Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Sonic Unleashed Review

A Sonic game with a split personality

It's quite fitting that Sonic Unleashed sees Sonic turning into a werewolf, because it's pretty much a game of two halves. One half is, in our opinion, the best 3D Sonic game we've ever played. The other half however is a generic, repetitive action platformer.

Sonic's history in 3D gaming has had more ups and downs than the National Press-Up League, mainly due to two reasons: speed and glitches. If it wasn't bad enough that many 3D Sonic games are simply far too fast to be controllable (and therefore enjoyable), it's even worse when dodgy coding means you randomly miss the trigger for an important set-piece, often chucking you down a hole as a result or - even worse - glitching you through the scenery and making you die as you fall off the edge of the level. It's happened since Sonic's first three-dimensional adventure (Sonic Adventure on the Dreamcast), and has been an irritating bug in pretty much every one since. Except this one.

Click to view larger image
Yes, there are times when you'll miss a jump and fall down a hole. But this time around 99% of the time it will be your fault, not the game's. It's a test of your ability to navigate the game's obstacles, not your ability to dodge glitches. Simply put, developer Dimps (who was responsible for the Sonic Rush games on the DS) has created a near-flawless game engine with almost no room for bugs. It's pure Sonic gameplay without the frustration of unpreventable deaths.

2D Or Not 2D

Not only are these levels fun to play as a result, playing through them is also a complete feast for the eyes. As Sonic zips round each stage, flipping from 3D to 2D and back again, there's no denying that it's impressive stuff and some of the best-looking action you'll see on the Wii. More importantly, it never affects the gameplay negatively: those 2D-to-3D switches could have been a nightmare to control but we never had any problems any time they occurred.

We'd go so far as to say that the normal Sonic levels in Sonic Unleashed are the best 3D Sonic levels we've ever played in a game. Had the game been comprised solely of this type of level then it'd be well into Gold Award territory. Unfortunately, as we all know, there's the matter of those werehog levels to deal with.

Simply put, they're dull. That's not to say they're broken or anything like that: the control system is fine and everything works as it should. It's just that all you do is wander from one place to the next and beat up loads of characterless, generic enemies. Once they're all dead the barrier blocking your progress is removed and you move on. Sometimes you get a different barrier which can only be removed by collecting three objects. Other times you'll have to climb poles or swing over gaps to get to the next fighting section. And that's pretty much all that happens throughout all 25 different werehog stages.

Click to view larger image
It's so repetitive that even the music that plays when enemies appear is exactly the same whether you're on the first or last level. The enemies aren't particularly taxing either: the vast majority can be defeated by simply alternating left and right punches.

Were Not Amused

We can understand why the werewolf levels have been put in there: we'd imagine it was both to add a bit of variety and to extend the game's length. After all, the normal Sonic levels can take around four or five minutes to complete each, and given that you're ploughing through them at top speed this means they're pretty huge levels which must have taken ages to create. In total though there are only seven of these levels, meaning you can have them all licked in less than hour. As a result, the 25 werehog levels (which can take anything up to eight or nine minutes each to complete) make up the majority of the gameplay.

Previous 1 2 Next page

Comments

106 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. JohnWilliam Friday 28th Nov 2008 at 11:15

    WHAT THE HELL!!!???!!!
    How? Just how?
    So you are saying Secret Rings is better?
    I was so looking foward to this! :cry: :cry:

  2. ChrisONM Friday 28th Nov 2008 at 11:33

    WHAT THE HELL!!!???!!!
    How? Just how?
    So you are saying Secret Rings is better?
    I was so looking foward to this! :cry: :cry:


    Mate, calm down. Read the review text instead of just comparing the two scores.

    I'm saying the Sonic levels are fantastic: much, much better than Secret Rings (or any other 3D Sonic game). But the werehog levels are, in my opinion, a bit dull.

    Either way, they're both pretty different games. Secret Rings is on rails, Unleashed is a more traditional platformer.

  3. ploiper Friday 28th Nov 2008 at 11:36

    sounds awsome, im very much looking forward to this for xmas.

  4. DragonLordZ Friday 28th Nov 2008 at 13:09

    hopefully my copy will arrive tommorrow

  5. Nintymat Friday 28th Nov 2008 at 13:11

    So close sega, so close.

    Im sure that nearly every single wii owner or 360 owner for that matter, would not have minded if you delayed this game untill Christmas '09. By that time you could have taken out the werehog, and added more sonic levels, and made the best sonic game of all time.

    But in the end you rushed out your game without polishing the werehog levels, or removing them all together.

  6. Slayso Friday 28th Nov 2008 at 13:11

    Those 7 levels sound awesome.

    The werehog stuff puts me off since I probably won't have the patience to go through them all.

    I may pick this up when the price drops stupidly low to like Ł13 like Secret Rings did.

  7. Mwahaha Friday 28th Nov 2008 at 13:54

    Those 7 levels sound awesome.

    The werehog stuff puts me off since I probably won't have the patience to go through them all.

    I may pick this up when the price drops stupidly low to like Ł13 like Secret Rings did.

