Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Ninjatown Review

Is it for kids? Is it for adults? We're not quite sure

Don't be fooled by Ninjatown's bright and colourful exterior. The fact is, when you get further into the game it starts to get pretty complex and requires some deep tactical thinking.

Basically, it's a 'tower defence' strategy game. Waves of demons try to travel through your town in order to get to your base on the other side, so in order to stop them you have to build various ninja huts by the roadside. As a demon passes a hut the ninjas inside emeerge for a scrap, but certain ninjas are only effective against certain enemies, and you have limited resources.

Ninjatown is a strange game because although its graphical style suggests it's aimed at younger gamers, its tactical gameplay really requires a lot of thought, especially in later levels. As a result we're not really sure if it'll be as successful as it perhaps should be. That said, anyone who buys it will be treated to a solid, if slightly generic, strategy game.

Comments

19 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. Meow Mix Thursday 27th Nov 2008 at 15:39

    That review seems very slim indeed....

  2. sapoeysap Thursday 27th Nov 2008 at 17:12

    yeah defintly if ur a fan but i will get it anyway

  3. Clancy Thursday 27th Nov 2008 at 17:19

    I've played the demo on the nintendo channel and from that i can say that this has the appearance (from the demo) of a good game not a gold award but about 85% the levels in the demo got harder but i could still get an A rating in them. The story line i played (not sure if it's the same in the actual game but it should be) was very bizzare something about a cookie recipe that these demons want but the story leads to some humorous but by no means hillarious cut-scene's. The downside is not the gameplay as a whole but a couple of niggles such as only 2 ninjas appear from each house meaning that you can only attack 2 enemies. Now this might not sund that drastic but on the harder levels the enemies are stronger so with your limited money or cookies as they are refered to (what were the developers on) you can build 2-3 houses this means that occasionaly enemies would slip pass and get to far to be seen in the ninja-houses range, and even though this can be changed by making the ninja attack the first, the last and the strongest the time it takes for them to defeat them at least one creeps by meaning you have to rush and place a house at the end of the track which in turn takes time to build. And don't get me started on the bloody flying demons.

  4. some randm freak Thursday 27th Nov 2008 at 17:39

    Why did you put "too complicated for some" as a positive?

  5. hpmad910 Thursday 27th Nov 2008 at 19:03

    Why did you put "too complicated for some" as a positive?


    This

    Don't really want it


    Meh.

  6. Fish_Dish Thursday 27th Nov 2008 at 20:23

    I got the demo from the nintendo channel, one word.

    AWESOME!!

    This is a brillant game, i woulda given it 91%

  7. Super_Sonic96 Thursday 27th Nov 2008 at 20:27

    Why did you put "too complicated for some" as a positive?

    Because they're only human and on rare occasions put something in the wrong place . Like your Dad does with trying to hide chocolate, then you find it, eat it and blame it on your little sister.

  8. The Arbiter Thursday 27th Nov 2008 at 23:49

    Why did you put "too complicated for some" as a positive?

    Because they're only human and on rare occasions put something in the wrong place . Like your Dad does with trying to hide chocolate, then you find it, eat it and blame it on your little sister.

    .

    They're on to me...

  9. some randm freak Friday 28th Nov 2008 at 23:15

    Why did you put "too complicated for some" as a positive?

    Because they're only human and on rare occasions put something in the wrong place . Like your Dad does with trying to hide chocolate, then you find it, eat it and blame it on your little sister.

    I was only was only helping them by pointing out an error. :wink:

  10. koimaru Saturday 29th Nov 2008 at 17:51

    Me and my little brother both tried out Prince Of Persia and Ninjatown on our DS's from the Nintendo Channel's download option, and I was suprised at how differently we thought about them; whilst I loved Ninjatown for it's humour and complexity, and disliked prince of persia for having such simple controls, my brother said Ninjatown was "boring 'cos it's too hard" and that he wanted to get Prince Of Persia for Christmas!

    Anyone with a Wii and a DS should try the demo for Ninjatown, it's a must if you're considering buying it, and if you haven't got a Wii, then go buy one, FOOL!

  11. GamerKid Sunday 30th Nov 2008 at 15:13

    Me and my little brother both tried out Prince Of Persia and Ninjatown on our DS's from the Nintendo Channel's download option, and I was suprised at how differently we thought about them; whilst I loved Ninjatown for it's humour and complexity, and disliked prince of persia for having such simple controls, my brother said Ninjatown was "boring 'cos it's too hard" and that he wanted to get Prince Of Persia for Christmas!

    Anyone with a Wii and a DS should try the demo for Ninjatown, it's a must if you're considering buying it, and if you haven't got a Wii, then go buy one, FOOL!

    agree wit bro

  12. ibarnaby64 Monday 1st Dec 2008 at 19:13

    Played the demo. 'Twas goood.

  13. johndfernley Wednesday 3rd Dec 2008 at 16:04

    itll be addictive, but you can play so many games on the internet that are incredibly similar, slightly better and free!

  14. Pluck It Thursday 4th Dec 2008 at 08:07

    itll be addictive, but you can play so many games on the internet that are incredibly similar, slightly better and free!


    No.

  15. Luigibro606 Wednesday 31st Dec 2008 at 13:14

    I've played the demo on the nintendo channel and from that i can say that this has the appearance (from the demo) of a good game not a gold award but about 85% the levels in the demo got harder but i could still get an A rating in them. The story line i played (not sure if it's the same in the actual game but it should be) was very bizzare something about a cookie recipe that these demons want but the story leads to some humorous but by no means hillarious cut-scene's. The downside is not the gameplay as a whole but a couple of niggles such as only 2 ninjas appear from each house meaning that you can only attack 2 enemies. Now this might not sund that drastic but on the harder levels the enemies are stronger so with your limited money or cookies as they are refered to (what were the developers on) you can build 2-3 houses this means that occasionaly enemies would slip pass and get to far to be seen in the ninja-houses range, and even though this can be changed by making the ninja attack the first, the last and the strongest the time it takes for them to defeat them at least one creeps by meaning you have to rush and place a house at the end of the track which in turn takes time to build. And don't get me started on the bloody flying demons.

    Totally agree, I tried the demo too, and it was great, im going to get it, thats for sure.

  16. Warpicuss Monday 8th Jun 2009 at 11:32

    I'm a bit disappointed by the review; I would've liked to know more.
    However, I tried the demo yesterday, and it got more difficult further on, but I still got A's when I figured the gameplay out. I loved the demo so much I've played it 3 times now, giving myself personal challenges like limiting myself to a certain number of huts. Can't wait to get the game, it's so addictive. D=

  17. rayquazagirl Wednesday 30th Sep 2009 at 11:09

    Yeah!!! i got the game, and all i can say is

    COOKIES!!!
    it's really good :lol:

  18. sciqueen Friday 26th Nov 2010 at 23:47

    If anyone still remembers this game it's only 4.99 in Toys R US :D

  19. diddykong222 Thursday 24th Feb 2011 at 16:32

    Oh my word, Mr Demon has stolen the secret Ninja cookie recipe ! Stop him ;)

    Brilliant game but however I agree with the reviewer's score as it can get repetitive after a while and I still don't know what getting the bonus cookies at the end of each level do for the game at the end :(

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.