Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Animal Crossing: Let's Go To The City Review

It's time to kiss goodbye to the real world all over again...

Let's get this out of the way first so that there's no confusion. If you owned the GameCube version of Animal Crossing then this Wii sequel is more of an update than a proper, brand new game. Your enjoyment of it will depend on whether you don't mind going through many of the same tasks again, and how much you'll make use of the game's Wi-Fi features. As a result, the majority of this review is mainly for the benefit of those who didn't have Animal Crossing on the GameCube, since for them Let's Go To The City will feel like a much newer experience.

In case you're not familiar with the Animal Crossing series and have played neither the GameCube game nor its DS sequel, allow us to fill you in. Animal Crossing is a life simulation game in which you take control of a character who's recently moved to a new town. After finding a house and meeting the neighbours, you pretty much have free reign to do whatever you want in the village: go fishing, design clothes, buy and sell goods... there's a wide variety of options available to you.

Click to view larger image

Stop, Nook, Listen

At the start of the game, after choosing a house, you're given employment at Nook's Cranny, a shop run by the local raccoon shopkeeper Tom Nook. As in previous versions of the game, you're given a few tasks to do in exchange for some money that goes towards your mortgage (which must be paid off before you can make your house bigger). However, these tasks are virtually identical to those in the other versions of the game: plant some flowers outside the shop, deliver a carpet, write an ad on the town's noticeboard and so on. At this point you'd be forgiven for thinking that this was simply the GameCube game with pointer controls tacked on.

Thankfully, as the game progresses it becomes clear that it actually has a lot more going for it. Although it always feels like little more than an enhanced version of its older brothers, these enhancements do improve the experience. Whether it's subtle improvements (like being able to swap between tools by simply pressing left and right on the D-Pad instead of having to go into a menu and equip them) or more obvious ones (such as the online features and the new city area), everything that's been added to the game will make you think "ah, nice one".

Naturally, the main addition to Let's Go To The City is the new city area, which can be accessed by going to the bus stop at your town's front gate. It's not really a city as such, just a small plaza area with nine different services available to you. That said, it's a cheery little place which makes a pleasant change from the typical Animal Crossing surroundings. It's also a great way to meet other characters in the game, because anyone who doesn't live in your town can be found walking around the city or inside its shops at random moments.

Click to view larger image

Bright Lights, Big City

While it's a bit limited, the city does include some interesting shops that become more useful as you play the game more and start racking up the big bucks. Shops like Gracie Grace and the auction house aren't very useful at the start of the game, but once you've got a lot of bells in your account you'll be able to start buying expensive furniture and bidding on rare items. It's a nice way of adding to the game's longevity while also giving you another goal to aim for (one day we'll buy that Sweets Table in Gracie Grace, even if it is 120,000 bells).

The city also allows you to get a haircut whenever you feel like it (or exchange your Animal Crossing face for a Mii one), get your shoes shined, learn new emotions (handy for online chats), get your fortune told and visit the Happy Room Academy to see how to improve your house's décor.

Previous 1 2 Next page

Comments

80 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. Mama Luigi Friday 5th Dec 2008 at 11:41

    Fail. Another biased review.

    I hope I don't get perma banned for voicing my opinion...

  2. ChrisONM Friday 5th Dec 2008 at 12:30

    Fail. Another biased review.

    I hope I don't get perma banned for voicing my opinion...


    *sigh*

    1) Have you played the game yet?

    2) Have you actually read the text in the review, or just looked at the score?

    3) When have we ever banned anyone for calling us biased?

    Seriously mate. You can't just call the review biased because it got a high score. It's almost like Nintendo isn't allowed to make good games.

  3. vamperik Friday 5th Dec 2008 at 13:14

    I would have to give this game two scores:

    -90+ for newcomers.

    - 60-70 for anyone who played the ds version or cube version.

    Shame Nintendo played it safe , risks can equal great rewards ... or cause you to crash and burn :D .

    Either way i'll stick with the DS version.

  4. red lobster51 Friday 5th Dec 2008 at 15:57

    Hmmm.