    Too true. Seems that once again Sega has added a gimmick that isnt necessary and just spoils the rest of the game.
    May get it anyway, but if its flawed id rather wait and get the conduit or tales 2 whenever they get released

  8. gils Friday 28th Nov 2008 at 14:42

    such a shame.... as the screens and vids of the day time sequences look amazing...but its the werewolf levels and have runied this game.

    So close sega, why do you always excite us, then end up spoilting sonic for us?

    :roll:

  9. Ultra mega super Friday 28th Nov 2008 at 15:25

    I was really looking forward to this and now it turns out it is rubbish. Damn those american voice acters and expermental sega employees.

  10. 91nintendo Friday 28th Nov 2008 at 15:56

    Haha! Proof that Sonic still sucks.

    Eat that Squadala.

  11. Fii Friday 28th Nov 2008 at 15:58

    Sounds great, definitely getting it.

    Unfortunately it does seem that SEGA likes experimenting a little too much. Well, at least we get an alternate form of Sonic instead of a new playable character.

  12. PsychoPikmin Friday 28th Nov 2008 at 15:59

    Huh...should've guessed that it'd be get a score like this...
    Still getting it for Christmas!!

  13. hpmad910 Friday 28th Nov 2008 at 16:02

    Haha! Proof that Sonic still sucks.

    Eat that Squadala.


    ROFL!

    But wasn't Squadala banned?Anyone know why???

    Anyway on topic i don't think i'll get this.

  14. Kirbyfan13 Friday 28th Nov 2008 at 16:10

    Haha! Proof that Sonic still sucks.

    Eat that Squadala.


    So a number can prove everyone elses opinion wrong can it? News to me

  15. Rgaveglia Friday 28th Nov 2008 at 16:13

    How the hell could you rate this 79%! So what if the warehog levels are crap. IT DISERVED MORE :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :(

  16. GamerKid Friday 28th Nov 2008 at 16:17

    it got 79% and people say thier put off by one thing sheesh

  17. random_guy_14 Friday 28th Nov 2008 at 16:17

    Haha! Proof that Sonic still sucks.

    Eat that Squadala.

    He doesn't, it proves that either the Xbox 360 and PS3 versions are probably much better or that ONM thought it wasn't worthy of Gold Award. Worse than Secret Rings? You guys are retards.

    If this game gets a higher score in other magazines then it'll prove that ONM is biased.

    Any Mario fanboys come on here to laugh and say 'sonec suks lolololrofl' I'll spam their inbox, because this p**ses me off.

  18. Paper Luigi Friday 28th Nov 2008 at 16:29

    How the hell could you rate this 79%! So what if the warehog levels are crap. IT DISERVED MORE :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :(

    Bad avatar to have when you say that.

  19. shmoogle Friday 28th Nov 2008 at 16:48

    from the general concensus unleashed reminds me of star fox assault, the on foot missions and non-arwing levels were average, while the traditional levels were great. Will wait for this to go budget probs

  20. Super_Sonic96 Friday 28th Nov 2008 at 16:48

    OOHHHH......I was REALLY looking forward to this! Though what's up with this thing about only 7 Sonic levels, with the rest being Werehog? I thought (And was hoping) It would be the other way round. I'm going to get it anyway, mind.

  21. Super_Sonic96 Friday 28th Nov 2008 at 16:49

    OOHHHH......I was REALLY looking forward to this! Though what's up with this thing about only 7 Sonic levels, with the rest being Werehog? I thought (And was hoping) It would be the other way round. I'm going to get it anyway, mind.

  22. shmoogle Friday 28th Nov 2008 at 16:49

    from the general concensus unleashed reminds me of star fox assault, the on foot missions and non-arwing levels were average, while the traditional levels were great. Will wait for this to go budget probs

  23. Shikea Friday 28th Nov 2008 at 17:01

    secret rings better than this?

    monkeys run your office

    this game has AWFUL werehog sections but the runnnig sections are bliss

    and by the way i hate sonic, so im not a fanboy in denial but playing this i was begrudgingly pleased.

  24. N.A.T.O Friday 28th Nov 2008 at 17:02

    Mmmmmm, methinks a 'MARIO unleashed' game would have scored better. I think it's about time SEGA returned to the console market. Poor old Sonic doesn't seem to be getting a fair crack from Nintendo fans (this, and the stupidly low score given to the Master System Sonic game).

  25. Nuttycam Friday 28th Nov 2008 at 17:18

    Haha! Proof that Sonic still sucks.

    Eat that Squadala.

    He doesn't, it proves that either the Xbox 360 and PS3 versions are probably much better or that ONM thought it wasn't worthy of Gold Award. Worse than Secret Rings? You guys are retards.

    If this game gets a higher score in other magazines then it'll prove that ONM is biased.

    Any Mario fanboys come on here to laugh and say 'sonec suks lolololrofl' I'll spam their inbox, because this p**ses me off.


    It hasn't got very good scores anywhere for any system .

