Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

New Play Control! Mario Power Tennis Review

Now updated for the Wii but is it as much fun?

Having turned his hand to tennis with expert effect on the N64, Game Boy and GameCube, it's no surprise that Mario should be dusting off his racquet once again on a console that's ideally suited to tennis games.

Mario Power Tennis is an update of the GameCube version and the changes that the new motion controls have brought to the gameplay is probably more significant than in any of the other titles in the New Play Controls range. In replacing the familiar joypad controls with a new Wii Remote scheme, the designers have radically altered the balance, the feel and even the tactics used to play the game.

Click to view larger image
The problem is that maybe they didn't go quite far enough, because underneath it all there's still a GameCube game trying to get out. Unlocking the inner depths of what used to be one of the most accessible and flexible tennis titles on any Nintendo system is much more difficult than it ought to be when using the Remote.

Basically, it's really hard to aim your shots with any consistency or precision, which is not a problem in the leisurely-paced Wii Sports but is more than a little bit annoying in the faster, more tactical world of Mario Power Tennis.

Although you can plug in a Nunchuk to make moving your character a little easier than using the default D-pad setting, everything else in the game is controlled by timing your swings with the Remote. Pressing the D-pad or analogue stick won't actually influence the direction of the shot at all, which is a rather counter-intuitive way of doing things if you've ever played a Mario Tennis game before.

Smash & Drab

The shots are activated by an upwards swing for topspin, a downwards swing for backspin and a level, steady swing for a flat shot. Swinging early or late will influence which side of the court the ball will go. You'll also have to choose forehand or backhand, depending on which side of your character the ball is going to bounce on, and messing it up at any point will result in an unwanted drop shot or an accidental lob that your opponent will be able to smash right back at you.

There's also a charged power shot, which starts building in strength as soon as you stop moving around. Nailing one returns the ball with extra ferocity, but if you need to readjust your positioning you'll instantly lose your charge.

Despite several control options offering varying degrees of automation, there are none that are anywhere near as satisfying as the original GameCube pad - and the Wii version doesn't let you use one, or even a Classic controller. In the simplest control scheme you'll only have to swing the Remote at the right time, like in Wii Sports, while the most advanced option uses a fiddly combination of D-pad, motions and buttons, including the hard-to-reach plus and minus buttons.

Click to view larger image
Unless you're playing in single player mode, your opponents will be wrestling with the same problems and it's still a decent competitive multiplayer effort. Special moves spice things up and help level the playing field for gamers of mixed ability, though if you don't enjoy getting blasted off the court by Donkey Kong's barrel cannon or seeing Wario whip out a mechanical grabber to return a lost cause from the opposite side of the screen, you can always turn them off.

With a wide variety of multiplayer mini-games, a healthy roster of characters and some still-impressive visuals, it's a good value package

for anyone who's exhausted the challenge of

Wii Sports tennis and fancies trying something considerably more advanced. Solo players can take on a series of tournaments to unlock a couple of new characters, boosted stats and extra courts packed with gimmicks and power-ups, although beating the hardest ones requires a lot of patience.

But like most sports games it's at its best

with a group of people sharing the fun and learning the controls together. The sort of gamers who just enjoy a casual knockabout in

Wii Sports might find Mario Power Tennis rather frustrating. For the rest of us it's just about worth a shot, even though it's not quite the classic it was on the GameCube.

Comments

71 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. Gothicslayer Thursday 5th Mar 2009 at 11:54

    Wow Epic Fail

  2. chaosslayer Thursday 5th Mar 2009 at 13:10

    Hopefully this average review of the game will show that the mag is not biased to Mario and Nintendo otherwise it would of recieved 90%+

  3. Joe_Crow Thursday 5th Mar 2009 at 13:22

    Hopefully this average review of the game will show that the mag is not biased to Mario and Nintendo otherwise it would of recieved 90%+

    They never have been. Just look at mario party 8 :P

  4. Bellicapelli Thursday 5th Mar 2009 at 14:39

    This was obviously gonna be $h1t£. The wii remote is simply not capable of performing intuitively with fast paced sports games like Mario Power Tennis. (Sega Superstar Tennis should have proved that.)

    Nintendo should have held this back until the new motion plus is released or just waited to make an all new Wii-generation Mario Tennis with their imminent technology!

    You can buy a Gamecube copy of MPT on ebay for less than a tenner - don't get ripped off!

