Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Super Smash Bros. Brawl Review

Worth the wait? You already know the answer to that one...

How on earth do you begin reviewing what has to be one of the most hyped games ever? After all, you only have to look at how well Super Smash Bros. Brawl has already sold in both Japan (one million in the first two weeks) and the US (1.4 million in just the first week!) to know that Europeans are going to buy it whether we think it's a good idea or not.

There's also the small matter of the game's innermost secrets being spilled all over the internet by rabid fans, avid users and even the game's own producer, Masahiro Sakurai.

So, where do we start? Probably by pointing out that Brawl has been well worth the wait.

Click to view larger image
Never have we seen a game so crammed with detail, so packed with things to do and elements to reveal, and so absolutely over the top in terms of representing its genre. It is, without question, the ultimate iteration of the Smash Bros. series, but even more importantly, it's also the ultimate celebration of all things Nintendo.

Fight, Fight, Fight

One thing it's not, however, is a proper fighting game and we'll oppose anyone who suggests otherwise.The Smash Bros. games have never been beat 'em ups in the truest sense, which is probably why they polarise audience opinion. Many applaud the simplistic control scheme that makes every character's moves instantly accessible, the heavy focus on four-player action and the frantic brawls that can see even the most accomplished player beaten in the blink of an eye, while others hate it for exactly the same reasons. As cliched as it is to call it a Marmite game, Smash Bros. has always been exactly that - never quite enough of a beat 'em up to satisfy hardcore enthusiasts, but more than sufficient for everyone else.

Button Mashing

Not surprisingly, the formula hasn't really changed much for Brawl. The main focus of the game is still very much the multiplayer Brawl mode, every character's moves are still accessed by pressing one of four directions and then hitting A or B, and being skilled at playing still doesn't necessarily guarantee you victory. Ultimately then, this means one of the series' biggest flaws still remains. If you've never liked Smash Bros., Brawl will do very little to change your mind. It's a refinement of the franchise rather than a full-scale improvement; an already assembled pile of LEGO that's had extra bits built onto it instead of being broken down and recreated from scratch.

But oh, what a lot of extra building there's been. Looking at the entire package, Brawl is a giant vessel into which Sakurai and his team have poured not just ideas, but also a heap of Nintendo adoration until it overflowed. There's a whole heap of things to do in Brawl besides multiplayer fighting.

Click to view larger image

Only The Lonely

Admittedly, some are familiar and while that's nice, it might have been nicer to see something more original. We've smashed sandbags with baseball bats and broken targets countless times before, so doing the same again now is more of a means to a reward-based end rather than something we'd do by choice. Still, the other additions more than cover for this slight laziness.

Take the Subspace Emissary mode, for example, which we initially thought would just be single-player filler. Having played it through to its conclusion and racked up around ten hours of playtime in the process, we're impressed at how decent the experience was. Okay, so it's still quite simple and wouldn't hold up if released on its own but the combination of exploration, general combat, boss battles and treasure collection (not to mention the ability to play through it with a friend) really hangs together nicely.

Previous 1 2 Next page

Comments

131 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. MarkVader Thursday 26th Jun 2008 at 10:55

    I just got my copy this morning in the post! Good thing about working from home is being able to play Wii during my lunch break. Can't wait!! :lol:

  2. LightSamus Thursday 26th Jun 2008 at 11:11

    Having imported back in March, I feel like I'm missing out but then I think I'd have exploded if I'd had to wait this long. Many people who waited it out will finally be pleased. Just don't expect to see them again in the next few weeks! Say your farewells now!

  3. Anonymous Thursday 26th Jun 2008 at 11:16

    Looking forward to finally getting it tomorrow. ^^

    I wish I knew whether or not the Gamestation I'm going to (Inverness) has a midnight release or not, though. It's a 2-hour journey there and I'd like to be prepared. XD

    Still, I wish Nintendo would give us some kind of reward for waiting so long, namely having the more highly hyped characters and features be unlocked from the start, since folks in the States and Japan will already have that done, and naturally have an advantage over us.

  4. Big Guy Zee Thursday 26th Jun 2008 at 11:20

    ONM, what's with the poor quality pics? :lol:

  5. mj scorpz Thursday 26th Jun 2008 at 12:45

    Im so exited! :)

  6. x-man2000 Thursday 26th Jun 2008 at 13:21

    Looking forward to finally getting it tomorrow. ^^

    I wish I knew whether or not the Gamestation I'm going to (Inverness) has a midnight release or not, though. It's a 2-hour journey there and I'd like to be prepared. XD

    Still, I wish Nintendo would give us some kind of reward for waiting so long, namely having the more highly hyped characters and features be unlocked from the start, since folks in the States and Japan will already have that done, and naturally have an advantage over us.

