Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Legend Of Zelda: Majora's Mask Review

Everyone's got a dark side - even the Hero Of Time

It's certainly fair to say that nobody really saw Majora's Mask coming. Oh sure, people were definitely aware that Nintendo had a new Zelda game in development but in terms of what it would actually offer them, nobody had a clue.

Previous Zelda games had always had a moody side to them - as shown in Link To The Past's Dark World or Ocarina Of Time's chaotic take on Hyrule's future - but they were still essentially traditional fairy tales; stories of decent people fighting to keep evil at bay and eventually having a happy ending. Majora's Mask, however, is anything but. Indeed, it's probably the most twisted Zelda game yet and that's even after you include Twilight Princess. Not that that's a bad thing.

Click to view larger image
The primary reason for this bleakness is the game's story, which is far richer and more complex than that of previous Zelda games. Throwing Link into the new land of Termina, things immediately begin on a low note. The world is on the verge of apocalypse thanks to a giant moon threatening to crash into it, Epona has been stolen by the strange child responsible for this impending doom and, worst of all, Link has been transformed into a Deku Scrub.

Obviously, it's up to Link to save the day but how he goes about it isn't nearly as straightforward as his previous adventures. After all, he's only got three days until the end of the world, so time is very much of the essence.

Somewhere In Time

Or at least it would be if the gameplay didn't include one rather important element: time travel. Majora's Mask eventually offers players the chance to undo what's already been done by moving back in time. The biggest problem is working out what can be done in your allotted time.

With the final three days of Termina only amounting to about an hour and a half of real time, you need to complete various tasks and explore dungeons as extensively as possible, then use Link's ocarina to travel back to the beginning of the first day. Leaving tasks unfinished effectively undoes your hard work, so picking and choosing what to do when is as important as actually doing it.

Not surprisingly, this easily makes Majora's Mask the most complex and challenging Zelda title to date. True, it only features four primary dungeons as opposed to more than double that in previous games, but its reliance on time and the pressure it places on the player certainly makes up for it.

And then there's the significant emphasis on side-quests. With almost every side-quest being tied to a particular individual or event, the player is no longer free to complete tasks when they feel like it. They need to be in the right place at the right time to ensure they can interact with the required people. An in-game diary helps keep track of who goes where and at what time, leaving players to work out what to do next - an ingenious addition that brings great depth to the gameplay.

Click to view larger image

Behind The Mask

Although it's Ocarina Of Time that is often seen as the jewel in the Zelda crown, there are many that would argue that Majora's Mask is the superior title. While the former can be seen as a simple 3D update of the gameplay ideals set out in Link To The Past, it was Majora's Mask that brought new complexity to the series.

Sadly, it didn't do nearly as well as its predecessor although the eventual sales (around three million worldwide) were still more than healthy. The game was re-released on the GameCube as part of the limited Collector's Edition disc but now it's on Virtual Console you simply must download it.

If you've already played it, you can enjoy it all over again but we suspect there's a whole audience of Zelda fans who came in at Wind Waker or Twilight princess and deserve to see just how dark Link's adventures can really be.

Comments

99 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. megamariogalaxy Monday 6th Apr 2009 at 11:23

    Next time I buy points, I'm getting this. I've heard wonderful things about it, but I've never got the luck to play it. Until now.

  2. ILoveWii Monday 6th Apr 2009 at 11:27

    Less accessible? I suppose you're right, but it's still equally as epic.

  3. Lord Genuine Monday 6th Apr 2009 at 11:31

    Less accessible? I suppose you're right, but it's still equally as epic.


    Equally? I think its a better game than Oot. Imo, Majoras Mask is the best game ever, or at the very least one of them.

  4. Dark_Dragon01 Monday 6th Apr 2009 at 11:36

    Great work, ripping this review straight from the Zelda Special Edition. And I thought this got 94%?
    Anyway, this is the best game ever made, so it's great to see it released.

  5. tomonm Monday 6th Apr 2009 at 11:54

    Great work, ripping this review straight from the Zelda Special Edition. And I thought this got 94%?
    Anyway, this is the best game ever made, so it's great to see it released.

    Sorry, error. Yes, it is 94%

  6. lfcwaluigi1 Monday 6th Apr 2009 at 12:03

    Great work, ripping this review straight from the Zelda Special Edition. And I thought this got 94%?
    Anyway, this is the best game ever made, so it's great to see it released.

    Sorry, error. Yes, it is 94%

    its doesnt really matter anymore seen as how therye not in the rated section to refer to :cry:


    i would have downloaded this on release day but i heard there were 2 versions and one was better so i wanted to see which this one is, anyone know?

    also it sounds like a quite complicated storyline, will i need to buy one of those big guide help books or will the internet be helpful enough?

  7. madmajoraman Monday 6th Apr 2009 at 12:07

    Finally! It's finally here!
    I've been waiting so long for this to come to the virtual console, it is my favourite, and in my opinion, the greatest zelda game in the entire series.

