Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Boom Blox Bash Party Review

Spielberg's best sequel since Jurassic Park 2

In case you haven't played the original Boom Blox before, let us quickly bring you up to speed. It's awesome. Okay, job done. So what's Bash Party all about?

Well, EA and Steven Spielberg have joined forces once again for a sequel offering the same sort of thing, only with more levels, more environments, more modes and more gameplay modifiers. Does this make it even more awesome? You bet your little block-shaped boxers it does. In fact, it even makes us want to use the word 'awesomer', even though we know in our hearts that the word doesn't really exist.

The standard concept remains the same. In each level you're presented with a load of blocks which have been set up, stacked and placed together in a certain way. They could be laid out as a wall, or a tower, or some sort of intricate castle shape. It's up to you to perform various tasks by chucking balls at the blocks to knock them over. At least, that's the basic idea. In reality there's much, much more to it than that.

Click to view larger image

Block Rocking Treats

For starters, there's a huge range of different level objectives throughout the game. Some stages have you trying to drop gems on the floor in as few throws as possible, others see you trying to drop certain points blocks while keeping negative points blocks stacked, while others see you trying to trigger new virus blocks which cause an infection to spread to blocks near it, making them disappear. Think swine flu mixed with Jenga. #

As before, you're no longer simply limited to chucking basic balls. You have a wide variety of different tools at your disposal. For example, you can lob bowling balls instead which do much more damage, or the hand tool will let you grab blocks and pluck them out Jenga-style.

Where it starts to differ over the original is with the new methods available to you. For example, some levels have a cannon which you can light and aim to blast cannonballs at certain areas. Then there are virus balls, which infect the aforementioned virus blocks and spread their block-dissolving illness.

There are also paintballs, which feature in one of our favourite new game modes. Basically, the blocks are placed in some sort of large container and you have to use paintballs to change their colour. If you can make three of the same colour touch each other they'll disappear, making the blocks on top of them fall down, potentially triggering combos. The whole 'match three' concept has been in gaming for longer than many of you have even been alive, but it's not often that it's done with real physics and it genuinely makes things feel fresh and less predictable.

Click to view larger image
So far so ball-shaped, but as with the hand tool in the original game, your arsenal extends beyond spheres of doom. The new catapult tool lets you grab any block or character in the stage, pull back on the Remote and let go of the A button to twang it in the direction you choose. As you'd expect, this completely changes the gameplay, though if we're being honest it's not quite as satisfying as physically making a throwing motion and seeing the resulting chaos your lob creates. That's only our preference though. The great thing about Bash Party is that there's plenty of modes to choose from and everyone will find their own favourite.

Do It Yourself

This is where Bash Party's biggest new feature - downloadable levels - comes into its own. The original game had a level creator, but once you'd finished your masterpiece you could only either save it to your Wii or send them to the people in your Wii's address book. And let's face it, hardly anyone did that. Now you can upload it to EA's servers where anyone in the world can download it by simply going to their favourite category and choosing the option to download more levels. This effectively makes the game endless. As long as people continue to make new stages (and EA has told us it'll be adding its own new levels on a regular basis too) then you can never truly say you've played everything Boom Blox has to offer. When all's said and done, Bash Party is essentially Boom Blox with everything improved and built upon. It's got more levels, more tools, more environments (the underwater and space levels really mess with the physics in an interesting way), more game modes and much more online potential. Simply put, it's essential, even if you have the original.

Comments

27 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. leomckitten Thursday 28th May 2009 at 11:43

    May well buy this one. Didn't play the original, so maybe I should get that at its reduced price...

    Advice?

  2. ChrisONM Thursday 28th May 2009 at 11:45

    If you can afford to mate, I'd skip straight to the sequel if I were you. It's really good fun and you'll never be left wanting for more because of the downloadable levels.

  3. Wiintendo Thursday 28th May 2009 at 12:06

    Never played the original, so I'll follow Chris's advice and I'll probably buy it along with Little Kings story, Punch out!! and Pokemon Platinum in a few weeks (If I can afford it all in one night).

  4. gils Thursday 28th May 2009 at 12:06

    Iam getting this, as the original was brillant!
    Fun with friends or by yourself with great music, levels and physics = hours of fun!
    Iam especially looking forward to the downloadlable levels.
    If its better than the original another must own wii title!

