Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Tetris Party Review

Time for a block party

You'd think there's little that can be done with Tetris to make it more than a one trick pony, but you'd be wrong. Turns out, there's loads of different modes just waiting to be invented - a fact proven by the release of Tetris Party on WiiWare.

A total of 18 modes including ten completely new single and multiplayer ones have been crammed into Tetris Party, along with not just four player local play but six player online play as well.

It's the single-player side of things which is most varied. The usual Marathon and Endless modes that you'd expect from a Tetris games are still present, but there are now a selection of other weird and wonderful modes that will make you completely rethink the way you play the game.

Click to view larger image
Field Climber, for example, sees you dropping blocks to help a tiny man climb to the top of the screen. The thing is, he can only climb a height of one block, so you'll need to try and make steps without accidentally crushing him or clearing lines and messing things up. Then there's Wii Balance Board Tetris, which lets you use the Balance Board to play. You lean left and right to move the blocks, duck down a bit to rotate and lean forward to drop them. This mode's a bit gimmicky and you're unlikely to play it much on your own, but with a group of friends it's a good laugh.

Add to this the Shadow mode, where you have to drop shapes to fill a space without letting any blocks go outside the edges, the Stage Racer mode where you have to guide a Tetris block through a twisting tunnel and a two-player co-op mode (which gives you a gameplay area of double width and has you working with a mate to clear lines) and you've easily got more modes than any Tetris game ever.

It should go without saying that if you're not a Tetris fan, there won't be anything here that will change your opinion. It's still very much Tetris despite all the bells and whistles. But if you dream of falling blocks, the the huge number of gameplay modes and fantastically addictive online play makes this an essential purchase. The price is slightly inflated, but considering how it feels like so many completely different games in one we have no complaints.

Comments

35 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. Babybowser999 Tuesday 28th Oct 2008 at 11:40

    i wont be getting it
    ive got the ds version and if i want a party game id prefer to play ssbb or mario kart

  2. jct Tuesday 28th Oct 2008 at 11:51

    I am so getting this, along with Bomberman blast. :D

  3. Ubahquiet Tuesday 28th Oct 2008 at 12:01

    I'll be getting this, easily. It's Tetris, that's me sold right there.

    One thing depresses me though, the Beginner Tetris mode I saw in trailers on YT...why? Throw 'em into the real thing and let 'em figure out how to play, it worked for me when I was five, it'll work for newcomers to games now.

    Unless they're really stupid or can't get to grips with any sort of game.

  4. Gamer Xtreme Tuesday 28th Oct 2008 at 15:08

    I have Tetris for the Gameboy...

    No matter how many gimics they come up with, that is enough...

  5. Gordon Ramsey Tuesday 28th Oct 2008 at 15:21

    I got this game as soon as it was available. It's a great Tetris game and very good value.

    I was number 3 in Europe at multiplayer on the first day, now though alot more people have got it and I'm far lower in position. :lol:

  6. super_chris Tuesday 28th Oct 2008 at 15:41

    Got it just after midnight on Friday morning. I love it. Great review ONM.

  7. Lugiatamer493 Tuesday 28th Oct 2008 at 15:47

    wow, 18 modes in a tetris game. thats effort. i doubt i'd get it. once i get more points i'm getting more strongbad eps. i only have the first

  8. nomoreheroes101 Tuesday 28th Oct 2008 at 17:42

    got this on Friday and it is well worth 1200 points as it feels like a whole game, the only thnig that is bad is the balance board but the game modes are great espically shadow which gets quite tough....damn you lightbulb!!!

  9. Ryu5 Tuesday 28th Oct 2008 at 19:11

    Definitely GETTING THIS: I mean it's Tetris, which is good enough, but with 18 different modes and YOU CAN USE THE BALANCE BOARD!!!!

  10. The Sandbag Tuesday 28th Oct 2008 at 19:47

    if i get a fiver for contact on friday, i will spend my pocket money and the money from contact on wii points, and then i will get tetris party and something good for under 1000 points. can anyone recommend anything?

  11. Yellowtail Wednesday 29th Oct 2008 at 06:46

    I'm not getting this because of the ridiculous price.

  12. Super_Sonic96 Wednesday 29th Oct 2008 at 07:52

    So...much....tetris.....My eyes hurt!
    Although i think it should be 200 points cheaper, 1200 points is too much for a game of tetris.

