Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Pokémon Platinum Review

It's Pokémon Diamond/Pearl: The Director's Cut

If you're a long-time Pokémon fan, this review will be nothing new to you at all, and won't come as a surprise to you in the slightest. You see, you'll know we've been down this route before. For every generation of the Pokémon series there have always been two games released, then a sort of extended special edition released a bit further down the line to keep fans busy as they wait for the next generation (or, if you're the cynical sort, to milk them for more of their cash).

And so, once again, Pokémon is back in another re-jigged version. Basically, if Diamond and Pearl can be considered in the series as Pokémon 4, then Platinum is Pokémon 4.5. It's effectively exactly the same game but with some extra features added on to make it more interesting.

Click to view larger image

More From Your 'Mon

So what exactly is new here? Well, for starters there have been a few changes added to the storyline. There's a new subplot involving Mt Coronet and Giratina, including a brand new area called the "Distortion World" (more about that later though). There are a few new characters who pop up every now and then, and the storyline with Team Galactic has been fleshed out a bit.

It's not enough to completely change the game, it's just some extra stuff to add a bit more oomph to the storyline and to make things a little bit more interesting for anyone who's already put countless hours into playing the original Diamond and Pearl. It's rather like those 'extreme version' DVDs you get of teen comedy movies in HMV, only here you're finding out more about Cyrus instead of getting 12 extra seconds' worth of naughty women's bits.

Other than the extra subplots, the main adventure itself is pretty much unchanged. The order of the gyms has been messed around a bit to make things interesting but other than that there's not much to do here that you didn't do if you played Diamond and Pearl, at least not until you get near the end. It's just before you reach the last gym that you come across the main new storyline involving Mt Coronet.

There's something funny going on at the summit of the mountain which has made Sinnoh noticeably colder as a result. What is it? We're not telling you, but it does lead to one of the most notable additions to Platinum - the Distortion World.

A Whole New World

This new area is certainly visually impressive. It's full of weird physics-bending shenanigans like walking on walls, surfing up waterfalls and it makes for a pleasantly different Pokémon experience. Playing it can be a bit awkward at first because although the game's graphics have technically been 3D since Diamond and Pearl the gameplay has still been 2D at heart, and as a result this fully 3D stage can be a bit fiddly to navigate. Still, just the simple fact that it's something vastly different to what we're used to in a Pokémon game makes it a nice addition nonetheless and it feels like there has been some effort put into this release after all, because, to be honest, up until that point you might have doubted it.

Click to view larger image
Thankfully the additions continue after you complete the main adventure and realise there's more to do. For starters there's the Battle Zone - a big island off Sinnoh where the Battle Frontier can be found. The Battle Frontier replaces the Battle Park from Diamond and Pearl, and contains five different facilities (the Battle Tower from Diamond and Pearl and four others).

As in the Battle Frontier in Pokémon Emerald, you have to visit a number of different facilities and defeat the Frontier Brains who rule each one. Each facility has its own unique set of battle rules which make battling a real challenge. For example, one of them makes each trainer spin a roulette wheel before each battle, which randomly changes your Pokémon's status.

Previous 1 2 Next page

Comments

62 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. DeadlyCreature Thursday 21st May 2009 at 14:18

    I dont think there is enough there to warrant its purchase after playing Diamond. Catching them all again is too much of a chore with little reward, I think.

  2. Eternal Darkness Thursday 21st May 2009 at 15:01

    I see you got it correct here, in the mag you said "It's Pokémon Diamond and Sliver: The Director's Cut".

    Anyway, well it'll take ages to complete so it's better, the added content makes this a better game.

    I sounded like a nerd when I said today to my friend, "I PREORDERED IT!"

  3. Ai64 Thursday 21st May 2009 at 15:22

    Sure it's the same game (well almost) but it sure does looks addictive. I'am getting this tommorow.

  4. ocarinaoftime12 Thursday 21st May 2009 at 15:25

    so basically anyone who already owns diamond/pearl should not buy it, a real shame I would of hoped for them to do something different for a change to justify Ł30

  5. Matt140 Thursday 21st May 2009 at 16:04

    I also pre-ordered the game, and it arrived today (got the figure yesterday :D), but, even though I've just started playing, it's good to be back in the pokemon world following the storyline again. Even if you have purchased d/p, the plot-twists in this game are well worth it :D. Plus, new events such as the secret key have been added (plus a special one that ties in with Arceus!).

