Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Pikmin Review

Is this Wiimake worth Piking up?

We should probably make it clear from the beginning that the vast majority of this review is going to be aimed at those who didn't play Pikmin the first time around. For those of you who did play it, as you'd expect, there isn't much different between this and the GameCube original other than the new Wii controls, widescreen support and the ability to load your save game from any day you've already played.

Armed with this information, Pikmin fans don't need to know any more - whether this new Wii version is worth buying depends entirely on your opinion of the original game and whether you feel it's worth playing through it again with a new (and definitely better) control system. And for those of you without previous Pikmin experience? Read on...

Click to view larger image
It's hard to define exactly what sort of game Pikmin is. The closest we can do is compare it to a real-time strategy game like Command & Conquer, except instead of playing as an all-seeing 'God' character and controlling soldiers from above, you're in control of a dumpy little spaceman who's in charge of a horde of tiny creatures. But describing Pikmin in that way does it a bit of an injustice, because there's much more to it than that. The problem is that much of the game's charm and appeal can only really be realised when you start playing it and begin to get attached to the little red, yellow and blue creatures you befriend.

I'll Give You Olimar Lovin'

The game puts you in the space-shoes of Captain Olimar, an astronaut whose spaceship is hit by a meteor as he's taking a holiday in space. His ship plummets towards a mysterious, unknown planet and as it enters the atmosphere parts are ripped off the ship and scattered throughout the land. When he emerges from his ship, he encounters the Pikmin, a near-extinct species of tiny creatures with unique abilities. He decides to get the Pikmin to help him recover the 30 missing parts of his ship, while at the same time helping them increase their population and learn to fend for themselves against the other dangerous creatures that live on the planet.

At first you only have a handful of red Pikmin at your disposal. In small numbers, they're not very useful when it comes to defeating enemies, and when you only have a couple they can't really do much except carry small objects. Luckily there are red pellets around which fall into the 'small objects' category. You can command the Pikmin to carry these pellets over to their 'onion' base, which beams them up and converts them into new Pikmin. In this way

you can quickly build up a small army, which

greatly increases your options.

Click to view larger image
The More The Merrier

Basically, the majority of Pikmin follows a 'strength in numbers' rule. The more Pikmin you have under your control - up to a maximum of 100 at a time - the more easily they can defeat the planet's more powerful enemies and the larger the objects you can get them to carry (including those 30 elusive ship pieces).

With the focus on this Wii re-release strongly aimed at its new control method, it's reassuring that controlling Olimar and the Pikmin with the Wii Remote and Nunchuk is a breeze and much more intuitive than it was with a GameCube controller. As Pikmin's effectively a strategy game - a genre which is usually best suited to a mouse instead of a joypad - the use of the Wii's pointer to control the cursor on the screen makes perfect sense. And it doesn't let us down. It's so simple to point at an item that needs moving or an enemy you want to attack and then press the A button the required number of times to chuck the required number of Pikmin in its direction that you don't even think about it when doing it. Similarly, when Pikmin are scattered in different directions it's easy to call them all to join you by simply holding the B button and sweeping it across the stray Pikmin in question.

Previous 1 2 Next page

Comments

49 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. Ganondorf Thursday 5th Feb 2009 at 12:06

    I might pick this up if this is a carbon-copy of the original, as I never had the pleasure of playing it.

  2. 94paulm Thursday 5th Feb 2009 at 12:46

    wow finally a review this game looks fantastic the graphics, the story, the gameplay and the controls will all be brilliant...
    i am definitly going to get this game i was not a huge pikmin fan but pikmin 2 changed the whole concept of my view on the series... :D

  3. slangman Thursday 5th Feb 2009 at 12:57

    This is actually quite good on GameCube. Well worth a look. Even though re-releasing this game is perfect for those who never played this before

    I still stand my opinion though, that this is just a port to make quick cash and the Wii really needs less of those. Even if it is Pikmin 2. :(

  4. insanity cheese Thursday 5th Feb 2009 at 14:46

    Hm... I've never played the Pikmin games, but I think I'm not gonna buy this and I'll get Pikmin 2 later.

