Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Aliens Colonial Marines review round up - should Wii U owners look forward to it?

'It fails to live up to the license,' say CVG

The Aliens Colonial Marines Wii U release date has yet to be revealed but judging by the review scores on other platforms, it looks like Gearbox's shooter will struggle to live up to the hype.

The Wii U version has some extra GamePad features but will they make up for a game that, according to CVG (6.2/10), suffers from having a weak story, terrible dialogue and flat combat? CVG isn't the only website to be disappointed with the Aliens game that's set after the events of the second film

Games Radar's reviewer wrote: "During the five-hour long campaign you'll be dragged through a wholly uninteresting story that you're expected to care about through nostalgic pressure alone. You'll be given objectives like "plant thing on thing" or "push button in place" as you gun your way from one uninteresting encounter to the next."

Meanwhile Edge said that "Colonial Marines is stiff, shallow and dated," but the harshest criticism came from Destructoid who called it "a disaster."

However, multiplayer came in for a bit of praise with both CVG and PC Gamer arguing that it's the best thing about the game.

The only positive reviews so far have come from EGM who gave it 9/10 and The Guardian who awarded it 4/5.

EGM wrote: "Colonial Marines is a consistently solid, occasionally spectacular shooter that does more than enough to honor the Alien name."

As for the Guardian, its reviewer admitted: "I fully expect to receive a right royal kicking in the comment section below this article for that rating," before arguing that it's unfair to compare it to the Aliens film. He added: "It's not perfect and its visual issues hold it back from unqualified greatness, but Aliens Colonial Marines is consistently fun to play throughout."

Do you still want to buy Aliens: Colonial Marines?

Comments

26 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. 5OUNDWAVE Tuesday 12th Feb 2013 at 10:43

    hell yeah !

  2. zappy27 Tuesday 12th Feb 2013 at 11:00
  3. Lonegamer Tuesday 12th Feb 2013 at 11:12

    have you played the wii u version yet? will be interesting to see if the wii u version is any good.

  4. buddy1983 Tuesday 12th Feb 2013 at 11:19

    Im gutted, was really looking forward to this even if it got a higher score i wouldn't bother. 5 hOURS to complete, no thanks

  5. Kesskuron Tuesday 12th Feb 2013 at 11:26

    Almost done the campaign and had a quick go on multiplayer earlier.

    The campaign is pretty bad; lots of glitches like dead aliens clipping through floors, texture pop in, AI allies standing on top of you so you're literally inside of them. There's a serious absence of any kind of polish as well; animations are janky and stiff, the sound balance feels off and all in all it feels almost like an early build of the game rather than a finished product. The AI is stupid as well and the story & characters are poor If you're planning on getting this for the single player, don't, it's not worth it.

    Multiplayer however is much more enjoyable. The core of the game is enjoyable despite all its flaws, and that definitely comes across the most in multiplayer. Only played a handful of games thus far but I can see myself playing it for a while yet.

  6. ploiper Tuesday 12th Feb 2013 at 11:28

    im still going to be getting it, still looks like an awsome game to me

  7. MrFamicom Tuesday 12th Feb 2013 at 12:14

    I'll get when it goes down £15

  8. L_A Tuesday 12th Feb 2013 at 12:18

    5h long campaign? Wow.

  9. jaco_p Tuesday 12th Feb 2013 at 12:22

    Still want to play it, but i'll be much more reluctant to shell out the £50 they'll undeniably want for the Wii U version. That's £10 per hour of gameplay.... :|

  10. debris Tuesday 12th Feb 2013 at 13:12

    I say we take off and nuke this game from orbit, it's the only way to be sure!

  11. imbusydoctorwho Tuesday 12th Feb 2013 at 13:12

    I think I'll pass.

  12. Aboyandhissequel Tuesday 12th Feb 2013 at 15:14

    I dunno, a lot of the reviewers wanted a horror game; was always going to be straight action though, surely?

    I ain't cancelling my pre-order. I wanna blow up some aliens.

  13. Kyle Reese Tuesday 12th Feb 2013 at 15:37

    @ Aboyandhissequel - Your sig is wrong. Resident Evil died when Resi 5 came out.
    Resi 4 was the start of it all. Resi 5 killed it, and Resi 6 was just the equivalent of kicking someone who is already dead.

  14. Element187 Tuesday 12th Feb 2013 at 15:38

    LOL, if Gearbox/Sega can get this game on the Wii U before any new titles release it will probably outsell the other systems because how hungry we are to play something new.

