Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Toki Tori Review

Decent puzzle based platforming

Remember the original Toki Tori on the Game Boy Color? What do you mean no? Either way, this is the sequel. It's a puzzle-based platform game which sees you guiding a small chick through various levels filled with enemies, hazards and obstacles.

You can control Toki Tori almost like a point and click adventure game - you point with the Remote and press A to make him walk to various locations, and use the B trigger to make him perform various skills. If that seems a bit fiddly, the game can also be played with a Classic Controller should you so wish.

Despite having 80 levels, it's perhaps a little easy for experienced gamers, but younger players should have a good time.

Comments

18 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. Anonymous Tuesday 20th May 2008 at 11:52

    Strange review, as i played the gbc version and in the later levels it got frustratingly hard (in a good way).

  2. Anonymous Tuesday 20th May 2008 at 12:01

    "Despite having 80 levels, it's perhaps a little easy for experienced gamers, but younger players should have a good time."

    Sooooo, you guys have only been playing the first 5 levels :? Since you apparently have not unlocked the hard levels yet...

  3. YAYFORNINTENDO Tuesday 20th May 2008 at 15:07

    I got this game this morning, its great !
    80 levels and if you really like them, you can play them on the hard difficulty, the first levels are easy, but it can get pretty hard.
    Oh yeah and you also get sent a sort of diary log to the message board, its pretty awesome :D
    If youre cool 8)
    You should buy this game, plus, its just 900 points

  4. ILoveWii Tuesday 20th May 2008 at 17:07

    The fact that the later levels are rock solid proves to me you conjured up this tiny little blob of writing in a second.

    Also considering there is no proper review there about the game, no comments...just a rating and some text.

    Please review it much more thouroughly, because this game is really, really good.

  5. mr.wii Tuesday 20th May 2008 at 21:11

    The fact that the later levels are rock solid proves to me you conjured up this tiny little blob of writing in a second.

    Also considering there is no proper review there about the game, no comments...just a rating and some text.

    Please review it much more thouroughly, because this game is really, really good.

    And you cant beat the feeling when you beat a puzzle you have been stuck on for 2O-odd minutes.

    Toki-Tori = Best puzzle game ever :D

    (And the diary-blogs rule too!)

  6. Anonymous Tuesday 20th May 2008 at 22:55

    You call this a review Chris? All I read here is just very small summary of what was already known from press-releases. And worse, you obviously didn't take the time to play this game as it DOES become very hard in later levels. I did buy the game and it's absolutely great value for money! And what's with the review score of 72%? It's even way lower than TV Show King (80%)???! :shock: :shock: You should fire up your Wii, buy the freakin' game and play it for a couple of hours and then write a proper review!

  7. Incudii_Up Wednesday 21st May 2008 at 14:45

    I don't even think he played the oringinal. If he had he would have been hoooked to the sequel considering how brilliant the first was.

  8. ChrisONM Wednesday 21st May 2008 at 15:20

    I don't even think he played the oringinal. If he had he would have been hoooked to the sequel considering how brilliant the first was.


    To be fair, when I review the game I base it on the game I play, not its predecessors. It would have pointless to say "the GBC one was good, so this one should be too".

    I don't understand the big deal being made here. At the end of the day, I didn't say Toki Tori was a bad game. All I said was that experienced gamers may find it easy, which I did for the most part. While I accept that some of the later levels are indeed challenging, I just didn't feel that the difficulty curve was high enough for experienced gamers.

    Basically, what I'm saying is that while I did find some levels to be hard, these didn't appear until near the end of the game. Therefore experienced gamers who have already played their way through the likes of Lemmings, Mario & Wario and (more recently) Mario Vs Donkey Kong 2 won't get as much out of it as less experienced ones, who haven't played this sort of "work out which skills to use to get through the level" game before and who will find the majority of the game challenging.

    I don't think 72% is a bad score by any means, and considering the likes of LostWinds scored in the mid-80s I don't think it's unfair at all.

  9. Mr.GameandWatch Wednesday 21st May 2008 at 15:23

    I got it yesterday and by the looks of it you only played the first 2 levels.

