Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Call Of Duty: World At War Review

WWII with Wii Zappers works well...

We know it's hard to believe, but there are other consoles out there other than the Wii, and sometimes - shock horror! - they get great games that the Wii doesn't. One such game was Call Of Duty 4, a first-person shooter which has generally been regarded as one of the best recent games due to its gripping single-player mode and its unbeatable online multiplayer. We were greatly disappointed that it never ended up on the Wii but now it seems Activision is making amends because Call Of Duty: World At War, the fifth game in the series, is here. And it's fantastic.

It's not an official statistic, but we're fairly certain that there have been more videogames based on World War II than there have been individual bullets manufactured since the turn of the 19th century. As a result there was a collective sigh when it was announced that World At War would also be set during WWII. Impressively though the game manages to feel refreshing and original: partly due to the fact it's based on less well-used campaigns, and partly due to its shocking realism.

Click to view larger image

Hard Corps Gamer

The former makes a pleasant change (well, as pleasant as war can be) from the usual "play as an American or a Brit and shoot the Nazis" stuff that features in most WWII games.

Instead, the game has two main storylines: one which follows a private in the United States Marine Corps (voiced by Keifer Sutherland) as he helps fight the Japanese Army in the Pacific, and another in which you play as a private of the Soviet Red Army who teams up with a sergeant and attempts to get revenge on the Germans who executed the rest of his unit at Stalingrad. These stories are extremely well-told throughout each level, with some truly memorable (and shocking) set-pieces at certain points. Watching one of your teammates get a bullet in his head as he's talking to you is deeply unsettling.

War Is Hell

Indeed, it's safe to say that this really isn't suitable for younger gamers. The deaths are gory, the mood is grim and the language is so bad that at times there are more F-bombs being dropped than those of the explosive variety. The game's got a BBFC 15 rating for a reason.

Grittiness and harsh realism will only get a game so far of course, so it's a good job that it's also great fun to play. Not only is the enemy AI realistic, but your CPU-controlled squadmates also behave as you'd expect. They stay back when it's a dodgy situation, advance when it's all clear and split up when there are several tasks to complete: all while communicating with you and each other. It's the most involving war game we've played. This makes it all the more upsetting when a partner is shot, but on the upside it makes it more satisfying when you approach an enemy bunker and use the new flamethrower weapon to cook the enemy soldiers inside. Yes, it's a tad violent, but that's war. As we said above, it's not really designed for younger, impressionable gamers.

Click to view larger image

War Of The Buttons

The control system is also absolutely spot on: everything's where it should be and there are loads of sensitivity options so you can make the aiming as loose or tight as you want. We'd also say that World At War makes better use of the Wii Zapper than any other Wii game. While other war games like Medal of Honor: Heroes 2 turn the game into a sort of on-rails arcade lightgun shooter when you use the Zapper, World At War retains the full experience and still allows you to freely move around as if you were just using the Remote and Nunchuk. If you've got a Zapper, this is definitely the way we'd recommend playing.

Previous 1 2 Next page

Comments

100 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. chris0010 Thursday 20th Nov 2008 at 15:19

    Hi just wanted to point out when you said theres team death match and capture the flag, theres actually no ctf in the wii version as i've had the game for a week now. Also would like to say this version doesn't have vehicles but its still great nonetheless.

  2. Chimpy94 Thursday 20th Nov 2008 at 15:51

    Note to anyone who is thinking of getting this game if you have a PS3 or Xbox360 get it on these consoles it is so much better, the graphics are better, the controls are better etc etc.

  3. NIN-ALEX-TENDO Thursday 20th Nov 2008 at 16:10

    Note to anyone who is thinking of getting this game if you have a PS3 or Xbox360 get it on these consoles it is so much better, the graphics are better, the controls are better etc etc.

    IGN Said in their COD:WaW for Wii review the wii version is more fun overall compared to the 360/PS3/PC versions and people all around the office even 360 and PS3 fans wanted a pop. So what if the graphics arent as fantastic, compare the size of the Wii To a 360/PS3/PC and its not as large but still the Wii version has great graphics.

    And how are the Controls better? thats a biased statement. Also the reasons why some of the modes were pulled out was because the Wii has no Voice chat (Well it does now but Wii speak is still only currently out for use on Animal Crossing.)

    Im Not saying the Wii version is far better than the other consoles versions because that would be a biased statement like yours.

  4. Shikea Thursday 20th Nov 2008 at 16:23

    i was gonna get this on the 360 but after palying both versions iv dusted off the wii because despite being a bit of a wii neglecter i wont lie, this version has blown me away, somehow the wii version has won in my book and its baffling the shiznick out of me

  5. fasttony2006 Thursday 20th Nov 2008 at 16:25

    this game is brilliant but what you said in the review is wrong there is no ctf in the wii version,but team deathmatch is brilliant.anyone want add my cod wow friend code is 1290-1677-5848 pm me or quote your fc to me.

  6. Carbonite2008 Thursday 20th Nov 2008 at 16:55

    half the stuff is missing!
    no zombie mode! no proper co-op! less than half the multiplayer options!
    i'm getting a 360 just for this and gears now!

  7. starfox1994 Thursday 20th Nov 2008 at 17:23

    I'm not into COD, and i love Smash Bros Brawl, but this proves that you rate Nintendo games higher than others.

    The only negative point here was the online lag, and you took off 8 points for it. Smash Bros Brawl's online is terrible, and you took off 5 points.
    Hmm...

    How many 8 yer old kids will get this game for Christmas, then? A lot.

  8. random_guy_14 Thursday 20th Nov 2008 at 17:30


    I'm not into COD, and i love Smash Bros Brawl, but this proves that you rate Nintendo games higher than others.

    What about Resident Evil 4 for GC, which they've rated as the best GC game? Perhaps there's something which gave it a lower score than Brawl.

  9. N.A.T.O Thursday 20th Nov 2008 at 17:35

    I am seriously impressed with this game! Team deathmatch is a scream, just wish there were a few more maps. I dread to think how good this looks on 360 or PS3, because the Wii version is pretty sweet.

