Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Sonic And The Black Knight Review

An open letter to the hedgehog from ONM

Oh, Sonic. Our dear, dear Sonic. How you like to give with one hand and take away with the other. For every moment you have us grinning with joy, you give us another that makes us swear in frustration. For every slick slice of platforming pie you serve us, you dollop a sizeable portion of sloppy control on top of it. For every classy move you make, you make another which makes us cringe in despair. One of these days we're not going to take any more of your cruel games, Sonic. We're human beings; you can't play with our dreams this way.

Your latest game is a prime example of this. When Sega announced Sonic And The Black Knight some people were a bit wary. After all, you've tried to win us over with different gimmicks and tricks in the past. Remember when you tried to show us you had a rugged, manly side by turning into a werehog? That backfired a bit though, didn't it? All you did was annoy us and make us long for simpler times. So when it emerged that Sonic And The Black Knight would see you wielding a talking sword, we were more than a little concerned.

Click to view larger image

Dread Steel

To be fair, we don't have a problem with your sword as a character. His voice acting is decent and he's not as annoying as other sidekicks you've had in the past, like Chip in Sonic Unleashed or the wretched Shahra the Genie in Sonic And The Secret Rings. It's what you do with the sword that frustrates us so, Sonic. Simply put, you're rubbish with it.

We liked it better when you used to simply jump and perform homing attacks on enemies. You're all about speed and that let you continue at a lightning pace. It looked great and kept things moving. But now you make us randomly swing the Remote every time we get near an enemy and more often than not this goes wrong. Either the timing's off because of the speed you're running at and you miss the enemy - which usually results in you taking a hit and stopping us dead in our tracks - or you kill them and then end up facing another enemy or three directly behind them. And when you're running fast Sonic (which, let's face it, you do a lot), you just can't swing your sword quick enough to hit the next enemy as well.

It's frustrating, Sonic. Almost everything else about your game is a huge improvement over its spiritual predecessor, Sonic And The Secret Rings. You let us control you with the analogue stick now, which is so much better than tilting you with the Remote. You've done away with the annoying Skill Ring system, instead simply giving us a couple of inventory slots that we can use to equip items we find throughout the game. You've made your game look even better than Sonic And The Secret Rings did, with lush landscapes and great lighting effects all running at an incredibly fast, smooth speed.

And the soundtrack's typical to other Sonic games, so anyone who enjoyed the music in your recent games will love what's on offer here too.

Click to view larger image
The problem is, Sonic, we don't know who you're trying to appeal to with this game. You've got some nice little nods to previous Sonic games (when you meet Tails and Knuckles you hear 'ye olde' versions of their theme songs from Sonic Adventure on the Dreamcast), yet at the same time the story is clearly aimed at younger gamers. And despite the fact that those younger gamers will love the cut-scenes (while older Sonic fans will cringe at them), they'll then get frustrated by the clunky sword controls and the likelihood that they'll die many times over before they can level you up to a point where you can actually fight in a half-decent manner. That's not to say your game isn't enjoyable. There are times when it's great fun to zip through the landscapes while rock music pumps in the background and scenery flashes by at hundreds of miles an hour. It's just that sword. It's almost as if it's been put in there to make things interesting. All you needed to do was give us something like Sonic And The Secret Rings with a control system that used the Nunchuk instead of tilting the Remote and we'd have been delighted. As it is we just get annoyed now every time we see an enemy because we know the action's about to break down again.

You don't need a fancy sword to make us love you, Sonic. You try too hard to impress us when it's the simple things that win our hearts. All we want to do is run fast and jump high, like we did in the good old days. But you keep making things complicated, and it tests our relationship. We still love you, but sometimes you can be really annoying.

Comments

53 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. Strype Monday 16th Mar 2009 at 13:22

    :? right, I tried to like unleashed, I really did try, but like all the other 3D ones to me it failed and made me go off sonic even more.
    This time im not going to bother trying, to me sonic's in the past where he should be, not running around with a sword :|

    I'd much rather buy sonic 3 and knuckles for my mega drive than buy this.