  13. jonny F Wednesday 29th Oct 2008 at 11:58

    I do think it's a steep price but is it worth it? I see you are getting18 different game modes and what i've read in forums the people who has spent that many points seems to think it's value for money has does the onm team. Can't get it at mo but think i will when i get more points(thinking :? )

  14. super-mario-wii Wednesday 29th Oct 2008 at 12:38

    I will by some wii points and buy this and Super Mario 64.

  15. GamerKid Wednesday 29th Oct 2008 at 13:19

    wow, 18 modes in a tetris game. thats effort. i doubt i'd get it. once i get more points i'm getting more strongbad eps. i only have the first

    2 isnt as good as 1

  16. jonners99 Wednesday 29th Oct 2008 at 13:41

    I agree with you Chris, I have had this game since Saturday and think its great. The online mode is good fun too.

  17. Anonymous Wednesday 29th Oct 2008 at 19:06

    episode 2 is better than 1

    too expensive, but i might buy it.

  18. original_pmf Wednesday 29th Oct 2008 at 22:30

    I'm not getting this because of the ridiculous price.

    No way is this ridiculous, well worth the points will keep me occupied for days and days on end!!!!!

  19. DragonLordZ Thursday 30th Oct 2008 at 12:42

    im a tetris addict, so i NEED this game, getting it today.

  20. NirdBerd Thursday 30th Oct 2008 at 13:28

    Getting it today! :D Seeing as I'll have 800 points left over I might pick up Donkey Kong Country 1.

  21. The Sandbag Thursday 30th Oct 2008 at 13:51

    is there any good snes games people recommend? games that aren't super probotector, super mario rpg and super metroid? and should i get tetris party or sin and punishment?

  22. My name is Earl Thursday 30th Oct 2008 at 21:00

    I've already got tetris on ds (and other things) so i don't see whythey made this. It's not like it's got loads of new stuff (it has got some though).

  23. DragonLordZ Saturday 1st Nov 2008 at 12:08

    this game is fantastic, nuff said

  24. Mr Hat Sunday 2nd Nov 2008 at 17:41

    Anyone having doubts should definitely buy this game. Its one of the best things on the wii shop channel! Although, ive gotta admit i wouldnt buy it if i had it on ds.

  25. Mr Hat Sunday 2nd Nov 2008 at 17:41

    Anyone having doubts should definitely buy this game. Its one of the best things on the wii shop channel! Although, ive gotta admit i wouldnt buy it if i had it on ds.

  26. Mr Hat Sunday 2nd Nov 2008 at 17:41

    Anyone having doubts should definitely buy this game. Its one of the best things on the wii shop channel! Although, ive gotta admit i wouldnt buy it if i had it on ds.

  27. Mr Hat Sunday 2nd Nov 2008 at 17:41

    Anyone having doubts should definitely buy this game. Its one of the best things on the wii shop channel! Although, ive gotta admit i wouldnt buy it if i had it on ds.

  28. Mr Hat Sunday 2nd Nov 2008 at 17:41

    Anyone having doubts should definitely buy this game. Its one of the best things on the wii shop channel! Although, ive gotta admit i wouldnt buy it if i had it on ds.

  29. Mr Hat Sunday 2nd Nov 2008 at 17:41

    Anyone having doubts should definitely buy this game. Its one of the best things on the wii shop channel! Although, ive gotta admit i wouldnt buy it if i had it on ds.

  30. Mr Hat Sunday 2nd Nov 2008 at 17:41

    Anyone having doubts should definitely buy this game. Its one of the best things on the wii shop channel! Although, ive gotta admit i wouldnt buy it if i had it on ds.

  31. Mr Hat Sunday 2nd Nov 2008 at 17:41

    Anyone having doubts should definitely buy this game. Its one of the best things on the wii shop channel! Although, ive gotta admit i wouldnt buy it if i had it on ds.

  32. Mr Hat Sunday 2nd Nov 2008 at 17:41

    Anyone having doubts should definitely buy this game. Its one of the best things on the wii shop channel! Although, ive gotta admit i wouldnt buy it if i had it on ds.

  33. Mr Hat Sunday 2nd Nov 2008 at 17:41

    Anyone having doubts should definitely buy this game. Its one of the best things on the wii shop channel! Although, ive gotta admit i wouldnt buy it if i had it on ds.

  34. Mr Hat Sunday 2nd Nov 2008 at 17:41

    Anyone having doubts should definitely buy this game. Its one of the best things on the wii shop channel! Although, ive gotta admit i wouldnt buy it if i had it on ds.

  35. gamingprincess Saturday 8th Nov 2008 at 18:26

    As much as i love Tetris i dont think i will be buying this :wink:

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.