    Maybe I am misintepreting the review scale, but I feel like the score of 90% really doesn't match the text in the review.

    Throughout the review you were arguing that it is minor upgrade with little innovation, and that for many readers it isn't worth buying, yet reward it with a score that says to me that the game is a masterpiece.

    The text seems spot on, but i'm struggling to grasp how it translates into the score that you gave it.

  5. Callum D Friday 5th Dec 2008 at 16:08

    my animal crossing came this morning. Unfortunately I can't play it til xmas!Oh well, I'll play Wild World til then!

  6. Plimwog Friday 5th Dec 2008 at 16:11

    this game looks amazing

    shame it didnt score higher though

    this is a must have for christmas

  7. Super_Sonic96 Friday 5th Dec 2008 at 16:16

    *kiss* Goodbye real world, i woud say i miss you, bit i'd be lying, i'm on to better thingsa now....with my new mate KK.

  8. tomonm Friday 5th Dec 2008 at 16:17

    Hmmm.

    Maybe I am misintepreting the review scale, but I feel like the score of 90% really doesn't match the text in the review.

    Throughout the review you were arguing that it is minor upgrade with little innovation, and that for many readers it isn't worth buying, yet reward it with a score that says to me that the game is a masterpiece.

    The text seems spot on, but i'm struggling to grasp how it translates into the score that you gave it.

    The thing is with Let's Go To The City is that it is an amazing game YET those who played the GameCube vesrion might be slightly disappointed that this is very similar. That's the reason it didn't get 96 like the DS version. Having said that, considering that Animal Crossing GC didn't sell particularly well in this country, I'd imagine that most people won't be bothered that it's similar...

  9. ChrisONM Friday 5th Dec 2008 at 16:32

    Hmmm.

    Maybe I am misintepreting the review scale, but I feel like the score of 90% really doesn't match the text in the review.

    Throughout the review you were arguing that it is minor upgrade with little innovation, and that for many readers it isn't worth buying, yet reward it with a score that says to me that the game is a masterpiece.

    The text seems spot on, but i'm struggling to grasp how it translates into the score that you gave it.


    I can understand your point, but I chose to review the game based purely on its own merit.

    I did feel that it needed to be mentioned that anyone who'd played a previous version would perhaps be a bit annoyed at how similar it is, but when it came to scoring it I've based it on the game itself rather than how it compares to others.

  10. Wario-Man Friday 5th Dec 2008 at 16:54

    I would have to give this game two scores:
    90+ for newcomers.
    60-70 for anyone who played the DS version or cube version.

    I agree. It's not a totally new game which is OK if the updates are great eg. in Pokemon Platinum. I didn't read the review because I don't care :lol: but I don't think I'll be getting this game. :)

  11. Kolo67 Friday 5th Dec 2008 at 17:09

    I would have to give this game two scores:

    -90+ for newcomers.

    - 60-70 for anyone who played the ds version or cube version.

    Shame Nintendo played it safe , risks can equal great rewards ... or cause you to crash and burn :D .

    Either way i'll stick with the DS version.

    They didn't play it safe. They just went and made a load of improvements. I would buy it even if I had the DS one. That's a bit harsh, saying they "played it safe." I doubt you could make a game that good.

  12. red lobster51 Friday 5th Dec 2008 at 17:25

    Hmmm.

    Maybe I am misintepreting the review scale, but I feel like the score of 90% really doesn't match the text in the review.

    Throughout the review you were arguing that it is minor upgrade with little innovation, and that for many readers it isn't worth buying, yet reward it with a score that says to me that the game is a masterpiece.

    The text seems spot on, but i'm struggling to grasp how it translates into the score that you gave it.


    I can understand your point, but I chose to review the game based purely on its own merit.

    I did feel that it needed to be mentioned that anyone who'd played a previous version would perhaps be a bit annoyed at how similar it is, but when it came to scoring it I've based it on the game itself rather than how it compares to others.

    I see where you are coming from.