    Its just my opinion so dont flame me about it, but I've gone off sonic.
    hes not as good as he use to be and he wont be good again.. :evil:

  2. LEGEND MARIOID Monday 16th Mar 2009 at 13:57

    Its strange, but after I played and disliked the unleashed (the non-daytime levels that is, I could see that the black night would be a failure in a similar way. Didd't unleashed still sell quite well? Maybe Sega don't care anymore? Harsh but it does spring to mind. I find it amazing that I wasn't interested in this game PRIOR to this review. I eouldn't have said that a year ago. Sonic must therefore have gone stale for me and perhaps many others? :(

  3. El Topo Monday 16th Mar 2009 at 14:30

    The game seems blighted by all the problems that seem to define the 3D Sonic games (and the 2D ones for that matter)- namely the need to memorise levels, nonsensical enemy/obstacle/pit placement that reduces the game to a stilted stop-start affair and ruins the very essence of what made Sonic appealing in the first place- flow and speed. The addition of the sword magnifies this problem further with its inane waggle and constant stream of enemies.

    Then there are the camera problems, the loose, unresponsive, controls and the layers upon layers of gameplay gimmicks, cringe-worthy music, half-assed sidekicks, hub worlds, infantile 'stories', broken mini-games that all combine for a dire experience coated in a fancy graphical sheen.

    As usual your reviewers have been far too generous, even IGN, which is hardly the holy grail of video-game journalism, was sensible enough to rate the game around the 4/10 mark. Maybe if you are 11 years-old, a nostalgic Sonic fan who thinks he's 11 years-old, or a masochist, then you might enjoy the game.

  4. darkandy666 Monday 16th Mar 2009 at 15:50

    my firend got this game on saturday it is terrible completed it in about 8 hours got bored traded it in the next day sonic has now dug his grave and shot himself in the head and tails buired him after

  5. Rudie111 Monday 16th Mar 2009 at 16:07

    For me, the only good thing about the recent sonic games is that they have made me want to play the 2d ones again. So i will download them from the VC and be content!!

  6. ChrisONM Monday 16th Mar 2009 at 16:24

    The game seems blighted by all the problems that seem to define the 3D Sonic games (and the 2D ones for that matter)- namely the need to memorise levels, nonsensical enemy/obstacle/pit placement that reduces the game to a stilted stop-start affair and ruins the very essence of what made Sonic appealing in the first place- flow and speed. The addition of the sword magnifies this problem further with its inane waggle and constant stream of enemies.

    Then there are the camera problems, the loose, unresponsive, controls and the layers upon layers of gameplay gimmicks, cringe-worthy music, half-assed sidekicks, hub worlds, infantile 'stories', broken mini-games that all combine for a dire experience coated in a fancy graphical sheen.

    As usual your reviewers have been far too generous, even IGN, which is hardly the holy grail of video-game journalism, was sensible enough to rate the game around the 4/10 mark. Maybe if you are 11 years-old, a nostalgic Sonic fan who thinks he's 11 years-old, or a masochist, then you might enjoy the game.


    I know you'll probably say yes, but I feel I should check that you've played the game anyway.

    I don't feel I've been too generous: I still had fun playing the game despite its frustration.

  7. nospaceman Monday 16th Mar 2009 at 16:38

    I knew he was going to ruin it with some sort of stupid gimmick.
    The sword was an accident waiting to happen.

  8. lattywatty Monday 16th Mar 2009 at 17:06

    You know what? I wanted to like 3D Sonic, I really did, but now I truly hope this is the death of him. He's had too many chances. Bring on a new character Sega, so you don't have to worry about speed. You'll just get it wrong again.

    (I have played the game and, personally, feel you're being a bit too generous. I'd give it around 50/60%)

  9. Bobby64i Monday 16th Mar 2009 at 17:12

    It sounds OK. :) Hopefully one of my friends will get it, so I can see what it is really like

  10. arceus 493 Monday 16th Mar 2009 at 18:00

    Sorry Chris but the review you wrote for SATBK is injustified and the last two - points you gave at the end were badly decided.
    The sword combat is pulled off well and is actually varied, and the multiplayer is quite addictive and fun.
    This a unique Sonic game and is pulled off stunningly, so next time Chris, I suggest that you properly play the game before you review it.
    The only problem with the game is the short Story mode, but that doesn't really pose a problem.
    I rate this game 89%.

