Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Lego Batman Review

The Dark Knight is bricking it...

The joy of this successful series so far has not so much been in building blocks, punching enemies or collecting those damn studs but in playing out your favourite film moments, LEGO-style. So with no classic film to reference LEGO Batman doesn't quite manage to hit the heights of the Star Wars and Indiana Jones games.

LEGO Batman has nothing to do with the brilliant Dark Knight film but takes its inspiration from the comics and it's probably fair to say that while everyone will recognise the Joker and The Riddler, the likes of Croc and Clayface show up for the fans.

Click to view larger image

The Great Escape

In this original story that sees Gotham's major criminals breaking out of Arkham Asylum, you begin by playing as Batman and Robin, switching between the two and taking on an enemy in each level. It is a bit more action-packed than LEGO Indiana Jones with more enemies appearing (and re-appearing) on screen at once and it's a more challenging too. While LEGO Indy gave you big flashing hints to help you solve its 'puzzles', Batman lets you work things out for yourself. The result is something that feels more like a proper action game rather than a series of chapters to speed through as quickly as possible to get to your favourite film moment.

So why does it sometimes feel like such a chore? Well coming so soon after collecting all the artefacts, red bricks and completing both Story and Free Play modes in LEGO Indiana Jones it is a bit of a struggle to have to do it all over again, only in Batman and Robin costumes. It is the same basic idea each time and while these tongue-in-cheek LEGO games are proving far more enjoyable than sserious titles such as Iron Man and Hulk, you've got to wonder how much longer the fun will last.

Comments

24 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. mario34567 Friday 10th Oct 2008 at 14:47

    How dissapointing.
    I was hoping it would get a gold award but it obviously doesn't deserve it.
    Never mind. :(

  2. Yoshie Friday 10th Oct 2008 at 15:08

    Well, my copy arrived yesterday (With a kickass keyring), and I found the game to be great! It may be because I didn't play LEGO Indiana Jones, so I don't know about "doing it all over again", but I finished the first chapter last night. I thought that the game was funny, because it had its moments, and the driving stages were awesome. I really love the fact that there's 15 levels on the hero stage alone, (YAHOO!) and the puzzles are quite hard. (Like in LEGO Star Wars.) My only problem is the combat. Batman and Robin don't have any long range attacks except for the batarang, but it's annoying to have to get it out to hit far away enimies, but, I like how they included the batrang as a sort of "defensive" move, so I was happy. From me, the game gets an 85%.

  3. GamerKid Friday 10th Oct 2008 at 16:07

    pppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy :( :!: :!: :!:

  4. GamerKid Friday 10th Oct 2008 at 16:08

    pppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy :( :!: :!: :!:

  5. Dean Thompson Friday 10th Oct 2008 at 16:14

    i wouldn't really know about the game as i have not played on it (at a guess though i would say 82%ish)

    BUT the award for dumbest comment on a game goes to tom east for "So with no classic film to reference".

    dear lord...

  6. Super_Sonic96 Friday 10th Oct 2008 at 16:52

    A real shame, the LEGO series has such an opportunity to make a fantastic game with all the comedy, action, fun and puzzles a game will ever need, but they keep on doing rush jobs to make sure the game comes out out around the time the movie is released. Hopefully next time they could perhaps take a franchise, or even make there own original LEGO game so they won't have to rush it and make sure it fits into the LEGO series perfectly, and in the process taking the franchise to a new level. Perhaps they could make a LEGO Harry Potter, LEGO War, LEGO future war, LEGO Hero, LEGO Superman, LEGO Iron Man etc...Or even make their own chapter of a classic franchise/movie. For instance, they could make their own LEGO Star wars game, but make it a LEGO original Force Unleashed stlye. Only maybe set it before or after the the movies so that it doesn't get in the way of the movies. Blimey.....I think that comment was longer than the review itself :D But I seriously think they should give some of those ideas a thought....Apart from LEGO Superman, yeh, definatley scrap LEGO Superman :D :D :D :D .....