  5. ultra_slb Thursday 5th Mar 2009 at 15:14

    this makes me think twice.. damn i didnt get the Game Cube one and thought it would be worth the wait... I guess ill have to stick with game cube.. if anyone plays it, tell me, what should be done:

    -Buy the Wii one since i never had a Mario Tennis and its the most recent

    -Try to find and buy the Game Cube one?

    if the staff from ONM who played the game already can give me an opinion i would be gratefull

  6. GuyWhoLikesBlue2 Thursday 5th Mar 2009 at 15:45

    Oh well, I'm someone who learns complicated controls really quickly, so I'll get this anyway...

  7. darkandy666 Thursday 5th Mar 2009 at 15:53

    nintendo forgot 1 thing that should be their online why isn't their its stupid

  8. KrikenKing Thursday 5th Mar 2009 at 16:31

    They better not mess Metroid Prime 1 & 2 up.

  9. Flash7 Thursday 5th Mar 2009 at 16:39

    A very fair review. I completely understand their reasoning behind it, and I am disappointed That Nintendo have cocked it up.

  10. 5pan1el Thursday 5th Mar 2009 at 16:50

    i still might get it if i really have nothing to spend on

  11. mastr.sword Thursday 5th Mar 2009 at 17:36

    I think I'll still try and get this anyway. I've never played the gamecube version so I can't compare the wii version with the other, and I do love a mario game with a lot of characters. So i'll give it a shot.

    Good review, guys. I'm slightly disappointed you didn't think highly of it but there's always Super sluggers coming this year.

  12. jose23 Thursday 5th Mar 2009 at 17:58

    I'll give this a try and if i don't like it i'll get a refund. :shock:

  13. City Of Delusion Thursday 5th Mar 2009 at 20:09

    Well, this pretty much proves what the doubters said all along: the New Play Control games are cheap cash-ins.

    Buy the GameCube version, fools!

  14. Paper Luigi Thursday 5th Mar 2009 at 21:01

    Hopefully this average review of the game will show that the mag is not biased to Mario and Nintendo otherwise it would of recieved 90%+

    They never have been. Just look at mario party 8 :P

    LAMO, they published it, Hudson made the game.

    Nice to see ONM are getting a bit scritcer on reviewing Ninty games, tis good.

  15. ILoveWii Thursday 5th Mar 2009 at 21:19

    Hasn't anyone realised 77% is a good score.

    All you fools think is that 80% and above is good and the rest suck.

  16. Kefka Thursday 5th Mar 2009 at 21:46

    What a waste of time. All this does is get them out of making a new Mario Tennis for the Wii.

  17. AbbaCraka Thursday 5th Mar 2009 at 22:44

    nintendo forgot 1 thing that should be their online why isn't their its stpid


    They would be better off making a new tennis game if they want to put online play in it, but sadly they don't. They want to slap on the new "Motion Control" and sell it for £20 more than the gamecube version :D

    I think the saddest thing about this really is that, the whole idea of these "New Motion Control" rip-off's , is too take the old games and put the gimmicky wii motion controls on them, not only is this lazy, but ONM have highlighted that the controls are "imprecise", which also shows to me that they havn't done a good job of it either...

    I dont like how ONM has used the phrase "dusting off his racquet" I think a more appropriate thing to say would be looking at a photo album of ye old good times through 3d glasses.

  18. Gobster Thursday 5th Mar 2009 at 22:56

    I'm actually quite surprized that Mario Power Tennis didn't turn out to be one of the better "New Play Control" titles, I thoroughly enjoyed the Gamecube version and was expecting the Wii controls to do wonders for it. I guess Wii Motion Plus would have changed that, but here's hoping Nintendo decide to make a new Mario Tennis title with it in the future (or any tennis game, maybe using a different Nintendo mascot for a change...Hyrule tennis, anyone?).
    Nevermind, there's still Metroid Prime 1 & 2 to look forward to.

  19. AbbaCraka Thursday 5th Mar 2009 at 23:08

    there's still Metroid Prime 1 & 2 to look forward to.

    I havn't played Metroid 3 and my Metroid Prime 1 broke at the start of the ice level, though Metroid Prime 2 was an amazing game. Still I remain strongly negative on these ports.

  20. ILoveWii Friday 6th Mar 2009 at 10:29

    What a waste of time. All this does is get them out of making a new Mario Tennis for the Wii.

    No it does not.

    Why are people being really stupid when it comes to NPC?

    It's not an excuse for not making new games. In fact, it shows there is a possibility of their being new games in said franchises, and they're re-releasing games for new audiences to prepare them for the next iteratiions, without them being scared of a title like 'Pikmin 3' thus they wouldn't buy it because they haven't tried the first two.