  11. darkandy666 Monday 16th Mar 2009 at 18:43

    You know what? I wanted to like 3D Sonic, I really did, but now I truly hope this is the death of him. He's had too many chances. Bring on a new character Sega, so you don't have to worry about speed. You'll just get it wrong again.

    (I have played the game and, personally, feel you're being a bit too generous. I'd give it around 50/60%)


    yer bring back golden axe it was awsome and don't put any new gimmicks in ok

  12. koopamaster Monday 16th Mar 2009 at 18:55

    *yawn*
    let me know when the sonic series isn't mediocre.
    granted, the daytime levels in Unleashed were as close to perfect as Sonic has ever got in 3D.

  13. yubel Monday 16th Mar 2009 at 19:04

    my firend got this game on saturday it is terrible completed it in about 8 hours got bored traded it in the next day sonic has now dug his grave and shot himself in the head and tails buired him after

    Hmmm,wonder who that coul be. :roll:

    Anyways,i completed it in 3 days,just completed it like half hour ago. :P
    And no,im never trading it in.
    Its a good story with fantastic visuals and impressive cutscenes if you ignore the book style ones but then,thats the whole point and suits the games style,having full on animated cutscenes would give the game a modern feel and this,is meant to give a historical feeling.....in a story book. 8)

    Oh and why dont you rent the game instead of borrow it of me?
    That'd be wiser. 8)

  14. Ryu5 Monday 16th Mar 2009 at 19:05

    You know what? I wanted to like 3D Sonic, I really did, but now I truly hope this is the death of him. He's had too many chances. Bring on a new character Sega, so you don't have to worry about speed. You'll just get it wrong again.

    (I have played the game and, personally, feel you're being a bit too generous. I'd give it around 50/60%)


    yer bring back golden axe it was awsome and don't put any new gimmicks in ok

    by the way that 3-D sonic has been going i dont think a new golden axe would be that great tbh

    although, I LOVED THAT GAME WHEN I WAS SMALL: IT WAS AWESOMEE!!!!!!

    but 3-D woul;d completelty miss the point and won't at all feel like golden axe: just a game (wotever type it may be) with 3-D golden axe charachters

  15. smitty618 Monday 16th Mar 2009 at 20:22

    HOW DID I FORSEE THIS? Its elementary knowledge that ANOTHER sonic game goes down the good in the core, but gimmicked to death road. Making another average game...

    But wait just a darn minute. Just wait until the NEXT sonic game is on the horizon (but not that far from it), and ONM will over-hype it like the return of jacko, no pun intended.

    I can honestly say, the next wii sonic game will be gimmicked. Whats next, a talking parasol named perry? Help and salvation from little creatures will blooming flowers on their heads? Searching a medieval spanish village in search of a ditzy blonde-haired girl? I mean, they must be running out of gimmicks now...

  16. Heroofhyrule Monday 16th Mar 2009 at 21:48

    Well, another ruined sonic game, shame really.

    I don't get it though... how can sega not see that all we want it sonic the way he was before? What are they thinking?

    "Hey, the fans are still buying sonic games! let's make another one! We can't make it a traditional sonic game, because thats already been done before! I know, to make things more interesting, let's give sonic a sword, and make the player have to rapidly shake the wii remote, every time they see an enemy, to move on! Just to make things extra interesting, let's make so many enemies, you can't go running for 2 seconds without having to shake so much your arm falls off!"

    "yes, brilliant idea, just what the fans will want!"

    hmm, well, thats one possibility...

  17. seganintendo Monday 16th Mar 2009 at 22:18

    I'm surprised at the high score. IGN's review seemed completely believeable in it getting under 4/10. Nearly 8/10 seems way too high considering the faults listed in the ONM review.

    Well at least you still have Sonic Wild Fire (I mean Secret Rings lol) as top rated Sonic game.

    3D control has only Ever worked for Sonic with the remote tilting. I thought this game would refine the problems from Secret Rings but instead it seems to go the opposite way and make things worse over again. What a shame. Sega need to give up on 3D Sonic games. No matter what people say, I just can't get used to Sonic with analogue control. He is too loose and it's way too easy to send him to the wrong side by accident.
    Tilting the remote worked as you had him locked in the centre and moving him sidewards was completely down to you. It wasn't a case of him drifting in the wrong direction, like you do with an analogue stick.