  10. Wario-Man Thursday 20th Nov 2008 at 17:41

    Cool. I'm not sure whether to get this on Wii or PS3. I was pretty disappointed with COD4 though. But that's because I don't have my PS3 online. :(

    On another note, new magazines seem to be out around this time. I might get PSM3, because I've quit my ONM subscription. :)

  11. Ryu5 Thursday 20th Nov 2008 at 17:46

    Note to anyone who is thinking of getting this game if you have a PS3 or Xbox360 get it on these consoles it is so much better, the graphics are better, the controls are better etc etc.

    IGN Said in their COD:WaW for Wii review the wii version is more fun overall compared to the 360/PS3/PC versions and people all around the office even 360 and PS3 fans wanted a pop. So what if the graphics arent as fantastic, compare the size of the Wii To a 360/PS3/PC and its not as large but still the Wii version has great graphics.

    And how are the Controls better? thats a biased statement. Also the reasons why some of the modes were pulled out was because the Wii has no Voice chat (Well it does now but Wii speak is still only currently out for use on Animal Crossing.)

    Im Not saying the Wii version is far better than the other consoles versions because that would be a biased statement like yours.

    It all really depends on what control system you prefer better: I mean I don't really like the control for FPS on the Wii. I mean it's OKAY but I would much rather play it with a GC controller or 360 or PS3 but still none these are as nearly as good as the experience of playing with PC controls: teh PC pwns!

  12. Flash7 Thursday 20th Nov 2008 at 17:54

    I'm getting the game now! It looks really good!

  13. The Sandbag Thursday 20th Nov 2008 at 18:22

    excellent, cos my dad has already got it for me for christmas (i think). now for the review of animal crossing, and my mind will be at peace

  14. RedInker Thursday 20th Nov 2008 at 18:28

    Glad to hear it's a good version for the Wii. I was afraid that it was going to be a poor effort compared to the 360 and PS3. I shall be picking this up shortly.

  15. superscott Thursday 20th Nov 2008 at 19:03

    360 wins it purely for Zombie Mode.

  16. Ganondorf Thursday 20th Nov 2008 at 19:09

    I'm getting it for the Wii on Monday, and then getting it for the 360 when I buy one in the New Year.

  17. magneto3 Thursday 20th Nov 2008 at 19:41

    A well deserved score, I've been online since I got back from school and now my head hurts.

  18. MyElement Thursday 20th Nov 2008 at 19:46

    I'm going to be honest here. The 360 version is better than the wii version. I have the wii version and I love it. However the graphics let it down like most other wii games (sigh). I'm not bad-mouthing the wii, I own one! I'm just being honest. The zombie mode which is amazing has been left out of the wii version but the wii zapper makes for ten times more involving gameplay than the other consoles. granted some of the buttons are a bit fiddly to reach but so what. Controlling the flame-thrower with the zapper is great. All in all a good game :)

  19. nizy Thursday 20th Nov 2008 at 19:53

    Having completed the game on wii and played a little online too, i mostly agree with this review. However, i did find the AI a bit quirky in places (due to scripted enemy actions) and the grenade warning symbol is just pointless as i hardly ever notice it or don't see it in enough time. Should be more visible. My biggest issue is with the 'Banzai' attackers as most of the time the wiimote doesn't respond to the shake motion! At least they give you the option of pressing down on d-pad.

    After reading the IGN review, i didn't bother giving the zapper a try (they said it completely sucked). Will have to give that a go later on.

    Personally i never want to have to play a FPS with analogue sticks again as they are so poor. The IR control is so much better!

    Bring on The Conduit! :D

  20. jonowev Thursday 20th Nov 2008 at 20:23

    I took a gamble on this at the weekend and i'm so glad that I did. Easily the best FPS on Wii.

  21. chris0010 Thursday 20th Nov 2008 at 21:11

    Ive played both versions the wii and 360 but in the end i had to get it on wii, the controls work so much better , doesnt bother me if theres less modes.

  22. x-man2000 Thursday 20th Nov 2008 at 21:12

    Note to anyone who is thinking of getting this game if you have a PS3 or Xbox360 get it on these consoles it is so much better, the graphics are better, the controls are better etc etc.

    IGN Said in their COD:WaW for Wii review the wii version is more fun overall compared to the 360/PS3/PC versions and people all around the office even 360 and PS3 fans wanted a pop. So what if the graphics arent as fantastic, compare the size of the Wii To a 360/PS3/PC and its not as large but still the Wii version has great graphics.

    And how are the Controls better? thats a biased statement. Also the reasons why some of the modes were pulled out was because the Wii has no Voice chat (Well it does now but Wii speak is still only currently out for use on Animal Crossing.)

    Im Not saying the Wii version is far better than the other consoles versions because that would be a biased statement like yours.

    Him having an opinion doesn't make him biased.

  23. NirdBerd Thursday 20th Nov 2008 at 22:47

    I heard there was Zombie Mode in the Wii Version, but only Offline, is this true? If there is no zombie mode I'm gonna kill myself.

  24. jonowev Thursday 20th Nov 2008 at 22:59

    Just completed it on normal difficulty - the last mission is intense. Planting the Russian flag on the top of the Reichstag over a scorched Berlin is such a great way to end the game though. Cinematic from start to finish.

    I'll set about Veteran mode tomorrow. :)

  25. Anonymous Friday 21st Nov 2008 at 00:40

    My friend thought Wii version would be the best (he's getting a 360 shortly, so he could've waited easily if he thought that'd be the better version.)
    He said he regretted it shortly after playing the first time.

    But I'm glad they put effort into the game. The poor Wii is lacking well-armed teammates in the console war.

    And FYI, the Wiimote point-and-shoot controls like the PC has would be much better than the push-a-stick-and-scroll controls of consoles.

  26. ChrisONM Friday 21st Nov 2008 at 12:42

    Hi just wanted to point out when you said theres team death match and capture the flag, theres actually no ctf in the wii version as i've had the game for a week now. Also would like to say this version doesn't have vehicles but its still great nonetheless.