    So listen to me. Now.

  21. Gothicslayer Friday 6th Mar 2009 at 11:26

    What a waste of time. All this does is get them out of making a new Mario Tennis for the Wii.

    No it does not.

    Why are people being really stupid when it comes to NPC?

    *missing text*

    So listen to me. Now.

    Why should anyone listen to you? Your mearly ingoring the fact that they have remade a game and somehow made it a game that is less fun to play and more complex and impressise!

    Also if there are two versions of the game and a game from years ago controls better then the "superior" wii controls then thats says alot about these games.

    Mainly that they didn't spend enough time to refine controls, which = cheap cashin

  22. ILoveWii Friday 6th Mar 2009 at 11:29

    ^I know it's a cheap cash in.

  23. Kefka Friday 6th Mar 2009 at 11:34

    No it does not.

    Why are people being really stupid when it comes to NPC?

    It's not an excuse for not making new games. In fact, it shows there is a possibility of their being new games in said franchises, and they're re-releasing games for new audiences to prepare them for the next iteratiions, without them being scared of a title like 'Pikmin 3' thus they wouldn't buy it because they haven't tried the first two.

    So listen to me. Now.

    So you think Nintendo are going to cannibalise sales by releasing a new Mario Tennis in the near future? And you're calling me stupid?

    At the very least this release ensures that we won't get a new Mario Tennis for a good while, because there's no point whatsoever in having two of them on the shelves at the same time.

    Also, if you seriously think that these re-releases are to "prepare new audiences for future games" then would you mind telling me where you obtained your rose-tinted glasses? They're simply cashing in on some games which didn't sell too well last gen (due to the unpopularity of the Cube).

    So no, sir, I will not listen to you.

  24. ILoveWii Friday 6th Mar 2009 at 12:31

    Of course it's for money. Of course it's a con.

    But what I said was only one other reason for it being released again.

  25. darkandy666 Friday 6th Mar 2009 at 17:37

    im loseing love for nintendo now the bring back gamecube games sounded a good idea at first but as usual they cocked it up the only thing making me not throw my wii in the bring and solo play my 360 from now is that madworld looks amazing but knowing my luck it will properly not work and be crap god nintendo you really need to sort your selfs out your losing your old fans properly ever day so you can hav you casual game i hate it make a mother f***king good game soon or im sell my wii and well useing the moeny on something that might be good

  26. bushmistro1 Friday 6th Mar 2009 at 18:15

    i kno this may b a stupid question but do u actually get the option of using the gamecube contols on these remade games

  27. YoshiLimbo Friday 6th Mar 2009 at 19:00

    I got this today. If you trade in Wii Music, Animal Crossing or 2 others games you get this----for free!

  28. City Of Delusion Friday 6th Mar 2009 at 20:02

    I got this today. If you trade in Wii Music, Animal Crossing or 2 others games you get this----for free!

    And with that method; and that method alone (not AC:LGTTC, not 2 games unless they're shovelware) may the purchuse be actually worth it.

    Everyone else: buy the GameCube version, fools!

  29. Mama Luigi Friday 6th Mar 2009 at 20:08

    There's no point in this purely because the original is cheaper and has much better controls. New Play Control is the cancer killing Nintendo.

  30. Heroofhyrule Friday 6th Mar 2009 at 22:12

    Well, this pretty much proves what the doubters said all along: the New Play Control games are cheap cash-ins.

    Buy the GameCube version, fools!

    oh shut up :roll:

  31. AbbaCraka Friday 6th Mar 2009 at 23:51

    Well, this pretty much proves what the doubters said all along: the New Play Control games are cheap cash-ins.

    Buy the GameCube version, fools!

    oh shut up :roll:

    Great counter arguement, I can really see how these New Play Control Games are actually good now.

    Oh, wait..

  32. Bellicapelli Saturday 7th Mar 2009 at 01:47

    I've already said what I think of the new play controls with Mario Power Tennis. But I do think that certain comments towards the motion control re-releases in general are a bit harsh.

    Agreed, Mario Power Tennis is a shameless attempt to fleece the one swing wonders who enjoyed Tennis on Wii Sports - and offers zero improvement of the classic GC original.

    Pikmin however is a (point/click strategy) game that obvious would benefit (if done properly! - I've yet to play the new version) from the wiimote over the fiddly GC controller analogue.

