Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

The Conduit Review

Sega's much hyped shooter falls short of greatness

With all the hullabaloo about The Conduit's graphics, you'd be forgiven if you missed the game skulking about in the shadows. That would be a shame, because it's really not bad at all. It looks nice, it plays well and feels decidedly grown up. Unfortunately it also feels about ten years old.

The rosy whiff of Rare's Perfect Dark is detectable through much of The Conduit, though that's no bad thing. The action is seamless and immediate, the story is fast-paced and full of conspiracy and there are plenty of unintentionally comedic aliens popping up, just like in the vintage N64 shooter. At least you get to shoot these ones though.

Click to view larger image
Up To The Hilt

Just like another classic shooter, Metroid Prime, the very beginning of the game sees you fully tooled up and able to call upon all manner of ways to dispatch otherworldly enemies. Then, there's a whip across time to a near-future Washington D.C. and regulation men in black to tear through. You're right at the start of a shadowy mission to discover why the planet is gripped by a bizarre virus, and just about to be beset by spindly-legged aliens who come at you through conduits which appear all over the city. You can see what they did there.

Derivative as the plot is, it's a lot of fun, and even makes you nostalgic for old episodes of The X-Files. There are two pressing issues you, as agent Michael Ford, bear in mind as you trawl through the US capital. Obviously there are the unwelcome alien guests (known as the Drudge), but there's also your organisation's role in the chaos enveloping the globe. So plenty of scope for confusion yet it's perfectly digestible thanks to snappy cut-scenes and on-the-go updates.

If the plot threading through the game is familiar, the running and gunning is even more so. There's a mixture of domestic and alien technology to play with; the latter obviously being stacks more fun than the former, with the likes of the Strike Rifle (a weird cross between a medieval lance and a rotting fish that fires a vaporising energy bolt) and the Shrieker (a laser-guided missile launcher) trumping the piddling old submachine gun and limited SCAR assault rifle.

The problem is you can detect the formula almost immediately. Run though a corridor, crouch behind a box and chuck a grenade, flush out side rooms, storm bigger room, restore health, repeat all over again. There's nothing wrong with that, it just might mean you lose the incentive to get through the whole ten or so hours of the game's single player campaign.

Click to view larger image
Making An ASE Of Yourself

One mechanism in place to try and make things interesting is the ASE (All Seeing Eye), a little ball which detects objects hidden to the naked eye like invisible mines and door switches. Combination puzzles are also revealed with the ASE, and these often grant you access to hidden chambers containing ammo, health and experimental weaponry. Not all of them are essential to progress but you'd be missing out on some cool stuff should you pass them by.

Shooting takes centre stage here and for the most part it's uncomplicated and rewarding, except for one or two duff pea shooters. Firing is done by pointing the Wii Remote and squeezing B, with a lock-on performed by hitting Z. It still requires you to aim within a target box though, so you still need a a steady aim.

Melee attacks come from a fierce jab of the Remote, satisfyingly. A tossing motion with the Nunchuk hurls hand grenades, but the problem here is that doing that upsets your aim. On numerous occasions we knocked our aim askew causing grenades to clumsily rebound off the ceiling or wall.

Previous 1 2 Next page

Comments

73 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. mario34567 Wednesday 8th Jul 2009 at 13:55

    I already have this on Pre-order. Despite your review, I think I will really like it and the online. Can't wait until Friday to play this!

  2. TeddyBea Wednesday 8th Jul 2009 at 14:37

    is there a sniper or just that battle rifle with a scope??

  3. chazrinelli Wednesday 8th Jul 2009 at 14:51

    I've been playing the American version, and it's quite fun! This deserves more than 76% but then again, ONM don't like third party games, I'd say around 88% but its such an enjoyable online game :)

  4. daddybobo Wednesday 8th Jul 2009 at 14:54

    It looks ace and the online looks brilliant (probably the best since goldeneye?) cant wait to get it whenever that may be!!!

  5. Prince_Ashitaka Wednesday 8th Jul 2009 at 14:55

    is there a sniper or just that battle rifle with a scope??

    There's also the Drudge's Strike Rifle which can be charged up and has a scope and a Trust pistol with a scope. However you can equip binoculars with any weapon so you could theoretically snipe with any gun. There is no traditional Sniper Rifle though.

  6. Eccos Wednesday 8th Jul 2009 at 15:01

    Ive pre-ordered this game since the week it was officially ment to be released but i think your a casualist im sorry but your review just sounds like it was written by one, im not flaming or anything just expressing my oppinion like u did on the conduit cus how can u find it hard to throw a grenade or your aim be put of by just pointing and just flicking the nunchuke u don't have to do a throwing gesture just flick your wrist man

  7. Eccos Wednesday 8th Jul 2009 at 15:01

    Ive pre-ordered this game since the week it was officially ment to be released but i think your a casualist im sorry but your review just sounds like it was written by one, im not flaming or anything just expressing my oppinion like u did on the conduit cus how can u find it hard to throw a grenade or your aim be put of by just pointing and just flicking the nunchuke u don't have to do a throwing gesture just flick your wrist man

  8. mantisboy1 Wednesday 8th Jul 2009 at 15:25

    Not expected....