  26. Dan-the-Wii-man Friday 28th Nov 2008 at 18:11

    Garrrrrrrrrrr!!! Really annoyed but 79 isnt too bad...

  27. noodle link Friday 28th Nov 2008 at 18:39

    how the **** can you say that, sonic unleashed is awesome, i got it today since it came out today and i'm currently just past the funny rpg bit.
    and you get used to the night stages, it's just the early ones that are a bit boring.

    i highly recommend sonic unleashed for any nintendo gamer, and also, it's better with the gc controller.

    93% definately

  28. hpmad910 Friday 28th Nov 2008 at 18:41

    IGN gave the Wii version 7.2/10

  29. insanity cheese Friday 28th Nov 2008 at 18:43

    I think people just look at the score and don't read the review. People, Sonic Unleashed is awesome, worthy of a gold award, but you have to go through the Werehog levels to get to the awesomeness. That's why they had to give it that rating, it's not like they're saying its better than Secret Rings. Oh, and also, people who like Crash games won't mind the Werehog levels.

  30. City Of Delusion Friday 28th Nov 2008 at 18:56

    Haha! Proof that Sonic still sucks.

    Eat that Squadala.

    He doesn't, it proves that either the Xbox 360 and PS3 versions are probably much better or that ONM thought it wasn't worthy of Gold Award. Worse than Secret Rings? You guys are retards.

    If this game gets a higher score in other magazines then it'll prove that ONM is biased.

    Any Mario fanboys come on here to laugh and say 'sonec suks lolololrofl' I'll spam their inbox, because this p**ses me off.

    Let's ask Metacritic then.
    Wii Version. Current Metascore: 71 (ONM's score looks like the consensus right now)
    360 Version. Current Metascore: 64
    PS3 Version. No Metascore, but a 60% and 72% review is listed

    Methinks it's not deserving of a Gold Award, regardless of the system.

    Ho hum, the doubters are correct again. Sega should consider outsourcing their franchises...

  31. toffeeman30 Friday 28th Nov 2008 at 18:58

    yes. the demise of sonic :lol: long live mario!

  32. ChrisONM Friday 28th Nov 2008 at 19:32

    Worse than Secret Rings? You guys are retards.

    If this game gets a higher score in other magazines then it'll prove that ONM is biased.


    Mmmmmm, methinks a 'MARIO unleashed' game would have scored better. I think it's about time SEGA returned to the console market. Poor old Sonic doesn't seem to be getting a fair crack from Nintendo fans (this, and the stupidly low score given to the Master System Sonic game).


    Sorry, but that's just rubbish.

    I'm not just a Nintendo fan: I had a Master System, a Mega Drive and a Dreamcast. I love Sonic games and I think Sonic is great. If you actually read the text in the review you'll see that I say the Sonic stages are fantastic fun.

    It's the werehog stuff that lets it down for me and since those levels make up the majority of the gameplay I can't just ignore it and say "ah well, it's Sonic so I'll give it a high score anyway". THAT would be biased.

    Sonic fans, I'm sorry that I didn't like the game as much as you wish I did, but I'm a Sonic fan too and I was just being honest. Check the internet: there are many other sites giving it a lower score than I have.

  33. toffeeman30 Friday 28th Nov 2008 at 19:42

    dont worry chris, u dont have to explain yourself! you reviewed the game and thats your opinion. you have reviewed the game in an honest manner. :lol:

  34. fanboy Friday 28th Nov 2008 at 19:42

    GameCentral on teletext gave it 4/10 (360 Version).

    79% probably seems fair enough to be honest as its pretty much the same rubbish Sega have released for the past few years in regards to Sonic, well apart from the DS ones.

    Why dont they listen or learn?! We dont want stupid gimmicky bits and daft characters noone cares about. We just want a new, pumped up version of the first game, or at least very similar to the original anyway.

    Sega need to take one look at Streetfighter 4 and see how Capcom have not changed anything, just improved whats already there.

  35. Flash7 Friday 28th Nov 2008 at 20:01

    I don't care about the voice acting because I can lol at it, but the werehog crap has put me off a bit.

  36. Poke-J Friday 28th Nov 2008 at 21:51

    Am I the only one who loves the Werehog stages?

  37. Random_Idiot Friday 28th Nov 2008 at 21:51

    Ok... so I've been waiting for this review, in hope it would get at least 80%. Yes, I agree that the 'werehog' bits spoil it. But the comments of gameplay on YT, say are completely different to what you say.

    e,g. They say the voice acting is the best.
    Ah well. You've reviewed it hounestly so that's what counts. :)

  38. ShadowofPain Friday 28th Nov 2008 at 22:17

    The one review out of all the current game reviews I was hoping for a mark above 80%. :cry:

  39. ShadowofPain Friday 28th Nov 2008 at 22:29

    Something just occured to me. If you at ONM think that there is to much werehog you can balance it yourselves. After the werehog levels go back and play the day levels again to improve your efforts and find the best way to do it. That way by repeating the mouth watering speed you get from the day levels (this is assuming they won't get dull which they probably won't), you will have a nice balance of day and night. I'm gonna do that when I get the game. Problem solved!! :D

  40. seganintendo Friday 28th Nov 2008 at 22:43

    Why dont they listen or learn?! We dont want stupid gimmicky bits and daft characters noone cares about. We just want a new, pumped up version of the first game, or at least very similar to the original anyway.