    Likewise Metroid Prime Corruption (in my opinion still the best game on the Wii) has flawless controls and that configuration will obviously be ported by Nintendo onto Prime 1 and Echoes 2 - improving on the GC originals' somewhat awkward targeting system.

    So although I agree that bringing such classics to a new audience is part of the idea, I believe it's more so the opportunity for Miyamoto and Co. to fulfil all their ambitions for these games which were arguably held back by the last gen controller.

  33. Luigii Saturday 7th Mar 2009 at 09:41

    I can't believe this at all. I bought the game yesterday and I already have about 6 hours on it! It doesn't feel like i'm going to get bored any time soon. I find that the different shots work well. I don't want the game to be too easy anyway!

    Love the game. 85+%

  34. AbbaCraka Saturday 7th Mar 2009 at 16:27

    I've already said what I think of the new play controls with Mario Power Tennis. But I do think that certain comments towards the motion control re-releases in general are a bit harsh.

    Agreed, Mario Power Tennis is a shameless attempt to fleece the one swing wonders who enjoyed Tennis on Wii Sports - and offers zero improvement of the classic GC original.

    Pikmin however is a (point/click strategy) game that obvious would benefit (if done properly! - I've yet to play the new version) from the wiimote over the fiddly GC controller analogue.

    Likewise Metroid Prime Corruption (in my opinion still the best game on the Wii) has flawless controls and that configuration will obviously be ported by Nintendo onto Prime 1 and Echoes 2 - improving on the GC originals' somewhat awkward targeting system.

    So although I agree that bringing such classics to a new audience is part of the idea, I believe it's more so the opportunity for Miyamoto and Co. to fulfil all their ambitions for these games which were arguably held back by the last gen controller.

    Tis fair enough to release them to improve them in a very slight manner, for Pikmin this seems like the only one they should of done for me , though at double the price of the GC version it's a rip-off.

  35. koopamaster Saturday 7th Mar 2009 at 18:28

    I don't know why, but everyone's relying on ONM's opinion again. It doesn't seem to happen on the forum too often. To be honest, I don't see how it was tough to learn. The only problem I found was the motion controls, and even then, I would not go so far as to say they're poor. 85% for me.

  36. mastr.sword Saturday 7th Mar 2009 at 20:07

    A lot of people keep saying that this game is just an excuse not to make a new mario tennis and that you should get the gamecube version, but what if you have no gamecube controller? Besides, people who don't have the gamecube version might want it on the wii.

    And no-one complained this much about pikmin's wii debut, even if the controls are better. It seems a bit unfair. :cry:

  37. ootwoman Saturday 7th Mar 2009 at 21:00

    *Sigh* New play controls are pointess and a waste of time. Why spend lots of money for the same game you can get on the Gamecube and be proud to own a really rare game.Not some knock off cheap crud the same game crappy controls. :evil: :x :evil: :x

    Stick to the orginal controls it gives each game originality and plays better in its natural form. :wink:

    NPC SUCKS!!!! :x :x

    If anyone tries to buy it I'll offer them a Cubey version instead take that Nintendo. :twisted:

    I'll show them for killing off the Cubey :evil:

    *rant over*

  38. Gothicslayer Saturday 7th Mar 2009 at 21:18

    *Sigh* New play controls are pointess and a waste of time. Why spend lots of money for the same game you can get on the Gamecube and be proud to own a really rare game.Not some knock off cheap crud the same game crappy controls. :evil: :x :evil: :x

    *some text missing*

    *rant over*

    Dam right! Even pikmin which yes the controls were seen as an improvement still seems wrong.

    The concept for NPC is just wrong.

    If your going to remake a game atleast give enough new content or/and modes to valid a repla for people who have played before.

  39. ootwoman Saturday 7th Mar 2009 at 21:26

    *Sigh* New play controls are pointess and a waste of time. Why spend lots of money for the same game you can get on the Gamecube and be proud to own a really rare game.Not some knock off cheap crud the same game crappy controls. :evil: :x :evil: :x

    *some text missing*

    *rant over*

    Dam right! Even pikmin which yes the controls were seen as an improvement still seems wrong.

    The concept for NPC is just wrong.

    If your going to remake a game atleast give enough new content or/and modes to valid a repla for people who have played before.

    Pikmin! HA! No-one has even bought one singal copy of that. And no-one seems to be intrested in Mario Power Tennis either! :roll: Gee I wonder why?

    Stop producing pointless,crappy,stupid games Nintendo and get back to making epic awesome games like you used to.