  8. fergiepunk Monday 6th Apr 2009 at 12:09

    GREATEST GAME EVER!!!!!

  9. darkandy666 Monday 6th Apr 2009 at 12:13

    im goin to download this game i had the gamecube verison but i was bad at games back them and i never completed it if you ahv never played this download this the hardes nintendo game ever

  10. mariosmum Monday 6th Apr 2009 at 12:27

    I remember watching my brother play this on the N64 when I was younger, and I always thought it was better than oot because of the complexity of the story and how emotional and involving it was.

    Time to dig out my GC Zelda collector's edition disc!

  11. Sir Lemon Facey Monday 6th Apr 2009 at 12:33

    Next time I buy points, I'm getting this. I've heard wonderful things about it, but I've never got the luck to play it. Until now.


    Get ready for a rough ride man, it's really tough!

  12. hoshixcandy Monday 6th Apr 2009 at 12:41

    I love this game... But I think I'll postpone downloading it from the VC. Both my Majora's Mask and Ocarina of Time games work perfectly well on my Nintendo64, which is still working greatly too... Unless Majora or my N64 decide to abandon me, I'll stick with them for now...

  13. Reevys Monday 6th Apr 2009 at 12:46

    Pfft, you just knew it was gonna get a lower score than Ocarina Of Time.

    ¬_______________¬

  14. Mario maniac Monday 6th Apr 2009 at 12:52

    i never really liked this one as much as the other zelda games, don't get me wrong i liked the masks and stuff but the time travelling was really annoying. That was a while ago so i might like it now.

    If i play it again i'll use the gamecube edition. (it has better graphics)

  15. tank2tank Monday 6th Apr 2009 at 13:07

    It's a brilliant game, but like the Gamecube version, it's another dodgy version.
    The Gamecube version was known for crashing, lag and sound problems, and while the frame rate and sound seem to be fine in the VC version, IT JUST CRASHED ON ME so heed my warning...

  16. Ganondorf Monday 6th Apr 2009 at 13:15

    I never had the chance to play this when it originally came out, but this time I may just buy my first load of Wii Points and get this.

    I'm not a big fan of OoT myself, but this looks very good.

  17. yubel Monday 6th Apr 2009 at 13:20

    Hmm id bump the score a bit due to innacessability can be seen as a good thing.
    Some like zelda to stay with the core. 8)

  18. mastr.sword Monday 6th Apr 2009 at 13:27

    I can't believe i hadn't even heard of this game till onm issue 39. I loved Ocarina so this is kind of the most essential purchase I could make. Should be getting 2000 wii points card tomorrow so i'll be downloading it VERY soon.

  19. arbater Monday 6th Apr 2009 at 13:32

    i ust downloaded orcarina and majoras out i used my other points yet to get it i havent played it yet but by the review it looks really gd cant wait to play it . but first orcarina needs to be complete im only on the water temple getting the 3rd spirtual stone :cry:

  20. Zabba 2 Monday 6th Apr 2009 at 13:37

    Hurrah! The greatest Zelda game gets the VC treatment.

    Majoras Mask is a masterpiece. I personally wouldn't knock it down for accessability, but rather the slightly dodgy save system (and it's tendencies to crash. That combined with the save system, it's sometimes frustrating)

    I personally feel it's the highlight of the whole series. The story is much more emotional, the atmoshpere, darker, the villain, more intimidating and the characters are full of life. Plus you've got time travel and transformations, which is always good.
    The darker approach suits the series very well.

    It's lacking in dungeons, but there's more side quests and optional stuff going on, so there's still quite a lot to do.

    Ah, talking about it makes me want to go and play it all over again. Aliens? Pirates? Time Travel? Apocalyptic threats? Conversing with the undead? Talking Beavers? Giants? Magic Masks? Curses? A man who lives in a toilet? Familiar faces? Monkeys? Fish Band? Numerous amusing instances of dancing? All in one game? Oh yes.

  21. tank2tank Monday 6th Apr 2009 at 13:55

    I personally wouldn't knock it down for accessability, but rather the slightly dodgy save system (and it's tendencies to crash. That combined with the save system, it's sometimes frustrating)

    Oh man, you have no idea...
    Has anyone else had the VC version lock up on them yet?

  22. Mrlizard Monday 6th Apr 2009 at 13:59

    Easily the best one.

  23. Dekudan Monday 6th Apr 2009 at 14:04

    You also forget that this has some of the sharpest, greatest graphics on the N64. And the Goron, I used so spend hours rolling up into a ball and charging around Termina field.

    BEST.ZELDA.EVER

  24. thebigN Monday 6th Apr 2009 at 14:53

    Next time I buy points, I'm getting this. I've heard wonderful things about it, but I've never got the luck to play it. Until now.