  10. Incudii_Up Wednesday 21st May 2008 at 16:18

    I don't even think he played the oringinal. If he had he would have been hoooked to the sequel considering how brilliant the first was.


    To be fair, when I review the game I base it on the game I play, not its predecessors. It would have pointless to say "the GBC one was good, so this one should be too".

    I don't understand the big deal being made here. At the end of the day, I didn't say Toki Tori was a bad game. All I said was that experienced gamers may find it easy, which I did for the most part. While I accept that some of the later levels are indeed challenging, I just didn't feel that the difficulty curve was high enough for experienced gamers.

    Basically, what I'm saying is that while I did find some levels to be hard, these didn't appear until near the end of the game. Therefore experienced gamers who have already played their way through the likes of Lemmings, Mario & Wario and (more recently) Mario Vs Donkey Kong 2 won't get as much out of it as less experienced ones, who haven't played this sort of "work out which skills to use to get through the level" game before and who will find the majority of the game challenging.

    I don't think 72% is a bad score by any means, and considering the likes of LostWinds scored in the mid-80s I don't think it's unfair at all.

    Second mistake. What I said was that if you played the fantastic first game like you said you did then you would have played through more of this. You would not have claimed it was easy. A basic understanding of the first game would have made this obvious. I did not imply anything about giving it a high score becasue the first was great. But seeing as this is a sort of remake....

    Toki Tori is quite different from other games. The fact it is a platforming puzzle game is the only thing it has in common with Lemmings and Mario vs Donkey Kong. That and the fact Lemmings introduced something new on every level. Toki Tori also does this.

    And Lost Winds has mysteryiously scored poorly with non-nintendo magazines and sites. Curious. Lost Winds is fairly poor after all.

    Its quite funny watching you struggle to get out of this one. Its quite annoying considering I've defended your 97% scoring of Mario Galaxy. Thats justs going to be hopeless now.

  11. Incudii_Up Wednesday 21st May 2008 at 16:19

    Oh and the level design and controls are fantastic.

    Utterly charming title.

  12. skarmachild Wednesday 21st May 2008 at 16:27

    Chris, how come you say that Toki Tori is "perhaps a little easy for experienced gamers, but younger players should have a good time."?

    Are you saying that older players are not going to have a good time? You are confusing easy with fun.

    Also, have you even done the "Hard" levels? Don't tell me their easy... at all. Ever.

  13. ChrisONM Wednesday 21st May 2008 at 21:21

    Second mistake. What I said was that if you played the fantastic first game like you said you did then you would have played through more of this. You would not have claimed it was easy. A basic understanding of the first game would have made this obvious. I did not imply anything about giving it a high score becasue the first was great. But seeing as this is a sort of remake....


    But surely a basic understanding of the first game would have made it even easier, since I'd already know how it played and wouldn't have to spend time figuring it out? For the record, I was aware of the original GBC game. The review intro was simply highlighting the fact that the vast majority of people reading the review probably wouldn't be aware of it.

    Toki Tori is quite different from other games. The fact it is a platforming puzzle game is the only thing it has in common with Lemmings and Mario vs Donkey Kong. That and the fact Lemmings introduced something new on every level. Toki Tori also does this.


    I'm sorry but I have to disagree there. While Toki Tori is a very well-constructed game, it isn't "quite different from other games". While it may be structured slightly differently to Lemmings in that you have full control over the character, the fact that you have to give it certain abilities to overcome certain obstacles is very Lemmings-like. Furthermore, there have been other platform puzzle games in the past which have similar "different abilities for different situations" structures, such as The Lost Vikings. I don't doubt that Toki Tori is a well-rounded game but it's certainly not a unique concept.

    And Lost Winds has mysteryiously scored poorly with non-nintendo magazines and sites. Curious. Lost Winds is fairly poor after all.


    That's just your opinion however, as is my Toki Tori review. You'll have to address the case of the LostWinds review with Chandra, because he reviewed that game, not me. Personally, I thought LostWinds was a very pleasant game despite its short length and I have no qualms with its score.

    Its quite funny watching you struggle to get out of this one. Its quite annoying considering I've defended your 97% scoring of Mario Galaxy. Thats justs going to be hopeless now.


