Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Alone In The Dark Review

Call us back when you finish the game, eh chaps?

It's with a great sense of anticipation that we approach the launch of Atari's brand new thriller adventure game. Nintendo gamers haven't been treated to a mature game with a genuinely thrilling storyline since Resident Evil 4 was released over a year ago and it's about time fans of the genre got something to stick their teeth into. We're sorry to report though that you might want to chomp down on your Wii Remote for a while because the two words that immediately spring to mind here would have to be 'utter' and 'disappointment'.

Alone In The Dark is a thriller adventure game set in the city of New York. You begin the game clueless of your origins or your identity with your only concrete knowledge being that people around you are being slaughtered by an unseen evil at an alarming rate. You play through the game learning who you can trust and what abilities you possess but you have to learn quickly because the mysterious evil that seems to be taking over the city is growing more powerful.

Click to view larger image
You soon learn that in order to progress you need to take advantage of everything in your surroundings. You won't always have ammo at your disposal so poles, chairs, bins and fire extinguishers are often the only way to dispose of enemies or break through doors. Item combination is one of the game's strengths and independent control of your two arms (via the Nunchuk and Wii Remote) means you can use two items together to devastating effect.

Unfinished Business

Over the past six months we've brought you various previews of this game and every time we've said the same thing: it has the potential to be absolutely stunning. All the elements are there: the amazing atmosphere, the mysterious storyline, the satisfaction when you figure out the puzzles (the game gives you little help and you have to figure out most things yourself), the fantastic implementation of the Wii controls (well, most of the time anyway... the vehicle controls are awful). As much as it pains us to say it though, these elements all fall by the wayside because Alone In The Dark simply isn't finished. It smacks of a game that's been rushed out the door to hit a deadline.

It's the basic things that present the most obvious problems. Not being able to pick up an item that has a huge 'A' button prompt until you've turned around and looked at it from a different angle. We can't describe how much that ruins the game when you're trying to get away from an enemy and want to pick up some ammo on the fly.

Click to view larger image
In fact, all of the problems that we outlined in our preview a few months ago are still present in their entirety. You still can't look at your feet, meaning that if you want to pick something up you have to take a few steps back. And the driving controls are still awful, making the car and forklift sections a painful chore instead of an enjoyable aside.

Alone In The Dark is an utter disappointment. Gamers willing to stick with it will get some great moments out of it but the knowledge that it should and could have been so much better with an extra six months of development (i.e. had they actually finished the game) is almost too much to bear. And the knowledge that the Xbox360 and PS3 versions ARE finished grates yet further. This game shouldn't be on the shelves in this state; it's as simple as that

Comments

92 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. Icarus_Kid Thursday 19th Jun 2008 at 11:52

    ...

  2. City Of Delusion Thursday 19th Jun 2008 at 11:56

    It looks like another case of King Kong syndrome. Magazine previews it several times, magazine gets excited by it, it is predicted to be Game of the Year.
    Review copy arrives, game turns out to be repetitive/too short/ unfinished and magazine slaps a low score on it. Gamers moan about the let-down.

    It happens sometimes.

  3. fergiepunk Thursday 19th Jun 2008 at 12:07

    Well I'm dissapointed. Here's hoping fatal frame 4 is better.

  4. Anonymous Thursday 19th Jun 2008 at 12:21

    Damn, im so disapointed. Ive been really looking forward to this game but decided to old out preordering it until I saw ONM opinions as they are rarely wrong. Glad I did now, might wait till I see it in the bargin bins.

  5. Lawman_05 Thursday 19th Jun 2008 at 12:22

    This is why i am buying this on the xbox 360 :p
    It's actually good on it

  6. ploiper Thursday 19th Jun 2008 at 12:28

    well i dont care, i still orderd it yesterday and its shiped out today so i'll get it on monday. im not all that botherd about the bad points you've pointed out in the review. im still going to enjoy playing it.

  7. Zabba 2 Thursday 19th Jun 2008 at 12:38

    I never got my hopes up for this game, I knew the Wii version would be, like you put it, an "utter disappointment". It's happened so many times before with other games that my default assumption of multiformat games is that the Wii version will be the worst.

    I predict the same for Force Unleashed.

  8. Shortay Thursday 19th Jun 2008 at 12:48

    Meh, I wasn't going to get it for the Wii anyway, but I hope that it's better on the 360 and PS3...

  9. mollyontour Thursday 19th Jun 2008 at 13:00

    what an disapointment.

    i was really looking foward to this, idiot game makers. theyve lost an extra £40 there.

    ahwell, looks like its just super smash bros for me.

    its just like smackdown vs raw was like and hopefully not star wars or top spin tennis.

  10. ploiper Thursday 19th Jun 2008 at 13:20

    well im geting it on monday (hopefully) so i'll post a second opinion so to speak on it after i have played it.

  11. Bretteh Thursday 19th Jun 2008 at 13:34

    Words cannot explain how dissapointing this news is. Poor reviews have been cropping up on all formats (more so for the Wii which means I'll be getting the 360 version).
    As a Survival Horror fan this has been my most anticipated title for several months. More so than Brawl, more so than Metal Gear Solid 4.