  9. Icarus_Kid Wednesday 8th Jul 2009 at 15:26

    It looks ace and the online looks brilliant (probably the best since goldeneye?) cant wait to get it whenever that may be!!!

    Goldeneye had an online..?

  10. Paper Luigi Wednesday 8th Jul 2009 at 15:28

    I already have this on Pre-order. Despite your review, I think I will really like it and the online. Can't wait until Friday to play this!

    This, can't wait to get it.

  11. Shadow Samus Wednesday 8th Jul 2009 at 15:43

    I think that seems a fair review and score. Think about it, for most games multiplayer is an extra to keep you going after the single player game is finished. The multiplayer sounds really good on this, but no matter how good it is the game is never going to score highly if the whole package is not great, and this includes single player as well.

    And to be honest have most the people complaining about ONMs 'low' score played the game yet? 76% is a good score, and much higher then its scored elsewhere (Edge gave it 4/10).

  12. Shadow Samus Wednesday 8th Jul 2009 at 15:44

    I think that seems a fair review and score. Think about it, for most games multiplayer is an extra to keep you going after the single player game is finished. The multiplayer sounds really good on this, but no matter how good it is the game is never going to score highly if the whole package is not great, and this overall score includes single player as well.

    And to be honest have most the people complaining about ONMs 'low' score played the game yet? 76% is a good score, and much higher then its scored elsewhere (Edge gave it 4/10).

  13. mattyboy Wednesday 8th Jul 2009 at 15:58

    And to be honest have most the people complaining about ONMs 'low' score played the game yet? 76% is a good score, and much higher then its scored elsewhere (Edge gave it 4/10).

    yeah but ign gave it 8.6

  14. TwitchyKong Wednesday 8th Jul 2009 at 15:59

    I've seen many reviews for this game saying 'It's too similar to other FPS to be any good'. Yet, the only FPS game I have is Prime 3. I don't like FPS, but I think every Wii owner needs at least one game from every genre, and for FPS - as I sold Prime - The Conduit is mine.

  15. Biggwedge Wednesday 8th Jul 2009 at 16:07

    This review is more or less trash.

    The reviewer complains that he can't move one hand without upsetting the other, which is retarded. He fails to realise that this mechanic can be altered like everything else in the game, and doesn't even make a mention of the customization.

    The review gives little leverage to the online gameplay (unlike with Mario Kart). The reviewer later said in the forum it was because it felt like a standalone product, so wasn't factored into the score or something silly like that.

    The review never talks about graphics (unlike with Metroid, SMG and such), sound, AI or anything else. It just rants about the pretty guns for half the review.

    It was basically a review for casual gamers or kids, and the man did not his job or the game justice.

    The entire point of Conduit is to bring what is available on other platforms onto the Wii, and ONM don't get that apparently. It's back to the minigames for you.

  16. P L-R Wednesday 8th Jul 2009 at 16:14

    I've pre-ordered it so im gettin it anyways but i have to admit im put off by less than 80% though not entirely i have bought games such as Rayman raving rabbids 1 fire emblem:Radient dawn

  17. tomonm Wednesday 8th Jul 2009 at 16:26

    I've been playing the American version, and it's quite fun! This deserves more than 76% but then again, ONM don't like third party games, I'd say around 88% but its such an enjoyable online game :)

    Not true. take a look at our latest issue. Over half of the games in our top 20 are third party games.

  18. sahoskins1 Wednesday 8th Jul 2009 at 16:48

    I've been playing the American version, and it's quite fun! This deserves more than 76% but then again, ONM don't like third party games, I'd say around 88% but its such an enjoyable online game :)

    Not true. take a look at our latest issue. Over half of the games in our top 20 are third party games.

    Not saying the mag is biased but you can't use that statement to back up that point. I'm fairly sure Nintendo haven't released 20 Wii games of their own yet so the top 20 couldn't possibly contain all first party games anyway so it's like saying I'm not Halo mad because my top 10 Xbox games are not all Halo. Can't be justified in that way.

  19. Mr Hat Wednesday 8th Jul 2009 at 18:00

    IGN - editors choice award
    and after the red steel review this is garbage

  20. The Arbiter Wednesday 8th Jul 2009 at 18:05

    In the review ONM say that you can use Wii Speak to speak to your teammates. Can these teammates be anyone, or will you have had to swap friend codes first?

  21. lemonlips Wednesday 8th Jul 2009 at 18:10

    The reason this review is a surprise is because The Conduit was hyped far too much. It's silly to say ONM must be wrong simply because expectations were so high and it seems like an odd outcome. The fact is the makers were more talented at stirring up excitement than creating a great game.

  22. Shadow Samus Wednesday 8th Jul 2009 at 19:32

    The reason this review is a surprise is because The Conduit was hyped far too much. It's silly to say ONM must be wrong simply because expectations were so high and it seems like an odd outcome. The fact is the makers were more talented at stirring up excitement than creating a great game.

    Hit the nail on the head. :wink:

  23. Biggwedge Wednesday 8th Jul 2009 at 20:07

    The reason this review is a surprise is because The Conduit was hyped far too much. It's silly to say ONM must be wrong simply because expectations were so high and it seems like an odd outcome. The fact is the makers were more talented at stirring up excitement than creating a great game.