    I'd like some sort of reward, but having bonus content already unlocked would detract from the fun of unlocking it. Apparently the content's fairly easy to unlock anyway, so I doubt that the USA and Japan would have the advantage for long.

  7. Vortex099 Thursday 26th Jun 2008 at 14:57

    Just got this a day early - with my limited edition sleeve.

    YIPPEE!

  8. Anonymous Thursday 26th Jun 2008 at 15:13

    Just got this a day early - with my limited edition sleeve.

    YIPPEE!

    So did I. You ordered online from Game, Eh?

    I ordered two copies, one for me, and one for the girl I'm moving in with. We both own wiis so we'll play together AND online :D So that'll rock.

    I'll be selling my US copy also. Keeping the freeloader though (I've not updated to 3.3 yet, wink wink nudge nudge)

  9. wiikii007 Thursday 26th Jun 2008 at 15:23

    Can't get this game tommorrow...no money. :cry:

  10. Nitendofreak Thursday 26th Jun 2008 at 15:35

    I'm missing the last day of school just to play this!

  11. DarkAce Thursday 26th Jun 2008 at 15:40

    One thing it's not, however, is a proper fighting game and we'll oppose anyone who suggests otherwise.

    I'm here to do just that.

    It has a huge level of competitive depth, more so that normal fighters. I could sit here listing techniques and strategies for ages, from shield grabbing to short hopping, but that would be boring. Just because you have the choice of playing a 4-way with all items on high on Warioware, doesn't mean it's the only way to play. 1 vs 1 on a fair stage with low/no items gets intense and competitive.

    If you're still not convinced, play me and I'll prove it to you.

  12. Dark Link HT Thursday 26th Jun 2008 at 15:46

    Are any of the people who got this today having problems with it?

  13. Ichigo Thursday 26th Jun 2008 at 16:25

    95% ???
    its far better than maerio galaxy and mario kart...

  14. Gerry-rich Thursday 26th Jun 2008 at 16:32

    Time has flown fast, It still feels like April :L Anyhow this game will be in my wii tomorrow and It cant be waited long enough!!

  15. MailToad94 Thursday 26th Jun 2008 at 16:51

    Even looking at it with a cynical eye, it's incredibly hard to fault Brawl.

    You quite clearly did look at it with a cynical eye.

    Why?

  16. Winston99 Thursday 26th Jun 2008 at 17:12

    I cant wait for this game! I'm getting it on Saturday! I cant wait!

  17. GamerKid Thursday 26th Jun 2008 at 17:12

    I'm missing the last day of school just to play this!

    :D

  18. Sinthetic Thursday 26th Jun 2008 at 17:45

    i too agree about feeling like i'm missing out. i've been playing it since it came out in march and i got my limited edition sleeved version today and i feel like i have done too much on my u.s version to start all over again. it's a fantastic game and my absolute fave of the series. enjoy it people.

  19. Ben707 Thursday 26th Jun 2008 at 17:47

    Off school tomorrow. :D :D :D The Wii is all prepared. Fresh batteries in the Wii remote. Internet is running smoothly. Friends awaiting my friend code.

    This is goning to be an awesome weekend.

    Bring On The Brawling!!!

  20. Tailsdreggman Thursday 26th Jun 2008 at 17:55

    OMG! OMG! OMG! :P I think i'm going to faint! I've been waiting almost 2 years for this.... oh. Has anyone got 40 quid? I'm kinda out of money after buying wiiware games. :(

  21. hulkbuster Thursday 26th Jun 2008 at 17:58

    :shock: In my eyes its just a shame that ONM gave to much away about the game(IN YOUR FACE ONM) :!: and we all know the "WHO'S WHO" in the game well before the game was released and i DON'T give a FIG what anyone says :!: I think it's some time's better to find out for your self WHO'S in the game that's half the FUN is it not :?: Well thats my moan anyway are be off down to my local gamestation in the morning for my copy :wink: :wink: .

  22. Anonymous Thursday 26th Jun 2008 at 18:53

    I've completed mario galaxy :D and now I've played ssbb I think it deserves more than a 95% mayby a 98%

  23. Munchlax OWNS Thursday 26th Jun 2008 at 19:00

    Even looking at it with a cynical eye, it's incredibly hard to fault Brawl.

    You quite clearly did look at it with a cynical eye.

    Why?

    Precisely. Why make it seem worse? It is one of the best games in the history of gaming, and deserves 98% AT LEAST! The idea that they rate it the same as MySims is... well... i'm not saying MySims is bad, just that brawl is better.
    Long live the Brawl!

  24. MailToad94 Thursday 26th Jun 2008 at 19:08

    Even looking at it with a cynical eye, it's incredibly hard to fault Brawl.