    It seems that it was all for nothing.

    *sigh*.

  12. thecoop Thursday 19th Jun 2008 at 13:41

    I wish I hadn't seen this. I pre-ordered the game 2 days ago. Oh well, maybe I'll find something in it to enjoy, and to be fair the glitches you mentioned aren't the worst things that could be wrong with it.

    Still, I only paid 25.99 from Amazon so it's not a huge loss if I hate it.

  13. Wii 101 Thursday 19th Jun 2008 at 13:48

    per usual ONM show they don't have a clue what they are talking about, they knocked 36% off because of a few glitches and that it doesn't feel finished. Sorry what about half the other Wii games they gave 90odd% to which are probably much worse.

  14. wariorulez Thursday 19th Jun 2008 at 14:03

    This is the biggest disappointment of the year. Now wasn't even a clever time to bring it out (would it really be able to sell well with brawl next week?)

    What a shame... unless other reviews rate it higher i won't pick this up until its in the bargain bins.

    :cry:

  15. XINVADER Thursday 19th Jun 2008 at 14:14

    Aww, that's a big let down. To think I pre-ordered the special edition version too, well at least I didn't commit any money to it so I don't have to buy it. Just more stock for Game. I'll get Okami instead. :wink:

  16. GamesGerbil Thursday 19th Jun 2008 at 14:52

    Meh, doesn't really shock me, I sort of expected it. Never got my hopes up for this one, the screenshots looked bad in my opinion so I didn't think they'd put much effort into the rest of the game either.

  17. AlmightyFuzz Thursday 19th Jun 2008 at 15:16

    Well that just plain sucks! I was really looking forward to this, and seriously considered getting it. "$%$"£%^"$£ developers/producers/marketers or who ever is responsible for this! They have just cost themselves huge amounts of money because this title has a fair bit of history behind it (which means people won't be stood there with their money thinking "Hmmmmm... I'm not sure if I should get this"), and loads of people were looking forward to it.

    Ah well, they have taken what could have been one of the best games of the year, and killed it. Lets just hope they learn from their mistake.

    Rant over.

  18. jac4121993 Thursday 19th Jun 2008 at 15:33

    Now, are you sure Atari sent the correct version of the game? :lol:

  19. Yinga Garten Thursday 19th Jun 2008 at 15:43

    Its sad because this game looked very promising.

  20. GlobboTwilight Thursday 19th Jun 2008 at 16:02

    ...

    What?

  21. Dan-the-Wii-man Thursday 19th Jun 2008 at 16:16

    I am really peeved it seems that we hardly ever get any shooter games and when a new promising one comes around, it turns out to be rubbish!!! I want to SCREAM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:

  22. ChrisONM Thursday 19th Jun 2008 at 16:33

    per usual ONM show they don't have a clue what they are talking about, they knocked 36% off because of a few glitches and that it doesn't feel finished. Sorry what about half the other Wii games they gave 90odd% to which are probably much worse.


    To be fair mate, have you played it yet?

    Loads of games have the odd glitch: when you're working with a 3D engine it happens. But this is one of the glitchiest games I've ever seen. When it gets to the point that it affects the gameplay then there's a problem.

  23. hulkbuster Thursday 19th Jun 2008 at 16:43

    "DAM-IT" :!: I wanted to get this game on Wii because of the controls and the way you can play the game but now it's going to have to be on XBOX360 or PS3 :!: Once again the Wii dream didn't come true and we ended up with a nightmare game but not in true sense :oops: .

  24. Doclector Thursday 19th Jun 2008 at 16:45

    GRRRAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAGH!! HOW ON EARTH COULD THEY? THEY HAD IT IN THE BAG, THE HYPE, THE INNOVATIONS, EVERYTHING!! THEN THEY RUIN IT BY SOMETHING AS BASIC AS THIS!!? THEY SHOULD BE FORCED TO GO BACK AND FINISH THE JOB OR THEY MUST DIE!

    Never, ever, annoy a hardcore horror fan. :lol:

  25. Bellicapelli Thursday 19th Jun 2008 at 16:54

    Fine. Was torn by getting an earlyish night and saving some sponduli for the game tomorrow morning.

    Now i'm definitely going out all night to get wasted. Thank you Atari for aiding my social life! :wink:

  26. Bellicapelli Thursday 19th Jun 2008 at 16:58

    per usual ONM show they don't have a clue what they are talking about, they knocked 36% off because of a few glitches and that it doesn't feel finished. Sorry what about half the other Wii games they gave 90odd% to which are probably much worse.


    To be fair mate, have you played it yet?

    Loads of games have the odd glitch: when you're working with a 3D engine it happens. But this is one of the glitchiest games I've ever seen. When it gets to the point that it affects the gameplay then there's a problem.

