Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Game And Wario review

Wario swaps his micro for a mini, but does it give the same mileage?

Many publishers treat mini-game compilations as a means of making a quick buck, lots of cheap and easy ideas bundled on a disc and sold as '10/20/50 games for the price of one!" The general rule is, the higher the game count, the lower the review score and the less trust punters have in the form.

It needn't be this way. Nintendo has proven the mini-game compilation can serve as teacher, using a scattershot approach to school gamers in the various capabilities of its host hardware.

The metaphorical staff room has grown busy over the years; Wii Play is your nursery school teacher, indoctrinating kiddies in the ways of the Wii Remote with plush cows and bubble popping. Then there's Wii Sports, the PE teacher in the criminally short shorts who demands you man up, grab that remote and swing to victory.

Click to view larger image
In fact, the PE faculty is rather overstaffed, having employed a yoga expert (Wii Fit) and a graduate versed in cutting edge sports technology (Wii Sports Resort). All of them are jealous of Nintendo Land, the hip newcomer with the interactive whiteboard and after-school gaming club.

Then there's Game And Wario. It isn't in the staff room because the other teachers locked it in the stationery cupboard to hide it from Ofsted. Game & Wario is Jack Black in School of Rock: bloated, crude, gassy... everything a malleable young mind should be protected against. But while it spends its day digging around the inside of a nostril or, worse, a chicken's back-passage (more on that later), it is secretly as much a teacher as any who came before it.

Potty Training

Game And Wario was conceived as built-in software for Wii U and it shows. Strip away the wacky exteriors and each of the 16 mini-games offers a conservative lesson in GamePad functions.Weaker games cover old ground. Patchwork's jigsaw puzzle exercise aims to stretch your stylus-wielding skills, but if you've played any stylus-based DS game, or indeed, held a pencil, its 90 levels of cloth rearranging will have you devising ways of arranging material into a makeshift noose.

Click to view larger image
Ashley, a duff scrolling shooter starring the titular witch, dive-bombs into the same boredom zone with a twist of the gyroscopes that could have easily been done on Wii.

Also unsuccessful: attempts to eradicate old Wii Remote thinking with novel GamePad spins. Bowling swaps Wii Sports' waggle for a stylus-flicked ball and gyro-enabled after touch. Which is odd. Did anyone really play Wii Sports bowling and find themselves wishing it was less like bowling? We didn't and still don't.

Likewise, Arrow's decision to do a shooting gallery with tilt-controlled trajectory. It's technically fine and blasting ranks of Wario bots is chaotic fun, but it feels like an extra layer of stressful faff after the immediacy of Remote pointer aiming.

Previous 1 2 3 Next page

Comments

25 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. fatherofthenoo Tuesday 25th Jun 2013 at 13:30

    It would seem that the consensus is that it is just too shallow, with offerings that could easily be played for free on a smartphone. This isn't what Wii U needs right now.

    It doesn't satisfy hungry Wii U owners, win over the core, drive sales or lure in the non-gamer. It also doesn't represent value for money. This should have been a cheap, digital only title.

  2. Element187 Tuesday 25th Jun 2013 at 15:42

    It would seem that the consensus is that it is just too shallow, with offerings that could easily be played for free on a smartphone. This isn't what Wii U needs right now.

    It doesn't satisfy hungry Wii U owners, win over the core, drive sales or lure in the non-gamer. It also doesn't represent value for money. This should have been a cheap, digital only title.

    Well this wasn't supposed to be a standalone game. It was supposed to be the pack in game instead of Nintendoland..... at the last minute before launch, Nintendo decided to pack in Nintendoland to give gamers a bit more meat... i"m thankful they did, but I don't think I'll be purchasing game and wario. After looking all the video reviews I could find, I pegged the game at being worth no more than $20.

  3. ledreppe Tuesday 25th Jun 2013 at 16:06

    Hmm... still a respectable score, was expecting less than 75.