    In my opinion, I'd by it (and i've got diamond) :wink: .

  6. funmaker11 Thursday 21st May 2009 at 16:05

    so basically anyone who already owns diamond/pearl should not buy it, a real shame I would of hoped for them to do something different for a change to justify Ł30


    Not exactly that people should not buy it.

    Personally, I will not buy it because I'm happy with Diamond but I haven't played it for ages so getting Platinum can be a good choice for me.

  7. Xena Thursday 21st May 2009 at 17:07

    I thought this game was worth Ł30 and I was right to. Now having played this game to the end, it has made me start on Diamond. Which I am now playing through at current so once I get a good strong team on Diamond it can then be traded over to my platinum furthering my team on there. Overall I think its a top notch game, lasts a while with a good amount of stuff of do. It anyone has swayed from the rpg games since the red, blue, yellow etc, back in the good old days, this game will with out a doubt get you back into the series. If it don't then you can allways sell it or trade it in. I think the above review is a good one, which really weighs up both the pros and cons of the game. Like ONM have said if you allready own Diamond/Pearl then this game isnt really a neccisity as it offers only slight improvments and added content. If you do decide to play through it though, I can't see you being let down.

    :D

  8. YAYFORNINTENDO Thursday 21st May 2009 at 17:31

    I didn't like Pearl, I thought it was boring, so i'm giving this a nono♭ŁĽĽ

  9. VaatiKaiba Thursday 21st May 2009 at 17:31

    I'm getting it, love Pokemon, and have been looking forward to it for ages. Slightly concerned that there's been no sign of either the Rotom or Regigigas (to catch the 3 Regis natively in Sinnoh) events that the rest of the world have had - have those areas just been left open in the PAL version? Or have we been blocked from them?

  10. Wii_With_Mii Thursday 21st May 2009 at 18:05

    Why are we giving all thise attention to a lazy copy of an average game? Why don't other, more deserving games which have love and effort put into them, like Big Bang Mini?

  11. zelda08 Thursday 21st May 2009 at 18:31

    i havnt played a pokemon game in years but smash bros got me hooked again :D Im buying it on saturday :P

  12. IAMnoob Thursday 21st May 2009 at 19:26

    Ive played diamond to death and im just bored of it now!
    ill wait till hg/ss

  13. stuartw099 Thursday 21st May 2009 at 19:50

    Gettinh this tomorrow i played diamond but i'm still getting this and im excited

  14. VaatiKaiba Thursday 21st May 2009 at 20:15

    Also, perhaps I haven't noticed it before ... is it normal for regular DS games to be given the DSi label at the top of the page?

  15. Kirby8 Thursday 21st May 2009 at 20:29

    I also pre-ordered the game, and it arrived today (got the figure yesterday :D), but, even though I've just started playing, it's good to be back in the pokemon world following the storyline again. Even if you have purchased d/p, the plot-twists in this game are well worth it :D. Plus, new events such as the secret key have been added (plus a special one that ties in with Arceus!).

    In my opinion, I'd by it (and i've got diamond) :wink: .

    Same here!! I got the figure on Wednesday and the game today. Now I have to wait two weeks for my AS exams to be over :cry: . Then I can play! :D

  16. catscan93 Thursday 21st May 2009 at 20:59

    I also pre-ordered the game, and it arrived today (got the figure yesterday :D), but, even though I've just started playing, it's good to be back in the pokemon world following the storyline again. Even if you have purchased d/p, the plot-twists in this game are well worth it :D. Plus, new events such as the secret key have been added (plus a special one that ties in with Arceus!).

    In my opinion, I'd by it (and i've got diamond) :wink: .

    Same here!! I got the figure on Wednesday and the game today. Now I have to wait two weeks for my AS exams to be over :cry: . Then I can play! :D

    OMG same, i got the figure on wednesday and it arrived tonight

    havent played a pokemon game in ages and its great :P
    Its good as I can do revising for end of year exams and do a few minutes on it inbetween topics

  17. lol95 Thursday 21st May 2009 at 21:01

    I'm getting it tommorow *fingers crossed* I just need Royal Mail to be speedy. As someone above me stated I am also concerned about the Rotom event not even being hinted, and the official U.K website for the game hasn't updated in a while. :?

  18. Matt140 Thursday 21st May 2009 at 21:07

    We'll probably/hopefully see some activity on the website tommorrow.