    Are all your "mates" so complimentary about you, Chris??? :roll:

  27. YAYFORNINTENDO Thursday 19th Jun 2008 at 17:12

    Meh
    I'll rent it see what i think of it

  28. slangman Thursday 19th Jun 2008 at 17:27

    Thats about £35 saved thanks ONM. BTW i wounder what the graphics on the Wii version are like? Still i am a bit disapointed since i was thinking about geting this game. :cry:

  29. Kendall Thursday 19th Jun 2008 at 17:43

    Swa that coming from a while away, it was obvious from the start taht the wii version would be worse

  30. Samus Thursday 19th Jun 2008 at 17:54

    I had a feeling this was going to happen. Dunno about you lot, but I always get a feeling with certain games that it just will not be good no matter what. This game was one those certain games, I was never convinced that this game would be good enough to warrant me buying it.

  31. ChrisONM Thursday 19th Jun 2008 at 18:32

    per usual ONM show they don't have a clue what they are talking about, they knocked 36% off because of a few glitches and that it doesn't feel finished. Sorry what about half the other Wii games they gave 90odd% to which are probably much worse.


    To be fair mate, have you played it yet?

    Loads of games have the odd glitch: when you're working with a 3D engine it happens. But this is one of the glitchiest games I've ever seen. When it gets to the point that it affects the gameplay then there's a problem.

    Are all your "mates" so complimentary about you, Chris??? :roll:


    I'm not sure I follow.

  32. Cidiyance Thursday 19th Jun 2008 at 18:37

    This should be taken back to develipers. Full stop!

  33. Ben707 Thursday 19th Jun 2008 at 18:51

    Well I preordered it off Play.com so hope it isn't as bad as you say it is. But one person's opinion doesn't mean the AITD is a bad game. ONM gave Mysims 94% But I couldn't give it 60%

  34. metroid master Thursday 19th Jun 2008 at 19:22

    damm mines just arrived :roll:
    never mind i recon i can stick with it and get some fun out of it

  35. x-man2000 Thursday 19th Jun 2008 at 20:55

    per usual ONM show they don't have a clue what they are talking about, they knocked 36% off because of a few glitches and that it doesn't feel finished. Sorry what about half the other Wii games they gave 90odd% to which are probably much worse.


    To be fair mate, have you played it yet?

    Loads of games have the odd glitch: when you're working with a 3D engine it happens. But this is one of the glitchiest games I've ever seen. When it gets to the point that it affects the gameplay then there's a problem.

    To be fair, the review didn't seem too well written in comparision to the score, the review tended to make the glitches seem like a minor annoyance rather than a major problem, so the 34% seems a tad harsh.

  36. Sabrewulf Thursday 19th Jun 2008 at 20:59

    What a shame, this had so much potential :(

  37. get2sammyb Thursday 19th Jun 2008 at 21:29

    Are the 360 reviews saying it plays better on the XBOX then? Or are the flaws apparent in both games?

    Shame the PS3 version is so far away.

  38. BOWIEtheHERO Thursday 19th Jun 2008 at 21:30

    WHY... do they keep doing this to us!

    It's not nintendo's fault!!!
    Bloody Hell...

    This is why the Wii gets bad rep!
    And Brawl is gonna be good as its been pushed back, time has been taken!

    Pheh.. They better not do this to Star Wars Unleashed!

    I still love Nintendo... I'll never leave them... But i do get annoyed with certain things!

    Why do people believe the PS360 to be much better... They arent all that much better...

  39. 13th Nightmare Thursday 19th Jun 2008 at 21:50

    Well, thats a shame. This could have been one of the Wii's best games to date, if only the developers didn't decide to make a mess of things with. Were it not for reading this review, and after all the good things I have heard about it, I would have considered buying it. I wont know after reading this

  40. TheTombRaider Thursday 19th Jun 2008 at 21:54

    i have pre ordered this game and i was very exited about getting it tomorrow, but onm are usually correct so i think they have swung me, it is a shame though, the game does look like it should be great. i might buy it anyway im not sure...help?

  41. G_R7 Thursday 19th Jun 2008 at 22:17

    And to think, my new boss at GAME was happy when I talked a few people in to pre-orders for this... Now I have to tell my customers it got crap reviews. But it is only £30 where I work (without my 25% staff discount!) so I'll get it once I finish Okami (which is amazing by the way).

  42. liqhar Friday 20th Jun 2008 at 01:43

    i preordered it, looked forward to it.

    it is a disapointment, but at the same time still fun. i don't hate it.

    it's a playstation 2 game.

    and had wii contols added.

    it could of been so good, but it is still fun. if aproached as a ps2 game with an added extra of fun controls. then it makes sense. bits are glitchy indeed. as a wii game, "why"

    it should of been a wii game. it should of been so much more. i would of gladly waited 6 months for a finished game.

    i seriously reckon microsoft and sony pay and own some of these companies to a point of telling them and controling them to "make nintendo look s**t"

    look.. for egsample. microsoft have brought rare, one of nintendo's prodigy's..

    honestly why the hell would a company want to look crap on the biggest and fastest selling console.

    i give it 70 as there is glimmers of magic and good ideas.

    it's not solid or finished is the problem. exactly as the review states.

    but as i write this i'm still compelled to play it. it's such a good idea of a game.

