Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Little King's Story Review

Tiny monarch, massive adventure - the first Wii classic of the year is here

What with the likes of MadWorld, The Conduit and House Of The Dead currently spearheading something of a hardcore Wii takeover, it's easy to forget that the house of Nintendo was built not on guns 'n' gore but on cute 'n' cuddly.

Super Mario Bros, Donkey Kong, Animal Crossing, Pikmin, Kirby... there's a time and a place for more adult-orientated action, but these are the games that a true Nintendo fan holds dear above any others.

So what with the Wii taking a recent turn for the bleak and bloody, it's great to see a game like Little King's Story come along and remind us exactly why we picked Nintendo over Sega, Sony or Atari back in our formative gaming years.

Click to view larger image
Beautiful character design; charming narratives; eccentric dialogue; huge, magical worlds to explore; polished, inventive and accessible gameplay; and a hefty challenge that belies a game's cute stylings. It's rare that a game ticks all those boxes in this day and age (especially one not made by Nintendo themselves), but we're happy to report that Little King's Story has come out of nowhere and blown our socks off. A real surprise package, there's a good chance that you won't play a finer videogame this year, first party or otherwise.

King For A Day

A gorgeous, bizarre hand drawn intro sets the scene. A lonely young lad kicks around his bedroom, when a family of rats dash across his floor. He follows them out of the house and into the woods where they lead him to a golden crown hidden in the trees. He puts it on, at which point four mysterious subjects materialise and pronounce him as their long awaited king. It's here that the gameplay kicks in.

Little King's Story is essentially a clever mix of Pikmin, Animal Crossing and Command & Conquer. You start off in a modest little shack with just a handful of followers. Venture outside and toss some of your meagre citizens, Pikmin-style, into any holes in the ground that you come across and they'll dig up some treasure. Take the treasure back to your right hand man in the 'castle' and he'll convert it into cash which you can then spend on building a farmhouse. Direct a citizen inside and they'll become a farmer capable of digging at cracks in the soil, uncovering yet more bounty.

This loot can then be used to build a Guard House, where you can train your subjects up as soldiers and then lead them out into the surrounding areas to start exploring and expanding your kingdom.

As your realm expands, citizens will start dropping 'quests' into a Suggestion Box in the town square, asking you to throw out trouble makers or take on 'guardians' causing chaos in a peripheral region of your domain. To gain control of their territory you'll obviously have to give these guardians a pasting. The combat works exactly as it does in Pikmin. You toss your soldiers at your foe and let them get on with it, while you watch for signs of a counterattack, at which point you recall them and take cover.

Click to view larger image
Defeat a guardian and you'll be rewarded with more cash, which you can use to develop their turf. As you continue to expand your kingdom you'll find various geographical obstacles standing in your way. You'll have to save up enough money to construct the necessary building in which to train your subjects as carpenters (to build bridges or staircases), miners (to remove boulders) or lumberjacks (to remove tree stumps). You can also construct buildings to train new soldier types, such as archers, wizards or veteran grunts, to take on bigger, badder foes.

Previous 1 2 Next page

Comments

48 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. Ray96 Thursday 23rd Apr 2009 at 14:03

    seems good mite get it 1st ever 1st post woooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!:)

  2. kingslime Thursday 23rd Apr 2009 at 16:46

    i got it today(GAME pre-order, get in) and this game is amazing, just what wii needed. hopefully hardcore gamers can look past its cuddlely look, and enjoy it.

  3. TeddyBea Thursday 23rd Apr 2009 at 16:51

    looks like im getting this game so!!!:D:D

  4. Super_Sonic96 Thursday 23rd Apr 2009 at 17:09

    wow...my most anticipated wii game of the year and its in time for my birth day for once!

  5. schopaia Thursday 23rd Apr 2009 at 18:53

    How are people playing / reviewing this game? It is not released until late June.

  6. mario34567 Thursday 23rd Apr 2009 at 20:45

    How are people playing / reviewing this game? It is not released until late June.


    Welcome to the forum!
    And also, it is actually out tomorrow. I will buy it then.