    No. Sega need to listen to the fans and have faith that a 2D side scroller - even one with 3D graphics - can sell on a console, not just the Nintendo DS.

  18. AbbaCraka Monday 16th Mar 2009 at 22:50


    Well at least you still have Sonic Wild Fire (I mean Secret Rings lol) as top rated Sonic game.

    3 words: Mountain of Handkerchiefs.

  19. YoshiLimbo Tuesday 17th Mar 2009 at 00:44

    Did you really like this more than Mario Power Tennis?

  20. Oni-91 Tuesday 17th Mar 2009 at 08:42

    You know what? I wanted to like 3D Sonic, I really did, but now I truly hope this is the death of him. He's had too many chances. Bring on a new character Sega, so you don't have to worry about speed. You'll just get it wrong again.

    (I have played the game and, personally, feel you're being a bit too generous. I'd give it around 50/60%)


    yer bring back golden axe it was awsome and don't put any new gimmicks in ok

    Sega Classics Collection for PS2 had an upadated version of Golden Axe (y'know, 2D with 3D graphics). Unfortunately, it was terrible.

    Anyway, do any of you notice that in the HUD, the number 9's off centre? Can't have that in 2009, can we?

  21. xevilpunkx Tuesday 17th Mar 2009 at 10:15

    No. Sega need to listen to the fans and have faith that a 2D side scroller - even one with 3D graphics - can sell on a console, not just the Nintendo DS.

    That's not the problem, Sonic Team is the problem. Sega should let Dimps deal with it! The daytime levels in Sonic Unleashed were pretty good, and only on Wii, that proves Dimps know better than Sonic Team what the fans want!
    The reason why the DS side scrollers were so good wasn't only because they were 2d side scrolling, that's because Dimps did it!

    Sega would better give up on Sonic Team and go on with Dimps!!! I truely believe Dimps could save Sonic from his downfall!

  22. Onna76_NL Tuesday 17th Mar 2009 at 10:53

    I don't get it, why don't they just create a 2D Wii game with Sonic? Why keep on raping the franchise in 3D. Wario Land has released in 2D and works pretty well. Everybody is yelling "we want a 2D game", now how hard is it for Sega to GD listen?!

    This is a skip to me, rather have Rune Factory instead which is releasing this week in the US 8)

  23. seganintendo Tuesday 17th Mar 2009 at 13:32

    No. Sega need to listen to the fans and have faith that a 2D side scroller - even one with 3D graphics - can sell on a console, not just the Nintendo DS.

    That's not the problem, Sonic Team is the problem. Sega should let Dimps deal with it! The daytime levels in Sonic Unleashed were pretty good, and only on Wii, that proves Dimps know better than Sonic Team what the fans want!
    The reason why the DS side scrollers were so good wasn't only because they were 2d side scrolling, that's because Dimps did it!

    Sega would better give up on Sonic Team and go on with Dimps!!! I truely believe Dimps could save Sonic from his downfall!

    Ah yes. The developer Dimps. In fact I have only played the Xbox version of Sonic Unleashed and I couldn't enjoy the 3D sections of the day time levels. Perhaps they are better with the Wii analogue control, although I'm not entirely sure how as I cannot like controlling Sonic with an analogue stick.

    Yes Dimps should be given their moment to shine on a home console. Seems like they are to Sega what the fans equivalent of a 3D Pokemon experience are as Nintendo need to get rid of Genious Sonority, just like Sega need to sort out their team.

  24. darkandy666 Tuesday 17th Mar 2009 at 16:09

    my firend got this game on saturday it is terrible completed it in about 8 hours got bored traded it in the next day sonic has now dug his grave and shot himself in the head and tails buired him after

    Hmmm,wonder who that coul be. :roll:

    Anyways,i completed it in 3 days,just completed it like half hour ago. :P
    And no,im never trading it in.
    Its a good story with fantastic visuals and impressive cutscenes if you ignore the book style ones but then,thats the whole point and suits the games style,having full on animated cutscenes would give the game a modern feel and this,is meant to give a historical feeling.....in a story book. 8)

    Oh and why dont you rent the game instead of borrow it of me?
    That'd be wiser. 8)

    2 things alex

    1. i hav other firends than you
    2.you better be tradein it in it sucks

  25. Shikea Tuesday 17th Mar 2009 at 16:37

    ONM should feel stupid for even anticipating this as they did to be honest.