  43. liqhar Friday 20th Jun 2008 at 02:15

    i've just read a 360 review. and it's just as damning

    it looks like these guys and gals have great ideas but do not know how to execute them properly or some arshole said you must have it released by this time, don't give a monkeys if you have tested it properly. re iterated it to perfection, which is what everyone needs to do to make anything special.

  44. ChandraONM Friday 20th Jun 2008 at 12:34

    it's not solid or finished is the problem. exactly as the review states.

    but as i write this i'm still compelled to play it. it's such a good idea of a game.

    This is exactly how I feel about the game. The glitches and unfinished elements of the game make it headache-inducingly frustrating. . . but there's just something about it that makes you want to look past the problems. It's not enough though -- the problems are way too destructive to look past. I think you have to take a step back and go "is it right that I'm being asked to pay £xx for an unfinished product?" The answer is a simple 'no'

  45. Tommson Friday 20th Jun 2008 at 12:34

    Why has gaming become so crap lately. :roll:

    Think i might get it though...

    or might get Okami instead.

  46. ploiper Friday 20th Jun 2008 at 12:42

    i dont paticualy see anything wrong with it. im only at the parking lot section but i havent had any troubles with it. but im realy enjoying it so far, and its got me shouting "you've just messed with the dog" and "i am the dog, the big bad dog". i only realy shout that when im holding the gun. but i love the game so far. no regrets.

  47. thecoop Friday 20th Jun 2008 at 13:12

    I got it this morning too. Usually graphics aren't important to me, but I couldn't help noticing they are rather rough. I don't like the way Carnby seems imposed on the background rather than being there. The game is OK, but certainly feels unfinished and why don't the zombies bother attacking sometimes?

    Nevermind, it's only £25.

    By the way I read a review of a version on another platform - 360 I think - and it was hardly glowing. I don't think it's just the Wii version from what I read - seems a disappointment all round.

  48. ploiper Friday 20th Jun 2008 at 13:24

    i quite like the fact the zombies dont attack sometimes, makes it fun just to mess around with them.

  49. jip100 Friday 20th Jun 2008 at 14:37

    This is why i am buying this on the xbox 360 :p
    It's actually good on it

    There's plenty of low scores on the 360 verisons as well (a few 3/10, 4/10 scores)

    Its a shame since i orginally planed to pick up the Ps3 version later this year (to engrosed in MGS4 at present to care for any other games), this could have been a great game and perhaps should have been.

  50. ZackandWiki Friday 20th Jun 2008 at 20:01

    Hm.

    Well, this is another reason for me to trade in my Wii for games for my 360.


    Why can't there be more decent games on Wii?


    *sighes*

    I sold Brawl on eBay because I was bored of it.

    Man...

  51. metroid master Friday 20th Jun 2008 at 22:35

    i dont paticualy see anything wrong with it. im only at the parking lot section but i havent had any troubles with it. but im realy enjoying it so far, and its got me shouting "you've just messed with the dog" and "i am the dog, the big bad dog". i only realy shout that when im holding the gun. but i love the game so far. no regrets.


    your no where near the worst bit
    you will need a lot of headache pills believe me
    unless your extremly lucky
    i'm still loveing the game specialy now i'm past that bit

  52. ploiper Friday 20th Jun 2008 at 22:58

    i dont paticualy see anything wrong with it. im only at the parking lot section but i havent had any troubles with it. but im realy enjoying it so far, and its got me shouting "you've just messed with the dog" and "i am the dog, the big bad dog". i only realy shout that when im holding the gun. but i love the game so far. no regrets.


    your no where near the worst bit
    you will need a lot of headache pills believe me
    unless your extremly lucky
    i'm still loveing the game specialy now i'm past that bit

    im at the sky ride assult bit in the park now. i cant quite see the giant bat that has picked up the car though. what am i shooting at exactly?

  53. diddles Saturday 21st Jun 2008 at 07:15

    Crap, I was thinking about getting this game. I'm not now.

  54. jac4121993 Saturday 21st Jun 2008 at 08:54

    Can anyone tell us why the hell they rushed it to the shops? Anyone? Anyone at all?

  55. ploiper Saturday 21st Jun 2008 at 11:04

    Can anyone tell us why the hell they rushed it to the shops? Anyone? Anyone at all?

    because its awsome. seriously it is. in my view and in my opinion, onm got this review wrong wrong wrong. i havent seen anything that would sugest its unfinished. but thats my opinion, i rarely agree with reviews, like when onm said the simpsons game has a bad camera yet my simpsons game has a great camera.

  56. Fyxe Saturday 21st Jun 2008 at 11:41


    Why can't there be more decent games on Wii?


    *sighes*

    I sold Brawl on eBay because I was bored of it.


    That's like complaining to people about shooting yourself in the foot.

    Anyway, on Alone In The Dark, I have no idea what the hype was about in the first place. I wasn't even aware there was any hype. Oh well, guess I was too busy playing Mario Kart.