    Hit the nail on the head. :wink:

    Did you actually read the review? I'm guessing not.

    The reviewer lists as a main flaw, something that could be 'fixed' in 30 seconds. The customization and controls are partly what drove the hype of the game yet were not mentioned.

    Generic or not, the Wii has nothing like it.

  24. samz Wednesday 8th Jul 2009 at 22:04

    im deffinatly geting this game the fact that its like perfect dark makes it a hole lot better plus 76% isnt a bad score ive got games whith lowwer scores and enjoyed them

  25. theringlord Wednesday 8th Jul 2009 at 22:12

    I lol'd when Tom@ONM said The Conduit wouldn't win any award's for innovation...

    It won two actualy.

    Best Use of Graphic's Technology.
    Innovation runner up.

    Goes to show, the ONM team don't really know what they're doing :wink:

  26. lemonlips Wednesday 8th Jul 2009 at 22:39

    The reason this review is a surprise is because The Conduit was hyped far too much. It's silly to say ONM must be wrong simply because expectations were so high and it seems like an odd outcome. The fact is the makers were more talented at stirring up excitement than creating a great game.

    Hit the nail on the head. :wink:

    Did you actually read the review? I'm guessing not.

    The reviewer lists as a main flaw, something that could be 'fixed' in 30 seconds. The customization and controls are partly what drove the hype of the game yet were not mentioned.

    Generic or not, the Wii has nothing like it.

    The reviewer says that the game is repetitive and that some parts even become a chore. He also says you can spot the ten year old formula. That can't be fixed in 30 seconds, that's 'whole game re-think' stuff. I do think it's odd the controls weren't mentioned though.

  27. ChrisONM Wednesday 8th Jul 2009 at 22:56

    Goes to show, the ONM team don't really know what they're doing :wink:


    Sorry, but I really have to object to this.

    We all know our stuff: we've all been playing games for decades. If we didn't know much about gaming we simply wouldn't have been given this job. This is a very important magazine for Future so there's no way they would have hired people who didn't have the utmost expert gaming knowledge.

  28. teeelo Wednesday 8th Jul 2009 at 23:35

    It looks ace and the online looks brilliant (probably the best since goldeneye?)


    I lol'd so hard at this.
    I shall have to reserve judgement till I've played this, but I just expected it to get a higher score...
    Here's hoping that the Conduit debate doesn't rage as badly as it did last month!

  29. Violet Thursday 9th Jul 2009 at 00:28

    And to be honest have most the people complaining about ONMs 'low' score played the game yet? 76% is a good score, and much higher then its scored elsewhere (Edge gave it 4/10).

    yeah but ign gave it 8.6


    IGN have invested themselves heavily in the game, opening a whole section of the site devoted to it and essentially spending most of their time hyping it up to the roof to appeal to the FPS crowd (who are notoriously the most fanboyish type of gamer around). The fact that the game didn't recieve a 9+ score after IGN basically went out of it's way to suck up to High Voltage as much as it did tells the whole story.

    Basically, if you think ONM is biased against The Conduit then IGN are the complete opposite, being so highly biased towards it that you'd think they were going to profit from it's sales. Heck, maybe they will.

    Really, The Conduit is pretty run-of-the-mill and the graphics are actually rather varied, ranging from very pretty to fairly standard to remarkably bland and somewhat N64ish. It appears to have two main types of enemy, neither of which are particularly different from each other, and the gun design seems a step down from the game it's homaging, Perfect Dark. That, and the single player is apparently criminally short and repetative. These are all serious criticisms and if they're as true as they appear then the game doesn't deserve anything above a 7. Just because it's one of the few games like it on the Wii doesn't mean it should get extra marks.

    Don't get me wrong, I haven't played it, I'm just going on what I see and read.

  30. BOWIEtheHERO Thursday 9th Jul 2009 at 00:32

    Your tag line saying "Sega's much hyped Shooter Falls short greatness"

    Again, lads... You are incorrect.
    Ok, it was hyped insanely large amounts, and the majority of Reviews have come to the same SCORE as you, but other reviews have actually had a clearer and more JUST set of reasons for their views. And they also call the game great.

    Gt made a very true point - "The Wii finally has a brilliant Competitive Online FPS, now all it needs is players"

    And if it's TRULY been hyped up the amount it has, what everyone deems as a low score (you yourself say 70 is a GREAT score, yet here you say, it's falling short of such a title... Hypocrisy at it's finest. I love it.) will not effect their want to buy it.

    Anyway... You've heard all my other views on this review... I remember I left a you to reply to me, and you never did. Did I perchance... completely kill your argument? Or did you merely not care anymore?

  31. daddybobo Thursday 9th Jul 2009 at 06:38

    It looks ace and the online looks brilliant (probably the best since goldeneye?) cant wait to get it whenever that may be!!!

    Goldeneye had an online..?

    lol give me a break am sick. I meant the multiplayer fun aspect.

  32. Mcpilch Thursday 9th Jul 2009 at 10:18

    this is an outrage. winning awards? every other website raving about its brilliance? c'mon ONM, i am loosing faith in your integrity. i hope no one listens to the reveiw here and buys it, or no other developer will ever take the immense time that High Voltage have to make a Wii exclusive game. EVERYONE PLEASE BUY THE CONDUIT!!