    Get ready for a rough ride man, it's really tough!

    but worth every second

  25. ultimate-k Monday 6th Apr 2009 at 15:10

    Love this game, just done the 1st dungeon, but if I travel back in time, would I have to do it again?please can some one tell me.

  26. Ubahquiet Monday 6th Apr 2009 at 15:39

    NEED POINTS IMMEDIATELY

  27. ShadowHyrule Monday 6th Apr 2009 at 15:55

    I thought this was better than Ocarina, it's darker, harder and different.

    The way it gives you the limit is excellent (:

  28. Adam the Odd Monday 6th Apr 2009 at 16:08

    I tried watching the videos but I couldn't (The Wii doesn't have the plug ins or something which is a tad ironic considering the site). So I was wondering if this is a better remake than the GC one? The N64's getting old and has started to get problematic so I'll get it so long as its better than GC version

  29. TomC_94 Monday 6th Apr 2009 at 16:20

    Adam, you're right, it's stupid that you can't access the plug-ins on a Wii, when this site will get loads of Wii hits.
    Also, I WILL NOT get this untill I've completed OoT. I WON'T...

  30. sgu07dh Monday 6th Apr 2009 at 16:22

    Love this game, just done the 1st dungeon, but if I travel back in time, would I have to do it again?please can some one tell me.

    As long as you beat the boss and saved by playing the song of time you keep his remains to use them at the end of the game. you don't have to go through the dungeon again unless you want the reward for collecting the stray fairies.

    I'd recommend this game to anyone who has played Zelda before, though OOT is the classic MM is one of those amazing lesser known gems. Maybe that makes it better?

  31. pokemainiac Monday 6th Apr 2009 at 16:23

    Just a repeat of the article in the Zelda special.

  32. Shaun2005 Monday 6th Apr 2009 at 17:03

    Easily the best Zelda on N64 in my humble opinion.

    It might less accessible but when you get into it - it certainly takes you much further than OoT.

  33. City Of Delusion Monday 6th Apr 2009 at 17:08

    Love this game, just done the 1st dungeon, but if I travel back in time, would I have to do it again?please can some one tell me.

    Sort of. You'll have to beat Teh Boss again, but there's a nice teleport to Teh Boss' chamber at the entrence of the dungeon. With the Song of Inverted Time, it shouldn't take too long in game-hours.

  34. wazlon Monday 6th Apr 2009 at 19:45

    I still have a N64 and I've got Majoras Mask, the cartridge is a gold colour :)

    It's a great game but I don't think it's as good as Ocarina of Time because you don't get to play as both young link and adult link.

    Come to think of it, since Ocarina of Time, I don't think there's been another Zelda game since Ocarina of Time that makes you play as both young link and adult link througout the game.

  35. Zarnak Monday 6th Apr 2009 at 20:16

    I'd rate this the best Zelda ever made. I think Ocarina of Time is overated (or there are too many fanboys - it's still an awesome game)
    I've actually been playing this on the N64 recently as I hadn't got the last 4 heart containers. What I'd like to see is another Zelda connected to this one (kinda like the Four Sword and Vaati games)but see some history of Majora or Fierce Deity.
    Loved this game! And yes, getting the Expansion Pak was worth it for this game (thanks mum!)

  36. Mama Luigi Monday 6th Apr 2009 at 20:17

    This is one of the most dark, complex and compelling games I've ever played. Everything from the creepy mask transformations to the cries of the giants to the wastes of Snowhead sends shivers down my spine to this day. Although it isn't that scary as such, the atmosphere is extremely on edge and it always feels as though something isn't quite right. If I was to write down all the reasons why this is the best Zelda game I'd need to write a 100 page essay and I obviously wouldn't want to waste my time like that. In short, this is one of the finest games ever made and certainly deserving of 97% as opposed to 94%.

    As for downloading it, no thanks. I'd rather stick with my delicious gold cartridge.

  37. YAYFORNINTENDO Monday 6th Apr 2009 at 20:43

    Got this game earlier and just got out of that Clock Town, 'tis pretty awesome so far anyway.
    I still need to finish OoT but that can wait.

  38. Sir Lemon Facey Monday 6th Apr 2009 at 20:51

    Next time I buy points, I'm getting this. I've heard wonderful things about it, but I've never got the luck to play it. Until now.


    Get ready for a rough ride man, it's really tough!

    but worth every second


    Oh definitely, although I haven't finished it myself because I lost the disc.
    ::(

  39. TheVelvetRoom Monday 6th Apr 2009 at 20:58

    I would say that it is less accessable, but nobody should let that put them off. If you want to see how good this game is, then persevere with out. I feel that it's very rewarding to play.

  40. Fyxe Monday 6th Apr 2009 at 22:22

    I still have a N64 and I've got Majoras Mask, the cartridge is a gold colour :)

    It's a great game but I don't think it's as good as Ocarina of Time because you don't get to play as both young link and adult link.

    Come to think of it, since Ocarina of Time, I don't think there's been another Zelda game since Ocarina of Time that makes you play as both young link and adult link througout the game.