  4. TheVentilator Tuesday 25th Jun 2013 at 17:35

    I did never expect this game to get good reviews, because of the nature of the game.

  5. ultimatebuffalo Tuesday 25th Jun 2013 at 18:00

    75 lol how overgenerous, its a tech demo that could easily be gotten for free anywhere on the app store, and should have been bundled in free with a controller or something like Wii Play was, coz that is essentially what this amounts to. how long did they spend on this pile of crap instead of an actual Wario Land Game ?

  6. liveswired Tuesday 25th Jun 2013 at 19:29

    Another paltry game under Nintendo's belt. How the weak have fallen.

  7. Time-Bomb Tuesday 25th Jun 2013 at 19:33

    It's funny how the reviews themselves are all pretty negative but the game's still getting pretty darn good scores!

    On the other hand, I think the developers have done well making a half decent game from what was essentially a series of demos. I'll no doubt pick it up when it's dropped in price. It'll probably be 20 quid in a month or so.

  8. liveswired Tuesday 25th Jun 2013 at 19:34

    Hmm... still a respectable score, was expecting less than 75.


    THIS IS AN OFFICIAL NINTENDO SITE - ALL NINTENDO GAMES GET RESPECTABLE SCORES HERE.

    75/100 FOR A NINTENDO TITLE IS LIKE 7.5/100 FOR A 3RD PARTY.

    NINTENDO HAVE LOST THE PLOT LIKE THIS PILE OF BILE.

    What have Wii U owners got to look forward to? The blurry pikmin HD (cough) and Super Mario 3DS 2. Mario Kart 8 will be another distinctly average affair.

    Nintendo need to buck up their ideas - it is almost as if they are scared of the HD era - they made even bigger Wii games for goodness sake.

    Maybe the issue is that the Wii U is simply unable to power their ideas? That's what you get Nintendo with your paltry, budget hardware.

  9. liveswired Tuesday 25th Jun 2013 at 19:35

    It's funny how the reviews themselves are all pretty negative but the game's still getting pretty darn good scores!

    On the other hand, I think the developers have done well making a half decent game from what was essentially a series of demos. I'll no doubt pick it up when it's dropped in price. It'll probably be 20 quid in a month or so.


    lol - you can get better games on a budget android phone for 69p. A mini game collection for 20 is soooo 2000.

  10. ultimatebuffalo Tuesday 25th Jun 2013 at 19:50

    It's funny how the reviews themselves are all pretty negative but the game's still getting pretty darn good scores!

    On the other hand, I think the developers have done well making a half decent game from what was essentially a series of demos. I'll no doubt pick it up when it's dropped in price. It'll probably be 20 quid in a month or so.


    lol - you can get better games on a budget android phone for 69p. A mini game collection for 20 is soooo 2000.

    you can get entire MMO style games for android for FREE

    For example a great RPG Zenois i think its called, is like a 2d action rpg series, SHADOWGUN which is a bit slow, but a fairly decent 3rd person shooting game with 2 game modes, deathmatch and capture. you can very easily get Console Grade games on IPad such as Walking Dead, Horn, GTA 3. So many games available for android and Steam are coming out on the Wii U, coz well that is pretty much all that it can run these days these budget indie games, i mean look at the supposed 70 games coming out for wii U , pretty much all of them are multiformat and indie games. I Mean sure you get some absolute stonkers such as Transistor, Limbo, Super Meat Boy, Binding of Issac, but they dont demonstrate a need or want to shift nintendo consoles, they are just sort of 'there'.

  11. Loafers Tuesday 25th Jun 2013 at 21:02

    The comments above seem to be quite adamantly negative in most cases, which I think is a bit harsh. You can't take an unambitious minigame collection as an indication of a developer's overall standing. It may be disappointing, but it is what it is. In an ideal universe, this would have come with the console on purchase. Still, we have what we have, and that's something at least.