    I've no idea why I wrote CTF, because obviously, as you say, it isn't in there. I must have been thinking of Deathmatch and Team Deathmatch instead, I've actually got no idea where Capture The Flag came from! After all, I've clearly played the game (as you can tell from the screens), it was just a slip of the mind.

    I'll edit the review accordingly. Cheers for the heads up.

  27. SeriouslyLaughin Friday 21st Nov 2008 at 15:32

    There has been a lot of "honesty" around the internet and game press. Lately it seems to have been strangely organized too...hmm...
    Now I'M being on top of my honesty. I even had to register here just now to voice the Wiis greatest strength, atleast before the Wii Motion+ arrives, the Wiimotes real killer application(amusingly its literally a killer). Its the IR-aiming, and it is shamefully being forgotten, even now when we are talking about a war game. I thought that Wiimote makes Wii the king of FPS. Even though keyboard+mouse is slightly more agile, Wiimote offers players, on top of great dexterity, a FEELING of shooting a gun. No other controller can offer that, thats something that is only on Wii. What other consoles have? They only have EVEN better graphics, with clumsy last generation controls that does the aiming automatically for the player. Lack of CF is ridicculous ofcourse, its not Wiis fault, even Time Splitters had it. Devs, pull yourselves together! Because of old gamepads dictating the gameplay, Wiiports are too easy. Resident Evil 4 was super good in Wii, but it was far too easy with Wiimote, even in the hardest difficulty. More importantly, old controllers has stopped evolution of gameplay. Look at RE5 gameplay videos, its the same game than its prequel. I hope Capcom will someday make Resident Evil just for Wii, that has realisticly moving enemies that doesn't stop before the player to wait while he manages to slowly move crosshair with gamepad. It would make "a mere mundane zombi" dangerous and frightening. I might even say, that would make the game scary. Make a fps-game(and RE-style game) with Wiimotes aiming cababilities in mind, and dump down the gameplay for other consoles controllers if you have to make multiplats. For Wii, devs could make games that offers greater gameplay challenges, instead of difficult controls.

  28. Reevys Friday 21st Nov 2008 at 15:32

    Cool, I think I've found the game I want for my birthday. I was gonna get Castlevania : Order of Ecclesia, but it's obviously not out yet, so I think I'll get this instead.

    I was gonna wait and get the PS3 version, as I just expected it to be better, gameplay wise. But I'm gonna get the Wii version instead, just for the controls.

  29. walrio Friday 21st Nov 2008 at 16:20

    God this game sounds so fricking awesomee!!! :P :P

    So I was wondering can someone tell me if the game comes with the Zapper aswell?

    I know you can buy em separately but that would be an arse.

  30. Eu-boat Friday 21st Nov 2008 at 17:10

    gd to see wii's getting some gd games but i'm gettin this for pc cause lets face it the next gen console version r much better.They have better graphics,better controls(mouse and keyboard) and waaaay better online.
    what nintendo needs to do is hurry up and get voice chat going and make sure theres headsets(don't like wii speak)
    Also it be gd to get the same features aswell instead of having tonnes of missed features.
    so i'm gettin the pc version so i don't miss out.
    oh and if you say its more fun on wii i personally couldn't care less about motion controls or the pointer.it wa kl in 2006 but now its just meh

  31. Ben707 Friday 21st Nov 2008 at 18:47

    Bought this today. What a game!

    The Graphics are brilliant, the online kicks Mario Kart into next week, deserves much higher

  32. NEO.BAHAMUT Friday 21st Nov 2008 at 18:59

    Got this game earlier. Must say it was alot better than I expected it to be!

    I heard that it only had a maximum of 8 players in a match on wi-fi. I thought that would have sucked bad, but well, I was wrong!

    If anybody would like to trade FC's with me, drop us a PM!!

  33. nintendood Friday 21st Nov 2008 at 19:08

    Hmmmm...I'm not sure which console to get it on...

    The PS3 obviously has better graphics, probably less laggy online, and everything else that comes with a bigger processer, like bigger environments, more explosions, more enemies. And it has a traditional controls.

    Whereas the wii has the wii remote going for it but not much else, though this difference is significant.

    Anyone out there got an honest non biased opinion on which version is better?

  34. luxrayboy Friday 21st Nov 2008 at 19:44

    Best game ever!!!

    and im like lvl 30 and have experianced quite alot of lag but the game stil rocks tho

  35. Jman_Vere Friday 21st Nov 2008 at 19:44

    I'm not into COD, and i love Smash Bros Brawl, but this proves that you rate Nintendo games higher than others.

    Or just maybe, there is a slight possibility that their opinion is different to yours.

    The only negative point here was the online lag, and you took off 8 points for it. Smash Bros Brawl's online is terrible, and you took off 5 points.
    Hmm...

    I'd say that no splitscreen multiplayer, no real co-op and no online vehicles are pretty negative points.

    How many 8 yer old kids will get this game for Christmas, then? A lot.

    Of course they will, what with it being a 15 rated game...


    My god, this kid's an idiot.

  36. Jman_Vere Friday 21st Nov 2008 at 19:51

    Anyway, I'd just like to say that I got this game today and I've only played about 30 minutes of the campaign but it's an awesome game. I was having doubts about it but It's a lot better than I expected.

  37. Samez Friday 21st Nov 2008 at 20:59

    If you buy one game, make it this one.

  38. haggisii Friday 21st Nov 2008 at 21:10

    According to IGN there IS a zombie mode on the Wii version, but you have to unlock it by completing the single player campaign.

