Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Defend Your Castle Review

It's easier than it sounds...

At only 500 Wii Points, Defend Your Castle is one of the cheapest WiiWare games yet. Considering it was based on a free online game that can still be played by anyone with a PC or a Mac, we suppose that was a sensible decision.

Initially the game sees you building up points by killing enemies who try to storm your castle. It's enjoyable, if a little easy.

Once you've added all the attachments to your castle you can then spend your points on reinforcing it. It's good fun, but again, a little easy. Finally, you'll get to a stage where your castle's so strong it's almost impossible to lose.

Simply put, you guessed it, it's a little easy.

Comments

26 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. Mr.GameandWatch Friday 1st Aug 2008 at 16:28

    This deserves more,80% at least this is the best WiiWare offering.

  2. Spoon-man Friday 1st Aug 2008 at 16:59

    This deserves more,80% at least this is the best WiiWare offering.

    I would't say that, have you played Lost Winds, Toki Tori or FFCCMLAAK?

    Also, the online version (without multiplayer, obviously) follows the same premise and works on the Wii Opera browser as well! To play it, Google "Defend Your Castle" and select the top result.

  3. Mr.GameandWatch Friday 1st Aug 2008 at 18:24

    This deserves more,80% at least this is the best WiiWare offering.

    I would't say that, have you played Lost Winds, Toki Tori or FFCCMLAAK?

    Also, the online version (without multiplayer, obviously) follows the same premise and works on the Wii Opera browser as well! To play it, Google "Defend Your Castle" and select the top result.


    Toki Tori was in my opinion beat for first and is now my second favorite;FFCC:MLAAK was a slight disappointment I brought it and Lostwinds isn't my kind of game.
    I think on the Internet channel it's laggy and slow which dosen't look as good.
    high my score to 91%.

  4. City Of Delusion Friday 1st Aug 2008 at 22:02

    68%? Stupidly low. I think it's on a par with Pop, to be honest. It should be 80%-ish.

  5. GamerKid Saturday 2nd Aug 2008 at 10:31

    am getting it

  6. LuigiWare Saturday 2nd Aug 2008 at 18:00

    This deserves more,80% at least this is the best WiiWare offering.

    I would't say that, have you played Lost Winds, Toki Tori or FFCCMLAAK?

    Also, the online version (without multiplayer, obviously) follows the same premise and works on the Wii Opera browser as well! To play it, Google "Defend Your Castle" and select the top result.


    Toki Tori was in my opinion beat for first and is now my second favorite;FFCC:MLAAK was a slight disappointment I brought it and Lostwinds isn't my kind of game.
    I think on the Internet channel it's laggy and slow which dosen't look as good.
    high my score to 91%.

    I can understand your previous score of 80%, but 91%? Calm down. It's good, but it isn't that good a game.

  7. Mr.GameandWatch Saturday 2nd Aug 2008 at 19:00

    This deserves more,80% at least this is the best WiiWare offering.

    I would't say that, have you played Lost Winds, Toki Tori or FFCCMLAAK?

    Also, the online version (without multiplayer, obviously) follows the same premise and works on the Wii Opera browser as well! To play it, Google "Defend Your Castle" and select the top result.


    Toki Tori was in my opinion beat for first and is now my second favorite;FFCC:MLAAK was a slight disappointment I brought it and Lostwinds isn't my kind of game.
    I think on the Internet channel it's laggy and slow which dosen't look as good.
    high my score to 91%.

    I can understand your previous score of 80%, but 91%? Calm down. It's good, but it isn't that good a game.


    I'm Joking 80% is fine.

  8. wii_underworld Sunday 3rd Aug 2008 at 13:44

    This deserves more,80% at least this is the best WiiWare offering.

    I would't say that, have you played Lost Winds, Toki Tori or FFCCMLAAK?

    Also, the online version (without multiplayer, obviously) follows the same premise and works on the Wii Opera browser as well! To play it, Google "Defend Your Castle" and select the top result.


    Toki Tori was in my opinion beat for first and is now my second favorite;FFCC:MLAAK was a slight disappointment I brought it and Lostwinds isn't my kind of game.
    I think on the Internet channel it's laggy and slow which dosen't look as good.
    high my score to 91%.

    I can understand your previous score of 80%, but 91%? Calm down. It's good, but it isn't that good a game.


    I'm Joking 80% is fine.