  40. koopamaster Saturday 7th Mar 2009 at 21:27

    *Sigh* New play controls are pointess and a waste of time. Why spend lots of money for the same game you can get on the Gamecube and be proud to own a really rare game.Not some knock off cheap crud the same game crappy controls. :evil: :x :evil: :x

    Stick to the orginal controls it gives each game originality and plays better in its natural form. :wink:

    NPC SUCKS!!!! :x :x

    If anyone tries to buy it I'll offer them a Cubey version instead take that Nintendo. :twisted:

    I'll show them for killing off the Cubey :evil:

    *rant over*


    You've definitely convinced me to buy Pikmin, even though the pointer adds greatly to it, on the GC, and Pikmin 2, even though I've seen it for £60, on the GC. thanks, really great advice.

  41. koopamaster Saturday 7th Mar 2009 at 22:21

    Of course it's for money. Of course it's a con.


    Since when did trying to make money become a bad thing?
    It's not a con. It's a straight port with Wii controls, and Nintendo have never denied it or claimed it to be otherwise.

  42. Rnald Saturday 7th Mar 2009 at 22:28

    It doesnt have much to do with it but doesnt anyone else think the NPC Box Art looks like something Popcorn Arcade came up with?

    Makes it look quite crap.

    I've been waiting for Mario Tennis Wii for a while and Nintendo took too long, now I have a 360 and dont give a crap about this anymore.

  43. ILoveWii Saturday 7th Mar 2009 at 23:04

    It doesnt have much to do with it but doesnt anyone else think the NPC Box Art looks like something Popcorn Arcade came up with?

    Makes it look quite crap.

    I've been waiting for Mario Tennis Wii for a while and Nintendo took too long, now I have a 360 and dont give a crap about this anymore.

    You can reverse the art to a proper cover.

  44. AbbaCraka Sunday 8th Mar 2009 at 00:14

    Of course it's for money. Of course it's a con.


    Since when did trying to make money become a bad thing?
    It's not a con. It's a straight port with Wii controls, and Nintendo have never denied it or claimed it to be otherwise.

    Funny that you would defend this.
    It's cheap lazy money, why isn't it a con to take something which is already made and fiddle with the code for a month? When they could just make a new version, actually improve it, put some work into it. As ONM has said, this game doesn't do well with the motion controls, that's because it wasn't made for them. Pikmin is very easy to adapt to because it doesn't include motion replication, just point and click.
    Pikmin is slightly less of a con in my eyes, I am pretty sure I heard that they are making Pikmin 3 for the Wii, releasing a game which was slightly underrated will get people used to the idea and more open to the new installation, it just makes sense for more people to enjoy the game, still selling it for an extra £10-15 seems like a bit of a con when they have done almost no work on it.
    Mario Tennis is the worst of the lot.

  45. Deepdale1881 Sunday 8th Mar 2009 at 02:21

    Why spend lots of money for the same game you can get on the Gamecube and be proud to own a really rare game.

    You just answered your own question. Some people will buy these re-releases because they are a lot easier to find in the shops than the "really rare" GC versions.
    Also, as the GC versions are "really rare" it means they can cost more than the new control re-releases. Whilst you say you have to spend "lots of money" to buy the Wii versions, they can sometimes be cheaper than the GC original.

  46. ootwoman Sunday 8th Mar 2009 at 02:29

    Why spend lots of money for the same game you can get on the Gamecube and be proud to own a really rare game.

    You just answered your own question. Some people will buy these re-releases because they are a lot easier to find in the shops than the "really rare" GC versions.
    Also, as the GC versions are "really rare" it means they can cost more than the new control re-releases. Whilst you say you have to spend "lots of money" to buy the Wii versions, they can sometimes be cheaper than the GC original.

    Why pay for a cheap knock off when you can get the orginal (and the best) game? And actually it depends where you go and find the games because you can get them at a good price like Pikmin 1 for 7 quid instead of 30. Which would you choose? Mario Power Tennis on Cube 19.99 Wii 29.99. Again see where I'm comming from you don't have to serch on Ebay to find them I also look hard in old games shops and when I find one it makes it worth while and speical. :wink:

  47. super_chris Sunday 8th Mar 2009 at 10:09

    I may have to get it, but I rather wait for Pikmin 2 and buy this game on the cube. I beat its like £5 or something now?

  48. Heroofhyrule Sunday 8th Mar 2009 at 12:34

    Well, this pretty much proves what the doubters said all along: the New Play Control games are cheap cash-ins.