    Does anyone who owns the game know if this is true? I'll be buying it anyway but it'd be nice to know. :)

  39. MPWSnomi Friday 21st Nov 2008 at 22:48

    also say that World At War makes better use of the Wii Zapper than any other Wii game. While other war games like Medal of Honor: Heroes 2 turn the game into a sort of on-rails arcade lightgun shooter when you use the Zapper, World At War retains the full experience and still allows you to freely move around as if you were just using the Remote and Nunchuk. If you've got a Zapper, this is definitely the way we'd recommend playing.


    tis BS
    MoH zapper is better, and the COD5 controls for zapper are ****

  40. Jman_Vere Saturday 22nd Nov 2008 at 01:22

    Even if I had a zapper, I'd still prefer using the wiimote and 'chuk. I think it's better to have things freehand so you've got more freedom in how you move. also, having buttons on top of the zapper would im sure be pretty awkward.

  41. Shaun2005 Saturday 22nd Nov 2008 at 01:56

    Even if I had a zapper, I'd still prefer using the wiimote and 'chuk. I think it's better to have things freehand so you've got more freedom in how you move. also, having buttons on top of the zapper would im sure be pretty awkward.

    The Wii Zapper just looks uncomfortable full stop.

  42. jonowev Saturday 22nd Nov 2008 at 09:54

    Hmmmm...I'm not sure which console to get it on...

    The PS3 obviously has better graphics, probably less laggy online, and everything else that comes with a bigger processer, like bigger environments, more explosions, more enemies. And it has a traditional controls.

    Whereas the wii has the wii remote going for it but not much else, though this difference is significant.

    Anyone out there got an honest non biased opinion on which version is better?

    I'd get it on PS3 purely for the extra online modes, although you'd enjoy the campaign mode more on Wii.

  43. MPWSnomi Saturday 22nd Nov 2008 at 11:33

    Even if I had a zapper, I'd still prefer using the wiimote and 'chuk. I think it's better to have things freehand so you've got more freedom in how you move. also, having buttons on top of the zapper would im sure be pretty awkward.

    The Wii Zapper just looks uncomfortable full stop.


    it isnt, but the zapper controls on this game are BS

  44. The Timesplitter Saturday 22nd Nov 2008 at 13:54

    AH damn. I wrote my christmas list a few days before i saaw this review =(!!

  45. mastiffchild Saturday 22nd Nov 2008 at 14:14

    I rented this for the PS3 before deciding to get it for the Wii. It's a great game whatever console you choose to get it for but, for me, it just felt like a very big expansion pack featuring old uniforms and rusty guns for COD4 on PS3-and the zombie mode is nothing to worry about missing, tbh. Tghe only thing that the Wii version is badly let down on is the PS360's only new feature and that's the online co-op, but I couldn't justify a full price purchase for a game that felt more of an add on to COD4 than a new one on it's own just for the co-op(which is wrecked by the slightest lag).

    I find the Wii version really refreshing after a year of MoHH2(haven't used the zapper yet but will try)and despite being only 4v4 the online has so-far been really good in my experience. Had Wii got the COD4 we wanted last time out then I'd have had a problem choosing Wii this time out but seeing as we didn't and on PS3 this feels like a big expansion(with a co-op tacked on that depends on everyone having a good connection, plus the zombie gimmick)I felt it was a no-brainer to get the Wii game. So the graphics aren't nearly as pretty but what we're forgetting is that the Wii doesn't do the photo realism that well as PS360 but still this game is one of the best looking third party games ever on Wii and does as good a job as anyone could hope on this front.

    So, Wii for me on this one-the Wiimote control scheme when motion plus lands may well finally be what we all wanted in the first place but for now on FPS games this is the best you'll find(way more intuitive than a pad)and does give Wii owners a great reason to buy this game rather than getting it elsewhere. I'd always choose the Wii controls for a FPS to be honest(I'd love to play Killzone2 with 'em!)and that it's taken this long and we've only got this, MoH and Metroid Prime 3 is the really odd thing here. And sadly, yes the Wii versions co-op mode is a complete waste of developers money and our time, very poor indeed but one of the few down sides to this game(which is actually better for the lack of the awful vehicle aspects to the other versions).

  46. lattywatty Saturday 22nd Nov 2008 at 16:05

    I', just glad this isn't a total failure in comparison to other versions! I don't care which one is technically better graphics or whatever-wise. I'm getting it for the Wii over my 360 because A) of cost and B) the controls sound awesome XD

  47. Iggy_9 Saturday 22nd Nov 2008 at 17:38

    Does anyone know if Zombie mode is in the Wii version?

  48. Sabrewulf Sunday 23rd Nov 2008 at 11:12

    Get in! I pre-ordered this before the review came out and think it is fantastic, but for some reason thought ONM would score it badly, however as usual you never let me down!! :D

  49. DSfreak Sunday 23rd Nov 2008 at 15:00

    I can't wait to get it. But I've still got to wait til flippin' christmas

  50. Nippernoo Sunday 23rd Nov 2008 at 15:11

    Looking at those posted screen shots just shows how much the graphics have been dumbed down for the Wii.

    It seriously looks like a PS2 game on a console that can make games look great, Mario Galaxy for example.

  51. Super_Sonic96 Sunday 23rd Nov 2008 at 17:36

    It good to know that the Wii can proudly hold its head up and say it has a fantastic multi-system shooter for a change! Anyway, I have never played a Call of duty game, but I knew Modern warfare was fantastic, and as this got a good review i think i'll check it out.

  52. indie-jonny Sunday 23rd Nov 2008 at 21:19

    This a frankly awesome game. Even with the wii, the controls work superbly, and the graphics aren't too bad aswell. The probabable main feature that really finsihes off this game is the online. Lags and D/Cs are evry rare, and playing it is very rewarding and fun. Well done Activision.

  53. bazmeistergen Sunday 23rd Nov 2008 at 22:07

    Looking at those posted screen shots just shows how much the graphics have been dumbed down for the Wii.

    It seriously looks like a PS2 game on a console that can make games look great, Mario Galaxy for example.

    Some of the graphical effects are very good, however.

    Great game. Going back through on veteran now.

  54. N.A.T.O Monday 24th Nov 2008 at 09:32

    Recently completed the campaign on normal. There doesn't appear to be an unlockable Zombie mode.

    I had heard there wasn't going to be one, but then heard there was (if that makes sense!)