    You quite clearly did look at it with a cynical eye.

    Why?

    Precisely. Why make it seem worse? It is one of the best games in the history of gaming, and deserves 98% AT LEAST! The idea that they rate it the same as MySims is... well... i'm not saying MySims is bad, just that brawl is better.
    Long live the Brawl!

    You're kidding me!

    MySims got 95%?!?!?

  25. Gamer Xtreme Thursday 26th Jun 2008 at 19:10

    I haven't got it yet :cry: but my friend has! We played about 10 Brawls before I had to leave, it's just a shame that he only had the remote and Nunchuck combination :x Oh well, hopefully it'll come tomorrow...

  26. Ubahquiet Thursday 26th Jun 2008 at 19:15

    95%...Dammit, ONM, where's the 98-100% score? I can tell that the game is far better than MySims and Mario Kart and maybe Mario Galaxy!

  27. RudeDude Thursday 26th Jun 2008 at 19:21

    what a terrible review of the game... if you are giving a rating of 95% you have to explain why you like it. i read through about half way and then you get to the negatives section. you don't talk about the balance of characters, the special moves, the contrasting levels, the gameplay physics. you don't talk about a great deal.

  28. Erin Thursday 26th Jun 2008 at 19:52

    I thought I would have to save up for another month for it but I managed to make Ł20 today. Ł10 from from my Granddad's friend "for the holidays," Ł5 from a guy who I gave my old mobile to, and Ł5 from my Granny for a good school report.

    There is a God!! :lol:
    Not literally.

  29. Wii_Will_Rock_U Thursday 26th Jun 2008 at 20:07

    Aw, I hoped for a 98%. Still, it's a Gold Award for Brawl.
    The only thing I would add is DLC from here, if only because I really wanna fight as Ridley....maybe I'll get AR.

    Anyway, I have Ł40 on a GAME voucher, and a NTSC Brawl and working Freeloader at home...

  30. ilovehoovering Thursday 26th Jun 2008 at 23:18

    got brawl this morning a day early thanks to play.com who also delivered mario galaxy early. having spent all the hours before work playing it i can safely say its an awesome game but online play was a bit laggy. but still its very hard to fault this awesome game go and buy it, no one will regret it.

  31. nicktendo Friday 27th Jun 2008 at 11:14

    I was up the shops at 9:00am this morning, i was the first one to get it. i get home and
    IT DOESNT WORK
    i have been back to GAME and they can't fix it
    I HAVE TRIED EVERYTHING
    i was really looking forward to this, infact i said this morning that smash bros being out was more exciting than christmas. I AM EXTREEMLY ANGRY can anyone help?

  32. youngrcb Friday 27th Jun 2008 at 12:26

    You say we might never buy another iteration of it?
    well what if they made it on DS

  33. metroid master Friday 27th Jun 2008 at 15:06

    I was up the shops at 9:00am this morning, i was the first one to get it. i get home and
    IT DOESNT WORK
    i have been back to GAME and they can't fix it
    I HAVE TRIED EVERYTHING
    i was really looking forward to this, infact i said this morning that smash bros being out was more exciting than christmas. I AM EXTREEMLY ANGRY can anyone help?

    i had the same problem at first
    it's not the game its the wii
    if the disc reader gets dirty/dusty etc is can't read the disc because of it being a high density disc
    nintendo have promised to repair/clean an wiis that have this problem so you just have to send it in
    tohugh i cheated and got a feather and sloted it in where the disc goes while the wii was on i then simply moved the feather up and down slowly along the slot and then tried the disc and it worked :D

  34. andrewwsmith Friday 27th Jun 2008 at 16:07

    it is a very good game cause there is nothing wrong with it but i think its highly rated.

    andrew :D

  35. Anonymous Friday 27th Jun 2008 at 17:25

    Are any of the people who got this today having problems with it?

    Yeah, I picked it up today from GAME and when I tried to play it i got the "Unable to Read Disk" message. i checked on the Nintendo website and found that if you have a Launch wii then there is a small possibility that your wii wont be able to read the game due to its dual layer format. Nintendo will, however, repair your Wii for free and pay for the postage and packaging. I tried swapping the disk for another at the shop, but it is the Wii System so this won't help! Use the Nintendo support area on the website to find out how to take advantage of the free repair.

  36. hulkbuster Friday 27th Jun 2008 at 17:59

    Are any of the people who got this today having problems with it?

    Yeah, I picked it up today from GAME and when I tried to play it i got the "Unable to Read Disk" message. i checked on the Nintendo website and found that if you have a Launch wii then there is a small possibility that your wii wont be able to read the game due to its dual layer format. Nintendo will, however, repair your Wii for free and pay for the postage and packaging. I tried swapping the disk for another at the shop, but it is the Wii System so this won't help! Use the Nintendo support area on the website to find out how to take advantage of the free repair.

