Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Rhythm Paradise Review

And you thought WarioWare was weird...

When Nintendo released Rhythm Tengoku Gold in Japan last year we didn't really give it much coverage. After all, we thought we knew what was going to happen. We'd play it, fall in love with it and gush about it in ONM, then everyone would get annoyed when it was ultimately never released in the UK. So imagine our surprise when Nintendo announced that it would indeed be coming out here, under the name Rhythm Paradise.

To be fair, you only need to take a look at the game to realise why we thought it'd stay in Japan. It's crazier than a gang of chipmunks pouring jam into a bag of spanners. What other game has jailbird storks pecking the ground, synchronised swimmers dancing with dolphins, a man who constantly swallows coloured ping pong balls and scientists shaking test tubes to release 'love' which then floats into a big box? Don't fret, we'll save you the thinking time - the answer is "none".

Click to view larger image
Thankfully, Rhythm Paradise is more than just a collection of weird mini-games, it's actually great fun too. It was developed by Nintendo R&D1, the team behind the WarioWare games, and it's pretty clear to see that series' influence here. While WarioWare sees you completing numerous 'micro-games' one after the other, Rhythm Paradise instead gives more focus to individual games, with each one lasting a couple of minutes.

Heavenly Features

These games aren't played like regular mini-games though. As the title suggests, it's all about the rhythm. Each game has its own song which plays in the background and in order to play each mini-game successfully you have to perform the required actions to the beat.

So you can work out exactly how much oil you have to use to fill a robot (as you do) by counting "one, two, three, four" to the beat and letting go at the right time, and can take photos of really fast sports cars driving past (which would otherwise be impossible) by snapping the camera to the beat of the music.

It's a really clever idea and one that's helped by the fact that all the songs are of the toe-tapping 'catchier than the flu' variety. You'll gladly play a game over and over to try for a perfect score simply because you'll really want to listen to a certain song again.

We do have concerns about the game's lifespan though. While there are 50 mini-games to choose from, if you have a good sense of rhythm you're likely to perfect them all within around six or seven hours. And as enjoyable as it is, once you've earned a 'perfect' rating for a song you're unlikely to play it again. Since there are no scores as such (either you've passed a game, passed it with a gold award or perfected it), there's no incentive to play them again and try to better your previous attempt.

Click to view larger image
Yes, there are a collection of unlockable high-score based games but these are so easy they pale in comparison to WarioWare's unlockable offerings like Pyoro and Dr Wario. They're fun, but they're so easy it's likely you'll actually get bored before you fail one of them for the first time. They're a nice addition but are really a case of style over substance.

There's also no multiplayer option either, which is a real missed opportunity. Craziness is always better when you're experiencing it with a mate, and without the ability to do that, Rhythm Paradise can sometimes feel like you're laughing at a joke that nobody else heard.

Still, that shouldn't put you off the game as a whole. Rhythm Paradise is the sort of title that you really do have to play. It's packed to the brim with bizarre Japanese charm and it's put together with the sort of expert production values you'd expect from a first-party, Nintendo-developed title. Every mini-game is fun to play, the music will have you humming away for days at a time and the whole thing's just so pleasingly absurd that it'll paint a big smile on your face for the duration of your gameplay session. It's just a shame it's all over so quickly.

Comments

26 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. GamerKid Thursday 30th Apr 2009 at 11:44

    i plyed the demo it was bad

  2. fisher2007 Thursday 30th Apr 2009 at 14:13

    i played the demo it was rubbish. :evil:

  3. Gavin Rozee Thursday 30th Apr 2009 at 14:17

    I played the demo, it was awesome. Ordered it online straight away. Came in the post yesterday (Wednesday). It's great.

  4. super_chris Thursday 30th Apr 2009 at 14:20

    I'll get me a copy on Saturday when I go into town. I'm looking forward to it.

  5. Tom266 Thursday 30th Apr 2009 at 17:51

    It's good but hard!

  6. -mohsi- Thursday 30th Apr 2009 at 18:27

    Tbh, I think the game is much longer AND harder than this review states. Do not mistake it for an easy, kiddy game. It is very good, though with catchy songs.

  7. madyoshi Friday 1st May 2009 at 16:31

    wow this looks cool if its half as good as warioware is then it should be awesome

  8. adamwalker222 Friday 1st May 2009 at 19:21

    Looks like an absolutely great game. Looks like a must have game for my DS collection, I will definitely be getting this, and I probably won't even be that bothered about it being short, it will still probably keep me entertained for hours.

  9. irishjedi Friday 1st May 2009 at 20:30

    played the demo and it was ok and I knew there would be people in the family who would love it so got it today with some cash of due to GAME points and trading in the odd game and some of the games are quite catchy.

  10. Gavin Rozee Saturday 2nd May 2009 at 04:21

    Thanks for making my comment a featured one :)

    This game shouldn't be labelled as Touch Generations really, but I guess the base gameplay is pretty simple.

    The Moai de Woop thing game is so hard to get "Superb" on!