    Hope that helps, if anyone wanted to know!

    PM for codes.

  55. Martel Monday 24th Nov 2008 at 10:39

    The AI isn't as good as you say.

    Those are fairly standard AI movements and the fighting makes big fights harder than they have to be.
    Mainly because the comabt for CPU's is lock on to one target and fire, if there's a disguised Japanese militia man charged them with a bayonet from behind, nobody cares unless they've killed whoever they were shotting at at the time. They ignore EVERYTHING!

  56. Rgaveglia Tuesday 25th Nov 2008 at 09:00

    :shock: WOW! i nev fort dat it wood get such a hi scor! yuv convinsd mii 2 go nd sav up mi muny 2 go nd bi it! :shock:

  57. mastiffchild Tuesday 25th Nov 2008 at 13:22

    I rented the PS3 version and tbh it felt like a nuge WW2 expansion with added co-op on that system(Zombes and Multiplayer vehicles are no loss)for COD4 which I still prefer on PS in any case-so I bought the Wii version. The Zapper contols are woeful imo, and I've yet to find a game that it helps on which is sad so I dunno what the reviewer was doing. They really crippled my chances and I soon changed back to normal. It took some getting used to after so long playing MoH but the basic controls are pretty good but not quite as sharp as I'd have liked and still not as intuitive as MP3 has.

    But whatever, the multiplayer is great and it's cool to have the perks come over from COD4 while the 4v4 doesn't fall flat like I thought it might and makes for slightly tenser matches than on the PS3 in either COD4 or WaW. The campaign doesn't suffer much in comparison to the other versions with the only real gripe being the usual and unavoidable graphical shortcomings of the Wii itself. Even so this is one of the best looking 3rd party titles on the console but, as we all know, it just can't do the photo realism that PS360 can. It still manages to be immersive because of the controls scheme and the cinematic nature of cutscenes and some of the big battles. The storylines are the same and in fairness I'm happy I got this for the Wii and it should tide fans of FPS games over til the Conduit lands in spring.
    Not the world beater it could have been but a good step up from MoH visually and with more interesting online options.

  58. Fii Tuesday 25th Nov 2008 at 19:02

    I'm rubbish at MoHH2's online and have -32 points, although in the single-player i'm fairly good. The other team always seems to be better, team-mates tend to kill each other and I die every few seconds, making it a stupidly frustrating experience.

    Should I trade it in for this, or practice and keep both? I like FPSes and I really like MoH's control scheme, btw.

  59. shoehorn Monday 1st Dec 2008 at 01:30

    The score is absolutely spot on. Although the controls in this Wii version are amazing, I have to say that the 360 version may just edge it in terms of fun and content. Stabbing on the 360 actually puts the knife into the chest whereas the Wii simply seems to hit him and only imply that he has been stabbed. And also you can actually de-limb the enemy with a powerful machine gun, sniper rifle or rocket launcher on the 360. Although it's kinda morbid to enjoy this, it is a good feature because it gives you an authentic experience of war... But the major downfall of the Wii version is the lack of the zombie game. The fantastic Wii controls nearly makes up for this. But you will not be disappointed with this game, what ever version you buy as this is an utterly fantastic game with a fantastic campaign and a brilliant multiplayer.

  60. Marpy Tuesday 2nd Dec 2008 at 20:24

    which mag is this review in... i get mine mag sent to the door and it isnt in the one out now... and it wasnt in the last mag i dont think...was it in any onm mag yet?

  61. Smash-bros fan Sunday 14th Dec 2008 at 19:29

    hmm sounds awesome period.
    I have younger siblings in the house ( ones 10 and the others 6) and my 6 year old brother likes to come into my room and either play or watch me on wii. I have 2 choices either i shoudnt let him in the room when i play this or dont get it at all?

  62. ocarinaoftime12 Wednesday 31st Dec 2008 at 12:07

    :shock: WOW! i nev fort dat it wood get such a hi scor! yuv convinsd mii 2 go nd sav up mi muny 2 go nd bi it! :shock:


    could sum1 translate that to english plz?

    Anyways i'm getting it today, probaly most versions are better than the wiis, but hey we did not even gert cod 4 so what do we comnplain about, it looks could enough and is ten pounds cheaper, oh and its ONLINE as well that sums it up. I'm buying it today

  63. Wii-Man Wednesday 31st Dec 2008 at 19:24

    Got it Yesterday. Bought the Zapper too as read it was best with it and having had some time to really get into it i love it!! Graphics are good( why such a big deal about not being in PS3 league? Wii is about fun not how realistic games look!) Control system is great although remembering to throw back grenades is a pain( keep getting killed by them!! :cry: ).

    And its cool having Jack Bauer screaming at me....heres hoping they make a 24 game thats worth owning.... :)

    All in all a great game well worth anyone's money ! Big thumbs up :D

  64. 94paulm Thursday 1st Jan 2009 at 16:26

    If anyone knows anything about this game online because as i have played my cousins ps3 cod waw online there is a team deathmatch and capture the flag does anyone know if team deathmatch is on the wii version...thanks :?

  65. Plimwog Sunday 11th Jan 2009 at 12:33

    does cod5 on the wii have zombie mode?