    So yes, I agree with what Matthew has written, although I feel he could have knocked about 10% off his final score.

  12. ultimatebuffalo Tuesday 25th Jun 2013 at 21:15

    The comments above seem to be quite adamantly negative in most cases, which I think is a bit harsh. You can't take an unambitious minigame collection as an indication of a developer's overall standing. It may be disappointing, but it is what it is. In an ideal universe, this would have come with the console on purchase. Still, we have what we have, and that's something at least.

    So yes, I agree with what Matthew has written, although I feel he could have knocked about 10% off his final score.


    but this is 2013, not 2006 when the original Wii Launched. People have played minigame compilations to death, they have short burst games on their phones, there is no market for this sort of thing anymore and will not sell machines. Just Dance 4 is selling well on the original Wii, so those sort of party games still have some audience.

  13. ultimatebuffalo Tuesday 25th Jun 2013 at 21:15

    The comments above seem to be quite adamantly negative in most cases, which I think is a bit harsh. You can't take an unambitious minigame collection as an indication of a developer's overall standing. It may be disappointing, but it is what it is. In an ideal universe, this would have come with the console on purchase. Still, we have what we have, and that's something at least.

    So yes, I agree with what Matthew has written, although I feel he could have knocked about 10% off his final score.


    but this is 2013, not 2006 when the original Wii Launched. People have played minigame compilations to death, they have short burst games on their phones, there is no market for this sort of thing anymore and will not sell machines. Just Dance 4 is selling well on the original Wii, so those sort of party games still have some audience.

  14. Waldy565 Tuesday 25th Jun 2013 at 21:43

    The comments above seem to be quite adamantly negative in most cases, which I think is a bit harsh. You can't take an unambitious minigame collection as an indication of a developer's overall standing. It may be disappointing, but it is what it is. In an ideal universe, this would have come with the console on purchase. Still, we have what we have, and that's something at least.

    So yes, I agree with what Matthew has written, although I feel he could have knocked about 10% off his final score.

    I have to agree, people ARE freaking out! Calm down guys! Someone (I forget your name, humblest apologies) made a good mention that this was originally a bunch of tech demos, so they've done well to make a game out of them, albeit a mini-game compilation. SAYING THAT, Nintendo Land and NSMBU were also tech demos, and they are fantastic games. It seems that Nintendo showed these demos at E3 and went - "Oh, we've shown 'em, we need to shoehorn in 'em into a game." Tada! G+W was made. Honestly, Ninty, you're a first party developer for goodness sake, you can do much better than this, and not only have you shamed the Warioware Team (by that, I mean Ashley, Mona, 9-Volt, Jimmy T etc, not the development team that produced "this") but you've also let down Wario, in his own series as well as along side his many appearances in much superior games (64 DS, Mario Land AND Wario Land games) - Rant/Defence over

  15. Time-Bomb Tuesday 25th Jun 2013 at 21:51

    It's funny how the reviews themselves are all pretty negative but the game's still getting pretty darn good scores!

    On the other hand, I think the developers have done well making a half decent game from what was essentially a series of demos. I'll no doubt pick it up when it's dropped in price. It'll probably be 20 quid in a month or so.


    lol - you can get better games on a budget android phone for 69p. A mini game collection for 20 is soooo 2000.

    No you can't, hence why a lot of people still buy games like this. And I don't think mini game collections went out of fashion in 2000. Look at Wii Sports Resort, or any of the last WarioWare games, or Mario Party, or Wii Fit, or Mario and Sonic at the Olympics, or the Professor Layton games or the Rabbids games. Just to name a few :lol:

  16. MatthewONM Tuesday 25th Jun 2013 at 22:04

    What have Wii U owners got to look forward to? The blurry pikmin HD (cough) and Super Mario 3DS 2. Mario Kart 8 will be another distinctly average affair.