    I guess it comes down to how much ideas and creativity is valued rather than ticking the boxes, if you look at the eurogamer review, the writer makes similar points and comes to the same conclusion that you have, and many other outlets did, yet gave the game a 6/10.

    Now I know that Eurogamer operates on a harsher scale than ONM, and there is a difference in audience for the two outlets, but ultimatly it comes down to a contrast in perception on the value of innovation in games. I would direct you to this blog post by Keith Stuart from The Guardian which looks at this question, and brings up a number of points that are pertinent to this question.

    It leads me to the conclusion that review scores are pretty meaningless as they fail to accuratly convey what the writer is trying to say, yet they are valued so highly, look at the comments already just focusing on the score.

    When it comes to games which have evolved and the medium has expanded to a point where the experience will be so drastically different for different audiences, it is so hard to give a real score that anything other than a buy or don't buy seems rather pointless.

    I'm just wondering your opinions on the value of a score, and maybe something on the value of innovation in games.

  13. Mr.Davis Friday 5th Dec 2008 at 18:27

    Clearly AC:LGTTC isn't the kind of update to the DS version that Brawl was to Melee. Good game or not, you can't not take account the fact that the worst thing in Animal Crossing games is when the player ends up doing the same thing over and over. Although you may state that players will like it 'if they don't mind'. I think it's obvious that players will mind and therefore I'm guessing that AC will be a 5/10 game for many fans.

  14. GamerKid Friday 5th Dec 2008 at 19:50

    i had ds one i would give this one 86%

  15. koopa64 Friday 5th Dec 2008 at 20:05

    i didnt get the ds should i get this 1 instead or the ds version

  16. Paper Luigi Saturday 6th Dec 2008 at 08:54

    Fail. Another biased review.

    I hope I don't get perma banned for voicing my opinion...

    Are you EVER Posative.

    Your worse than "The Grim Reaper"

  17. george best Saturday 6th Dec 2008 at 10:59

    90% ?
    personally i think this is a bit unfair because it is soo much better than its predecessor
    97% at least

  18. jimbobsquarepant Saturday 6th Dec 2008 at 12:37

    i didnt get the ds should i get this 1 instead or the ds version

    You should go for the wii version, as it saids in the review, it has more things to do then in the ds version, plus your new to Animal crossing (unless u have the cube version) so it would be a good experience for you.

  19. Gerry-rich Saturday 6th Dec 2008 at 13:37

    Fail. Another biased review.

    I hope I don't get perma banned for voicing my opinion...


    *sigh*

    1) Have you played the game yet?

    2) Have you actually read the text in the review, or just looked at the score?

    3) When have we ever banned anyone for calling us biased?

    Seriously mate. You can't just call the review biased because it got a high score. It's almost like Nintendo isn't allowed to make good games.

    I'm with Chris, I thoroughly enjoyed reading his review of the game, and makes perfect sense that the game deserves no less than 90% :D Good job, as you say he probably just looked at the score and thought it was a high number.

  20. wiikii007 Saturday 6th Dec 2008 at 14:18

    I sold my wii...One of the most regretted things iv done in my life, when it comes to games... I need there to be, like, a wii in a different colour, or something now, so I have an excuse to buy one back. :lol:

    Chris@ONM wrote:
    Mama Luigi wrote:
    Fail. Another biased review.

    I hope I don't get perma banned for voicing my opinion...

    *sigh*

    1) Have you played the game yet?

    2) Have you actually read the text in the review, or just looked at the score?

    3) When have we ever banned anyone for calling us biased?

    Seriously mate. You can't just call the review biased because it got a high score. It's almost like Nintendo isn't allowed to make good games.


    I'm with Chris, I thoroughly enjoyed reading his review of the game, and makes perfect sense that the game deserves no less than 90% Good job, as you say he probably just looked at the score and thought it was a high number.

    Yeah, I agree with Chris here, too.

  21. nintendood Saturday 6th Dec 2008 at 15:39

    Fail. Another biased review.

    I hope I don't get perma banned for voicing my opinion...


    *sigh*

    1) Have you played the game yet?

    2) Have you actually read the text in the review, or just looked at the score?