  66. chrisgold Wednesday 14th Jan 2009 at 23:57

    i wouldnt say that this is the best fps on the wii because i have metroid prime 3 and the graphics, controls and general gameplay make it the best fps, combine this with a brilliant story and voila, instant pwnage. however the online play for cod(while missing a few, ok a lot of things) is the best online play on the wii


    one would expect that anyone who got WaW for the wii and likes the controls should have metroid prime 3 and will be getting 1 and 2 when they are released for the wii i have 2 for the gc and i cant wait to play 1 again

    oh and by the way any of you who are asking this question


    THE WII VERSION DOESN'T HAVE A ZOMBIE MODE PASS IT ON

  67. Hans Olo Thursday 15th Jan 2009 at 16:17

    @ "i will better buy the x360 version and" @ "ps3 is superior gaming guys": the wii is my first BigN Console - and i play consoles and computers for more than 26 years !: buy the wii version ! on the x360, its only a fine fps. really a good one, i like it. but on wii, these controls are much more weighter than the good grafics on the 360.

    sorry guys, but the best example for *the wii is more fun to play* is , beside this new one: star wars force unleashed ! ever played sw:tfu on the ps3? its so lame, no fun. but the wii version is so damn cool, cause the controls !
    other example? the godfather. on the normal consoles, its only a mafia-gta-clon. on the wii, with this controls, its awesome !

    for me, i dont like playing fps on my ps3/x360/ps2/ps1 and so on...NEXT Generation GAMING is only given on the wii, sorry, thats the truth. i smash buttons my whole life, i dont want it any more, the games are the same since years, only better sound, better grafics...nothing new. but on wii, yes, i found my personal fun in gaming again. meanwhile, i dont play often fps on the others, ist so ...old school.....lastgen....

    and im not a fanboy of wii/bigN. ive never liked the marios, zeldas etc. i hat this fat red ....ok. but today, im 33 years old, wii is my first bigN (beside the original GB), i got the wii since launchday, cause i saw the advertisment for redsteel -> in knewed: thats is the next step of gaming ! and since i got the wii, i play everyday again (my wife is hating me for that , again :-) ). and really, i got a lot of consoles and games, i like my x360 for onlinegaming and good grafics, sure. there are so damn good an a alot of games (left4dead, deadrising etc.) - so please, dont call me fanboy. i play on my sega genesys too (here called: megadrive!), and my pcengine too, snk neogeo, and dont forget pitfall on the atari2600 !

  68. The Sandbag Thursday 15th Jan 2009 at 19:30

    i have the wii version of CoD5, and i have to say it is the 2nd best 3rd party game for wii, 1st being resident evil 4. it is just breathtaking, even if the AI is crap for parts of it (sometimes they stand there for about 2 minutes just aiming at you.

  69. jinzo64 Wednesday 21st Jan 2009 at 22:30

    i personally wouldn't say that activision are making amends by launching cod waw on the wii since it's a multi format even the ps2 has got copy.
    why didn't the wii get a copy of cod 4 it has nothing to do with graphics as the ds got a version of the game.

  70. Heroofhyrule Wednesday 28th Jan 2009 at 18:40

    gd to see wii's getting some gd games but i'm gettin this for pc cause lets face it the next gen console version r much better.They have better graphics,better controls(mouse and keyboard) and waaaay better online.
    what nintendo needs to do is hurry up and get voice chat going and make sure theres headsets(don't like wii speak)
    Also it be gd to get the same features aswell instead of having tonnes of missed features.
    so i'm gettin the pc version so i don't miss out.
    oh and if you say its more fun on wii i personally couldn't care less about motion controls or the pointer.it wa kl in 2006 but now its just meh

    The wii is a next gen system you idiot

  71. 94paulm Tuesday 3rd Feb 2009 at 12:44

    how come on the wii version some of the online maps have been left out such as :airfield, seelow and roundhouse.
    if anyone knows please comment or reply 2 me thank you :? :?

  72. B Ave Wednesday 4th Feb 2009 at 12:31

    how come on the wii version some of the online maps have been left out such as :airfield, seelow and roundhouse.
    if anyone knows please comment or reply 2 me thank you :? :?

    Probably due to the size of em - they're massive & defo 2 big for just 8 players...

    Anyway this game rocks - easily best online game on the Wii...

  73. Flash7 Sunday 8th Feb 2009 at 17:15

    I'm not into COD, and i love Smash Bros Brawl, but this proves that you rate Nintendo games higher than others.

    The only negative point here was the online lag, and you took off 8 points for it. Smash Bros Brawl's online is terrible, and you took off 5 points.
    Hmm...

    How many 8 yer old kids will get this game for Christmas, then? A lot.

    WRONG. The points on the review are meant to be a summary, 8 points haven't just been taken off. So what, you want the game to get a perfect score? 92% is a VERY VERY GOOD score, stop trying to make ONM look bad. Brawl, one of the most antipated Nintendo games EVER only got 3 per cent more, and you STILL think that Cod 5 is underated???

  74. Smash-bros fan Thursday 5th Mar 2009 at 21:01

    how come on the wii version some of the online maps have been left out such as :airfield, seelow and roundhouse.
    if anyone knows please comment or reply 2 me thank you :? :?

    Probably due to the size of em - they're massive & defo 2 big for just 8 players...

    Anyway this game rocks - easily best online game on the Wii...


    AGREED

  75. ginger007luke Friday 6th Mar 2009 at 20:13

    What only 92% I love cod games and the ace graphics with awsome controls, you got it all wrong your score is way out 100%!!!

  76. Heroofhyrule Monday 9th Mar 2009 at 20:31

    gd to see wii's getting some gd games but i'm gettin this for pc cause lets face it the next gen console version r much better.They have better graphics,better controls(mouse and keyboard) and waaaay better online.
    what nintendo needs to do is hurry up and get voice chat going and make sure theres headsets(don't like wii speak)
    Also it be gd to get the same features aswell instead of having tonnes of missed features.
    so i'm gettin the pc version so i don't miss out.
    oh and if you say its more fun on wii i personally couldn't care less about motion controls or the pointer.it wa kl in 2006 but now its just meh

    analogue sticks were cool in 1996, but now, they're just meh. I mean, analogue sticks? they lost their novelty man, i'm bored of them...

    yeah, thats how stupid you sound.

  77. .Yoshi. Wednesday 11th Mar 2009 at 19:20

    Why havn't you reviewed the ds version? It's in a bundle with GTA and a DSi which im definitly gonna get.

  78. 94paulm Friday 13th Mar 2009 at 22:03

    woo 2 new playlists.. :D
    hopefully next there are new maps...
    :cry:

  79. markdean2012 Friday 20th Mar 2009 at 14:20

    this game is awesome to the Max!
    PM me for my friend code!