    Are you kiddin? 97% is more like it!
    Seriously, though, i've played this and while its easy at the beginning, it soon ramps up and by round 40 you're thanking god for those gaps of relief between rounds. 75%-85% in my opinion. Mainly because the archers and castle builders are a waste of time,

  9. Poke365 Tuesday 5th Aug 2008 at 19:04

    WHATS THE WEBSITE FOR THE ONLINE VERSION?

  10. AndyB26 Tuesday 5th Aug 2008 at 21:35

    Ok I think this game deserves around 80% because despite it being an updated version of an already exsitant online game it is everything Wii Ware should be - cheap, enjoyable while it lasts and good for short burst of play yet can also pull you in for a long time

  11. Livin in a box Thursday 7th Aug 2008 at 22:09

    Defend your Castle is a great WiiWare game; just what you should expect of it. Even though it is easy, it's not that easy. I found it to be quite amusing hearing it when a bomb goes off. It's just a person making an explosion noise. It deserves more than 68%. 82% at the least.

  12. ONM SUXS BALLS Friday 8th Aug 2008 at 16:56

    DUDE this is a copy of protect your castle on yoyogames
    for a competition!

    here is the link


    http://www.yoyogames.com/games/show/47626

    :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!:

  13. noodle link Friday 8th Aug 2008 at 18:13

    DUDE this is a copy of protect your castle on yoyogames
    for a competition!

    and that was probably a copy of the original game on xgen studios!.
    god, just cos a game is on a site it doesn't mean the site made it, honestly.
    the original was made by XGEN, you got that.

  14. calzum Friday 8th Aug 2008 at 19:49

    ive played that on xgengames
    hes the link if u want
    http://www.xgenstudios.com/play/castle

  15. emperor ing Monday 11th Aug 2008 at 17:25

    You've underrated this game Chris. The web version is tiring on the wrist, but it passes the time well (especially in lessons at school when there was no work). So when I get more Wii points (just spent them on Dr Mario), I'll be getting this.

  16. sahoskins1 Sunday 17th Aug 2008 at 19:05

    ONM have been very harsh on the score here. 75% minimum IMO

  17. Smash-bros fan Monday 18th Aug 2008 at 16:46

    WHATS THE WEBSITE FOR THE ONLINE VERSION?


    http://www.uplaygames.com/load.php?id=33
    Thats one of the many sites it is on

  18. lattywatty Wednesday 20th Aug 2008 at 20:44

    EASY?! Have you got to level 45?

    It's really hard, but a nice difficulty level; not impossible, but challenging.

    80% very minimum.

  19. Rynowarrior Tuesday 2nd Sep 2008 at 09:18

    68%? Really? Deserves at least 84%.

    Not that easy, I had 20 health left on level 34. :(

  20. colescj Tuesday 2nd Sep 2008 at 18:10

    defend you castle is wicked with a few more unlockables this should get a gold award now, 85% :D

  21. Rnald Wednesday 3rd Sep 2008 at 17:23

    This anything similar to storm the house?

  22. MattLorrigan Thursday 4th Sep 2008 at 11:42

    I thought this was great, and especially fun when you have 2 players. It costs only £3.50, and .it is hard when you get above level 35 - very stressful, especially when the catapults come, you've run out of spells, and you find out that just one explosion doesn't work! 75-80% at least, I would say.

  23. mandlecreed Thursday 4th Sep 2008 at 12:08

    68% is too high I reckon. Got it yesterday, and yeah, it's good throwaway fun, but there's not alot to it past the few upgrades, as has been said. Sure, it gets difficult, but the variety stops.

    However, for £3.50, I'm not one to grumble. An average game, for sure; and with it, an average score from me : 50%.

  24. jamesgower Friday 30th Jan 2009 at 21:52

    THIS GAME DESERVES GOLD AWARD. IT IT BRILLIANT, AMAZING, AND ULTIMATE. AT LEAST 90% PLEASE ONM. THIS IS NOT FAIR ON THE GAME :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:

  25. kidner87 Tuesday 10th Mar 2009 at 15:14

    Its an OK game with a lot of replay value simply because you can save it and pick it back up at a later date no matter what level you are on. Its simple in its design and thats where lies both its genius and its unfortanately, from me average score of 65%. Once youve purchased your upgrades and continually upgraded your defences it starts to get a bit to easy. So for 500 points (£3.50) its fine but dont expect a game with any depth.

  26. Sonic Freak Saturday 3rd Apr 2010 at 10:55

    Fun for a muck about, but not that brilliant!

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.