    3) When have we ever banned anyone for calling us biased?

    Seriously mate. You can't just call the review biased because it got a high score. It's almost like Nintendo isn't allowed to make good games.

    Well I wouldn't say it was a biased review because if wild world is anything to go by, then let's go to the city will obviously be a great game. But the fact is that It's just too similar to the other three games to merit such a good score. I don't think the score is wrong, just I disagree with it. In essence it's pretty close to a rehash. For example the music is completely ripped from the old game, the city just houses old faces such as Crazy Redd, The fortune teller, the hair dresser, Ressetti...etc. The furniture and decorations are mostly the same...I could go on.

    Well at least Nintendo's new audience gets to play it. But I've played the DS and Gamecube versions to death, and for people like me, it's hard not to feel annoyed that Nintendo didn't take us into consideration.

    I simply have no incentive to buy this game. No way. I hope they start from scratch next time.

  22. Luigibro606 Saturday 6th Dec 2008 at 17:42

    :D I am so getting this! I mean it has a city I always wanted a city! 8) But then again... it is Wild world & the 1st together... :? but who cares! :P

  23. daddybobo Saturday 6th Dec 2008 at 17:57

    I have never played any version of AC so I will deffo get this. I will have to wait until my birthday though which is May.

  24. Kolo67 Sunday 7th Dec 2008 at 13:09

    I am geting this(it might arrive tommorow) and can't wait.
    My friend tells me this is really good, and I can agree with him, especially with this review.
    I have seen a post in the charater art story and there was a person who said it was a bit shabby. I can't agree with him/her. If you have seen game reviews on video websites, we all know that they aren't the best quality, are they? So, you can't say that the graphics are rubbish because they look "blocky" in all the photos.
    Anyway.
    I am looking forward to this as I have never played an AC game. I have only see someone play it for about 5 minutes. But even at that look I was looking forward to a game like that, but I wouldn't buy that one, as I wasn't too interested at that time, as I had games like Metroid Prime Hunters, Starfox Command, and the like, and so I was happy.
    Issue 33 was my first look at the game. I fell for it. It looked so....awsome. This game could be better that Metroid Prime 3.

    Or perhaps not....

  25. DBZFan355 Sunday 7th Dec 2008 at 16:39

    I don't get it. If this is a better game than Wild World, then why did it get six percent less? That's like my teacher saying to me, you passed your exams, but since your answers were the same as the guy sitting at the other end of the room, you failed. I don't think Wild World should have gotten 96%, and that that 96% should have gone to LgttC. I have been failed.

  26. CaptainCalcium Monday 8th Dec 2008 at 08:52

    I don't get it. If this is a better game than Wild World, then why did it get six percent less? That's like my teacher saying to me, you passed your exams, but since your answers were the same as the guy sitting at the other end of the room, you failed. I don't think Wild World should have gotten 96%, and that that 96% should have gone to LgttC. I have been failed.

    Its all relative. At the time, Wild World deserved a 96 (or, at least in the eyes of the person reviewing it).

    Now that we are into a new generation of home consoles, AC was expected to use these ideals and hardware to create something different than the last two games (ie Super Mario Galaxy). As from what I read, it is still the same great game that has been on DS and GameCube, with some extra parts.

    The score is a reflection of Nintendo failing to innovate. Having said that, it is still a great game.

  27. adamwalker222 Monday 8th Dec 2008 at 20:35

    Hmmm.

    Maybe I am misintepreting the review scale, but I feel like the score of 90% really doesn't match the text in the review.

    Throughout the review you were arguing that it is minor upgrade with little innovation, and that for many readers it isn't worth buying, yet reward it with a score that says to me that the game is a masterpiece.

    The text seems spot on, but i'm struggling to grasp how it translates into the score that you gave it.

    The thing is with Let's Go To The City is that it is an amazing game YET those who played the GameCube vesrion might be slightly disappointed that this is very similar. That's the reason it didn't get 96 like the DS version. Having said that, considering that Animal Crossing GC didn't sell particularly well in this country, I'd imagine that most people won't be bothered that it's similar...

    well said Tom :)

    i got the GC version ( luckily ) but im not bothered, its like the pokemon series and the phoenix wright series, there are no major changes, but its still a bluddy good game.