  80. ZeldaKing Thursday 23rd Apr 2009 at 10:17

    please say that the wii has zombies mode
    PLEASE! :(

  81. markdean2012 Thursday 23rd Apr 2009 at 10:23

    please say that the wii has zombies mode
    PLEASE! :(

    no it doesn't have a zombie mode, but its still a great game without it.

  82. Ghostmaker Thursday 30th Apr 2009 at 16:24

    :) i've had COD WaW on wii for nearly a week now, and i cant stop playing the online multiplayer! i find it that awesome!! (and perhaps my life is slipping :shock: ) but if you fancy a fight look out for me (Ghostmaker) and PM me for my friend code.

  83. markdean2012 Thursday 30th Apr 2009 at 21:01

    :) i've had COD WaW on wii for nearly a week now, and i cant stop playing the online multiplayer! i find it that awesome!! (and perhaps my life is slipping :shock: ) but if you fancy a fight look out for me (Ghostmaker) and PM me for my friend code.

    like me you have caught cod syndrome, were you cant stop playing cod.

  84. lol364 Sunday 14th Jun 2009 at 18:26

    Note to anyone who is thinking of getting this game if you have a PS3 or Xbox360 get it on these consoles it is so much better, the graphics are better, the controls are better etc etc.

    IGN Said in their COD:WaW for Wii review the wii version is more fun overall compared to the 360/PS3/PC versions and people all around the office even 360 and PS3 fans wanted a pop. So what if the graphics arent as fantastic, compare the size of the Wii To a 360/PS3/PC and its not as large but still the Wii version has great graphics.

    And how are the Controls better? thats a biased statement. Also the reasons why some of the modes were pulled out was because the Wii has no Voice chat (Well it does now but Wii speak is still only currently out for use on Animal Crossing.)

    Im Not saying the Wii version is far better than the other consoles versions because that would be a biased statement like yours.

    It all really depends on what control system you prefer better: I mean I don't really like the control for FPS on the Wii. I mean it's OKAY but I would much rather play it with a GC controller or 360 or PS3 but still none these are as nearly as good as the experience of playing with PC controls: teh PC pwns!


    i know the pc version is sooo much better plus we get free map packs lolz in ur face

  85. lol364 Sunday 14th Jun 2009 at 18:33

    does anyone know if the wii version has nazi zombies please pm if it does 8)

  86. markdean2012 Sunday 14th Jun 2009 at 20:41

    Note to anyone who is thinking of getting this game if you have a PS3 or Xbox360 get it on these consoles it is so much better, the graphics are better, the controls are better etc etc.

    IGN Said in their COD:WaW for Wii review the wii version is more fun overall compared to the 360/PS3/PC versions and people all around the office even 360 and PS3 fans wanted a pop. So what if the graphics arent as fantastic, compare the size of the Wii To a 360/PS3/PC and its not as large but still the Wii version has great graphics.

    And how are the Controls better? thats a biased statement. Also the reasons why some of the modes were pulled out was because the Wii has no Voice chat (Well it does now but Wii speak is still only currently out for use on Animal Crossing.)

    Im Not saying the Wii version is far better than the other consoles versions because that would be a biased statement like yours.

    It all really depends on what control system you prefer better: I mean I don't really like the control for FPS on the Wii. I mean it's OKAY but I would much rather play it with a GC controller or 360 or PS3 but still none these are as nearly as good as the experience of playing with PC controls: teh PC pwns!


    i know the pc version is sooo much better plus we get free map packs lolz in ur face

    the pc version sucks so much

  87. LiamGodOfFood Wednesday 24th Jun 2009 at 09:15

    In my opinion, this is a very good game, well worthy of a Gold Award, but I can't help but feel slightly disappointed when you compare it to what all the other consoles have that the Wii doesn't. Like:
    1-Nazi Zombies :x :( :cry: .
    2-Some missions e.g 'Black Cats'.
    3-Vehicle maps online.
    4-Offline multiplayer, split-screen or co-op (squadmate doesn't count, it's rubbish).
    5-Online modes (Capture the Flag, Seek and Destroy, Headquarters etc).
    6-Some perks.
    7-Clans.
    8-Maps Online(Seelow etc).
    9-Downloadable contents/maps
    When you look at it like that, the game doesn't seem quite as rosy does it? :?

  88. markdean2012 Thursday 25th Jun 2009 at 08:06

    In my opinion, this is a very good game, well worthy of a Gold Award, but I can't help but feel slightly disappointed when you compare it to what all the other consoles have that the Wii doesn't. Like:
    1-Nazi Zombies :x :( :cry: .
    2-Some missions e.g 'Black Cats'.
    3-Vehicle maps online.
    4-Offline multiplayer, split-screen or co-op (squadmate doesn't count, it's rubbish).
    5-Online modes (Capture the Flag, Seek and Destroy, Headquarters etc).
    6-Some perks.
    7-Clans.
    8-Maps Online(Seelow etc).
    9-Downloadable contents/maps
    When you look at it like that, the game doesn't seem quite as rosy does it? :?

    1) upload it through wiiware? (hopefully that will happen)
    2) as above
    3) couldn't handle tanks.
    4) squadmate is pretty decent actually, but not as good as co-op.
    5) as first answer
    6) as first answer
    7) um yes it does, Wii troopers, enemy down, elite dragon just a few of the many clans out there.
    8. as first answer (bar the tank levels)
    9) um wiiware
    even without that stuff its still a very good game.

  89. tquinnathome1 Thursday 25th Jun 2009 at 09:26

    In my opinion, this is a very good game, well worthy of a Gold Award, but I can't help but feel slightly disappointed when you compare it to what all the other consoles have that the Wii doesn't. Like:
    1-Nazi Zombies :x :( :cry: .
    2-Some missions e.g 'Black Cats'.
    3-Vehicle maps online.
    4-Offline multiplayer, split-screen or co-op (squadmate doesn't count, it's rubbish).
    5-Online modes (Capture the Flag, Seek and Destroy, Headquarters etc).
    6-Some perks.
    7-Clans.
    8-Maps Online(Seelow etc).
    9-Downloadable contents/maps
    When you look at it like that, the game doesn't seem quite as rosy does it? :?