    Sega need to take one look at Streetfighter 4 and see how Capcom have not changed anything, just improved whats already there.

    Exactly. As soon as I saw the trailer for Street Fighter 4, I couldn't believe how similar to SF2 it looked, even though it is on such more powerful hardware.

    And Sega need to see sense too. You're right. Wasn't the first trailer solely as a 2D side scroller with 3D graphics? That's all we need. It is almost as if Sega have no hope that a 2D platformer can sell on a home console and only wanna relegate it to a handheld.
    Sonic Rush 1 and 2 are amazing and are almost as good as the glory days on the Mega Drive, although no game has topped Sonic 3 and Knuckles.

    So they'll throw in all these new bits and unpure the experience. What a waste. I was gonna make this my xmas present but now it's gonna be Animal Crossing. I don't wanna have to play through unenjoyable parts just because the Sonic sections are meant to be great.

    Hopefully Sega have a Mega Drive graphics-style Sonic 4 on WiiWare lined up, or will bother to make a sole 2D platformer with 3D graphics in future.

  41. ShadowofPain Friday 28th Nov 2008 at 22:54

    One final point. Did you know ONM that there are loads and loads of SECRET day levels to unlock. Yes there are more day levels than you thought. Not to mention that there are expanded versions of every level to (which means overall there are about 30 or so day levels).

  42. seancuk23 Friday 28th Nov 2008 at 23:29

    Give Dimps the Sonic Franchise, Sonic Team are incompetent!

    I advise everyone to buy the 360 or PS3 version since there are two pretty cool Sonic levels missing from the Wii game, I however will wait until the game is available in the Ł10.00 bargain bins! :(

  43. BOWIEtheHERO Saturday 29th Nov 2008 at 02:04

    Ok... Sounds great and all...
    But 7 Level is DIABOLICAL!

    I don't really care how good or bad the Werehog stages are... and any Sonic fan will know... Yes the Day Stages are great, but 7 is NOT enough!

    79% is generous in my opinion...

    And this is from someone who drifts in and out of Sonic...

    7 Levels of greatness does NOT make up for... 29 was it? Levels of repetition... I bet the werehog levels aren't even that bad...

    But c'mon! 7! 7 Levels... JUST 7?
    That's a farce!

    Oh dear oh dear... Sonic ¬_¬...

    I'll probably still get it!

  44. Shadowphantom Saturday 29th Nov 2008 at 07:03

    79% is a respectable score

  45. StriderHedgehog Saturday 29th Nov 2008 at 08:58

    ONM have so far given it the second best score (only beaten by Nintedno Power (which gave it 8.0).

    And I don't think that the Werehog is s**t. I actually think that they seem amazing.

  46. Random_Idiot Saturday 29th Nov 2008 at 08:58

    Ok, so I was waiting a while for this review. And I thought it would at least have a score of atleast 80%.
    I mean, what's wrong with the werehog levels?! Comon people, SEGA are just trying out different combonations before they release a good game...right? :?
    Although I think you were a bit harsh on the voice acting.... Jason Griffith is actully GOOD for once.
    Chips voice is Ok (Tails and Chip should of switched voices)

    Ah well at least you gave your honest oppinion :)

  47. hpmad910 Saturday 29th Nov 2008 at 09:27

    79% is a respectable score

  48. ploiper Saturday 29th Nov 2008 at 10:28

    Am I the only one who loves the Werehog stages?

    your not alone there, i think the werehog stages look like a lot of fun to pley through, i enjoy sections like that in games.

  49. Rnald Saturday 29th Nov 2008 at 12:53

    79% is a good score, not every game has to be rated 80+.

    I'm still getting this, the graphics are brilliant and the werehog stages should be a nice stage.

    On the other hand, Sega appear to have served up another average game, perhaps they should continue on the handhelds (The DS Sonic Games have been great).

  50. super-mario-wii Saturday 29th Nov 2008 at 13:48

    79% is still a respectful score. Just next time SEGA focus more and the Sonic daytime levels and ditch the werehog.

  51. TheAPERSON Saturday 29th Nov 2008 at 14:20

    I said before I was going to get this no matter the review. If only for the Sonic stages. Someone said the Werehog levels were similar to Crash Bandicoot and I enjoyed those games so I should enjoy unleashed.

    Once I get the game I should give a review.

  52. nicktendo Saturday 29th Nov 2008 at 15:37

    hi, i got sonic unleashed yesterday and i have not been dissapointed by the warehog sections, they play like a mix of mario 64 and crash bandicoot! i don't see why people dont like the game. the sonic levels are amazing and the warehog levels are great if you like platforming. the only complaint i have is with the terrible bits where you have to talk to people between levels. apart from that its the best 3d sonic there is. 92% gold award from me!