  57. liqhar Saturday 21st Jun 2008 at 12:44

    it's not solid or finished is the problem. exactly as the review states.

    but as i write this i'm still compelled to play it. it's such a good idea of a game.

    This is exactly how I feel about the game. The glitches and unfinished elements of the game make it headache-inducingly frustrating. . . but there's just something about it that makes you want to look past the problems. It's not enough though -- the problems are way too destructive to look past. I think you have to take a step back and go "is it right that I'm being asked to pay £xx for an unfinished product?" The answer is a simple 'no'

    i must say i'm enjoying the game more and more as i play it, the story is brilliant and the atmoshpere spot on. some parts are "tacky" but the overall experience is great. the controls are great fun. it is an inovative game for sure. maybe whats happened is, yes, 1. it's been a little rushed but also 2. they are trying to put so many different game styles in to one gaming experience, some work some don't. they seem to have set out to try and a make a truly interactive "movie" or tv "series", i commend them for that.

    once the disapointment of it not being a mindblowing perfect game is out the way it is still a great game.

    one way to describe how i feel about it is it's like a fantastic "novel" with bad spelling and grammer.

    also it's cool fun going back to play bits via the dvd style menu and getting the previuosly on aitd especialy once you have already played the bits hilighted in the sequence. sort of sums up stuff you have already done and reminds you of the fun parts.

    i love it, it just could of been and had the potential to be the best game for 2008, which is probably whats the most disapointing fact. think i'm nearing the end of episode 6 now.

    i've got the limited edition pack and i think having the art book and stuff helps with the imagination and concept of the whole Alone in the dark experience.

    but like you say it's not fair that they didn't finish it and it looks like you are so ticked off at the developers for not making it the greatest game this year, which it should and could of been by a long way.

    it's seems to be a game where inovation has won over perfection, some games that i have played are perfectly executed but so god damn boring, which is why i love nintendo's system.

    i hope they bring out a "alone in the dark" series 2 though, with the same inovation and interactive movie feeling but perfectly executed this time round. go on atari. you can do it. it's a great idea, now perfect that same idea like what nintendo do with each iteration of there franchises.

  58. Bretteh Saturday 21st Jun 2008 at 13:08

    Well.
    I thought I'd pick up the 360 version seeing as I'd read slightly better reviews of that film
    Even on the 360 the game feels unfinished, the voice acting is atrocious the AI is idiotic and the fighting mechanics are clunky.

    As I have stated this was one of my most hyped games, I put this above Brawl and MGS4.
    I ran out to get the special edition.
    I'm strongly considering taking the game back tomorrow if it doesn't pick up soon.

  59. ploiper Saturday 21st Jun 2008 at 13:29

    another thing i have to praise this game on is its fear factor. for the first time in years i actualy started to get a little edgy when i was walking through the sewers. god i love this game.

  60. Sinthetic Saturday 21st Jun 2008 at 13:34

    absolute pile of s**t. i really hated it to the max. just the swinging off the cables part was enough to make me want to take it back. i'm gonna send it back and get something for my 360 for once.

  61. jac4121993 Saturday 21st Jun 2008 at 15:01

    Can anyone tell us why the hell they rushed it to the shops? Anyone? Anyone at all?

    because its awsome. seriously it is. in my view and in my opinion, onm got this review wrong wrong wrong. i havent seen anything that would sugest its unfinished. but thats my opinion, i rarely agree with reviews, like when onm said the simpsons game has a bad camera yet my simpsons game has a great camera.

    Well if they'd hadn't have rushed it, there might not have been a single reason for ONM to even bother criticising.

  62. The Eskimo King Saturday 21st Jun 2008 at 15:09

    Those useless tw*ts, it's lazy and rushed games like this that make people buy a 360 or a PS3 in place of the wii, it is so annoying.

  63. ploiper Saturday 21st Jun 2008 at 15:28

    Can anyone tell us why the hell they rushed it to the shops? Anyone? Anyone at all?

    because its awsome. seriously it is. in my view and in my opinion, onm got this review wrong wrong wrong. i havent seen anything that would sugest its unfinished. but thats my opinion, i rarely agree with reviews, like when onm said the simpsons game has a bad camera yet my simpsons game has a great camera.

    Well if they'd hadn't have rushed it, there might not have been a single reason for ONM to even bother criticising.

    i cant realy see any of the critisams onm made, the game seems fine to me. although the not being able to look at your feet is very much noticable. but not anoying.

  64. Zabba 2 Saturday 21st Jun 2008 at 15:55

    per usual ONM show they don't have a clue what they are talking about, they knocked 36% off because of a few glitches and that it doesn't feel finished. Sorry what about half the other Wii games they gave 90odd% to which are probably much worse.


    To be fair mate, have you played it yet?

    Loads of games have the odd glitch: when you're working with a 3D engine it happens. But this is one of the glitchiest games I've ever seen. When it gets to the point that it affects the gameplay then there's a problem.

    Are all your "mates" so complimentary about you, Chris??? :roll:


    I'm not sure I follow.

    You called Wii 101 "mate" but I'm not sure Bellicapelli 'gets' the use of the word mate in a casual term by the looks of it.