    Yes, I think I'll get Aliens Colonial Marines just so I can play SOMETHING... If it releases before Monster Hunter/Wonderful 101/Pikmin 3, I'll spend the money I had laid aside for Rayman Legends on Aliens. :D

  15. Kyle Reese Tuesday 12th Feb 2013 at 15:38

    I already have the game on 360 and Im loving it so far(only 1 and a half hours in though).
    The graphics are quite terrible, but the gameplay is fine, and its ALIENS!!
    Im just annoyed that the Wii U version is not out already because I would have preferred to buy it on the Wii U for gamepad motion tracker, free online, and supposedly better graphics)
    This will probably be the first game I will rebuy(after selling my 360 version) on another console in a LONG time. It sucks that I didnt have the choice to buy Wii U version on release date.

  16. Element187 Tuesday 12th Feb 2013 at 15:39

    Im gutted, was really looking forward to this even if it got a higher score i wouldn't bother. 5 hOURS to complete, no thanks

    I think is more of like a Call of Duty, they tack on some crappy singleplayer experience, but seriously who buys Call of Duty for singleplayer?

    Sounds like Aliens Colonial Marines is a great multiplayer game.

  17. GiftedGimp Tuesday 12th Feb 2013 at 15:49

    I want this more for multiplayer anyway. Aliens vs Predator was only average in campaign mode but Muliplayer was a lot of fun.
    Trouble with AvP were the predators were overpowered in multiplayer, since this has no Predators the Multiplayer should a lot more balanced.

  18. Aboyandhissequel Tuesday 12th Feb 2013 at 16:12

    @ Aboyandhissequel - Your sig is wrong. Resident Evil died when Resi 5 came out.
    Resi 4 was the start of it all. Resi 5 killed it, and Resi 6 was just the equivalent of kicking someone who is already dead.

    True, but Resi 6 was the first time that the developers literally stated 'we are focusing on action.' even though in reality that had happened a few games ago. The sig was created in response to that. Now, thankfully, they have changed their tune; and I was planning to change it to something else.

  19. MatthewONM Tuesday 12th Feb 2013 at 16:24

    I already have the game on 360 and Im loving it so far(only 1 and a half hours in though).
    The graphics are quite terrible, but the gameplay is fine, and its ALIENS!!
    Im just annoyed that the Wii U version is not out already because I would have preferred to buy it on the Wii U for gamepad motion tracker, free online, and supposedly better graphics)
    This will probably be the first game I will rebuy(after selling my 360 version) on another console in a LONG time. It sucks that I didnt have the choice to buy Wii U version on release date.


    Hmmm... two posts, and one of them is full of effusive praise for an (almost) universally panned game. Smells... fishy.

  20. dave666 Tuesday 12th Feb 2013 at 19:05

    maybe they rushed the other console versions to put extra work into the wii u version

    I said maybe

  21. dave666 Tuesday 12th Feb 2013 at 19:06

    @ Aboyandhissequel - Your sig is wrong. Resident Evil died when Resi 5 came out.
    Resi 4 was the start of it all. Resi 5 killed it, and Resi 6 was just the equivalent of kicking someone who is already dead.

    ha ha

    well put

    but lets not forget revelations

  22. ThePokekid78 Tuesday 12th Feb 2013 at 19:59

    I say we take off and nuke this game from orbit, it's the only way to be sure!


    ...I think a lot of people missed that great reference, which seriously worries me lol

  23. liveswired Tuesday 12th Feb 2013 at 20:54

    Another disappointment - god only knows hows awful the Wii U version will look.

  24. liveswired Tuesday 12th Feb 2013 at 20:59

    Im gutted, was really looking forward to this even if it got a higher score i wouldn't bother. 5 hOURS to complete, no thanks

    I think is more of like a Call of Duty, they tack on some crappy singleplayer experience, but seriously who buys Call of Duty for singleplayer?

    Sounds like Aliens Colonial Marines is a great multiplayer game.

    The funny thing is the Call of Duty single player experience is largely excellent but short. The amount of copycats like this simply fail to understand what exactly makes COD so good.

    Gearbox got this one sooo wrong - 6 years and only a 5 hour campaign and limited multiplayer - what the hell have they been doing????

  25. parker-skywalker Wednesday 13th Feb 2013 at 12:22

    I am going to wait for the actual WiiU reviews before i make judgement. However looking at the giant bomb quick look the game looks OK.

  26. Neb Wednesday 13th Feb 2013 at 18:40

    I have this game and it's brilliant! Don't listen to all these reviews who just slam because it doesn't include 80 shades of green. It may not have the best graphics but I've had hours of fun with it and the multiplayer could rival any game including COD. People excpect it to be like the generic shooter however it breaks the mold from the frankly boring battlefield, COD ETC which we have all become too familiar with. Im a huge aliens fan and this game didn't dissapoint!

    And no the campaign does not take 5 hours. Yes you may be able to do that if you rush through on the lowest difficulty whilst skipping every cut scene.

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.