  53. nicktendo Saturday 29th Nov 2008 at 15:42

    Am I the only one who loves the Werehog stages?


    no, i actually enjoy them alot, maybe even more than the sonic levels due to the fact that they last longer . the game deserves at least 90% i really don't understand. why all the criticism?

  54. mcs31 Saturday 29th Nov 2008 at 15:43

    sounds fun! No, im not sarcastic, it genuinly sounds fun for people who arent experinced or even good at most games!

  55. Zenona Saturday 29th Nov 2008 at 17:03

    It's a shame that Sonic Unleashed scored so low. I'm not saying it should be higher. The game was meant to focus on the were-hedgehog part, and if it's failed... Well. That's why it scored so low, I guess.

  56. link289 Saturday 29th Nov 2008 at 17:38

    Wow, this has made me a bit annoyed and upset.

    I was really looking forward to this game and now that I know that its just another ' could of been great' Sonic, Im really p**sed off.

    When will there be a proper ace Sonic game? :(

  57. ShadowofPain Saturday 29th Nov 2008 at 17:44

    Ok... Sounds great and all...
    But 7 Level is DIABOLICAL!

    I don't really care how good or bad the Werehog stages are... and any Sonic fan will know... Yes the Day Stages are great, but 7 is NOT enough!

    79% is generous in my opinion...

    And this is from someone who drifts in and out of Sonic...

    7 Levels of greatness does NOT make up for... 29 was it? Levels of repetition... I bet the werehog levels aren't even that bad...

    But c'mon! 7! 7 Levels... JUST 7?
    That's a farce!

    No one ever seems to read my comments. There are not just 7 day levels. There are 7 normal ones+7 expanded ones+about 14-20 smaller missions after the main levels+a whole load of secret day levels. Oh and BTW it was about 25 they said. Overall there are about 40 day levels (if not more.

  58. kevindoc193 Saturday 29th Nov 2008 at 18:07

    i don't care about the score

    2008 is still the year of sonic. he became most popular character of the UK and the dark brotherhood.

    the goal of this game wasn't to make the best sonic ever, it was to return classic sonic gameplay and thats what it did.

  59. drew250 Saturday 29th Nov 2008 at 22:09

    I find this handy chart helps me not get too hyped about new sonic games:

    http://www.thetanooki.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/07/080706soniccycle.jpg

  60. Red-Wolf Saturday 29th Nov 2008 at 22:09

    NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!! I DON'T BELEIVE IT!! 79%!! The werehog bits are admittedly average, but the rest is spectacular. The voice acting is decent (okay, the villages could have been better), the opening is brilliant, the S ranks are acheivable and the music is fantastic. I would rate this at least 85%, because it's easily on of the best Sonic games ever! I had faith in you Scullion, but I think I've lost it :cry: ...

  61. Red-Wolf Saturday 29th Nov 2008 at 22:25

    ERK! :o What am I saying?! :( If you're reading this Scullion, sorry about what I said in my reply... :oops: It's your opinion, but I actually deeply love Sonic (not in a trousery way mind, that'd be sick) and I actually enjoy the werehog sections, and the zelda style puzzle rooms are interesting. I still have faith in you, it's just I love this game.

  62. Ubahquiet Saturday 29th Nov 2008 at 22:49

    Damn, some people are taking this score very seriously...

    I haven't got the game yet (my mum got it as a Christmas prezzie for me, she didn't realise the box was visible amongst the rest of the shopping she came in with today), but my mate got the 360 version, and it's amazing. Or at least, the Sonic levels are. The Werehog levels were meh after a while. If they only didn't put the Werehog levels in there, or at least not in such a large amount, and actually reversed the amount of levels so the Sonic levels were in majority, then the game would be the one that actually heralded the return of Sonic.

  63. Yellowtail Sunday 30th Nov 2008 at 07:25

    I knew this game would end up like this. The warewolf thing was never a good idea.

  64. Mahzes Sunday 30th Nov 2008 at 09:45

    Well, I finished the game yesterday.

    I'll have to admit, whilst I wish there were more Sonic stages, the werehog stages don't ruin it for me.

    The thing that bugs me most is how the game makes absolutel no effort to mask the fact you're getting a very different (read; heavily cut-down and inferior) game to the 360 version. The static world map 'hub' areas are a disgrace.

    The only issues I had with the werehog stages were some camera and control issues in some of the later stages that required loads of fiddly acrobatics.

    But like I said, the game loses most of its points for me regarding shoddy presentation. No option to replay the story mode, the stages aren't properly 'numbered' despite unlock screens telling you to go to the first, second continent etc, and in the Gaia Gates, the portals to others haveno indication of which one takes you where.

  65. Ryu5 Sunday 30th Nov 2008 at 11:58

    Am I the only one who loves the Werehog stages?


    no, i actually enjoy them alot, maybe even more than the sonic levels due to the fact that they last longer . the game deserves at least 90% i really don't understand. why all the criticism?

    I was really REALLY looking forward to this game...and then it got 79% and apparently the werehog stages are boring. :(

    I was always going to buy this game too be honest when I first heard it was "classic sonic back", and if some people believe that the werehog stages aren't so bad then I'm looking forward to getting this then.