    I KNEW OF THIS PROBLEM MONTHS AGO,THEY HAD THE SAME THING HAPPEN IN THE USA :!: SO WHY DIDN'T "ONM" SAY ANYTHING ABOUT THIS THEY MUST HAVE KNOWN :?: I DONT THINK IT WOULD KILL OFF SALES THAT MUCH OR WOULD IT :wink: :wink: .

  37. fienno 123 Friday 27th Jun 2008 at 18:23

    Im so exited! :)

    ]

    And i just can't hide it
    i'm about to lose controll and i think i like
    I want to love you...

  38. NEO.BAHAMUT Friday 27th Jun 2008 at 18:25

    Mine don't work :cry: !!

  39. Winston99 Friday 27th Jun 2008 at 19:48

    I just bought the game today and then found out that it wasnt working on my Wii. I tried another game and it worked. Can someone help me?

  40. solid MKsnaker Friday 27th Jun 2008 at 20:53

    Brawl is good, I just don't know what to do first :?:

  41. rossy11283 Friday 27th Jun 2008 at 21:24

    hey. it was my last day at primary school today :( but was cheered up to find my mum had given in! after months of tedious nagging to pre-order it, she had it waiting for me! i turned on my wii to play mk wii which i left i n and hey it was that! it rules!!! yay nintendo!

  42. LuigiWare Friday 27th Jun 2008 at 23:11

    Over hyped. That's all I can say.

    Super Smash Bros. Brawl is good. It isn't amazing, it's okay. Online is mediocre, the rest of the game is polished and enjoyable.

    It improves on Melee in certain areas, but most of the new stages aren't memorable or enjoyable.

    Buy it definately, just don't expect the greatest game ever made.

  43. wiiman2000 Saturday 28th Jun 2008 at 06:56

    i got ssbbrawl theother day whent to play on it and it didnt work :( :( :( :( :(

  44. 94paulm Saturday 28th Jun 2008 at 12:03

    what a great game, definitely one of the best games on the wii id say 98% :wink:

  45. BESTBUYZ4YOU Saturday 28th Jun 2008 at 13:34

    wow this was stupidly overhyped (well not really, the hype died down a lot when Nintendo decided to screw Europe over again and wait several months to release it here)

    Anyway, its worse then the gamecube version, this game cannot be played without a gamecube controller, and im guessing that not everyone with a wii has one. Play with anything but the gamecube controller and it will feel clunky

    The graphics are poor as well, on par if not worse then the gamecube version

    oh and i swear theyve actually made normal Link crap now

  46. The Guitar Hero Saturday 28th Jun 2008 at 14:38

    Super Smash Bros. Brawl is awesome! And its got so much stuff on it, I'd give it 5/5! The only flaw though, is the repetitive enemies on the story mode. But it's definetly worth the money!

  47. metroid master Saturday 28th Jun 2008 at 17:26

    got to send in my wii
    got it working for the second time but tried again today and it went back to not being able to read the disk
    sent a e-mail to nintendo to see what i need to send etc

  48. Mario dude Saturday 28th Jun 2008 at 20:52

    Hi...I`m new,I know! But anyway, SSBB is AWESOME! I can`t believe Nintendo could make this game!

  49. Mario dude Saturday 28th Jun 2008 at 20:55

    Supet Smash Bros Brawl is awesome! I`ve played it for 10
    hours non-stop!...Aldough I went to the toilet in half-time.

  50. m4r1o0 Sunday 29th Jun 2008 at 08:23

    wooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
    oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
    oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
    best game ever

  51. JacobB Sunday 29th Jun 2008 at 11:28

    95%? Brawl kicks mario galaxy's ARSE!

  52. Team XD Sunday 29th Jun 2008 at 11:29

    Great game, but can't help thinking the online mode sucks!! Takes an age to link you to a game, when you do get going, the games drags sometimes freezes, ok it could be my set up...but when they put an excuse in the manual...saying this is normal, not impressed, especially when you compare Karts on line, very rarely have I experienced a problem with that!

  53. Jangcrow Sunday 29th Jun 2008 at 13:49

    yahoo ive had it 2 days now cant get off it but getting snake is such a ig pain but it was worth it now i play as snake, ike and pit who is mint

  54. ZackandWiki Sunday 29th Jun 2008 at 16:39

    Hmm...

    Yeah, played it, loved it...


    It gets kinda boring real quickly.