  19. Lukeo10 Friday 22nd May 2009 at 06:33

    It's the same, only niftier, no way will I buy a poke game the same or a remake, new pokes please

  20. sivlock Friday 22nd May 2009 at 09:56

    I saw an advert for this yesterday looks impressive! I had diamond played it for ages couldn't get one of these lil weiners that appears randomly though lol!

  21. Poke-J Friday 22nd May 2009 at 10:19

    It's definitely worth it when you get it on a flashcart.

  22. zackfair22 Friday 22nd May 2009 at 10:57

    http://www.serebii.net/platinum/changes.shtml

    Read it ONM.

    Also, ala D/P, you completely ignored any and all changes to the metagame.

    Its definitely better than PH and NSMB, so why didn't it get a bigger score? I'll tell you why, because ONM is biased in favour of first party Nintendo games.

  23. Pieisgreat Friday 22nd May 2009 at 11:53

    Got this yesterday. After maxing out my playtime on Pearl, I'm willing to waste my life on this, too :D

  24. The Toad Friday 22nd May 2009 at 13:05

    dont know if i should put htis here but will the game work with the dsi wap thing lol im a noob when it comes to this sort of stuff

  25. darkandy666 Friday 22nd May 2009 at 15:54

    i wqould have this game now but no game have to charge 32 not 230 and i had no change on me!! :x

  26. darkandy666 Friday 22nd May 2009 at 15:54

    i wqould have this game now but no game have to charge 32 not 230 and i had no change on me!! :x

  27. darkandy666 Friday 22nd May 2009 at 15:54

    i wqould have this game now but no game have to charge 32 not 230 and i had no change on me!! :x

  28. Hugh_Ryan Friday 22nd May 2009 at 21:10

    The game is out!! I am so looking forward to playing over half-term!!

  29. enemyofsauron Friday 22nd May 2009 at 21:19

    Got it today, traded in 3 average ds games and got it for 99p from gamestation, Bargain!

    Never played one since Blue all those years ago so looking forward to it.

  30. Ai64 Friday 22nd May 2009 at 21:43

    I got it! *super metroid item fanfare* This still looks cool. Can't wait to capture giratina.

  31. Wii_With_Mii Saturday 23rd May 2009 at 16:47

    http://www.serebii.net/platinum/changes.shtml

    Read it ONM.

    Also, ala D/P, you completely ignored any and all changes to the metagame.

    Its definitely better than PH and NSMB, so why didn't it get a bigger score? I'll tell you why, because ONM is biased in favour of first party Nintendo games.

    1. Diamond and Pearl wasn't that great anyway, and certainly not as good as PH.

    2. These changes are all very small, and they dont really justify spending Ł30 on something that is an update.

    Ahem! If they were biased, would they really rank Resident Evil 4 above what is possibly the best Zelda game to date?

  32. nintendood Saturday 23rd May 2009 at 21:50

    Nintendo sure knows how to make money...it's virtually the same game with a different name tacked on, yet people still get all hyped up about it... i hardly had any reason to buy pearl when it came out because it was so similar to all the previous games, and quite how people could justify buying this is beyond me. I used to love pokemon games, but nintendo is getting really lazy. Pokemon needs a reboot! I don't like being negative, buy it's appalling how nintendo is such a money grabber.

  33. Dan663 Sunday 24th May 2009 at 11:10

    something i think they should have added to this would be online battles WITHOUT friend codes, oh well, hope they do it for heart gold and soul silver!!

  34. SonicBoom Sunday 24th May 2009 at 22:57

    i Got this for 24 quid, i was very hapy, i've onyl got up to the team galactic windmill part, but thats because i'm always on the Battle Recorder Wifi section to see peoples battles and the new wifi lobby. its so addictive, i'm enjoying it already. also the new animations and Pokemon sprites, the new character design and the new design of the Poketch, give it a strange feeling it is seperate from diamond and pearl, you dont think about the other games whilst playing this one, comes to show that any pokemon game is addictive and shows that only the smallest improvements can make a good game better. Now i just need to get to the Battle Frontier :evil:

  35. SuperMario13 Monday 25th May 2009 at 07:19

    I was extremely pleased when i got this game in HMV. After trading in my Pokemon Pearl there I manged to get Pokemon Platinum for just Ł6.99!! I thought this was an amazing price to pay for an amazing game! 8)