  5. DragonLordZ Thursday 5th Feb 2009 at 15:08

    I think I now notice the enhanced graphics...
    i've ordered it off play.com today.

  6. Pik_Muncher Thursday 5th Feb 2009 at 15:16

    Thanks for the fine review Chris. I remember piking this game up for £10 on the 'cube, years ago, at the recommendation of the then Official Nintendo Mag, and I wasn't sorry. I was suprised at how much I enjoyed playing this game. It was the first time I'd ever played any kind of strategy game, and I had fun. It had it's faults, but for a new franchise, excellent. Then Pikmin 2 came along, bought it (£40), played it, loved it. Fantastic sequel.

    I know that this game is a port of a Gamecube game, but let's face it, Pikmin isn't any old port. I'm like you, I want Pikmin 3 and all that, but all good things come to those who wait. And for those who have waited, on the way are The Conduit, MadWorld, Pilotwings Wii(!), Fatal Frame IV, Punchout Wii, Sin & Punishment 2, Dead Space Wii(!) and a whole lot more Nintendowy goodness. Make no mistake, things are a-brewing.

    If you haven't played this game before, I recommend that you try it. Especially if you can pick it up for cheap online. The more people that buy it, play it and love it this time around than last, the better for all Nintendo and Pikmin fans.

  7. Yinga Garten Thursday 5th Feb 2009 at 15:20

    I think this franchise and game in general is one of the best of Miyamoto's ideas for games.

    It is totally unique.

    I have never played a game in the franchise so I shall be picking this up.

  8. DBZFan355 Thursday 5th Feb 2009 at 15:40

    I didn't play the original, so this is a must-have for me

  9. Pikmin Freak Thursday 5th Feb 2009 at 16:19

    I can actually see the graphic update (suprisingly). I hear the controls for people who have played it before can be a little niggle (the cursor) though.

    I already have both already but this is coming through my door tomorrow. What did you expect. :lol:

    I think this is a must-have for anyone who played the 2nd and loved it. For people new to the franchise, I still recomend this, but Pikmin 2 is the far superior game.

  10. adamwalker222 Thursday 5th Feb 2009 at 16:24

    Please tell me that this:

    I'll give you Olimar Lovin

    Had nothing to do with Whole Lotta Love

    lol

    Definite buy for me :D

  11. Flash7 Thursday 5th Feb 2009 at 16:31

    Glad it got a good score. :) I'll be waiting for Pikmin 2 though, because of the time restriction. :D

  12. chaz 1805 Thursday 5th Feb 2009 at 16:47

    This looks really good but I'd rather wait for Pikmin 2 on Wii, because of all the improvements over the original.

  13. ILoveWii Thursday 5th Feb 2009 at 17:25

    Error; you say if you haven't finished the game in 7.5 hours, it's all over.

    You can go back and do levels again in this iteration of the game, unlike the previous one...

  14. Pikmin Freak Thursday 5th Feb 2009 at 19:02

    I've just got it and it's awesome! I can generally see graphics better (the sceneary, but the Opening and Olimar look the same). I think it's very good, as i've not played it in ages. I like the save system as if you save on that day it deletes the original, sadly that might mean if you want to go back in a file you compleated you might need to do it again.

    I find it brilliant because I have the original but not played it for a long time, so I don't have a clue what happens.

    Oh and yes, the cotrolls are fantastic, if a little difficult to get around. I'd reccomend it to anyone, that is if you are willing to pay £25 for a game you've played before. I still think you should get it though.

    I forgot how annoying those Spotty Bulborbs are :P !

  15. drew250 Thursday 5th Feb 2009 at 19:44

    I've just got it and it's awesome! I can generally see graphics better (the sceneary, but the Opening and Olimar look the same). I think it's very good, as i've not played it in ages. I like the save system as if you save on that day it deletes the original, sadly that might mean if you want to go back in a file you compleated you might need to do it again.

    I find it brilliant because I have the original but not played it for a long time, so I don't have a clue what happens.

    Oh and yes, the cotrolls are fantastic, if a little difficult to get around. I'd reccomend it to anyone, that is if you are willing to pay £25 for a game you've played before. I still think you should get it though.