    First game im playing at Xmas, that or COD5 :)

  28. super-mario-wii Monday 8th Dec 2008 at 21:38

    I've been told if you owned the Cube version (I didn't) there is no point getting the game but if you owned the DS version (like me) this game is worth getting.

  29. diifii Monday 8th Dec 2008 at 22:41

    i think Nintendo should have called this game - Animal Crossing: Stay home and play gears of War 2. i think thats what a lot of the gamers will want to do. this is just not a game worth buying in the time of the year when the 360 and ps3 are getting such big hits like Gears 2 and LBP and Fallout 3.

    To say this is a great game for people that never played AC on the GC or DS is like saying the old school doom is a great game to release today for the 360 for people that never played a FPS before.

    the fact is that Nintendo just didnt add that much new things into the game, and still priced it at full price like so many of the new games.

    My tip is get AC for the DS if you want a good AC game.

  30. console Wednesday 10th Dec 2008 at 18:06

    It.. Looks amazing!!!

  31. Dana_ava Wednesday 10th Dec 2008 at 18:31

    Bought my copy with wii speak brand new today for Ł35!!!!
    no chance me paying Ł50 right rip off :D

    cnt wait to play it on christmas

  32. koopa-guy64 Wednesday 10th Dec 2008 at 20:17

    i think Nintendo should have called this game - Animal Crossing: Stay home and play gears of War 2. i think thats what a lot of the gamers will want to do. this is just not a game worth buying in the time of the year when the 360 and ps3 are getting such big hits like Gears 2 and LBP and Fallout 3.

    To say this is a great game for people that never played AC on the GC or DS is like saying the old school doom is a great game to release today for the 360 for people that never played a FPS before.

    the fact is that Nintendo just didnt add that much new things into the game, and still priced it at full price like so many of the new games.

    My tip is get AC for the DS if you want a good AC game.


    This is a fair point, although I don't really think ONM need to take the other consoles into consideration when reviewing games which are only on Wii; or any game really, because the magazine centres on Nintendo, and the vast majority of readers will only own Nintendo consoles.

  33. koopa-guy64 Wednesday 10th Dec 2008 at 22:22

    I don't get it. If this is a better game than Wild World, then why did it get six percent less? That's like my teacher saying to me, you passed your exams, but since your answers were the same as the guy sitting at the other end of the room, you failed. I don't think Wild World should have gotten 96%, and that that 96% should have gone to LgttC. I have been failed.


    Nice analogy there! ;D

    I totally agree with you on this. It really bugs me when great games are rated down because of similarities with their predecessors (eg. Pokemon, and AC games). Having said this, I think it's even worse when ports are rated down. Like with RE4, given 97% on GC, and then, on Wii, dropped to 93% (or was it 94%?), despite the fact that it was obviously the better version of the game.

  34. Kolo67 Saturday 13th Dec 2008 at 16:25

    This game is definatly worth the money.
    Firstly, the game style is amazing. The graphics are better than most (better than Iron Man anyway), the way the town is layed out (every town is different), and the way that the villagers "react" when you talk to them.
    All the different facilities/buildings are laid out perfectly, not too far apart or too close. In my town, Nook's cranny is near the river in the North-West, by the bus stop and gate. The whole town is easy to navigate around in, especially with the help of the Map Rover gives you. Also, in every town, I don't think there is the same person (apart from the shopkeepers).
    Third, all the control systems/styles are easy to use, I prefer to just use one remote, and actually use the action of throwing and casting back when fishing. Being able to create your own design of clothing (and being able to copy a dsign of one section to another, saving you time) is a nice touch, and using the Wii remote to "draw" is entertaining aswell.
    There are loads of other "extras" that are not in other games,, but you can find them out for yourselves!

  35. acguy95 Saturday 13th Dec 2008 at 18:14

    This is my first ever forum post :D

    I'm getting this for christmas, and this game looks everything I wanted it to be! People say it's too similar to previous titles, but how on earth could they make an animal crossing game from scratch?