    And two percent off eighty is ridiculous, sixty five percent. Your too generous with your reviews and thats why alot of us have given up on your magazine, sort it out.

  26. Kolo67 Tuesday 17th Mar 2009 at 17:20

    I really want to like Sonic, I really do.
    I don't understand; why are Sonic games so lacking in their playability than from what they used to be.
    Take Sonic Rush: A great 2D racer, with awsome visuals, and great replay value.
    This is what I am annoyed at: where could they have gone wrong? the sword controls could have been perfect, but they got it wrong. The multiplayer could have been great, but they ruined it.
    A complete and utter shame.

  27. Cruel_Scorpion Tuesday 17th Mar 2009 at 17:58

    Sigh... I could honestly see this happening as soon as I saw the title and the details saying he would have a sword.. such a shame.

    I think Sonic Team should have a good long hard look at the mega drive era of Sonic games before making a new one... not saying there perfect but far more better than the recent 3D sonic games for sure.

    No more swords, no more guns, no more horror style transformation (werehog), no more annoying sidekicks who only appear in one game.... to cut the list short no more silly gimmicks, get back to basics and improve on that formula not warp it completly.

  28. Johnzaloog Tuesday 17th Mar 2009 at 18:05

    yer bring back golden axe it was awsome and don't put any new gimmicks in ok

    They did, it was aweful. Same with other big name SEGA characters making a comeback. Altered Beast was bad, Ecco wasn't that great to begin with, Samba was flawed without the motionplus, vectorman got cancelled because of his horrible new design, and...well, I didn't own the original NiGHTs but I didn't enjoy the wii game. Now all we need is Ristar and Alex kidd back and SEGA's oldschool games will be a laughing stock, or maybe a new streets of rage or Comix Zone?

    I'm sorry, I flew off the handle, but it seems that only sonic, phantasy star and gunstar heroes who have actually survived well. People forget, as much as they like to complain about sonic, his games are far from the worst games on the market, it's just because it's sonic, beloved childhood memory, that he get's attacked. If alex kidd or ristar did come back and be in a bad game, it wouldn't be too bad because almost nobody can remember them, or were playing the Playstation at the time.

    I've said too much. I'll probably get it, as I'm a major sonic fan, but I still say people are picking on sonic waaaaaaaaaaaaaay too much.

  29. darkandy666 Tuesday 17th Mar 2009 at 18:31

    ONM should feel stupid for even anticipating this as they did to be honest.

    And two percent off eighty is ridiculous, sixty five percent. Your too generous with your reviews and thats why alot of us have given up on your magazine, sort it out.


    im sorry ONM but he has a point their animal crossing wii didn't deserve 90% at all please be a bit more stricter plz it makes not relly on your reviews that much

  30. darkandy666 Tuesday 17th Mar 2009 at 18:37

    yer bring back golden axe it was awsome and don't put any new gimmicks in ok

    They did, it was aweful. Same with other big name SEGA characters making a comeback. Altered Beast was bad, Ecco wasn't that great to begin with, Samba was flawed without the motionplus, vectorman got cancelled because of his horrible new design, and...well, I didn't own the original NiGHTs but I didn't enjoy the wii game. Now all we need is Ristar and Alex kidd back and SEGA's oldschool games will be a laughing stock, or maybe a new streets of rage or Comix Zone?

    I'm sorry, I flew off the handle, but it seems that only sonic, phantasy star and gunstar heroes who have actually survived well. People forget, as much as they like to complain about sonic, his games are far from the worst games on the market, it's just because it's sonic, beloved childhood memory, that he get's attacked. If alex kidd or ristar did come back and be in a bad game, it wouldn't be too bad because almost nobody can remember them, or were playing the Playstation at the time.