    Anyway

    I may rent it, or see if any of my Wii-owning friends have it, as I'm inexperienced in the horror genre of games.

  65. Anonymous Saturday 21st Jun 2008 at 18:59

    A huge disappointment. The graphics look like something from 10 years ago, there are loads of glitches, the camera is annoying, the animation is below average. The sound is ok but will get on your nerves, and some of the sfx is dreadful (ie pushing a table) worst buy ever.

    45% at the max.

  66. metroid master Sunday 22nd Jun 2008 at 00:51

    another thing i have to praise this game on is its fear factor. for the first time in years i actualy started to get a little edgy when i was walking through the sewers. god i love this game.


    god that bit got to me
    i ran out of ammo and was running round having to dodge everything and then i got to the mini boss thing and had to use my firstaid spray to kill it

    got to the driving part i mentioned yet ?

  67. ACRID Sunday 22nd Jun 2008 at 12:32

    Dissapointed by the review of this, I was really looking forward to AitD more so than most games (GTA4, MGS4, SSBB), I was torn between getting this on Wii now or in 3 months on PS3, I'm gonna wait until the PS3 version comes out and see what the deal is with that before I make my decision, I'll deffinitly be getting the game but hopefully the glitches will be sorted for the PS3 version.

  68. Supernintendo Sunday 22nd Jun 2008 at 13:33

    oh man...

    I was looking forward to this as well...

    Sheesh just sounds like another case of "let's half make a game and everyone will buy it anyway even though it's crap" syndrome...

    And it could have been so much more...

  69. ploiper Sunday 22nd Jun 2008 at 14:13

    another thing i have to praise this game on is its fear factor. for the first time in years i actualy started to get a little edgy when i was walking through the sewers. god i love this game.


    god that bit got to me
    i ran out of ammo and was running round having to dodge everything and then i got to the mini boss thing and had to use my firstaid spray to kill it

    got to the driving part i mentioned yet ?

    which driveing part? do you mean the bit where your in the ambulance and get bombarded by those bat things. that was anoying, it took me a good few goes to get past that bit. those darn zombies.

  70. console Sunday 22nd Jun 2008 at 17:38

    [u][u][u]68%!!! Boy I expected a game like this to do alot better, eh. What do they meen by "unfinished"? Maybe it was so bad it seemed like it was "unfinished".

  71. ploiper Sunday 22nd Jun 2008 at 18:16

    [u][u][u]68%!!! Boy I expected a game like this to do alot better, eh. What do they meen by "unfinished"? Maybe it was so bad it seemed like it was "unfinished".

    but it isnt bad, its brilliant.

  72. megamariogalaxy Sunday 22nd Jun 2008 at 18:50

    *sigh*
    After all the hype..

  73. metroid master Sunday 22nd Jun 2008 at 19:34

    another thing i have to praise this game on is its fear factor. for the first time in years i actualy started to get a little edgy when i was walking through the sewers. god i love this game.


    god that bit got to me
    i ran out of ammo and was running round having to dodge everything and then i got to the mini boss thing and had to use my firstaid spray to kill it

    got to the driving part i mentioned yet ?

    which driveing part? do you mean the bit where your in the ambulance and get bombarded by those bat things. that was anoying, it took me a good few goes to get past that bit. those darn zombies.


    nope
    i liked that one
    infinate ammo and you get to blow things up :D
    you will know which bit i'm talking about when oyu get to it believe me

  74. Luke0207 Sunday 22nd Jun 2008 at 21:06

    Which alone in the dark would be best for the xbox360, the wii or the ps3 ?

  75. ploiper Monday 23rd Jun 2008 at 09:22

    another thing i have to praise this game on is its fear factor. for the first time in years i actualy started to get a little edgy when i was walking through the sewers. god i love this game.


    god that bit got to me
    i ran out of ammo and was running round having to dodge everything and then i got to the mini boss thing and had to use my firstaid spray to kill it

    got to the driving part i mentioned yet ?

    which driveing part? do you mean the bit where your in the ambulance and get bombarded by those bat things. that was anoying, it took me a good few goes to get past that bit. those darn zombies.


    nope
    i liked that one
    infinate ammo and you get to blow things up :D
    you will know which bit i'm talking about when oyu get to it believe me

    is it the forklift one. im not having a happy time geting through that.

  76. Broken_Angel Monday 23rd Jun 2008 at 10:32

    i was annoyed by alone in the dark. all the pre-release footage suggested that here was a developer taking the Wii seriously. instead, all we got was a sub-ps2 title with aweful controls. i got killed several times trying to open the inventory to get a medipack. all the more promising features such as being able to mix and match items, fully interactive scenery and decent graphics seem to have been stripped out.
    atari, hang your heads in shame

  77. metroid master Monday 23rd Jun 2008 at 12:51

    is it the forklift one. im not having a happy time geting through that.

    lol i tihnk it's the next one

  78. ploiper Monday 23rd Jun 2008 at 12:59

    is it the forklift one. im not having a happy time geting through that.

    lol i tihnk it's the next one

    the next one! good grief. how hard is it?