  55. RudeDude Sunday 29th Jun 2008 at 16:56

    wow this was stupidly overhyped (well not really, the hype died down a lot when Nintendo decided to screw Europe over again and wait several months to release it here)

    Anyway, its worse then the gamecube version, this game cannot be played without a gamecube controller, and im guessing that not everyone with a wii has one. Play with anything but the gamecube controller and it will feel clunky

    The graphics are poor as well, on par if not worse then the gamecube version

    oh and i swear theyve actually made normal Link crap now

    of course it can be played without a gamecube controller. what are you on mate?

    graphics are good man. maybe you are just saying this stuff to get a response? and link is fine. it's a balanced game.

    basically, most of what u said doesn't make sense 8)

  56. MKluv4 Sunday 29th Jun 2008 at 16:59

    This a great game.
    got it couple of days ago.
    Can get a bit boring if you don't know what to do or where to go.
    All in all a great game, but like I said, can be a bit boring.

  57. GlobboTwilight Sunday 29th Jun 2008 at 20:42

    I got my mate to pay for mine coz I had no cash left
    I owe him money now :lol: :lol:

  58. WeLikeIke Sunday 29th Jun 2008 at 20:58

    Its the best game ive ever played! Love it love it love !11

  59. Nintendork Monday 30th Jun 2008 at 09:37

    Are any of the people who got this today having problems with it?

    On my Wii it can't read the disc properly and I have to send the Wii in for repairs.

  60. Mario86 Monday 30th Jun 2008 at 10:07

    Super Smash Bros. Brawl is Amazing!!! It’s got all the stuff and more on a game. It’s impossible to get bored while playing this. I think 95% is too low for this Game and should be more like 97%

  61. rock-vaughany Monday 30th Jun 2008 at 14:48

    OMG :shock:
    this game is just so brilliant
    so far ive played it for smn like
    10 houres my mam told me to get off :cry:
    and its the best game ever
    just as good as mario link games
    so far my favs is pit in his green out fit
    JV 8)

  62. akatsukiworm Monday 30th Jun 2008 at 19:08

    ONM you are so wrong about brawl... 95% ??? it deserves at least 101% plus it really annoys my stupid ps3 playing freind as me and my other mate keep raving about it :D

  63. Mama Luigi Monday 30th Jun 2008 at 20:15

    Over hyped. That's all I can say.

    Super Smash Bros. Brawl is good. It isn't amazing, it's okay. Online is mediocre, the rest of the game is polished and enjoyable.

    It improves on Melee in certain areas, but most of the new stages aren't memorable or enjoyable.

    Buy it definately, just don't expect the greatest game ever made.

    No, just expect the greatest beat 'em up ever made. If you're a long time gamer you will die with enjoyment at the nostalgia. It is amazing. Simple as. Best game on Wii.

  64. mattsponge Tuesday 1st Jul 2008 at 10:14

    the fighting game looks alout of consoles because thay got all the caracters from saga it looks amazing but alout of money lol. well i might get it christmas :)

  65. King gerbil Tuesday 1st Jul 2008 at 19:46

    Im just doing the subspace to unlock the characters and already I realsie the size of this game.

  66. johndfernley Wednesday 2nd Jul 2008 at 14:12

    95% ???
    its far better than maerio galaxy and mario kart...

    it's awesome but... Nein

  67. Xexix Wednesday 2nd Jul 2008 at 15:04

    Hi, I haven't been her for a while but since Brawl came out I've been compelled to come and find some guys to play with. But yeah, this is better than Galaxy, 97% at least and Galaxy 95% (overrated). I personally love Toon Link at the moment but still ahven't got Wolf or Jigglypuff (wtf is this doing ih here?).

  68. m4r1o0 Friday 4th Jul 2008 at 17:21

    Lots to do and possibly the best graphics I've seen on Nintendo Wii, great multi player and classic mode is great, the on-line mode doesn't work on my Wii.

  69. Zo-Za Tuesday 8th Jul 2008 at 14:51

    I was one of the few people in my little town of nailsea (just below bristol) to get SSBB on its release date, sadly, i only managed 1 full day of its awsomeness before i was ripped away from my wii to go to france for a week :( . it taunted me knowing at home, my sister was kicking peoples butts on Wi-Fi, like i had been doing since 7am on the saturday. my suffering was not wasted, as soon as i was home and rested, i was back on my wii, macking my parents regret they had ever bought it. 8)
    ONM RULEs AND SO DOES SSBB!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Zo-Za :twisted:

  70. belsey Thursday 17th Jul 2008 at 17:10

    i ADORE this game at the moment and i find it a great way to take out my anger.... imaginie your enemy then BEAT em to the ground. nintendos first great stress relieving game! BRILLIENT! :!: :D

  71. smitty618 Sunday 20th Jul 2008 at 09:03

    completed and now im bored of it... meh melee was better

  72. Anonymous Wednesday 23rd Jul 2008 at 13:30

    95% ???
    its far better than maerio galaxy and mario kart...