  5. 5pan1el Thursday 28th May 2009 at 14:02

    im not sur e i might wait till the price drops before i get it say £20

  6. higson1983 Thursday 28th May 2009 at 14:14

    im not sur e i might wait till the price drops before i get it say £20

    You can already get it for £25 if preorder of somewhere like blockbuster. I cant wait for this tomorrow. Only trouble is, no good games come out for while and then stacks all at once. I cant keep up with the games on my shelf, which means Im not getting to enjoy the games as much as I should. Have book a fortnight off work I think as the wife is trying to impose rules of no more games until I finish the ones I got already!!

  7. mastr.sword Thursday 28th May 2009 at 14:55

    I'll also take chris' advice. Skip the first, go straight to party. It looks great and'll probably become a bargain after time.

  8. Hotblack Desiato Thursday 28th May 2009 at 15:03

    'Block Buster'?

    How did I guess this was written by Chris? :P

  9. shmoogle Friday 29th May 2009 at 09:33

    This is £25 at most online retailers already, and as this is supposed to be better than the brilliant first one, its a steal.

  10. gils Friday 29th May 2009 at 09:49

    i got it yesterday and after playing only a little on it, its great fun even if my missus keeps beating me :roll:

  11. YoshiRoll Friday 29th May 2009 at 09:50

    I got mine, yesterday, having pre-ordered from Game.
    Has anyone noticed though that although the game is Wi-Fi, it shows the Wi-Fi symbol on the boxart online, but not anywhere on the actual product.
    Anyone else noticed this?

  12. noodle link Friday 29th May 2009 at 10:20

    good to see it ended up awesome.
    the original was brilliant. too bad i don't have enough money for this, ebay here i come!

  13. Tris Friday 29th May 2009 at 15:15

    hehe LOVE this game, shame its still a little glitchy.. I made a block go through another one so that needs sorting. the compression glitch still works and I saw a Rube Goldberg machine fail after it was uploaded online. do they physics changes like by <1%? the levels I make get badly affected! :(

  14. Adam_Lloyd Friday 29th May 2009 at 19:16

    Honestly, that is one of the cleverest ploys in gaming. Having already established a brilliant franchise, they tack the word 'party' on the end of the sequel's title. Those who are into gaming know to look past the facade, and those who normally wouldn't look twice - let's call them 'gradmas, wii fit moms, stroppy nine-year-olds :shock: ' - suddenly are enticed by the flashy 'party' label.

    This game really deserves to do well. It has the potential to reach out to a very broad market, and is extremely fun! :D

  15. Angry-Gamer Saturday 30th May 2009 at 12:37

    Never played the first boom blox. I am very suprised at how the reviews for the game has got very good scores.

    I brought De Blob on Amazon after reading a review and wheni played it i just thuoght "What is all the fuss about?" i really didnt enjoy that vey much. Probably wont buy Boom Blox as it might turn out to be simarlar to what happend to De Blob.

  16. markdean2012 Saturday 30th May 2009 at 15:30

    there's no friend code sysytem on the online mode! you can just add friends by entering there username
    (why can't all online games on the wii just do that?)

  17. 1Lemonhead1 Saturday 30th May 2009 at 20:02

    Looking very forward to this as I'm going to get it after all my exams.

    By the look of things though, this is going to be one good purchase!

    :D

    there's no friend code sysytem on the online mode! you can just add friends by entering there username
    (why can't all online games on the wii just do that?)

    How good?!

    :)

  18. Liam12nin Saturday 30th May 2009 at 23:25

    Never played the first boom blox. I am very suprised at how the reviews for the game has got very good scores.

    I brought De Blob on Amazon after reading a review and wheni played it i just thuoght "What is all the fuss about?" i really didnt enjoy that vey much. Probably wont buy Boom Blox as it might turn out to be simarlar to what happend to De Blob.

    Funny enough, one of the games I traded in for this Boom Blox was De Blob. I got De Blob because of the good reviews, and it was only 17.99 at play.com so I can't complain, but I didn't enjoy that much even though it was ok. What annoyed me was that when you started a level you had to finished it in order to save what you done, this could take 30 mins in a lot of levels, so I didn't seem to want to play it that much.

    But I got boom blox today cheap and found this is actually more enjoyable. I only played it for over an hour and a half but its fun. :D I wanted to buy the first one as I was like you and wasn't sure whether I would like it or not but ended up waiting for the sequel instead.

    So far this game is enjoyable, and can be switched on for a short burst if wanted as levels can be played quickly. :D

  19. Super_Sonic96 Sunday 31st May 2009 at 09:17

    Never got the original cos i thought it looked a bit easy and babyish. But after reading a load review and previews etc i really want this one!

  20. Tom266 Sunday 31st May 2009 at 10:51

    Never played the first boom blox. I am very suprised at how the reviews for the game has got very good scores.