    I've said too much. I'll probably get it, as I'm a major sonic fan, but I still say people are picking on sonic waaaaaaaaaaaaaay too much.

    ok ok i got it wrong i didn't know sega have killed thems selevs got it

  31. Red-Wolf Tuesday 17th Mar 2009 at 18:42

    Right now, im almost at the point where iv had enough of sonic. he was once my favourite game character bt now his struggles to b impressive ar getin embaresing.

    I just Sonic Rush on wii, with Unleashed's 3d (daytime) sections added. make it huge, with loads of levels, keep the homing attack and just STOP RESORTING TO GIMMICKS!!!!!!!

    *phew*

  32. SonicFanGirlNo1 Tuesday 17th Mar 2009 at 18:58

    I really like this game to be honest, I know its not the classic Sonic style of gameplay, its something one-off and new but its still good. Its got speed great characters and a good (if short) story. And the music is mint!

    Of course the game isn't perfect but it doesn't matter, you people are too picky. This game deserves at least 80% in my opinion.

  33. GuyWhoLikesBlue2 Tuesday 17th Mar 2009 at 19:08

    Sorry Chris but the review you wrote for SATBK is injustified and the last two - points you gave at the end were badly decided.
    The sword combat is pulled off well and is actually varied, and the multiplayer is quite addictive and fun.
    This a unique Sonic game and is pulled off stunningly, so next time Chris, I suggest that you properly play the game before you review it.
    The only problem with the game is the short Story mode, but that doesn't really pose a problem.
    I rate this game 89%.

    I totally agree. Although there are some elements that need improving, this is a very good game. I do, however, understand that it has not satisfied everyone, and now Sonic is receiving more death threats than Jade goody after the CBB racist row. What we all must take into account was that this was announced just before Chronicles was released (I think). Because of this, Sonic Team did not know of the backlash that Unleashed would receive. If anyone from SEGA is reading this (you never know :wink: ) LISTEN to your fans. Give them a 3D/2D game! Don't add predominant risky gimmicks (ones that you have to use)! Finally, think what Sonic was like in his hey-day, fans won't mind if you just give them an update of a same-old game style, that's why Sonic Rush was a big sucess!

  34. GuyWhoLikesBlue2 Tuesday 17th Mar 2009 at 19:14

    No. Sega need to listen to the fans and have faith that a 2D side scroller - even one with 3D graphics - can sell on a console, not just the Nintendo DS.

    That's not the problem, Sonic Team is the problem. Sega should let Dimps deal with it! The daytime levels in Sonic Unleashed were pretty good, and only on Wii, that proves Dimps know better than Sonic Team what the fans want!
    The reason why the DS side scrollers were so good wasn't only because they were 2d side scrolling, that's because Dimps did it!

    Sega would better give up on Sonic Team and go on with Dimps!!! I truely believe Dimps could save Sonic from his downfall!

    Ah yes. The developer Dimps. In fact I have only played the Xbox version of Sonic Unleashed and I couldn't enjoy the 3D sections of the day time levels. Perhaps they are better with the Wii analogue control, although I'm not entirely sure how as I cannot like controlling Sonic with an analogue stick.

    Yes Dimps should be given their moment to shine on a home console. Seems like they are to Sega what the fans equivalent of a 3D Pokemon experience are as Nintendo need to get rid of Genious Sonority, just like Sega need to sort out their team.

    Also, don't forget the amazing Bioware, they made Sonic Chronicles, which was fantastic! That could always be a fall back for Sonic, make another Rush or Chronicles

  35. hulkbuster Tuesday 17th Mar 2009 at 20:09

    2D=GOOD 3D=BAD.

  36. hulkbuster Tuesday 17th Mar 2009 at 20:10

    2D=GOOD 3D=BAD.

  37. yubel Tuesday 17th Mar 2009 at 20:24

    2D=GOOD 3D=BAD.

    This guy hit the nail on the head. 8)

  38. ChrisONM Wednesday 18th Mar 2009 at 00:37

    ONM should feel stupid for even anticipating this as they did to be honest.

    And two percent off eighty is ridiculous, sixty five percent. Your too generous with your reviews and thats why alot of us have given up on your magazine, sort it out.