    I don't understand your logic here. I've played the game and given my opinion of it, so I have no intention of "struggling to get out of" it.

    I would not be so foolish as to question a game's difficulty without ensuring I had played some of its harder levels: having played games pretty much non-stop for the past 21 years I'm perfectly aware that the first levels are usually much easier than the last ones. Had you read my previous comment you'd see that I've already accepted that the game has difficult levels, they just come too late in the game for my liking.

    I am happy that you enjoy the game more than I do, because everyone's entitled to their own opinion and I respect that in this case yours differs from mine. I'm glad that you feel you got your money's worth and have no problems whatsoever with you enjoying the game. By all means discuss it on the forum and tell everyone that you enjoy it. Variety is the spice of life.

    But what I object to are accusations that I didn't review this game properly or that I'm "struggling to get out of" the review I wrote. I have no secret agenda here, the review was written fairly and honestly to the best of my ability. Had I been given more words to work with then perhaps I could have expressed my views on the difficulty situation a bit clearer, but as this review is a direct left from the one in the upcoming issue, which is only a small review, I wasn't afforded that luxury.

    So I understand how you may be unhappy that the game didn't get as high a rating as you'd have liked, but at the end of the day it just comes down to a difference of opinion. I should make it clear that 72% isn't a bad score.

  14. skarmachild Thursday 22nd May 2008 at 08:30

    But TV Show King is not better than Toki Tori. Ever. :lol: =]

    The review was a tad short though.

  15. Cactuar18 Thursday 22nd May 2008 at 17:39

    "I am happy that you enjoy the game more than I do, because everyone's entitled to their own opinion and I respect that in this case yours differs from mine."

    That's the problem, people rely on your reviews to see what games are good and bad. By looking at other reviews on other sites, and my others on the internet, and my opinion, it has all been great for Toki Tori, all 8-9 out of 10.

    So when I came on this site to see the review... 72%? And the review isn't a review- it's more of a statement.

    You also said that the earlier levels were easy, but it took too long to become hard. After a short play with it, I found it really difficult and charming, which can only be good.

    Maybe it's because you said you had played years of hard games. Well maybe we haven't all played years of hard games, and play games for FUN. That's why OTHER people find this game FUN. Well I find it fun, and it seems you have either played the GBC one LOADS or you just picked it up and said "meh".

    And besides it can beat TV Show King anyday.

  16. Incudii_Up Thursday 22nd May 2008 at 20:31

    Second mistake. What I said was that if you played the fantastic first game like you said you did then you would have played through more of this. You would not have claimed it was easy. A basic understanding of the first game would have made this obvious. I did not imply anything about giving it a high score becasue the first was great. But seeing as this is a sort of remake....


    But surely a basic understanding of the first game would have made it even easier, since I'd already know how it played and wouldn't have to spend time figuring it out? For the record, I was aware of the original GBC game. The review intro was simply highlighting the fact that the vast majority of people reading the review probably wouldn't be aware of it.

    Two things. What reveiw? And you seem to be rating a game's difficulty on whether you know the controls or not. Which are actually so accessable the only thing left to be a challenge are the levels themselves. And since they are new then no knowledge of the previous game will help.

    Toki Tori is quite different from other games. The fact it is a platforming puzzle game is the only thing it has in common with Lemmings and Mario vs Donkey Kong. That and the fact Lemmings introduced something new on every level. Toki Tori also does this.


    I'm sorry but I have to disagree there. While Toki Tori is a very well-constructed game, it isn't "quite different from other games". While it may be structured slightly differently to Lemmings in that you have full control over the character, the fact that you have to give it certain abilities to overcome certain obstacles is very Lemmings-like. Furthermore, there have been other platform puzzle games in the past which have similar "different abilities for different situations" structures, such as The Lost Vikings. I don't doubt that Toki Tori is a well-rounded game but it's certainly not a unique concept.

