced opinions like this ok?

  20. neongiratina Wednesday 11th Feb 2009 at 08:44

    i recently played this its put the wii to shame i feel sorry for people who own this

    lol i appreciate you feeling sorry for me but really, people who own this are people who WANT the game, you should'nt trust everything this magazine says

  21. MickG Thursday 24th Dec 2009 at 02:34

    I have this game - was v cheap, I saw it was selling well and thought I'd give it a go - without reading a review :oops:
    Now I always check the ONM review before even considering parting with my cash.
    To be fair, my partner and I put this on and were bored with it in mere moments, and we haven't revisited it since. My worst Wii purchase so far by a country mile.
    But being a glutton for punishment, I'll give it another go some time, try to get some fun from it. Did seem like a game that (ab)used the novelty of the wiimote as its sole selling point.
    The music transitions were not funny if you liked the style playing as you were winning! Some of the styles were pretty atrocious, and the 'gameplay' itself very one-dimensional. One aimed squarely at young children, hapless parents and fools like me who buy too soon. (Thank your lucky stars you get such in-depth reviews in a timely manner these days, that can save your money and point you in the right direction!)

    Will be back later with an update!

  22. MickG Thursday 24th Dec 2009 at 02:40

    Feel free to pity me for my perseverence in the face of the inauspicious!

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.