    While that's true, you do get Deku Link, Goron Link, Zora Link and the almighty Fierce Deity Link. I'd say they easily topped Link simply being taller anyday.

    Young Link was always more fun to control than adult Link in my opinion, and now he can use the Bow, Hookshot and Epona to boot!

    Fun fact; in early screenshots of the game, Deku Link, Goron Link and Zora Link all had a specific weapon, namely Deku Nuts, the Megaton Hammer and the Hookshot respectively. This was replaced later on with their inate abilities like the Zora's boomerangs and their magic attacks.

  41. Random-Hero Tuesday 7th Apr 2009 at 00:33

    Rather have Custom Robo...
    Least Nintendo haven't done us all in and put Animal Crossing on the VC. "What you talking about R-H?"

    Im talking about the N64 version silly. XD

  42. seganintendo Tuesday 7th Apr 2009 at 00:58

    OMG this is creepy. I love it as there's such a dark feel and it really does play with your mind. I imagine that Eternal Darkness game that I'll one day play was influenced by this.

  43. kezao Tuesday 7th Apr 2009 at 07:28

    Love this game, just done the 1st dungeon, but if I travel back in time, would I have to do it again?please can some one tell me.


    Nope :D everything you get from the dungeon you keep including the main quest stuff, hope that helped :D

  44. ryukotsu Tuesday 7th Apr 2009 at 08:44

    deku scrub link is sooooooooooo cute!

  45. Oni-91 Tuesday 7th Apr 2009 at 10:25

    Would have got this first time round, but didn't have an expansion pak. Glad to see it's here.

  46. ultimate-k Tuesday 7th Apr 2009 at 11:38

    Right thanks everybody who helped.

  47. Luigi1 Tuesday 7th Apr 2009 at 13:16

    There is no point me getting this as I have the collectors edition disc that came with Mario Kart Double Dash 4 or so years ago. Also, i am not that fond of Zelda games anyway.

    Another example as to why I stopped getting this magazine ages ago, just reeks of laziness and no contempt for people who actually brought the magazine.

  48. smashbrosrox Tuesday 7th Apr 2009 at 17:27

    I will download this eventually, although I could never get into Ocarina Of Time, I am not sure if I would like this. It has an intruiging premise, though.

  49. Bubba106 Tuesday 7th Apr 2009 at 22:18

    Love this game, just done the 1st dungeon, but if I travel back in time, would I have to do it again?please can some one tell me.

    No but you CAN do the boss again if you want. Fancy that.

    Basically when you go back in time you keep the masks you gain (and the remains of the dungeon's bosses) but noone remembers it happening coz, well, it hasn't happened yet coz you've gone back in time. Complicated huh?

    By the way does anyone really believe Twilight Princess is as dark as this? For me it's not even close. This game is miles ahead. It's like The Shining: it's not particularly scary but it creeps the hell out of you.

  50. Sonikku Wednesday 8th Apr 2009 at 01:43

    imho this is the greatest zelda game ever made.
    The dark storyline (which is darker than that of twilight princess), The challenging dungeons and the way it made you care about every character in the game.

    You know so much about these characters and you know that it is up to you to save them before the moon comes crashing down.

    It is my favorite game of all time.

    And if i was ONM i would have given it 99%
    + Great 3 day feature
    + Play as 1 a zora, deku or goron
    + Deep side Quests and challenging dungeons
    - It has to end eventually

    Also there was an occasional FPS slowdown in the N64 version and sound irregularity in the GameCube port.

    Can anyone confirm if these have been fixed in the VC port?

  51. The Timesplitter Wednesday 8th Apr 2009 at 17:23

    I haven't even bought any points and I've had my Wii over a year...

    But I'll make a mental note of Majora's Mask.

  52. cmorrison981 Wednesday 8th Apr 2009 at 17:34

    im just here to brag. i dont need no virtual console. ive got the cartridge plugged into the N64 as i type this comment.

  53. GuyWhoLikesBlue2 Wednesday 8th Apr 2009 at 19:31

    Maybe Nintendo should consider doing another horrifically dark Zelda after they release Spirit Tracks

  54. GuyWhoLikesBlue2 Wednesday 8th Apr 2009 at 19:33

    Maybe Nintendo should consider doing another horrifically dark Zelda after they release Spirit Tracks

  55. Krystalphoenix Wednesday 8th Apr 2009 at 22:09

    So glad this got released on the VC, my N64 and all my games for it are in a box in the loft somewhere (terrible I know) and I've been pining to play this after going through Ocarina of Time again.

  56. Onna76_NL Thursday 9th Apr 2009 at 09:31

    But, but the VC version doesn't have rumble support... How do you wanna complete everything if you can't even feel the ground below you quaking.

  57. Loose Boosh Thursday 9th Apr 2009 at 13:43

    imho this is the greatest zelda game ever made.
    The dark storyline (which is darker than that of twilight princess), The challenging dungeons and the way it made you care about every character in the game.