    Alright the ability thing is very simaliar however it is used in a completely different way. You don't use it to reach a goal but have to plan well in order to get the items which are scattered all over the levels. A deeper level of thought is required as doing this in the wrong order will mean failure. In Lemmings you're just going to one place, you don't have to worry if you are doing the right as there is no wrong option is that sense. You also feel more for Toki Tori who is a little charming critter who isn't thick enough to walk of a cliff.

    And Lost Winds has mysteryiously scored poorly with non-nintendo magazines and sites. Curious. Lost Winds is fairly poor after all.


    That's just your opinion however, as is my Toki Tori review. You'll have to address the case of the LostWinds review with Chandra, because he reviewed that game, not me. Personally, I thought LostWinds was a very pleasant game despite its short length and I have no qualms with its score.

    Its pleasant enough I suppose but it is very boring and the wind feature is nothing more than shaking the remote to jump. It is very well made but it is essentially a regular platformer. The Wind was far too weak and underwhelming to keep me interested. It should have been more like riding the wind, not getting flung a few inches into the air. Its far more similar to other games than Toki Tori is to lemmings.

    Its quite funny watching you struggle to get out of this one. Its quite annoying considering I've defended your 97% scoring of Mario Galaxy. Thats justs going to be hopeless now.


    I don't understand your logic here. I've played the game and given my opinion of it, so I have no intention of "struggling to get out of" it.

    I would not be so foolish as to question a game's difficulty without ensuring I had played some of its harder levels: having played games pretty much non-stop for the past 21 years I'm perfectly aware that the first levels are usually much easier than the last ones. Had you read my previous comment you'd see that I've already accepted that the game has difficult levels, they just come too late in the game for my liking.

    Level 5 is where you have to start thinking. I don't care about how long you've been playing games. It is very poor show for somebody in a popular magazine to reveiw a game without taking its reveiwers into consideration. I can't help I was only born 17 years ago. I won't be as good as you but I know when a game is hard and when its just me not being good.And vice versa.. I can't say Ocarina of Time and other Zelda titles are easy. They are not. I'm just good at them. This means you can't just say a game is easy because you are good at it. Your attitude here either implies that nobody should bother with this genre or that you have barely played this game. Thus horrifying me as I'm getting into this buisness and will someday be designing a platformer puzzle game. Whether I get into a company or end up making it with flash or something. I would not want it to be cast aside like this.

    I am happy that you enjoy the game more than I do, because everyone's entitled to their own opinion and I respect that in this case yours differs from mine. I'm glad that you feel you got your money's worth and have no problems whatsoever with you enjoying the game. By all means discuss it on the forum and tell everyone that you enjoy it. Variety is the spice of life.

    And money is another thing. Its one of the cheapest new games out. And it has 80 levels. Going by your logic with Wii Play then it should be getting a great score. It is the best WiiWare title. And the best value.

    But what I object to are accusations that I didn't review this game properly or that I'm "struggling to get out of" the review I wrote. I have no secret agenda here, the review was written fairly and honestly to the best of my ability. Had I been given more words to work with then perhaps I could have expressed my views on the difficulty situation a bit clearer, but as this review is a direct left from the one in the upcoming issue, which is only a small review, I wasn't afforded that luxury.


    The main concern here is you didn't play the game. Your reveiw simply suggested that you played dthe first easy levels then assumed the rest was going to be like that. Which is what you did. Stop trying to hide it. I'd like some proof you played the large majority of this title or I really think you should be reported to somethng. What if this was a small developer? They make a fantastic game and you only play five levels then gice it an unremarkable score.

    So I understand how you may be unhappy that the game didn't get as high a rating as you'd have liked, but at the end of the day it just comes down to a difference of opinion. I should make it clear that 72% isn't a bad score.

    The thing is everybody is upset with the score. It is not an easy game. Your excuse either implies you didn't play the game or you don't consider your readers due to being an elist gaming snob. Which one?

  17. Anonymous Tuesday 3rd Jun 2008 at 19:56

    I agree that 72% is a good score but I think the game should have scored a bit higher than that. 80% at least

  18. MattyB1 Wednesday 9th Jul 2008 at 15:33

    I am thinking about this game although I might want to get lostwinds, the thing is on IGN Toki Tori got higher than Lostwinds I am stuck could somebody help? :wink:

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.