  36. gamingprincess Sunday 14th Dec 2008 at 11:21

    :D I got Animal Crossing yesterday and im enjoying it. Is Phyllis still in it i hope so. :D

  37. LUUUKE Sunday 14th Dec 2008 at 12:40

    and this is the reason the "hardcore" gamers are so angry...

    the "hardcore" games (if we get any) are just quick ports, with little change, and the casual gamers, get brand new games...

    and the thing that annoys me the most is the fact that "casual" gamers arent loyal to nintendo, or whoever make the games, they dont follow the news on games they are looking forward to like the hardcore do....yet the hardcore arent getting any proper games that appeal to them, its all about casual with nintendo..

    rant over

  38. gameboyjack Friday 19th Dec 2008 at 09:35

    i dont matter what score it got its id you like the game.i liked the ds and game cube version so i hope this game is just as good.also i heard you can only go online if you no someone else who has got animal crossing and i think that is rubbish

  39. .Yoshi. Friday 19th Dec 2008 at 18:20

    PLEASE can some1 tell me when you use the DS moving van do you move out of your Wild World story? I really need to know.

  40. .Yoshi. Friday 19th Dec 2008 at 18:21

    PLEASE can some1 tell me when you use the DS moving van do you move out of your Wild World story? I really need to know

  41. Tom East Sunday 21st Dec 2008 at 20:05

    90% omfg
    mental other review sites only gave it 60:'(

  42. jedivssith Sunday 21st Dec 2008 at 21:02

    I don't personally think that this review matters to anyone who buys this magazine simply because of the advertising campaign. Anyone who has friends (which you'll need to consider buying such online games) would die of embarrassment as soon as they revealed that they own the game from the advert with the "barbie girls" in it which has been the one reason I have never bought an Animal Crossing game.

  43. pokelong Monday 22nd Dec 2008 at 11:57

    It sounds great I'm getting it for christmas.

  44. Jgiron455 Thursday 25th Dec 2008 at 16:33

    Can i be your friend in animal crossing
    please!!!!
    Name: John
    Town: Animalia
    FC: 3008-2078-1290

    just tell me if you added me! also give me
    your friend code, name, and town's name too!!!
    but how???? i know send me an email
    kk please

  45. Xo-sorcha-Xo Friday 26th Dec 2008 at 18:25

    i've started playing and in the city a 'shopping card' is mentioned quite alot! what is a shopping card? and where can i get one? :?:

  46. Kolo67 Saturday 27th Dec 2008 at 17:55

    This is my first ever forum post :D

    I'm getting this for christmas, and this game looks everything I wanted it to be! People say it's too similar to previous titles, but how on earth could they make an animal crossing game from scratch?

    I couldn't have put that any better myself.
    An Animal Crossing game is impossible to start from scratch. What other ideas could the be: NONE. The plot is simply amazing. I didn't own the other versions, but am really glad I bought this one.
    The graphics are amazing, the music is great, and I love all the ideas and how much time was actually spent on making this game. The script has to be made, but with a whole year to do, that must have taken forever. And the way that each town is different in some way is great.
    A genuinely great game Nintendo has given us.
    3 cheeres for Nintendo! A great job! 95% at least!

  47. Pikminmon Saturday 27th Dec 2008 at 21:14

    Only 90% !!! This version of the much loved series is bigger than it's 2 previous games and will last for longer! 94% !!!

  48. Heroofhyrule Sunday 28th Dec 2008 at 20:20

    90% ?
    personally i think this is a bit unfair because it is soo much better than its predecessor
    97% at least

    I agree, This animal crossing is far better than the last one, yet it got a lower score? Just because the previous one was similar to this one, doesn't mean it's a worse game.