  36. ReTr0KaBuKiPaNDa Monday 25th May 2009 at 14:33

    I'm Not At All Happy with the scoring of this game :x
    Diamond & Pearl both got 92%- I haven't got the game but i've been watching details on Serebii for ages.
    This game has soo much more included than this website has shown; Battle Frontier, New Sprites, Rematchable Gym Leaders, More catchable Legendaries, Move Tutors', More Catchable Pokemon, a ton of new Wifi things, Distortion World, New characters, Different story & so much more- and yet you giving this game the same scoring as it's predessors, which i think is appauling; i've noticed the same thing happening with Final Fantasy games Final Fantasy 3, Revenant Wings and 4 all have the same mark...Sort it out!! :roll:

  37. Xexix Monday 25th May 2009 at 17:45

    From a Competitive point of view, this is a must buy for me. I record and narrate battles but it can be a little awkward to do when you're trying hard not to nudge the cam, so the Battle Recorder sorts that out for me. The new WiFi is brilliant and the new Battle Frontier looks fantastic. Plus, I really want Shaymin Sky and Rotom Washing Machine (I'm gonna call it "IuseCALGON"). The Move Tutors will make getting Ice/Fire/Thunderpunch and loads of other great moves much easier.

    I'm getting it just before I go to France with my Dad so I'll have lots to do on the Ferry, pogeymahnz ftw!
    Oh, and the I like the new battle animations that look like cut-outs, and the new sprites are really nice. I want to find out a bit more about Cyrus and would love to have rematches agaisnt Gym Leaders as well.

  38. BlueSmartie44 Monday 25th May 2009 at 17:51

    I agree with zackfair22. You may think that the changes listed on Serebii are small, but they can make a difference to the overall gameplay. Come on, ONM, you have to take into consideration, the new aspects of the game itself! I bought Diamond when it was first released in the UK, 2007, as a newcomer to Pokemon. I loved it, and when I found out about Platinum, I knew I had to get it. So, I preordered it, with the cool Giratina Figure, and I think as the third generation, it did a pretty damn good job! :wink:

  39. lewisgn Monday 25th May 2009 at 18:04

    Hrrm...
    nto sure about the review too be honest. ONM have always annoyed me with some stuff, and this is right up at the top. After, what makes an updated version of d/p any different to a gc game with wii controls and extra features, eg. resi 4?

    IMO, this is the best game on ds. Once dpwere complete, there was very little to do, but with p you have battle frontier, moltres, zapdos, articuno to catch, heatran story and tons more.

    I think 96% is more reasonable, as there should be more different stuff in story mode, and also perhaps even more online options, although wifi plaza is pretty cool.

  40. charlote_21 Monday 25th May 2009 at 18:54

    ive been really enjoying this game so far altho i have to put it aside for a while now 'cos i have my AS bio exam comming up soon!
    butt ive been reading posts on serebii.com fourms and apprently the slot machines arent playable in the european versions of platnium altho they are in us and japan versions etc.. i dont suppose anyone could shed anylight on this as to why its been left out?

  41. Super_Sonic96 Monday 25th May 2009 at 19:48

    I've never really been a fan of the extra games, besides i'm waiting for the silver and gold remakes, now thy're something to get worked up about!!!

  42. chaz 1805 Tuesday 26th May 2009 at 12:14

    I put so much time into Diamond so I wasn't really willing to go through it all again. But the new features are brilliant! I really love the WI-FI Plaza, Swalot Plop is the best! :D

  43. ZeLdAfReAk1993 Tuesday 26th May 2009 at 19:32

    I think they should make a pokemon game where you have to catch your first pokemon using bait, like in the safari zone, and you can catch the three beggining pokemon, that'd be sick... but onto topic, does anyone think this one's worth getting coz i already have pearl replyyyy

  44. Wildfire Wednesday 27th May 2009 at 15:45

    No Ranch update yet....

  45. whinkyed Wednesday 27th May 2009 at 16:20

    Dnt get me wrong pokemon games are great but dnt u think thre all basiclly the same game jst more pokemons or a differt place to explore instead of selling them for 30 quid why dnt they jst do dlp :!:

  46. sivlock Thursday 28th May 2009 at 10:16

    Il never forget spending 24 hours on Pokemon red when I imported it from America on the first weekend I received it! Pokemon is one of the best series out there shame I don't have as much time to spend on the newer games but they still are as good as ever!

