Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Resident Evil Revelations preview - The Wii U version is set to be the best

The best Resident Evil game in years is now on Wii U. Get ready for some Revelations

It's a crime of hideously monstrous proportions that Resident Evil Revelations' sales are far lower than those of the main console releases. It launched to universal critical acclaim, after all, so it should have fared better. Perhaps people just can't imagine how a survival horror could possibly work on a small screen. But it does - very well, in fact - and the announcement of the Wii U remake shouldn't stop you going out and finding the 3DS version.

Wii U version producer, Tsukasa Takenaka, is pleased with how the game was received, though. "Considering the installed base of the 3DS at the time the game was released, it exceeded our expectations, in terms not only of sales, but also in terms of the incredibly positive reaction we got from gamers."

Click to view larger image
Revelations is a strange game in some respects, because it feels like a big-budget console game on a handheld. It won our award for Best Graphics Of The Year in 2012 and with good reason; texture work and character models of this quality simply shouldn't be able to exist on the 3DS, yet they do.

From the very first moment we switched it on we questioned why this was even on a handheld - it deserves to be played on a big screen and big speakers - and when the main story was still playing out after 20 hours of fear and tension it became clear that this game belonged on the Wii U.

From the dual-screen environment scanning of the Genesis item to the push towards dual analogue stick controls (Revelations was one of only a few games to embrace the Circle Pad Pro), the game has been screaming out for a full console release since its inception. Fans the world over begged and pleaded... and thankfully, Capcom listened.

"With the 3DS game we were able to use the hardware to create a great sense of immersion and atmosphere," Takenaka-san tells us. "However, we heard from a lot of players who said they wanted to be able to play the game on a big TV screen. We decided to respond to that demand."

So there you have it. Occasionally, just occasionally, the strategy of asking nicely does actually work. However good the 3DS version is, though, nobody can deny the fact that a large number of 3DS owners haven't yet played it. Global sales hover around the 750,000 mark. When you compare that to global sales of Resident Evil 6 (four million sales across two well established consoles), it's immediately obvious that the solution to getting more attention is to put it on a home console.

Click to view larger image

Ship Scary

For those of you who don't own a 3DS, or simply haven't had a chance to play Revelations yet, here's a quick summary of the story. Set in 2005, and taking place between the events of RE5 and RE6, the game sees BSAA (Bio-terrorism Security Assessment Alliance, if you must ask) agents Jill Valentine and Parker Luciani on a mission to locate fellow BSAA types, Chris Redfield and Jessica Sherawat.

Chris and Jessica were investigating the reappearance of Veltro (a bio-terrorist organisation responsible for releasing the T-Abyss virus) and were last contacted while aboard the cruise ship SS Queen Zenobia. The hours that follow see a twisting, turning, double-backing plot of deceit and double agents that inevitably ends up with... well, that'd be spoiling things.

By far the most redeeming feature of Revelations is the way in which it combines old with new. The claustrophobia and fear factor of the 'good old' Resident Evil games is back in full force. There will be times when vast swarms of enemies attack, but more often than not you'll be jumping at every sound and getting carried away with the spooky atmosphere.

Previous 1 2 3 4 Next page

Comments

16 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. Pappi Sunday 17th Mar 2013 at 09:16

    I am kind o curious if the console versions will have extra stuff not included in the 3DS version?

  2. torterratrainer Sunday 17th Mar 2013 at 09:50

    I am kind o curious if the console versions will have extra stuff not included in the 3DS version?

    A new monster which looks like a massive hunter, new weaponry ,new missions and new characters. hopefully new levels

  3. KaptainKrauser Sunday 17th Mar 2013 at 10:41

    I loved Revelations on 3DS, and am slightly irritated (in a rather selfish way) that one of the comparatively few 3DS games that really gave 3DS owners something to brag about to PS360 owners is now having a big multiformat release anyway. Although Revelations was never promised to be a 3DS exclusive, I am slightly reminded of the whole 'Capcom Five' thing.

    Also, I find it hypocritical that when Revelations was released on 3DS, ONM waxed lyrical on how it was made even better by the ability to play in bed, with the scary 3D etc., but now they claim to have wanted it on a home console all along. Some loyalty, please, or we may soon be seeing fewer unique 3rd-party 3DS games.

    Rant over.

  4. MartinIsAwesome Sunday 17th Mar 2013 at 11:30

    I loved Revelations on 3DS, and am slightly irritated (in a rather selfish way) that one of the comparatively few 3DS games that really gave 3DS owners something to brag about to PS360 owners is now having a big multiformat release anyway. Although Revelations was never promised to be a 3DS exclusive, I am slightly reminded of the whole 'Capcom Five' thing.