    You know so much about these characters and you know that it is up to you to save them before the moon comes crashing down.

    It is my favorite game of all time.

    And if i was ONM i would have given it 99%
    + Great 3 day feature
    + Play as 1 a zora, deku or goron
    + Deep side Quests and challenging dungeons
    - It has to end eventually

    Also there was an occasional FPS slowdown in the N64 version and sound irregularity in the GameCube port.

    Can anyone confirm if these have been fixed in the VC port?

    K, lets sort this out.

    So you think a time limit to a WHOLE FREAKING GAME is good? I mean, i'm all for timed sections in games, races and whatnot, but THAT WHOLE GAME IS GODDAMN TIMED! THATS NOT GOOD! That makes you rush it, and rushing games means you dont fully enjoy it.

    Your next point;

    Oh wow PLAY AS OTHER CHARACTERS D:

    Next point'

    no u

    K fine, i'm only really against the 3 day thing.

  58. richie_sutton Friday 10th Apr 2009 at 23:03

    Maybe you don't understand.
    You have an in-day time limit of three days, but during these three days, you can save the game and go back to the beginning of the first day.
    The only things that are saved, really, is what Link takes with him, making the game realistic (of sorts).
    These many items denote progress.
    For example, many side-quests reward you with special masks to say you have done them. These in turn can be used to make greater progress on a different side-quest.
    Some main events happen that are not shown again but these are events that, of sorts, happen outside of time and Link is given very important items when these happen to open up greater parts of the game.
    Anyone knows that within an adventure game, progress is marked and made more by items/skills that allow the player to access new areas rather than just the storyline.
    BTW, the system is great accept when you played through it with the glitchy Gamecube version like I did. First time I completed the first dungeon, it crashed before I saved. That happened many times and though it would have been okay on normal games, this three day save system wasn't. :evil:
    That said, wouldn't change anything in the game (except the crashing in the gamecube port) and recommend this to everyone and it's essential if you've completed any of the other main 3D Zeldas.

  59. The Jubster Saturday 11th Apr 2009 at 16:16

    Love this game, just done the 1st dungeon, but if I travel back in time, would I have to do it again?please can some one tell me.

    Gamefaqs are great for that :D

  60. Adamarussell Saturday 11th Apr 2009 at 20:53

    At first I found the time system annoying and the fact that it was impossible to save anywhere. But i began to realise it made the game sooo much deeper,and added an edgeness to it. With different events occuring everyday it made the game seem soo much larger. In my opinion it matches up to ocarina of time and smashes twilight and wind waker into the ground, :)

  61. hooeylewissukz Sunday 12th Apr 2009 at 10:29

    I'll probably only get it once I've finished OoT. But that will be in a while though as we have so many great games, Wii and DS.

  62. sivlock Tuesday 14th Apr 2009 at 11:54

    Its awesome i originally thought oh no only 4 dungeons but there is so much else you can be doing playing the games and loads of side quests this game is huge! I got it on the N64 when it came out and have it on the collection disk for the GC so i still play it from time to time, great game!

  63. jedivssith Friday 17th Apr 2009 at 14:56

    I am so annoyed!!!

    I just recently bought this on eBay WITH THE EXPANSION PAK and now I find out that everyone else is going to play it at a lot cheaper price WITH A JOYSTICK THAT DOESN'T HURT YOUR THUMB!! :D :lol: :) :o :? :( :cry: :x :evil: :evil: :!: :!:

  64. mariofanatic128 Friday 17th Apr 2009 at 16:57

    Why has it only got 94%, it's the best zelda game ever. It should have 97%

  65. pokemaniac 212 Saturday 18th Apr 2009 at 10:52

    Are nintendo trying to wreck my GCSE's. This Rock Band 2 and Pokemon Platinum all out within a month of my GCSE's. Willpower.....failing.....

  66. Super Link Aran Saturday 18th Apr 2009 at 18:10

    @Loose Boosh

    So you think a time limit to a WHOLE FREAKING GAME is good? I mean, i'm all for timed sections in games, races and whatnot, but THAT WHOLE GAME IS GODDAMN TIMED! THATS NOT GOOD! That makes you rush it, and rushing games means you dont fully enjoy it.

    The time travelling means quite the opposite. There's no rush as you could spend a whole three days just earning money/doing side quests/messing about etc without even doing a dungeon 'cause you can just go back in time afterwards. It's a fantastic system.

    And this games SO deep, it really makes you think sometimes and laugh others and the ending was cheerful but sad because you knew it was all over lol.

  67. Super_Sonic96 Sunday 19th Apr 2009 at 08:30

    Great timing i'm back at the site after a fairly long break and treatd to a surprise review of one of my favorite games ever. Zelda rox!!!

  68. Tramp Atack Monday 20th Apr 2009 at 22:32

    Best game EVER. Cant beat zelda.