  66. The Sandbag Sunday 30th Nov 2008 at 12:50

    i might actually get this game, and i am not a fan of the new sonic, cos he seems to be too cocky for his own good. but this game does look excellent. the werehog levels i don't really care about; all i ned to do when playing those is imagine it as another game, and i'll be fine

  67. wiikii007 Sunday 30th Nov 2008 at 13:57

    'Sigh'. Trust them to muck something up with this game. The whole werehog thing was uncalled for. :roll:

  68. Nocturnal_knight Sunday 30th Nov 2008 at 16:16

    The review criticizes he voice acting, and yet most Nintendo fandom is up in arms that Zelda doesn’t have any. Make up your mind people. No one seemed to care that Mario sunshine had vice acting and Galaxy didn’t so why are is evryone bothered in this instance about the voice acting.

  69. Kolo67 Sunday 30th Nov 2008 at 16:46

    How could you do this?

    it should be at least 82%, unless the werehog levels are that bad

  70. Smash-bros fan Sunday 30th Nov 2008 at 17:06

    Well. Sonic can be good and bad. bad eg Adventure 2 battle. good eg Shadow the hedgehog. But stuff ONM. everything is a matter of opinion. some will love this game, others will hate it. U cant control what u like and dont like so dont take the mick, but thats not an excuse to act fanboyish either.
    anyone agree?

  71. Sonic boomhog Sunday 30th Nov 2008 at 17:11

    I had a nightmare about the score...
    It should get more than Chronicles for gods sake.
    I am still getting it!!!!!

  72. Rnald Sunday 30th Nov 2008 at 17:13

    79% is a good score, not every game has to be rated 80+.

    I'm still getting this, the graphics are brilliant and the werehog stages should be a nice stage.

    On the other hand, Sega appear to have served up another average game, perhaps they should continue on the handhelds (The DS Sonic Games have been great).

    I now have it, I think it should be rated over 79% but everyone has their own opinion.

    The Werehog stages arent so bad but they feel slow and there is a unneeded amount of them.

    The Graphics are nice and it runs smoothly, I dont mind the voice acting but I dont get why it has cutscenes which then go on to a character appearing on screen with a speech bubble.

    It has its flaws but it is a nice game and a decent experience, it also has some of the best graphics on wii.

    I'll say 86% and in my book that makes it 20% better than SMG.

  73. xychojack Sunday 30th Nov 2008 at 18:50

    I suppose it's a matter of taste, whether you love or hate the beauty or the beast. The voice-acting seems alright (although Sonic still sounds like he needs to take a chill pill), and the action stages are very Sonic Adventure style. I may still get this game, but I might wait until the PS3 version is released.

  74. arceus 493 Sunday 30th Nov 2008 at 18:55

    Am I the only one who loves the Werehog stages?


    no, i actually enjoy them alot, maybe even more than the sonic levels due to the fact that they last longer . the game deserves at least 90% i really don't understand. why all the criticism?


    I also enjoyed the Werehog stages, especially since they weren't as frustrating as a certain Sonic stage.
    This game deserves a Gold Award, ONM just can't accept any changes.

    Anyways, who want's some chocolate?

  75. ShadowofPain Sunday 30th Nov 2008 at 20:56

    The voice acting in this isn't that bad. Jason Griffith has improved as Sonic and put a nice touch on the werehog and Chip isn't that annoying (would've prefered him to have a female voice like in the Japanese version). Think of it this way, at least it's not OMOCHAO!!

  76. nicktendo Sunday 30th Nov 2008 at 22:10

    Am I the only one who loves the Werehog stages?


    no, i actually enjoy them alot, maybe even more than the sonic levels due to the fact that they last longer . the game deserves at least 90% i really don't understand. why all the criticism?


    I also enjoyed the Werehog stages, especially since they weren't as frustrating as a certain Sonic stage.
    This game deserves a Gold Award, ONM just can't accept any changes.

    Anyways, who want's some chocolate?

    yes, that last sonic level is hell compared to the warehog levels that follow, i died countless times on that! i actually found myself wanting more warehog levels! ONM i think you should consider raising the score as it will put alot of people buying a great original game for the wii, then they will go and buy carnival games instead and you don't want that to happen!
    where does chip get his chocolate from?

  77. luigiboy Monday 1st Dec 2008 at 13:19

    lol :lol:

  78. Giga Monday 1st Dec 2008 at 18:51

    Am I the only one who loves the Werehog stages?


    no, i actually enjoy them alot, maybe even more than the sonic levels due to the fact that they last longer . the game deserves at least 90% i really don't understand. why all the criticism?


    I also enjoyed the Werehog stages, especially since they weren't as frustrating as a certain Sonic stage.
    This game deserves a Gold Award, ONM just can't accept any changes.

