Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Trauma Center: New Blood Review

Anger. Frustration. Arguments. These are three of the occurrences that took place in the ONM office while Trauma Center: New Blood was gracing our Wii with its presence. It should have come as no surprise, of course. Anyone who's played one of the previous Trauma Center games on the Wii or DS should know that frustration is so common that it should be listed on the back of the box as a gameplay feature. But this... this really takes the cake.

In case you're not familiar with the Trauma Center games allow us to fill you in. You take on the role of a doctor and are asked to perform various operations on patients. While these operations start off as fairly straightforward routines - remove glass from a wound, extract tumours, reattach broken bones and the like - they eventually get ridiculous. Some, for example, see you removing biological virus insect things by zapping them with a laser as they swim around in the patient's bloodstream, opening up cuts in their vital organs. Hmm. We must have missed that episode of Holby City.

Click to view larger image
Now, we know the Trauma Center games are popular, and we know they have a following of dedicated fans, but we have to be honest here. While previous games in the series have been difficult, New Blood is just annoying, for numerous reasons. The lack of detailed instruction is frustrating, for example. When you're asked to place a pacemaker then asked to connect the wires to it without any indication as to where they should go, you'll be a bit miffed. But when you realise that every time you try to connect the wire to the wrong place you damage the patient (even though you aren't even touching her) you'll find it hard to keep the rage down. Why should we be punished because the game didn't give us enough information?

Head Trauma

If that wasn't annoying enough, the game's warped sense of logic is also mind-boggling. Why does every single mistake in the game lead to the patient taking huge damage, even

if it wouldn't in real life? During the aforementioned pacemaker operation there are moments when the patient goes into cardiac arrest and performing any action on them will kill them. So we decided to prepare an injection by putting a syringe into a bottle of green fluid. Because we decided to do something (even though it was something that didn't affect the patient) she took damage and died.

At one point we picked something up from

a tray and our finger slipped off the B button, dropping it on the tray again by accident. This also killed our patient. Now, we know some may feel we're taking this a bit seriously and it's just a game but even so, it's an example of lazy programming. Different mistakes should have different results but instead the developers have opted for an over-simplistic 'mess up and kill them' rule that defies logic.

Click to view larger image
New Blood is a huge disappointment. Logistical problems aside, the game's main issue is that it's a Wii game. As the missions are harder than the original's (the skin-grafting one will have you tearing your own face off

in frustration), some require a level of precision that the natural shake of a hand struggles with. Had this been on the DS it'd have been fine but as it is, it's an absolutely infuriating experience.

Comments

25 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. hpmad910 Tuesday 4th Nov 2008 at 17:57

    I don't think i'll get this. I've never played any of the Trauma Center games and this doesn't look like a good place to start.

  2. hpmad910 Tuesday 4th Nov 2008 at 17:57

    I don't think i'll get this. I've never played any of the Trauma Center games and this doesn't look like a good place to start.

  3. hpmad910 Tuesday 4th Nov 2008 at 17:57

    I don't think i'll get this. I've never played any of the Trauma Center games and this doesn't look like a good place to start.

  4. hpmad910 Tuesday 4th Nov 2008 at 17:58

    I don't think i'll get this. I've never played any of the Trauma Center games and this doesn't look like a good place to start.

  5. hpmad910 Tuesday 4th Nov 2008 at 17:59

    I don't think i'll get this. I've never played any of the Trauma Center games and this doesn't look like a good place to start.

  6. kezao Tuesday 4th Nov 2008 at 18:42

    Wow i expected it to be better than second opinion, but tbh 'annoying and frustrating' isnt really something to affect the games score by that much, you just need a little experience in a trauma centre game, play it more and more so you enjoy it alot more :)

  7. Super_Sonic96 Tuesday 4th Nov 2008 at 19:51

    This review made me lol. Haha, gameplay feature...

  8. AarnKrry Tuesday 4th Nov 2008 at 19:53

    It's good that it's hard.

    :roll:

  9. Sylux 2 Tuesday 4th Nov 2008 at 20:57

    I can see what Chris was getting at with the "frustrating" issue, Second Opinion had the same problem. The game however is stupidly hard and it makes pretty much no effort telling you what you do.

    I'm just intrigued how you managed to get to 67% though. :|

  10. pazozo Tuesday 4th Nov 2008 at 21:15

    I'm very tempted to put this on my christmas list, but I do get very easily frustrated. Although, I've completed UTK2 (when's that getting a UK release, by the way?), hopefully some of the missions are similar, they had frustrating skin graft in that as well.