    yeah definitely mario kart wii is a quality game but Brawl beats everything

  73. Anonymous Wednesday 23rd Jul 2008 at 13:31

    95% ???
    its far better than maerio galaxy and mario kart...

    yeah definitely mario kart wii is a quality game but Brawl beats everything

  74. Anonymous Wednesday 23rd Jul 2008 at 13:31

    95% ???
    its far better than maerio galaxy and mario kart...

    yeah definitely mario kart wii is a quality game but Brawl beats everything

  75. Anonymous Monday 28th Jul 2008 at 19:13

    95%! 95%! 110% at least! The graphics are perfect, the story is perfect, the controls are perfect. Infact, everything about this game is perfect

  76. antlion Tuesday 29th Jul 2008 at 10:54

    This is a pretty average review, but why did Mathers say single player offered a great experience when really, it was worse than Melee's single player. The Subspace Emmisary is the most boring piece a s**t I've ever seen in a smash bros. game(slight exaggeration there). Still there score is about the same as what I would've given it.

  77. MARION64WII Tuesday 29th Jul 2008 at 16:56

    ive got ssbb and soon i will have unlocked everything :D

  78. MARION64WII Tuesday 29th Jul 2008 at 17:03

    what the hell is wrong with you i think the sse is great with great cutscenes i say you are a piece of s**t :evil:

  79. antlion Tuesday 29th Jul 2008 at 17:08

    what the hell is wrong with you i think the sse is great with great cutscenes i say you are a piece of s**t :evil:

    what me?

  80. brawlazoid Thursday 31st Jul 2008 at 14:00

    I know online isn't as good as mario kart but brawl is too good for 95% higher please

  81. Peester Friday 1st Aug 2008 at 12:16

    I bought it yesterday to see what all the fuss was about but I was a little disappointed. I don't think it warrants the 95% what was given. I'd say 80% would be the score I'd give it. It's no Street Fighter 2 and could have done with a couple more moves that bashing the A or B button. Hopefully it will grow on me. Oh, and the cut scenes could have been a bit better too.

  82. kezao Friday 1st Aug 2008 at 14:48

    If u think its so rubbish then uv probably grown out of it.
    I think its one of the best Wii games ever with eccelent graphics and single/co-op modes :)

  83. onmgamer254 Saturday 2nd Aug 2008 at 16:46

    I LOVE THIS GAME!!!!! :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!:

  84. Curtis Pitman Tuesday 5th Aug 2008 at 14:35

    This game is cool and i love playing it with my mates (and kicking their asses :P ) but when i want to play ion my own my 5 year old brother wants to play and it gets boring beating him all the time also i have done subspace emissary its a pretty long storyline but i did it in 2 days

  85. onmgamer254 Tuesday 5th Aug 2008 at 19:16

    BEST GAME EVER!!!!!!!!! :P :P :P :P :D :D :D
    100 PERCENT.
    OWNAGE GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  86. Smash-bros fan Thursday 7th Aug 2008 at 09:14

    95 percent :o No. Your saying that its the same as Melee and Mysims then :o

  87. checkmiiout Friday 8th Aug 2008 at 16:06

    who ever says this isworth 98% is completey....

    right!!! :D

  88. shadow.x Monday 11th Aug 2008 at 11:05

    brawl is obviously one of nintendos finest games. 1 good thing about it is there are no cheats for example: unlock all players: 1,1,2,b,a,b,-. lol only guides on how to get the players. but the bad thing about it is the story mode is way to short. took me about 2 hour to do it (on easy). lol great game!!!!

  89. StriderHedgehog Saturday 16th Aug 2008 at 09:53

    How on Earth could one of the best games ever, next to OoT and Mario Galaxy get 95%. If I ruled the world, I'd make it illegal to say Brawl's bad. Flawless gameplay, stunning graphics, brilliant character roster, cleverly devised story mode and pure Nintendo nostalgia have earnt this game respect. It would've been nice for some more 3rd party characters, but it certainly deserves anything closer to 100% than 95%.

  90. Peester Friday 22nd Aug 2008 at 20:07

    How can people say that a button bashing game that takes very little skill is worth 95%???? Come on people!!!! How?? I'm still trying to understand what people find so great about these games. Mario Galaxy was ok, No More Heroes was a boring 1st person button basher and I'd rather someone do a conversion of Street Fighter 2 and Double Dragon or possibly Golden Axe. There's no skill involved with this game. All you do is jump around bashing a button.. WOOOOO!!! Lets hope Star Wars: Force Unleashed is better than what has come out on the Wii so far. If not, I'm going to have to beg the missus to trade my Wii in for an Xbox/PS3!!