    Buy the GameCube version, fools!

    oh shut up :roll:

    Great counter arguement, I can really see how these New Play Control Games are actually good now.

    Oh, wait..

    My point was, I'm sick of him being negative about EVERYTHING and trying to tell people what to do. Should i have to explain myself? jeez..

  49. Luigii Sunday 8th Mar 2009 at 14:12

    Have any of you haters actually bought the game?...

    Just because a few people at ONM decide on a 77% score doesn't mean that the score was taken by average from everyone in the world. Maybe they're wrong? I think so personally. I got the game, I haven't taken it out the wii since I put it in 2 days ago (release day)

  50. -gonzo- Sunday 8th Mar 2009 at 14:27

    Why not try the game for yourselves before you flame it down.
    If I remember correctly, didnt ONM say that Samba De Amigo was totaly unplayable due to broken controls and how wrong was they with that one. :roll:

  51. koopamaster Sunday 8th Mar 2009 at 15:05

    Of course it's for money. Of course it's a con.


    Since when did trying to make money become a bad thing?
    It's not a con. It's a straight port with Wii controls, and Nintendo have never denied it or claimed it to be otherwise.

    Funny that you would defend this.
    It's cheap lazy money, why isn't it a con to take something which is already made and fiddle with the code for a month? When they could just make a new version, actually improve it, put some work into it. As ONM has said, this game doesn't do well with the motion controls, that's because it wasn't made for them. Pikmin is very easy to adapt to because it doesn't include motion replication, just point and click.
    Pikmin is slightly less of a con in my eyes, I am pretty sure I heard that they are making Pikmin 3 for the Wii, releasing a game which was slightly underrated will get people used to the idea and more open to the new installation, it just makes sense for more people to enjoy the game, still selling it for an extra £10-15 seems like a bit of a con when they have done almost no work on it.
    Mario Tennis is the worst of the lot.


    Did you pay attention to what I said at all?
    They never claimed it to be brand new. they said it was a port of the gamecube version with added controls, they don't make it out to be anything other than that. To think of it as a con is stupid.
    The games may not have had a lot of work put into them, but I still think their fun games. Not every Nintendo game has to take a good few years to make to actually be fun.

  52. ToadsWorthKing Sunday 8th Mar 2009 at 20:21

    I got this game on Friday on played a couple of matches but the wii remote just isn't compatable with the gameplay. no matter what level you choose to use the wii remote on or what level of difficulty of the opponent is, it is just as easy as the other, The shots are late from your actually movment and the actual smash finisher shot is just slow with the remote, you have to swing it like 4 times for it to work.

    A decent game but a massive disapointment.

  53. RazzerG Sunday 8th Mar 2009 at 21:23

    Its basically Wii Tennis but with the ability to control your character, which is something that firstly limited Wii Tennis and secondly increases the level of skill needed to play it properly. Great game.

  54. AbbaCraka Monday 9th Mar 2009 at 01:57

    Well, this pretty much proves what the doubters said all along: the New Play Control games are cheap cash-ins.

    Buy the GameCube version, fools!

    oh shut up :roll:

    Great counter arguement, I can really see how these New Play Control Games are actually good now.

    Oh, wait..

    My point was, I'm sick of him being negative about EVERYTHING and trying to tell people what to do. Should i have to explain myself? jeez..

    I have hardly seen enough of his posts to see if he is negaitve about everything, he is just saying that it is his opinion that people who actually want to play this should buy the GC version, and whoever doesn't is a fool. It's merely his opinion so there really is no good reason for you to tell him to shut up.

  55. AbbaCraka Monday 9th Mar 2009 at 02:07


    Did you pay attention to what I said at all?
    They never claimed it to be brand new. they said it was a port of the gamecube version with added controls, they don't make it out to be anything other than that. To think of it as a con is stupid.
    The games may not have had a lot of work put into them, but I still think their fun games. Not every Nintendo game has to take a good few years to make to actually be fun.

    Um, I could ask you the same thing? I never once said that they claimed it to be brand new, why is it not a con, when it is a lazy effort to make money? The Wii version of Mario Tennis sells for £10 more than the GC version, and from the majority of opinion on here they didn't even do the new play control very well, you see this is because it is a Gamecube game, probably never intended for motion control, it is a good game, I played it on the GC though I wouldn't pay £25 for something 4 years old with a badly implemented control system, when I can play it for £14 with a decent control system the way it was ment to be played. This also seems to be a weak attempt at appealing to the former audience who actually bought a gamecube and games for it, the audience which in my eyes Nintendo have neglected more and more, putting watery titles on the DS and Wii, with a lack of actual games, is there a word for a midfield between casual and hardcore? If so more games like that. A simple fact is that good games do take time to make, most of them in years.