  69. FierceDeity Monday 20th Apr 2009 at 23:47

    I think this sums majora's mask up rather well, its from here http://www.offworld.com/2009/03/one-mor ... or-ho.html
    Just go buy this game people its the best ever, heck even my account is named after a character from it (Fierce Deity Link is for the win)

    I'm sitting in a hotel room with a girl I barely know. She is beautiful, but sad and close to tears. The man she loves has deserted her, and she feels like her world has ended. I know she's wrong, but don't seem to have the words to tell her why. Her world hasn't ended. She is still loved, will still be loved, if only she would save herself. But she won't. Consumed by the past, bereaved by her loss, she's paralysed. Oblivious to the fact that a very different horror - concrete, violent, terminal - is threatening to end not just her world, but that of her family, her absent lover and everyone she's ever cared about. Me too, now I come to think of it. But the words won't come, and so I stand here, counting down to the end of the world one tear at a time. And then, at the last sad second, time loops backwards and everything begins again.

    I'm sitting in a hotel room with a man I barely know. He isn't beautiful, or sad, or paralysed, but he is oblivious. Not oblivious to the end of the world, however. He's oblivious to a game called The Legend Of Zelda: Majora's Mask, and that means he's also oblivious to the unbearably bittersweet experience of sharing the end of the world with Anju as she sits in her bedroom in Clock Town's hotel, mourning the disappearance of her fiance. And so I tell him about it, trying to condense dozens of hours of brave, benevolent adventuring into five short minutes. And then, at the last frustrating second, time loops backwards and everything begins again.


    I don't know why he's oblivious to Majora's Mask. It's the sequel to Ocarina Of Time, one of the most enduring lauded videogames ever made (most recently again by Edge). If ever a game was hotly awaited - not least thanks to Ocarina's arguably unresolved ending and rumours of hidden Temples - it was Majora.

    But less than a decade on, the world seems to have collective amnesia. Over the last year I've been living out my own Groundhog Day, sat in pitch meeting after pitch meeting for games which propose to break radical new ground by having a looping narrative, or telling stories at a domestic rather than an epic scale, or having a hero who is actually transformed by the events that befall him. Have you looked, I ask hopefully, at Majora's Mask? and every time watch as brows furrow and rusty memories are accessed. Oh! they say eventually, I never really played that. Was it good?
    Was it good? No, it wasn't good. It is good. It hasn't expired, it isn't stale or mouldering or rotten. It, like so many other masterpieces, is sitting waiting for you in retro shops and on rom sites and in friends' parents' attics. And it's more than good. It's a blueprint of brilliance, an object lesson in how innovative game design and non-linear story telling can combine to create that holy grail of emotionally resonant interaction. Ten years on we're still asking if such things are possible, having already forgotten that these are already old achievements.

  70. Lagerboy Monday 27th Apr 2009 at 16:52

    Downloaded this immediately after it came out and i just finished it. If anyone plays it make sure you play it through to the end. It has the best cutscene in any zelda to date. Even though in my opinion oot is still the better game but only just.

  71. Lagerboy Monday 27th Apr 2009 at 16:55

    Downloaded this immediately after it came out and i just finished it. If anyone plays it make sure you play it through to the end. It has the best cutscene in any zelda to date. Even though in my opinion oot is still the better game but only just.

  72. Lagerboy Monday 27th Apr 2009 at 16:56

    Downloaded this immediately after it came out and i just finished it. If anyone plays it make sure you play it through to the end. It has the best cutscene in any zelda to date. Even though in my opinion oot is still the better game but only just.

  73. MB-Poke-Fan Sunday 3rd May 2009 at 15:28

    Hooray! I t's finally on vc. I 'm still playing this game even now, and i STILL haven't got everything! And thats probably because its so diverce,or im just rubbish. Eitherway, I enjoy it emensly, and I hope others will manage to as well.

  74. Deku scrub Wednesday 6th May 2009 at 20:49

    Im on the 3rd dungen the mini bosses are hard ITS AWESOME !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :lol:

  75. MARION64WII Friday 8th May 2009 at 12:54

    Love this game, just done the 1st dungeon, but if I travel back in time, would I have to do it again?please can some one tell me.


    Luckily no. however (not sure you know this) you will loose all your money, arrows, bombs etc by the way your next dungeon will be a bit more anoying, but the boss is a bit fun :)

  76. Googoo12444 Sunday 10th May 2009 at 09:57

    Great the only zelda I have is twilight princess and I've played the demo of oot on ssbb. I was thinking about downloading oot and mm after I've finished twilight princess, nintendo now has to put smash bros on VC they just have to.

  77. Googoo12444 Sunday 10th May 2009 at 10:46

    Hey hey hey, wait a minute I've just though of a massive flaw in this game. Here I go.
    It's ok the first time you play the 3 days, but when you go back in time shouldn't you see yourself doing the first three days again? And then when you go back for the 2nd time shouldn't you see 2 links doing whatever you did on those days? Then when you go back for the 3rd time you should see 3 links doing the different days that you done before? I'm not gonna try go any further, am I right or am I just confusing myself?

