Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

ZombiU producer was 'disappointed with early US reviews'

"We did not expect so harsh feedback," says Guillaume Brunier

ZombiU producer Guillaume Brunier has admitted that he was disappointed by the early US reviews for his survival horror game.

While many magazaines and websites based in the UK posted positive reviews for the Wii U launch game, a number of US critics expressed their disappointment with the slow-paced survival horror game.

Although Bruiner admits that ZombiU isn't perfect, he told Nintendo Life that he wasn't prepared for harsh feedback from the critics but is happy with the reception from fans.

"We were really disappointed with the early US reviews," said the producer. "We are aware of the strengths and weaknesses of the experience we created but we did not expect so harsh a feedback. However as more and more journalists and gamers played the game, these opinions proved to be a minority. So right now we're rather pleased with the overall reception of the game."

We awarded ZombiU 92% in our review, naming it the best Wii U game so far. What do you think of it?

Comments

12 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. vix_chan Friday 14th Dec 2012 at 13:32

    I havenít got the Wii U or ZombiU yet, but it is high on my list.
    I judge games for myself, and read reviews to get a better understanding of the game and it features rather than whether I would like it or not based on another persons opinion.
    Playing games like Silent Hill, Project Zero or even watching most Horror movies you understand that these things are done slowly to create tension and make things play on your mind.
    Another thing I found quite cynical about the American reviewers is the fact that they did not like how the game was based in London.
    All the games I have played that are based in what look like American cities, suburbs, shopping malls or accent Japanese villages and I have never complained about the fabricated location of a game, if anything, it adds to a new kind of experience of a game.
    It feels like they just wanted to say something bad about the game to stand out from other reviewers who were giving the game great praise.

  2. sciqueen Friday 14th Dec 2012 at 15:02

    American gaming magazines are biased towards Microsoft and any shooting games that make the American military look good. He shouldn't worry too much.

  3. MarkVader Friday 14th Dec 2012 at 16:06

    The problem was that the reviewers just didn't get what the game was supposed be. They reviewed it as a shooter rather than a survival horror game. IGN even had a known Playstation fanboy review it, like that made sense :roll: . The guys at GiantBomb love the game and gave it a good review. They understand what point of the game is.

  4. Toastie Friday 14th Dec 2012 at 16:12

    American gaming magazines are biased towards Microsoft and any shooting games that make the American military look good. He shouldn't worry too much.


    Not only is that a HUGE generalisation, it simply isn't true. For instance, the 2nd highest score given to ZombiU was given by an American website.

  5. Argenthor Friday 14th Dec 2012 at 17:23

    The problem was that the reviewers just didn't get what the game was supposed be. They reviewed it as a shooter rather than a survival horror game. IGN even had a known Playstation fanboy review it, like that made sense :roll: . The guys at GiantBomb love the game and gave it a good review. They understand what point of the game is.


    I have to disagree. I understand that some reviewers criticised it for issues that were simply linked to it being in London (e.g. cricket bat) but certain reviews, such as IGN, had problems which had nothing to do with fanboyism. I enjoyed both the ONM review and the IGN but could understand the issues he had with the game.

  6. Pyron12 Friday 14th Dec 2012 at 17:33

    Not all american reviewers are biased but they expected the wrong things. Would they have said that ZombiU is worse than RE6?

  7. ThePokekid78 Friday 14th Dec 2012 at 18:09

    American gaming magazines are biased towards Microsoft and any shooting games that make the American military look good. He shouldn't worry too much.


    Ah, so you have extensive knowledge of every American game reviews magazine/paper, as well as a deep understanding of the reviewer's mindsets?? Didn't think so.

    My point being, you can't just make such sweeping statements like that!

  8. vix_chan Friday 14th Dec 2012 at 18:31

    I understand that some reviewers criticised it for issues that were simply linked to it being in London (e.g. cricket bat)

    Yeah, I remember reading about that. I was thinking to myself "how many times have I used a Baseball Bat in Dead Rising and not complained..."

  9. Dan-the-Wii-man Friday 14th Dec 2012 at 20:26

    Its tense, atmospheric and truly original meaning that you never actually know what might be round the next corner

  10. jaco_p Saturday 15th Dec 2012 at 13:33

    This game is so awesome. I work on London Underground, and it feels so good to play a game that i can actually relate to, rather than ANOTHER game set in america. You can really feel the terror and suspense in this game, i never thought that a game would top Dead Space for terror but ZombiU destroys me. I've only heard good things from those that have sat down and played with it.

  11. GamerGuyN Saturday 15th Dec 2012 at 16:50

    Ohh he shouldn't worry much, I mean come on most US gamers are just 1st person shooting maniacs ( that i don't actually call them real gamers) 8)
    Come on people! I remember a website that said it was a 1st person shooter... :evil: ITS A STINKIN (in a gd way) SURVIVAL HORROR
    ...ign... why in the world would they let Greg Miller (Playstation loving gamer...and editor) write this, its on the top of almost all gamers and you let the Playstation team leader review it :shock:

  12. dave666 Sunday 16th Dec 2012 at 23:12

    on the gamespot video review one of the closing statements was "zombi u could have been a great action title" :roll:

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.