  56. yubel Monday 9th Mar 2009 at 19:06

    im loseing love for nintendo now the bring back gamecube games sounded a good idea at first but as usual they cocked it up the only thing making me not throw my wii in the bring and solo play my 360 from now is that madworld looks amazing but knowing my luck it will properly not work and be crap god nintendo you really need to sort your selfs out your losing your old fans properly ever day so you can hav you casual game i hate it make a mother f***king good game soon or im sell my wii and well useing the moeny on something that might be good

    Oh andrew. :roll:
    Dont lose faith in ninty yet,although you have said if madorld isnt anygood your trading you wii in so....
    I ghess mario power tennis is a step in the worng direction.
    Its like 1 step forward and 2 steps back with these gc remakes. 8)

  57. Bellicapelli Tuesday 10th Mar 2009 at 00:29

    im loseing love for nintendo now the bring back gamecube games sounded a good idea at first but as usual they cocked it up the only thing making me not throw my wii in the bring and solo play my 360 from now is that madworld looks amazing but knowing my luck it will properly not work and be crap god nintendo you really need to sort your selfs out your losing your old fans properly ever day so you can hav you casual game i hate it make a mother f***king good game soon or im sell my wii and well useing the moeny on something that might be good

    Oh andrew. :roll:
    Dont lose faith in ninty yet,although you have said if madorld isnt anygood your trading you wii in so....
    I ghess mario power tennis is a step in the worng direction.
    Its like 1 step forward and 2 steps back with these gc remakes. 8)

    Ironic that a Nintendo fan's faith in the company rests ultimately in the hands of a game produced by...SEGA...or maybe it's just that I'm from a different generation!!? :-D

  58. kidner87 Tuesday 10th Mar 2009 at 15:20

    TBH honest I never played this on the GC as I bought a GC towards the end of their lifespan. I love Mario games and this is another fine example of why Ninty are on top at the moment. Yes its a remake of an old game, yes the controls arent precise, but its a bit of fun which I managed to get on preorder for £20 if Ninty made a whole new game it would have been at least £35. I'll be buying Pikmin on NPC and maybe more if they take my fancy because I like the new controls over the GC controller.

  59. darkandy666 Wednesday 11th Mar 2009 at 15:26

    im loseing love for nintendo now the bring back gamecube games sounded a good idea at first but as usual they cocked it up the only thing making me not throw my wii in the bring and solo play my 360 from now is that madworld looks amazing but knowing my luck it will properly not work and be crap god nintendo you really need to sort your selfs out your losing your old fans properly ever day so you can hav you casual game i hate it make a mother f***king good game soon or im sell my wii and well useing the moeny on something that might be good

    i know rellying on sega is a bad idea (just look at sonic unleashed0 but this is made by platuim games not the sonic team

    Oh andrew. :roll:
    Dont lose faith in ninty yet,although you have said if madorld isnt anygood your trading you wii in so....
    I ghess mario power tennis is a step in the worng direction.
    Its like 1 step forward and 2 steps back with these gc remakes. 8)

    Ironic that a Nintendo fan's faith in the company rests ultimately in the hands of a game produced by...SEGA...or maybe it's just that I'm from a different generation!!? :-D

  60. yubel Wednesday 11th Mar 2009 at 21:29

    im loseing love for nintendo now the bring back gamecube games sounded a good idea at first but as usual they cocked it up the only thing making me not throw my wii in the bring and solo play my 360 from now is that madworld looks amazing but knowing my luck it will properly not work and be crap god nintendo you really need to sort your selfs out your losing your old fans properly ever day so you can hav you casual game i hate it make a mother f***king good game soon or im sell my wii and well useing the moeny on something that might be good

    i know rellying on sega is a bad idea (just look at sonic unleashed0 but this is made by platuim games not the sonic team

    Oh andrew. :roll:
    Dont lose faith in ninty yet,although you have said if madorld isnt anygood your trading you wii in so....
    I ghess mario power tennis is a step in the worng direction.
    Its like 1 step forward and 2 steps back with these gc remakes. 8)

    Ironic that a Nintendo fan's faith in the company rests ultimately in the hands of a game produced by...SEGA...or maybe it's just that I'm from a different generation!!? :-D

    No comment eh? :?