  79. Howl Monday 23rd Jun 2008 at 21:31

    Now, I'm on not sure if anyone else has posted a comment on the matter I will speak of, but it is an important matter nonetheless.
    I've read several articles on the web, reading that Atari are filing lawsuits on several EUROPEAN gaming websites and the like. Why? Because many, and I don't say that lightly, have been downloading illegal copies of the game. Not just illegal, but unfinished, preview versions.
    Now, I'd hate to thnk that you guys are in on this as I've followed the mag since I can remember (Yes, including the original) and never before has it let me down. And considering all the other websites that have been listed in this matter each resulting in a poor score, can only lead me to believe that you are involved...As much as it pains me to believe so...
    I have waited patiently for this game for so long, as I can only get my survival horror kicks from Resi.
    Please tell me this is not true, and I hope for a proper review in the near future if it was indeed an illegal copy.

  80. metroid master Monday 23rd Jun 2008 at 23:17

    Now, I'm on not sure if anyone else has posted a comment on the matter I will speak of, but it is an important matter nonetheless.
    I've read several articles on the web, reading that Atari are filing lawsuits on several EUROPEAN gaming websites and the like. Why? Because many, and I don't say that lightly, have been downloading illegal copies of the game. Not just illegal, but unfinished, preview versions.
    Now, I'd hate to thnk that you guys are in on this as I've followed the mag since I can remember (Yes, including the original) and never before has it et me down. And considering all the other websites that have been listed in this matter each resulting in a poor score, can only lead me to believe that you are involved...As much as it pains me to believe so..
    Ihave waited patiently for this game for so long, as I can only get my survuval horror kicks from Resi.
    Please tell me this is not true, and I hope for a proper reiew in the near future if it ws indeed an illegal copy.

    i don't think onms in on it
    as though they were a bit harsh with the score the comments are pretty fair
    the game has some brill ideas in there but they're buried under the inconsisdent and sometimes realy terible graphics
    and on occation infuriating controls
    the game is still enjoyable and i believe should have a low 70% score for the brilliant ideas that it has

    and ploiper it's a simple task but it took me ages

  81. liqhar Monday 23rd Jun 2008 at 23:21

    this game is so good. it's awesome , honestly. little bits here and there are not perfect, but it is a brillant game. i like it more and more every time i play it, it's so varied. tomb raider is just as "glitchy" and that got 90% . everyone should experience this game, it's not perfect but it is a masterpiece in it's own right, it's trying to be so forward thinking in it's aproach. BRING OUT A SEASON TWO AND PERFECT A WICKED FORMULA ATARI.

  82. Broken_Angel Tuesday 24th Jun 2008 at 13:01

    Now, I'm on not sure if anyone else has posted a comment on the matter I will speak of, but it is an important matter nonetheless.
    I've read several articles on the web, reading that Atari are filing lawsuits on several EUROPEAN gaming websites and the like. Why? Because many, and I don't say that lightly, have been downloading illegal copies of the game. Not just illegal, but unfinished, preview versions.
    Now, I'd hate to thnk that you guys are in on this as I've followed the mag since I can remember (Yes, including the original) and never before has it et me down. And considering all the other websites that have been listed in this matter each resulting in a poor score, can only lead me to believe that you are involved...As much as it pains me to believe so..
    Ihave waited patiently for this game for so long, as I can only get my survuval horror kicks from Resi.
    Please tell me this is not true, and I hope for a proper reiew in the near future if it ws indeed an illegal copy.

    if that were true, then certain well-known stores are obviously downloading illegal copies and selling them only to wii owners the simple truth is atari really messed up on this one

  83. Vianyte Tuesday 24th Jun 2008 at 16:14

    What i pity, i was considering buying it. I've seen reviewers scores in Metacritic and the Xbox 360 version sucks balls too.

    Just SSBB, Okami and GTA IV for the summer holidays then...

  84. Howl Tuesday 24th Jun 2008 at 18:38

    Now, I'm on not sure if anyone else has posted a comment on the matter I will speak of, but it is an important matter nonetheless.
    I've read several articles on the web, reading that Atari are filing lawsuits on several EUROPEAN gaming websites and the like. Why? Because many, and I don't say that lightly, have been downloading illegal copies of the game. Not just illegal, but unfinished, preview versions.
    Now, I'd hate to thnk that you guys are in on this as I've followed the mag since I can remember (Yes, including the original) and never before has it et me down. And considering all the other websites that have been listed in this matter each resulting in a poor score, can only lead me to believe that you are involved...As much as it pains me to believe so..
    Ihave waited patiently for this game for so long, as I can only get my survuval horror kicks from Resi.
    Please tell me this is not true, and I hope for a proper reiew in the near future if it ws indeed an illegal copy.

    i don't think onms in on it
    as though they were a bit harsh with the score the comments are pretty fair
    the game has some brill ideas in there but they're buried under the inconsisdent and sometimes realy terible graphics
    and on occation infuriating controls
    the game is still enjoyable and i believe should have a low 70% score for the brilliant ideas that it has

    and ploiper it's a simple task but it took me ages

    So I guess many have played the game, many also seems to reflect ONM's score was too. Despite there being a few who have shown a positive view to the game (Claiming to have played it)there doesn't seem to be enough that could pin ONM to the affair, not that I want to either. The last thing I'd want is to see ONM caught up in this 'seedy' affair (I'm prone to over-exaggeration). But, just incase you or anyone in interested, here is a link to an article that give plenty of details on this whole suing ordeal. There are plenty out there, including Wikipedia, but this was my favourite by far:
    http://www.shacknews.com/laryn.x?story=53249
    Anyway, I'm glad a few have replied to my comment, it's much appreciated.