    Nintendo need to buck up their ideas - it is almost as if they are scared of the HD era - they made even bigger Wii games for goodness sake.


    Dude, calm down. Seriously. You're embarrassing yourself.

    I think the best course of action is for you and ultimatebuffalo to go and get married, move to a desert island and live out the rest of your days screaming your throats raw about the current state of Nintendo. Meanwhile, back in sanity land, the rest of us will be getting on with enjoying the many brilliant games that aren't Game & Wario. (Not that G&W is anyway a lesser game - as the text says, it has plenty to recommend it).

  17. ultimatebuffalo Tuesday 25th Jun 2013 at 22:10

    It's funny how the reviews themselves are all pretty negative but the game's still getting pretty darn good scores!

    On the other hand, I think the developers have done well making a half decent game from what was essentially a series of demos. I'll no doubt pick it up when it's dropped in price. It'll probably be 20 quid in a month or so.


    lol - you can get better games on a budget android phone for 69p. A mini game collection for 20 is soooo 2000

    No you can't, hence why a lot of people still buy games like this. And I don't think mini game collections went out of fashion in 2000. Look at Wii Sports Resort, or any of the last WarioWare games, or Mario Party, or Wii Fit, or Mario and Sonic at the Olympics, or the Professor Layton games or the Rabbids games. Just to name a few :lol:

    look at the charts, how many of those games have been selling recently ? lest, the last 3-4 years. the only one you can make a case for is the mario olympics. Sports resort is a BUNDLED GAME so really it doesnt count. sure you might play it but its not something actively bought on its own. SMOOTH MOVES is infinitely more hilarious and fun than this is, and can be got for peanuts.

  18. fatherofthenoo Wednesday 26th Jun 2013 at 08:37

    What have Wii U owners got to look forward to? The blurry pikmin HD (cough) and Super Mario 3DS 2. Mario Kart 8 will be another distinctly average affair.

    Nintendo need to buck up their ideas - it is almost as if they are scared of the HD era - they made even bigger Wii games for goodness sake.


    Dude, calm down. Seriously. You're embarrassing yourself.

    I think the best course of action is for you and ultimatebuffalo to go and get married, move to a desert island and live out the rest of your days screaming your throats raw about the current state of Nintendo. Meanwhile, back in sanity land, the rest of us will be getting on with enjoying the many brilliant games that aren't Game & Wario. (Not that G&W is anyway a lesser game - as the text says, it has plenty to recommend it).

    Believe it or not, Matt. Many gamers, and Nintendo fans, share their views. If anything, they are the ones being realistic.

  19. MatthewONM Wednesday 26th Jun 2013 at 09:03

    Believe it or not, Matt. Many gamers, and Nintendo fans, share their views. If anything, they are the ones being realistic.


    There's realism and then there's writing a company off over one less-than-amazing mini-game compilation and some tired generalisations about games you haven't played. I was feeling less than sure about Wii U after Nintendo's E3 showing, but having played the games all day yesterday, I'm feeling much happier about it. Once people have read our upcoming E3 issue, I think they will, too.

  20. fatherofthenoo Wednesday 26th Jun 2013 at 09:46

    Believe it or not, Matt. Many gamers, and Nintendo fans, share their views. If anything, they are the ones being realistic.


    There's realism and then there's writing a company off over one less-than-amazing mini-game compilation and some tired generalisations about games you haven't played. I was feeling less than sure about Wii U after Nintendo's E3 showing, but having played the games all day yesterday, I'm feeling much happier about it. Once people have read our upcoming E3 issue, I think they will, too.

    I think that more people might feel a bit better about them after some hands on time. The issue is that many won't get that chance. First impressions count, and Nintendo is struggling to make a positive one right now. Yet most of us see a game like"X" and are wowed by it. It is selling itself even without hands on time. People on Miiverse are right. The E3 demos should be on the eShop now. Maybe to get a few more gamers excited for the first party titles.