    Anyways, who want's some chocolate?

    yes, that last sonic level is hell compared to the warehog levels that follow, i died countless times on that! i actually found myself wanting more warehog levels! ONM i think you should consider raising the score as it will put alot of people buying a great original game for the wii, then they will go and buy carnival games instead and you don't want that to happen!
    where does chip get his chocolate from?

    From chef. He likes his salty chocolate balls.

  79. Bleachyleachy Monday 1st Dec 2008 at 22:28

    Funny, I guessed this game would get 79%.... sure enough :D

    Well, I'm a little dissappointed (DAMMIT SEGA! WHY CAN'T YOU MAKE A SONIC GAME WITH JUSTSONIC IN?!) but it seems like a fair score to me.

    And also, can all you idiots saying "ONM are biased if it were Mario it would have got gold award" shut up please? 7/10 seems to be the score for this game across the board, so be quiet.

  80. johndfernley Tuesday 2nd Dec 2008 at 08:37

    please can someone tell me if this game has a chao garden in - that was my favourite thing about SA2 and i will buy this if it does

  81. Tommson Tuesday 2nd Dec 2008 at 13:51


    If this game gets a higher score in other magazines then it'll prove that ONM is biased.

    Most reviews I have read scored it around the same as ONM have done.

    I don't think 79% is a bad score any way to be honest.

  82. Tailzy Wednesday 3rd Dec 2008 at 21:17

    I feel really dissapointed that this could of been a pure gem if Sega just kept with Sonic.. really dissapointed.

    Nevertheless, as long as I can play Sonics levels anytime once I complete the game, im all for this. Shadow the hedgehog and the Next Gen game asside, ive enjoyed all of Sonics 3d outings to date, so this is pretty much essential, despite the werhog stages which hopefully wont be too bad.

  83. Rage Jage Thursday 4th Dec 2008 at 19:26

    Killer question:

    Chao garden or no chao garden?

  84. lewisgn Saturday 6th Dec 2008 at 12:38

    Haha! I knew Sonic would fail miserably. When it was first released, considering Sonic levels were promised to be better than Secret rings, i thought, hey it could be sonic rush for wii. Then in came.....THE WEREHOG!!!!

    End of the epic horror story that is Sega failing. Even hardcore sonic fans must admit by now, sega is losing its grip.

    Wario did it, so why cant sonic have a 2.5d game on wii. No werehog, no 3d, just plain old sonic with better graphics.

    I mean 7 levels of sonic is poor, but you could just call it a small game. But 25 werehog levels?! Sheeseh sega, buck up in black knight or im gonna lose all hope in you. Although, black knight has a sword in it, cue the 'cool twist' by sega, and will almost definetly suck.

    Stick to nintendo.

  85. Dan-the-Wii-man Saturday 6th Dec 2008 at 23:39

    Got it 2day basically agree with review but i dont think they are giving the werehog stages enough credit ok theyre not as good as the daytime stages but theyre still not as bad as they are making out

    p.s. if u wanna buy it go to gamestatio b4 fri 14th as it is in the half price sale!! (Only 17.50!!! woot!! :D)

  86. kezz182 Sunday 7th Dec 2008 at 16:19

    WHAT 79% IS THAT IT!!!!! IT SHOULD HAVE GOT MUST HIGHER!

    Well im still getting the game for christmas and I bet its gunna be great.

  87. GuyWhoLikesBlue2 Sunday 7th Dec 2008 at 19:25

    Good reveiw, but I totally disagree.

    The Day levels are far too short and it is hard to steer exactly how you want exactly.

    The Night levels, however, are very action packed and use a very clever platforming style which rivals Mario Galaxy. I also approve of the level up system which encourages you to play thoroughly in order to do better in later levels.

    Should of at least got 89%

  88. Fii Monday 8th Dec 2008 at 18:01

    Well, I just bought the game yesterday, and it's actually... pretty damn fun. In fact, it's the most amount of fun i've ever had from a console Sonic game in a very long time.

    But yeah, the Werehog does make its value fall considerably - if Werehog was only made playable in the day stages as a means of finding alternate routes or finding hidden paths (like in Sonic and Knuckles), they would have been a dream. Instead I got a generic, bland beat-em-up platformer - I like hack and slash games like Golden Axe, but it's just so incredibly monotonous. 79% is a perfectly fair score.

  89. RealToonLink Monday 8th Dec 2008 at 22:14

    Haha! Proof that Sonic still sucks.

    Eat that Squadala.

    He doesn't, it proves that either the Xbox 360 and PS3 versions are probably much better or that ONM thought it wasn't worthy of Gold Award. Worse than Secret Rings? You guys are retards.

    If this game gets a higher score in other magazines then it'll prove that ONM is biased.

    Any Mario fanboys come on here to laugh and say 'sonec suks lolololrofl' I'll spam their inbox, because this p**ses me off.

    So far many reviewers have been saying that the Wii version is better then the 360 + PS3 versions.

    e.g IGN Wii Version 7.2/10

    IGN 360 + PS3 Version 4.5/10

    There are more scores on Wikipedia. Such a shame that SEGA had to add that silly thing called Werehog.