  91. Anonymous Monday 25th Aug 2008 at 14:54

    i actually found a problem with SSBB. :? if you arent a hardcore nintendo fan and don't worship mario and the like theres not as much stuff here as for people who are absolutely fanatical about it sure its good for showing off some of nintendos gems but for me i actually didnt enjoy it i like mario kart wii SO much better oh and the storyline sucked what were they thinking :x :x

  92. Paper Luigi Monday 25th Aug 2008 at 21:22

    Can any of you spell right?

  93. shadow.x Saturday 30th Aug 2008 at 16:58

    looking forward to get it, oops got it already
    looking forward to playing it, oops played it already
    looking forward to the wfc, oops i won everytime
    looking forward to being beaten, I DONT THINK SO!!!!!

    :D LOL :D

  94. midoshichikiari Sunday 31st Aug 2008 at 12:52

    I bought SSBB and played it all the time, then i had friends over and they played it and love it to bits!
    and they haven't got a wii and after they played SSBB on the wii they all went out and bout a wii + SSBB,
    so i have to say some people don't know how great the wii is and they should try it out

  95. Alfrockz Thursday 11th Sep 2008 at 18:20

    :roll: super smash brawl is the best i have completed it but i still play it because it is great

  96. Quantum Raven Saturday 13th Sep 2008 at 19:29

    Super Smash Bros. Brawl deserves more than 95% because not only is is the best game in the series it's the BEST GAME IN THE WORLD!!! As well as some great Nintendo characters like Mario, Link and Fox there are also non-Nintendo characters like Solid Snake who is my favourite videogame character of all time! My opinion: 100% and no less!!!

    PS: I have a crush on Princess Peach so she will be the first character I will play as when I finally get Brawl!

  97. andrewwsmith Saturday 18th Oct 2008 at 21:45

    the best game on wii by far there is nothing wrong with it apart from the online play but at least it has online play 99%

  98. NoNamesLeft Friday 24th Oct 2008 at 16:13

    my ssbb has a scratch on the back :!: :!: can someone help me sumhow i dont wanr 2 buy a new one :!: :( :!: :( :!: :(

  99. 94paulm Sunday 9th Nov 2008 at 12:40

    I just discovered a great character


    PIKACHU

  100. daddybobo Friday 14th Nov 2008 at 18:33

    I just got it pre owned from Gamestation for Ł24.99 but can't play it until xmas cos thats when I get my Wii. My Wii is sitting in a closet waiting for me and brawl. LESS THAN 6 WEEKS TO GO!!!!

  101. Joey788 Tuesday 18th Nov 2008 at 16:45

    It was great! my fav charchter is Olimer and pikmin because I am a fan of pikmin and they are just funny (it is sad when they die fighting!)

  102. sherif Friday 21st Nov 2008 at 20:42

    defo da best game on da wii da controls are awsome and some creative game play so many things so little time. 8) :lol: :cry: :wink: :arrow: :idea: :?: :!: :evil: :twisted: :x :P :? :shock: :D :) :(

  103. Manius Sunday 23rd Nov 2008 at 13:25

    SSSSSSSSSSSSOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO Addictive!
    :o

  104. Paddy118 Monday 8th Dec 2008 at 18:28

    What about the stage buider! That is one of the best parts in the game!

  105. TheBlackRose Thursday 18th Dec 2008 at 10:48

    I've been begging for a Wii for nearly a year, if I get one I'm so getting this game. What's better then all of Nintendo's most lovable characters getting together in 1 game and beating each other up? Nothing! :P

  106. Xexix Saturday 3rd Jan 2009 at 13:34

    Replace 'Online isn't completely polished with 'Online is completely crap' and it's an ace review.

  107. bluelegend08 Sunday 1st Feb 2009 at 17:57

    am addicted to it as well.they could lighten up on cruel brawl though(just a little bit)to make it easy enough to actually get a chance.I'd give it 98%

  108. Brawlftw Tuesday 17th Feb 2009 at 13:52

    95%? For the game that makes Mario Kart look average? Yeah right. I love Brawl so much, I dedicated my username to it :D 98% easily.

  109. ginger007luke Friday 6th Mar 2009 at 20:33

    you are finaly right apart from the score better than mario galaxy 100% if not more

  110. NEMANJA Sunday 22nd Mar 2009 at 20:19

    This is the best game ever. I love it. People say the online isn't great, but i think it's class brawling people in China or Australia or Wales!!!!!! I think 98/100!!!!

  111. NEMANJA Sunday 22nd Mar 2009 at 20:19

    This is the best game ever. I love it. People say the online isn't great, but i think it's class brawling people in China or Australia or Wales!!!!!! I think 98/100!!!!

  112. NEMANJA Sunday 22nd Mar 2009 at 20:19

    This is the best game ever. I love it. People say the online isn't great, but i think it's class brawling people in China or Australia or Wales!!!!!! I think 98/100!!!!