  7. Onna76_NL Friday 24th Apr 2009 at 09:30

    How are people playing / reviewing this game? It is not released until late June.

    In America yes, in Europe, today. For a change America may wait 2 months longer for a game to release :roll:

    Got a message from DVDuk that the game has been shipped out, so hope to play it next week.

  8. schopaia Friday 24th Apr 2009 at 17:29

    in that case... are wiis region free?

  9. bazmeistergen Friday 24th Apr 2009 at 19:21

    BUY THIS GAME.

    It is brilliant. I'm an hour in and I'm totally hooked. I had to come off to post my feelings and tell everyone that they have to buy the best game out this year (so far).

    Superb.

  10. TWRoO Friday 24th Apr 2009 at 23:43

    in that case... are wiis region free?

    Nope... not unless you hacked it or something like that.

    You will have to wait, like we have to wait for most other games.

  11. Ray96 Saturday 25th Apr 2009 at 08:54

    u can get this game for 5000 stars on club nintendo

  12. Stu_the_great Saturday 25th Apr 2009 at 11:45

    This game is utterly, utterly wonderful. I'm completely hooked.

    Buy it!

  13. Teawads Saturday 25th Apr 2009 at 14:33

    i was gonna buy it but i used my stars to get it instead, as i'd never spent them on anything else

  14. Dark_Dragon01 Saturday 25th Apr 2009 at 17:17

    This game won't be called King's Story. Trust us on this.


    Wow, you guys are so trustworthy! :D
    Meanwhile, I still don't fancy this game much. I like that dragon though <3

  15. Xexix Saturday 25th Apr 2009 at 17:21

    XBOX Live Starter Kit
    Pokemon Platinum
    Call of Duty 5
    Little King's Story

    (in order of purchase)

    Jeez, I'm going to be skint by the time christmas turns up.

  16. mcs31 Saturday 25th Apr 2009 at 22:21

    Garr, its £40. Id rather get Pikmin 2...

  17. Leo91 Sunday 26th Apr 2009 at 15:56

    This game has been on my radar for a while now, but I hadn't planned on getting it yesterday. I'm so glad I did in the end.

    To be honest, I didn't really start getting into it until I'd unlocked a few options and saw how much depth this game actually had. It's a game which at first looks simple but after all the layers are perfectly layered on becomes something of a monster in terms of options (e.g. strategic positioning, precise choice in item distribution and party members etc.). The game world is huge as well, and the UMA (your foes whether they're mushrooms or chickens) will all need different strategies in order to be overcome. It's all topped off with a brilliant soundtrack made up of remixed classics, and wonderfully bizarre enemies and characters which remind you of the unrivalled creative prowess the Japanese seem to have when compared with most western developers who's only originality comes in the form of a different gun in an FPS.

    I'm 10 hours in, and I'm not even close to scratching the surface of what this game has to offer and having owned a Wii since Nintendo's launch of the console way back when, I can safely say that this is up their with the best of the lot. If you loved the strategy elements and combat system of pikmin, the quirky characters and enemies of any Zelda game, mixed with the depth and epic scale of Okami, then you're sure to enjoy what has been one of the surprise hits for me on Wii so far this year.

  18. Oxo64 Sunday 26th Apr 2009 at 17:49

    Wow, a lot of you guys are really stoked about this game. Strangly it has kinda passed me by...

    I aint much of an RTS person, (to be honest I havent played that many) but is it still worth a look or is it more for the RTS fanbase?

  19. Leo91 Sunday 26th Apr 2009 at 23:19

    Wow, a lot of you guys are really stoked about this game. Strangly it has kinda passed me by...

    I aint much of an RTS person, (to be honest I havent played that many) but is it still worth a look or is it more for the RTS fanbase?

    Whether you're a seasoned veteran in the genre, or a relative newbie (like myself) I think the enjoyment you'll get out of the game will be the same. It's got a perfectly judged learning curve which introduces you to all the basics, so I don't think any previous experience in playing this kinda game is necessary. If anything, it is its own game, so I don't think even hardcore RTS fans have experienced anything like this before...

