Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Rayman Legends review

Like Rayman we'll go out on a limb: this is one of Wii U's best

Rayman Legends is a wormhole, whisking Wii U owners back to November 2012 and a time when Wii U: The Incredible Promise had yet to make way for Wii U: The One Third Parties Don't Like Any More. Do you remember those halcyon days, when we sat on riverbanks composing romantic odes to asymmetric multiplayer? Ten minutes playing Legends has us reaching for our notebook and rhyming couplets afresh (er, what rhymes with Globox?). For while Rayman now wraps rival formats in a far-reaching, elbowless hug, his barmy French heart truly belongs to GamePad.

Under Ubisoft Montpellier's stylus point, the five-inch window becomes a holding pen for Murfy, a hyperactive greenfly who helps co-op teammates. Prods see him tickling enemies, dragging treasures within reach, even painting Lums with a score multiplier: it's all beneficial and most of it requires enough dexterity to keep the GamePad player happy. Should fatigue set in, Murfy's hand is easily turned to mischief by lifting health vials out of reach, or shunting a floating platform at an inopportune moment. Warning: this can result in a dead arm.

Click to view larger image

Origins Of Asymmetry

Where Murfy trumps other support roles - Mario's 'boost' blocks, for example - is in Ubi's decision to make him a necessity in certain levels. An early dungeon, for example, has him slicing obstacles free, rotating level chunks (by spinning the GamePad, naturally) and sliding platforms to form a path. On the GamePad you're struggling to keep up to four characters alive, while on the TV it feels like a demented ghost has possessed the level. Either way, it's quite unlike any other co-op game going.

Every Murfy showpiece arrives with a new trick. Hey, I'm picking off dragons with a catapult! Eep, I'm blocking fiery comets with a Roman shield! Oh no, I'm trying to use platforms to hide Rayman from a laser-firing sentry turret and making a rotten job of it. Not since Super Mario Galaxy has a game so wilfully abandoned neat ideas to make way for even better stuff.

Co-op magic comes at a price: a game built for two or more comes unstuck when there's only one player. Play a Murfy-essential level alone and you're forced to pilot the greenfly while AI steers Globox. The AI is amazing, admittedly, responding quickly to level alterations and cleverly sniffing out secrets you lead him towards, but what you're playing is little more than a glorified escort mission. It's just not the same without a fellow human to scream as you carve them a cakey passage to the grave.

Previous 1 2 3 Next page

Comments

17 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. 5OUNDWAVE Wednesday 28th Aug 2013 at 14:14

    only played the demo for origin's didn't really like it but the app for legend's has kept me going these last couple of month's and i really enjoyed it even if it was practically the same thing over and over again so it's good to read such a positive reveiw for legend's as it look's the complete package , will definitely pick this up sometime over the next week if not this friday , also i think rufus hound would enjoy what you mentioned !

  2. Dpad Lad Wednesday 28th Aug 2013 at 14:27

    Cant wait :)

  3. onmsam Wednesday 28th Aug 2013 at 15:33

    what the hell is a 2ds!!!!

  4. DstryrEU Wednesday 28th Aug 2013 at 15:36

    Its a shame I wont be picking this up for quiet some time, maybe not at all, even though I do like what I've seen/read about it. Far to many 2D platforming titles have been popping up this past year across the WiiU/PC and I'm pretty fed up with them and the genre completely now (My fault for buying/playing through them all though -_-'). I wouldn't be surprised if others feel the same way despite this game looking like a solid title for Rayman fans.

  5. MatthewONM Wednesday 28th Aug 2013 at 15:38

    Far to many 2D platforming titles have been popping up this past year across the WiiU/PC


    And this is the only one truly worth getting.

  6. Dpad Lad Wednesday 28th Aug 2013 at 15:46

    Far to many 2D platforming titles have been popping up this past year across the WiiU/PC


    And this is the only one truly worth getting.

    Whoa... Super Luigi U?

  7. MatthewONM Wednesday 28th Aug 2013 at 15:54

    Whoa... Super Luigi U?


    ... is merely good. Rayman is a genuine stunner. Love it.

  8. Time-Bomb Wednesday 28th Aug 2013 at 16:34

    Cool! This'll be put on the Christmas list along with Wind Waker, Wonderful 101 and Pikmin!

  9. Carl Neewell Wednesday 28th Aug 2013 at 16:49

    Yes! Everything I hoped it would be, really excited about this one, probably my most anticipated Wii U game. Shop to have already despatched the game so should be here in the morning, such a shame i promised the daughter a day at the beach...

  10. Time-Bomb Wednesday 28th Aug 2013 at 18:00

    Forgive me if I missed anything in the review, but I'm surprised you didn't mention anything about the mini games such as KungFoot or whatever it's called.

  11. MatthewONM Wednesday 28th Aug 2013 at 18:36

    Forgive me if I missed anything in the review, but I'm surprised you didn't mention anything about the mini games such as KungFoot or whatever it's called.


    I talk about Kung Foot in a boxout in the magazine review. Our reviews are written primarily for the magazine, so you have to read that for the full picture. This is more of an overview.

  12. Time-Bomb Wednesday 28th Aug 2013 at 19:42

    Forgive me if I missed anything in the review, but I'm surprised you didn't mention anything about the mini games such as KungFoot or whatever it's called.


    I talk about Kung Foot in a boxout in the magazine review. Our reviews are written primarily for the magazine, so you have to read that for the full picture. This is more of an overview.


    Ahh I see! That's fair enough then! My bad.

  13. Argenthor Wednesday 28th Aug 2013 at 19:58

    I loved the intro to this review :)

  14. imbusydoctorwho Wednesday 28th Aug 2013 at 20:34

    Been anticipating this since it's reveal,will hopefully get this for me bday.

  15. JOHNNY01294 Saturday 31st Aug 2013 at 15:08

    So pleased with the wii u right now, bought this yesterday and loving it and last week picked up splinter cell which I am also really impressed with. I honestly cannot remember the last time I was able to pick up 2 games in two weeks for the wii U, hopefully this will continue and the consoles fortunes will turn around!!

  16. ninelevendo91 Tuesday 8th Oct 2013 at 12:27

    To be honest, I've never really liled the Rayman games. They're just glum and uncolourful, unlike Mario or ( I'm going to kill myself for saying this, ) Sonic. I will admit, NSMBU was really the Wii's best platformers HD copy. But the Wii and DS's Mario Bro.s were great, and Rayman has never gone NEAR the shear fun of Mario Galaxy. 3D world is going to smash this game, big time. ( although being a 3D platformer )

  17. ninelevendo91 Tuesday 8th Oct 2013 at 12:32

    Well, what I'm gettin' at, is that Mario is the Video game king, and Rayman has a lot to go to beat him. Just ask Sonic.

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.