Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Swords & Soldiers Review

The first essential WiiWare game of the year...

OK, here's the off-putting bit: this is a side-scrolling real-time strategy game. What an ugly term. But that couldn't be a greater contrast to what this actually is - namely, a colourful, vibrant and frankly brilliant console strategy title. With ninja monkeys.

Each level is presented with your base off to the left and waves of enemy attacks coming at you form the right. What follows is in intricate game of resource management as you first build up your own forces, defend your base and then attack the enemy faction on the other side of the 2D map.

There are three factions to choose from, each with ten missions - that's 30 missions in a download game with high production values. Great stuff. They're varied too. You'll be tasked with eradicating the enemy with only limited forces, or overrunning enemy lookout towers. It's all very streamlined, making for a punchy fast-paced experience.

Click to view larger image
It works a treat. Using the Wii Remote you point at the desired units and shuttle them around the map with no fumbling at all. It certainly makes you wonder why there are more strategy titles on the Wii, given the mixed success of those on other consoles. Many levels branch off, asking you to decide between an easier route to success or more forces with the benefit of a greater stash of goodies.

It's no beard-scratcher, that sort of stuff is best left on PCs. But this is without doubt one of the best downloadable titles on the Wii, and definitely the best strategy. And it's got ninja monkeys in: get it.

Comments

18 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. YAYFORNINTENDO Tuesday 19th May 2009 at 14:49

    Looks pretty good, but my money is going towards Punch Out.

  2. Gavin Rozee Tuesday 19th May 2009 at 14:53

    It's a cool little game. Hardly essential, but fun.

    I'd say 80-something-% would be more appropriate, but opinions are opinions afterall.

  3. Flash7 Tuesday 19th May 2009 at 16:04

    This looks really fun actually. I have some spare points so I might take a look. :)

  4. Golden Knight Tuesday 19th May 2009 at 16:25

    Good review, well written, but ONM should say someway on the page or in the reivew: how much the game costs. Money wise and points wise. :)

  5. mraellis Tuesday 19th May 2009 at 16:43

    Good review, well written, but ONM should say someway on the page or in the reivew: how much the game costs. Money wise and points wise. :)

    800 points and its more then worth it.


    ONM: It certainly makes you wonder why there are more strategy titles on the Wii, given the mixed success of those on other consoles.

    Are you sure you meant "are"?

  6. SuperPaperWario Tuesday 19th May 2009 at 19:34

    Good review, well written, but ONM should say someway on the page or in the reivew: how much the game costs. Money wise and points wise. :)

    800 points and its more then worth it.


    ONM: It certainly makes you wonder why there are more strategy titles on the Wii, given the mixed success of those on other consoles.

    Are you sure you meant "are"?

    I believe its 1000 points actually and yes it is worth it.

  7. lfcwaluigi1 Tuesday 19th May 2009 at 20:18

    looks great and sounds it too, im really liking the romino guys style, this and de blob have beautiful designs and ideas.

  8. LEGEND MARIOID Tuesday 19th May 2009 at 20:50

    This has been one of the most keenly anticipated games on wiiware and it would seem for good reason. Reputeable reviewers like this one are all in agreement that this is an around 90% , 9/10 type game. I hope ppl support this game by downloading it. Didn't these clever guys make the brilliant De Blob too?

    Its only 1000points isn't it? Which would have been taken into account in the review (ie. great value for money).

    Real time strategy games are not my thing, but I acknowledge its quality.

  9. Gavin Rozee Tuesday 19th May 2009 at 21:37

    This has been one of the most keenly anticipated games on wiiware and it would seem for good reason. Reputeable reviewers like this one are all in agreement that this is an around 90% , 9/10 type game. I hope ppl support this game by downloading it. Didn't these clever guys make the brilliant De Blob too?

    Its only 1000points isn't it? Which would have been taken into account in the review (ie. great value for money).

    Real time strategy games are not my thing, but I acknowledge its quality.

    Price - 1000 points/Roughly Ł7
    Size - 140 Blocks.