  11. Mama Luigi Tuesday 4th Nov 2008 at 21:50

    After the first game, the series became lackluster.

  12. ChrisONM Wednesday 5th Nov 2008 at 07:40

    Wow i expected it to be better than second opinion, but tbh 'annoying and frustrating' isnt really something to affect the games score by that much, you just need a little experience in a trauma centre game, play it more and more so you enjoy it alot more :)


    To be fair (I wrote the review), I played through the DS game and the first Wii one so I'm used to playing Trauma Center. While those games were frustrating, at least you knew what you had to do at all times. This one is just so vague with its instruction that you end up making countless more needless mistakes which just makes the game infuriating instead of simply challenging.

  13. alex3 Wednesday 5th Nov 2008 at 16:21

    This looks a poor game for the wii and i would never by the game. For the money you could get a better game like mario which is just the best on wii

  14. DR_SALVADOR Thursday 6th Nov 2008 at 14:16

    i dissagree with the score i think its a least worthy of 75% at least sure it may be hard and slightly confusing but atleast its better than being a mini game collection that clog up the Wii sections in shops.

  15. ottren Thursday 6th Nov 2008 at 18:18

    i got Second opinion a while ago and found it a good game. Not brilliant. But this game is worse. The things that second op did well are not here. ie. can the assistant person actually say anything helpfull, not just " What are you doing?" AVOID THIS GAME

    If u like the look of it get SO :evil:

  16. VirtualWii88 Friday 7th Nov 2008 at 00:10

    I have loved the Trauma Center games ever since I played Under The Knife and this looks like a worthy addition to the series.

    Anyway the thing about the pacemaker they mentioned in the review WAS explained, you had to use the ultrasound to find the places where it had to go. This game definitely deserves more than 62%.

  17. Andew Saturday 8th Nov 2008 at 21:26

    I can see what Chris was getting at with the "frustrating" issue, Second Opinion had the same problem. The game however is stupidly hard and it makes pretty much no effort telling you what you do.

    I'm just intrigued how you managed to get to 67% though. :|

    onm owned by game
    onm own game with 67%

    simple enough no?
    seriously onm you suck now,

  18. subspace5000 Wednesday 19th Nov 2008 at 20:49

    Seriously, of all the irritating operations in this game (Awakening, both operations with that HUGE laceration, and Brachion come to mind.) the pacemaker is one of the easier ones. All you have to do is pay attention to where things are before you remove the original one.

    Its a little too hard at times, but it only goes too far on a few of the "hard" operations. And thats the whole point of hard mode, right? :wink:

  19. ElfenLied Saturday 22nd Nov 2008 at 23:23

    Personally I love the Trauma Center games so I guess I'll be getting this one for Chirstmas ^.^

  20. lkiam Thursday 2nd Apr 2009 at 16:53

    I have played and completed both Under The Knife and Second Opinion, both difficult games, but i found New Blood surprisingly easy. The only two operations which gave me bother were 2-5 (Skin Graft) and 7-2.

  21. lkiam Wednesday 8th Apr 2009 at 19:34

    Something in the review confused me. Chris stated that he dropped something back on the tray and the patient died. I've dropped stuff on the tray before and nothing happened.

  22. lkiam Thursday 9th Apr 2009 at 13:03

    New Blood is my favourite game in the series. I don't think it deserves 67%. It has more operations than Second Opinion, it has more "real" operations and the faults you mentioned were also present in Second Opinion, which wasn't marked down. Around 85% is what i think it deserves.

  23. lkiam Saturday 11th Apr 2009 at 11:19

    New Blood is my favourite game in the series. I don't think it deserves 67%. It has more operations than Second Opinion, it has more "real" operations and the faults you mentioned were also present in Second Opinion, which wasn't marked down. Around 85% is what i think it deserves.

    And full voice acting :!:

  24. lkiam Thursday 16th Apr 2009 at 10:56

    Also in the review there were no screenshots past 2-5 (Skin Grafting). This game pwned ONM!!

  25. Lukendo Monday 4th Jul 2011 at 20:31

    Ya know what? I thought this was actually quite EASY. Yes, I agree with the mess up and kill them critisism, but I really enjoyed the series - I love it and would give this game 89% :P

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.