    I get were you're coming from, but can you blame Capcom? They make one of their best Resident Evil games in years - a game that generated a lot of critical praise - and very few people bought it (as it says there in the article). More people will buy his console version and a) get to enjoy it as much as 3DS owners have and b) assuming it'll be as well received, it'll mean we can see more games in that style. I know it was nice to be able to say that we had a cool exclusive, but if it means that there's not many people that even know about it then I'm not sure it's worth it. I'd rather share my enjoyment of something that's massively popular with others than be part of some exclusive and unknown club.

    Also, I find it hypocritical that when Revelations was released on 3DS, ONM waxed lyrical on how it was made even better by the ability to play in bed, with the scary 3D etc., but now they claim to have wanted it on a home console all along. Some loyalty, please, or we may soon be seeing fewer unique 3rd-party 3DS games.

    Rant over.


    To be fair, it was a different team on staff back then. This preview is the same as the feature Chandra wrote for ONM#92 (and a fine job he did too), and a year ago it was Steve Hogarty that wrote the original review back in ONM#78, so it's not unthinkable that two different people's opinions over a year apart would be different.

  5. nintendoftwman Sunday 17th Mar 2013 at 11:54

    The graphics look the same to me.

  6. KaptainKrauser Sunday 17th Mar 2013 at 13:06

    MartinIsAwesome, thanks for calming me down with your typically reasoned argument and admirable grasp of grammar. You really are awesome.

  7. Mr Roboto Sunday 17th Mar 2013 at 15:53

    Looks good but I was expecting the graphics to be more upscaled.

  8. neko paul Sunday 17th Mar 2013 at 16:20

    Two corrections:

    1. Hunk was the leader of the Umbrella Security Service's Alpha Team

    2. Hunk was one of the Umbrella Security service Agent that was in the dr birkin flash back scene and was playable in a mini game called the 4th survivor that was unlocked after the game was completed with an A rank

  9. theguygamer Sunday 17th Mar 2013 at 17:53

    Two corrections:

    1. Hunk was the leader of the Umbrella Security Service's Alpha Team

    2. Hunk was one of the Umbrella Security service Agent that was in the dr birkin flash back scene and was playable in a mini game called the 4th survivor that was unlocked after the game was completed with an A rank

    Another small thing, Revelations is set between 4 and 5, not 5 and 6. :)

  10. nintenu Monday 18th Mar 2013 at 08:47

    KaptainKrauser wrote:
    Also, I find it hypocritical that when Revelations was released on 3DS, ONM waxed lyrical on how it was made even better by the ability to play in bed, with the scary 3D etc., but now they claim to have wanted it on a home console all along. Some loyalty, please, or we may soon be seeing fewer unique 3rd-party 3DS games.

    Rant over.
    To be fair, it was a different team on staff back then. This preview is the same as the feature Chandra wrote for ONM#92 (and a fine job he did too), and a year ago it was Steve Hogarty that wrote the original review back in ONM#78, so it's not unthinkable that two different people's opinions over a year apart would be different.

    This is the reason why I hate reviews! ...it's one person’s opinion, not the magazines.

    Another small thing, Revelations is set between 4 and 5, not 5 and 6. :)

    I thought it was 5 and 6??? ...where did you get 4 and 5 from?

  11. Rogerio Ap Monday 18th Mar 2013 at 18:18

    As I have the 3ds version (still a lot of raid mode missions to open) and a moderate collection of WiiU games to explore, I won´t get this. But I strongly recommend it to anyone who has not bought the 3ds version. Revelation is an incredible game, with gorgeous visuals and sound, an interesting story and thrilling gameplay. I will just get even better on the big screen. :lol:

  12. liveswired Monday 18th Mar 2013 at 18:41

    Looks impressive!

  13. NintendofanAlec Tuesday 19th Mar 2013 at 04:42

    Can we maybe get a new game on the wii u?

  14. Waldy565 Tuesday 19th Mar 2013 at 11:03

    Might pick this up, if only just for the strong online infrastructure on the more powerful Wii U for Raid Mode. Saying that, however, I enjoyed the demo on the 3DS and have wanted to pick up the game ever since - as with most things, when the time comes, I think it will depend on how fat my wallet is...

  15. Rhena Tuesday 2nd Apr 2013 at 17:19

    Loved RE:Revelations on the 3DS, it was the first one I played, and now I have no interest in playing Mercenaries, it just can not compare. The playing in bed, in the dark, Perfect. I needed safety straps on my 3DS LOL This will be great on WiiU. I'm hoping the game will be a little different. I can't imagine them making it any scarier. For anyone that has not played the 3DS version, this is an incredible game.

  16. marka23 Saturday 6th Apr 2013 at 10:46

    Tried it out yesterday at the gadget show live 2013 on Wii U and Xbox 360.

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.