    I brought De Blob on Amazon after reading a review and wheni played it i just thuoght "What is all the fuss about?" i really didnt enjoy that vey much. Probably wont buy Boom Blox as it might turn out to be simarlar to what happend to De Blob.

    Funny enough, one of the games I traded in for this Boom Blox was De Blob. I got De Blob because of the good reviews, and it was only 17.99 at play.com so I can't complain, but I didn't enjoy that much even though it was ok. What annoyed me was that when you started a level you had to finished it in order to save what you done, this could take 30 mins in a lot of levels, so I didn't seem to want to play it that much.

    But I got boom blox today cheap and found this is actually more enjoyable. I only played it for over an hour and a half but its fun. :D I wanted to buy the first one as I was like you and wasn't sure whether I would like it or not but ended up waiting for the sequel instead.

    So far this game is enjoyable, and can be switched on for a short burst if wanted as levels can be played quickly. :D

    This was the same case with me. I bought de blob after everyone said how good it was and was disappointed. I will get Boom Blox: Bash Party after my exams though, so fingers crossed it will be good.

  21. markdean2012 Sunday 31st May 2009 at 12:48

    Looking very forward to this as I'm going to get it after all my exams.

    By the look of things though, this is going to be one good purchase!

    :D

    there's no friend code sysytem on the online mode! you can just add friends by entering there username
    (why can't all online games on the wii just do that?)

    How good?!

    :)

    very good the FC system is annoying so i'm glad that spielberg decided to not use it in his game.

  22. Tom266 Sunday 31st May 2009 at 14:26

    Looking very forward to this as I'm going to get it after all my exams.

    By the look of things though, this is going to be one good purchase!

    :D

    there's no friend code sysytem on the online mode! you can just add friends by entering there username
    (why can't all online games on the wii just do that?)

    How good?!

    :)

    very good the FC system is annoying so i'm glad that spielberg decided to not use it in his game.

    Yeah, but isn't the online just level sharing?

  23. Liam12nin Sunday 31st May 2009 at 17:40

    Never played the first boom blox. I am very suprised at how the reviews for the game has got very good scores.

    I brought De Blob on Amazon after reading a review and wheni played it i just thuoght "What is all the fuss about?" i really didnt enjoy that vey much. Probably wont buy Boom Blox as it might turn out to be simarlar to what happend to De Blob.

    Funny enough, one of the games I traded in for this Boom Blox was De Blob. I got De Blob because of the good reviews, and it was only 17.99 at play.com so I can't complain, but I didn't enjoy that much even though it was ok. What annoyed me was that when you started a level you had to finished it in order to save what you done, this could take 30 mins in a lot of levels, so I didn't seem to want to play it that much.

    But I got boom blox today cheap and found this is actually more enjoyable. I only played it for over an hour and a half but its fun. :D I wanted to buy the first one as I was like you and wasn't sure whether I would like it or not but ended up waiting for the sequel instead.

    So far this game is enjoyable, and can be switched on for a short burst if wanted as levels can be played quickly. :D

    This was the same case with me. I bought de blob after everyone said how good it was and was disappointed. I will get Boom Blox: Bash Party after my exams though, so fingers crossed it will be good.

    Actually I'm sure you'll enjoy this game, the game is fun and feels good to throw balls and bombs at blocks and see them either fall down or explode. I'm still at the start of the game but I'm sure as the game goes on the levels will get harder, so it will mean making sure you hit the right blocks to get the best score. It's all good! :D

  24. shmoogle Sunday 31st May 2009 at 21:14

    Ordered this today, cant wait to play user made levels making this game effectively endless :P

  25. Bugpy Tuesday 9th Jun 2009 at 14:45

    As much as I want this (cos I loved the original) I probably cant get it because my mum doesnt want me buying any more games before uni, and i wont have a TV at Uni :(

  26. Evosnake Wednesday 29th Jul 2009 at 22:30

    I got the first one on a buy one get one free offer with Grid: Race driver DS.

    The first one was ace, so i reaaallly want this.
    It's awesome with friends and the new game modes look great!

  27. Mario642 Monday 17th Aug 2009 at 12:49

    Never played the first boom blox. I am very suprised at how the reviews for the game has got very good scores.

    I brought De Blob on Amazon after reading a review and wheni played it i just thuoght "What is all the fuss about?" i really didnt enjoy that vey much. Probably wont buy Boom Blox as it might turn out to be simarlar to what happend to De Blob.

    I agree. I've only played de Blob twice, and I just don't get how this and de Blob got on the top 20.

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.