  49. SuperEll007 Monday 29th Dec 2008 at 19:04

    Same here! It's only the begginging that's the same with Tom nooks shop. It's got new characters, new challenges, new city much better than Wild World. :!:

    94% - 99%

  50. SuperEll007 Monday 29th Dec 2008 at 19:04

    Same here! It's only the begginging that's the same with Tom nooks shop. It's got new characters, new challenges, new city much better than Wild World. :!:

    94% - 99%

  51. SuperEll007 Monday 29th Dec 2008 at 19:05

    Same here! It's only the begginging that's the same with Tom nooks shop. It's got new characters, new challenges, new city much better than Wild World. :!:

    94% - 99%

  52. SuperEll007 Monday 29th Dec 2008 at 19:05

    Same here! It's only the begginging that's the same with Tom nooks shop. It's got new characters, new challenges, new city much better than Wild World. :!:

    94% - 99%

  53. SuperEll007 Monday 29th Dec 2008 at 19:05

    Same here! It's only the begginging that's the same with Tom nooks shop. It's got new characters, new challenges, new city much better than Wild World. :!:

    94% - 99%

  54. SuperEll007 Monday 29th Dec 2008 at 19:11

    Same here! It's only the begginging that's the same with Tom nooks shop. It's got new characters, new challenges, new city much better than Wild World. :!:

    94% - 99%

  55. SuperEll007 Monday 29th Dec 2008 at 19:11

    Same here! It's only the begginging that's the same with Tom nooks shop. It's got new characters, new challenges, new city much better than Wild World. :!:

    94% - 99%

  56. wax simulacra Saturday 3rd Jan 2009 at 12:34

    rite, ok, who really gives a flyin funnel about reviews, it just matters how much each seperate person enjoys it

    oh btw, no offence onm staff and all, just sayin, im still a big fan of the magazine nd stuff


    oh and if anyone knows what "kudos" means, could they please tell me?

    i have no idea what it means.

  57. CAFC Thursday 8th Jan 2009 at 14:33

    i think this game is frustrating it makes you angry and snappy because you want every thing to be perfect

    i like the ds version better :lol:

  58. cutecookie52 Friday 23rd Jan 2009 at 22:50

    This is interesting because I had the Wild World version and so this one is very similar but if you have never played Animal Crossing then this is the one to get because:
    1. Better graphics, this is the main one I have decied on.
    2. More things to do, you can go to the city and go to loads of other peoples towns and I have found out that if you keep talking to your town people everyday sometimes one of them will ask you to play hide a seek, then you get a prize if you find everyone in the time.

    Even if you already have Wild World its still good just to have another game of Animal Crossing if you don't want to delete the other one.

  59. O_Diddy_David_O Sunday 25th Jan 2009 at 12:31

    I got animal crossing for christmas and i think it is a really adictive game. But the only bad thing it is very repitive. I am looking foward to all the new seasons because i am still in winter but that is alright.....!
    Great game i would give it a +95

  60. O_Diddy_David_O Sunday 25th Jan 2009 at 12:35

    i think this game is frustrating it makes you angry and snappy because you want every thing to be perfect

    i like the ds version better :lol:

    I don't agree with you it is loads better by going to the city meeting new people it is much more fun and i do not find it that fustrating the only thing i find fustrating is paying of the last mortage......!
    The wii version is soo much better even though it is like the same it is thatfew things extra what make it better....!

  61. buncle Thursday 5th Feb 2009 at 14:08

    Can I really afford to lose months of my life again...?

  62. O_Diddy_David_O Friday 20th Feb 2009 at 12:03

    I absolutly love Animal crossing i am addicted to it....one of the best games on wii...But one thing wrong a little repititive like all you do is collect money in the same way......! but apart from that i am on it every day without fail .....Finally payed off all my mortages now just need to pay money towards town to get the last thing.....! already got the fountain......! Absolute love this game.....!.. :!: :!: :!: :!: :!:

  63. nikifindlay Sunday 22nd Mar 2009 at 13:19

    to be honest :? i was a little bit dissapointed with the game, as i had animal crossing: wild world, i was expecting a lot more out of the game,


    next time nintendo makes a new animal crossing game, could we possibly be able to play AS animals!!

    this game deserves more of a 70% :o

  64. cal494 Monday 30th Mar 2009 at 20:42

    The DS version is better!!!