  20. ChrisONM Monday 27th Apr 2009 at 16:31

    This game won't be called King's Story. Trust us on this.


    Wow, you guys are so trustworthy! :D


    We were right though. :D

  21. Nintendion Tuesday 28th Apr 2009 at 05:49

    Right I'm really want this game. So I either try and get 5000 stars on the Nintendo site or I get some extra money somehow :? I'll find a way don't worry XD

  22. Wii_With_Mii Tuesday 28th Apr 2009 at 21:03

    Why can't Wii (pardon the pun) have more third-party titles like this?

  23. davva Wednesday 29th Apr 2009 at 11:44

    I bought this game yesterday and have played through the "tutorial" stages, up to building the bridge, before going off to fight the Oniis.
    This is an amazing game, which i'd reccomend to anyone who is after a challenging, deep and intelligently designed game. Every moment of the game you are discovering something new. The controls are really easy to learn and allow quick precise control of the action. The graphic and audio presentation may be a bit of an acquired taste, i thought them both outstanding.
    10/10

  24. Dr. Peripheral Wednesday 29th Apr 2009 at 15:47

    ...including a terrifying evangelising monkey-priest who worships ramen noodles...

    ...giant snails, killer toadstools, flying cows, psychotic sheep, cake-addicted aristocrats, fire breathing dragons, murderous turnips, pac-men on pogo sticks, obese cockerels, ravenous toads...

    ...Pancho the barking cow...

    Can't wait for this to arrive. :wink:

  25. Deepdale1881 Thursday 30th Apr 2009 at 08:02

    Garr, its £40.

    £24.99 from Blockbuster (brand new). I wasn't really interested in this game at first but it's attracting rave reviews from everyone so starting to be tempted...

  26. super_chris Thursday 30th Apr 2009 at 09:15

    Do want this game.

    If it wasn't for the huge amount of games I recently ordered I would go out and buy it now.

    I'll probably get it after my exams.

  27. Dark_Dragon01 Thursday 30th Apr 2009 at 18:09

    This game won't be called King's Story. Trust us on this.


    Wow, you guys are so trustworthy! :D


    We were right though. :D

    Well, to be fair, all they did was add a Little on the front :3
    Well, if I see it cheap, I'll get it, but I have stuff I'd rather buy. Like Super Metroid.

  28. westiemad63 Saturday 30th May 2009 at 17:10

    Best...Game...Ever!!!
    Got this today for the bargain of £22.99 from Sainsbury's!
    I was just getting into it but then I got distracted by the totally awesomeness that is Britains Got Talent! Great game though! Deffo best game of the year (so far)!

  29. davva Wednesday 17th Jun 2009 at 12:18

    I completed the main story yesterday, although i will go back to the game to finish more of the sidequests.

    A Great game from start to finish (although the end made me feel a little sad cos of the near destruction of my little world, and that it's a one-way trip).

    In-game clock reached just over 56 hours, every moment was packed full of interest and discovery. Time recorded doesn't include several restarts; some of the bosses were really hard, e.g. the Shishkebaboo encounter, and then the ascent of Sobamanjaro (i found this the hardest part of the game) which drove me mad for a while, especially because i missed the sign showing the route through the cave maze area, on my first couple of attempts!

    One of my favourite games of all time. Highly recommended!

  30. tom98321 Wednesday 29th Jul 2009 at 10:25

    This game looks awesome, it looks quite similar to FFCC:My Life As King and I enjoyed that alot. I'm definitely gonna buy it.

  31. FriarLawrenceIII Wednesday 5th Aug 2009 at 22:26

    Did they pay you to put the review back up?

  32. Buffoonary Thursday 6th Aug 2009 at 09:00

    Why is the review back up?

  33. laura-x Thursday 6th Aug 2009 at 19:05

    I'll be buying this soon :) Looks really good :D

  34. ChrisONM Thursday 6th Aug 2009 at 19:41

    Did they pay you to put the review back up?