  21. ChandraONM Wednesday 26th Jun 2013 at 14:29

    Hmm... still a respectable score, was expecting less than 75.


    THIS IS AN OFFICIAL NINTENDO SITE - ALL NINTENDO GAMES GET RESPECTABLE SCORES HERE.

    Amazing ignorance on display here.
    Please do a tiny bit of research before you make potentially damaging, sweeping generalisations.
    Must try harder.

  22. E123-Fawful Wednesday 26th Jun 2013 at 15:24


    THIS IS AN OFFICIAL NINTENDO SITE - ALL NINTENDO GAMES GET RESPECTABLE SCORES HERE.

    Amazing ignorance on display here.
    Please do a tiny bit of research before you make potentially damaging, sweeping generalisations.
    Must try harder.

    If memory serves me well I seem to remember Mario Sports Mix getting about 70ish% (Being a bit empty) and PMD:Explorers of Sky getting 70ish% (Basically Time and Darkness with a few extras).
    I'm sure I've seen a Nintendo game get under 50 on here as well.
    So no. No double standards for scoring.

  23. fatherofthenoo Wednesday 26th Jun 2013 at 18:18

    I always struggle with these sort of scores. Is 7 an average game? Is 5? Is 10 perfect? Why does a game get a 9 and not a 10? What is the critera for 10?

    If it was up to me, I would remove them completely. People tend to fixate on that rather than the actual review. ONM, if you guys read this, just try it for a month. See if it makes a difference to people's reactions.

  24. Time-Bomb Wednesday 26th Jun 2013 at 21:07

    It's funny how the reviews themselves are all pretty negative but the game's still getting pretty darn good scores!

    On the other hand, I think the developers have done well making a half decent game from what was essentially a series of demos. I'll no doubt pick it up when it's dropped in price. It'll probably be 20 quid in a month or so.


    lol - you can get better games on a budget android phone for 69p. A mini game collection for 20 is soooo 2000

    No you can't, hence why a lot of people still buy games like this. And I don't think mini game collections went out of fashion in 2000. Look at Wii Sports Resort, or any of the last WarioWare games, or Mario Party, or Wii Fit, or Mario and Sonic at the Olympics, or the Professor Layton games or the Rabbids games. Just to name a few :lol:

    look at the charts, how many of those games have been selling recently ? lest, the last 3-4 years. the only one you can make a case for is the mario olympics. Sports resort is a BUNDLED GAME so really it doesnt count. sure you might play it but its not something actively bought on its own. SMOOTH MOVES is infinitely more hilarious and fun than this is, and can be got for peanuts.

    Whether or not they've been selling recently is irrelevant. My point was that they were all released in the last decade and all sold rather well :) Wii Sports Resort most certainly does count because people who didn't want the game could have chosen to just buy the remote. And Smooth Moves probably is more fun, but it was sold at full price when it was released just as Game and Wario shall be. You're contradicting yourself now by suggesting we buy Smooth Moves anyway, when your original argument suggested we should instead spend our money on mobile phone games. If anything, the fact you're now promoting Smooth Moves shows that mini game collections clearly aren't "soooo 2000" :wink:

  25. Rustinho Monday 1st Jul 2013 at 11:13

    I can see the appeal for passing a bit of time playing things like this, particularly when you have a crowd of friends visiting your house, but 20 - 30 for it? Massively overpriced. The same can be said of the new 3DS Streetpass games.

    Nintendo should have made this (Game & Wario) a free (or very cheap) download if it was originally intended to be bundled with the WiiU.

    I downloaded a similar Warioware game on the Wii for my son to play. He loves it. I find it irritating and almost unplayable, although it does raise a few laughs the first time you play it. I can't remember how much it cost but it was certainly less than a tenner and it seemed a bit of a let down even at that price.

    I haven't got a WiiU (yet?) but this certainly wouldn't be something I'd be spending money on getting.

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.