    Wait a minute now. It's not a case of being generous.

    I still enjoyed the game despite the problems, and some other people who have played it have commented here saying they love it even more than I did.

    If you've played the game and don't agree with my score then fair enough, but to call the review "too generous" is unfair because I scored it honestly based on my opinion of the game.

  39. El Topo Wednesday 18th Mar 2009 at 12:14

    ONM should feel stupid for even anticipating this as they did to be honest.

    And two percent off eighty is ridiculous, sixty five percent. Your too generous with your reviews and thats why alot of us have given up on your magazine, sort it out.

    The gaming media, and ONM in particular, always lather fanboys into a frenzy with ridiculously optimistic previews. The gaming media is not so much journalistic and critical, its just a giant hype/marketing machine.

  40. Rnald Wednesday 18th Mar 2009 at 16:12

    I never expected this to be good really especially since it was wii only. But I think Sega know what to do now, the daytime levels of Unleashed were back to glory but there were so few of them that Sega were still off the mark. They have the formula now though and the next sonic game must be a winner otherwise it will become too obvious that Sega do not wish to progress the series.

    As for some of the comments here, what with all the attacks on the reviewers? I dont go on here much anymore and everytime I come on it seems the reviewers get attacked by the members. ITS THEIR OPINION. They have their right to it.

  41. Shikea Wednesday 18th Mar 2009 at 17:21

    ONM should feel stupid for even anticipating this as they did to be honest.

    And two percent off eighty is ridiculous, sixty five percent. Your too generous with your reviews and thats why alot of us have given up on your magazine, sort it out.


    Wait a minute now. It's not a case of being generous.

    I still enjoyed the game despite the problems, and some other people who have played it have commented here saying they love it even more than I did.

    If you've played the game and don't agree with my score then fair enough, but to call the review "too generous" is unfair because I scored it honestly based on my opinion of the game.

    I think its entirely fair, you always seem to overscore games, (although I'd say check some of the other reviews, you'd just pull the "its my opinion" card) hype up things that look poor, and generally just act faboyish. Whilst I'm at it, all of you at the magazine are unbelievably faboyish and think that just because about five hardcore decent games come out a year means nintendo are hardcore, stop bashing people who know this is not true in the mag. Its pathetic.

  42. sciqueen Wednesday 18th Mar 2009 at 18:10

    Sonic with a sword?! Why is he trying to be like The Legend of Zelda?

  43. darkandy666 Wednesday 18th Mar 2009 at 19:04

    Sonic with a sword?! Why is he trying to be like The Legend of Zelda?


    so is link goin to stark runing really fast and mario will stuck driving cars

  44. yubel Wednesday 18th Mar 2009 at 19:10

    Sonic with a sword?! Why is he trying to be like The Legend of Zelda?


    so is link goin to stark runing really fast and mario will stuck driving cars

    Link's fast as wolf link.

    Mario is the only games franchise acceptable to driving and sonic games are classyer than mario. :wink:

  45. DBZFan355 Thursday 19th Mar 2009 at 16:05

    Why is everyone saying bad about it? Alright it probably isn't that good, but I bet aboutt half of the people moaning haven't even played it. I haven't, so Im not going to comment. (Alright I will. I want more 3D!)

  46. StriderHedgehog Saturday 21st Mar 2009 at 09:13

    Sorry Chris but the review you wrote for SATBK is injustified and the last two - points you gave at the end were badly decided.
    The sword combat is pulled off well and is actually varied, and the multiplayer is quite addictive and fun.
    This a unique Sonic game and is pulled off stunningly, so next time Chris, I suggest that you properly play the game before you review it.
    The only problem with the game is the short Story mode, but that doesn't really pose a problem.
    I rate this game 89%.


    I agree, although the sword does take a bit of practice.

  47. GuyWhoLikesBlue2 Saturday 21st Mar 2009 at 21:06

    ONM should feel stupid for even anticipating this as they did to be honest.

    And two percent off eighty is ridiculous, sixty five percent. Your too generous with your reviews and thats why alot of us have given up on your magazine, sort it out.


    Wait a minute now. It's not a case of being generous.

    I still enjoyed the game despite the problems, and some other people who have played it have commented here saying they love it even more than I did.