    1) upload it through wiiware? (hopefully that will happen)
    2) as above
    3) couldn't handle tanks.
    4) squadmate is pretty decent actually, but not as good as co-op.
    5) as first answer
    6) as first answer
    7) um yes it does, Wii troopers, enemy down, elite dragon just a few of the many clans out there.
    8. as first answer (bar the tank levels)
    9) um wiiware
    even without that stuff its still a very good game.

    Personally, I think that tanks ruin the online game. I have it on PC, and really, it makes just incredibly silly. I also didn't know there were some perks we couldn't get? What are those? The game should have had a co-op mode however, I agree, and Zombie mode is pretty decent, but the extra mission isn't anything special. The Wii ersion makes up for it for having FREE online, for still having such amazing presentation, for having effects of smoke and fire not seen in the other versions, and for also having a control scheme which in my opinion, is the nuts.

  90. markdean2012 Thursday 25th Jun 2009 at 10:38

    In my opinion, this is a very good game, well worthy of a Gold Award, but I can't help but feel slightly disappointed when you compare it to what all the other consoles have that the Wii doesn't. Like:
    1-Nazi Zombies :x :( :cry: .
    2-Some missions e.g 'Black Cats'.
    3-Vehicle maps online.
    4-Offline multiplayer, split-screen or co-op (squadmate doesn't count, it's rubbish).
    5-Online modes (Capture the Flag, Seek and Destroy, Headquarters etc).
    6-Some perks.
    7-Clans.
    8-Maps Online(Seelow etc).
    9-Downloadable contents/maps
    When you look at it like that, the game doesn't seem quite as rosy does it? :?

    1) upload it through wiiware? (hopefully that will happen)
    2) as above
    3) couldn't handle tanks.
    4) squadmate is pretty decent actually, but not as good as co-op.
    5) as first answer
    6) as first answer
    7) um yes it does, Wii troopers, enemy down, elite dragon just a few of the many clans out there.
    8. as first answer (bar the tank levels)
    9) um wiiware
    even without that stuff its still a very good game.

    Personally, I think that tanks ruin the online game. I have it on PC, and really, it makes just incredibly silly. I also didn't know there were some perks we couldn't get? What are those? The game should have had a co-op mode however, I agree, and Zombie mode is pretty decent, but the extra mission isn't anything special. The Wii ersion makes up for it for having FREE online, for still having such amazing presentation, for having effects of smoke and fire not seen in the other versions, and for also having a control scheme which in my opinion, is the nuts.

    so your agreeing with me then? all that stuff (bar the tanks) could be uploaded through wiiware (just asking)

  91. LiamGodOfFood Thursday 25th Jun 2009 at 18:17

    Fair enough, the tanks aren't that special, but I still feel ripped off for having to pay the same price for missing all that stuff. By the way, when I said clans I mean like clan stats or whatever (I know of some, but the clans would have to be local, you can't contact people). As for Wii-ware uploading, I just can't see them redeveloping a whole amount of the game when people are still buying it as it is.

  92. LiamGodOfFood Thursday 25th Jun 2009 at 18:20

    Fair enough, the tanks aren't that special, but I still feel ripped off for having to pay the same price for missing all that stuff. By the way, when I said clans I mean like clan stats or whatever (I know of some, but the clans would have to be local, you can't contact people). An example of a perk is one called 'Iron Lungs', and there are vehicle ones such as ones that show up enemy vehicles etc. As for Wii-ware uploading, I just can't see them redeveloping a whole amount of the game when people are still buying it as it is.

  93. LiamGodOfFood Thursday 25th Jun 2009 at 18:21

    Fair enough, the tanks aren't that special, but I still feel ripped off for having to pay the same price for missing all that stuff. By the way, when I said clans I mean like clan stats etc.(I know of some clans, but they would have to be local, you can't contact people). An example of a perk is one called 'Iron Lungs', and there are vehicle ones such as ones that show up enemy vehicles etc. As for Wii-ware uploading, I just can't see them redeveloping a whole amount of the game when people are still buying it as it is.

  94. LiamGodOfFood Thursday 25th Jun 2009 at 18:23

    Fair enough, the tanks aren't that special, but I still feel ripped off for having to pay the same price for missing all that stuff. By the way, when I said clans I mean like clan stats etc.(I know of some clans, but they would have to be local, you can't contact people). An example of a perk is one called 'Iron Lungs', and there are vehicle ones such as ones that show up enemy vehicles etc. As for Wii-ware uploading, I just can't see them redeveloping a whole amount of the game when people are still buying it as it is.

  95. markdean2012 Friday 26th Jun 2009 at 12:10

    no need to quad post, anyway they could still upload through wiiware its been done before (not with cod, but with other games) but your right i can't see them bothering doing it really, even though it is possible.

  96. LiamGodOfFood Saturday 4th Jul 2009 at 09:28

    If anyone wants to play me send me a private message and I'll add you. :D

  97. markdean2012 Saturday 4th Jul 2009 at 19:37

    If anyone wants to play me send me a private message and I'll add you. :D

    done

  98. yoshi95 Friday 16th Apr 2010 at 18:40

    the xbox 360 version is so much better coz u get zombie mode and map packs for online, so get the ps3 or 360 version

  99. markdean2012 Thursday 29th Apr 2010 at 18:35

    the xbox 360 version is so much better coz u get zombie mode and map packs for online, so get the ps3 or 360 version

    more stuff doesn't mean better.
    example: Star Wars 4 unchanged > Star Wars 4 Special Editon

  100. Link Lunatic Wednesday 27th Oct 2010 at 02:56

    I agree its an awesome game but there is only online multiplayer and the multiplayer offline is diabolical
    WHO REALLY WANTS TO BE A POINTER?
    Not me!
    It doesnt deserve a gold award!
    Simple as that

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.