    Developer - Ronimo, creators of "The Blob", which THQ bought the rights to, and Blue Tongue then developed "De Blob" for Wii.

  10. dizzy boy Tuesday 19th May 2009 at 22:08

    the top line makes me laugh, "the first essential wiiware game of the year"
    well, 5 and half months into the year and we`re getting one wiiware game that`s considerd to be worth the download.
    just goes to show how little time and effort that other developers must be putting in to their games.
    i would have thought that after the first couple of months of the wiiware service being available, maybe things would be on an upward path of constant good releases, especially as games like world of goo, dr mario and onslaught are all held in high regard.
    for those who think that there are plenty of wiiware titles that are worth downloading, count up how many games are available, then count up how many games that are actualy good, then you`ll be left realising how much garbage is actually on there.

  11. 13th Nightmare Wednesday 20th May 2009 at 08:57

    I downloaded it as soon as I saw it. And I have to admit, its a fun game to play. The Viking campaign has probably got one of the weirdest storylines I have ever seen. The only prob I got with it is that there isn't much depth to the strategy side of the game, but it hasn't stopped me enjoying it

  12. SimonONM Wednesday 20th May 2009 at 10:46

    This has been one of the most keenly anticipated games on wiiware and it would seem for good reason. Reputeable reviewers like this one are all in agreement that this is an around 90% , 9/10 type game. I hope ppl support this game by downloading it. Didn't these clever guys make the brilliant De Blob too?

    Its only 1000points isn't it? Which would have been taken into account in the review (ie. great value for money).

    Real time strategy games are not my thing, but I acknowledge its quality.

    Price - 1000 points/Roughly Ł7
    Size - 140 Blocks.

    Developer - Ronimo, creators of "The Blob", which THQ bought the rights to, and Blue Tongue then developed "De Blob" for Wii.

    Yep, spot on - it's 1000 Points. Sorry about missing that out!

  13. Gordon Ramsey Wednesday 20th May 2009 at 13:04

    91%!!!

    If that's valid, I'm definetely in need of this Wiiware gem!

  14. Jman_Vere Monday 25th May 2009 at 21:57

    the top line makes me laugh, "the first essential wiiware game of the year"
    well, 5 and half months into the year and we`re getting one wiiware game that`s considerd to be worth the download.
    just goes to show how little time and effort that other developers must be putting in to their games.
    i would have thought that after the first couple of months of the wiiware service being available, maybe things would be on an upward path of constant good releases, especially as games like world of goo, dr mario and onslaught are all held in high regard.
    for those who think that there are plenty of wiiware titles that are worth downloading, count up how many games are available, then count up how many games that are actualy good, then you`ll be left realising how much garbage is actually on there.

    The word 'essential' doesn't mean worth getting, it means you have to have it. there are lots of games on WiiWare that are worth getting, and who's to say that their won't be any more this year?

  15. super_chris Monday 25th May 2009 at 22:00

    Did you know Mark Bozon from IGN calls this game S words and soldiers.

    Just a fun fact for y'all.

  16. paperluigi Sunday 31st May 2009 at 11:26

    Bought the game. Its worthy of 91% but I agree its not the deepest stratergy game but pretty darn hard

  17. Nelsonator15 Thursday 3rd Sep 2009 at 20:23

    I downloaded this game a couple of days ago and was having fun playing the Viking campaign...until Level 8.

    It was just impossible for me. I ended up either getting stuck near the last laser totem pole thing, or being pushed back and coming back over and over again. :x I tried every ability I had but I couldn't work anything out.

    If anyone knows a strategy for this level that works, please tell me because I won't be bothered to play this game again until I know. But at least it's got humour and a nice look to it...

    P.S. I also wouldn't want to just skip it and go to the next campaign. It just doesn't feel right, ya know? :P

  18. Nelsonator15 Friday 4th Sep 2009 at 08:40

    Ok neeeeever mind, I managed to beat Level 8 after coming back to it. I just decided to get loads of axethrowers and frosthammers (and a couple of catapults) and use rage a lot. And it actually worked!

    So this game is now back to being awesome! And I'm not even a third of the way through.:D

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.