    If you've played the game and don't agree with my score then fair enough, but to call the review "too generous" is unfair because I scored it honestly based on my opinion of the game.

    Also, ONM wouldn't be a very good magazine if it previewed any game expecting a lot of hype over a "rubbish" or "looking awful". You must bear in mind that these guys can only go by information than first hand experience when previewing a game. As in the last issue, for all we know, Mario and Sonic at the Winter Olympics could be the worst game ever conceived by man, yet ONM must make it an interesting article. Who would want to read a magazine that previewed every game as being "low hopes" or " a poor attempt" I think ONM staff can sometimes give unjust reviews on some games, but these games usually have a very divided audience, and it simply depends on which side that that ONM staff member lies on. Don't like how ONM do things? Go somewhere else

  48. Pluck It Saturday 21st Mar 2009 at 21:06

    Did you really like this more than Mario Power Tennis?

    Wait, what the crap?
    -.-


    No way.

  49. Don_Corleone Saturday 21st Mar 2009 at 23:02

    ONM, I love your magazine...But seriously, some of your reviews are far too generous

  50. ChrisONM Sunday 22nd Mar 2009 at 09:28

    ONM should feel stupid for even anticipating this as they did to be honest.

    And two percent off eighty is ridiculous, sixty five percent. Your too generous with your reviews and thats why alot of us have given up on your magazine, sort it out.


    Wait a minute now. It's not a case of being generous.

    I still enjoyed the game despite the problems, and some other people who have played it have commented here saying they love it even more than I did.

    If you've played the game and don't agree with my score then fair enough, but to call the review "too generous" is unfair because I scored it honestly based on my opinion of the game.

    I think its entirely fair, you always seem to overscore games, (although I'd say check some of the other reviews, you'd just pull the "its my opinion" card) hype up things that look poor, and generally just act faboyish. Whilst I'm at it, all of you at the magazine are unbelievably faboyish and think that just because about five hardcore decent games come out a year means nintendo are hardcore, stop bashing people who know this is not true in the mag. Its pathetic.


    You see, the problem here is that you're under the misconception that your opinion is the same as fact.

    Once again you've accused me of "overscoring", when in fact I've given a score that I thnk accurately reflects how much fun I had playing the game. If you don't like that then I'm afraid that's something you have to find peace with, not me. You can't tell me I'm not allowed to say it's my opinion, because the simple fact of the matter is, well, that's exactly what it is.

    As for the whole "just because five decent hardcore games come out a year doesn't mean they're hardcore" thing, I think that explains your negative attitude in general. If you're not open-minded enough to see that there are actually a lot of Wii games that apeal to "hardcore" gamers (if you want to use that branding), then once again that's your issue. If I need to provide a list of "decent" hardcore-friendly games then you need only say the word, my friend.

    Wii Fit, Wii Music and Wii Sports are not the Wii's entire software library, you know. I wish some people would stop acting like they are.

  51. mastersword267 Thursday 26th Mar 2009 at 17:16

    If you've played the game and don't agree with my score then fair enough, but to call the review "too generous" is unfair because I scored it honestly based on my opinion of the game.Chris@ONM

    I cuoldn't aree with Chris more, I think that 78% is the most reasonable score you coula actually give this game! The sword combat has great potential but is pulled off quite badly and the way you can't EVER reach sonic's full speed is just plain annoying! So 78/100 is FAIR :D

    This game could have worked, but sega screwed it up with endless enemies, but throuh the frustration, if you just sit down and play this game, you will genuinly have a good time, even if you can get better from other games. :wink:

  52. dracon Friday 18th Dec 2009 at 22:43

    i have to dissagree with some of you, the game, music and scenery is great, the problem is that most people dont know about the simple abilety to jump and dash towards an nearby enemy, if you time it rigth you should cut through the whole row easy as pie, i have this game myself and i love it, i dont think sonic will be replaced in a longshot

  53. spacemen13 Wednesday 13th Jun 2012 at 17:58

    Looks like I am the only one who enjoys this :cry: Someone PM me how you get jet and silver. Knuckles, blaze and shadow are too slow for me, sonic speed is just right.

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.