  7. Yoshie Friday 10th Oct 2008 at 18:58

    OK, My advice is this: if this is your first LEGO-themed game, if you're a massive batman fan or if you're looking for something easy yet fun, get this game. If you are a hardcore fan of the LEGO series, and have played LEGO Star Wars and LEGO Indiana Jones to death, then don't bother.

  8. Shikea Friday 10th Oct 2008 at 21:51

    this was the best one so far easy....

  9. daddybobo Saturday 11th Oct 2008 at 07:50

    Having had and played the other Lego games I will be getting this. My mrs and I enjoy playing them together as she isn't into hard core games. It sounds like the puzzles will be a little more challenging too so thats always a plus. And Batman rocks in any form.

    How about for the next Lego game we have James Bond 007. Now there are about 20 classic movies to choose from. Good idea or not?

  10. Kendall Saturday 11th Oct 2008 at 19:10

    looks brilliant, and the fact the ONM doesnt like it because its not based on a film is stupid, surely you would rather play a new original story than one taht you have seen a million times before
    But I do agree that it would be awesome if it was based on Dark Knight, but nowhere near as good

    now we need Lego Spidey nd LEGO 007

  11. Nook T Nook 00 Sunday 12th Oct 2008 at 09:39

    Really? Well I'm shocked.
    I've heard quite good things about this game. I probally wont buy it, but still it doesn't look like the same game just with Batman.

    Tbh I think they should just leave the lego games for now. Star wars was great, never played Lego indy and if this one is apparently the same game then it's going no where.

  12. Randomite Sunday 12th Oct 2008 at 14:31

    Again the negattive points for this game baffle me. I mean first party games such as Mario, Zelda etc etc haven't changed drastically since the N64 yet they are given 90%+ scores.

  13. Akerjlg Sunday 12th Oct 2008 at 14:51

    Great game.

    All the appeal of the Lego games thus far plus a bunch of great little ideas singling this out compared to Indiana Jones and Batman, but all the familiar humor, gamnes engine and sheer hapopy go lucky enjoyment seen throughout the series.

    Plus, it's all suprisingly dark.

    And who doesn't like Batman?

  14. Wii-Man Monday 13th Oct 2008 at 09:24

    I got this game on saturday before i read a review( weird i know!) But having played LEGO Star Wars i knew it could be trusted to deliver.. Have to say i really enjoy it.Playing it with a 3 year-old as Robin is bleeding hard though!! He wanders all over the plac while i try to figure out where i am going! :evil:

    Think the review sold it a bit short. Sure its gonna get compared to previous LEGO games but on its own its still a quality title....I'd give it 89%.

    IT IS BATMAN AFTER ALL!!! :D

  15. tomonm Monday 13th Oct 2008 at 10:26

    looks brilliant, and the fact the ONM doesnt like it because its not based on a film is stupid, surely you would rather play a new original story than one taht you have seen a million times before
    But I do agree that it would be awesome if it was based on Dark Knight, but nowhere near as good

    now we need Lego Spidey nd LEGO 007


    I think you misunderstand me. What made LEGO Star Wars so refreshing was that it didn't take itself too seriously and it was a lot of fun seeing famous film set pieces dealt with in such an amusing, tongue in cheek way. The Indiana Jones series also has enough classic moments in the original trilogy to make a LEGO game worthwhile. I don't think there is a great deal of enjoyment to be gained from collecting endless items and completing each level twice (in story and free mode). Yet without the amusing set pieces to follow, that's what you're left with - another collectathon only with Batman characters rather than Star Wars or Indy. That doesn't mean I want to it be LEGO The Dark Knight because I don't.

    Fair enough, if you are a big fan of Batman comics and you haven't just finished playing LEGO Indiana Jones, there's no reason why you won't enjoy it. It is a good game and 79% isn't a bad score. Yet I'm worried that what started out as a refreshing and exciting series is in danger of getting stale if it follows the same formula every time.

  16. LEGEND MARIOID Monday 13th Oct 2008 at 20:24

    Although it has its fundamental similarities, for me it does enough to warrant a higher score than the reviewer has given the game. It still has different aspects than Indy or Star Wars.