  47. Ghostmaker Thursday 28th May 2009 at 10:20

    :D i got pokemon platinum yesterday and done hardly anything else. sure, it's the same game underneath, but with loads of added extras, and although i completed pearl, i didnt want to start it again because of my extensive collection and data. therefore, this is my breath of fresh air.

    the new features are pretty fresh and exciting, and the gyms and some mini quests have changed too.

  48. Ai64 Thursday 28th May 2009 at 22:51

    Whoah! I am now in the distortion world. Giratina snatched cyrus before my very own eyes! :shock:

  49. Morris96 Friday 29th May 2009 at 12:39

    THERE ARE NO SLOT MACHINES!!! Well there are, but you can't use them...! Also this is for the European games. But America get it all lovely dovely. :( :evil:

  50. mastersword267 Thursday 4th Jun 2009 at 19:54


    Ahem! If they were biased, would they really rank Resident Evil 4 above what is possibly the best Zelda game to date?

    they didn't, zelda got 3% more 8)

    and zelda games are rubbish anywa...
    did i just type that, man am i gonna get slated

  51. mastersword267 Thursday 4th Jun 2009 at 19:55


    Ahem! If they were biased, would they really rank Resident Evil 4 above what is possibly the best Zelda game to date?

    they didn't, zelda got 3% more 8)

    and zelda games are rubbish anywa...
    did i just type that, man am i gonna get slated

  52. nintendovig Saturday 6th Jun 2009 at 17:40

    Is it trun that this pokemon game will only play online using wep internet settings? if this is true then what a waste of money my dsi is turning out to be, they need to release games that use upto date tech.

  53. nintendovig Saturday 6th Jun 2009 at 17:48

    Is it trun that this pokemon game will only play online using wep internet settings? if this is true then what a waste of money my dsi is turning out to be, they need to release games that use upto date tech.

  54. neb14549 Wednesday 24th Jun 2009 at 18:11

    2nd favourite game ever number 1 is
    twilight princess

  55. supper Tuesday 22nd Sep 2009 at 11:59

    pokemon platinum, is better than other third games in the series e.g yellow and emerald, as it add`s a whole new world. however, i think that there are too many pokemon and i think that there should be a new game containing the original 151 pokemon like a remake of red and blue.

  56. NintendoPokeFan Sunday 4th Oct 2009 at 08:33

    I Love Pokemon The games never fail to be good :D Can't wait til heartGold Soulsilver :lol:

  57. mew Pudding Wednesday 28th Oct 2009 at 18:05

    this game should have scored at least 95% na no da 8)

  58. lava_princeton Tuesday 5th Jan 2010 at 10:09

    for some reason i always buy at least one game of each of the pokemon series, then my bro gets the other! i got both diamond and platinum, nd then i end up 4geting about diamond!

  59. codcam2 Friday 8th Jan 2010 at 16:13

    No, it's not the same game. I can't deny the fact they're similar, but the differences really show their individuality. The fact there's so much more than D/P should give it at LEAST 95%. You can't do the game any justice by giving it the same as D/P. I actually think you might've played the same game twice!

  60. Nintendo Boy Tuesday 2nd Mar 2010 at 13:04

    The new parts to the game do indeed, Warrant a purchase. (:

  61. Toman Friday 8th Oct 2010 at 18:21

    Why are we giving all thise attention to a lazy copy of an average game? Why don't other, more deserving games which have love and effort put into them, like Big Bang Mini?

    :x

    And why don't pokemon be on the front line instead of Mario? Say what you like, but pokemon is a deeper gameplay expirence than Mario. Mario is just a plumber that has a dozen or so power-ups, jumps into pipes and defeats predictable emenies with predictable attack patterns. Pokemon is an adventure game with lots of differnet ememies (or foes) with rarely predictable attacks (unless it's a wild pokemon), lots of differnet pokemon to catch and nearly just as many ways to use them. Pokemon do need to change the style, I'll amdit to that, but is that really fair when Merio has being using the same style for 25 years? :x

  62. Toman Friday 8th Oct 2010 at 18:28

    http://www.serebii.net/platinum/changes.shtml

    Read it ONM.

    Also, ala D/P, you completely ignored any and all changes to the metagame.

    Its definitely better than PH and NSMB, so why didn't it get a bigger score? I'll tell you why, because ONM is biased in favour of first party Nintendo games.

    pokemon IS a first party nintendo game,just one that is, in my veiw, completely underated by 85% of nintendo fans. :roll:

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.