  33. Biggwedge Thursday 9th Jul 2009 at 15:28

    The reason this review is a surprise is because The Conduit was hyped far too much. It's silly to say ONM must be wrong simply because expectations were so high and it seems like an odd outcome. The fact is the makers were more talented at stirring up excitement than creating a great game.

    Hit the nail on the head. :wink:

    Did you actually read the review? I'm guessing not.

    The reviewer lists as a main flaw, something that could be 'fixed' in 30 seconds. The customization and controls are partly what drove the hype of the game yet were not mentioned.

    Generic or not, the Wii has nothing like it.

    The reviewer says that the game is repetitive and that some parts even become a chore. He also says you can spot the ten year old formula. That can't be fixed in 30 seconds, that's 'whole game re-think' stuff. I do think it's odd the controls weren't mentioned though.

    My point about the apparently 'flawed' grenade mechanic stands.

    The game may well be repetitive, but don't forget this is the outlet that gave COD:WAW 92%. I find it difficult to believe that Conduit has less variety, when even early screenshots show different.


    Really, The Conduit is pretty run-of-the-mill and the graphics are actually rather varied, ranging from very pretty to fairly standard to remarkably bland and somewhat N64ish. It appears to have two main types of enemy, neither of which are particularly different from each other, and the gun design seems a step down from the game it's homaging, Perfect Dark. That, and the single player is apparently criminally short and repetative. These are all serious criticisms and if they're as true as they appear then the game doesn't deserve anything above a 7. Just because it's one of the few games like it on the Wii doesn't mean it should get extra marks.

    I disagree on many points.

    I don't know where you heard that the game only has 2 enemy types, the game is well known to have at least 6 wildly different enemies (Drudge, Mite, Skimmer, Scarab, Invader and humans which also come ina few different varieties).

    The graphics weren't even touched upon in the review, which they should have done. They went to town discussing visuals in various first party games. The technology in Conduit is by far the most advanced on the system and bests plenty of HD games in terms of effects, so please don't compare it to an N64 game...

    I'm not saying the game is gold, but review is still laughable. Outlets should first and foremost be comparing the game to what else is available on the platform, and that is pretty barren for the Wii. You don't see Killzone 2 being compared to Crysis do you? That would be equally stupid.

    It is not possible for IGN to profit off of the game. I'm more willing to bet that they simple understand what the game is about and ONM just don't.

  34. Violet Thursday 9th Jul 2009 at 17:21

    Ah, I was wrong about the enemies, I had overlooked some of the smaller ones. Generally from the videos you seem to spend the vast majority of your time fighting the humans and the Drudge anyway.

    While maybe it was harsh to compare it to a N64 game, my point is that just because it uses fancy technology doesn't mean it actually looks any better than, say, the vastly detailed and beautifully designed environments of Metroid Prime 3. Certainly on the whole The Conduit looks fairly... flat, with dull textures that just look even more dull against the very shiny enemies. Sure, some sections DO look very nice, but it's a mixed bag.

    Also, about IGN profiting from it... I wouldn't really rule it out, seriously. They don't necessarily single out certain games for preferential treatment just because they're good sports. Hell, even Brawl didn't get the coverage that The Conduit has been getting on IGN.

  35. Brawlftw Thursday 9th Jul 2009 at 18:25

    I think that seems a fair review and score. Think about it, for most games multiplayer is an extra to keep you going after the single player game is finished. The multiplayer sounds really good on this, but no matter how good it is the game is never going to score highly if the whole package is not great, and this includes single player as well.

    And to be honest have most the people complaining about ONMs 'low' score played the game yet? 76% is a good score, and much higher then its scored elsewhere (Edge gave it 4/10).

    I agree with you, but many reviewers seem to think differently: otherwise, barely any Xbox 360 games would get above 8/10 (due to the immense focus on the online).

  36. Sir Lemon Facey Thursday 9th Jul 2009 at 19:24

    The impression I seem to be getting from all the reviews I've seen is that this is a great game with highly impressive graphics, fantastic controls and solid, enjoyable gameplay. Although I can clearly see that it is faulted in originality on several levels, and that it may be missing that spark of brilliance that other games have, I can't see why the score was so low.

    On another note, does anyone know if it has any other multiplayer options, e.g. offline split-screen multiplayer or co-op?

  37. Googoo12444 Thursday 9th Jul 2009 at 20:31

    I got the Conduit today, a day early!! And I think it's a great game. The only downfall is the single player, it's way way too short. I've done 23% and I only played the singleplayer for about an hour! The multiplayer is really good and would be better if I had any friends on my wii, and had wii speak. I don't think the grenade mechanics are that bad, because I don't even really try to bounce them off walls. Anyone want to add me pm me. I've only played the first 3 missions but it is a bit samey. And the post above, no there isn't any offline co-op, only single player and online multiplayer.

  38. Adam2112 Thursday 9th Jul 2009 at 20:48

    Sorry guys I have to ask this cus I'm not sure if it's been answered before.
    Can WiiSpeak be used online with strangers? Or is it only with people on your friend list?
    Thanks

  39. The Arbiter Thursday 9th Jul 2009 at 23:02

    Sorry guys I have to ask this cus I'm not sure if it's been answered before.
    Can WiiSpeak be used online with strangers? Or is it only with people on your friend list?
    Thanks

    I to would like to know this; can you talk to random strangers in a team situation?