    Lego games are always going to be those "super-easy" die then reappear games. The clue is in the title of "Lego" when trying to judge what sort of a challenge this game is going to be (Clue: what age range are lego bricks aimed at?). Having said that it is fun for all ages. 84% at least for me.

  17. allanironmaiden Tuesday 14th Oct 2008 at 12:18

    looks brilliant, and the fact the ONM doesnt like it because its not based on a film is stupid, surely you would rather play a new original story than one taht you have seen a million times before
    But I do agree that it would be awesome if it was based on Dark Knight, but nowhere near as good

    now we need Lego Spidey nd LEGO 007


    I think you misunderstand me. What made LEGO Star Wars so refreshing was that it didn't take itself too seriously and it was a lot of fun seeing famous film set pieces dealt with in such an amusing, tongue in cheek way. The Indiana Jones series also has enough classic moments in the original trilogy to make a LEGO game worthwhile. I don't think there is a great deal of enjoyment to be gained from collecting endless items and completing each level twice (in story and free mode). Yet without the amusing set pieces to follow, that's what you're left with - another collectathon only with Batman characters rather than Star Wars or Indy. That doesn't mean I want to it be LEGO The Dark Knight because I don't.

    Fair enough, if you are a big fan of Batman comics and you haven't just finished playing LEGO Indiana Jones, there's no reason why you won't enjoy it. It is a good game and 79% isn't a bad score. Yet I'm worried that what started out as a refreshing and exciting series is in danger of getting stale if it follows the same formula every time.

    the thing is, anything under 80% or low 80% is very much ofte considered a poor-ish game. to give a game a low score such as 79% based upon the fact you have just finished lego Indie is completely unfair on the game itself.
    i'm sure i peak for many when i ask what score would you give the game as a stand alone game by itself, ignoring the fact you've played the other lego games to death??

  18. My name is Earl Thursday 16th Oct 2008 at 15:53

    This game seems a bit pointless to me. Why not make a real batman game with we controls.

  19. DrSpoony Thursday 16th Oct 2008 at 15:59

    Well said allanironmaiden.

    Just because its the same game doesnt stop it being fun, look at alot of the early mario and sonic games, they where all practically the same, apart from a new character or a small twist in the plot. You also have to remember its designed for a more casual audience who arent likely to want to play it all the time. Kids especially, -its simple to play and understand -its fun. So what if it stays the same game forever, as long as its intended audience enjoys it, and correct me if im wrong, but most young children arent interested in ground breaking games, they dont want to find out that theres a new in-depth stratergy element included into the game, or its become 1st person, what they want is a game they know they will enjoy. Im a hard-core gamer myself, and find myself playing games such as Couter-Strike, but IMO the Lego games are great fun because you can play with anyone and its a great laugh. Im also sure that they (TT) would have beta tested these games with different features in them to see if they work. All they are doing is making games people want. What would you do if they put guns in mario? Mario has essentially stayed the same game since 64, only now the worlds are round not flat. Dont even get me started on Pokemon ... :P
    /end_rant

  20. YAYFORNINTENDO Thursday 16th Oct 2008 at 16:19

    Seeing as i think Lego Indiana Jones is one of the worst games ever, i wont be buying this.

  21. Ironman Saturday 18th Oct 2008 at 16:14

    This is way better than lego star wars in every way.
    For starters its a new story, it has better level design, the charcters are more varied and there are better vehicle's and the best thing about this is that it is fun. You give this 79% woah I can't wait to see what you give wii music (which isn't even a game)

  22. andrewwsmith Saturday 18th Oct 2008 at 21:40

    lego batman is better than indiana jones you get to choose hero or villan non of the other games did 84% at least it should be in the top 50

  23. Wii_Will_Rock_U Tuesday 21st Oct 2008 at 18:14

    This game seems a bit pointless to me. Why not make a real batman game with we controls.


    If you have an Xbox 360 or PS3, there's a dark Arkham Asylum game coming.

  24. Don_Corleone Friday 31st Oct 2008 at 22:51

    You guys should review the DS game.

    Its a massive improvement from the other lego games on DS, and I'm really enjoying it.

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.