  90. lecto2007 Tuesday 9th Dec 2008 at 16:08

    Wii just sucks

  91. Evosnake Friday 12th Dec 2008 at 21:06

    I this game deserves at least 85

    the sonic levels are mint and the werehog levels arent that bad at all


    except for the stupid swinging of ledges and sprinting off edges for no reason


    the story line is terrible tho

  92. nickjamespinks Sunday 14th Dec 2008 at 19:48

    :roll: am i dumb or something because we go on about the graphics the xbox 360 and ps3 being better than wii, but when i check out the sceen shot for sonic on the sega web site, i cant see the differens. the wii is a great consoles and we should stop putting it down. the game play on wii is the best. i played on a xbox 360 and it was very boring after 20 mins of play. and that is why more people have brought a wii, they are fun fun funnnnnnnnnnnnnnn.ok :P

  93. Pikminmon Friday 26th Dec 2008 at 12:41

    Totally agree with this, fantastic review well done.

  94. DBZFan355 Sunday 28th Dec 2008 at 21:31

    I got this the other day, and yes, the werehog levels are a little boring, but did ONM mention the vast use of the Wii's motion controls that are in the werehog levels? No! Did they also mention that the storyline was cleverly thought of? No. Definetly deserved a higher score and maybe even a place in the top 50! AND I FAIL TO SEE HOW CRANIUM KABOOKI IS BETTER THAN THIS!

  95. yubel Monday 29th Dec 2008 at 19:56

    Yea,85% would have been a little better and not everyone hats the warehog secions.
    MAYBE THE EXPLORATION IS A NICE REFRESHING CHANGE EVEN THOUGH IT DOSNT SEEM TO FIT IN WITH SONIC GAME BUT IT GROWS ON YOU.

    Damn caps. :roll:

  96. SonicBoom01 Saturday 3rd Jan 2009 at 12:09

    I don't see anything wrong with this game it's the best sonic game I have ever played :D

  97. Aiwi Sunday 4th Jan 2009 at 21:02

    Sonic Unleashed - the game with high expectations.

    Ok, it reached some of them. The new idea of of being able to use classic controller or the gamecube controller. Personally I think it's genius. Game play is more controllable. Yet the whole werehog thing makes the game slightly more slugish and boring. The lack of speed in him, annoying of course, but hey.. it was the whole point in the game.

    The thing I find annoying is that there is no party games or multiplayer. That's what I love about the Wii, it's easy and fun to play together as a family or with friends.

    My final verdict... well lets just see what lies ahead with sonic and the black knight.

    Aiwi. Xx. :wink:

  98. DBZFan355 Sunday 11th Jan 2009 at 16:50


    If this game gets a higher score in other magazines then it'll prove that ONM is biased.

    Most reviews I have read scored it around the same as ONM have done.

    I don't think 79% is a bad score any way to be honest.

    ONM are not biased. They clearly state why they gave the game that score. The Sonic levels are phenomenal all round and the Werehog levels...... lets say that playing through them is worth it when you get to the next Sonic level. However, the Wii version is very, very dissapointing. The Xbox version has tonnes more speed, amazing visuals and no useless village map screen. If you have both consoles and want to buy Unleashed, go for the Box version. I just hope Madworld doesn't turn out like this

  99. Erdogan44 Tuesday 4th Aug 2009 at 09:29

    LOL
    I got this game at Christmas, i must say i enjoy it.

    The Werehog aint that bad, and his combats neat. also day stages....


    F T W

  100. dreadzrus Sunday 11th Oct 2009 at 12:46

    Good game, but I can't understand whats so bad with the voice acting!?!
    Apart from Sonic the werehog sounding like he swallowed a cheese grater, everyone else was alright! Fun game. I agree werehog stages get boring, but running levels are great.
    100th comment!!!!!1

  101. Splinter435 Saturday 28th Nov 2009 at 19:59

    I think that overall, this is a good sonic game. I think that the night and day stages are good in equal measure. Only quibble(heh, quibble) is that day stages don't control that well, and that night stages can occasionaly become repetative, but that dosn't stop this being fairly epic(the chun-nan night stage act 3 is frikkin incradible, and the music is fairly mint). Overall, 85-90.

  102. Aiwi Tuesday 15th Dec 2009 at 11:45

    I personally like the werehog levels, nice to have some control over sonic for once. But they're just too long.

  103. blublur101 Friday 5th Mar 2010 at 16:41

    this would deserve 95% if it wasn't for them fricken werehog parts.......

  104. dragoncrasher Thursday 3rd Nov 2011 at 20:17

    Not that bad. Id give it eighty two percent. But Mario pwns Sonic. XP

  105. Wilfie Sunday 4th Nov 2012 at 11:03

    We have sonic unleashed at home and it is a good game. I haven't played it much at all but my little brother loves it. I agree, the werehog levels are rubbish. I think it deserves 75%. Also how do you attach a picture to your profile???

  106. Wilfie Sunday 4th Nov 2012 at 11:04

    I personally like the werehog levels, nice to have some control over sonic for once. But they're just too long.


    How do you get a picture on your profile???

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.