Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Call of Duty: Ghosts Review

Wraith not, want not?

When Mark Antony instructs his men to, "Cry 'havoc' and let slip the dogs of war!" we doubt he's referring to actual dogs, let alone ones wearing mind-controlling hats. Yet here we are in Ghosts, steering an Alsatian via back-mounted camera as he slinks through long grass and crunches on throats as if they were chew toys.

It's a daft and ever so slightly desperate attempt to disguise a formula nailed in place back in Modern Warfare 1; this is the same scripted stealth as All Ghillied Up, now with a wagging tail. Deviate from the script and he'll go the way of Old Yeller.

A new dog can't teach an old COD new tricks then, but does it actually matter? Call Of Duty makes no bones about being a choreographed rollercoaster, especially not with Riley around, as he loves bones. Sit, beg and roll over on Infinity Ward's command and, in exchange, it'll trundle you through incredible set pieces. By the time you meet Riley (the dog) you've already experienced Die Hard on a space station and seen a giant space lance turned on its US owners, in what is now known as Operation I Told You That Giant Space Lance Was A Bad Idea.

Spirited Comeback

COD's A-to-B thrill ride is snootily dismissed as a 'corridor shooter', which either undersells the game, or oversells corridors. In the corridor by our office, for example, there's a water cooler. In one corridor in Ghosts there's a collapsed dam, ripping apart said corridor with gushing death. In a separate, underwater, corridor, you escape sharks and tumbling depth charges. It pushes us through vertical corridors down the outside of gleaming skyscrapers; aerial corridors liberated via helicopter and icy corridors that crack under explosive stress. Back in ONM's corridors, we once found a plate of free sandwiches.

Previous 1 2 3 4 Next page

Comments

17 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. marka23 Sunday 12th Jan 2014 at 17:41

    This came out in November and the review has only just been uploaded on the site when the next cod will be announced in 2 months. good timing.

  2. TheVelvetRoom Sunday 12th Jan 2014 at 18:05

    To be fair, it's not like the Wii u audience particularly cares at this point. At launch week, the Wii U version was outsold by the PS4 version, and that was a month before the PS4 was even out. Still, I'm glad ONM have at least went to the trouble of reviewing it, since I want to be informed on the port considering it's one of the few series still giving consideration to the Wii U, as bizarre as it is for Call of Duty to be doing so.

  3. imbusydoctorwho Monday 13th Jan 2014 at 07:55

    The single player is okay but nothing special and the multi-player is pretty good.
    I love the Aliens mode though,shame there;s only one level.

  4. marka23 Monday 13th Jan 2014 at 15:44

    I have it for PC and it's my first cod game and I think that the single player is brilliant and is quite challenging on veteran difficulty, but the amount of foul language constantly being screamed down my ears ruins the multiplayer experience.

  5. Yell-Darb Wednesday 15th Jan 2014 at 10:11

    To be fair, it's not like the Wii u audience particularly cares at this point. At launch week, the Wii U version was outsold by the PS4 version, and that was a month before the PS4 was even out. Still, I'm glad ONM have at least went to the trouble of reviewing it, since I want to be informed on the port considering it's one of the few series still giving consideration to the Wii U, as bizarre as it is for Call of Duty to be doing so.


    What??? Ofcourse they should be doing so! Why are you even on this site if you want to bury Ninty???
    I don't know 1 person in my family or friends with a PS4, I'll be buyng this game for MY Wii U though!!!

  6. samus_killer Wednesday 15th Jan 2014 at 12:13

    What??? Ofcourse they should be doing so! Why are you even on this site if you want to bury Ninty???
    I don't know 1 person in my family or friends with a PS4, I'll be buyng this game for MY Wii U though!!!


    Could you imagine people with more of a broad opinion on gaming and didn't just pigeonhole themselves to one company? Shocking.

  7. Yell-Darb Wednesday 15th Jan 2014 at 17:13

    What??? Ofcourse they should be doing so! Why are you even on this site if you want to bury Ninty???
    I don't know 1 person in my family or friends with a PS4, I'll be buyng this game for MY Wii U though!!!