  11. SteveMega Sunday 3rd May 2009 at 23:24

    Looks like an Ouendan rip off in concept... No thanks.

  12. Gavin Rozee Monday 4th May 2009 at 04:07

    Looks like an Ouendan rip off in concept... No thanks.

    It's more like WarioWare, but with an emphasis on keeping to a beat.

  13. The Arbiter Tuesday 5th May 2009 at 14:37

    Absolutely amazing game, albeit a little harder than said here in the review! I love the catchy tunes in this game, and my favourite minigames so far are definetely DJ School, Love Lab and Built to Scale. Rhythm Rally gets on my nerves though - I just can't score a perfect no matter how hard I try! >:[

  14. westiemad63 Tuesday 5th May 2009 at 19:28

    Just got it! Not very far in :? How much gameplay does it have :?:

  15. triforce-manc Thursday 7th May 2009 at 14:15

    For a game to play every now and again its good, the music is so catchy. Love the table tennis

  16. wiikii007 Sunday 10th May 2009 at 14:02

    This game is great fun :) .

  17. davva Thursday 14th May 2009 at 11:40

    6 hours to complete the game! My touch screen must be broken or something; I found this game really tough and struggled for about an hour and a half to complete the first set of 5 levels, then the table tennis game came up and now I'm stuck. The flick manouvre doesn't seem to register all the time (and nearly every task (so far) requires this). I must be doing something wrong, but the instructions tell you little and i found the advice at the end e.g. try harder, completely useless, and then the lack of a proper score makes it hard to know how close you are to progressing. Some other reviews have mentioned the excessive difficulty of the game, so maybe my ds isn't broken!
    Anyway, i've given up with this and will get back to Little Kings Story over the w/end, saved game up to 40 hours now, best Wii game ever!

  18. wiikii007 Friday 15th May 2009 at 21:39

    :?

    6 hours to complete the game! My touch screen must be broken or something; I found this game really tough and struggled for about an hour and a half to complete the first set of 5 levels, then the table tennis game came up and now I'm stuck. The flick manouvre doesn't seem to register all the time (and nearly every task (so far) requires this). I must be doing something wrong, but the instructions tell you little and i found the advice at the end e.g. try harder, completely useless, and then the lack of a proper score makes it hard to know how close you are to progressing. Some other reviews have mentioned the excessive difficulty of the game, so maybe my ds isn't broken!
    Anyway, i've given up with this and will get back to Little Kings Story over the w/end, saved game up to 40 hours now, best Wii game ever!

    It is either your touch screen or your sence of rythm...An hour and a half to do the first five? It took me about 10minuits. There must be something your either doing wrong or you need a new DS or something .

  19. Tailzy Tuesday 19th May 2009 at 16:19

    Im enjoying it at the moment. Not something ive really hyped over but its fun, and gaining medals can be quite the challenge. :]

    Love lab and Karate dude are my favorite minigames.

  20. frostykins Tuesday 19th May 2009 at 18:24

    the song from "built to scale" is so cathchy but the club one is so hard hopefully i will get this when i get my DSi :)

  21. master sword Monday 1st Jun 2009 at 11:52

    played the demo, it was quite fun,

  22. Shadowphantom Sunday 26th Jul 2009 at 09:05

    Picked this up at ASDA for 22.79 on Friday, really good game, it's ruining my touch screen though xD

  23. Jennypen Wednesday 29th Jul 2009 at 20:46

    Rhythm Paradise. Goodness golly. I know I'm WAY behind in posting this but I only just joined the forum so give me a little credit.

    I found it brilliant. I've always loved rhythm games, going right back to Parappa the Rapper and Gitaroo Man, up to the day I cried when I read first about Guitar Hero being made. Rhythm Paradise seemed perfect, so I got it very soon after it came out. About two weeks or so later, here is how it was (and has stayed):

    All 50 main levels complete
    45 levels with Supreme
    20 levels with Perfect (obv, these are in the 45 Supreme too).
    Most of the sidebits completed.

    I too got it in Asda for £22.79 - isn't Asda nuts for games?!

    I have to say, the music is brilliant, and at the end of the day, the thing I love the best is the remixes, especially the end ones.

    Also, obviously, news about DJ Hero is coming out day by day - we've got DJ Shadow, DJ Jazzy Jeff, Grandmaster Flash... but where is DJ Yellow!? They need a bit of Scratch-o, HEY!

  24. dreadzrus Sunday 11th Oct 2009 at 12:49

    This game deserves more than 82 percent for many reasons that i can't think of.

  25. spacemen13 Thursday 10th May 2012 at 14:53

    Ordered this after I played the brilliant "built to scale" demo. The songs is stuck in my head.
    Can't wait for it to come and it was only a couple of pounds.

  26. spacemen13 Tuesday 15th May 2012 at 18:36

    This game is SOLID!!!! I have skipped countless levels. But it is great when you get the hang of a Mini-game and it has a lovely artstyle.

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.