    Yes, because every time we do something it's because we've been paid to do it. :roll:

  35. remagpie93 Friday 7th Aug 2009 at 14:42

    "You may do all the work but God must take the credit! RAMEN!"

  36. FriarLawrenceIII Friday 7th Aug 2009 at 18:21

    Did they pay you to put the review back up?


    Yes, because every time we do something it's because we've been paid to do it. :roll:

    Thats the only reason i can think of. It's not like it's only just come out, and it's not as if it hasn't undersold (not on the extent of okami, which was rated higher and never got reposted) Was it just an accident? If so, why hasn't it been rectified?

  37. YAYFORNINTENDO Saturday 8th Aug 2009 at 06:12

    I can't kill the king with the long beard, If I lose 3 men I quit and try again, I hate losing them they are real people to me :cry:

  38. Markusmaximus Sunday 9th Aug 2009 at 10:25

    I got LKS the other day for £25 which is a bargin in my books, my only complaints is the brightness of the graphics and how your royal guard get stuck on the sides of stairs and ramps, but other than that I think its great

  39. RedInker Sunday 9th Aug 2009 at 17:21

    Awesome game! Very enjoyable and the boss battles were brilliantly designed. Buy it now!

  40. ChrisONM Monday 10th Aug 2009 at 11:01

    Did they pay you to put the review back up?


    Yes, because every time we do something it's because we've been paid to do it. :roll:

    Thats the only reason i can think of. It's not like it's only just come out, and it's not as if it hasn't undersold (not on the extent of okami, which was rated higher and never got reposted) Was it just an accident? If so, why hasn't it been rectified?


    We get a lot of readers from all over the world on our website. Although Little King's Story has been out here for a while, it's only just come out in the US. We noticed a lot of American visitors were coming here looking for the LKS review so put it at the top for a while to let them find it easier.

    No conspiracy, no money in the back pocket. :D

  41. Wyld_stallyon Monday 10th Aug 2009 at 13:48

    I got this for my birthday a week ago, and I've been playing non-stop since then. By yeasterday I was pretty confident that I was making really good progress, and that I'd just kill off a couple of Kings and the world would be mine, that's when I looked at the map and noticed a little label reading "World United: 18%". Which made me realise, this game is HUGE. Gargantuan in fact, seeing as all the charactors have a name and personality, there must be houndreds of areas, they even fitted side quests on top of this. How on earth this fitted onto a wii disk is beyond me, but I'm oh so gratefull it does.

  42. NinetailedFox Monday 17th Aug 2009 at 14:27

    I like Animal Crossing type games and all, but it does get tedious after a while. This game seems like something I'd get bored of easily. I might buy it for the heck of it, but I'm not sure! I still need to buy the new Animal Crossing, Zelda: Twilight Princess, Super Mario Galaxy...I'm missing out on some really great games! All I have for the Wii at the moment is Guitar Hero: World Tour, MySims, Wii fit and Wii sports. Such a collection I have, right? :cry:

  43. metroid fan Monday 24th Aug 2009 at 01:16

    just got this game and I am completly hooked, this game is brilliant and would deffinetly reccomend this to any gamer.

    this is to me one of the best games to hit the wii and I'm only around 9 hours into the game and I'm completly blown away by it, I wasn't really sure about the game before I bought it but I'm glad I picked it up and only for £20 what a bargain. :D

  44. layton lover Saturday 31st Oct 2009 at 20:45

    This is a classy little game actually.

    I struggle to get addicted to life sims but Little Kings story has done it.

    It's really good.

  45. lilbutter13 Saturday 2nd Jan 2010 at 19:55

    I got this for ten euro in the sales in xtra vision! Best tenner Ive ever spent!! Hooked! :D

  46. Erdogan44 Wednesday 7th Apr 2010 at 16:43

    Got it got £9 from Indigostarfish.

    I love this!

  47. ale96gamer Saturday 17th Apr 2010 at 11:39

    Real shame they've gone bust :(... got this for a tenner yesterday, still one of the best wii games

  48. boofan25 Friday 15th Apr 2011 at 14:46

    LOl at how this is so much like pikmin but in a good way its not

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.