    Could you imagine people with more of a broad opinion on gaming and didn't just pigeonhole themselves to one company? Shocking.


    Don't need to. This is the official NINTENDO magazine website!!! t**t

  8. Chill2868 Wednesday 5th Feb 2014 at 16:42

    The online is fantastic. While most people would imagine an online wasteland full of "casual players", a paradox has been created. Because the majority of the casual audience aren't even aware of the wii u s existence, everybody playing online is really high ranking.

  9. RubMyMasterSword Thursday 6th Feb 2014 at 14:13

    I am more of a guy who likes catching fairy's in bottles ect. Still ended up buying the game...For my girlfriend whom love this game online. Who I may add, has allot more online friends. I wish I had more of a feminine gentle voice like the annoying Navi. Then maybe id have more then 2 friends on my WiiU.

  10. mav Thursday 6th Feb 2014 at 14:25

    it is one of the games I am likely to get - even as a Nintendo fan boy I care about stuff like this, just less than other games.

  11. RubMyMasterSword Thursday 6th Feb 2014 at 15:11

    it is one of the games I am likely to get - even as a Nintendo fan boy I care about stuff like this, just less than other games.

    Id get It if you enjoy the COD series, Don't get me wrong I don't dislike the game. I just don't enjoy it as much as the missus. She loves beating the lads. Plus its best on this console since Nintendo players tend to be less ''jerks'' to other gamers since not that much people own the console.

  12. James McNevin Friday 7th Feb 2014 at 16:43

    Same old, same old.

    Snore.

    Of course CoD: Ghosts is going to sell well, but just not on the Wii U. That's not necessarily a bad thing though because I'd like to think we Nintendo fans are individuals that have a highly developed palette for games. This palette has been trained by being exposed to years, generations and consoles worth of different games of varying genres.

    We are true gamers.

    This is going to be an epically sweeping statement, but at this point I really don't care. Here goes; fans of Call of Duty are not gamers. Think about your typical CoD player. They never grew up with the simple joys of stomping Goombas or cutting down the tall grass on the plains of Hyrule on their way to their next brain boggling dungeon. Neither did they throw their controllers down in defeat because of the extreme learning curve of games such as Ninja Gaiden, Megaman or Batman for the NES. They didn't shiver with anticipation of things to come as they made their first baby steps on Route 1 in the Kanto Region. They never got the pants scared off them by donning a power suit and landing on the hostile and isolated planet of Zebes for the first time.

    CoD fans don't know what it was like to grow up with a controller in their hands.

    CoD players are your typical frat boy dudebros that only got into CoD through roomates at college or they're nine year old kids that are too young to know of and appreciate the 'good old days'. They are completely devoid of any sort of gaming palette yet they have the audacity to criticise us for being Nintendo fans? How ignorant and completely stupid do they have to be? Honestly.

    That is why CoD will never be a successful franchise on a Nintendo console whilst simultaneously selling like hot cakes on other systems.

    To do a quick summary of the game I'll just say that it has nothing new or innovative to bring to the table, but you kinda expected that really, didnt you? It is the same damn game you bought a few months ago when you bought CoD BlOps 2 but I mean it'd be a crime if Activision were that lazy. They had to put SOME effort in and they totally have. I mean c'mon, its been reskinned and has the word 'Ghosts' in the title instead of 'Blackops 2' so it totally isn't the same game. Honest. Oh, and it has dogs too. Yay for dogs.

    But in all seriousness, mercifully it is looking like CoD will soon lose its FPS crown as genre fatigue is slowly setting in. CoD: Ghosts is the worst selling title in an undeservedly successful franchise because people (yes, even the mindless buffoons that are still gullible enough to buy the same repackaged and reskinned game every six months) are finally getting sick of Activision's lazy attempts at running a franchise. They ran Guitar Hero into the ground and they are starting to do the same with Call of Duty. Halle-effin'-lujah. I guess people are stupid but they're not that stupid.