  78. Tommy l p Monday 11th May 2009 at 16:51

    Great work, ripping this review straight from the Zelda Special Edition. And I thought this got 94%?
    Anyway, this is the best game ever made, so it's great to see it released.

    Sorry, error. Yes, it is 94%

    its doesnt really matter anymore seen as how therye not in the rated section to refer to :cry:


    i would have downloaded this on release day but i heard there were 2 versions and one was better so i wanted to see which this one is, anyone know?

    also it sounds like a quite complicated storyline, will i need to buy one of those big guide help books or will the internet be helpful enough?

    What do you mean you will need to buy a guide book or use the internet? What's the point of buying a game if your gunna go and get help straight away! Can't anyone just play a game for fun anymore...

  79. Googoo12444 Monday 11th May 2009 at 21:00

    Great work, ripping this review straight from the Zelda Special Edition. And I thought this got 94%?
    Anyway, this is the best game ever made, so it's great to see it released.

    Sorry, error. Yes, it is 94%

    its doesnt really matter anymore seen as how therye not in the rated section to refer to :cry:


    i would have downloaded this on release day but i heard there were 2 versions and one was better so i wanted to see which this one is, anyone know?

    also it sounds like a quite complicated storyline, will i need to buy one of those big guide
    help books or will the internet be helpful enough?

    What do you mean you will need to buy a guide book or use the internet? What's the point of buying a game if your gunna go and get help straight away! Can't anyone just
    play a game for fun anymore...

    I hardly ever cheat unless ive been stuck for months

  80. Deku scrub Sunday 17th May 2009 at 17:54

    Just Completed the 3rd dungon boss today is it hard :?: YES!!!!!!!!!!! VERY!!!!!!

  81. ZeLdAfReAk1993 Tuesday 26th May 2009 at 22:17

    I still have a N64 and I've got Majoras Mask, the cartridge is a gold colour :)

    It's a great game but I don't think it's as good as Ocarina of Time because you don't get to play as both young link and adult link.

    Come to think of it, since Ocarina of Time, I don't think there's been another Zelda game since Ocarina of Time that makes you play as both young link and adult link througout the game.


    While that's true, you do get Deku Link, Goron Link, Zora Link and the almighty Fierce Deity Link. I'd say they easily topped Link simply being taller anyday.

    Young Link was always more fun to control than adult Link in my opinion, and now he can use the Bow, Hookshot and Epona to boot!

    Fun fact; in early screenshots of the game, Deku Link, Goron Link and Zora Link all had a specific weapon, namely Deku Nuts, the Megaton Hammer and the Hookshot respectively. This was replaced later on with their inate abilities like the Zora's boomerangs and their magic attacks.

    yeh but if you think about it, you only get to use the fierce deity in the boss' dungeons which suck... the extra perks you get with the deku, zora and goron mask are cool, but i still think that to make this game supreme over oot, fierce deity should have been able to be playable outside of dungeons

  82. shadow.x Tuesday 16th Jun 2009 at 10:56

    i would only buy this if they made a proper re make for the wii

  83. MajorazMasta Monday 6th Jul 2009 at 18:41

    Love this game, just done the 1st dungeon, but if I travel back in time, would I have to do it again?please can some one tell me.

    It depends on if you want to complete the game 100%.
    If you defeated Odowla and saved with the Song of Time, then you can repeatedly fight the boss by standing on the mask on the floor when you enter the dungeon, without having to work your way through the dungeon again (although all of the puzzles will be reset).
    But there are various side quests in the game, including one which requires you to go back and collect all (I think there's 15) of the 'Stray Fairies' in order to gain an enhanced spin attack technique from the Great Fairy, located I think below water level in Woodfall after you complete the temple.
    Hope that helped!
    Also, if anyone needs any help with Majora's Mask or Okami, It would be my pleasure to answer your questions. :D

  84. MajorazMasta Monday 6th Jul 2009 at 19:50

    Hey hey hey, wait a minute I've just though of a massive flaw in this game. Here I go.
    It's ok the first time you play the 3 days, but when you go back in time shouldn't you see yourself doing the first three days again? And then when you go back for the 2nd time shouldn't you see 2 links doing whatever you did on those days? Then when you go back for the 3rd time you should see 3 links doing the different days that you done before? I'm not gonna try go any further, am I right or am I just confusing myself?