  65. SuperMilkyBros Friday 15th May 2009 at 14:12

    ONM how can you only give animal crossing LGTTC 90% it should be 92% and in your top 20 it should be above madworld.

    I say this because the controls work brilliantly and it comes with wii speak if can fork over a few extra quid

    Love the magazine keep up the hard work

    From SuperMilkyBros

  66. xray544 Wednesday 27th May 2009 at 20:01

    animal crossing lets go to the city shouldn't of got
    90% its the same as the ds but you can go to the city
    and theres more events like easter egg hunt e.t.c but apart from that its the same it should get 79% i feel

  67. graciegrace10 Friday 5th Jun 2009 at 12:46

    its my fav game ever! :P :P :P
    i really love both of them (ds and wii)!
    who ever dosnt have is crazy :P :P :D :oops: 8)

  68. Erdogan44 Saturday 20th Jun 2009 at 16:35

    This game is really good.

    The DLC and such makes it even worth playing.

    10/10

  69. NinetailedFox Monday 17th Aug 2009 at 14:47

    its my fav game ever! :P :P :P
    i really love both of them (ds and wii)!
    who ever dosnt have is crazy :P :P :D :oops: 8)


    Haha, I must be crazy then! :shock:
    I'm definetly getting it though. I can't wait. I'm really short on money XD but I'll get it somehow

  70. NintendoPokeFan Sunday 4th Oct 2009 at 08:30

    I Lovee Animalcrossing,Let's go to the city is alot better than wild world :D :mrgreen:

  71. mew Pudding Wednesday 28th Oct 2009 at 18:13

    the DS version is more addictive na no da :o

  72. cainzgamez Monday 30th Nov 2009 at 06:48

    i cant wait to get this its got all the new downloads evry few months and a bigger town.
    to be honest i think bigger town in the GC is rubbish coz of acers and so many trees.......AXE TIME!!!!!!!!!
    also the wii version is better online coz the ds has such a weak connection and i had to be in the same room as the wifi rooter now i can play in my room and also talk to peaple

  73. cainzgamez Monday 30th Nov 2009 at 06:51

    to be honest :? i was a little bit dissapointed with the game, as i had animal crossing: wild world, i was expecting a lot more out of the game,


    next time nintendo makes a new animal crossing game, could we possibly be able to play AS animals!!

    this game deserves more of a 70% :o

    i dont see playing as animals working unless its a mask or summut....
    also from what i herd 90% is worth it but i say 100% lol

  74. orangecatAP Saturday 12th Dec 2009 at 10:10

    animal crossing is amazing. My friend code is 4168-0000-7496

  75. Nintendo Boy Tuesday 16th Feb 2010 at 21:08

    Although i do like the DS one better in some respects, The Wii one does have updates which warrant a purchase, albeit minor ones.

    I have been playing this game less and less due to the fact that it is on Wii. I mean, it's a good game, dont get me wrong, However the DS title was portable, where as this one isn't. This game is still decent, However much, much more could have been done.

  76. BrandonD11 Tuesday 23rd Feb 2010 at 21:58

    My game arrived on last week and I'm really enjoying it! I got Wii Speak and my friend and me met up and exchanged fruit!
    I really like how you can edit the front, back, left sleeve and right sleeve of your top!

  77. Emperor Evil Sunday 12th Dec 2010 at 15:34

    90% huh?
    I don't agree. The graphics are lovely, the music is catchy, the dialogue is funny and the online gameplay is brilliant! :D
    I think it deserves 95%

  78. pppongi Friday 3rd Aug 2012 at 15:50

    i have been on this addictive game day and night (not literary other wise i would turn into a zombie with serious hair problems) no lying about goodbye to life i have started to shrink and my hair has gone pointy and...and i'm starting to talk animal HELP?!

  79. hamzahdsi Friday 3rd Aug 2012 at 16:29

    Talk about bumping threads

  80. Rai13 Friday 3rd Aug 2012 at 20:00

    Please don't bump threads that haven't been posted in in ages, thank you.

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.