  113. NEMANJA Sunday 22nd Mar 2009 at 20:19

    This is the best game ever. I love it. People say the online isn't great, but i think it's class brawling people in China or Australia or Wales!!!!!! I think 98/100!!!!

  114. NEMANJA Sunday 22nd Mar 2009 at 20:19

    This is the best game ever. I love it. People say the online isn't great, but i think it's class brawling people in China or Australia or Wales!!!!!! I think 98/100!!!!

  115. NEMANJA Sunday 22nd Mar 2009 at 20:19

    This is the best game ever. I love it. People say the online isn't great, but i think it's class brawling people in China or Australia or Wales!!!!!! I think 98/100!!!!

  116. NEMANJA Sunday 22nd Mar 2009 at 20:19

    This is the best game ever. I love it. People say the online isn't great, but i think it's class brawling people in China or Australia or Wales!!!!!! I think 98/100!!!!

  117. omegadarkrai Monday 18th May 2009 at 19:19

    This is the best game ever. I love it. People say the online isn't great, but i think it's class brawling people in China or Australia or Wales!!!!!! I think 98/100!!!!

    Woah! Whats the need of all tehm posts

  118. xray544 Thursday 28th May 2009 at 07:54

    brawl is a masive hit through out the world on wii
    with tons more charaters and unlockables and new modes to play this should be way better than mario kart atlest i give it 98%

  119. LiamGodOfFood Wednesday 24th Jun 2009 at 08:55

    One of the top 5 games on Wii! Kept me playing for months... especially good fun when you beat frineds at it!
    I now want a sequel, with EVERY SINGLE NINTENDO CHARACTER EVER IN IT. And a longer campaign. It was too easy. One thing I don't understand is why Mario is one of the worst characters on there. He's Nintendo's pride and joy! He should be the unbeatable one! At least they made Link good...

  120. Okami Saturday 15th Aug 2009 at 11:00

    This is one of the games on my mental "must-have" list.

    It looks so awesome.

  121. Kirby Is God Wednesday 19th Aug 2009 at 10:21

    :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D WHOA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! THIS GAME IS THE ULTIMATE GAME!!! WAHHHOOO!!!!!

  122. Ai64 Thursday 3rd Sep 2009 at 08:46

    I will be playing this game for months and months. It's so addictive. There's so much to do here too.

  123. BlueLink3411 Thursday 3rd Sep 2009 at 18:23

    I still think that SSBB is the best game on Wii.

  124. Nintendo Boy Wednesday 11th Nov 2009 at 14:56

    I still play this game to date. It is amazing in every way, and i don't know how they can improve on it.

  125. EliteMeatAgent Friday 7th May 2010 at 13:35

    I DONT EVEN KNOW WHAT ALL THE FUSS ABOUT GALAXY AND GALAXY 2 :roll: IS THIS IS SO MUCH BETTER THAN THEM !!!!!

  126. TheLegendOfNinte Friday 23rd Jul 2010 at 19:35

    While this game is no doubt a truly groundbreaking multiplayer experience, the main problem is it's lasting appeal. Upon finishing Subspace Emissary with a friend, whilst it's fun while it lasts, you'll have no intent to go back through it. Also, as you mentioned, the online is VERY flawed, with lag being a common interference, and when you join the online 'extravaganza' a tad late, because you waited for it to get a bit cheaper (though i got it on release) the other players will be FAR superior to you and there's no place for newbies! 80% is a fair score in my opinion!

  127. BlueSoup8 Wednesday 1st Sep 2010 at 17:52

    Dear lord Brawl's online lag is so bad they had to warn you of it in the booklet.

  128. Chaos_Lord Sunday 12th Dec 2010 at 09:29

    I'm gonna try and get everything there is in the game
    got most of the challenges already

  129. spacemen13 Sunday 13th May 2012 at 11:56

    This game is HUGE, recently I unlocked all the characters and stages. But its going take my years to trying unlock all of the trophies, music and complete all the events.

    I think I might be a pro at this just beat my friend with Olimar (rubbish character) and he was Pit(good character). Though I think my favorites are snake, toon link, meta knight and Sonic

  130. Ghostly_Shadeon Saturday 4th May 2013 at 17:06

    Wow! What should I do? I've only heard great things about this game...but then, I'm a person who just fancies playing games that are 3+ or 7+. Should I consider getting this...or wait to hear more about Super Smash Bros. for Wii U?
    What to do...?

  131. ProfPikachu Tuesday 4th Jun 2013 at 19:01

    Was I the only one to pause the game in the middle of some mega big fight and to see the funny looks and poses that the players were in because they were getting their asses kicked? :lol:

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.