    I forgot how annoying those Spotty Bulborbs are :P !

    As someone who already has the game, can you tell me whether there are any extras, like new treasures or levels or even artwork? Or is it just the same content?

  16. Shikea Thursday 5th Feb 2009 at 19:58

    Awesome! I'll pick up this great game with waggle strapped on for fourty quid when I...could just get the same game, for, uh... twenty to thirty pounds less....


    Nice try nintendo.

  17. Xexix Thursday 5th Feb 2009 at 19:59

    It looks, graphically, like the Cube title. It looks like a port with Wii controls slapped on.

  18. Pikmin Freak Thursday 5th Feb 2009 at 21:20

    I've just got it and it's awesome! I can generally see graphics better (the sceneary, but the Opening and Olimar look the same). I think it's very good, as i've not played it in ages. I like the save system as if you save on that day it deletes the original, sadly that might mean if you want to go back in a file you compleated you might need to do it again.

    I find it brilliant because I have the original but not played it for a long time, so I don't have a clue what happens.

    Oh and yes, the cotrolls are fantastic, if a little difficult to get around. I'd reccomend it to anyone, that is if you are willing to pay £25 for a game you've played before. I still think you should get it though.

    I forgot how annoying those Spotty Bulborbs are :P !

    As someone who already has the game, can you tell me whether there are any extras, like new treasures or levels or even artwork? Or is it just the same content?

    Exactly the same content :( .

  19. ILoveWii Thursday 5th Feb 2009 at 21:20

    Awesome! I'll pick up this great game with waggle strapped on for fourty quid when I...could just get the same game, for, uh... twenty to thirty pounds less....


    Nice try nintendo.

    Evidently, the price tag of £25 won't catch on. The British Public aren't retarded, albeit what Nintendo think.

  20. dm_1782 Thursday 5th Feb 2009 at 22:41

    As i already have this game on the Gamecube I think i will be waiting for the sequel which I never got a chance to play. Some may think its just a way of Nintendo making money but I think its a great idea. Alot of the games that were released on the Gamecube were missed and were not given the attention they deserved. Now they have another chance to shine and on a console that has a wider install base.

  21. Random-Hero Friday 6th Feb 2009 at 02:06

    When people see Pikmin on the Wii, most will just look away for many reasons. The Cube Version takes alot less blocks and its far more cheaper; I also believe that the Camera angle is not messed up.

    If Nintendo want to make cash on games, Re-sell ones that are bound to sell! This is just like another "New" game coming out; Donkey Konga Jungle Beat... Erm, Why would anyone buy Donkey Konga Jungle beat and not use the Bongos? Great market research there agian Nintendo!

  22. Callum D Friday 6th Feb 2009 at 10:09

    I had the original 2 Pikmin games, but I couldn't control it. Although, I still had fun. The music was so peaceful, it made me wanna fall asleep. I think I will get Pikmin for my birthday coming up and Pikmin 2 for xmas. Just gotta wait for Pikmin 3 after that!

  23. DragonLordZ Friday 6th Feb 2009 at 10:31

    I had the original 2 Pikmin games, but I couldn't control it. Although, I still had fun. The music was so peaceful, it made me wanna fall asleep. I think I will get Pikmin for my birthday coming up and Pikmin 2 for xmas. Just gotta wait for Pikmin 3 after that!

    yea, the music was so awesome. made things not feel so repetitive. Not that they were of course.

  24. jinzo64 Friday 6th Feb 2009 at 10:37

    i don't think it's worth it not at 30 pound when you can get the origional for 10 on ebay.
    it's just makes me angery that nintendoa are focusing on there new fans instead of trying to appeal to everyone with new games.

  25. Mrlizard Friday 6th Feb 2009 at 15:50

    Oomph, pay £3.99 for the original or £30 for the Wii version with some spangly control system... tough call.

    Nintendo couldn't have at least released 1 & 2 in the same package? It's just sheer laziness on their behalf.

  26. Lukeo10 Friday 6th Feb 2009 at 17:45

    I have the original, so I might go for this, but I doubt
    that, I don't think they're that good though, having a time limit, if you're an astronaut, they would be more careful about oxygen right?!