  13. mariomafia Tuesday 11th Feb 2014 at 07:50

    and what gives you the right to dictate who gamers are and who they are not ? Just because they are not playing on your precious console they are not gamers? casual people play warcraft or mobile games but they are not gamers either?

    i had an ex girlfriend who plays Cod as well as 3DS and things like Dishonoured, so she wasn;t a gamer either?

    my next door Neighbor is a 30 something father with a great job and a love of gardening, but none of that matters coz he is a fratboy lelelel.

    you are just coming across as some butthurt fanboy jtrying to get attention ust because their favourite console is flatlining, you have absolutely no idea what you are talking about.

    so the legions of people who bought Mario Kart are the same ? most pepople got it bundled with the Wii, and mostly younger kids played it, but online you had a broad range of players .

    the U version counts for less than 1 % of the overall sales of Ghosts.

  14. mav Tuesday 11th Feb 2014 at 12:17

    Gamers = people who play games.

    the end.

    I care about the WiiU version alone because I am not in the situation of being able to justify owning multiple consoles either in terms of time or cash outlay.

    I hope there is a corner for noobs online else it will be to much like what drove me away from it before.

  15. Yinga Garten Tuesday 11th Feb 2014 at 18:05

    Same old, same old.

    Snore.

    Of course CoD: Ghosts is going to sell well, but just not on the Wii U. That's not necessarily a bad thing though because I'd like to think we Nintendo fans are individuals that have a highly developed palette for games. This palette has been trained by being exposed to years, generations and consoles worth of different games of varying genres.

    We are true gamers.

    This is going to be an epically sweeping statement, but at this point I really don't care. Here goes; fans of Call of Duty are not gamers. Think about your typical CoD player. They never grew up with the simple joys of stomping Goombas or cutting down the tall grass on the plains of Hyrule on their way to their next brain boggling dungeon. Neither did they throw their controllers down in defeat because of the extreme learning curve of games such as Ninja Gaiden, Megaman or Batman for the NES. They didn't shiver with anticipation of things to come as they made their first baby steps on Route 1 in the Kanto Region. They never got the pants scared off them by donning a power suit and landing on the hostile and isolated planet of Zebes for the first time.

    CoD fans don't know what it was like to grow up with a controller in their hands.

    CoD players are your typical frat boy dudebros that only got into CoD through roomates at college or they're nine year old kids that are too young to know of and appreciate the 'good old days'. They are completely devoid of any sort of gaming palette yet they have the audacity to criticise us for being Nintendo fans? How ignorant and completely stupid do they have to be? Honestly.

    That is why CoD will never be a successful franchise on a Nintendo console whilst simultaneously selling like hot cakes on other systems.

    To do a quick summary of the game I'll just say that it has nothing new or innovative to bring to the table, but you kinda expected that really, didnt you? It is the same damn game you bought a few months ago when you bought CoD BlOps 2 but I mean it'd be a crime if Activision were that lazy. They had to put SOME effort in and they totally have. I mean c'mon, its been reskinned and has the word 'Ghosts' in the title instead of 'Blackops 2' so it totally isn't the same game. Honest. Oh, and it has dogs too. Yay for dogs.

    But in all seriousness, mercifully it is looking like CoD will soon lose its FPS crown as genre fatigue is slowly setting in. CoD: Ghosts is the worst selling title in an undeservedly successful franchise because people (yes, even the mindless buffoons that are still gullible enough to buy the same repackaged and reskinned game every six months) are finally getting sick of Activision's lazy attempts at running a franchise. They ran Guitar Hero into the ground and they are starting to do the same with Call of Duty. Halle-effin'-lujah. I guess people are stupid but they're not that stupid.

    nerd

  16. Guwuh Tuesday 11th Feb 2014 at 18:10

    words

    http://i.imgur.com/GFs30b4.gif

  17. dumpandchase78 Wednesday 12th Feb 2014 at 17:50

    Picked this up on Monday. Really enjoying the multiplayer, openly admit I haven't touched the campaign.

    It has a very different pace and feel to it than Black Ops 2, which is taking me some adjusting to, but this is good otherwise I'd be better off just playing Black Ops 2. It's not like the Wii U is spoilt for choice with online FPS variety.

    I'm 36 and enjoy playing Mario and Zelda games as well, hope that's OK? (fair review!)

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.