    Also, my copy came through from Play.com today. Played the thing to death by completing the first (real) level on campaign, then going online. My favourite mode is probably Bounty Hunter.

    A quick note: the controls took me a lot of work before I founded a setup I liked, but once I did, it was perfect. Finally, a good online shooter for Wii.

    I'd have awarded it at least 85%.

  40. teeelo Friday 10th Jul 2009 at 00:15


    My point about the apparently 'flawed' grenade mechanic stands.

    The game may well be repetitive, but don't forget this is the outlet that gave COD:WAW 92%. I find it difficult to believe that Conduit has less variety, when even early screenshots show different.


    This.
    I can't believe they scored it so lowly compared to WAW and Red Steel considering it has better graphics, controls, online and multiplayer than both of them.

  41. theringlord Friday 10th Jul 2009 at 10:21

    Goes to show, the ONM team don't really know what they're doing :wink:


    Sorry, but I really have to object to this.

    We all know our stuff: we've all been playing games for decades. If we didn't know much about gaming we simply wouldn't have been given this job. This is a very important magazine for Future so there's no way they would have hired people who didn't have the utmost expert gaming knowledge.

    Really?

    I like how you've only quoted part of my post and "Cleverly" left out my evidence which clearly back's up my point.

    I'm not saying you know nothing about Nintendo, I'm just saying you know less than you put on.

  42. Bellicapelli Friday 10th Jul 2009 at 11:30

    ^^^

    I'm not saying you know nothing about Nintendo, I'm just saying you know less than you put on.

    Of course they do! - The ONM team are a a group of out-of-shape, thirty-somethings without the apparent draw of a private life to tear them away from an all night party game session at work...

    ...pretty far removed from the omnipotent Gaming God image that so many think they and other games writer's should have.

    You don't have to have finished every game, owned every peripheral and hoarded every piece of available memorabilia for your opinions to hold water. Afterall, that's what they are: opinions - not gospel.

    Personally I like the way Neil and Fred openly admit to their gaming flaws and let their literacy do the talking -

    In fact when I read the original quote again - it's only Chris that seems to fall foul of this - which is warranted given the misplaced aura of self-importance that accompanies his every remark.

  43. Mr Hat Friday 10th Jul 2009 at 20:07

    i'VE JUST BEATEN LEVEL 4 and it's awsome! How could it get such a low score. On par with metroid in my opinion.

  44. CharlesLovesLucy Friday 10th Jul 2009 at 23:08

    We're supposed to comment on the game, not the review.
    So really, if you like the game, great, you may think it deserves better, if you don't, you might think it deserves lower. Essentially, the same as every game out there.

    Anyway, mine arrived yesterday (with some sweet free speakers; props to play), and I actually haven't played it that much. I'm finding the controls a little difficult to master, but I haven't yet changed them to suit me, so I'm not worried about that. Haven't tested out online yet, but I'm certain that's going to be incredible, so no worries there either.
    Now while I don't hate the game, it doesn't seem to have that 'spark' that pretty much every Nintendo game has. It's the lack of this which I think dropped the score so low. Inexplicable maybe, but it just hasn't really got me hooked or pumped up for the following levels.

    All in all, I think it's a pretty good game, unfortunately missing that little something that kept us hooked on games such as SMG, and LOZ:TP. Maybe not an essential title, but it's by no means a failure of a game.

  45. metroid fan Friday 10th Jul 2009 at 23:17

    I got this game today and it is AWESOME. best FPS on wii (not including metroid prime 3. it's a first person adventure not shooter.) it's got awesome controls, great visuals, love the weapons and the single player is fun so far. (only played to third level so far) I definetly need to get my wii online for this as the online mode sounds awesome. HVS have done a good job and this game deserves more than 76%. :D :D

  46. theringlord Saturday 11th Jul 2009 at 12:36

    ^^^

    I'm not saying you know nothing about Nintendo, I'm just saying you know less than you put on.

    Of course they do! - The ONM team are a a group of out-of-shape, thirty-somethings without the apparent draw of a private life to tear them away from an all night party game session at work...

    ...pretty far removed from the omnipotent Gaming God image that so many think they and other games writer's should have.

    You don't have to have finished every game, owned every peripheral and hoarded every piece of available memorabilia for your opinions to hold water. Afterall, that's what they are: opinions - not gospel.

    Personally I like the way Neil and Fred openly admit to their gaming flaws and let their literacy do the talking -

    In fact when I read the original quote again - it's only Chris that seems to fall foul of this - which is warranted given the misplaced aura of self-importance that accompanies his every remark.

    Did you even read my post's?

  47. Bellicapelli Saturday 11th Jul 2009 at 14:45

    Yes. I thought it was very well written.

  48. LiamGodOfFood Saturday 11th Jul 2009 at 15:59

    I personally think this game looks very promising. Does anyone know what age rating (if any) has been given? I couldn't see it in the review anywhere...