  27. jose23 Friday 6th Feb 2009 at 17:47

    You guys are forgetting something. If you had a game-cube, this is pointless.
    But if you didn't, its awesome. Also, if you get the cube version, and you haven't bought a cube game before, you will spend a tenner on the game, a tenner on a gc remote and a fiver on a memory card. This is the situation i am in, so surely for ME it is better to get this version? :?:

  28. YoshiLimbo Friday 6th Feb 2009 at 19:33

    I will get this seeing as how I have never played the orginal. I am guessing it will work like Marge in The Simpsons game, am I right?

  29. Jedi_jester Friday 6th Feb 2009 at 19:40

    I got the sequel at the end of the Cubes life and absolutely love it. So I thought I might as well pick this up. Its great so far and it really makes me want a pikmin 3. I really hope there is a Pikmin 3 before long. Maybe if they release 2 they can get a third game out by christmas? Well thats my wish anyway.

  30. yubel Friday 6th Feb 2009 at 19:58

    Ugh.
    Im gonna wait for the sequal.
    Ive never played pikmin but i know im not intent on getting all 3.
    Ill go for the sequal and pikmin 3 will probobly ruin things a little.

  31. gavin - Friday 6th Feb 2009 at 21:07

    Not that this matters but does this remake give you the Pikmin trophy in Super Smash Bros. Melee? I remember the big deal Nintendo made about the Pikmin save file on the GameCube - it gave you a special Olimar trophy I believe. Doubt this works but still... :D

  32. Daplaza Saturday 7th Feb 2009 at 15:31

    I think this game for wii was a great idea but why only on wii nintendo should do a pikmin for ds!!! with the stylus it can do a great job too!!

  33. Liamigi71 Saturday 7th Feb 2009 at 15:41

    i hadn't played the gamecube version but i went to "Pik" it up today and i'm on day two and already hooked i can't wait until Pikmin 2 comes out under new play control. P.S. the cover is reversible and the other side is much better.

  34. YAYFORNINTENDO Saturday 7th Feb 2009 at 17:29

    I remember back in 2002 when I first got 'me Cube and this game, loved it, never finished it, never really played it again.

    Still a good game, But I will rent.

  35. ILoveWii Saturday 7th Feb 2009 at 22:55

    Oomph, pay £3.99 for the original or £30 for the Wii version with some spangly control system... tough call.

    Nintendo couldn't have at least released 1 & 2 in the same package? It's just sheer laziness on their behalf.

    Slight exaggeration with the price since it's hard to find and is about a tenner really.

    But still, agreed.

  36. Spencer95 Sunday 8th Feb 2009 at 15:14

    I have only had my wii since July but i absolutely love it! I have a snes, gameboy(Classic), gameboy color, gameboy advance, ds, ds lite, wii + cant wait til da dsi!

    I neva played a gc in my life so I think the 'New play Control' games are great!(Even if they have a crappy name :( ) i cant wait until i hav enough money 2 buy this(xmas... wat can u do :!: )because da graphics r amazin, da idea is sensational + da gameplay jus lks gr8! I kno sum peeps hu alredi had dis game on gc r groanin dat dey're remakin it but u shudnt b! nintendo rn't makin da game 4 u! dey're makin it 4 peeps hu neva had da chance 2 buy it originally! ill prob also b buyin pikmin 2, mario tennis but not donkey kong jungle beat because wats da point in playing it without kongas?

  37. Flash7 Sunday 8th Feb 2009 at 17:01

    I neva played a gc in my life so I think the 'New play Control' games are great!(Even if they have a crappy name ) i cant wait until i hav enough money 2 buy this(xmas... wat can u do )because da graphics r amazin, da idea is sensational + da gameplay jus lks gr8! I kno sum peeps hu alredi had dis game on gc r groanin dat dey're remakin it but u shudnt b! nintendo rn't makin da game 4 u! dey're makin it 4 peeps hu neva had da chance 2 buy it originally! ill prob also b buyin pikmin 2, mario tennis but not donkey kong jungle beat because wats da point in playing it without kongas?


    I beg your pardon?