    If that theory was correct, then the whole land of Termina would eventually become a wasteland filled with an infinite swarm of Links slowly crushing and crippling each other over and over, and although the tower of Links would eventually grow high enough to support the falling moon and save all the inhabitants of Termina (Terminians?), they'd already be dead because they would have been crushed to.
    And although it would be funny at first, it would get boring (not to mention pointless and sick) watching Link getting continually mutilated by himself.
    So no, I think the time travel mechanic is just fine the way it is. :wink:

  85. LOZ_01 Tuesday 14th Jul 2009 at 18:00

    i loved this game when it first came out and i love it just as much now. playing through it again, still just as challenging as i remember.
    cant wait for spirit tracks and the new wii zelda. bring them on!! 8)

  86. Googoo12444 Monday 27th Jul 2009 at 09:56

    Hey hey hey, wait a minute I've just though of a massive flaw in this game. Here I go.
    It's ok the first time you play the 3 days, but when you go back in time shouldn't you see yourself doing the first three days again? And then when you go back for the 2nd time shouldn't you see 2 links doing whatever you did on those days? Then when you go back for the 3rd time you should see 3 links doing the different days that you done before? I'm not gonna try go any further, am I right or am I just confusing myself?

    If that theory was correct, then the whole land of Termina would eventually become a wasteland filled with an infinite swarm of Links slowly crushing and crippling each other over and over, and although the tower of Links would eventually grow high enough to support the falling moon and save all the inhabitants of Termina (Terminians?), they'd already be dead because they would have been crushed to.
    And although it would be funny at first, it would get boring (not to mention pointless and sick) watching Link getting continually mutilated by himself.


    That would be quite funny, but after a while it would get a bit boring. And you'd just want so get On with game instead of getting crushed

  87. Pockywolf Monday 3rd Aug 2009 at 11:01

    I fail to see how it being 'Less accessible than Ocarina of Time' is the games fault! It deserves at least 96%!

  88. Deku scrub Monday 17th Aug 2009 at 21:39

    i haven't played 4 a while i was ill last time i played

  89. super_billy_64 Sunday 11th Oct 2009 at 13:34

    they should make a sequel to this game...Majoras Mask 2: The Return of Skull Kid...i'd buy it!

  90. zelda-legend93 Saturday 16th Jan 2010 at 21:23

    Ahhhh...Majora's Mask. Best Legend of Zelda game there is. Got it on the Collector's Edition on Gamecube and I keep restarting over and over again. Best thing is that you could do whole dungeons again plus you were able to fight all of the bosses again rather than just the final boss. Yes, definitely an excellent game :)

  91. Amethyst Link Monday 15th Feb 2010 at 12:11

    i have the Collector's Edition version (on GameCube) but my GC doesnt like it at all, it crashes all the time, ruining the whole idea of timing ur saves. in fact ive never even managed to get far enuf to get the ocarina back, it crashes that soon. i think ill try it agen but in my Wii wen i get the chance, as im currently playing Phantasy Star Zero.

  92. skivers Monday 1st Mar 2010 at 21:27

    94% no way. 99.9% yes. the only down sides r the time limit and boss battle masks only by far the best ever zelda game shame on you 94% i'll never get over this

  93. skivers Monday 1st Mar 2010 at 21:31

    Hey hey hey, wait a minute I've just though of a massive flaw in this game. Here I go.
    It's ok the first time you play the 3 days, but when you go back in time shouldn't you see yourself doing the first three days again? And then when you go back for the 2nd time shouldn't you see 2 links doing whatever you did on those days? Then when you go back for the 3rd time you should see 3 links doing the different days that you done before? I'm not gonna try go any further, am I right or am I just confusing myself?

    If that theory was correct, then the whole land of Termina would eventually become a wasteland filled with an infinite swarm of Links slowly crushing and crippling each other over and over, and although the tower of Links would eventually grow high enough to support the falling moon and save all the inhabitants of Termina (Terminians?), they'd already be dead because they would have been crushed to.
    And although it would be funny at first, it would get boring (not to mention pointless and sick) watching Link getting continually mutilated by himself.
    So no, I think the time travel mechanic is just fine the way it is. :wink:

    the ocarina obviously exits in its own time so that would never happen thats almost as stupid as gravy storms Mmm gravy

  94. hitmonking Tuesday 13th Apr 2010 at 09:53

    fav zelda game ever :D

  95. JRush Tuesday 27th Apr 2010 at 17:09

    Well I wont buy it for I have it on N64 and I will complete it at some point ;D

  96. jct Friday 23rd Jul 2010 at 09:59

    This game is brilliant, and the song of healing that you hear in the bottom of the clock tower is beautiful.

    God I'm glad I downloaded this.

  97. Ktx8 Saturday 25th Sep 2010 at 15:10

    I have an original gold cartridge on N64 - absolutely love this game, such a classic Zelda title. Would recomend to anyone who hasn't tried it yet! I personally think it desreves a lot more than 94%...

  98. marcindapolak Thursday 8th Sep 2011 at 18:36

    i think its a fantastic game but i think oot is better

  99. Link24656 Saturday 29th Sep 2012 at 12:24

    It's such an amazing game! It is also difficult. Lots of people moan about OOT's water temple but MM's water temple is much more difficult! :D :D :D :D :D :D

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.