Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Tiger Woods PGA Tour 09 All Play Review

The world's best golfer is back on form...

"The key to playing a solid round of golf in this game is to master the controls." These are the game's first words which is fair enough if they bloody work and fortunately, unlike last year's effort, they do.

Now you have three different swing settings. In standard mode, curving the ball (or fade and draw) can be set before you swing by dragging two arrows left and right on the target circle. This does away with the problem of previous games where you'd almost always get accidental curve on your shot thanks to over-sensitive motion controls.

Stick it on advanced and you get real-time curve control back, twisting the remote as you swing to add draw or fade. And it's better now because there's a larger neutral point, meaning you really have to twist to Remote to get any curve, and again avoiding accidental draw or fade.

And All-Play mode draws out your shot with a preview line before you hit the ball, so you know what'll happen. The only problem now is getting the right amount of power in your shots - it's still over sensitive and tiny alterations of your swing can mean the difference between 30 and 70 percent power.

It's not perfect but greatly improved, and with tons of game modes and tournaments in here, you'll get a solid round of golf out of this. Finally.

Comments

14 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. Goldentwister Tuesday 2nd Sep 2008 at 13:43

    This game does sound good, but you didn't mention the online play in the review. I was thouroughly disappointed with PGA Tour 2007, and didn't bother buying 2008, but because of online play, more tournements and the controls have been tweaked, I think i might get 2009.

  2. GamerKid Tuesday 2nd Sep 2008 at 14:34

    It sounds alright but I wont buy it

  3. chino40k Tuesday 2nd Sep 2008 at 15:41

    Had it since thursday and it's quite excellent. very impressed.

  4. Reevys Tuesday 2nd Sep 2008 at 16:31

    I'd only buy it if you could use the analogue stick on the nunchuk to swing like you could in the previous Tiger Woods games.

  5. super_chris Tuesday 2nd Sep 2008 at 19:35

    Only 85% =O

    IGNs review say its better than Wii Love Golf. And tbh, I aggre.

  6. SALTYB0B Tuesday 2nd Sep 2008 at 23:35

    ea should have been prepared for the motionplus, it would turn the expert mode practically into a simulator, i dont know whether it would have been possible to hold a mode for a piece of hardware which will not be released for a while...

    well i guess tiger will be using the motion plus with tiger woods 2010...

  7. Anonymous Wednesday 3rd Sep 2008 at 13:50

    Once again after the lackluster review of Race Driver:GRID, we have yet another. A couple of short paragraphs, as far as I'm concerned, is an extremely poor excuse for a review. What is it with the ONM? Have they given up? I've already stopped subscribing to their magazine. Now I might even remove their website from my Bookmarks the way this is going. Terrible.
    As far as this game goes, it is very good and plays very well. The menus are FAR better than last years game, and are far more suited to Wii control. There are lots of great multiplayer modes too, as well as online. Great stuff- and it looks far better than We Love Golf, which I can't believe they used a swing meter with.

  8. ChandraONM Wednesday 3rd Sep 2008 at 17:38

    Once again after the lackluster review of Race Driver:GRID, we have yet another. A couple of short paragraphs, as far as I'm concerned, is an extremely poor excuse for a review. What is it with the ONM? Have they given up? I've already stopped subscribing to their magazine. Now I might even remove their website from my Bookmarks the way this is going. Terrible.
    As far as this game goes, it is very good and plays very well. The menus are FAR better than last years game, and are far more suited to Wii control. There are lots of great multiplayer modes too, as well as online. Great stuff- and it looks far better than We Love Golf, which I can't believe they used a swing meter with.

    The finished code turned up far too late which means the magazine review will hit the shelves weeks after the actual game did. This is EA's fault, not ours. Because of this the game is automatically included in the mag as a small review. As all the reviews on this website are the very same as the ones in the mag that automatically means that the Tiger 09 review is only as big as a standard Round-Up review, which is only 150 words long.

    Our apologies for the length -- ultimately it's EA's fault and they know it. It's the same for MADDEN, and NBA too. It'll no doubt be the same for Need For Speed as well. Thankfully things look to be slightly better for FIFA.

  9. ChandraONM Wednesday 3rd Sep 2008 at 17:44

    Once again after the lackluster review of Race Driver:GRID, we have yet another. A couple of short paragraphs, as far as I'm concerned, is an extremely poor excuse for a review. What is it with the ONM? Have they given up? I've already stopped subscribing to their magazine. Now I might even remove their website from my Bookmarks the way this is going. Terrible.
    As far as this game goes, it is very good and plays very well. The menus are FAR better than last years game, and are far more suited to Wii control. There are lots of great multiplayer modes too, as well as online. Great stuff- and it looks far better than We Love Golf, which I can't believe they used a swing meter with.

    But yes, you're right, ONM has given up. I'm writing this from my desk at nearly 7pm and I'll probably be here till 10 trying to get the latest issue the best it can be. So go ahead -- take ONM off your bookmarks.

  10. Sabrewulf Thursday 4th Sep 2008 at 20:30

    I completely agree with the review, it is a great game and really fun but the power especially on the iron and wegde shots are sometimes a bit odd, but when I need 90% to get to the hole I hit 73% and bang in an eagle, so not too annoyed :lol:

  11. phil44 Saturday 6th Sep 2008 at 21:33

    Once again after the lackluster review of Race Driver:GRID, we have yet another. A couple of short paragraphs, as far as I'm concerned, is an extremely poor excuse for a review. What is it with the ONM? Have they given up? I've already stopped subscribing to their magazine. Now I might even remove their website from my Bookmarks the way this is going. Terrible.
    As far as this game goes, it is very good and plays very well. The menus are FAR better than last years game, and are far more suited to Wii control. There are lots of great multiplayer modes too, as well as online. Great stuff- and it looks far better than We Love Golf, which I can't believe they used a swing meter with.

    But yes, you're right, ONM has given up. I'm writing this from my desk at nearly 7pm and I'll probably be here till 10 trying to get the latest issue the best it can be. So go ahead -- take ONM off your bookmarks.

    Guys i have to say you are doing a good job just to get mags out and with some great free stuff and i have to agree if u dont get a game on time its not you fault and 150 words is probebly nough for a ea yearly update game anyway. One thing though i found in the copy i played at a mates the comentry was way off at times e.g it said it was in the hole when it clearly wasn't did you people have the same problem.
    p.s i remeber asking you to get a review out before the release of HOTD wii and you did it so clearly you are doing the best you can.

  12. slangman Tuesday 9th Sep 2008 at 12:51

    Finally EA makes a great Tiger Woods Game. Dunno if i will buy it though since i am not fussed on sports titles.

  13. wee mario man Friday 12th Sep 2008 at 19:59

    I've had this game since launch day and I'm really impressed with it.

    Seeing as I play golf myself this is the best game youre going to get in terms of realism and I think it should get at least a gold award.

    Trust me if you like golf get this game.

  14. xs3mx Tuesday 23rd Dec 2008 at 22:59

    Was going ro get fifa 09 today a toys r us but they had none in stock so i did not know to get this or fifa or xmas tomorrow i though wait till fifa and now im regretting it big time

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.