  38. ILoveWii Sunday 8th Feb 2009 at 18:19

    I neva played a gc in my life so I think the 'New play Control' games are great!(Even if they have a crappy name ) i cant wait until i hav enough money 2 buy this(xmas... wat can u do )because da graphics r amazin, da idea is sensational + da gameplay jus lks gr8! I kno sum peeps hu alredi had dis game on gc r groanin dat dey're remakin it but u shudnt b! nintendo rn't makin da game 4 u! dey're makin it 4 peeps hu neva had da chance 2 buy it originally! ill prob also b buyin pikmin 2, mario tennis but not donkey kong jungle beat because wats da point in playing it without kongas?


    I beg your pardon?

    You're an ignorant fool.

  39. Wiimanclive Monday 9th Feb 2009 at 14:16

    I played the original & loved it , but I wont be spending £30.00 for a remake with added wii controls & little else.
    Had it been on a budget label for £19.99 I would be interested. When its been about a while I will look to pick up a 2nd hand copy for £10 - £15, if I cant find it for this little I wont bother.

  40. 91nintendo Monday 9th Feb 2009 at 14:36

    I thought it was called "Play on Wii"?

    Anyway, it's nice to see that you've managed to fit 2 puns in the title - Is this Wiimake worth Piking up?

    I'll definately not be buying and of these Gamecube ports mainly because I already have most of the "good" Gamecube games.

  41. ChrisONM Monday 9th Feb 2009 at 20:27

    I neva played a gc in my life so I think the 'New play Control' games are great!(Even if they have a crappy name ) i cant wait until i hav enough money 2 buy this(xmas... wat can u do )because da graphics r amazin, da idea is sensational + da gameplay jus lks gr8! I kno sum peeps hu alredi had dis game on gc r groanin dat dey're remakin it but u shudnt b! nintendo rn't makin da game 4 u! dey're makin it 4 peeps hu neva had da chance 2 buy it originally! ill prob also b buyin pikmin 2, mario tennis but not donkey kong jungle beat because wats da point in playing it without kongas?


    I beg your pardon?


    Made sense to me.

  42. Onna76_NL Monday 9th Feb 2009 at 21:12

    Must pick for me, even though I own the original version 8)

  43. Wyld_stallyon Thursday 12th Feb 2009 at 09:51

    I played pikmin1 on the gamecube, but I never polayed pikmin 2, I might buy te wii release of that, provided they're not in a box set.

  44. Super_Sonic96 Saturday 14th Feb 2009 at 10:34

    I never got the chance to play the original, but when i heard about it being released on the range i got exited. And from this review it does look like a great game, but i don't think i'm going to get for one simple reason. The time limit. I'm the sort of person that can't just do what i'm told, i always have to go exploring every single nook and cranny first, so in this case before i knew it i would have to find 30 ship pieces in 15 minutes...

  45. TheCakeisalie123 Saturday 14th Feb 2009 at 20:08

    How much are these games?

    Anyway, you might as well get a Gamecube controller, a Gamecube memory, and a copy of the game. Much cheaper, considering these games, like most other ports, are - You know - ports of Gamecube games.

  46. O_Diddy_David_O Friday 20th Feb 2009 at 11:54

    Now is pikmin good i have never played it a debating whether not to buy it or not does anyyone have a reccomnedations....?

  47. spacemen13 Tuesday 28th Feb 2012 at 16:17

    I got this thinking it would be a amazing, but I really can't see why Nintendo bothered to make a remake and a sequel!

  48. Magmortar963 Tuesday 28th Feb 2012 at 16:24

    Sorry to say I've never played a Pikmin game in my life! What sort of game are they? I like Mario, Sonic, Pokemon, Zelda, Donkey Kong, Kirby and Kid Icarus, would I like Pikmin?!

  49. Ghostly_Shadeon Wednesday 5th Jun 2013 at 17:22

    Still being rather new to the Pikmin series since January (thanks to Nintendo Land's Pikmin Adventure), I was glad to have Pik'd up this Wiimake after having completed Pikmin 2 (despite the game is a little short lived compared to its sequel), and it has only made me more excited than ever for the brilliance that is Pikmin 3 when it releases on July 26th.

    Aw man, that date can't come any sooner...

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.