  49. Sir Lemon Facey Saturday 11th Jul 2009 at 19:50

    I got the Conduit today, a day early!! And I think it's a great game. The only downfall is the single player, it's way way too short. I've done 23% and I only played the singleplayer for about an hour! The multiplayer is really good and would be better if I had any friends on my wii, and had wii speak. I don't think the grenade mechanics are that bad, because I don't even really try to bounce them off walls. Anyone want to add me pm me. I've only played the first 3 missions but it is a bit samey. And the post above, no there isn't any offline co-op, only single player and online multiplayer.


    WHAT!!?? There's not even offline versus multiplayer!?
    If not then there's no way I'm getting this.

  50. 13th Nightmare Saturday 11th Jul 2009 at 23:34

    Having played the game, I can understand why it got a score of 78%. But it doesn't mean that it isn't a bad game. It still is a pretty enjoyable game, and yes it does have the odd niggle. Like rooms being similar, but then again you'll be a bit too focused on killing the enemies in the room to notice. I few times I have been online and joined a game, I have been greeted by a black screen and had to restart my Wii. But it is still a good game.

    If I was to score it going by what I have played of it, I would mark it in the region of around 80%

  51. Waaariooo Sunday 12th Jul 2009 at 07:31

    hoarded every piece of available memorabilia.

    Have you seen Chris' desk!

  52. magneto3 Sunday 12th Jul 2009 at 08:12

    76% is about right, it really is pretty average.

  53. shahan Sunday 12th Jul 2009 at 12:05

    this game is wicked got it today (late preorder) with speakers from play.com!!

    the story mode is short, but each level is quite long. also, the music is nice with orchestrated sounds that are particularly apparent from level 8 onwards. U GOTTA LOVE THE GRAPHICS!! the online is very good, and friend codes arent all that bad, seeing as you have seperate friend rosters in each game unlike other consoles where you share friends which has its limits. the fact that the conduit has achievements, unlockables, concept galleries and secret areas makes you come back for more. its not as repetitive as many claim it to be, for example one mission has you using the ase to hack computers, while another expects you to run and gun. i think the ase is used too much in the game though, as when you are in the middle of a fight you have to look for ghost mines. other cons include the fact that certain weapons cant be used online such as the hvs45, the equivalent to a desert eagle.

    but this game is too good, and unmissable, even if you have a ps3 such as myself, dont let this one slip!

  54. Giga Sunday 12th Jul 2009 at 15:10

    And to be honest have most the people complaining about ONMs 'low' score played the game yet? 76% is a good score, and much higher then its scored elsewhere (Edge gave it 4/10).

    yeah but ign gave it 8.6

    Yes but they also gave a high score to moon and ONM quite frankly hated that.
    Also IGN is just a site at the end of the day, they are not the voice of the gaming world.

  55. Jim Compton-Hall Sunday 12th Jul 2009 at 22:33


    the story mode is short, but each level is quite long.

    Yeah... but not as long as Red Steel levels, and there were twice as many of them.


    also, the music is nice with orchestrated sounds that are particularly apparent from level 8 onwards.

    From level 8 onwards? Great, there's only 9 levels. Plus the music doesn't stand out much. Sure its quite good if you actually take the time to listen to it, but compared to the likes of Mario Galaxy and Little Kings Story, it is pretty poor.


    U GOTTA LOVE THE GRAPHICS!!

    Graphics are indeed immense.


    the online is very good, and friend codes arent all that bad

    Agreed.


    the fact that the conduit has achievements,

    Achievements are the poor man's unlockables... some of them are quite fun to get, but I would rather unlock something real when I get a certain amount of kills, rather than just a sentence telling me I have done it. The tiny amount of 'Cheats' (what are there 4 to unlock? and the other 3 come with the special edition) and Galleries aren't exactly great either.


    its not as repetitive as many claim it to be

    I disagree with this, I think it's incredibly repetitive. Each mission is pretty much the same.


    i think the ase is used too much in the game though, as when you are in the middle of a fight you have to look for ghost mines.

    Yeah, that is annoying. Ghost mines don't really add anything to the game and I think it would be better without them.


    other cons include the fact that certain weapons cant be used online such as the hvs45, the equivalent to a desert eagle.

    That doesn't really bother me. That weapon is far too overpowered and the first person to grab it would probably win.


    but this game is too good, and unmissable


    Meh. If you are a fan of FPS, then you should definitely get it. I agree with IGN that it is the best FPS on the Wii (excluding Metroid Prime :P) and I much prefer it to the Call of Duty games. The Conduit is a proper fun game, whereas CoD is just too serious for me.

    All in all I think ONM gave it the perfect score to reflect my opinion of it. It's good... but lacking.

    Has anyone used Wii Speak with it? If so is it any good? I'm thinking about getting it, but so far this is the only game I have that is compatible with it and I dont know if it is worth it. Also, in every match their only seems to be 1-3 people who have it.

  56. Broken_Angel Monday 13th Jul 2009 at 09:19

    i stand by what i said when the review was originally published. 78% is way too harsh. ONM marked it down for "repetative action" and "dodgy grenade mechanics" when:
    1)its an FPS. the action is always going to be repetative and
    2) the grenade mechanics are incredibly realistic. id love to see one of you guys lob a grenade AND keep you aim steady. 9/10 times, you have to physically drop your weapon to throw a grenade properly, so it will ALWAYS interfere with your aim.
    please think next time

  57. gilorules Monday 13th Jul 2009 at 10:04

    Received this game a day early (courtesy of Game.co.uk :D ) and love it!