  61. yubel Wednesday 11th Mar 2009 at 21:29

    im loseing love for nintendo now the bring back gamecube games sounded a good idea at first but as usual they cocked it up the only thing making me not throw my wii in the bring and solo play my 360 from now is that madworld looks amazing but knowing my luck it will properly not work and be crap god nintendo you really need to sort your selfs out your losing your old fans properly ever day so you can hav you casual game i hate it make a mother f***king good game soon or im sell my wii and well useing the moeny on something that might be good

    i know rellying on sega is a bad idea (just look at sonic unleashed0 but this is made by platuim games not the sonic team

    Oh andrew. :roll:
    Dont lose faith in ninty yet,although you have said if madorld isnt anygood your trading you wii in so....
    I ghess mario power tennis is a step in the worng direction.
    Its like 1 step forward and 2 steps back with these gc remakes. 8)

    Ironic that a Nintendo fan's faith in the company rests ultimately in the hands of a game produced by...SEGA...or maybe it's just that I'm from a different generation!!? :-D

    No comment eh? :?

  62. Medea Thursday 12th Mar 2009 at 11:32

    I got this and have been extremely dissapointed with it. Its just not fun to play.

  63. Super_Sonic96 Friday 13th Mar 2009 at 06:54

    It's a shame. I was really looking forward to this but after hearing about it i really don't want to. I thought they made the play-on-wii range so they could make good Gamecube games great, not good gamecube games worse.

  64. TMCOFFEY Monday 16th Mar 2009 at 17:56

    NINTENDO SHOULD HAVE JUST MADE A NEW ONE INSTEAD

  65. Onna76_NL Tuesday 17th Mar 2009 at 10:57

    Looks like Nintendo is doing a "pretty" good job on killing their own franchises. Pikmin 2, Donkey Kong and the Metroid Prime games I hope they're any good but this is a total shame for the game of how it used to be on the GC.

  66. TheCakeisalie123 Friday 20th Mar 2009 at 21:35

    Heres one thing you can do, to save your self money.

    Go to gamestation, buy a gamecube controller and memory card, see if they have this game for sale. ON GAMECUBE. Purchase game, take home, put in Wii, turn Wii on. Insert Gamecube controller and Memory card. Play game. Much cheaper than the Wii version. I guess

  67. Onna76_NL Sunday 22nd Mar 2009 at 15:44

    It's a shame. I was really looking forward to this but after hearing about it i really don't want to. I thought they made the play-on-wii range so they could make good Gamecube games great, not good gamecube games worse.

    You mean make great Cube games bad. Anywho, Pikmin seems pretty good. Have to see it for myself, still waiting for my US version to arrive with Rune Factory Frontier 8)

  68. Akriloth2160 Monday 23rd Mar 2009 at 13:45

    I think I might as well at least give this game a chance, because I really enjoyed the original version, as did my sister, and the formula goes, if my sister enjoys it, then it HAS to be good! Except for Dogz, obviously! :)

  69. 15 Crouch 15 Wednesday 29th Apr 2009 at 20:08

    The new Mario tennis game I find fantastic.Especialy the controlls.I also think game play on the power your charictar has a signiture move you could say, which ifing brillient.Plus i think its good for our younge gamers from 5 to 8 the cotrolls and dosn't have much button pressing.But like all games there is a down bit and the thing i find is when you unlock a new charictar i think the charictars are ones that arejust quick thinking when could base on the Mario Kart Wii charictars such as Baby Mario to Baby Lugi or even Funky Kong.Not sum weird worm thar cant run 0.1 mph and can barley swing but you still have many good ones.and also there is the good on unlocking the courts with obsicles flyin at you.

    So I would recomend this game for younge gamers and fammle but im not sayin ADULTS STAY OUT!!!! Any can play its dead easy.Mum ,Dad maybe you pet hamster any one can play it.

    I would give this a rating of 9/10.

  70. Phoenix999 Saturday 13th Mar 2010 at 18:19

    i got this today for £8 at game (pre-owned) and i think it is decent, good if you enjoyed wii sports tennis and want to expand on it

  71. Quantum Raven Monday 21st Jun 2010 at 18:46

    Oh come on! How can you give New Play Control Mario Power Tennis just 77% when it's way better than the Gamecube original! The Wii remote meshes very nicely with it and is much more fun to swing it like an actual tennis racket than just pressing buttons to play it which is what you do on the original, plus the list of playable characters is brilliant, the various themed tennis courts are stunning and the power shots are really cool! I'd give it 90%!

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.