  85. metroid master Tuesday 24th Jun 2008 at 20:09

    So I guess many have played the game, many also seems to reflect ONM's score was too. Despite there being a few who have shown a positive view to the game (Claiming to have played it)there doesn't seem to be enough that could pin ONM to the affair, not that I want to either. The last thing I'd want is to see ONM caught up in this 'seedy' affair (I'm prone to over-exaggeration). But, just incase you or anyone in interested, here is a link to an article that give plenty of details on this whole suing ordeal. There are plenty out there, including Wikipedia, but this was my favourite by far:
    http://www.shacknews.com/laryn.x?story=53249
    Anyway, I'm glad a few have replied to my comment, it's much appreciated.

    after reading that i think the whole idea was to stop any negative reviews being shown before the game was released
    notice they said that they would only let high scoreing reviews to be posted which just makes it look like they knew how bad the game was and just wanted to trick people into buying it :evil:

  86. Mama Luigi Wednesday 25th Jun 2008 at 17:06

    That's exactly why I'm getting it on the 360 or PS3 (i.e the version with a score averaging in the mid 80's). We all know that this is just the PS2 version with Wii controls slapped on at the last minute like a dirty wet towel and that games such as this are the cancer killing Nintendo. Since Sonic unleashed is being released on PS2 as well as the current generation of consoles, it's safe to say that it will most likely suffer the same fate as Alone In The Dark did on Wii in that it'll simply just be another PS2 game.

  87. Howl Wednesday 25th Jun 2008 at 18:44

    So I guess many have played the game, many also seems to reflect ONM's score was too. Despite there being a few who have shown a positive view to the game (Claiming to have played it)there doesn't seem to be enough that could pin ONM to the affair, not that I want to either. The last thing I'd want is to see ONM caught up in this 'seedy' affair (I'm prone to over-exaggeration). But, just incase you or anyone in interested, here is a link to an article that give plenty of details on this whole suing ordeal. There are plenty out there, including Wikipedia, but this was my favourite by far:
    http://www.shacknews.com/laryn.x?story=53249
    Anyway, I'm glad a few have replied to my comment, it's much appreciated.

    after reading that i think the whole idea was to stop any negative reviews being shown before the game was released
    notice they said that they would only let high scoreing reviews to be posted which just makes it look like they knew how bad the game was and just wanted to trick people into buying it :evil:

    Anyway, thanks for getting back to each comment I posted, I guess I was just to let down by the fact it got a poor review that I couldn't accept the fact and searched the web to find anything that could help prove ONM wrong, not that I want to give ONM a bad name.
    Thanks anyway, I guess I'll just stick to Smash Bros. after the fun I had with Melee, this game has been on my mind all the time these past couple of days (After Atari let me down that is...). Anyway, see you all elsewhere on the forum. Cheers

  88. geiza_dobashi Wednesday 25th Jun 2008 at 22:46

    Is that driving part you are on about, the bit getting away from the 4x4 in the park (chapter 9 i think)? it is really getting on one's nerves now. i just can't do it. you either crash, get stuck trying to reverse after hitting trees etc, or go to fast and flip it.. sometimes you crash and they don't catch you and other times they do very quickly.

    i am glad i bought this game before reading the review. I like others are really enjoying it and will do more once i get past this blasted section...

  89. metroid master Thursday 26th Jun 2008 at 18:25

    yep thats the bit, finaly finished it and haven't had time to go back :lol:
    but thats what the summer hols are for :D

  90. Nemesis X1 Sunday 29th Jun 2008 at 12:35

    What i pity, i was considering buying it. I've seen reviewers scores in Metacritic and the Xbox 360 version sucks balls too.

    Just SSBB, Okami and GTA IV for the summer holidays then...

    Oh Really!?! Crap! I was rellying on that to keep me entertained/wetting myself over the holidays!

  91. fienno 123 Tuesday 9th Sep 2008 at 20:32

    I've gone with the 360 version. I really like it.

  92. Akriloth2160 Monday 23rd Mar 2009 at 14:13

    It looks like another case of King Kong syndrome. Magazine previews it several times, magazine gets excited by it, it is predicted to be Game of the Year.
    Review copy arrives, game turns out to be repetitive/too short/ unfinished and magazine slaps a low score on it. Gamers moan about the let-down.

    It happens sometimes.

    That's the trouble with setting your expectations high. It means the pain is even worse when the game sucks.

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.