    I think the review is harsh as it deserves to be over at least 85%. The single player may be slightly repeptetive, yet is still engaging as the story ling is great and it is actually quite difficult.

    The multiplayer is the highlight and is a good change from other online games, such as COD WOW, which only had a few game modes. Although there are some minor flaws which sometimes annoy me (eg. The radar shows movement, so you can NEVER sneak around), the multiplayer is incredibly fun and easy to get into. I will probably find myself playing that more than anything.

    Overall, the review is harsh as it fails to take into account everything, and is seems as though the reviewer has already made his mind up before doing the article! Shame on you ONM, I've always loved the magasine, but for once, this review was incorrect!

  58. Prince_Ashitaka Monday 13th Jul 2009 at 10:43

    Definitely better than ONM said-online is pure win, but single-player is repetetive, but it's still alright. Prob not worth a Gold Award (Too Short, Too Repetetive) but definitely at least 85%.

  59. lminett Monday 13th Jul 2009 at 17:54

    I got the conduit today, played both the single player and muiltplayer and i have to say this game should have got at least 80%. Ok so after the many fps that have been bought out over the years, this may not be the best of the best, but it sure does have its plus points. The ASE is a great idea mixes up the game play and i like the fact that you use it for secreats too. There are alot of weapons which means you get a nice selection, the online is fun, it works well(just need to test wii speak out so far no one else has got it). Plus theres good unlocks and plenty of customization which i think adds the game up to a nice score of 80%.

  60. theringlord Monday 13th Jul 2009 at 20:26

    Yes. I thought it was very well written.

    Thankyou. However, I don't see how your post was relevant to mine.

  61. beevman Tuesday 14th Jul 2009 at 18:50

    Hi, I've been a reader of ONM since the begining but i have never felt a need to post a message before, until now. I've owned every Nintendo console since the nes and played a hell of a lot of goldeneye and perfect dark with my old school friends. I am now married and have a daughter and I use my wii as a way of communicating with my old perfect dark buddies with mariokart, brawl etc. When CoD WAW came out with online multiplayer i thought that it would be brilliant only to discover bad lag times and the inability to play with my 3 friends all at the same time. Then along comes the conduit, all my prayers have been answered, excellent controls and the ability to have them how i want, brilliant game modes and wii speak compatible and friend request ability. None of these featured in your review, you fail to explain that no other wii game incorporates these features and just how good they are for a wii game. The conduit is an essential title for all hardcore wii owners. So tell me ONM in all honesty is Red steel and COD better than the conduit?

  62. fisher2007 Tuesday 14th Jul 2009 at 22:11

    The Conduit (Wii)

    Review by David Jenkins - When you're in real trouble you don't get too fussy about where your help comes from.

    High Voltage Software seem to be the last hope Wii owners have for producing big budget Western style action games.

    If you're wondering who High Voltage are, they're the team behind Charlie And The Chocolate Factory and Leisure Suit Larry: Magna Cum Laude - two of our lowest rated games ever. Oh dear.

    This game is being sold on two basic features: it's graphics and the fact that it's an exclusive first person shooter with multiplayer trimmings.

    On a technical level the graphics are relatively impressive, but still not as much as the best looking titles on the GameCube, such as Star Wars: Rogue Squadron and Resident Evil 4.

    Or perhaps they are underneath, it's hard to say when the art is this bland.

    For a game that's meant to be on the leading edge of technology the whole experience feels remarkably dated.

    From the Mega Drive-era boxart to the awful synthesiser music and sub X-Files style plot, the whole thing feels at least a decade out of step.

    Most damningly this includes the actual game design. We've never liked the term "corridor shooter" but it describes the tedium of playing this game perfectly.

    Trudging along the game's linear set path, shooting brain dead and infinitely spawning bad guys (until you shoot their nests) this feels worrying like a first person Gauntlet at times.

    The worst thing is the controls work extremely well, which is no surprise as they're the same as Metroid Prime 3 - even down to an object scanning device.

    The ability to fully customise them may even make them superior.

    What this game proves yet again is that technical competence (whether it be graphics or controls) are nothing without artistic competence (in terms of visuals, audio and game design).

    In terms of the latter three this fails miserably and only saves itself from total disaster through the multiplayer.

    It's easily the most comprehensive third party effort on the Wii and you can even use WiiSpeak to chat online.

    However, even against human players the game still fails to fully engage, thanks to the still poor level design and the unremarkable sci-fi weaponry.

    The online lag doesn't help either, but that may be more Nintendo's fault for not investing in the infrastructure.

    There are no excuses for the rest of the game though, which despite the intent is only likely to discourage other Western developers even more.

    IN SHORT: The Drudge is an appropriate name for the enemy in this artless grind of a first-person shooter.

    PROS: On a technical level the graphics are very good, as are the controls and the online multiplayer modes.

    CONS: The levels, enemies, artwork, plot, sound and weapons - all suffer from the same bland, generic design.

    SCORE: 4/10 Out: Now (UK)

    here's GameCentral review. :lol:

  63. marcus222 Saturday 18th Jul 2009 at 22:09

    The Conduit is so much better than what alot of reviewers say. Sure the campaign may take you only 8 hours but Halo 3 only took me 9-10 hours to complete, but I can spend ages online.

    Another reason why it's reviews aren't great is everyone is comparing it to xbox 360 FPS's.

    I think it deserves at least 85%. Also why oh why doesn't Nintendo scrap friend codes?

  64. marioforever Sunday 19th Jul 2009 at 19:54

    In the review ONM say that you can use Wii Speak to speak to your teammates. Can these teammates be anyone, or will you have had to swap friend codes first?

    i've been playing online for about a week now and i've only seen one other player with wii speak and his didnt work, so i wouldnt worry about it.

    this game really is amazing. the online mode is so awesome and addictive. i cant stop playing it now. i've had to come on this site to get myself away from it because my thumb is aching from moving the anologue :shock: :P

  65. theaniallator Sunday 19th Jul 2009 at 22:15

    i stand by what i said when the review was originally published. 78% is way too harsh. ONM marked it down for "repetative action" and "dodgy grenade mechanics" when:
    1)its an FPS. the action is always going to be repetative and
    2) the grenade mechanics are incredibly realistic. id love to see one of you guys lob a grenade AND keep you aim steady. 9/10 times, you have to physically drop your weapon to throw a grenade properly, so it will ALWAYS interfere with your aim.
    please think next time


    Okay, your argument about action always being repetative in a FPS is ridiculous, and only goes to show that you either haven't played a good FPS before of you just haven't played ANY FPS's before. Games like Bioshock, Half-Life and even COD4 are anything but repetative.

    Another thing is that I doubt the developers deliberately made the grenades awkward in an attempt to be "realistic", it's more likely broken game design that can be interpreted as realistic as a means of defending the game.

    From what I've heard I think this game's main problem is that it is generic. Bad art design, story and level design are all things that can seriously cripple an FPS and land it with bad review scores. It is games like those that I mentioned above (Bioshock, Half-Life, maybe COD4) that get the brilliant review scores, because they AREN'T generic and they also have the great graphics and gameplay to complement that.

  66. Kolo67 Wednesday 5th Aug 2009 at 15:27

    78% isnt a bad score.

  67. seana39223 Thursday 13th Aug 2009 at 08:21

    ONM is just being biased in this review, they haven't even played the full game becuase then they would know that you can chnage the grenade control. It deserves at least 90%

  68. whinkz Thursday 20th Aug 2009 at 01:26

    u r all bein so niave bout this game if u slag it off ther wont b much more games like this nd its a very gud game

  69. THHrastalin Tuesday 22nd Sep 2009 at 14:15

    i jus got this game after comin bac from the pub and being in a drunken state whilst also needing somthing 2 shoot :) but i hav 2 say this game rocks it has some of the best graphics i hav seen on the wii as for it being repative well maybe it is but when u get ingaged in a game so much that doesnt really matter online is brill even if i am getting my ass pawned by a bunch of 10yr olds but the fact of it is that it is still enjoyable and as from onm reveiw i dont listen to those guys as they said that smash bros had the best online ever which was at bes way out off touch . now consider this review from a guy that plays all his games on the pc which out plays any ps3 and xbox so this is a very welcome edition 2 the wii and ppl should not knock but inbrace it for wot it is a very good shooter that knocks the blocks of waw and as for the cod series we r getting modern warfere wow wee we r getting a game that is 2 yrs old and not the next 1 aint we luckcky

  70. DistantJ Sunday 13th Dec 2009 at 17:15

    I actually really love The Conduit. For me a lot of the points reviews have held against it are what make it for me - it's old skool. There are short, separate "levels" which you can go back and replay at any time, action is more about running up to enemies and blasting them in the face with a shotgun than crouching behind a box for 10 minutes straight before thinking of moving into a different room and backtracking is minimal.

    If you ask me, this is the Wii's GoldenEye/Perfect Dark and Metroid is it's innovative BioShock type FPS (I know I know "FPA" but you could say that about BioShock too). Perhaps The Grinder can be it's Left4Dead. Now that we have Modern Warfare things are looking pretty complete, FPS wise.

  71. Deku scrub Sunday 20th Dec 2009 at 17:19

    Got this on friday it's great Yubels good at it

  72. yubel Sunday 7th Mar 2010 at 21:45

    Got this on friday it's great Yubels good at it

    Indeed I am.
    In-fact I'm pro.

    Anyway's I disagree with this review also.
    Should have got around 80% or just over.

    The grenade throwing isn't as bad as you make out, at least not in my experience.
    Made things more realistic and immersive really.

  73. gaby2107 Monday 12th Apr 2010 at 18:47

    I played the conduit, and its an awesome game. dont give it crap chat because it OWNS. The single player is awesome, exilerating, and fun. If not for retarded spoiler people this game would get all the credit it deserves. Oh yeah, who was excited for it too much? YOU, ONM, YOUR the ones who made people too excited, I mean you didn't ruin modern warfare reflex edition, did you? So do us a favour and dont give us extreme expectations for the conduit 2, or there will be sega/high voltage/the conduit fans hunting your ASE'S.
    Sorry I really like onm but but this game deserves 94% and this review sucks.

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.